Digital Asset Management Server Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Digital Asset Management Server

The hyper Content & Digital Asset Management Server is an out-of-the-box Open Source solution that helps organizations to have full control over all their digital assets, to automate processes and cut costs. The solution covers Marketing & Brand Asset Management, Product Content & Diversity Management, Commerce Automation & Customer Experience, and last but least Enterprise & Web Content Management. Learn more about Digital Asset Management Server

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Peggy P.
RN, BSN
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016

“A truly great product”

OverallhyperCMS is a great digital asset management solution for sharing projects and files with internal and external team members, and controlling the level of access each user is given. It is very easy to publish assets to all kind of social media networks and partner websites. Best of all I can control the access from the system and receive monthly access reports including a geo report as well. I find the system very easy to use and I can simple access all files using my standard windows file explorer. I also like that all assets can be presented in a tree structure that I desire. This way I can browse all files very fast. I also find the annotation feature for images and documents very useful, I can simply draw my remarks directly on images or documents. For videos there is the text track feature that support text remarks in videos.
ProshyperCMS is a great digital asset management solution for sharing projects and files with internal and external team members and controlling the level of access each user is given. It is very easy to publish assets to all kind of social media networks and partner websites. Best of all I can control the access from the system and receive monthly access reports including a geo report as well. I find the system very easy to use and I can simply access all files using my standard windows file explorer. I also like that all assets can be presented in a tree structure that I desire. This way I can browse all files very fast. I also find the annotation feature for images and documents very useful, I can simply draw my remarks directly on images or documents. For videos, there is the text track feature that supports text remarks in videos.
ConsAlthough I can use the system on my smartphone as well, I would like the user interface to be less complex and easier to use. It would be nice to reduce the functionality on mobile devices compared to the rich browser client. I think most people will use the smartphone to quickly access files but they don't work with assets on their phones.
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2016
Karl S.
Project Manager
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2016

“Recommended tool for digital asset management”

OverallI am using the System on a regular basis since I need to work with colleagues and partners on projects. So sharing files is a very important part of the process. hyperCMS offers everything I need and want when it comes to digital asset management. Uploading and Managing all Kind of files is very easy. I also take advantage of the task management and keep track of the work status. I also like the fact that I can access and save any file without the need to download and upload it into the platform. I simply use my file manager, no special skills required.
ProsThe way how assets are managed and organized. We can organize assets according a tree structure that is best suitable for my needs. The search is powerful and fast. Easy access to all files. Editing and saving files wihtout the need to download and upload them again using my local fiel browser. Keeping track of all tasks I assigned to others. The meta data schema has been defined according our companies requirements. Exiting meta data of files will be imported automatically. Preview of all kind of documents and formats. I can choose which format I want to send to external members. The system takes care of the conversion. Display metadata as rows in the detailed view and beeing able tot sort the assets by metadata. Very reliable support whenever you need it.
ConsThe info bubbles of the icons appear on mouse over. I guess the reason is that there is not enough space, due to the rich functionality . I took my some time to get used to all features on my iPad.
Recommendations to other buyersI am recommending the DAM solution by hyperCMS. I would recommend the enterprise edition or their cloud service, but here is also a free edition available for everybody to download from their website.
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2016
Peter S.
IT Manager
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2016

“Easy to get used to it, user friendly, feature rich and fast”

OverallVery good solution for managing all kind of digital assets from any place, using any device. I like the user Interface. It was quite easy to start with the System. A colleague gave me a 15 minute introduction and this was enough to get started. So I can really recommend it. The System offers a nice set of features. In daily operation I probably use only 15 % of its Features.
ProsIt's was very easy for me to get used to the system. After a 15 minute intro I was able to start with my work. I like the fact that I can open several files at the same time and place the windows next to each other. This is nice when I need work on several assets at the same time. Ther Version Control also helped me to compare the changes somebody made to the assets or ist metadata. And last but not least, I can simple draw my remarks directly on the Images or documents. That'S a time saver.
ConsBe careful with the connected copy (the connected copy and normal copy icons are next to each other). This seems to be a special feature of the system. So if you create a connected copy the content of the asset will be always the same. So the same asset can exist in different locations. This might be useful, if you are using different templates for different metadata Schemas or presentations. But you should never use it, if you want to create a normal copy that you can change without effecting the original source file.
Recommendations to other buyersGive it a try! I have tested/used 4 different open source DAM systems so far over the past 3 years. In my opinion it is the best open source DAM you can get right now.
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2016
Christian B.
Project Manager
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016

“I enjoy working with it”

OverallIt's great to simply access all my digitals work from everywhere. No matter if I am at work or on the road. I find the Annotation feature very useful. This enables to simply draw all my remarks directly on Images or documents without the need to describe all my change requests in detail using text. It's nice to know if the recpients of assets were accessing them and also receiving notifications each time an assets of mine has been changed. So I always stay up-to-date without Monitoring the work on assets on my own. Really nice feature that takes work load for montoring the progress from me.
ProsAutomatic notifications, so I don't need to monitor the work on all assets of my projects. Access from everywhere, including my smartphone when I am on the road and need a certain document. Super fast Support. I didn't need it very often, but every time I had a question I got a quick answer.
ConsSince I am using my smartphone to mainly download assets, the functionality of the mobile client could be reduced. It seems to me that you have all the feature as well. Which is great, but I just don't like working on a small screen.
Recommendations to other buyersI can really recommend the Software if you have a vast amount of digital assets and you need to collaborate in teams. Finding, organizing, sharing, and working with assets is quite simple and effective.
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016
James G.
Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2017

“Easy to install, easy to operate, easy to use.”

OverallA free DAM/MAM solution that does everything we need. Besides that we use it as a CMS to manage our website as well. Simply a great solution.
ProsI am a server admin, so my views might be a different. After I prepared our Linux server the software was setup in a few minutes. Nearly every configuration can be done in the GUI. The software is 100% Open Source and free. They offer 2 other non-free editions. I would personally would be happy with the free edition, but if you are a bigger company you should take a look at their Enterprise edition since t has some nice features. I found the GUI pretty much self explaining. So I didn't really need the manuals, which is nice. I like the fact, that it is based on common GUI standards. So nothing fancy, but very effective in my opinion.
ConsBy default the setup only supports MySQL or Maria DB. However the system also supports other RDBMS. But in this case you can't use their standard installation routine.
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2017
Eveline B.
Creative Designer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016

“Great tool for managing all digital assets”

OverallI am a daily user, since we save all our files and work in the system. I find it easy to use and like that I have access to my files from everywhere. Sometimes I use the video editing to batch process all my videos in one step.
ProsI enjoy the user Interface, which reminds my of a desktop client I am used to. In fact it's browser based. Hard to believe when I first saw it. It support all mobile devices as well. Since I switched from IPhone to Android, nothing changed and I still got access to my folders. I can convert all videos with the desired settings in a single step. I simply select the videos I need to render, select the options once and let the system do the rest of the work.
ConsNot sure, I am quite happy with it. But I also have only seen a few DAM systems so far. HyperCMS offered the most advanced features and was far less complicated to use.
Recommendations to other buyersGive it a try.
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016
Manfred H.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2017

“Great product and support”

OverallManagement of all digital assets for us and our customers. We can now easily find and access files from everywhere and share the asstes in our team. Annotations and Chat makes communication easier, since These are build-in Features, so we don't need another software for collaboration.
ProsEasy to start with Feature rich, made von enterprises The software is very flexible, it is more than a DAM/MAM solution Works on all browsers and devices Very good customer support
ConsYou need internet connection since the system runs on a Server and the frontend is based on HTML5 The workplace integration is great but does not support all features like the browser/HTML client
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2017
Harald B.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2016

“Great digital asset management solution”

OverallI am using the system for about 2 years and it really helps me to find assets, convert them, and share them in any format . I am not aware of all the features, since I mainly use it to store my assets and to collaborate with others. I also like the version control and the reports. I can monitor all changes and downloads of my assets. I can compare versions of the same file and if necessary I can also go back to a previous file version. The GUI is nice and quite simple. The search features are a bit too much, there is a basic search that simply finds everything, mo matter if it is a file name, file content, or meta info. Then there is a very detailed advanced search that I hardly use. What I like is the search for colors in images (quite interesting) and a search based on a list of all keywords that are used. Last but not least I find the taxonomy a very nice feature since it helps a lot to assign keywords and to find assets no matter what language they are using.
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2016
Jeffrey J.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016

“Great DAM/CMS for automatization”

OverallI was looking for a tool that is able to help me reduce my workload. I not only need to store large amount of data/assets, I also need to freely define data schemas and manipulate assets based on their metadata or on their location. I was looking for a system that can not only store assets but also run processes automatically. hyperCMS can do that and it is not even complicated. The guys from hyperCMS are great and answered all my questions. I mainly used the event system and the publishing process to get things done. The event system is triggered on each event, so I can easily start a process if an assets is moved to a certain location. The publishing process triggers a process if a metadata attribute defines a certain value. So I can convert and manipulate assets automatically, based on where they are located or based on their metadata. This saves me valuable time that I can invest in more creative work. Thank you hyperCMS!
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016
Johnny G.
Dir of Process Automation Solutions
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2017

“We were evaluating a DAM systems for a customer and hyperCMS provided both great UI and flexibility.”

OverallWe only installed this product to evaluate its needs against other similar products for a vendor evaluation for a customer.
ProsEven though hyperCMS was created for digital assets, it has additional modules that many enterprises may want from a traditional ECM systems -> APIs, GUI based workflow engine, customizable reporting feature, and AD/LDAP integration.
ConsThe one weakness of hyperCMS is the lack of support for xml content. They use xml as part of their import/export modules, but if you actually edit xml content using xml editor app, there isnt really any native support for xml querying and/or xml content manipulation.
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2017
James G.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2016

“Feature rich and very flexible DAM solution”

OverallThis DAM system offers a full set of features. It's easy to start with and can probably do everything you would expect from a DAM solution. I like the fact that it is available on any browser, mobile or desktop. But you can also access all your files easily from your file manager since it also works as a network drive. This way you can work with your files the way ure are used to. Best of all, the storage is expendable very easily. You can store millions of assets without slowing the system down. Their cloud service is great and if you later on plan to run the system on your own hardware, it is also possible. You can even store your assets in nearly any cloud storage, like AWS, Azure and others. This way you are very flexible and pay for what you use. Thumbs up!
Source: Capterra
November 10, 2016
Junaid K.
CTO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2015

“Great Open Source DAM and Enterprise CMS”

OverallWe are using the software for about 4 years and we are very satisfied with the features. It really helps us to collaborate and share rich content with our internal and external partners. Pros: Very easy to use Access to files via Web, Mobile device and file manager Very good access control and asset tracking features Useful if you want to build landing pages, websites or UX plugins for your Intranet, since the assets can be easily integrated and reused Based on Open Source technologies and easy to install You can update the running system, so no downtime Cons: GUI is influenced by Microsoft GUI standards, Apple users might not always enjoy that
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2015
Robert B.
Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2015

“Best Open Source based Digital Asset Management Software on the Market”

OverallWe were looking for a digital asset management platform that is based on Open Source technologies, since we also use OS software to develop our products. We've been thrilled with the performance of this solution and the really impressive set of features. The platform is simple to use and intuitive to customize and adapt. It's great to have a Webinterface that supports all browsers and use your local file manager as well. Their support responds very quickly and provides excellent help. On-site training is offered to, but in my opinion it's not necessary, since the the system is not complex and the user manuals are very good.
Source: Capterra
October 9, 2015
Walter W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2016

“DAM(n) good”

OverallI am using the system from hyperCMS nearly every day, in the office and on the road. It's quite easy to use and I enjoy the features, that makes life easier. I like the fact that I can pick any metadata field and present it as a column of the detailed view. This is very useful if you want to sort your assets based on certain metadata fields. Besides that I like the fact that I will be automatically notified when changes are made on assets that I am watching. This way I am always up-to-date regarding the work progress.
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2016
Maria Z.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2016

“Strongly recommended”

OverallI like the fact, that the tool is easy to use. A colleague introduced my to the system, so I never had a training. You only need to get used to all the features available in the toolbar of the system. The system is very powerful, I hardly ever used all the functions. To me, the search, copy & paste, cut & paste, statistics, sending & sharing are especially useful and I use them quite often.
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2016
Martin H.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2015

“Excellent Customer Service and best Open Source Digital Asset Management Software”

OverallhyperCMS has continuously given us the tools needed to store, manage and share vast amount of digital assets for our network of partners. We find the DAM platform very effective and easy to use, resulting in an increase of participation within a variety of marketing programs. The level of customer service provided to us has exceeded our expectations.
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2015