Identifix Ratings

Overall
4.099999904632568/5
Ease of Use
3.9000000953674316/5
Customer Service
3.799999952316284/5

About Identifix

Diagnostics software that helps professional automotive technicians identify and fix problems faster than factory flowcharts. Learn more about Identifix

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 28 of 28 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 28 of 28 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jim O.
Owner
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Information and more”

OverallEase of use with a quick, accurate symptom based search function provides me with possible solutions and the required test procedures to confirm a suspicion. Saves time and increases the accuracy of a repair.
ProsThe program gives me the ability to quickly identify pattern failures that may lead to a solution for a problem on a vehicle. Symptom search works well and minimizes search time. Test procedures, component information, wiring diagrams, TSB's and recalls are all listed with the symptom to further increase ease of use and minimize wasted time searching for each item individually. Sending a request for help within the program for assistance finding information is excellent. The help desk personnel who respond to help requests are prompt, helpful and very nice to deal with.
ConsParts and Labor Estimator fails to meet my needs. Searching for parts or labor functions sometimes fails to supply required information or results supplied are inaccurate. Maintenance schedule fails to display labor functions in a uniform order and mixes "Inspect" functions with "Replace" functions. Other maintenance schedules present all "Inspect" functions followed by all "Replace" functions which streamlines preparation leading up to the actual work by allowing me to see all items that need replacement and order parts accordingly before the tech receives the job.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Denise O.
Human Resources Supervisor
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2017

“Identifix is an automotive repair shop necessity”

OverallMy automotive repair shop uses Identifix daily. One of my favorite tools on this program is the ability to paste a vehicle's VIN number into the homepage, it effectively decodes the VIN and looks up the vehicle. Identifix comes in hand especially when we are dealing with a check engine light. The program shows us what the most common fixes are for a specific engine light code and provides detailed service information for the techs. My techs greatly appreciate the wiring diagrams and diagnostic tips from other shops.
ProsThis software provides a vast amount of vehicular repair information. I have been able to utilize this program on nearly every vehicle that comes into my shop.
ConsI like everything about the software.
Recommendations to other buyersI would highly recommend Identifix to other shops and to individual mechanics. It is a great tool.
Source: Capterra
April 14, 2017
Mike R.
Lead Auto Technician
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2017

“Real life fixes from automotive professionals.”

OverallQuick Diagnostics and repair information. Saved many headaches from unpublished repairs. The ultimate "shortcut" software.
ProsEasy to use with a wealth of information on most makes and models. This software has saved our shop hundreds of hours of diagnostics which makes us more money and saves the customer money. Has labor guides from multiple sources. Has OEM TSB's and repair information. This software has a wealth of information once you learn how to use it.
ConsThe price can fluctuate depending on your needs and who you talk to. Like any good business deal get it in writing. Charge your customers a fee for use and you will recover the costs.
Source: Capterra
July 9, 2017
Nick M.
Manager
Automotive, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019

“Identifix is a great resource for auto shops”

OverallOverall I'm very satisfied with Identifix. It is a very complete information database and collaboration of technician experience. I wouldn't run our shop without it.
ProsI like the intuitive search feature. You can input trouble codes to see what other technicians have found wrong on car with the same code. I also like the factory service information.
ConsThe cataloging of data is not intuitive to navigate in my opinion. There are a lot of links that one has to navigate through to get to the information sometimes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019
Sharon E.
owner
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019

“Identifix”

OverallI will continue to use the software because when it comes to fixing cars it is a great software for mechanics to use for helping to troubleshoot.
ProsThe program integrates with my Invoicing software. It's easy to look up Repairs for most vehicles. It's gives what other mechanics have done to fix the problems.
ConsIt's not easy to maneuver around some of the other parts of the program. Not always easy to find what you are looking for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019
Odis H.
Owner
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019

“Identfix can do exactly as the title states. Identify the problem and lead you to fixing it.”

OverallIdentifix is my go to for all labor times, R & R procedures, Its vital in creating accurate estimates for my customers
ProsI like that you can search by vehicle malfunction and see reports from other users that have had the same problem and how they were able to solve the problem.
ConsBiggest Con is the price. Its quite expensive and may not be for everyone if they do not have a shop that can justify the cost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 18, 2019
alex r.
service advisor
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2017

“Love the help and resources this program provides”

ProsLove the help and resources this program provides. It is easy to use and if you need help using it or if the information that you are looking for is not there, you can always call to get help. Very quick and reliable
ConsOur technicians use this program for help when needed, just don't like the fee when you need to talk to someone on the phone
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2017
Angela H.
Bookkeeper
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Great tool used daily in our shop”

ProsWhat I like most about Identifix is the knowledge that we can acquire through the program. We can use the endless information to streamline our workflow.
ConsWhat I like least about Identifix is the fact that paid subscribers do not get to call into the hotline for free. I think it should be included in our monthly membership.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
ELIAS L.
ceo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“been using now for a couple of years, works well when in a pinch. price is a little high in my opion”

Prosi like that technicians can find test procedures quickly with a search bar, instead of searching manually with alldata
Consprice is too high for use. system is getting better with factory manuals, wiring diagrams and other related criteria
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017

“Quick fault to fix software with full management capabilities. ”

ProsI like the quick search tab that allows us to search for like faults in so many cars. It really does cut time when testing.
ConsProgram is a little sketchy sometimes although it seems to be improving. I think it will be really good in the future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2017
Mark F.
Owner
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Great support”

ProsEasy to navigate and seems to be loaded with information related to our needs.
ConsNo issues at this time, everything seems to work as expected for us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
David S.
Quality Engineer
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018

“Very easy to use, lots of information”

OverallOther users comments
ProsOne of the best things about using Identifix is getting information from other users that have had similar issues and being able to narrow down certain issues. This has help me quite a bit in the past to determine what was wrong with some vehicles.
ConsThe one thing I don't like about Identifix is the cost, it is hard to pay so much when you only work on cars as a hobby.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018
alex r.
service advisor
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“we use this product in comparison to another shop program we use, it is our secondary go to program ”

Proswe love this program, it lets us know the most common "fixs" and failures in our industry, works very good for diagnostics
Conswe love this program, but one time we did call in to get additional help and later on we recieved an additional bill for that
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Lucretia P.
Technician
Automotive, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Overall a Good Product ”

ProsThe information available is better than that of similar products. Definitely worth the investment.
ConsCan be a bit hard to navigate. Sometimes having to use multiple key words for the same part.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Bryan F.
Manager
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019

“Complete Repair Information”

OverallIt was okay, it would work for anyone but did not have a good experience with customer service.
ProsIdentifix had most the information we needed in the moment.
ConsCompared to Alldata they seem to have the same information with worse customer service. On hold forever. Would say Mitchell1 is superior to both.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019
Sarah C.
Manager
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Definitely worth it!!!!”

OverallIt has been a wonderful experience thus far. Customer support is amazing you get one guy his actual cell number it's direct communication they take wonderful care of you while your learning the system and when you need help
ProsIt's so easy to navigate. You can type in anything your stuck on and boom there's you answer, it gives you labor time, pricing, you can make bills. It does SO much
ConsI am satisfied enough that there really isn't anything I don't like.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Shaun R.
Owner/Senior Technician
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2018

“Your information MIGHT be in there, under hundreds of unrelated documents”

ProsGetting information from real-world technician notes is great! 'Nightmare vehicles' are where this system shines.
ConsRegular maintenance and simple, day to day information is a horrible! WAY too much unrelated information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 8, 2018
brian l.
CEO
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2017

“Poor Customer Service”

OverallWill cancel your service without notice and when confronted about it our rep just stated sorry nothing i can do about it now. Been a customer for 4 years now.
ProsReal life repair solutions
ConsEverything
Recommendations to other buyersProdemand would be a better choice
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Great tool ”

ProsUses real peoples feedback and results to allow me as the user to better identify common issues.
ConsNothing to not like about it about using this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Jennifer G.
Marketing / Former Tech Student
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Fast, easy, reliable diagnostic assistance”

ProsProvides real technician solutions and advice to both DTC and non-DTC diagnostics, along with other automotive procedures and specifications. Great product!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018

“We loved the detail and the ease of use!”

ProsWe tried this software and loved how it helps diagnose specific problems when the codes are tricky to pin point!
ConsIt was a little glitch and had to restart a few times. Could be a little bit more user friendly for service writers, not just technicians.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2018
RICHARD N.
OWNER/TECHNICIAN
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“NOT QUITE THERE YET”

OverallI do not feel we miss anything by not using identifix.
ProsI quit using this software due to difficulty in program and lack of wiring schematic and original equipment service manuals.
ConsThe use of this software is only good for reviewing past fixes and what other Technicians have found in the field and is not useful to real technicians.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
doug g.
owner
Automotive, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“expensive - no customer support”

Prosfound the information fast , pretty easy to learn ,
Conscost kept climbing , customer service said I was able to suspend in slow months - yet nothing could be done
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Justin B.
Senior Master Technician
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2015

“Must Have for Any Automotive Repair Business, Independent or Dealership”

OverallSelect Year, Make, Model, and drivetrain of vehicle, type in DTC number or symptom, and BOOM! You have verified real fixes for the problem YOU'RE facing. Amazing. Also incorporates FACTORY wiring diagrams and WSM material. Easily worth subscription fee. CONS: Doesn't include any kind of labor time database.
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2015
Paul N.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2016

“very helpful”

Overallthis product is very helpful, it is very easy to navigate, but it is not the only tool you should be using. it will point you in the right direction most of the time
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2016
mark l.
shop owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2015

“GOOD STUFF”

Overallthis is a great product for speeding up diagnostics-we easily pay the monthly fee with one or two repairs and use this product constantly-look out pro demand & alldata- this product may make you obsolete!
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2015
Tim S.
shop owner master technician
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“Our shop has tried identifix two separate times, too much effort for poor results”

Overallnone
ProsWe did like the thought of seeing what other techs found for various specific issues with automobiles, we thought it might be an easy way to get fast repair information,
Constoo difficult to navigate, not very user friendly, when you need a coach to show you how to use the product and how to find your way through the product that should tell you something, they keep adding more and more features to try to justify the expense and then they want you to contribute your fixes to their database. I can get results like that from you tube and google
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
william t.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2017

“Totally misrepresented the monthly cost”

OverallI was told for a lesser cost that I would have access to the website and 3 tech call a month which I was OK with. Well, when we used them we had a $35 and change bill for the tech call which was totally not the way it was explained.
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2017