Apex LIS Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Apex LIS

Affordable LIS available as inhouse or web-based solution.Perfect for Physicians Office Lab! HL7 interfaces for EMR and Reference Lab sendouts. $400 per month includes unlimited users, three analyzer interfaces and support 8 to 5. CLIA-compliance suite makes it easy to comply with regulatory requirements. Easy-to-use application can be installed in a day and web-training available. LIS is easily configured to meet your exact analyzer and workflow requirements. Learn more about Apex LIS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
David D.
Director of IT
Medical Practice, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“Great Support Behind The Product”

OverallWhen I was brought on as the IT Director, this app was the biggest open issue. After doing some testing I found that our ISP latency response time was extremely high thus being the underlying issue with the app communicating with our cloud server. Called and had a discussion with Oscar, we had a test console deployed into our Citrix environment that evening and began testing the next day. Console ran like a champ and my staff couldn't be more thankful!
ProsFor the price it's really hard to beat. Anytime we have any issue we are able to get a tech on the phone and get the issue resolved in a timely manner.
ConsSometimes devices stop communicating and the system needs to be rebooted. We've put in a process to simply reboot the workstation every evening and this seems to have minimized this issue.

Vendor Response

By Apex Healthware on May 21, 2019
Thank you for your kind review its a pleasure to be of service to Legacy ER
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019
Lisa C.
Lab Manager
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Apex for your POL LIS”

OverallAn LIS in the POL results in more timely results without transcription errors. However, most LIS are designed for large hospitals and are so expensive that the average POL cannot even consider the cost of installing one. Apex has changed that. I am the Lab Manager in a POL with 8 providers performing over 100,000 labs on an annual basis, and I must say that this was our best purchase ever! As a plus, the customer support has been very timely and personable.
ProsThe Apex LIS is perfect for the Physician Office Lab. Not only does it provide all the features needed, but, unlike most of its competitors, its is very affordable!
ConsI honestly do not have anything negative to say about the Apex system.

Vendor Response

By Apex Healthware on May 8, 2019
Thank you for you for allowing us to be your LIMS. Its a pleasure!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Shane H.
Physician
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2016

“Apex sucks! Unprofessional answer...... yes. Truthful?.......Absolutely”

OverallApex had good customer service initially, in fact I referred several other clinics to them in the first year after opening in 2009. At first they seemed very responsive to our clinic needs, however, over the years they have gone significantly downhill. As in I don't think customer service could get any worse.
ProsMost of the time Apex works just fine. But how many software programs do you know that work perfectly all of the time? Its when it is NOT working is when you see their true colors. When see a companies response when things aren't working is when you measure the value of the company and the software program.
ConsFor 13 months now we have been trying to get Apex to interface with LabCorp. This is a process that should only take 2 weeks or less. Our clinic is NOT the only one having problems with Apex. Here we are 13 months later and still no interface. The problem is that clinics are held hostage by software companies because it is frequently cost prohibitive to drop your LIS company and switch to another (same thing with EMR's). At MedNorth we are at the point where we are going to just bite the bullet and switch to a new LIS company....that's how bad it is.
Recommendations to other buyersDON'T USE APEX. RUN FROM IT. Don't even consider using them. If you don't trust my review, then call LabCorp and ask them. You can also contact me personally. Their customer service is beyond atrocious!

Vendor Response

By Apex Healthware on April 30, 2019
Dr Hill we are sorry to hear of your frustration. Please note that this interface (1 of over 100) was completed by us in 10 weeks but we waited on your EMR for 9 months to complete delivery of insurance & guarantor data. what can we do to make this right for you?
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2016
Khalid K.
CTO
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“SignatureCare Emergency centers Love using Apex LIS”

OverallWe love using the software as it provides us the central platform to manage our in-house lab. We are able to serve our patients faster and efficiently.
ProsIt is user-friendly and easy to learn after it is initially set up by the expert staff at Apex support. We have worked with them to centralize the use across multiple facilities and successfully integrated with our EMR software. Results transfer to our EMR seamlessly.
ConsSometimes communications to the devices break but Apex support has set up a robust recovery process.

Vendor Response

By Apex Healthware on May 13, 2019
You are most kind. It is a pleasure to be of service to SignaureCare!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
GREGORY G.
Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019

“Good software”

OverallWe have been working with APEX for over 5 years and we have never had a major issue. They have created multiple interfaces for our laboratory and it has always been done relatively quickly. When there is a delay in my experience it is the other party that is slowing the projects down.
ProsI like the team behind Apex a lot. They are responsive to requests, and try to accommodate us without nickel and diming.
ConsThe biggest shortcoming of the software for us is that there is no easy way to enter manual tests results from worksheets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2019
jiang j.
lab manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019

“Lab manager Auspicious Laboratroy”

OverallOur previous LIS system can not interface our Mass Spec to the system, we had to manually enter the data. Apex has experts to solve this problem, we have been happily using this LIS for 3 years.
ProsThe software provides easy access for physician web portal. The interface to all the lab equipment is stable most of time.
ConsIt is not web based, can not work at home.

Vendor Response

By Apex Healthware on May 8, 2019
Thank you for your kind review. FYI we are beta testing cloud version at large New Jersey Hospital.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2019
Amanda F.
Laboratory Technologist
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019

“Great value!”

OverallOverall, the Apex LIS is definitely worth the price.
ProsThe system was affordable and the customer service is great. I'm able to get on a first name basis with employees so it feels familiar and personal.
ConsLike most LIS systems, it can be confusing at first. But Apex is great about answering any questions and remotely logging into the system to help in any way possible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2019
Ralph P.
Lab Manager
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“Great LIS excellent support!”

OverallHave enjoyed working with Apex.
ProsIt does everything we need reliably and at an affordable price.
ConsNot applicable. The LIS is easy to use, does everything we need and support when needed is competent and friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Shannon E.
Lab Supervisor
Medical Practice, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“This software is garbage”

OverallNo one ever teaches you really to use it. It works, but you will hate it because there is a lack of necessary functions. Looks like a kindergartner made it. HATE IT. HATE IT. HATE IT.
ProsIt stores your data. Crashes all the time. Not many things I like about the software.
ConsThere are a lot of bugs and the software team wants nothing to do with you. Customer service is terrible. They totally ignore you. If a data transfer error occurs features don't help you remedy the problem. Once we had to manually delete 1000s of accidental files. I remember asking to try the software before we bought it and they basically told me that wasn't possible....

Vendor Response

By Apex Healthware on April 30, 2019
Hi Mr Ealy just read your review and am mortified. With 100s of clients occasionally one falls thru the cracks. My apologies as founder of Apex i will make sure this is corrected quickly. What can i do to make this right for you?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018