ActivePresenter Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Service
4.8/5

About ActivePresenter

ActivePresenter is a solution for creating screencast videos, handouts, manuals, documentation, and interactive training presentations. With the full-featured editor, ActivePresenter allows you to edit audio/video, tweak the look and feel of content, and define the branched scenarios easily and effectively. Supporting the latest web standard HTML5 and the ability to integrate with Learning Management Systems, the content created with ActivePresenter can be delivered virtually to any devices. Learn more about ActivePresenter

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 15 of 15 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Filip D.
Teachter (Physics)
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018

“A complete and well-designed software for creating interactive HTML5 elearning contents.”

OverallFor me, ActivePresenter is perfect as an all-in-one elearning authoring package!
ProsI use ActivePresenter now for almost 3 years! I am very proud of showing my presentations to all my colleagues. The interactivity and the user-friendly approach is so great! As a Physics Teacher, after many years, I finally found the ultimate solution to cope with the modern students needs. ActivePresenter makes teaching active, dynamic, `flashing and student-related. All my lessons are `packed in ActivePresenter. I also incorporate the necessary text-to-speech fragments; this makes me feel completely relieved and at ease, because prepared to `cope with the group of `youngsters in the classroom. These moments in front of the classroom are accompanied with e-learning activities. ActivePresenter presentations have full interactive options; students are really enthusiastic to work independently on tasks, modules, interactive quizzes and hard-core-physics-exercises. Here are a few of the many things I like about the software: Easy `basic-down-to-earth PowerPoint-like presentations with automated output; (even here, the possibilities are 100-fold compared to other tools!). Built-in audio/video editing capabilities. Interactive elements are available to guide the audience by an adapted path, fitting the situation or the need of the audience. Various types of questions/quizzes. All the results of the students can easily be stored in an LMS (with SCORM or xAPI support). You can also make an automated link to Google Spreadsheets to follow up the results!
ConsA little bit of learning curve before you can explore all the possibilities of the software. (but after all, there is a very elaborated manual and a supporting help-desk!)

Vendor Response

By Atomi Systems on January 29, 2018
Thank you very much for the review! ActivePresenter has too many features that some first time users may find it a little bit to get started, that's why we're making more and more beginner's tutorials and our support is always there to help.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Michael T.
Business or Data Analyst, Logistics consulting and E-Learning development
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Great software and customer support”

OverallProductive developing of eLearning material, notably SCORM and good customer support
ProsA good free version for evaluation and reasonably priced licenses. Easy to use and works great in HTML5 and SCORM to upload to LMS or other sites. Great customer support via the forum or email.
ConsHard to use javascript (at least for version 6) as no scripting references are available. This would be helpful as certain action in the interactive part are missing. e.g. a play/resume button - but support is available.

Vendor Response

By Atomi Systems on July 25, 2018
Thank you for your positive review, Michael. Regarding Javascript support, we've made great improvements in the latest ActivePresenter 7 version with well documented Javascript API and an improved built-in editor. We also added support for multi-state object and other interactions. Best Regards, ActivePresenter Team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Avatar Image
Gregory F.
Vice President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018

“Looking for a cost-effective tool to combine on screen recordings with other media.”

OverallAbility to record on screen actions and combine that with recorded video, still and audio clips to create a single merged video output.
ProsI played with a lot of tools in this category - many are free/feature limited with Pro versions ranging from single high cost to subscriptions. Active Presenter was the best combination of features (basic timeline editing, ability to pan and zoom the screen video, various options for exporting, no recurring costs for needed features) I found. In fairness, there is no such think as "simple" video editing. If you don't know what you're doing or don't do it frequently enough to recall all the feature locations, you'll struggle. Active Presenter is not designed for first time/one time use. It's a fairly serious program with a lot of features and options. I appreciate that it gives me the tools and controls to do the things I need without limitations, even at the cost of a learning curve.
ConsIt feels like it's designed for more slideshow based output than full video. It's capable of both, but many of the obvious options and toolbar buttons are geared towards something other than integrated video and on-screen action.

Vendor Response

By Atomi Systems on January 18, 2018
Hi Gregory, Thank you very much for your favorable review! We're glad that ActivePresenter provides all the tools that you ever need. It's also a good motivation for us to keep improving the overall UX. Best Regards,
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Jacky N.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“I am a writer about software for PCs and Mac. ”

ProsActivePresenter can record video, webcam with audio, system sound and take screenshot in full hd quality. The program also comes with very intuitive interface plus ever-expanding variety of video editing features. It is free and safe to use.
ConsIt lacks of video effects that many other video editors offer. Anyway, it's great for me since I seldom add effects to my tutorial video.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Mary v.
Training and Project Facilitator
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018

“Making videos as easy as 1...2... Go!”

OverallVideo user guides have become effortless and a huge time saver. Being able to utilise PowerPoint slides in this software has helped immensely as I don't have to do the work over, the foundation is there, I just need to add in effects.
ProsThe ease of use and the interface with PowerPoint. Compared to other video software out there that is complicated and difficult to use, I managed to figure this one out quite quickly, thanks to the PowerPoint interface. Being able to add in text boxes in the same way as PowerPoint is a huge time saver, and the ease of timing how long a slide, text, etc is displayed is effortless. A huge plus that has to be mentioned is that the free version does 95% of what the paid version does, and there are no watermarks on your final product. To really make polished videos of an extremely high calibre - for example if you want your music to fade in and out - you would need the paid version. The user manual also helped immensely.
ConsI can't say that there is anything that stands out here. I found the software to be overall brilliant.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2018
Jacky N.
Ceo, founder
Business Supplies and Equipment, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2017

“Great software for creating training videos. ”

OverallUsing Standard version for 3 years now and fully satisfy with the packages. The product is automtically updated frequently. Great tool, good price and support. Worth every penny for screencast, training videos, product demonstration.
ProsGreat video editing tool. Great screencast tool for mac and windows. Easy to use Various feature for elearning.
Recommendations to other buyersFor newbie. Recommend to buy standard version.

Vendor Response

By Atomi Systems on March 5, 2017
Thank you very much for your nice review of ActivePresenter!
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2017
Michael B.
Coordinator of Network and Technology Services
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“ActivePresenter was exactly what I needed”

OverallI had a few different issues that were both handled well by ActivePresenter. I needed to record some brief training tutorials for some of our new employees. I was able to do so artfully, easyly, crop and zoom, as I needed and it worked great for this. I had used other recorders in the past, but this worked better than I expected. We've also used it to "Play / Record" some proprietary security video formats that otherwise could not be converted. While not for what it was designed, ActivePresenter did it better than any other software we had tried (and we tried many).
ProsExcellent Screen Recording. Good editing after the fact. Brainless easy to use. Just works.
ConsIt didn't install itself? Not exactly free, but you use it and can figure out if it's what you need, and go from there!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Vinayakrishna B.
Assistant Manager, Technical Publication
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“A very robust product to create PPTs and video tutorials”

OverallMy tutorial video creation work has become very easy.
ProsI like this software for these reasons: * First of all, this is a free software for in-house non-commercial uses which really suits my kind of job. * The features present in this are at par with other paid products. * Very user-friendly. * Online tutorials are very informative.
ConsThese can be improved: * Free version does not have some features like creating a table of contents for video simulation guides, animations etc. * The screen space can be utilized more efficiently i guess.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Heena N.
Active presenter user
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“One of the best screen capturing and video editing tool so far which is easy to use. ”

Pros- Great user interface - Easy to use - No watermark even with the free edition - High quality screen recording tool - Worth buying a standard version - Export videos in various file formats
Cons- New fonts should be added - Can only import video files made with Active presenter - Performance of the PC slows down on using this tool
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Animation, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“ActivePresenter review”

ProsEasy to use with this software and create high quality video on screen
Consfree version leave water mark of this software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018

“Easy but not the best to edit your videos or presentations.”

OverallIt can save you from an emergency, but I wouldn't use it regularly.
ProsIt's relatively easy to use, gets the job done. Intuitive in most of the processes and light in space on your PC.
ConsThe outcomes are not the best and the could be a lot of disappointments and frustration when editing.

Vendor Response

By Atomi Systems on March 20, 2018
Thank you for the review. Can you please help by being more specifc about the Cons so we know what to improve? - "The outcomes are not the best": What types of outcomes you're referring to? And what are the (typical) issues with those outcomes? - Frustration when editing: can you give several examples? What editing functionilty make you frustrated? Thank you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018
Avatar Image
NELSON G.
Consultor SAP Business One - Inteligencia de Negocios
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2018

“With ActivePresenter you can do your videos in a easy way and fast!”

ProsI was try with other kind of videos editing tools, but with ActivePresenter I feel that is easy to do a video editing in short time.
ConsI don't have cons, I use ActivePresenter to edit my videos teaching classes and tutorials. It's a good tool to edit videos.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
E-Learning, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019

“Good software for screen mirroring”

OverallI'm Udemy instructor. I used it when it's free version it's very good. I searched a lot for program make this features but I suffered a lot.
ProsThe quality of video i can make with it. it's easy to use without courses to understand it.Adding subtitle is easy.
Consit needs best performance to screen mirroring with good quality. it should decrease prices for students or make it free
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Edo M.
field agent/representative
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017

“Interesting software solution for animations that is not for everyone”

OverallIf You have enough working hours free so that You can master this software than You can make interesting and useful results.
ProsRelatively simple animation can be done relatively easy, with so much freedom and options. User interface is clean and and simple to understand and use. Most options are same as in many other video editing software solutions. Design/graphics options are FANTASTIC. Event handler is very good. User interface can be (partially) adapted to user needs.
ConsLearning curve (for beginner) is extremely difficult. More tutorials and examples would be nice. More fonts and options regarding them are needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2017
Aaron M.
Operations Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2015

“Started using this for instructional videos and elearning”

OverallI've recently upgraded from the free version to the paid for software and I am really impressed.
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2015