Dataforma Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Dataforma

Web-based field service management software with integrated scheduling, invoicing and GPS Tracking for contractors. Dataforma combines all of your software needs into a single, integrated solution built by contractors, for contractors. Record and track every call that comes into your office to follow every job from start to finish. Continual upgrades and 24/7 customer service are included, no up-charges or hidden fees for added functionality. Learn more about Dataforma

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 94 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 94 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Lisa I.
Service Department Manager/VP
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Dataforma Review”

OverallIt has been a great experience. It has actually streamlined our side (Service) of the business and allows us to invoice quickly and get info to our customers in a timely manner. DF was able to patch into our accounting system which is very helpful.
ProsI love the convenience of the program. I can pull information within seconds. Also the calendar is great as well. You can do so much through the calendar. The mobile app is easy for our techs to use so we are getting real time information that can be passed to the customer. In addition, we can do inspection reports while the techs are on site and send to the customer and even get approval and start to process of the repairs. I also like that a customer gets the photos and that has made a big difference with our customers. They typically don't go on the roof and to send photos to them helps them to see what work was performed and that builds trust with the customers.
ConsI believe the biggest con would be the new changes. Some of the changes make our part of what we use in the system more difficult. I wish there would of been a little more time spent on the training with some of the changes. The "employee" portion seems to be the most difficult since we aren't using DF to do payroll, there are extra steps now. Something else that is a "con" is the credit memo process. They show up as "paid in full" and that can be difficult to follow. It would be nice if they showed up as a credit memo.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Rudy R.
President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Dataforma review”

OverallWe have solved scheduling and billing issues. we feel better moving forward with a consultant helping us untap the power of the machine by simply dividing the work load to 4 major functions so that each function can master its use.
Prosthe ability to track every aspect of your business
Consto many clicks to enter basic info. needs to be designed/ organized by a roofer and not a computer engineer. Dataformas on-boarding staff did a poor job in follow up. It would have been nice to have a consultant that we have found that understood the users need and could assist you with gaining more useful / practical help from the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Danielle F.
Maintenance Department Administrator
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“No Comparison - Best Overall”

OverallI have worked with DataForma in varying capacities since 2007. I have also worked with other "online based" contractor systems and hands-down DataForma is the easiest, all-inclusive, best value system I have used. DataForma is built for roofing contractors and when used it just cannot be beat. The functionality is amazing, and the continued growth and development keeps up with technology and the demands of roofing contractors. The complete history kept in easy access.
ProsThe way DataForma links everything together is amazing. To be able to know one solid piece of information and search other relationships back from that point to find what you need is amazing!! But then that does not say enough about document storage, ease of access and use, and the 1-point location for finding everything you need at your fingertips.
ConsThere are a few things that could use some tweaking. The Leads module - while we use it as a good tool it would be great to be able to transition a lead to a Work Order without having to re-enter the information. It would also be nice when using the search function to be able to click on the headings and sort by that heading.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Lisa G.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“All In One System”

OverallDataforma helped us get control over the entire process. It helped to streamline what it takes to go full circle. Keeps everyone in the know and has been a lifesaver in regards to being able to jump in anytime anywhere.
ProsI love the library and being able to customize reports with photos and captions.
ConsFeels like some things can be a bit repetitive
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Nathan K.
Operations Support
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 10, 2016

“Flexible and robust functionality with great support. ”

OverallWe started using Dataforma a little over three years ago when we were informed about it during a trade conference. This was a large shift for us and as a roofing company, our end users were not technically proficient to begin with. We immediately noticed how supportive their staff was in making sure we transitioned to the software as smoothly as possible; they even had a company representative visit our offices to help train our staff. The software is fairly robust and there are a number of fields that can be populated in order to retrieve detailed information for reporting and reference as needed. Once familiar with the basics, we were able to speak directly with the Dataforma developers to have custom templates produced for data experts and reporting needs. The stability of the system has been absolutely consistent as they have redundant servers in multiple states. Over time we have been excited to find new ways to improve our operations, scheduling, accounting and basic CRM needs by becoming more familiar with the software and communicating with a helpful and readily available support staff. We now attend biannual super user conferences where the system administrators and various users from different companies can confer directly with the Dataforma design team. The events are very helpful in that we also confer with other users to find new ways to better use and adapt the software to our ever-changing needs.
ProsThe software is very robust and capable of producing reporting from a variety of perspectives and directions. The software continues to improve as the developers actively seek input from the end users. System stability and support has always been first rate. Great value for the investment.
ConsInitial learning curve can be a challenge to some but the quality support makes this less of an issue. Looking forward to expanded accounting functionality.
Recommendations to other buyersWe can recommend this product to roofing companies that appreciate the importance and value of accurate information management.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 10, 2016
Jeannette H.
Controller / General manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“Overall this system has improved our service scheduling tasks by leaps and bounds.”

ProsWe use this software for our roofing service department. It is very easy to enter work orders. The dashboard is customizable to show you what you need at a glance. Our field crews get their work orders thru the DataForma app. We can change their scheduled calls in real time. It is easy to drill down work order history from a customer to a building address to an exact apartment or suite number. Trainers and customer support are very knowledgeable. The system rarely has downtime.
ConsReports aren't customizable until you export them. My experience is that I have had to export columns and columns of data I didn't want only to delete those columns in excel to get to the 3 to 5 columns of data I actually wanted. The system is not capable of pulling an AR aging to verify Balance Sheet AR totals. This is not an accounting system even though you can invoice directly from the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Kyle N.
Director of Business Developement
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2017

“Dataforma for Roofing Companies”

OverallHaving had extensive experience with several CRM programs designed specifically for the Roofing Industry over the past 13 years, I have been working with DataForm for the first time over the past year. We have considered leaving them for more functional software better designed for our industry, but with all the information they hold for us, we are still sticking it out. Actually, I am realizing that most of the reasons our company is not happy with it, is because they are only utilizing a fraction of what it is capable of doing. Not only that, but over the past year, they have added an entire envelope of new account management features that improve the front end and follow up account management practices that had been previously lacking. Why are there 3 different ways to do just about everything? Why does it matter so much if you click a notebook icon versus a notebook title when they should be a single movement? These are the things that can be frustrating to a new user, but once learned, this program can do a great deal - a true all-in-one package - for you business. It has been around a bit longer than most, so it is understandable for there to be room for improvement in ease of application.
ProsHow much information you can put within it, and how many different aspects of your business it can apply to.
ConsEasy of operation....or should I say, lack thereof
Recommendations to other buyersTheir customer service is great and really work with you to make improvements. It may cost you, but they can get just about anything done.
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2017
Nathan K.
Solar Energy Systems
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019

“Great Product, Great Value”

ProsThe level of customization, flexibility, and overall stability of this software has made it invaluable to our business. We can reach knowledgeable staff every time we call and the answers we receive hit the mark every time. The numerous fields and sub-categories afford tremendous flexibility that enables us to customize our input/output for reporting on pretty much any attribute that we want. The new accounting modules are also well developed. In all, the functionality has enabled us to rethink and expand the analysis of many aspects of our business while maintaining close control over scheduling and operational demands at the same time.
ConsSome users may find it a little intimidating at first but with proper instruction this should not be a problem. The user permissions are vast so having a system administrator who will remain on staff is important.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019
kyle J.
Sales Director
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019

“Highly recommend - Excellent CRM system”

OverallExcellent. Especially the customer service. this system is big and diverse and has a lot of functionality. I am not the most tech savvy person, so being able to talk with a live customer service rep exactly when I need to makes whatever price you charge worth every penny.
ProsUntil we procured Dataforma, we were limited in our growth. We could not get past a limited amount of customers because we did not have a system to manage them effectively. Since we partnered with Dataforma our service department has double in size. We are sleekly, more efficient and uniformed. We are able to communicate with our customers effectively and in a timely manner all through Dataforma
ConsI do not like the pop-up viewing function of the pictures input into dataforma, it is clunky and inefficient. there needs to be a faster way to view pictures without exporting them. I have to remove pictures all the time and trying to see them before deciding which to include in the invoice is cumbersome and it doesn't seem to be as efficient as all the other functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019
Molly G.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2019

“Comphrensive CRM and project solution”

OverallGreat tool for lead/project tracking, holding sales reps accountable to run leads and enter bids, and having all pertinent project information in one place that everyone can easily see. Industry specific, so not a whole lot of customization needed. Dataforma can customize almost any template to export your data. The price is super affordable for what they offer. If full accounting software was ready, it would be even better. Right now, there's a lot of double entry, but hoping that integrating Dataforma accounting with the current CRM will make things more efficient soon!
ProsScheduling capabilities Reporting functionality User-friendly Field app Document Solution Accessible Remotely
ConsFull accounting functionality not available yet, resulting in double entry of projects in Dataforma and other accounting software Bulky-- have to enter information for projects in multiple places (buildings, contacts, etc...once it's all there, it's a great tool)
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2019
Jeannie D.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 11, 2011

OverallOur company specializes in commercial flat roofing. Customer service and satisfaction are our primary goals with any roofing project. We struggled for years to create a database that would be at our "fingertips" so we could easily contact our customers. We were using Quickbooks for our accounting and customer database. As our company began to grow, we really needed a database that tied all our contacts and their properties together in one "easy to access" area. A lead gen company put us in touch with a sales rep from Dataforma, and an appointment was scheduled. Scott came in to talk with us regarding Dataforma. Needless to say, Dataforma was exactly what we needed! We were ready to get started - "Where do we sign?!" Shortly after signing our agreement, Mike came to our office for "Dataforma training". We were pleasantly surprised how informative the training session was, and how easily the system flowed. Of course, we couldn't take in all the functionality of Dataforma at that time; however, the basic program was easily learned and implemented. Practice makes perfect - so the more comfortable we all became with the system, the better the information input. Mike would check on us every week or so to see if we had any questions. He could even check our input from his computer. The customer support is wonderful. Any time I have called in, someone always answers the phone and has answered my questions immediately. The system has been a wonderful asset to our company. From lead sheets to projects and work orders, all the information we need regarding a particular customer is just a click away! The Dataforma seminar in Baltimore last fall was so informative. My co-workers and I quickly learned that we were not utilizing half of the capabilities of the Dataforma system. We came away with a new perspective and understanding of Dataforma. Dataforma is always looking for input and suggestions to improve their system. They have a background in the roofing industry, which is a plus for us. Dataforma has minimized data entry and maximized the tracking of each project to give an overall view of the profitability and performance of our company. I would highly recommend Dataforma to everyone!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 11, 2011
Leann G.
Sales Admin.
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“Anytime I need help I just call and I always get my question answered on the first try.”

OverallThe biggest benefit is being able to see everything we have done since we have been in business without looking thru a filling cabinet
ProsStores all my information for jobs and helps me keep track of them, you can run reports on just about anything you would every need, at anytime I can see how much work we have done for a customer (no more looking thru years of files), they are always adding new details and upgrades to make the program faster and easier to use, the app is great for the field techs, it emanates a lot of paperwork, I can do my work from anywhere as long as I have a computer or table
ConsSometimes a work order gets opened on a wrong build and I would like to be able to move it to the correct building instead of closing it out and opening a new work order
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Tyler T.
Project Manager/Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2017

“We use Dataforma for all of our server needs from work orders to bid calendars and document storage.”

OverallThe software allows for a streamlined method of access to the files we need on a daily, weekly, and monthly basis. It allows for members of our team to access data and information while on the go and away from the office via the server and the mobile app. The compilation of activities and calendars is a great tool to enhance productivity and manipulate communication obstacles to better address the solutions for them. The software is a tremendous tool for coordination with field technicians as well as office staff members.
ProsDataForma is a great tool for organization of individual jobs/projects/buildings/etc... It compiles all contacts and pertinent documents in one accessible area.
ConsSometimes, as with all software for this type of use, it can become bogged down with too much information and things can get lost. Typically they are easy to recover, but it's still possible to lose information.
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2017
Karissa I.
Service Coordinator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2018

“Dataforma has helped the chaos of our business become more efficient and standardized. ”

OverallReal time information from our men in the field Creating and implementing our roof inspection reports - this cut down 80% of the time I used to spend doing this. Being able to answer to our clients how many times we have been on a job site Having access to all documents relating to a building at my fingertips We are currently utilizing the webinar videos for a new hire and I am so very thankful for those as I am not the best at training Capturing and following leads from cradle to grave
ProsIt is not only a big filing cabinet but we are able to see everything in real time. It is also very helpful to see the progress each person makes through a sale. We have been able to capitalize on many more opportunities.
ConsThe one difficulty we have had which is also a blessing in a way is that there are numerous ways to do one thing. I have had to create a system for everyone in our office to follow by due to the numerous amount of different ways to enter something in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2018
Jonathan S.
Office Manager
Facilities Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Will Make Your Office Paperless”

OverallOverall I am thankful for Dataforma, it has taken our business to a paperless office and we are running more efficiently. I would like to make the potential buyer aware that it's not a finished product and there are bugs and glitches that I am still waiting for them to fix for us. The customer experience is inconsistent, sometimes really good and helpful while other times it's very difficult to get the help you need.
ProsI love Dataforma because it allowed us to move to a paperless office, gone are the days of file folders! I also love the software because it works in a logical way, and has the potential to help your office run more efficiently. One cool feature is that Dataforma allows you to have custom templates made to meet your specific need, this feature has had the biggest impact for us.
ConsThere a few things to mention when it comes to the cons. One of the biggest aspects of Dataforma that I do not like is the Timecard feature. There's no way for our employees to see their hours for the week, and overall the employee experience is lacking when it comes to keeping track of timecard hours-this holds us back from becoming completely paperless .One of the reasons for this is that Dataforma is in transition right now and there are some glitches and bugs, which hold the product back in a big way. To go along with this, they recently raised their fees, charging a per user fee which if we would have kept our current users, our price would have doubled. So this has been a big setback for us. Dataforma is not a polished or finished product, thus the high price really is not justified at this point.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Stacey H.
Administrative Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2018

“Provides efficient tracking of our service calls.”

OverallIt review was easy to navigate through.
ProsThe software does a great job of allowing us to keep all records (service calls, maintenance calls and pictures) tied to a particular location together. This gives us a running history of when were at a location and what we did on each visit.
ConsThe difficulty with creating/printing/exporting reports. All reports are canned and export every item in the module. If you want to customize a report, you have to work through the Help/Customer Service team to have them generate a custom report. I would prefer to be able to select which details I want in a report and then be able to export it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2018
Lisa S.
Production Data Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“For better or worse.”

ProsAbility to track Bids, Projects, Work Orders, Change Orders, Hours, Employee information.
ConsReporting function. Must pay for downloads/templates to be created, no templates to choose from. Lack of ability to track employee training records. Cost of use changed from unlimited users to a pay by user basis after we had been signed up for several years. We are no longer able to pull hours out the way we used to which caused hours of lost time on our end in order to develop a new system. No ability to track quanities of product installed. No ability to view plan pages on the mobile app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Michelle B.
Service Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018

“I've used DataForma for a little over 11 years and wouldn't consider another program.”

OverallOffsite access to all our info no matter where I am vs. where my teams are working. I don't have to be in the office to help, access info or make WO's while I am away from my desk.
ProsSpecific for the roofing industry. No need to change things to make it work for us. Things that don't work for me are customizable so they do. Listens to what customers say and grows utilizing user feedback.
ConsI honestly have nothing negative to say about the program. Anything we don't like or would like to see added or changed can be discussed and considered. Most requests are implemented over time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018
Cara T.
Marketing Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 17, 2017

“DataForma has helped Streamline Many of our Internal Functions”

OverallBeen using DataForma for approx 3 years. It's has become (as we have grown with it) a great tool within our company.
ProsLinking/building relationships is helpful to maneuver from one platform to another under the same account, search ability, ease of use, entering data.
ConsIt's limitations. Limited fields to use. Custom exported reports have to be created by DataForma. Queries have to be created by DataForma. Searching limitations and information exported across platforms (i.e., trying to combine information from one platform and another at the same time - requires a special query).
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 17, 2017
Rebecca L.
Manager of Operations
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“Working with dataforma has been great. Staff has helped out with recent update.”

ProsI like that it is web-based and can be accessed anywhere. Also, the customer service is extremely helpful. They are always there to answer any question for us. I like the ability for us to customize things specifically for our roofing company.
ConsSometimes we have issues with the website going down or not working with the internet. Also, I wish that they would provide detailed teaching sheets before they submit out the new updates. The videos are nice, but it is helpful to have sheets. Right now we make our own after it comes out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
William S.
Owner
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Dataforma has transformed the flow of our business.”

ProsI like that it stores all the info about a job in one central place. Before we had pictures and notes scattered all over a job file, now it is in all one place. Also the history on a building is fantastic to have.
ConsOne of my many complaints about Dataforma is that with the expanded functionality, also comes a lot of steps. When you are a smaller contractor it make a lot of steps for one person. For example, there is no accounting functionality but a invoice must still be completed to close out a project.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Stephen L.
Head Coach
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Dataforma Review”

OverallGreat experience, don't feel DF is adapting or modernizing colored to new competition
ProsInitial industry CRM LEADER Great Industry Partner Closed system Former Roofer designed Roofer system
ConsNot designed for larger contractors Closed systems -needs to be API FRIENDLY Not connected through MS OUTLOOK CLUNKY to navigate Focused on accounting not basic core competencies
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Marcella P.
Commercial Coordinator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“Dataforma is the KEY to organization!”

OverallThe experience has been trial and error - but the outcome was worth it. The training course we paid for I felt should have been done later. It is too hard to learn every detail of the program when first being introduced to it. Customer support was fantastic - but we just had SO many questions about simple operations.
ProsThe flexibility in combining levels of information between Company, Contact and Building. The Work Order / Field Ticket app that simplifies sending reports to clients.
ConsThe inability to create custom templates without having to go thru the company and paying additional for these.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Great, but lacking”

OverallDataforma overall has provided a positive impact in our organization. It does take an internal champion to get everyone on board, and as with any software, you get out what you put it.
ProsThe ability to upload information from the field using a mobile device. Having complete building work history available including warranties, previous repairs, projects, and invoices.
ConsNo option for customers to report work through a mobile app. Lacking some of the bells and whistles that competitors offer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Anson M.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“This software has allowed us to scale our business to new heights! ”

ProsAll the different features it has. It allows you to use it like you want to for your business. It keeps track of everything, so nothing gets skipped. It allows everyone to do there part and pass it on to the next person. It allows you to scale your business and have multiple people doing things and still having everything together. I really like the way it track accounts receivable. The field tickets in the work orders are a great way to do job costing. The mobile app is a great tool. Especially for production. It makes it very easy for them to go paperless.
ConsThere is so much to learn. It also seems like there are several areas where we have to duplicate data entry. It would be nice if more of that was automated. It would really be nice if it did payroll and accounting. Even have an integrated time clock system would be awesome.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Michelle A.
Owner - Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“Good software, easy transition, nice functionality. ”

ProsAs a CRM it can manage all of your data and then some, tons of functionality and customization options. Love that it can hold and manage both residential and commercial client information on the same platform.
ConsIf you aren't familiar with using a CRM, it can be a bit clunky to navigate. Itss actually quite easy, just a bit of a learning curve. Some of the more desired functionalities require customization that can only be facilitated through very in-depth training and development from Dataforma in-house customer reps. Which can be a bit of a let down if those features were the ones that sold you from the pitch.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“Money Maker”

OverallSaved time billing work orders. Gained better knowledge of service calls in real time and our customers have access to all of their building service calls and project info at their fingertips.
ProsIf I forget to file a work order it isn't lost. It is in the system and I know that I will be able to bill for it a month or two or even a year after I complete the work.
ConsThe mobile app needs more features. I would like the mobile app to work more like the web browser but more like an app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Kevin L.
Controller
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“Due to the amount of info that can be input I find many items get missed in data entry.”

OverallData consolidation was key for this software. In the past we had a lot of information stored in multiple places and it became a daunting task to bring everything together to report to clients and management.
ProsThe amount of information that can be held by the software and in turn reported on makes it easy to pick and choose what we can show our clients, or management.
ConsSome of the fields are a little bit of overkill and unnecessary, and just adds to the confusion when entering data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2018

“Dataforma for Roofing”

OverallWe are starting to use more of the features with Dataforma. We like the ease of tracking estimates with the different databases
ProsUsing this software has allowed us to keep our service department running smoothly. It makes looking for contact information and a full history of service dates easily accessible.
ConsAllowing our customers access to their history does not seem to flow smoothly
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2018
Deborah R.
CFO
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018

“The system has helped us to more efficiently mange our projects and track work orders. ”

ProsIt has solved many of the issues we used to experience managing the different jobs. We can now collaborate and communicate more effectively with sales personnel and service technicians from the features on the mobile app. Having the ability to change statuses, enter notes and upload pictures from the field has dramatically reduced the number of phone calls we had to make in the past. There are still a number of features we have not implemented as yet but so far we are happy with the functionality.
ConsThe software does not have a full accounting platform so the invoices have to be migrated to our accounting program which sometimes experience issues with the transfer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018
Michael M.
President
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Review of Dataforma usage for our company”

OverallWe are generally happy with the abilities and features.
ProsClient/portal access. Photos automatically get applied to reports if in the correct folder
ConsGlitches daily. Unable to load photos many times through the app on the phone. Difficulty when creating customers/companies with the new changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Tiffany W.
Service Coordinator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Review of Dataforma”

OverallIt is working for our service dept but not as functional as I had hoped.
ProsThe ability to save important customer information to the cloud and access remotely.
ConsThe software is not user friendly and is very detailed. It takes new users a long time to understand how to input new information correctly. The way things are broken apart-building, company, customer, etc is too much. It makes it very difficult to make changes to companies as a whole. The additional cost for templates is unfair at best.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Terry S.
Service Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018

“Dataforma has streamlined our service department. ”

ProsThe ability to access all of the service departments work from any computer, tablet or phone. The cloud storage of photos is also a great feature.
ConsI would like the app to be set up for office use. Currently the app is designed for the field techs. If you are out of the office and need to schedule work, you will have to log in through the website.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2018
Johnny C.
Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 2, 2016

“Hand Written work orders to 100% paperless during the first big RAIN storm of the year.”

OverallWe are new to using Data Forma field service. So far it has been great and very easy to use once a data base is built. The customer service has been great and we never feel rushed or that we bought a product and have been passed off. The hardest thing for us has been not going backwards and resorting back to hand written work orders and reactive behavior vs pro-active when dispatching a repair or an emergency type of call. Change is never easy but it is necessary to grow in a positive manner. This Dataforma is exactly as advertised and as the Data is provided it becomes easier to use and manage. Positive Results are immediate.
ProsThe ability to track everything possible about a job, customer or building is amazing. It is very easy for the field techs to use and get us the info we need so our customers get what they require in a great turn around time. The Dataforma employee who is doing our training etc has been amazing and exceeded our expectation by leaps and bounds.
ConsAnything negative I have to say so far is on our companies end and accepting change without resorting back to old habbitts.
Recommendations to other buyersDo yourself a favor and at least get a free demo run of the product.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 2, 2016
Brendan C.
Operations Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Great Idea but I need more help”

ProsI like that the company wants Dataforma to do all things. HR, Accounting, CRM, they have a lot of features.
ConsThere are so many features and to set them all up in the back end is very labor some. So much so I don't even think that I use even a fraction of the capabilities. They have webinars but it is so hard to know what to focus on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Dan D.
WE Care Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019

“It works if you make it work for you”

OverallWe needed a way to track where we have been with roofing repairs in the past and where money is being spent by our clients. The software allows for reports to be built extremely quickly and with the cloud integration adding photos to repair invoices is very simple.
ProsThe software is very powerful and useful once the foundation is built and then added to over time. If you want the software to really be productive historical input is key.
ConsIt can be a little repetitive when adding new information but this is because of checks and balances.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2019
Jaunita F.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“I enjoy DataForma. I think I do not utilize the majority of its capabilities. ”

OverallWe can share files. Dataforma helps save the environment and resources because we just upload the original paper and all the office staff can look at it without using the extras that hard copies require.
ProsMy favorite thing about Dataforma is the ability for job files and information to be uploaded and not restricted to a paper file in a drawer in an office.
ConsI cant say there is anything I like least about DataForma. It's just about getting in there and learning how to use it and being disciplined in the habit of putting stuff in there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Kristi M.
payroll/ops
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“DataForma has been great for our company - easy to use.”

OverallHas been very easy to use and keep track of current and previous jobs weve had as well as customers.
ProsDataforma stores all the necessary data we need. Its easy to use and functionally for everyone in the office and even the field.
ConsSome changes that have been made to certain areas have made it a little more confusing than it was before.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Cindy M.
Office Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018

“Overall Dataforma has increased our accuracy and efficiency ”

OverallDataforma has made it so much easier to track work performed, track projects assigned to sales staff, warranties etc..
Prosexcellent support staff, great record keeping, offers a large selection of uses, tracks warranty very well.
Consability to make address changes to a company that will update all buildings, wish there was greater ease at setting up users
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2018
Marissa L.
Relationship Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018

“This system helped us get rid of thousands of pages of paper and helped track client information.”

ProsEasy to use and track client data. Allows us to find work history very easily for buildings, clients, etc.
ConsSometimes it feels like you have to click multiple times to do something. Like when you have to print a work order. Also, when you need to change building info you can't do a mass change you have to do each one individually.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018
Thomas V.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“It is an integral part of our business and critical to capturing cost and maximizing efficiency.”

ProsThe mobile platform allows me to redirect crews on the fly and collects all their pictures and work notes effortlessly.
ConsSome tasks require too many clicks and pages to accomplish simple tasks. Customization of forms and checklists is not very easy and requires support. Have to track maintenance contracts separately in a spreadsheet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Mike M.
Operations Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“I use Dataforma daily to track and run the service department.”

ProsDataforma is easy to use, it has all the functionality required to quote service jobs, track them , and then bill them when you're done.
ConsSome of the reports are difficult to run and very large. if they could be set to run with one button instead of loading this and setting up that it would be easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Stacia W.
Roof Maintenance Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2018

“Great CRM product for a roofing company.”

ProsIt is great to have all the history of a building in one easy to find section. Logs all change orders. PO system. The correspondence is great how it works with outlook.
ConsIt does not link the reported to on work orders to the contact so that you can see the history of what they have reported.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2018
Geoff M.
CEO
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 25, 2015

“Great software for management of customer info in a Service Department”

ProsDataForma allowed us to be much more effective and efficient in serving our customers. The organized way information is kept and the relationships that are built between data allow for an account manager to quickly answer customer questions.
ConsThe software user interface can be overwhelming at times. There are a lot of options on any given screen. This is necessary because of the power of the software but it needs some polishing, particularly for use with mobile or tablet devices.
Recommendations to other buyersThe key to software roll outs or evaluations is to make sure that the closely mimic your business process. With DataForma, walk through the process of entering service work orders or a project and make sure that it either is similar to your process or that you want to modify your process to match the software's flow.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 25, 2015
Scott G.
Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“Dataforma has been a valuable addition to our office.”

ProsUsing the mobile app to send information to our field technicians. Access to historical information for past projects and buildings.
ConsStill working on adapting our current workflow to match the software processes - formatting of templates can be time consuming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
david b.
president
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018

“Very helpful system. Helps my company be more efficient”

ProsI can keep track of all my roofing projects and all my service work with fewer office staff. I can update all my customer question with a touch of a button.
ConsIt hard to keep up with all the new features. There are so many new things happening I can't seem to utilize everthing
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018

“We use Dataforma primarily for work orders and billings and collections.”

ProsThe software is easy to learn and use. It easily creates billings and tracks collections. Will also track open work orders.
ConsUntil you really understand how to run reports it may seem confusing at first. Once trained on reports and queries it is an easy and useful tool.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2018
Curtis S.
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2015

“Dataforma is a great asset to our company!”

ProsDataforma has helped us streamline our service work and has given us a central location to manage all of our important documents for each job. It's web-based, so any of our employees can log in, no matter where they are. The mobile app has been very useful for our field technicians as well.
ConsThe only issue we've had has been a request for automation on email generation for reminders, events, etc. But, this information is available on each employee's home screen.
Recommendations to other buyersI would recommend attending Dataforma's PSU yearly event. This has been helpful for training and tips on how to utilize the software to its full potential. They are constantly upgrading the system to make it better for their clients, and they bring the new information to the PSU each year.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 1, 2015
Karin B.
Bookkeeper
Consumer Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Dataforma is a great program”

OverallDataforma is used in our office as a record filing source on the buildings we service, what was done, what wasn't and what guarantees are for the building. Service logs and tags and billing.
ProsEase of use. All the info we need at our fingertips
ConsNo cons on this product that I can think of
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Erica R.
Production Assistant
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“DataForma is a great CRM ”

OverallOverall, I do like DataForma. Unfortunately our company is switching to a different CRM.
ProsDataForma has multiple ways to access information. I really like the relationships feature to where you can cross reference relationships associated with; EG. Contacts, Projects and buildings.
ConsThe photos function is not the best. The one thing that I have actually even suggested to our DataForma rep via EM is there is not an easy way to preview multiple photos at one time / with ease. Also the transferring of photos to a different location/project is not user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019