KASA Practice Solutions

KASA EMR


4.5 / 5
22 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

KASA was designed for and by mental health professionals, and is ideally suited for those starting or in private practice, group practices, or other mental health agencies.


Average Ratings

22 Reviews

  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall

  • 5 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $49.00/month
  • Pricing Details
    Pricing varies based on services selected, additional users are discounted.
  • Free Demo
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • KASA Practice Solutions
  • www.kasa-solutions.com
  • Founded 2010
  • United States

About KASA EMR

Join over one thousand therapists who have switched to KASA. With no upfront fees or complicated software to install, we make the switch to our EHR system simple. Access your calendar, clinical files, and billing information in one, fully-integrated portal. We offer HIPAA compliant phone answering services, billing solutions, and a user-friendly EHR system, with financial reporting, custom templates, calendars, a patient portal, appointment reminders, and integrated credit card processing.


KASA EMR Features

  • Appointment Reminders
  • Appointment Scheduling
  • Assessment & Treatment Plans
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Claims Management
  • E-Prescribing
  • EDI
  • EMR / EHR
  • HIPAA Compliant
  • Inpatient / Residential
  • Multi-Provider Practice
  • Patient Portal
  • Personnel Management
  • Progress Notes
  • Single Provider Practice

KASA EMR Reviews Recently Reviewed!


System Down for 24 hours at last count - no idea of when it will be up and running!!!

Sep 04, 2018
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The system is one of the easiest that I have encountered once you get the knack. The learning curve is several trainings, as well as, my using the system over many days and hours.

Cons: There are is one major issue and another one that I recently encountered. The first is being able to write a note and then send to bill but getting a notice that "provider has another record". Once I see that I try to eliminate one of the records and am unable to. I finally abort the notes and then use a 2nd billing system to bill for those clients. My staff has had the same problems with this flow of how to the final step of billing.

One big problem happened today where the system was not on line for 24hours and at last check - there is not sign that of when it will be up and running. No patient calendar, not ability to book appts., no ability to take credit card payments and no ability to write notes. I realize that things happen but I have not been with this system for more than a few months and being unable to access the system is not satisfactory. They need to find a back-up system or some other way to access the system as it is all that I have!!!!

Overall: Overall, my experience with KASA has been good but not being able to access the system for the last 24 hours has been very unsatisfactory and taints a lot of the very good things that I could have said prior.

This is such an inconvenience that I am looking for some financial retribution to make me whole.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on September 05, 2018

Denise,

Thank you for your review.

Generally you would encounter the error you're noting due to a note that overlaps with another note, which is a protection put in place to avoid audit issues if you accidentally bill two notes at the same time. If you continue to see this error and you believe it is incorrect, our support team would be happy to look into it for you.

The outage yesterday was inconvenient and certainly frustrating. Due to a lightning strike at the data center we utilize hosted by Microsoft Azure, hundreds of thousands of users across the country lost access to software applications from thousands of businesses, including Microsoft's own Office 365 software and KASA's application.

We published regular updates on our website and social media yesterday, and I encourage you to check kasa-solutions.com/status for updates if you ever experience system issues.

Please do not hesitate to reach out with any additional questions; we value our partnership with you.

They simplify the business of being in practice.

May 21, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: On-line access and synching ability to our internal systems. We love having everything in one place: Scheduling, charting, and billing are so efficient. KASA is helping us go paperless. Because of this system, we can efficiently run multiple offices. We are still learning all the features it has. Although we are fully functioning with KASA, it offers so much we are certain to become even more efficient. The reduction in staff time and printing costs alone pay for the cost of having KASA.

Cons: There are a few limits on the features, such as customizing our templates. Training is easy, but takes quite a bit of time and is an investment cost to use the system. Although it is an intuitive system, there are a lot of intricacies to learn about in order to use it efficiently.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Patti,

Thank you for your candid review of our system. We take this feedback and incorporate this into new updates.

We are working right now on some updates that will allow additional customization on your clinical documentation templates!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

Kasa has helped our agency improve exponentially. The staff is so kind and a joy to work with.

Jun 25, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I most like how the calendar and note documentation are connected, meaning that a scheduled appointment automatically creates a session note. I also like how responsive, kind, and easy-to-work-with the staff at Kasa are, across all departments.

Cons: I least like the treatment plan fuction in Kasa. It does not fully line up with requirements from payors. I do wish Kasa had more functions regrading payroll options. Printing reports in Kasa do not include titles or headings, which can be difficult when these reports need to be sent outside the agency. It also does not allow you to add your own logo to your documentation or reports.

Overall: This software keeps our agency 100% more organized and efficient when it comes to documentation, scheduling, and record-keeping. We greatly appreciate the appointment reminder fuctions as well as its accessibility.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Sarah,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We're glad to hear you are generally enjoying using KASA. We are working currently to update our treatment plans and better printing options for documentation.

Thanks,

Generally my experiences have been good.

Jun 19, 2018
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Its ease and convenience of use. Like that provides easy access to patient information with just one or two clicks. Scheduling is simple and straightforward.

Cons: Inability to remove some things on own; for example, a wrong insurance entry. Otherwise I have no real issues.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Mark,

Thanks for your review!

We definitely understand that not removing an insurance policy can be a hindrance. The reason you're currently limited from being able to do so is because we manage your billing and need to have access to historical billing methods, even if they are no longer valid, so we limit your ability to remove these.

Please let us know if you have any other feedback, and we look forward to continuing to help your practice grow and thrive!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

A life saver!!!

May 23, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I LOVE KASA and have been using them for 3 years. They save me time and money with their program and their assistance with my private practice.

Cons: I wish there was a mobile website so that I could access appts. and notes on the go. I also wish there was a better way to streamline communication with all receptionists at times though they do a pretty good job of communicating with one another.

Overall: Ease of notes, great receptionist team, saves me time, and easy to use!

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Tina,

Thank you, as always, for your kind words and positive review! We're so fortunate to partner with therapists like yourself!

We are working on an update that will provide a better mobile experience -- thank you for your feedback!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

KASA helped me save my practice when Medicaid had a very difficult transition.

Jun 01, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is easy to use and it helps me stay on top of my case notes. It is efficient.. once I submit a note, it usually gets paid within 2 weeks. I also like the support provided. If I email a question it is usually answered within a day or on the same day.

Cons: The internal email function needs an attachment feature. That way I could send attachments and be assured that they are secure.

Overall: It makes doing my job more simple.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Kevin,

Thank you for your review. We are proud to partner with you and are glad to be able to help you.

We are in the process of developing an upgrade to our Message Center to allow for more functionality, including adding attachments. In the meantime, one way you can still transmit documents securely through KASA is to upload attachments to your Documents tab for our staff to reference.

Thank you for your partnership with KASA,

Thanks.
KASA Solutions

KASA isn't worth the hype

Aug 09, 2018
3/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

2 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The schedulers are good but there are TONS of turn over and many mistakes. Things are scheduled on the wrong day. People quit and no one tells you. Currently there's not even a manager for my account. Rep in sales is never there. No one can assist you if there's problems. While they say they "take care of everything" they dont

Cons: Billing is a nightmare. I'm not the only person who thinks that- it legit is terrible. Billing people are incompetent. Claims are always denied. and it's a percentage based of income--- overall I would never recommend it to anyone ever.

Overall: The note section is NOT customized. It is rudimentary at best. At worst--- if you get audited you will fail for sure. You have to type everything. Unsure how they are still in business.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on August 10, 2018

Hello,

We are sorry to hear of your negative experience with our team and services. While you may have changes on your scheduling team, we actually have a relatively low turnover rate as a company compared to most in the industry, and I can say with 100% certainty that your account has account managers assigned.

We charge a percentage of revenue received because we believe it allows us to be a partner with you in your practice, rather than charging a flat fee that you are stuck paying regardless of revenue or number of sessions billed.

We have never had any of our practices or users fail an audit due to a lack of competency in billing, documentation, or the use of our system, but we certainly value your feedback. If you are interested, we encourage you to reach out to your account management team, or escalate your concerns to management.

We are always willing to listen and certainly want to address and correct any shortcomings in our services.

Respectfully,

Software if easy to use and meets my needs

May 21, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Ease of use. Scheduling is easy. Love the credit card feature. Being able to track my billing as well as patient balances are great. This software gives me all of the information I need to keep up with my practice.

Cons: There are some issues logging on at times when software is down. Also, there is lag time going from one screen to another at times.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.

As a tip, if you ever have trouble logging in to your portal, head over to kasa-solutions.com/status to determine if it is a local issue or a reported system problem; that will help keep you looped in on the current situation!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

Working with KASA has been wonderful and has greatly improved out agency practice.

Jun 19, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is very user friendly, easy to train new staff and easily accessible from anywhere. Like that it is tailored to the unique needs of behavioral health rather than trying to retro fit medical software to meet our needs.

Cons: I would like to see the date/time function in session notes improved to be more streamlined and less cumbersome.

Overall: Has enabled us to take our agency to a multi site organization while still maintaining consistency and uniformity.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review, and we will take your feedback into consideration as we continue to make updates to our system.

Thanks,

I've been a KASA customer for about 2 years and couldn't be happier with their service!

Jun 11, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love how easy it is to use and that I can access my calendar on all of my devices. The software also allows me to keep my client's records all in one place so it's easy to keep track of records.

Cons: The only thing I wish the software could help with is having a online system or calendar that my clients could access to schedule appointments instead of me having to call them.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on June 13, 2018

Gita,

Thanks for your review! We are glad that you enjoy using our services. As a tip, you can actually have your clients schedule appointments within the client portal. You can control how far out they can schedule, and if they can create same-day appointments, as well.

We will have your account management team reach out to you also, to ensure that you can get this set up!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

I've been with Kasa for 5 years, I like that we can have receptionists answering and verifying.

Apr 30, 2018
2/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

2 / 5
Features & Functionality

2 / 5
Customer Support

2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Cons: the signature pad would be great, doesn't count the sessions so I never know when I need to write to the insurance company for more sessions, does not create super bills, does not follow requirements for progress notes from insurance companies.

No signatures for progress notes.

Nothing, almost completely archaic, words like"inappropriate/depressed" should be eliminated.

Software does not follow the requirements for progress notes dictated by insurance. The developer should check The DHS's requirements and develop corresponding software or just check out Simple Practice.

Overall: None, I stayed with KASA because it offers receptionist, a practice management team.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Hello Dorothee,

Thank you for your review, and I wanted to follow up on a number of your comments.

We do have an integration with a signature pad available. Additionally, our system does allow you to add authorizations and track the amount of sessions remaining.

While we currently do not have superbills able to be automatically generated, your account manager can compile this for you at no additional cost.

Also, as we discussed over the phone recently, our system does follow requirements from insurance companies for tracking goals and objectives, and notes are appropriately electronically signed.

Finally, many of the customizations you are looking for in your clinical documents can easily be added to your portal. Please reach out to your account management team to learn how.

We appreciate our long-standing partnership with CHR and look forward to continuing to serve your practice.

Kind Regards,

Wonderful!

May 21, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's tailored to Mental Health Therapy. Also, we get quick responses when we have problems with the software.

Cons: Assessments and social history's go missing at times. Then it takes a long time for it to be found. I think it doesn't work very good with my Chrome book.

Overall: It's easy to use and is tailored for my agency.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Kami,

Thank you for your review, and we are glad to hear you generally appreciate KASA and the services we offer.

Generally, if social histories or assessments "go missing" it is because the user was timed out of their portal for security reasons.

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

Having this service is essential to my success in private practice.

Jun 20, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The software is clear and easy to use. If I have any questions, my "team" is there to help. They are always friendly and knowledgable.

Cons: I would like to have more prompts in the "notes" section as well as the treatment planning section. I understand the reason for having to verify submitted dates of service but the two step process is sometimes frustrating due to the added time.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Angie,

Thank you for your review and your feedback.

We are proud to partner with you, and look forward to continuing to see your practice grow!

Thanks,

I find the software easy to use and the reports can be done in only a few minutes.

May 21, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The information is succinct and easy to enter. Retrieving reports for releases does not take much time or effort.

Cons: The intake reports do not pull together well in a complete evaluation report. There is very little time once a report has been saved and signed to make changes and the unlock process is a cumbersome.

Overall: Easy writing of reports and access to printing reports

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Becky,

Thank you for your review and your feedback. This is helpful as we continue to make updates in our system!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

A great full service product and team!

Sep 06, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that it's not only software, but a full service team comes with it to help with all of my agency's billing and scheduling needs. We have positive feedback from our clients about the reception team which is extremely important as they are frequently the client's first contact.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Shannon,

Thank you for your review. We're excited to partner with MWR Counseling as you grow and expand your practice!

Thank you for entrusting KASA with your billing and scheduling!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

great experience

May 16, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The ease of use and all information in place is the best feature. The software was easy to learn and support when needed

Cons: none so far. It has been a great help to me. Maybe a feature that offered more reports or ability to adjust note templates.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Sherry,

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of developing an update to our system to allow full customization of note templates in the future -- stay tuned!

Thank you for your partnership with KASA!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

I would be at a loss for billing without the KASA team

May 31, 2018
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: There is someone there to help with billing and software issues. They are prompt polite and helpful.

Cons: I have trouble at times navigating aspects of the software that I infrequently use, about amounts paid by various insurance companies also sometimes the intake information like goals, doesn't seem to make it to the first note. However, I am not very tech savvy.

Overall: Billing help primarily

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Barbara,

Thank you for your review! As a reminder, your account management team is ready to help you navigate portions of the system you may not be as familiar with.

Thank you for your partnership with KASA --

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

KASA is a phenomenal business resource.

May 29, 2018
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I thoroughly like the ease of doing my billing when I am ready to anywhere I choose and at anytime I choose.

Cons: I dislike having limited technical support outside of traditional business hours, on weekends, and holidays .

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Chelyne,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you are generally pleased with the services you receive with KASA.

As a reminder, the "Help" section within your KASA portal gives access to a number of common questions. Beyond that, submitting a support ticket over the weekend does get top priority to be handled during business hours.

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

All around great service!

Jun 04, 2018
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: KASA offers a full service package which is great for those of us who provide service but also handle the business operations.

Cons: I would love to be able to add to the treatment plan. I would like to be able to upload my consent and have clients sign the consent via tablet so that I can reduce my on-site paper usage.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on June 13, 2018

Angela,

Thank you for your review and your suggestions for new features -- it is always helpful to receive feedback as we look to add new options!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

Fantastic comprehensive service!

Jun 25, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: 1. Good customer service,

2. Easy to use/learn,

3. Comprehensive in nature

Overall: Excellent demo, setup, orientation, and now product/service performance!! In every way my expectations have been exceeded!

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

David,

Thank you for your kind review. We are proud to partner with your practice and are excited for your future growth!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

Easiest system to use with the best people I've ever found to help me!

Jan 21, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Can't think of many con's. Before using this system I was using office ally, and before that to other systems over many years. Not only is this the best system I've ever found, but the most helpful and supportive people to make my business actually work. I can't more highly recommend this system, these people, and the work that's being done. Thank you.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Scott,

Thank you for your advocacy for KASA and your kind review! We are proud to partner with Ardent!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions

Great company, great service

Jan 27, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: My experiences with KASA as my billing agency has been great. If I have any issues or questions they respond promptly. I spend less time talking to insurance companies, billing and more time with my clients.

Vendor Response

by KASA Practice Solutions on July 03, 2018

Mary,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to partner with you and help you focus more on the areas you are passionate about, while we take care of the administrative burden!

Thanks,
KASA Solutions