Therapy Partner

Therapy Partner

4 / 5 31 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Mental health practices, Psychiatrists, Psychologists, license/marriage therapists, and more.


Average Ratings

31 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $34.00/month
  • Free Trial
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • Therapy Partner
  • www.therapypartner.com/
  • Founded 2003
  • United States

About Therapy Partner

Therapy Partner's web based practice management software includes, progress notes, scheduling/calendars, billing features, insurance ready statements, and more. - Progress Notes - Client Scheduling and Advanced Calendar - Accept Credit Cards - Email Insurance Ready Statements - Track Your Earnings Therapy Partner was uniquely designed to help private practitioners ensure payment at the time of service in a way that doesn't inhibit the therapeutic process.


Therapy Partner Features

  • Billing Estimates
  • Claim Scrubbing
  • Claims Management
  • Code & Charge Entry
  • Patient Eligibility Checks
  • Patient Payment History
  • Payment Processing
  • Practice Management
  • Remittance Advice
  • Statements & Collections

Therapy Partner Reviews Recently Reviewed!


Hopeful but frustrating

Mar 07, 2018
2/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I like that i can upload my own paperwork. My clients love that they can self-schedule their sessions, which is a huge help! The process is very professional, and the layout is pretty simple.

Cons: There's a lot of extra work that I need to do to use this software that is frustrating. Sometimes information that's input in one area doesn't self-populate in another. The calendar sync isn't a two-way system so that is annoying. Also, the confirmation emails only come from therapypartner and can't be customized (yet???) to come from my email/phone number so that's off-putting.

Therapy Partner has been a user friendly experience, with great customer support

Feb 21, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of billing and insurance claim submission. The readily available customer service reps who answer questions.

Cons: Vagaries and discrepancies in the insurance forms that don't translate to the insurance clearinghouses

Everything you need in one convenient place!

Feb 19, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I like having everything I need in one place and don't have to use multiple programs. They are continually improving the program to meet the needs of the users. Great customer service!

Cons: The cost for service is higher than other programs. Credit card processing fees are high compared to other programs. Other then fees there are no additional cons.

User friendly and great customer service

Feb 19, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It keeps me organized and is easy to use. I also like the fact that it can save billing information.

Cons: I find that I need to call when I have questions, wish there was a way to connect online quickly with a representative

Overall: I am able to streamline my business

Antiquated. Interface is from 2008 when I started with the group. So many other choices.

Feb 16, 2018
1/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Automatic statements I guess. I largely hate it. I'm struggling to find 100 characters because we're looking to quit therapy partner

Cons: Stop adding new features. Do the basics of adding deposits and letting people work from a balance. The notes feature is stupid. Get a new server and website. You need a usability study, which I suggested five years ago

Capterra-loader

We've found program to be exceptional and a great value. Made practice much more efficient.

Feb 16, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Combines EMR, client portal, billing, scheduling all in one program. It's a one stop shop that coordinates all electronic aspects of care.

Cons: I really haven't had any concerns that couldn't be resolved. The program is constantly undergoing updates and getting fine tuned. All essential needs currently met and so additonal functionality is just icing on the cake. Perhaps if there was a complaints it's that system fairly new, and very dynamic as a result, so must keep abreast of changes.

Overall: It's a easy and quick survey, user friendly.

very useful

Feb 15, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Ease of billing and charging patients. Easy access to patient billing info. My patients like a lot that they can now access their past statements. I

Cons: It is very eradicate re: when it allows me to permanently delete a patients from recurring appointments. I have been walked thru the process, and do it correctly, but sometimes I have to re-delete a few times before the appointment disappears. Also I find it annoying tht I have to answer a security question almost every time I log in, though I have checked the box asking the system to remember me

TherapyPartner has been a great resource for me. It made starting my PP so much easier!

Feb 14, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I love that it makes it easy to send patient billing statements for them to use for reimbursement with their insurance company.

Cons: I still think that the notes are cumbersome and that it doesn't automatically list all of your clients at once on the main page.

Very user friendly

Feb 14, 2018
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: It is easy to learn and use. It is comprehensive as well. It covers scheduling, documentation and billing in one product.

Cons: If I make a billing mistake I cannot correct it within a reasonable period of time. Once entered it is not able to be changed without procedure.

I used Therapy Partner for over 10 years. Great customer service and support!

Feb 13, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 4.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The ability to process credit cards was by far the best feature. You can enter your client's information and never have to ask them for their card again. Processing for 'no show' clients thus is extremely easy.

Also, the ability to print functional receipts is key. Clients are able to send their receipts to their insurance company to get paid. I don't have to set anything up. On a monthly basis the statements are automatically sent to the clients.

Cons: The cost. I was paying 3.9% on every transaction, a service fee and the subscription fee when I finally left. My cost for the subscription fee tripled in the time I was using them. The subscription fee was high especially since I only used the credit card processing part of the system. In addition, at one point I paid 4.9%. They lowered it to 3.9% which is astronomically high. I have shopped around and I have found many other solutions for closer to 1.8% with no fees and no subscription fee.

Overall: Credit card processing and printed receipts.

Easy and welcome transition from paper to computer! Responsive customer support!!

Feb 13, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Love the ability to process payments through client's stored cards leaving those extra few minutes for scheduling.

Cons: Any improvement I would have suggested, they've already made. I wish the printed reports would separate cash, from copays, and credit cards, and checks, self pay and insurance.

Customer service has been excellent. There are still a few features that I would added.

Feb 13, 2018
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I really like the scheduling ease, the appointment reminders for client is great and the ease or billing really makes it much easier to manage our practice.

Cons: I wish you could view documents online as opposed to having to download them first. I also wish the "client list" feature was a little easier to use. For example, if a provider is added to a client they show up on that provider's list as opposed to having to manually create lists.

Therapy Partner provides excellent service, functionality and ease of use.

Feb 13, 2018
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Great customer support and intuitive features make it a fantastic practice management system for any clinician.

Cons: Automated billing statements need a few modifications to allow clients to seek insurance reimbursement.

Best software company I have ever used to manage booking, billing, and documents!

Nov 09, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The user friendly software for the therapist to easily track things for their clients in an organized manner.

Cons: Would like an option to create and customize for consumer editable forms embedded in the client portal.

Overall quite good.

Oct 19, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The ease of use. It is quite easy to bill clients (even multiples). Also pulling financial data and tracking it easily by quarter is motivating.

Cons: The form for documenting sessions is clunky and could use modification. The user interface could use some streamlining.

I find this Therapy Partner to be a valuable asset to my practice.

Oct 19, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Therapy Partner helps me to run my business easily and efficiently. It is user friendly and the customer support is excellent!

I appreciate a live support

Oct 16, 2017
3/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros:
I like that Therapy Partner has been consistent in providing live consistent friendly patient folks I can talk to. I find the copy and design easy to navigate.

Cons: I would like an easy approachable system that allows me to manage both my insurance clients and self-pay, I'd also like to be able to send text reminders or email reminders

Support is always available when needed and system works great for my needs!

Oct 11, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Billing is easy to track payments and keep records of staff counselors reports of what they made that quarter and note features easy to use and search for diagnostic coding.

Cons: Have to manually upload intake forms. Would be nice to offer form to client to fill out through their system.

Very user friendly. Good amount of trainings.

Oct 11, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The ease of use and the company's willingness to help get a good working template. They are quick to call back when there is a training need

Cons: That the documentation templates aren't the most feasible. Despite that they will change things, standard things don't get put on each document unless you type it in each time.

Overall, we really like Therapy Partner, but we'd like to see some changes and improvements.

Oct 10, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use, ability to add Associates, organization and structure it provides. Like being able to track referral sources and it makes it very easy to bill for our Associates.

Cons: We'd like our Associates to be able to view initial phone call notes which they currently can't do. I've heard of other software systems that allow for direct billing to insurance companies which we can't do with TP, I've also heard others can have all paperwork online, create a full EHR which we are limited in what TP can do.

Overall: Organization and ability to keep track of billing and notes.

I've used Therapy Partner for 6yrs, and have been very satisfied with the product

Oct 10, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I appreciate the ease of use - regardless of my device (cell phone, tablet, laptop) I am able to access my account and take care of my business. The ability to add notes, take payment, or review a schedule quickly and efficiently allows me the time to do what I really want to do - see families. Additionally, being able to quickly pull up client financial reports allows me to email clients account balances, receipts of services, etc. Also makes tax season easier, more efficient. When I upgraded to the full service, the ability to upload documents lets me shred unneeded paperwork.

Cons: If I had to be picky - being able to pull up reports for longer than 1yr would be useful, i.e. how much has client X paid since beginning therapy services.

Easy to use, making corrections is simple, great interface.

Oct 10, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Visually pleasant, makes billing quick, catches my errors before I make them. It's not intimidating at all and I would think it's approachable even for people who use computers reluctantly. My records are all accessible anytime and my billing statement is comprehensive and professional. Clients love it because the statement is auto-generated, and cannot be rejected since it invariably includes all required information.
I like the feeling of competence that comes with staying on top of my billing. I'm in control and each transaction takes just a few minutes.

Overall: Billing is easy and accurate. It's easy, enjoyable and took almost no time to learn. I was an early adopter of this program and have seen the company make numerous modifications and add many valuable features.

Good software just wish it had auto save.

Oct 10, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Can send statements, complete progress notes, calendar. Superbill available to send to clients, automatic sends receipts to clients, stores clients info, green less paperwork, more organized.

Cons: Does not autosave progress notes, sometimes it erases the progress note I've completed, sometimes it has technical issues that freeze the note that you lost.

Capterra-loader

Easy to use. Reliable.

Oct 10, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that I can access the software easily from my smart phone. I like how easy it is for me to keep track of client appointments and billing.

Cons: I don't like that I am charged a fee each time I bill clients on top of the monthly fee. I also wish there was a way to reimburse clients, especially if there is a billing error.

Overall: Quick and easy billing. Easily schedule clients and keep all their notes and information in one place.

Therapy partner has been an easy way for our group to schedule, bill, and document

Oct 10, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use, multiple user interface, ability to run a variety of reports, and integration of billing and documentation.

Cons: Would like to see more features, like ability for new patients to complete intake paperwork through a linked patient portal.

Staff are helpful, pleasant and professional!

Jun 22, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software is easy to use even for tech dummies like myself. I appreciate the options and staff support so much.

Cons: My only con regarding the software s that I can't accept/acknowledge an over payment. Often I have cts who pay in advance of sessions and the software doesn't allow me to enter an over payment and show a credit. Also PayPal is not a payment ioption even though I take PayPal as a payment option.

Therapy Partner - a product that hasn't kept up with the times

Feb 24, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: 10 years ago it was a competitive product. Their support people are nice although they keep quitting.

Cons: The program itself is also slow and it makes simple tasks monotonous and grueling. It lacks essential features that every competitor has. You miss a lot of data about your business and have zero analytics. You can't do online booking. Refunds are a huge pain.

Overall: I started using Therapy Partner years ago. At the time, it had some compelling features by allowing you to store and process credit cards and automatically email clients statements. 10 years later, the product does a little more and they charge 3 times as much. Also, their competitors have eaten their lunch. It reminds me of driving my dad's 1987 Cadillac Deville when others while others are driving Tesla's. Simple Practice is a great example -- they have a mobile app, they sync with Google Calendar, they do insurance billing, they have a client portal, they allow you to directly import client information from your website into their service, they have a super simple and easy user interface design, they allow you to push assessments to clients, they do autopay, their site is responsive (responds to mobile), they have amazing support and FAQ's, they have treatment plans, they allow online booking -- Therapy Partner does NONE OF THIS.

Another example which is quite telling: Want to refund a client because you accidentally charged them too much? In therapy partner, you have to search for the client ID (no, it's not next to their file name in the program, it's in a special directory that you have to search). Then you get that ID# and you have to email Therapy Partner. Want to know how you do that in Simple Practice, you pull up the client, look at their list of charges, and then you hit the refund button. Therapy Partner has a number of mind bogglingly annoying things they do like this.

I have hoped that they would catch up and they have done nothing. Now I even have concern how they will survive if they don't evolve. I hope they work really hard and innovate very rapidly in the next year or two.

Recommendations to other buyers: Get Simple Practice or Therapy Notes.

Vendor Response

by Therapy Partner on April 28, 2017

Dear William, First, we thank you for being a customer of Therapy Partner for many years. We¿re grateful you continue to be a user and regret that you seem to prefer the services of our competitors. We do wish to note that we feel you¿ve expressed some items in your review unfairly. In particular, you rated us with 1 star for price. According to our calculations, based on the Simple Practice and TherapyNotes advertised costs per user, you would be paying at least $550/month more to use either of their services than you pay with us. We started Therapy Partner to improve the quality of life for clinicians, and are proud to continue to do so after more than 10 years in a very competitive marketplace. We are excited to be launching many features you noted that were missing in the very near future, including a client portal to allow patient intake and scheduling online. We can¿t wait for you to see it. Warmly, The Therapy Partner team

New features incredibly SLOW

Feb 24, 2014
3/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Pros: all in one billing, scheduling, documentation system, moderately priced
Cons: ever since the calendar and notes functions were added to TP, the system works incredibly slowly. We are leaving this service due to the incredibly slow loading of the calendar. We have a very fast internet connection and this is the only internet-based system that we have this problem with. I have brought it to their attention many times and nothing has improved, if anything the calendar loads even more slowly (sometimes 20-30 seconds just to open my calendar) this makes it nearly impossible for me to schedule new appointments on the phone with potential clients.

Therapy Partner Software Program

Sep 29, 2013
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Therapy Partner continues to streamline my business and add a professionalism to my practice. The recent addition of intake and progress notes to their software program has been amazing! Note taking has never been so simple! The entire program is user friendly and easily accessed anywhere. It has saved me a lot of time!

My life is so much simpler now!

Sep 25, 2013
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I have been a Therapy Partner user for over 2 years and I love it!!

As a mental health provider and business owner, there are a lot of demands placed on my time. Therapy Partner has streamlined and simplified my billing and documentation processes. The biggest benefit I get from this - more time to do what I love!

My clients are also very satisfied with Therapy Partner. Their insurance ready statements are automatically emailed to them each month and this has almost completely eliminated all of the email, phone calls, and questions I used to get about their charges.

Thank you, Therapy Partner, for making my life so much simpler!

Easy to use and comprehensive.

Sep 19, 2013
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We have been using Therapy Partner for years and the product just keeps getting better. The progress note feature is flexible and allows me to monitor our associate activity to make sure we are in compliance.

My favorite feature is "Quick Bill" we mark our appointments on the calendar as billable and they show up for billing automatically pre-populated with the client billing preferences. We are able to bill out our entire week in less than 5 minutes.

Of all the software packages we reviewed this one is by far the most user friendly and cost effective. I highly recommend this product.