Shortcuts Software

Shortcuts Software


4 / 5
71 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Salons, Barbershops, Spas, Cosmetology Schools, Kids Salons, Stylists, Barbers


Average Ratings

71 Reviews

  • 4 / 5
    Overall

  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use

  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    Not provided by vendor
  • Free Demo
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Installed - Windows
    Mobile - Android Native
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
  • Support
    Online
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • Shortcuts Software
  • www.shortcuts.net
  • Founded 1993
  • United States

About Shortcuts Software

Shortcuts provides software to leading salons across the world. Offering software solutions in 9 languages to over 14,000 clients in 48 countries, Shortcuts clients range from multi-site chains and franchises to single-site businesses. Designed specifically for the salon industry, Shortcuts is continually updating the core products with the largest R&D team in the industry. Request a free demo to see why Shortcuts suits you!


Shortcuts Software Features

  • Appointment Reminders
  • Automated Scheduling
  • Calendar Sync
  • Client Database
  • Group Scheduling
  • Mobile Access
  • Multi-Location
  • Online Booking
  • Online Payments
  • Recurring Appointments
  • Room Booking Management
  • Appointment Reminders
  • Appointment Scheduling
  • Client Profiles
  • Email Marketing
  • Employee Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Payroll Management
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Wait List Management
  • Automatic Re-ordering
  • Commission Management
  • Construction Tracker
  • Franchise Intranet
  • Job Scheduling
  • Online Store
  • Website Manager
  • Booth Rental Management
  • Client Profiles
  • Employee Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Multi-Location
  • Payroll Management
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Recurring Appointments
  • Appointment Management
  • Client Management
  • Employee Management
  • Inventory Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Membership Management
  • Online Booking
  • Payroll & Commissions
  • Point of Sale (POS)

Shortcuts Software Reviews Recently Reviewed!


A vendor that is there for you every step of the way....

Jan 16, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: - Online Booking

- Client Booking App.

- Cloud Appointment Book

- Staff Anywhere Schedule Access

- Remote Access

- Visually Appealing

- Touch Screen Friendly

- Easy to Use

- Always Innovative

- Consistent Training Available through Webinars, Email Articles, & You Tube Videos

- Helpdesk is always willing to help

Cons: Maybe the wait time on the Help Desk, but that is to be expected during peak hours. They recently added a call back feature if you don't want to wait on hold. That sure is a plus.

Overall: I have been with Shortcuts since the inception of my salon 9 years ago. It is scary enough as it is opening a salon, let alone looking for a software scheduling program. I came from using a paperbook for years, and knew that I needed to be in the NOW with a digital software program. There were soooo many to choose from. So confusing. But what made Shortcuts stand out from the rest was there personal one on one approach. The initial online presentation was even conducted by the sales rep and the CEO at that time. The CEO!! Like who does that?! I am one to ask many questions, and they were all answered with ease and confidence. To this day, Shortcuts still operates in that manner.

I make it a point to only deal with vendors that I can actually have a business relationship with and not just be a number on a sales call list. Shortcuts treats you like a true business partner. Whenever I call the Helpdesk, they always remember who I am and give me the best undivided attention, always. Any question, big or small, is treated as a priority to them. That in itself is priceless.

For this, I can truly say that I will be a client forever. We have a solid business relationship. One that cannot be purchased but only forged through years of dealing with each other. And isn't that what a true business partner is all about....

Shortcuts ...ease of use scores big

Jul 23, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Shortcuts is easy to use and logical to navigate. It is easy to teach new employees how to use the system.

Been using the software for over 10 years and am still very satisfied with it.

Cons: I wish that had a better option for remote access to the system when away from the spa or after hours.

Wish I could customize the color of an appointment on the books so certain services stood out (maybe to alert of additional prep time or because we only have 1 machine and to assure we do not overlap bookings, etc)

Overall: Overall shortcuts is mainly used for scheduling and then simple employee reports. We do not exploit it as much as we could. There are many unused features that would bring great value to other businesses.

3 Year contract of frustration.

Mar 20, 2019
3/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

2 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: I am appalled that a customer can spend thousands of dollars to get a programme to work for me rather than the programme doing what it promises and that Shortcuts are willing to fob me off. After being a loyal customer for 6 years running and have put in so much effort to have a great Spa software, this is the thanks I get from Shortcuts. Do your research, there is other software out there that works in a much easier way and doesn't cost as much. Be careful of software that wants to lock you into a 3 year contract. Upgrades are also another 3 year contract added onto your current contract. Bizarre!

Pros: The technical support are quote knowable and mostly friendly.

Cons: There is no social media integration. Average wait time on the phone for tech support is at least 20 minutes, in a busy salon that loses money. Their system is very old school based, not very intuitive. The Gift voucher system is so counter intuitive, really hard to find old gift voucher numbers. They lock you into a 3 year contract and I believe that is the only way they keep customers. Their pricing for features that you can't use properly are extra costing. Overall I paid for the extra services so that I could use the software to it's best and after signing the contract there only some features available. The confirmation text messages are very short and their online marketing system to create marketing emails (when it works as it rarely does) looks like its from the 80's. I had a MAC pc and had to install other software with a technician that cost me over $1400 to get sorted out to be able to use Shortcuts on a MAC, it gave us so much trouble I eventually bought a Windows computer from Shortcuts that cost me $2500 plus. I have spent so much time and countless hours working "for" shortcuts instead of it working for me. I have asked to be released from my contract for Shortcuts and they would prefer to have a customer that will never return than lose 12 months of something that doesn't and has never worked for me. When I have asked for education to that on my part I know I am using it to it's fullest ability, I have been quoted a few hundred dollars each time.

Shortcuts isn't a good choice for my salon

Dec 10, 2016
3/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It looks nice

Cons: Its useless, not user friendly, over priced and very basic

Overall: I wouldn't recommend shortcuts to any salon and Ive made this clearly obvious to shortcuts. this software is not right for any non basic salon business. After spending numerous hours/days/years on extra extra extra training, encountering daily and constant system errors and issues. I managed to get help from someone who was efficient and she spent over and hour reprogramming our software after it had been set up incorrectly (by shortcuts). Then everything she spent her time doing was wasted because the system that is shortcuts managed to not save any of her updates. So suffice to say our next 3 training sessions revolved around reprogramming it again.

Please please please do your research before signing up to a shortcuts contract. Perhaps do a trial with them first. Because I am signed to a 3 year contract and would honestly have been better off using a paper and pen system.

Shortcuts is awkward, cluncky and constantly times out. When id had it over a year i was told extra training would require payment and i even paid for my receptionist to do a course which didnt even touch on the system and turned out to be nothing related to shortcuts at all. The help desk is impossible to get through to. Their systems constantly goes offline. Its very sticky and cluncky. Its not user friendly and it duplicates clients contacts and if you ask shortcuts to fix most issue they will charge you unless you nearly have a nervous breakdown.

The marketing tool requires a degree in software programming to be able to use as its completely random and not user friendly.

Before i bought S/C I couldn't have been clearer about my needs before I agreed to this system and ive lived to regret it. It was supposed to make booking easier for me and my clients but its been a complete nightmare. Other software companies were honest about what their systems couldn't do but shortcuts promised theirs could do everything on my list and more. And the truth is its not right for some. But it's not even capable of managing my stock which is extensions and Ive given up. I hate leaving reviews like this but after they fasley used a feedback they asked me to do after a training session I feel its my duty to be honest about this system and prevent others from being duped.

Recommendations to other buyers: Yes try it before you commit to 3 years and £7500 for something that's Google mail could do better for free

Great Salon Software

Jan 22, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Shortcuts is so user friendly. It was a very smooth transition in our salon when we started using it. I like that you can do multiple functions at the same time without losing any information. The variety of reports is very helpful. Shortcuts customer service is fantastic! Someone is available to help you 24/7 with any question or challenge.

Cons: There hasn't been anything that I haven't liked about Shortcuts. If I am unsure of how to do something, support will walk me through it.

Overall: We use Shortcuts for salon scheduling and point of sale. It is excellent for customer record keeping and has a lot of options for marketing specifics.

Excellent software with amazing support

Feb 05, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We been using shortcuts going on to six years and it's been a blessing to have such a powerful operating system to support our business growth.

I have researched other point-of-sale systems including salon biz, salon Iris, mind body, millennium - hands down Shortcuts remains the best for the following reasons.

1) simple user interface

The touch option and visual layout is easy on the eyes. This works with our barbers as our staff are spatially and visually oriented. The icons are self explanatory and predictable.

2) shared credit among staff

As a team-based environment an important feature was for us to be able to give credit to multiple team members for one ticket.

3) benchmarking

A great feature is that shortcuts allows us to benchmark ourselves against other businesses operating within the same threshold. This helps us gauge the health of our business.

4) built-in marketing

Shortcuts also has a built in marketing tool in which we can compile customer information based on a variety of demographics and variables. This information can be exported into an email campaign and sent directly to the customer at no additional cost. Comparatively other softwares outsources this feature thus resulting in added cost/each campaign.

5) genuine and enthusiastic

The truth is, just with all other technology- bugs and hiccups do happen from time to time. What is important is that we are confident that someone at helpdesk is always there to resolve the problem.

We just ranked top 200 salons in North America by Salon Today under growth category. We couldn't have done it without a strong management system. Thanks Shortcuts! Keep up the great work. Lets continue to grow together!

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on February 08, 2016

Thank you so much for the kind words, and huge congrats on making it to the Salon Today Top 200 Salons. We love having Eikonic House of Barbers in the Shortcuts family.

Great product overall

Jul 30, 2019
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This software is very user friendly. It is very easy to add employees as authorized users, and remove them when needed. It is also set up pretty basic and straight forward for ease of use.

Cons: I dont like that while booking appointments for online booking that the services are all "a la cart". It would be nice to be able to group for example "color and cut OR color and style" instead of just booking the color separate from the cut or style.

Overall: Shortcuts software is very helpful with not just running my business from day to day, but also in helping me keep track of all aspects of my business.

Great for large salons with multiple locations

Dec 08, 2016
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Reports, customer service, personalization

Overall: I had worked with Shortcuts for years when I was managing a chain salon. It was super user friendly. What I really loved were the training videos that were loaded on it, and available through a quick click for teaching new stylists and receptionists how to use every feature.

There were lots of reports to access that give data on every aspect of the business and for individual stylists. The stylists loved being able to easily ruin a report to make sure they were on top of their goals.

Recommendations to other buyers: If you ever have any problems, you just call and they take over through remote access and can solve anything

Sold Me on all the new functions (Google + Facebook Bookings and payments a custom app!)

Dec 27, 2018
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: Used them a cpl of years ago at a different salon so when I opened my own, they were my go to. I deal with their USA location in HB, and they have a great team there now!

Pros: Loved that I could get a custom app for my own salon without having to spend thousands on my own developer. My clients love that they can book online from the app or Facebook/Google. Love that I can take deposits for appointments if I need to and that the checkout process for clients is so easy and can be done right from the chair! (we use a tablet with the app to do this part).

Cons: While I haven't had to call the help desk much, there might be a bit of a wait on the phone, would love to have the help desk available on chat and live during biz hours. Other than that, no complaints, it helps me run my salon smoothly and I'm happy about that!

Choosing Your Software

Jul 29, 2019
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It encompasses what other brands do alacart into one easy to use, comprehensive data and growth oriented software solutions.

Cons: Earlier years struggled with products being launched what seemed prematurely, and promises of technology to come which seemed forever to happen. However over the last several years what you provide in my opinion of over 6 years the best software solutions for salons.

Detailed and easy to use!

Jul 11, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love how easy this program is to use, and I love all of the reports available to help me keep my salon running smoothly

Cons: The thing I like least about shortcuts, and it's not really a problem at all is that if my main computer goes down it renders all of my computers useless. I wish there was a way that it could be run remotely without having an on-site main terminal needed

Overall: Helps to organize my business

Overall Satisfied

Aug 06, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Shortcuts is very user friendly. I love how it keeps up with my client's histories

Cons: Sometimes the program license times out which is frustrating and takes unnecessary time I don't have.

The pricing is a little high currently but I've used it for 12 years and don't want the hassle of switching

Overall: Shortcuts customer support is always available and very helpful

Shortcuts Software review

Jul 31, 2019
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Well organized & personalized for what I needed

Cons: As a sole proprietor, wish there was a price break. Also think for the overall price remote access should be included.

Think if computer qlitches occur, should not be charged to temporarily place on another computer

Overall: Very professional, reliable & friendly

Not user friendly

Jul 23, 2019
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The only thing that is nice is the ability to access from a pc when not in the store but the capabilities are limited with remote access.

Cons: The software may have been good years ago but is not user intuitive at all. My staff complains about how difficult it is to use on a weekly basis. The monthly cost of the software is also quite high for all of the difficulties that we have using it. The customer facing website used to book appointments is not user friendly and we hear their complaints on an almost daily basis. The company is based on west coast and Australia, so if you are a salon on the east coast, they don't open until 11:00 am our time which is not convenient either. They have just launched additional remote reporting capabilities but for an added fee.

Overall: The staff have generally been supportive but training was an issue. I had to move our training around because the trainer who was assigned to me was going on vacation. As part of a franchise, I had no choice in purchasing this product. Again, initial and ongoing monthly costs are much higher than other solutions on the market today.

Shore cuts not bad

Jul 12, 2019
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Organized. Various parts of business inventory gift cards client listing. Some food reports can be genersted

Cons: Too many steps needed to enter a walk in customer. Fields for client names does not contain fields for middle initials or suffixes. As such same names in data base cause problems. Does not give a report on daily hair cut times

Overall: Good and bad features. Software works takes longer than prior software used to check clients out. Creates at bottleneck st front desk as we are a high volume barber shop

User friendly

Jul 23, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This system is it easy to use for a dinosaur like me. I am able to get home when needed.

Cons: I don't know if it is a system error or a computer error, but sometimes it will go slower at the POS.

Overall: I've had shortcuts over 5 year and would recommend to anyway. I have heard other softwares aren't user friendly and this is why I like this so much.

Highly recommend

Oct 18, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Easy to use, highly known so lots of new staff already know how to use. Online booking on Facebook and Instagram and marketing are great and I love the consultation forms on my tablet that my customers can sign. Report and manage staff from home and staff have access of their diaries on their phones.

Cons: I'd like more webinars weekly instead of monthly they are good but I would like more of them. It's good to go back over the things that I sometimes forget

I love shortcuts!

Jan 07, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love how easy this product is to use. It makes the business easy to run. I love how it sends out reminders to my clients and also changes to the color of there reply. It's easy to adjust times and services! I recommend it to anyone!

Cons: No cons. I love shortcuts! Highly recommended.

Simple and easy to use great for everyday running of salon appointment bookings

Jul 18, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: once you have it set up you can almost forget about it, the program runs itself without having to work at it daily

Cons: I would like a little more business reports especially on staff performance and product usage. Some of the function for online do not work here in Canada

Excellent Software for Beauty Industry

Aug 13, 2019
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is user friendly when adding new clients into the system.

Cons: Not able to figure out how to run certain reports.

Overall: I like the software. It helps me keep track of my profit margins and contractors.

Good option

Jul 29, 2019
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Graphic Interface, Reports, Reliability and user Management.

Cons: Scheduling management, setting up picture for users is too complicated due to pic compatibility restrictions.

Overall: It's a decent solution for every day salon management.

Great system!

Jul 11, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to maneuver and customize, the training sessions are great and super helpful, customer support is always quick to respond

Cons: Had issues with the second license that couldn't be worked out. Followed their instructions and spent money to have a direct line installed and it still didn't fix it.

Overall: Easy to customize appointments and services. Online booking is great and different log in securities are a plus.

Recommended

Aug 05, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Rarely experience glitches with this software. When we do, the support team is excellent.

Cons: Would like a couple additional options with client tracking.

Shortcuts Software Review

Jul 23, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: How easy it is to use and the support from the Shortcuts team.

Cons: Trying to figure out the online booking. I was the issue not the software.

Best Tech Support EVER

Feb 14, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I think your help desk team are the bomb! They are patient, clever and delightful to work with. I feel they are extension of my business team. If only all help desked HELPED as well as your do. THANK YOU!

Pros: The help desk! Software will always have bugs etc or you get new staff so the shortcuts help desk are integeral part of our team to have a smoothing running business

Cons: Some of the cloud intergration is clunky however functionality overrides that. I wish with online booking deposits people could imput their gift voucher number as deposit.

Excellent

Jan 11, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Super easy to use, the team are amazing! Always very helpful.

Cons: Nothing, I absolutely love the product.

Couldn't reccomend shortcuts enough.

Jan 12, 2019
5/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

4 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: cuts down on no shows and saves time answering messages and phone calls with the online booking system.

Cons: Only con I've found up to now is that when a client wants to move to a different day you have to cancel them and then go to the different day and enter the booking again.

Overall: Shortcuts are an asset to have in the salon. It looks professional and is easy to use once you know your way around. They have a great support team to help you with any queries, only issue with that is when it's not an emergency you can sometimes be waiting for around 20 minutes to speak to someone. Sales reprentative is a massive help, even when really he doesn't have to. If you're struggling to decide what package to get, I recommend the best package as the app and online bookings have saved us so much time, especially in the busy periods.

Daily use in a barber shop

Jul 23, 2019
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like the integration of the web site and our appointment calendar, the customer service of the company

Cons: They extra un- necessary steps to take a cash or card payment

Shortcuts for Cosmetology Industry

Jul 29, 2019
3/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

2 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like that setting appointments and checking out are pretty easy

Cons: Working with students (employees) scheduling is very cumbersome and not easy to use at all. Setting schedules is very time consuming and the software does not make it easy to do.

Overall: This could be a great software, but customer service takes too long to get to and the features are not very easy when it comes to scheduling students (employees).

Tries to be too smart

Nov 04, 2015
3/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Pros:

Sales staff and pre sales technical staff are amazing. They went above and beyond to get us up and running under very challenging timelines and circumstances. We have more than one location and the ability to share client information is great.

Cons:

Lack of flexibility in reporting, billing and data capture.

We lost all our client history during conversion.

Our Experience:

When we expanded from a small boutique Spa to a second bigger location at a resort it was obvious that we needed a better application for our Spa and Salon.

Shortcuts went above and beyond to work with our bank (not in US) to get CC billing working and get us up and running in a very short time.

Because of the time restraints we might have dropped the ball on our end in testing that Shortcuts could handle some of our special reporting and data capture request.

I wanted information like new client reports (three different categories of clients and consolidated) with our setup if a new client requested a special employee we have to choose if they are tagged as New or request..

Services in the resort have a Gratuity added but some guest also add an extra Tip.. This causes reporting challenges.

They offer some amazing reports that are built around their experience and what owners/managers need. But try to get something like..

All treatments done by an employee with a breakdown of treatment cost, was any discount applied, Gratuity, additional tips

All on one report.. Think Not..

Don't want to sound over critical, its a very good product but might not have been the best choice for us.

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on November 06, 2015

Hi Roderick! Thank you for taking the time to chat with your Shortcuts Account Manager Gabe this week. We look forward to the solutions we discussed being put into place to give you access to the reporting that you need. We really appreciate the feedback and thank you for being part of the Shortcuts family.

Solid, good number of features, a little clunky

Aug 05, 2019
4/5
Overall

3 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Most features are implemented well. Good support videos. A lot of functionality. Can eventually figure out most things by myself.

Cons: Touch screen functionality is of limited use. Some menus, use cases make no sense. A lot of 'garbage', such as settings, configurations, data pile up and little can be done about it. Configuration issues aplenty and sometime impossible to track down what is actually happening. Poor integrations with some providers and tools. Loyalty program setup lacks sophistication. Customer support can be difficult to deal with. Trainers are fair to poor.

Overall: Using Shorcuts to run a franchise salon.

Really easy to use

Jan 09, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The simplicity of the UI.

Phone & Tablet Support.

Cons: The resolution of the stylist headshot images.

Great Software

Oct 20, 2010
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: When we first started looking for a software for our salon, we first looked for simplicity. We have a few computer-illiterate employees and we wanted to make sure it was easy to use. For me personally, I was looking for ways to be able to generate reports, statistics, etc., in order to improve the buisness. This software offered the best of both worlds. The Shortcuts helpdesk is also very helpful. They are always available, 24h/day. Shortcuts also offer excellent programs targeted towards marketing.

Cons: I can't really find any cons anymore. We had a few things we had asked the company to improve when we first got started with the program. Very simple things that we could live without, but could help us stay on top of things when the spa got busy. Since the upgrade, I can't pin point anything.

Overall: Very good software, great customer service. I recommend this software to everyone.

Disappointed

Feb 01, 2018
1/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Please listen to your clients I have just had my licence revoked on my remote access when i needed at the most but not only that they have taken my salon one as well how disgusting as it is paid for i am away visiting a very poorly friend overseas and will probably need to fly home to sort out this mess as my salon cant function properly

Pros: I have not really got a problem with this product. I rarely use in the old days they had an amazing team

Cons: I found it easy to use as a small salon I cant afford all the extra add ons but I have muddled through

Good software - Parent company is poor.

May 15, 2019
3/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's a fairly easy to use appointment system with some good features, albeit a rather dated configuration. Reports are good and system is capable of handling multi sites, although additional licences are needed.

Cons: Since Shortcuts was bought out by Jonas, the support, software and general feel of the company has declined. They are very contract focused, with long contracts. Hardware is expensive to buy and it still requires the software to be loaded onto the computer, instead of cloud based like many newer systems. They have lots of 'bolt ons' to regular fees, ramping up the monthly costs. additional licences are needed for additional terminals or remote access, again increasing costs.

Overall: Originally when independent they were a good company to work with. Jonas has changed this and they are not they same company. Disappointing.

Easy to learn and use

Jun 05, 2018
3/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

3 / 5
Features & Functionality

3 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Features are not as robust as other POS systems, so manuevering around is quite simple. It is easy to learn.

Cons: Features are limited, therefore we cannot get everything running the way we wanted. We had to do some workarounds to get the software where we wanted it to be. Some reports we wanted are not available.

Overall: It was simply to use and easier to get staff to use it quicker. Training was minimal.

SHORTCUTS IS VERY USER FRIENDLY AND PRODUCES EXTRA INCOME

Oct 21, 2010
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: EASE OF USE, GREAT SUPPORT, 24/7 SUPPORT. THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND KNOWLEDABLE. ERIC, ANGEL AND ERICA ABSOLUTELY GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE THINGS HAPPEN. ALL BUSINESSES SHOULD HAVE EMPLOYEES LIKE THEM. THE ONLINE BOOK, SET AND FORGET, AND TEXTME ARE GREAT FEATURES THAT NOT ONLY TIME AND MONEY SAVERS, BUT ALSO REVENUE PRODUCERS. SET AND FORGET KEEPS US IN THE CLIENTS MIND ALL THE TIME WITHOUT WASTING 1 SECOND OF MY TIME. JUST SET THE PARAMETERS AND IT MAKES MONEY FOR YOU.

Cons: ALTHOUGH SET AND FORGET IS EXCELLENT, THE SETUP COULD BE MORE USER FRIENDLY..ALSO WOULD LIKE TO CUSTOMIZE SOME REPORTS

Overall: I WOULD AND DO RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANY SALON OWNER THAT I KNOW..ALSO, MAKE SURE ERIC, ANGEL AND ERICA STAY...FOREVER....GIVE THEM A BONUS AS A MATTER OF FACT, OR A RAISE, OR AT LEAST A BOX OF COOKIES.

Shortcuts review

Jan 19, 2011
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Simple to use. It does the marketing for you too now.

You can lock the staff out of doing dumb stuff and also see it from home when you want.

The computer layout is like the book, cards and cash register. No annoying buttons to bother you. Its a Touch screen - you hardly have to look at it to check someone out and book appointments you can just do it Easy while your chatting. I LOVE IT. It tells you everything in the reports that is going on

Cons: It cost a lot to get the software. We have had to buy it three times (for our three shops) - We wouldn't consider running without it though. That would be worse.

Overall: Can't work cheaper without it. I wish they would make the payroll commissions more flexible. It would save me time adjusting the staffs hours each pay day.

The Worst Company to do business with

Jan 13, 2016
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I wish I didn't have to fill in any stars. In all my years of working with software companies Shortcuts is the worst in customer service. All they were interested in was to get my business at the risk of not being truthful about supporting my operations. It wasn't until I got my training did I learn that they could not configure the software to meet my needs, after the sales team and the scheduler promised they could take care of my request. The hours I wasted on the phone for problems running the software, adding information, ConnectMe (was the worst) failed online booking cost me considerable time and money. No matter how much I complained it was the same story, "I'm so sorry, we will do our best to help you resolve your problem" Updated to Windows 10, then it got worse. ConnectMe could not function without error messages popping up. Their tech group could not figure out how to fix it.

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on January 15, 2016

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your review, and the comments from all our customers, is incredibly important to us. We currently specialize in software for salons, spas, barbershops and cosmetology schools. Unfortunately, as a salt cave, we may not have been the best fit for your unique business model. We did raise this at the outset, however we apologize if you feel we could have communicated this more effectively. We want all our customers to be happy, and will be reviewing your case as we continue to improve our communication moving forward.

a cut above hair studio review

Jan 27, 2011
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: i was very reluctant to commit to a new software program for my salon...i did not want to give up our appointment book that we have used for so may years...i just didnt think it would be that much better for us to go thru the learning process...

i admit, we moved VERY slowly and implemented everything on jan 1. it has been so great..i am amazed at how much i like it.. so professional, so organized, and so much better than before (yes, even better than our old appointment book!) thank god everyone at shortcuts was so patient with me..

Cons: do not have any cons

Overall: the only thing i would like to see is an additional time schedule on the other side of the computer screen...for easier appointment scheduling for stylists whose column is on that side

THE BEST SERVICE EVER!

Dec 10, 2015
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I cannot tell you how amazing SC is! From the ease of use by our staff to the support team at the head office. The wait times are minimal, the issue is always corrected and they have support 24/7! I did do some shopping around awhile back and had the worst experience with another software company that promised the world and delivered nothing. Needless to say I came crawling back to SC. We have them in all 5 locations and the team they have are long term employees (this says allot about a company) when we reach out for support its like talking to family. The company's vison and views are on point! There is no one better out there!

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on December 10, 2015

Thank you so much Luba. Your kind words mean a lot to our team. Thank you for your business and partnership over the years! Great to have you in the Shortcuts family.

Bad

Jul 29, 2018
1/5
Overall

1 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Never recommend

Pros: Nothing worked well. Always glitches and terrible online access 9/10 times unable to access Patient double booking and no help from the staff Customer service not great and couldn't care less

Cons: Everything is a hassle Support is so difficult Definitely changing that system and would not recommend to anyone

Capterra loader

Shortcuts Live!

Feb 06, 2019
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: How easy it is for us to use and clients! It's made our salon lives so much easier!

Cons: That I didn't find it sooner ! It's amazing!

Overall: I absolutely love shortcuts live! I really don't know what I did before December. Booking clients in , cashing up , the app , the clients emails ect. Clients have all been so impressed with how professional we look! I will continue to use and highly reccomend to everyone thank you

Shortcuts for Haircuts

Aug 04, 2019
4/5
Overall

4 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The Shortcuts software is tailored well for the hair care industry. The staff is helpful in orientation, training, and ongoing support. Shortcuts is easy to use and just seems logical in its daily applications.

Cons: As with any software there are challenges and opportunities. The ongoing support is usually available and able to assist.

Excellent!

Oct 20, 2010
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: We are very pleased with the system! It is easy to operate and the touch screen we opted for has made it easy to use.Text Messaging to confirm our clients appointments has made it less time consuming for our receptionists, saved us money each month, and has opened up our phone lines. Not to mention the customers love it! The other bonus is all the access it gives to the owners. It i has been helpful with growing our salon as far as marketing is concerned.

Cons: The client card has some personal information on it that not all customers feel freely to answer.

Overall: I highly recommend this software for any upscale, high-end Salon & Spa businesses.

easy to incorporate

Oct 29, 2010
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: super easy to incorporate into the salon.

now that we have ben using it for a couple of months we are getting the benefits of the program.

i really like eric who has helped us a lot, without the special attention it would have taken us much longer to figure out.

Cons: the initial training was too fast.

even with myself my business partner and two managers none of us could really do anything but make a basic appointment.

so we tried to use the manual which was hard to decipher.

that part was a bit frustrating and i kept feeling like i was loosing my staff's interest in the change over.

Overall: the program itself is easy to use.

Opportunity

Jul 23, 2019
4/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

4 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Ease of use. Train staff quickly. The reports are also solid.

Cons: It has many bugs that kicks off Online Booking for whatever reason and Google Booking. Our call to action is to book online. We don't know it happens until a customer shares that our online booking is down.

Overall: It's user friendly.

Jacksonville Beach Hair Salon

Oct 21, 2010
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Tech & Customer Support! Everyone at Shortcuts is very helpful and willing to spend the extra time to make sure you fully understand and get the most of their product/software. Eric has been our account rep - and he has been awesome!

Cons: Set & Forget - tho its an awesome feature, it does need to get a few kinks worked out. I'd refer to it as 1.0 version (maybe 1.5) when we wish it was a 3.0 version =) The features are really cool, it really does let you "set & forget", but it is a pain in the a** to set up.

Overall: Yes, shortcuts is awesome! If I were to do it all over again, I would def make the same choice!

simplicity at its best

Jul 19, 2017
5/5
Overall

5 / 5
Ease of Use

5 / 5
Features & Functionality

5 / 5
Customer Support

5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: has to be the text message service. very useful, i find that my clients never miss an appointment when the texts are sent out.

Cons: i cant really fault the system, if i had to i would say that its annoying when clients cant book an appointment via the app once the computer is turned off.

Overall: more clients.

Review

Jul 23, 2019
3/5
Overall

2 / 5
Ease of Use

1 / 5
Features & Functionality

1 / 5
Customer Support

1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Limited; we don't like a lot about Shortcuts but have to use it

Cons: Crashes frequently

Not user friendly

Reports are antiquated