Firmex Virtual Data Rooms Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Firmex Virtual Data Rooms

Easy to use, affordable, backed by 24/7 support -- you can trust Firmex Virtual Data Rooms to run mission-critical processes and get projects finished faster. Over 120,000 companies have used Firmex to share confidential documents during mergers and acquisitions, fundraising, audits, litigation, and procurement projects with billions of dollars at stake. Firmex can have your project live within minutes, and every user has access to the same support as you do. No per page pricing or hidden fees. Learn more about Firmex Virtual Data Rooms

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 54 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 54 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Ian N.
Program Manager
Renewables & Environment, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Simple, yet valuable”

OverallI've used Firmex DVR on many projects and it's much easier to use than other solutions. Data rooms requiring training will reduce the utilization by the project team.
ProsFirmex VDR is easy to use. It offers the ability to toggle quickly between projects, has an intuitive folder structure, and allows for easy uploading and viewing of documents.
ConsHaving an embedded version control option would be valuable, with an easy way to distinguish between drafts and final versions of documents.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on June 10, 2019
Hi Ian, Thanks for the review! With regard to Firmex having an embedded version control option, you'll be glad to know that we have one. Here's a quick summary of our versioning and document status options: Firmex's versioning feature is built-in to our system. You can choose to upload a new document, or a new version of a document. You and your team can always access the version history, while only giving guests users access to the latest version of the document (the "document of truth"). Firmex can also detect new versions of a document based on the content of the document. Firmex also supports content status on documents and folders. Many of our customers use this content status to designate whether a document is in draft, awaiting review, or final. This usually coincides with our document comment and tag systems. Your Customer Success Manager will follow up with you to demonstrate these features at your convenience. Kyle Bardsley Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Matt I.
Associate
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2016

“Excellent Choice for a VDR”

OverallOur firm has used Firmex VDRs for dozens of investment banking transactions and are very pleased with the product they put out as well as the support and service we receive.
ProsThe functionality is perfect for running a VDR to share documents and files with many parties while controlling the document flow and accessibility of any party on any document. The product is very competitively priced compared to a lot of the service providers out there. Customer service is very prompt and happy to walk you through any issue, small or large. Firmex is also continually improving its services.
ConsSecurity functionality is limited once the files have been downloaded by another party (if you allow them to download). Once a party bulk downloads you lose the ability to track their access and usage of documents and delete the document if you would like to remove their access from the information completely.
Recommendations to other buyersNo.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on July 23, 2019
Hi Matt, Thanks so much for taking the time to reflect on your Firmex experience. We very much understand the benefits of being able to track how your users are interacting with files once they've been downloaded. We do offer a selection of Seclore-supported document protection options that can be applied to help monitor the document activity of your users even after the documents have been downloaded from the platform. The Lock to Computer, Expire Access and No Print document protections will give you the insight you're looking for! I encourage you to reach out to your Firmex rep or Firmex Support to get more information and explore if these protections are right for your project. Many thanks, Maren Van Zutphen Customer Success Manager
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019

“Firmex Virtual Data Room”

OverallFor the Real Estate and Investment banking, the sharing of confidential documents within the company and taking on projects being in a group has been made easier. The legal documents and the finances which cannot be exposed can be accessed and updated from anywhere with Login access, for example on my iPhone. Tracking old files is much easier, as we go through sharing hundereds of files everyday with corrections pointed and re-corrected.
ProsThe custom sharing platform which is secured and the visibility control for employees. The best part of software is the document validity & password we can set and the people we can choose from list that can access or view the documents. Also the same document cannot be shared by E-mail or any other non Data-room platform and if done. We can control the share and track of the confidential documents.
ConsThe drawback of this software is that we cannot assign different permission or access levels to people in same group. Also, the time stamp cannot be changes to local time, it's always EST available.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on January 11, 2019
Hello! Thank you for using Firmex. We pride ourselves on our customer service and you having the best experience. In the future, we would be happy to show you how to set user-based permissions in the data room. It's a function we have to set from our end, as group-based permission is the preference of a majority of our users, it's our default. In terms of time zones, increased functionality is on our road map. As it stands now all of our reports can be run at any time zone, be it est, your time zone, or anyone you choose. Happy to jump on a quick call at your convenience. Thanks you, Jason @ Client Success
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019
Emma S.
Legal Secretary
Law Practice, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“User feedback”

ProsI like how easy the software is to use, and how you can set all different levels of users, i.e people can only view documents and other cans download etc.
ConsAt first it was very complicated to use. Should have some demo videos.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on July 23, 2019
Hi Emma, Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you've enjoyed using Firmex and found the software easy to navigate once you got familiar with the platform. We do believe that our users could benefit from some videos when they're first introduced to Firmex. We do have a Getting Started video series available on our Firmex Knowledge Base, and I've attached the link to the first video in the series below. https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/204467538-Start-a-new-project-change-the-project-name Once again, thank you for your feedback. Maren Van Zutphen Customer Success Manager
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Firmex meets expectations!”

ProsFirmex is easy to use on both an admin and user perspective. The support from Firmex makes it easy to troubleshoot issues. Firmex is by the far the best VDR platform I've used (cost combined with functionality).
ConsThe process of allowing users to view certain documents within the VDR could be improved. For example, not having to setup permissions by group, but by user. Further, understanding when users are downloading information by receiving email notifications.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on June 10, 2019
Hi, Thanks for the review! We hear you loud and clear. The majority of our clients prefer group-based permissions and the advantages that come with it, but we understand that certain projects require user-based permissions. Our Client Services team would be happy to customize your project to allow for user-based permissions. This will allow you to hide documents inside a folder by user, as well as setting up users instead of groups. I'd be happy to hop on a quick call at your convenience. Thanks again for choosing Firmex, Kyle Bardsley Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“To be or not to be organized!”

OverallExcellent. Easily adapted to our current work environment.
ProsEase of use. Simple integration with our current work flow management. Rapid customer response.
ConsSometimes difficult to find answers to questions regarding the tool.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on June 11, 2019
Hi, Thank you for your review. We're so pleased our platform integrates with your current work flow smoothly and you've had the chance to speak with our fantastic Support Team! If you have any questions about Firmex features or functionality, we have our Firmex Knowledge Base available online. It has tons of helpful articles, FAQs and how-to videos. https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us I use the tool myself quite frequently - but I do find that occasionally my search terms don't return the results that I KNOW are in there somewhere. In those instances (and any other time you have a question), please feel free to utilize our award-winning Support Team. They're available 24/7/365 by phone at 1(888)688-4042 ext. 11 or by email at support@firmex.com. Thank you again for choosing Firmex, Kyle Bardsley Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Stacy C.
Paralegal
Legal Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2019

“Firmex works for legal practice”

OverallOverall I've found Firmex support to be outstanding. You get answers quickly and they are helpful when dealing with our clients.
ProsI like that our clients don't need any special training or hand holding to use the software. Once they login it is very simple to upload/download documents and understand without special training. I also really like the different levels of security, as we often have multiple clients with different levels of access all in the same document room.
ConsI can't think of anything at the moment that I'm dissatisfied with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2019
Emily N.
Document Specialist
Legal Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“User-friendly and intuitive product”

OverallWe have used Firmex at our firm for over 5 years. Every day I am asked to create data rooms because everyone knows it's the easiest and most efficient way to share documents confidentially.
ProsVery easy to use, simple, quick, amazing customer service and functional for the various needs of our firm.
ConsThere isn't much I don't like about the software. Perhaps adding some more robust features would be useful but I know the team always has exciting things on their product roadmap so I usually see these enhancements on a regular basis!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Investment Banking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Overall Good, But No Bells & Whistles”

OverallOverall good, but limited customer support.
ProsEasy to use. Cost effective. User-friendly. Intuitive.
ConsHighly limited functionality and user analytics.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on June 11, 2019
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We're very pleased you're happy with our platform. We're constantly working on improving our product, releasing new updates each month to bring new functionality to our amazing customers. We very much appreciate the importance of having clear, easily accessible analytics when it comes to your various dataroom needs. For this reason, one our main focuses for the 2019 Product Road-map is improving reporting functionality. If you're interested about hearing more about the upcoming releases, or have questions about product functionality, I'd be happy to arrange a call to discuss at your convenience. Alternatively, our award-winning Support Team is available 24/7/365.They can be reached at 1.888.688.4042 x11 or support@firmex.com. Thanks again for choosing Firmex, Kyle Bardsley Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
neda s.
Senior Manager
Banking, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“review July 2019”

Overallno need to physically be in one office for audit reviews and the information can be easily organized.
ProsEasy to upload information and the customer service team is very quick to respond.
ConsDelegation of rights is not very easy to set up - often need to reach out to someone at firmex to walk me through the limits on users.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on September 3, 2019
Hi Neda, Thanks so much for this kind review. Obviously, we remain available to help as required (and thank you for complimenting our CS team, by the way) but if you want some assistance making templates for your audit reviews, that might make it easier to delegate rights in the future. You can call me at 888-688-4042 ext 253, or the support team at ext 11, to talk about templates whenever you have a moment. Always good to hear from you, and thanks again! Jacob Rose Dedicated CSM
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Nathan S.
Director
Investment Banking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“Firmex Virtual Data Rooms review”

ProsEase of use, ability to control the permissions on documents, reports showing time of use and activity levels, etc.
ConsSometimes difficulty with users not receiving their invitation emails, the inability to assign different permission levels to different members within a group.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on July 23, 2019
Hi Nathan, Thank you for your feedback! We're happy you've enjoyed your experience with us thus-far. The group permission model was designed and put in place to make setting permissions easier and less difficult to manage for our project administrators. Of course, we understand there are certain cases where it would be more convenient to be able to control access at a user level. For that reason, we do have a User-Level Permissions option that can be enabled by a Firmex rep. If you'd like to learn more about this feature or have it enabled, I encourage you to reach out to your rep. Best regards, Maren Van Zutphen Customer Success Manager
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Anjuman G.
Transaction Manager
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018

“Feedback - Frimex VDR”

OverallOverall, experience has been good and can really recommend.
ProsFirmex is much easier to use compared to other VDR providers. It is very intuitive to use. Customer service is really good as well. The executives have a good understanding of the system and are quick to solve probelms and answer questions.
ConsThe space provided for answering diligence questions is too small. When responding to a question it will help if the window expands with the answer, so that the user can view the whole answer rather than scrolling within the small window.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Investment Banking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Firmex”

ProsEase of use is very good. Speed and customization are good as well.
ConsFiles are not tethered after bulk downloads which limits reporting on how guys are using files

Vendor Response

By Firmex on June 10, 2019
Hi, We appreciate your review. With respect to your comment that, "Files are not tethered after bulk downloads which limits reporting on how guys are using files," Firmex's document protection options do indeed enable administrators to monitor and control documents after they've been bulk downloaded by a user. Depending on which document protection options are set (e.g., Lock To Computer or Expire Access), you should be able to see if and when a document was opened or printed on a user's computer. I'd be happy to hop on a call to demonstrate these features at your convenience. Thanks again for choosing Firmex, Kyle Bardsley Senior Director, Customer Operations & Growth
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Investment Banking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“Fantastic VDR's”

ProsVery easy to use - incredibly easy to set up and edit data rooms, add documents to them, and give access to viewers
ConsHonestly, nothing - I don't think there's much they could improve on!!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Douglas H.
Director
Investment Banking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Firmex Virtual Data Rooms review”

OverallAs a longtime user, I have only had positive experiences with Firmex.
ProsEase of use and functionality is the most positive attribute.
ConsFew cons, but select users have had trouble receiving Firmex automated emails due to spam filters.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Umair A.
Project Manager
Utilities, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Firmex review”

ProsGUI is pretty simple, easy to upload, download files, create folders and navigate.
Consdon't know if firmex offers any workflow features
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Jamie B.
Attorney
Legal Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2016

“Virtual Data Room”

OverallFirmex is User friendly, but the search function could be improved. Sometimes the download speeds are slower on Firmex than other datasites. I typically batch download so I don't have to work on Firmex.
ProsThe software is intuitive.
ConsThe search function does not allow for more advanced searches or searched within documents.
Source: Capterra
June 17, 2016
Joe M.
Director
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Good product”

ProsEasy to use and functional. Good organization for multiple deals.
ConsCost compared to the more universal data share sites is higher eg drop box
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Harry C.
Managing Director
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Strong customer service orientation”

OverallUse on multiple projects, seamless toggling and customer service ALWAYS responsive and has solutions to issues
ProsReasonably easy to navigate, intuitive platform
ConsDrag and drop features not always as responsive as desired
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
J. M.
Consultant
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2016

“Firmex is a Data Room Gem ”

OverallFirmex's customer service is truly exceptional. It's always a pleasant surprise whenever an agent replies to our questions and comments so quickly and efficiently. The system itself is amazing, and a joy to use.
ProsEase of use, reliability of system, implementation of innovative new features with each update, and of course the excellent customer service.
ConsNot applicable.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you are looking for a data room service, look no further, because Firmex is the best.
Source: Capterra
July 27, 2016
Benoit H.
VP Business Development and Licensing
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2016

“International Collaborations Simplified”

OverallWe're using Firmex to exchange documents with law firms (e.g. when we did our public listing), as a repository for regulatory documents (drug submissions) and mainly, exchange documents with our multiple international partners (Spain, Germany, Finland, US). Our setup is simple: One project, one VDR. Simple access control and simple document management makes this solution optimal for us. We had to adapt to the new 'group' feature and got the hang of it. Not the most intuitive presentation of the features. Setting rights access is rather simple and intuitive. So is adding more users. Bulk edit features are also useful. The recent addition of the Firmex Document Exchange for Desktop was also a good idea. One final note - the customer service team has been extremely efficient in the initial training and support. Problems are resolved extremely fast and this is critical for us.
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2016
Avatar Image
Eamon M.
Corporate Finance Manager
Accounting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018

“Firmex Virtual Data Rooms review”

ProsVery easy to use, fantastic customer service - rep. has been brilliant & always available if we have any issues at all. Also, very easy to create indexes etc. and very straightforward to upload documents. Overall we are extremely pleased with our experience.
ConsTimestamps on documents cannot be changed to local times, only EST is available. As we are based in Ireland, it would be a good addition if we can timestamp documents in GMT/BST.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2018
Jean-Pierre S.
Associate
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Firmex”

ProsEase of use, quality of customer services
ConsNeed more clarity around bulkdownload characteristics
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Adell M.
Training Coordinator
Legal Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019

“Firmex ”

ProsThe ease of use and customer service rapid support
ConsI don't have any cons about Firmex. .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Cory C.
Chief Operating Officer
Building Materials, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Great enterprise shared storage”

ProsVery easy to use for all member of the team, even those who don't understand
ConsLacks some functionality for the everyday user, which could be a good thing, depending on who's using the service.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on January 11, 2019
Hi Cory, Glad you enjoyed using Firmex! We are always looking to improve our service and would love some clarity around your comments. Could you be more specific about what, if any, features you found lacking? Regards, Edward Stephen
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Linda J.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016

“Pretty user friendly and convenient. ”

OverallPros: sharing, filing, posting, easy uploading/pulling into system Cons: cannot view as others/assume someone's profile to view only

Vendor Response

By Firmex on May 12, 2016
Thanks for the review! Just to clarify, Firmex allows Project Managers and Administrators to view project content as another member of the project. See - https://support.firmex.com/hc/en-us/articles/204467598 A member of our client success team will be reaching out to you shortly to discuss your specific project. In the mean time please don¿t hesitate to contact our support team anytime (http://www.firmex.com/support/contact-support/). They will be happy to answer any questions you may have. Again, thanks for taking the time to review Firmex. We appreciate the feedback!
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016
Katie T.
Associate
Law Practice, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Review regarding Firmex”

ProsEasy to use. If there is anything that you don't know how to use the website is very self directing.
ConsThe numbering down the left hand side can get confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
RYAN B.
Investment Banking, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2016

“Fairly comprehensive and intuitive VDR Platform”

OverallI've used Firmex on one deal. The functionality was great, but customer service does not make it easy to assist with the VDR setup if you are not the Admin, but rather trying to assist your client/the Admin.
ProsSecure and simply.
ConsCustomer service, permission settings.
Recommendations to other buyersData archiving is not a streamlined as other VDR services, but it's still very good.

Vendor Response

By Firmex on September 27, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review Firmex. With regards to your comment, for security reasons we cannot change permissions that our clients set as the main administrators without their permission. It looks like this is what was happening in your case, but its hard to comment beyond that without knowing more specifics. Please contact me at jason.soo@firmex.com. I would love to learn more about your specific case, and how we can improve in the future.
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2016
Eric G.
Business Manager
Banking, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018

“Not a big user”

ProsIt's aways easy to create and use. Very intuitive.
ConsNothing to point out. I'm only using it very sparsly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2018
Steven G.
Finance - Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2016

“Firmex - Virtual Data Room”

OverallWe've been using Firmex as our M&A VDR solution for about six years. The software subscription allows us the flexibility to use the VDR to accomplish different objectives (i.e. traditional M&A due diligence, data collection, large file transfer, etc.) as well as flexibility with respect to project length (i.e. clients that we'll work with for years prior to going to market). The two biggest pros in my eyes has been the constant improvements through the years and the friendly customer service. The company is always receptive to suggestions on how to make the product even more user friendly.
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2016
Hillary L.
Syndication Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016

“I use this software on a daily basis to share documents and control access to those documents ”

OverallThe pros is this is an easy way to share documents and organize our deals and control who has access to them. It is secure and safe. The cons is I find it difficult with the new user groups to be able to do what we need as efficiently. If we were able to control this function by having the ability to turn it on or off, or create user groups with users from different companies that would be great. Also, the option to use a group that was already created would be great, as we normally have many of the same people going into one group.
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016
Colleen B.
Paralegal
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016

“Training session”

OverallI had a one on one training session with Jason yesterday and it was incredibly informative. I had no idea of some of the uses and tools available on Firmex. I was never trained on this before I just had to start using it when I started here but I am so thankful for this training and now knowing so much more on this product. I will now be able to show some of my co-workers and we also are planning an in house training here in the future. Thank you, Colleen
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016
Maureen R.
Legal Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016

“Firmex makes it easy to collaborate”

OverallFirmex is designed for personal customization to suit any project I have going and at any stage. I find it's overall easy to use, set up, upload and share. Being able to set up individual parameters for each user and for each room is vital to allow proper access at the proper time. Whenever I have a question or need help with something, the Firmex team is quick to respond and always friendly and professional.
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016
Shlomo O.
IT Business Relationship Manager, R&D
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2016

“Great product for sharing information/data with high-caliber product support team.”

OverallPros: Ease of use. Great features/capabilities for sharing information and collaborating with both internal and external members. Very positive experience with usage of the software. Top notch support team with high degree of availability. Suggestion for improvements: Expend the concept of groups across the data room (currently project specific). Document version control. Real-time document editing capability
Source: Capterra
March 2, 2016
Leonardo A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2016

“Excellent tool for data room management - sell side”

OverallWe used Firmex for 3 months during a sell side data room need. Software was very intuitive to configure and use. Our lawyers had comparative experiences with other pieces of software, and they said this is the best one they have ever used. I recommend Firmex for their tooling and attentive customer support. I requested it twice, and I was promptly supported.
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2016
Claudia D.
Marketing Director - Due Diligence
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016

“Easy to use and the best customer service I've ever experienced”

OverallWe've been using Firmex as our M&A data room for over 5 years and I'm always impressed with the platform, the company's constant improvement, and the amazing customer service. If I ever have a question, I receive a call back within 3 minutes. Intuitive use and stand-up customer service keep me a satisfied customer.
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016
Branden W.
Associate
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2016

“Firmex makes collaboration easy”

OverallI am using a Firmex data room to compile tax forms for foreign beneficiaries. The forms are sent to one office, and I am in another. The data room offers a secure way for one office to file the forms and I can access them from another location. I get notified by email that new forms have been added so I am always in the know.
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2016
Todd K.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2016

“Use this software daily.”

OverallFirmex is a great piece of software that we use daily in our financial institution. It makes sharing large amounts of secure data, easy, efficient, and foolproof. The drag and drop functionality makes this software as easy to use as your OS. This is a must have tool for anyone who shares significant volumes of documentation.
Source: Capterra
March 3, 2016
Michael S.
Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2016

“Virtual Data Room”

OverallOverall the platform that Firmex provides is much more robust and easy to use than the platform my firm was previously using. Firmex has nearly all of the functionality of the larger VDR providers at a cost that is a lot more reasonable to our clients. I would use this product again.
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2016
Emily N.
Online Content and Collaboration
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016

“The Definition of Intuitive”

OverallWe have utilized Firmex as our primary extranet portal for years now and never are we disappointed by this platform. It is the epitome of user-friendly and the round-the-clock customer service is just another example of how efficiently this company manages their product and client-relations.
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016
Simon K.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016

“Simple and easy to use”

Overall+Easy to use +Intuitive +Secure +Fast +Great support Strong support and sales organization that listens and cares. Developing the system continously is important, but not losing track of the simplicity and iniuity is essential.
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016
Diane A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2015

“Easy to use + Outstanding Customer Service ”

OverallThe Firmex site is intuitive and easy to use. The staff was very accommodating and has helped us to design our project so that it meets our unique needs for personnel across the country to access documents. We have received outstanding customer service.
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2015
Danielle M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2016

“Amazing Support Team”

OverallFirmex has a wonderful support team that takes the time to walk through each step with it's users. I called them often when I was first learning Firmex and was very impressed with their patience and knowledge.
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2016
Rico T.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016

“My experience to Firmex is relatively new but so far so good”

OverallSo far experience has been limited but very satisfying, it is extremely easy to use and functional, our internal parties and external users have become familiar with it quickly and are happy to use it.
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016
Delen W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016

“As good as the competition”

OverallI've used plenty of data room providers and firmex is on par with the other big names. None of them are perfect but I seem to have fewer problems with firmex especially when it comes to downloading large data rooms in one try.
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2016
Carrie F.
Legal Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016

“Makes Due Diligence Simple”

OverallAs a legal assistant, I'm able to set up a Virtual Data room in no time. It's easy to download documents and share information all across the country. I would highly recommend Firmex!
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2016
Terrrence M.
Investment Banking Analyst
Banking, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2016

“Investment Banking Analyst”

OverallFirmex was very user friendly and easy to use. The insiders website made it fun to use and learn more about the site.
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2016
Reed B.
CFO
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2016

“All around great value”

OverallExtremely easy to use, organize data, manage and restrict users, and see what different users can view. It's very intuitive.
ProsSimple to use and logical in its layout and tools.
ConsThe area for management of users and groups wasn't as logical and simple to use as the rest of the tool.
Recommendations to other buyersI've worked with many VDRs over the years. Use this one.
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2016
Unjoo B.
Assistant Treasurer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2016

“Excellent tool for organizing info so that it is accessible by those who are permitted to use it.”

OverallPros: easy to navigate, can dowload files simply, is user friendly and intuitive, others can access info. Cons: none so far
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2016
M F.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2016

“So easy to use”

OverallFirmex is one of the better virtual data rooms I've utilized over the past ten years. Quick uploads, easy to search. Good technical support
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2016