WineDirect Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About WineDirect

WineDirect is the leader in winery direct-to-consumer (DTC) services including ecommerce, point-of-sale, wine club, fulfillment and marketplace distribution solutions. In an era of rapidly increasing consumer expectations, our unique end-to-end platform enables wineries to provide next-level service and create customer relationships that last. WineDirect is headquartered in Napa Valley and serves more than 1,600 wineries worldwide. Learn more about WineDirect

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 6 of 6 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Lauren M.
Weddings & Events Manager
Wine and Spirits, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019

“Winery running on Wine Direct”

OverallOverall our experience has been ok. It has been quite the learning curve going from our old system to Wine Direct. Overall, the software is usable, it just takes quite a bit of work to figure it out. Additionally, use the Customer service line. We have called them hundreds of times when we are unable to figure something out. For the most part, they are able to assist us rather quickly.
ProsThis software is easier to learn than expected, and it integrated with our other systems well.
ConsThe software has many restrictions that cause issues from a business standpoint. For example, you can only make 1 return per transaction. After that, the system will not allow any additional returns on that order. This causes problems from an inventory standpoint . Many of the processes are very long and require MANY steps. The old system that we used was much more intuitive. Additionally, there are many issues that Wine Direct creates on their own. The system will randomly formulate new lists that move members from non shipping to shipping. Charges will show as pending on our end, but will go through on the clients end. Every time you click on an order, you have to research the customer name. For example, if you are looking for a particular sale, and have to open multiple orders to find it, you have to re-search the customer name after opening every order. Seems like a very small thing, but we have this issues multiple times a day.

Vendor Response

By WineDirect on October 9, 2019
Hi Lauren - thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you've had a positive experience with our support team! But sorry to hear about your other frustrations. If you haven't already, I encourage you to vote on this idea in our Ideas forum for multiple returns on a single order: https://ideas.winedirect.com/ideas/MISC-I-84 Our product team uses all the input here to help inform what we build next. I've also passed along your feedback to our team so that they can reach out and try to resolve your outstanding issues with lists and charges. -Adrienne
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2019
Jason B.
office manager
Wine and Spirits, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Wonderful POS...lacking back office”

OverallI use WineDirect daily, and while it does leave a little to be desired in some locations, it does help me and my team assist our customers, update our website, and control our inventory as we need it to do.
Prosthe POS side of this software is really convenient and useful for our tasting room staff. It's easy to set your own layout, include photos, take separate payments, refund/exchange. All things that have helped the functionality of our tasting room.
ConsThe reporting is not easy to use and sometimes when I add a modifier to the report (ie. "don't include zero quantity) it will still show up in the report. the tools that are there for the website can be a bit confusing and not always the easiest to work with. I really don't like that we can't change a shipping address because it checks compliance before creating the label.

Vendor Response

By WineDirect on September 11, 2019
Hi Jason - thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear you are having a good experience with our Point of Sale! I've shared your comments about our reporting tools with our team. I see you've voted on and commented on our Ideas Forum about editing shipping addresses; it is definitely something we are looking at for future consideration!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Becky H.
Administrator
Wine and Spirits, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“Wine Direct Pulls it All Together”

OverallWineDirect is essential to tie in all the pieces of running a wine club.
ProsHandles functionality across multiple areas: Customer account, email communications, POS system and ties into fulfillment. They are always taking feedback and working on ways to improve the customer experience.
ConsUnable to call for support; although they are very responsive to the email help tickets. Can be difficult to find the desired information when looking at the Documentation site for support. System will not allow for multiple emails in an account.

Vendor Response

By WineDirect on March 28, 2019
Hi Becky - thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear WineDirect is working well for you, but sorry that you've had issues reaching our support team. We are constantly striving to improve our service and have recently added staff and extended our support phone hours so we hope you'll see an improvement the next time you need assistance. Thank you again for your support!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Wine and Spirits, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Vin65 Review”

OverallVery good. It is simple to use and customers have minimal issues.
ProsAfter it's update, I find it much easier to navigate, and pull out the information I need. Very easy for customers to navigate on the POS side.
ConsSometimes navigating the spreadsheet layout can be a little difficult, it would be nice if they would simplify the readouts a little more for when you are looking for a quick glance, and not overall breakdown.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018
Kevin S.
Business & Marketing Dir.
Wine and Spirits, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2017

“Runs every aspect of my online store and wine club with ease.”

ProsCustomer Service people are always there to answer questions and the designed are adding new features monthly
ConsI would love it if they offered CRM for my wholesale accounts as well, where I could track pending accounts as well as wines sold to existing accounts.
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2017
Maggie W.
Special Event Coordinator
Wine and Spirits, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“WIne Direct and Vin65”

OverallWe not only have an easy-to-use tablet friendly POS, but it keep track of our bottles sold as well as any additional merchandise.
ProsI like how easy it is to create POS options to help us sell our wine. It's easy to toggle between different POS locations (tasting room vs event centers where wine is being sold)
ConsThere aren't many cons, other than the spreadsheet is a little long and difficult to navigate. I also wish it was easy to override sold out events, i.e. we have a class that sells out online but we have no shows, so we have additional space. In the POS, it's not possible (to my knowledge) to override those sold out classes to continue selling tickets. Maybe it's operator error!

Vendor Response

By WineDirect on November 21, 2018
Hi Maggie - Thanks so much for your review! We're glad to hear WineDirect is working well for your business. Our support team would be glad to speak to you about how to troubleshoot your sold out class issue. Cheers, The WineDirect Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018