CMiC Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About CMiC

CMiC Field: Combines Project Management and Project Controls to enable seamless collaboration and integrated project delivery. CMiC Field supports the natural workflow of construction projects by automating processes and integrating platforms for smooth and effective management. Specialized for construction and capital project management, CMiC Field delivers smarter, faster solutions to construction-specific problems and procedures. Learn more about CMiC

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 157 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 157 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Rachel B.
Business Intelligence Analyst
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 11, 2019

“CMiC ”

OverallAfter several years on CMiC software I would say that it is absolutely the best integrated project management and accounting ERP available. The implementation can be time consuming, but the benefits are definitely worth it. Everyone is up to date with the latest information on our projects, so it makes collaboration a breeze. Our management loves the ability to get real time accurate and detailed reports of exactly what they need to make business decisions. Great company and great software.
ProsCMiC's greatest contributions to our organization are that it provides a powerful and scalable infrastructure that allows everyone to collaborate, stores all our organization's data and documents in a central location, and has excellent reporting capabilities to analyze our data. CMiC is great at getting our company to collaborate and share data. No more calling around for information or searching through files. We believe that the reports from CMiC are a significant contributing to our organizations ability to make decisions and be successful. Tip for Success: Taking the time to thoroughly review and understand the settings for each module will greatly improve your organization's experience with CMiC. Don't guess at what the settings do. Try recording the training sessions with your CMiC implementation team, so that you can review it later. Ask questions freely. And be sure sure to join CMUG, the CMiC users group. They have forums, monthly calls, demos, and are a great help.
ConsThe implementation process can be long. The distribution and segregation of the software settings to multiple locations makes it difficult to manage the system and troubleshoot issues. One central control panel would make it much more user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 11, 2019
Caloub H.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017

“CMiC - The Future of the Construction Industry ”

OverallI think CMiC is a solid solution with abundant features and capabilities. We have only "unlocked" about 10% of the tool, so I hope we keep growing and leaning the CMiC solution. I wish our company used more of the program - there's so many helpful tools. The CMiC team has been a pleasure, overall, to work with. We look forward to growing with CMiC in the future.
ProsPeople that work at CMiC, overall, are all awesome. Paul in sales, and Chet in support, are (2) especially solid individuals that come to mind. The ECM Plug In is great! That tool alone is worth CMiC. Support staff is usually very responsive when issues arise. TONS of features and capabilities! I like that CMiC has updates often - makes you feel comfortable that they're continually trying to support their clients and improve their product.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure your whole company is on board so you can unlock the robust features of the product and use it to its full extent. Invest lots of time into the training and try to get your complete team to attend. Be prepared for a learning curve for your team, your consultants, clients, and subcontractors.
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017
Alexandra B.
Application Engineer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“My Review ”

OverallWell integrated system overall, but everyone needs to pitch in to make it great!
Pros- Business Process Integration - Job Billing module is fantastic from my experience. We can customize our contracts/bills ALMOST any way our users need (with the exception of some change order options). - Gords passion - Constantly trying to evolve/innovate CMiC to keep up with what people. No one wants users to go and find another program to do something that they feel CMiC cannot do. Mobile and BI are some of the newer things that have kept us from having to explore other options.
Cons- Performance/Speed is overall a bit slow - We have BI in our DEV environment. It is on its way to becoming very useful for us, but it's not quite there, but I know it's still being developed. I wouldn't say that it's really the least favorite of mine, just that I am really excited to see what else is coming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Kristi T.
Contracts Administrator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“Contracts Administrator Review”

OverallExplore as much as you can, there are so many things that this software is capable of to make your job easier!
ProsI am the Contracts Administrator for Gramoll Construction Company. I use this software for many different purposes and once I have gotten the hang of some of the uses I have come to rely quite heavily on this program (when it is down I panic)!! When I have issues I have been very pleased with the support available (the most common asked questions usually will fix my problem) the customer service goes above and beyond expectations (always very friendly and helpful)! Overall I am very pleased with this software and the updates are wonderful!
ConsI wish there was training more readily available...there are so many functions that I am sure that I am not utilizing but I find myself fumbling through trying to figure what they do and why.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Grace D.
Payroll manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2017

“Payroll Manager”

ProsGeneral payroll needs met by software. Would like to see more standard payroll reports. For data I can't get from a report, I have to download data from view screens, and create excel reports on my own. Would also like to see historical pay, hire/term/rehire data in a sub screen within the Employee Profile Maintenance screens, instead of having to go to Employee History Adjustment screen in Utilities. Three things I really like about CMiC: 1) Ability to download data to excel. 2) The system is able to recognize state reciprocity/non-reciprocity and withholding tax accordingly 3) Ability to find specific data using query operators/functions
ConsUser should have proficient excel knowledge to get desired data from system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2017
Luis B.
Director of Construction Technologies
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“Integrated Accounting and Project Managment Solution”

OverallIf you are an operations-oriented firm (as opposed to an accounting-driven firm), this is the right ERP system for you. It is also the best commercial construction ERP system for your dollar. Like most ERP systems and large-scale software implementations, CMiC will take significant resources, planning, and training to deploy and maintain.
ProsThe fact the CMiC provides an integrated platform for our accounting and operations personnel to have real-time visibility into our projects without the need for custom-built integrations is the primary reason that we switched from Viewpoint to CMiC. This also provides us with a unified database to perform real-time data analytics through our BI applications.
Cons- Environment Management (patch testing, hot fixes, bugs)
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Rachel B.
Business Intelligence Analyst
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“CMiC - A Valuable Tool for Collaborating and Reporting”

OverallTaking the time to thoroughly review and understand the settings for each module will greatly improve your organization's experience with CMiC. Don't guess at what the settings do. Try recording the training sessions with your CMiC implementation team, so that you can review it later. And ask questions freely.
ProsCMiC is great at getting our company to collaborate and share data. Setting up CMiC was a lengthy process for us, but with CMiC's help, we were able to get to fit our needs. The most important aspect of the software for us is the reporting capabilities. We are able to access our data and provide great real-time reports and analysis. CMiC's greatest contributions to our organization are that it provides a powerful and scalable infrastructure that allows everyone to collaborate, stores all our organization's data in a central location, and has excellent reporting capabilities to analyze our data.
ConsThe distribution and segregation of the software settings to multiple locations makes it difficult to manage the system and troubleshoot issues. One central control panel would make it much more user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Heather B.
Application Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2017

“Good Work Keep it up!”

ProsFor the most part, CMIC meets our needs. It has come a long way in the 11 years I have been using it and I like the direction it's going in. When ADF gets all the little nuances worked out it, it will be a great replacement for the old Forms screens. I think the JSP screens need to get a face lift next which mobile is helping with that. All in all, I've used a few other construction ERP systems and CMIC, while quirky at times, is my favorite.
ConsTake the time to understand why the system is doing what it's doing. Once you understand the "why", then it makes determining your process easier. Sometimes, minor tweaks to processes can make the world of difference in how something is done and makes the process as a whole work better within the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2017
Edward R.
Director of Technology
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2017

“Miron Construction Co., Inc - Review”

OverallWe have been in production with CMIC for almost three years now. As we have become more adept at the function and features, we continue to find more value and benefits to the application. We are impressed with the scope of the application, as CMIC handles almost all aspects of our financials, human capital management and project management. New features for mobile, dashboards & analytics and digital signature are all very positive additions to the product.
ProsCMIC is highly integrated and was designed as such from the very beginning. Nothing in CMIC feels "bolted on". The quality of the software is high and scope and breadth of the system are excellent.
ConsOutput & reporting is a bit weak. We are anxious to see the new dashboard and analytics feature to see if the new module will help to address this issue.
Recommendations to other buyersIt is vital to re-think and re-engineer your business processes when implementing CMIC.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2017
Jeff S.
Project Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“CMiC Review”

OverallJust use it. It makes your job easier.
ProsThree things i like about CMiC: 1) That is a universal solution, meaning it handles accounting, field operations, safety, document control, all in one place. (i'm hoping that mobile increases this functionality) 2) That is geared toward the basic functions of a general contractor (workflow is good) 3) That it appears like continual improvement of the software is a focus (technological advancement is never ending)
ConsThe rigidity and limited nature of the reporting. (I'm working on MIP and hopefully will soon have access to oracle or jasper reporting tools to customize reports) The 'Captive data' aspect of the JSP data entry. (How you must hit "edit", then modify/enter data, then hit 'save")
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Serena Z.
IT Director
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 15, 2017

“A Great Construction Enterprise Solution”

OverallWe have been using CMiC since 2005 and our overall experience has been very positive. Over the years, the solution continues to evolve and is part of our competitive advantage. When implementing for the first time, it is important to redefine workflows to be consistent with the system so that the full benefits can be achieved.
Pros1. A centralized enterprise solution that includes Finance, HR, CRM and workflow as well project management. 2. The collaboration functionality enables us to engage all project participants anywhere, anytime. 3. Integration with other applications such as Plangrid and Docusign.
Cons1. New releases sometimes result in loss of existing functionality that we have been relying on. 2. Training for new releases is not provided free of charge creating a disincentive to upgrade.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 15, 2017
Henry C.
Senior Database Developer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2017

“Beck CMiC Support Review”

OverallBeck is a long time user of CMIC, and we rely on the Job Costing and Job Billing modules to bill our customers. Beck uses almost all of the CMIC modules and we most recently added the 3rd Party Payment feature to our ACH and check printing procedures. We utilize the forms, JSP and ADF screens, and Beck has a large number of custom forms, JSP queries and reports. We utilize over 100 user extension forms. As a database developer, I am impressed with the open architecture of the CMIC system. We are able to do many enhancements (or implement restrictions) that might be impossible in a closed system. The CMIC system is easy to manage, and there are a large community of users and 3rd party support partners. I really get a lot of information from the annual Connect conference
Prosopen architecture billing options ease of management and support
Recommendations to other buyersCheck out the job costing and job billing options and features.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 17, 2017
Jean-Christophe G.
Project Coordinator/System Admin
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017

“A globally great product”

OverallCMiC is a really powerful tool. The product itself is really good. The data flows between all different modules without any problem. It is great to be able to run the pay for a week than being able to track our cost in real-time. CMiC also provides us a way to implement different standards in the company. Instead of having multiple ways of doing things, we now have "THE" way. Overall, CMiC is a great product built towards GC. CMiC does everything, or almost. It will give any construction company a clear advantage over competitor if enough time and resources are spent to make it fits the need of the company
ProsHaving the data in real-time for PM. ADF is a powerful technology allowing us to customize the software. Being able to import/export from Excel is great. It should be available in almost all screens. Log Builder. It does everything: payroll, AP, AR, PM, ....
Recommendations to other buyersEnough time and resources must be spent on the implementation/management of the system to work 100%. If you do so, it is great.
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017
Randy L.
Director of Information Technology
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017

“Power with future in mind”

OverallCMIC is a powerful tool constantly improving. Recent conference displayed mobile, resource planning and the future thereby allowing us to react at our pace. We often lead the pack is utilizing the software suite but have taken a more relaxed state to prepare internal SOPs. We often learn about things from support and customers we didn't know saving us time and money. The past along with the future product enhancements makes the investment worth it and nothing beats an ERP suite for our industry.
ProsIntegrated systems, reliable with plenty of checks and balances. Room for personalization is nice feature thus not being too limited.
ConsOld Oracle technologies and reliance on Java (can't wait for us to get to ADF and mobile).
Recommendations to other buyersPlay and not be afraid of limitations. The system is as powerful as you want it to be. Go for it!
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017
Mary D.
Administrative Assistant
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017

“CMiC - Powerful Construction Management Software”

OverallI have been using CMiC since 2009 and was a member of the Pirtle Implementation Team. I assist with training, procedure and reports of the Project Management module. At first some new trainees can be overwhelmed, but they soon find that this software can automate many tasks and improve efficiency. Employees who have moved on to "non-CMiC" companies have expressed how much they miss the software.
ProsCMiC has the capability to capture as many details as the user desires and then provides exceptional reporting capabilities. I especially appreciate the uploading of documentation to CMiC and linking it directly to applicable records.
Recommendations to other buyersImplementation is key; don't get too detailed at the start. Make detailed user customizations after you go live and understand how you will use the software
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017
Jennifer V.
Sr. Project Engineer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Tough to use but gets the job done”

OverallCMiC is certainly not the easiest software to pick up and start using. There are a lot of little nuances, and quite a few features that have more issues than uses. That being said, it handles the finances of a project VERY well.
ProsThe main thing I like most about this software is its wide breadth of abilities, and how it handles the finances of the projects.
ConsTough to learn and use; lots of nuances; not 100% reliable. Most recently I found that in the potential cost section that when I mark the overall COR as approved or cancelled, etc, that it doesn't waterfall down through all of the costs. No end-game failure of mechanics, but things like this that make it hard to trust this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Jackie S.
Project Manager Assistant
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017

“How I View CMiC”

OverallMy primary use is in the accounting portion of the software which at times can present a challenge but I believe it is like that with any and possibly all specific software. We always want it to be easier than it was a week ago. Some of the necessary steps seem redundant in some ways and could just be safe passages to get the end result, I do not know. For my work in this system, I can get my job done easy enough, answer questions through the available info access points accurately which is what the leader want. Is there room for improvement - Yes, when is there not?
ProsThe invoice data entry mod is great, whether it be registered or voucher. Kind of hard to mess that up which is nice. Vendor detail reports are key to tracking - love them and that I can get them in any format I choose.
Recommendations to other buyersBe patient when you are first learning how it works and buy the complete package, I think that is important. Only having part of it makes end results more difficult to come by.
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2019

“CMiC Review”

OverallOverall i enjoy using the software not only for change order needs, but also submittals and RFIs' which makes it nice to send notifications through one system and not have to exchange multiple emails.
ProsI use CMiC on all of my projects and what I like most is being able to arrange different projects and have all the respective subcontractors. To be able to handle all change orders between the owner, the GC and the subcontractors makes the project run smoothly, along with being able to determine what is proceeding, what is pending and what has been completed.
ConsWhat I like least is that the CMiC software is very sensitive. There tends to be issues with the forecasting when a change order or Potential change item is posted which can sway the budget and what it actually is.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2019
Pascal P.
Programmer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“A Complete ERP solution”

OverallIf your team has some programming knowledge, this software can do wonders!
ProsOur business, being in the construction industry, has some particular needs and protocols to respect, and CMiC offers the perfect solution. It gives us the tools we need to do most of our project management, and also provide an easy way to customize and add modules we developed ourselves. 1. Highly customizable 2. Lots of shortcuts, and navigating in the software is consistent. 3. Their development team is consistently working toward new and innovative solutions.
Cons1. Currently between 2 technologies. "Forms" is old and not well adapted for latest computing protocols. 2. "ADF", even though appealing, still has some unresolved issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Jenn D.
IT Business Analyst
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“Very Good Software”

OverallTake your time to really test and vet through your software before rolling it out to the masses.
ProsI have been using CMiC for 16 years and it has definitely evolved for the better over that time. I am looking forward to moving to the ADF platform by next year. I usually get quick responses from CMiC when I have a problem with the system. The connect user conference is also a big plus.
Cons1. The Submittal process in CMiC Collab is not easy to use 2. It is not intuitive for a new user 3. There is a lot of functionality that users still don't about
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018

“Great for project teams”

OverallOverall CMiC has been beneficial in my current role. With this system I am much more efficient in tracking documents and project financials all on one platform.
ProsCMiC has a tremendous amount of tools encompassed in the software. The ability for project teams to work within the software simultaneously helps to enhance the user experience. This comes in handy when you have multiple subcontractors and/or project team members who all need to view the same documents.
ConsAlthough a great tool, CMiC is a fairly robust software. New users should be prepared to spend a good amount of time learning the ins and outside of the software to really become proficient with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2018
Connor M.
Operations Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“CMiC's Development”

OverallTake time implementing the software, do not do it all at once as this was challenging.
ProsWe have been implementing and using CMiC now for 2 years. While challenging to implement at first, CMiC has grown into becoming an excellent communication device between field and office employees. With the added enhancement of the financials, CMiC benefits both field and office employees when tracking costs of each project. CMiC has been worth the time and money that was invested to implement the software.
Cons1. The cost and time to edit and change certain report formats. 2. Slow support time when tickets are submitted and at times it is difficult to speak with somebody.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Bhavin P.
Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“Bhavin's Review”

OverallGo through the tutorials and play around with it. It takes some time to get used to, and I can understand the frustration when something doesn't work the way you want it to.
ProsCMiC's software is very user-friendly, and navigating through the software becomes easier the more you go through it. There are some redundant components with regards to submittal logs, but the tutorials CMiC offers help ease the difficult portions of the software. I like how user-friendly it is, especially for beginners that have never used the software before. It is also very adaptable and the organization throughout the software makes it easy to navigate through the different sections.
ConsThere is some redundancy throughout the different sections. The amount of information within each section can be a little overwhelming. Saving after each step can be a little irritating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Ryan H.
Project Accountant
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“Overall good software”

ProsOverall, CMiC is more user friendly than other project software I've used. 1) The AP Module is straightforward and user-friendly 2) The lookup module for AP and Subcontractor invoices are effective 3) The filters within the program allow for quick searches
ConsThere are idiosyncrasies to parts of CMiC that are not user friendly and can result in a frustrating experience. 1) Error messages provide no helpful guidance on how to correct and proceed 2) Ticket submissions often sit idle for months before resolution
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Jean M.
Payroll Coordinator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 29, 2019

“One system to handle it all!”

ProsIt can handle contracts, change orders, billing, payroll, a/r etc.
ConsVery difficult to learn & I found the training lacking.....
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 29, 2019
Kaitlyn E.
Sr. Project Engineer
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“Kind of a Utilitarian Dinosaur”

OverallOverall, my CMiC experience has been fine, but I am definitely open to use newer, more innovative software competitors.
ProsCMiC has a lot of great features and lets you bring multiple tools and functions into one software platform, so it is nice to be able to access these tools in one location.
ConsWith all of the new softwares coming out, I feel like CMiC is not evolving to match other innovative softwares. It can feel clunky and seems more utilitarian than innovative and user friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019
Dawn F.
Business Systems Analyst
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“CMiC”

OverallMake sure you have dedicated team members from all aspects of your business that can see the project all the way through the implementation.
ProsCMiC is a great ERP solution for the construction industry. The cost management portion is great and easy for the user to comprehend. CMiC also does a great job supporting their customers and have top-notch account reps.
Cons1. Hidden costs - i.e. adapters 2. Error messages are not always intuitive, which wastes our time troubleshooting as well as the CMiC support teams.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Greg C.
PROJECT APP SUPPORT MGR
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2017

“Cmic feedback”

ProsThree things I really like about CMiC solution: 1. Project management integration with accounting, it's built natively on the same system 2. Possibility for a single source of truth 3. Job billing back up albums
ConsThere is a learning curve with CMIC. Some things are intuitive where as others are not. We are trying to use more and more of the system but get to a point when we have to start customizing reports or we have really good ideas and we have to pay for enhancements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2017
J-Ashley N.
CMiC Systems Analyst
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 15, 2017

“Ashley's CMiC review”

OverallI have been using this software since 2004. CMiC has come a long way not only on functionality but in customer service. From day one I have recommended CMiC to other Generals. I am looking forward to all the new functionality we have yet to implement and what the future holds for CMiC and our company.
ProsIntegration: Accounting, Human Resources/Payroll and Project Management Collaboration with the project team (internal & external users)
ConsIt is not always easy to extract the data into 'reports' Changes/enhancements to the software can sometimes be a tedious process
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 15, 2017
Beth W.
Regional Cost Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2016

“Forecasting with CMiC”

OverallThis package is the "Full Monte" for medium to large general construction and subcontracting companies. My only concern is the forecasting tool which is combined with the budget is somewhat difficult to learn. Several of my finance colleagues that were super users in other products had a difficult time learning this product. I used this package with another national contractor in earlier versions and was very pleased with the ease of navigating the menus and it was easy to use once learned. This package is not as intuitive as some other packages, but the features far outweigh the time taken for instruction. Support was very good with this software.
ProsI loved the reconciliation feature. It allows the user to tie the budgets to invoices that are not produced by the system, such as AIA and owner forms. I liked the report formats.
ConsAgain, I found forecasting reports in recent versions depend on the user's ability to learn, a major factor in spotting problems within the reporting budget status and revenue.
Recommendations to other buyersI was part of a CMiC conversion mapping data transfer from another program. The conversion was not easy. Again, some parts of the program are easier to learn than others. Accountants need to have a very good understanding of WIP components and accurately validate program input or procedure errors in order to ensure budgeting and revenues for each project are accurate.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
December 8, 2016
Jim M.
Restoration Coordinator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017

“Great software, outstanding support. ”

OverallThe software is user friendly and very easy to configure and use. The interface is very intuitive considering the features available.The support is outstanding, from the 24 hour instant chat support to the online videos, manuals, and walk throughs. Answers are seconds away, any time you need them.
ProsThe ease of configuration and the abundance of documentation.
ConsA few lingering bugs that support is addressing.
Recommendations to other buyersGet it!!! Definitely take the time to run through the courses in Next Gear University, and take advantage of the online tech support.
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2017
David B.
Controller
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“CMiC An Integrated Solution”

ProsCMiC gives us tools to process data efficiently, generating live and useful reports, and brought our company to a higher level of performance and efficiency. As a general contractor, I feel the software fits our needs and give us room for growth. * Flexible system allows us to make it fit our needs. *
Cons* Response time from support can be slow * Many important release are being delayed (B.I, Mobile...)
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Tim B.
Application Engineer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“WT Review”

ProsWhiting-Turner has been live with CMiC for a few years now and I would say that it has resolved our dilemma of managing data within multiple software. In the past we used a 3rd party for Project Management and Accounting and now we can safely say that CMiC has answered that need. We can manage everything that we use on a daily basis with CMiC. The way the system integrates AP with Project Management is a huge win.
ConsBasic understanding of bid items/billing codes and billing contract can be confusing to many.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Adam C.
Application Developer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2017

“CMiC Review”

OverallOverall CMiC is a solid product!
ProsI mainly use the CMiC database for accessing data, occasionally entering equipment into the Equipment module, and entering my time sheet. For the most part, CMiC seems to work well but it would be nice if there was a consistent interface amongst all the different modules.
ConsToo many interfaces (Forms, ADF, JSP, etc.) to access data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 6, 2017
Craig D.
Project Manager
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2017

“Beck's CMiC Experience”

ProsBeck has used CMiC Enterprise and PM for many years. We love the integrated database, strong financial and job costing and the ability to customize when needed.
ConsEither go all in and really get behind leveraging the power of the system and making improvements needed, or don't use it. If you are only partially committed and keep using other systems at the same time, you will continue to be frustrated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2017
Lauren C.
Assistant Controller
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2017

“Overall very pleased with the software”

ProsWe have been using CMiC for over three years now. The software was a great fit for our construction company. Once properly set up the system is very user-friendly. The reports run nicely and could be easily converted to Excel or PDF.
ConsFrequent updates and sometimes reports won't run when needed. Invest time and money in the initial set up- you won't regret it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 25, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018

“I use CMIC every day. ”

OverallEverything we do, from accounting to document management is completed in CMIC. We are able to save everything in CMIC for years, so this also helps with document storage.
ProsOnce there is an understanding of the product, it is very easy to use. The functionality is very useful for large construction companies.
ConsUpside down question marks when copying and pasting from word documents. Also, the Java sections are a bit dated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018
Claudia G.
Director of Finance
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017

“Great Integrated System with lots of capability”

OverallWhen rolling it out make sure to prioritize what the requirements are and setup accordingly.
ProsOverall the system has huge capability. I love that it updates in real time and is fully integrated. It is also scalable thanks to the cloud meaning we will never outgrow the system.
ConsNavigating through the system can be tricky and requires a good amount of time for initial setup.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 21, 2017
Ashley G.
Operations Assisant
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2017

“Learning xProjects”

OverallOnce you learn how the systems works and remember the steps that are necessary for the task you are doing, then everything starts to make sense. At first, I wasn't wanting to let go of the old software that our company was using but now that I've learned and keeping learning how to use xProjects I'm liking it more and more.
ProsIt's cloud based! That is a huge pro for me, I'm always on the run and going between job sites and it's very nice to be able to log in anywhere I have the internet.
ConsThe software will error or null when trying to do things...I understand software is going to do that but it gets very confusing when you can't figure out why or what field was missed.
Recommendations to other buyersGive it a chance and don't give up using it. When you have questions ask for help, don't try to work your way through the struggle.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2017
Gordana P.
Owner
Architecture & Planning, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 9, 2015

“Easy to use software, exactly what we needed”

ProsWe implemented really fast. That was a key feature for us. We had ample training, and being a cost cautious company, we were able to get what we needed on budget. There are some really useful apps that you can add onto the software that we are looking to upgrade with. Also, the SaaS model helps a lot by reducing our operating costs. We appreciated being able to call in when we had a question, and the support staff were always available, that's a big plus for us.
ConsWe were a little confused at first about how cloud-computing worked, but our sales person was able to narrow down the benefits and that helped. We were used to working with Excel and hadn't used Accounting and Project Management software before. I think it's not what we liked least, but more that cloud technology is not what we're used to. But we were able to pick up on the differences and benefits really quickly.
Recommendations to other buyersLet the HIKUU sales staff really explain the benefits of a cloud-based service. When you really understand the real-time integration, accounting, project management, and the other apps, you'll have a clearer picture on what you want. For us, we'd recommend HIKUU to other firms. When something works, it works.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 9, 2015
James F.
VP, CTO
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“James Farrell's Review”

OverallIf you need a highly customizable ERP for a large general contracting application, be sure to consider CMiC.
ProsCMiC is a highly customizable, versatile ERP for General Contractors. High level of customization, in an integrated solution, specifically targeted to general contractors.
ConsThe scope and complexity of the platform create difficulties in accessing data and makes updates labor intensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Jennifer R.
VP Finance
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“After a year in...”

OverallFamiliarize yourself with the software before going live, if possible.
ProsAs a new user, learning the system was a bit challenging and there are many items we have yet to utilize. There is a lot of potentials, and it seems like it is being constantly improved. I really like: - Real-time job cost data - ability to import/export from Excel - Cloud-Based
ConsEase of use in certain areas (e.g. "select all" buttons would be nice), inconsistency in advice/set-up from trainers, would like there to be an interface for paying payroll liabilities.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Alex V.
Project Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“I use CMiC daily for managing money associated with construction projects.”

ProsThe feature that I like most about using CMiC is how much information associated with my project is easily accessible in the program. Contracts are stored in the program and multiple financial reports are easy to collect with a click of the button.
ConsIf you are new to using the program, it is hard to utilize the software right out of the gate. Getting started with CMiC is not the easiest to navigate. This program is very smart and there is a lot of information stored within it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018

“Tricky Customization”

OverallWe've been using another similar software for many years and recently switched to CMiC. The transition has been time consuming but the end result should justify the cost. We're looking forward to having the software fully implemented.
ProsI love that we're able to replace 3-4 different softwares with 1 (CMiC). We were able to combine most of our company's departments into this one software which allows more seamless distribution of information. It's a powerful software that can be customized to meet our company's individual needs.
ConsCustomization was a very long process and we're still discovering issues as we roll it out to our employees.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2019

“CMICProd ”

OverallCmic gets the job done. We've been using it to collaborate with our design team and owner reps and everyone has gotten through the initial growing pains of the program
ProsIt is the only software I've ever used for project management. I like that everything is in one place from documents and invoicing.
ConsThe software appears to be very outdated and can be glitchy. You may also have to click through 5-7 things before getting to the thing you need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2019
Jerry C.
Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 4, 2018

“Good Value”

ProsCMiC is a great value pm/payroll software we have been using for many years. The connection with the software and our database is instant and never had a problem.
ConsThe software needs some time to get use to, once pass that phase, it will make everything you do with it much easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 4, 2018
Rosanne D.
Accounting Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017

“Exceeds needs”

OverallThe CMiC support group is great. I can always count on getting my problem resolved
ProsI have had about 2 1/2 years experience now and I feel things have come a long way even since then. The constant updating and making it easier to see everything you need while in the module.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 17, 2017
Christina H.
Project Accountant
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 20, 2019

“Review”

OverallReports are not running properly. Program is extremely slow and not efficient. Some of the reports do not work properly. Wish there was a way we could view the invoices in Invoice query rather than imaging.
ProsProgram is easy to use and navigate and is compatible with Textura Payment Processing program
ConsVery slow and some functions do not work properly which is frustrating when your brain works faster than the programs and reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 20, 2019
Rashid K.
Sr. Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 19, 2018

“CMiC has it's perks”

ProsEverything is cloud based. You can access you files/projects from anywhere. This allows work to be done at any time with no restrictions.
ConsCan be slow at times due to the internet (not necessarily ours). The system still has bugs they're working out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 19, 2018
Mark C.
Project Manager
Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017

“CMiC Review”

OverallI am using CMiC in a construction project manager role. I like that the system stacks submittals and RFIs and is easy to enter this information and track the status. I am also using CMiC to track PCIs and write change orders. I like that the costs can be entered as received from subcontractors, and the subcontractor costs as well as the owner costs can both be tracked within a single process. I don't need to track subcontractor changes separate from owner changes anymore.
ProsProject data can be stored within a single system instead of using multiple systems.
Recommendations to other buyersHave someone who knows the software walk you through using it the first couple of times instead of trying to figure it out by yourself.
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2017