DEAR Systems Ratings

Overall
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Service
4.4/5

About DEAR Systems

Integrated with QuickBooks Online and Xero, suitable for small to medium businesses in retail, wholesale, manufacturing, food production sectors which have requirements to manage inventory levels. Solution covers the entire business cycle in inventory management. Shopify, Magento, Amazon and eBay retailers integrate DEAR Systems for more than just managing their inventories. DEAR Inventory provides features that give you information you need to manage costs and maximize profitability. Learn more about DEAR Systems

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 182 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 182 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Luke M.
CEO
Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019

“Great Product, Great Price”

OverallDEAR does exactly what it says it does, its a no frills solution for a company with basic inventory needs. We moved to DEAR from MS Dynamics NAV due to the fact that Dynamics options were limitless and for a still small but growing business it was too feature heavy and navigating around to get to the parts we needed was tiresome. What I'd really like to see is a stronger roadmap now from Dear to ramp up their features, particularly reporting isn't great, its quite static and you can't build your own, so a report builder would be ideal or an integration with a BI service so that you can build reports elsewhere. Our particular bugbear is trying to track down stock by batch and location, the information is there but its not in the best format. However for the price you can't complain, dear is an easy to use product that serves a wide variety of needs.
ProsEasy to use, value for money, cloud based, integrates with finance package, support is great.
ConsReporting functionality needs work, no ios app, light on more advanced features
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2019
Kurt C.
Confidential
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018

“Great software platform for inventory management”

OverallDEAR is phenomenal for a user that is willing to put in the time to discover it. If PMs had more of a security / controls / data audit background , and implemented processes to address those weaknesses , it could potentially become a solution for businesses of all sizes, not just SMBs.
Pros1- Customer support is on point, probably the best i've ever interacted with. They clearly understand that this is not a word processor, and have built a world-class support service around the software. 2- SaaS is not buggy at all 3- Their devs are constantly rolling out updates 4- DEAR has good, nonbuggy integrations with almost every major app in its market niche. 5- DEAR has succeeded in making a product that is relatively easy to use in what is an otherwise complex piece of software, and has deep complexity
Cons1-Documentation is weak in several non-core modules and functionality. For example, security features don't really have an instruction manual, or if it exists, it is not immediately obvious where that lives, thus leave people having to contact CS. 2- Some features are not really implemented thoughtfully and are more of an horizontal revenue expansion than actually thinking of customer pain points. Example - the notification module could be SO MUCH more, but it has weaknesses like it won't report on stock transfers completed, etc. 3- The overall platform is not hardened against stupid errors. There is no "audit your customer's data" logic in DEAR. Platform assumes user inputs are always right and there are no early warning(s) across the board when users are making obvious mistakes, such as when POs receive impossible / wrong amounts, SKUs, etc. The feedback for "error" popups, is only is given when it is too late.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Dave S.
Owner/Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 13, 2018

“After trialing three chosen cloud-based stock-management solutions for my clients DEAR won my vote.”

ProsThe software can be used "out-of-the-box" after a minimal amount of setup, and can also be used in more complex installations where bespoke software development might be needed. The simplicity of the initial setup, the simplicity of the menu navigation, and the speed with which new users are able to grasp what they need to do to accomplish their tasks caused me to take a closer look at this software and I'm glad I took the time to do so. The multiple warehouse locations field, along with the multiple bin locations field, both available in DEAR but not available in some other offerings, is a basic requirement of a stock management system as far as I am concerned. Whilst the software might appear complex for first-time users, those with experience of stock systems and business processes should find it a breeze to set up and use for the purpose intended, especially if they are familiar with setting up other software. It's an advantage, but not a requirement, if the person(s) setting it up also have an understanding of business accounts and are able to find their way around creating/editing MS Word mail-merge templates. I am impressed that I have been able to use the software to accomplish pretty much every task that my clients' have asked of it so far. The ease of integration with other cloud-based applications puts another tick in the box for me.
ConsThis is a comment and not a complaint; although the reporting functionality in the 'out-of-the-box' version is adequate there is room for improvement. The limitations can be overcome by exporting the files and adapting them as needed. Those with a more specific software development skill- set (or more time to learn) would be able to achieve a great deal more from the software than is possible using the 'out-of-the-box' version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 13, 2018
Nigel B.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 19, 2017

“all in all very happy”

Pros"Moved over from sage around 12 months ago to Xero and added Dear which answered the major issues I was having with Sage in that the inventory element (sure, that's not what is was designed for) was woefully inadequate for our business. I have to report that 12 months in that Dear has met and exceeded expectations and added real value to my inventory management and customer order processing. With the recent addition of the B2B portal, and what my customers will be able to do once is it fully operational will really revolutionalise some of the challenges we faced in, for example, letting customers know what is available from stock etc. Overall, we made the right move and I haven't seen a better combination of integrated applications than Dear and Xero! Well done and thanks to both!"
ConsDear is a brilliant and responsive company, although my only gripe, is that there are few updates or communique's relating to bug fixes or developments of the application. Example is the B2B portal, there are many comments about what features are needed and bug fixes, but as yet no commentary from Dear as to which will or won't be incorporated. Like me, many will become less likely to comment f it is not apparent that they are being acknowledged. Come on Dear, at least add a comment!!

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 21, 2017
Hi Nigel, Thank you for this review we are happy to hear everything is going well. We would like to take some time to address some of the cons. We have new updates/releases of new features pretty much on a weekly basis. The minor changes get notified through in app notifications and major monthly releases get sent out as news letters. This can be found in our release notes sections http://dearsystems.com/inventory-software/blog/category/release-notes/ Regarding the forum we get a lot of inquiries to add new features and we usually work on an up-voting system and implement suggestions that are most popular against our users. When our businesses analysts decide on what we should implement a planned status will appear next to the suggestion. When its in progress the status will change to 'In Progress' and once finished the status will change to Implemented. Please see our development road-map for everything that is coming up in relation to B2B enhancements based on user requests http://dearsystems.com/inventory-software/development-roadmap/ Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 19, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 17, 2017

“DEAR Systems, much more than an inventory plugin!”

Pros// DEAR SYSTEMS DOES + Manage inventory with different sales channels + Send PO/Invoices/Quote/.../... with customisable template + Auto assemblies + Bundles + Issues to production + Sync to accounting software + Handles goods in transit, FX gain or Loss etc + They are working on a reseller portal + They are working on a POS + Chat support is knowledgeable and they really try to help you
ConsThey have a forum where users can chat together and upvote functionalities requests. - They are totally absent from that forum, they say they scan it to update their roadmap but they won't engage in the conversation at all. - Functionalities are added too fast without feedback from their users. They really need to work on their communication with their active users.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 21, 2017
Dear François, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that mostly everything is going well with DEAR. Would like to address your concern with forum activity and explain a little further the process. The user feature requests work on an up-voting system. When our business analysts review suggestions they look at the ones that have been up voted the most by users. We then need to do market research to see potentially how many businesses this feature would be applicable to and if changes are made we need to make sure that existing users do not get affected by these changes. When a suggestion is accepted the status will change to Planned. Once it is scheduled for development it will appear on our development roadmap with an ETA. When we start implementing it the status will change on the forum to In Progress. Once we finish the status will change to Implemented. We'd like to develop every feature we are asked for and we do have to prioritise the work we undertake. We will always measure the demand for certain features, both through our forum and other industry sources. Some links below to pages that will help understand what has been done recently and where we are heading. Release notes - http://dearsystems.com/inventory-software/blog/category/release-notes/ Development Roadmap - http://dearsystems.com/inventory-software/development-roadmap/ Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 17, 2017
Avatar Image
Nick C.
Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019

“The best cloud-based Inventory Management option for SMEs”

OverallAs a consultant implementing DEAR Inventory for a wide range of SMEs, we have solved an innumerable amount of problems along the way. From Batch tracking, to serial number tracking, integrations with online stores, accounting, shipping, reporting and forecasting, etc, it is all there. The team at DEAR are generally very quick to respond and offer assistance, and the users are given the power to request and vote on new features to be implemented. The subscription pricing is also at a point where it represents huge value for money.
ProsAs a cloud integration consultant working with SMEs in Adelaide and interstate to solve inventory management issues by implementing the right software, DEAR has proven again and again to be the leading choice for these businesses and is now our recommended choice as an implementation specialist. DEAR has the functionality to provide a central solution to any SME looking to sell online or instore across a number of channels, and manage all the inventory in one place.The integration with Xero is top notch and the most robust I've seen of almost any app that connects to Xero. The integrations to eCommerce channels are consistent in their setup and options and allow a great deal of flexibility. Complementing these integrations are shipping service integrations that allow for a full suite of inter-connected apps with DEAR as the hub.
ConsIf I had a gripe, it would be around some minor inconsistencies within the UI across various parts of the software, as well as some minor inconsistencies with various reports that are available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 2, 2019
Stephanie M.
Inventory Systems Analyst
Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018

“DEAR is essential to the way we manage our inventory. Lacking some features we need but has most.”

ProsBeing able to integrate with a number of eCommerce platforms is huge. Support usually replies fast (especially for simpler questions and help). Also the way in which we're able to manage thousands of products over multiple locations is fantastic. Some aspects of DEAR are very intuitive and easy to use. It allows one portal for looking at sales, product orders, inventory storage and movements, basic product history. The reports on the dashboard help us see inventory and financials at a glance. They've also recently expanded, allowing more than 20,000 SKUs at a time in the system!
ConsBecause DEAR is used by so many and works with so many different platforms, integration between it and other platforms (we use Shopify) are not always seamless. A feature that works great with one may make another way more difficult to use. On that note, customizing your DEAR account to make it exactly what you need is rather difficult. We often have to find workarounds to ongoing problems that may seem basic to many. And while customer support is friendly and often fast to respond, it's very easy for misunderstandings to occur. As well, new feature requests often don't get acknowledged if they don't fit into DEAR's current plans. One thing that would be great could be a separation for those who need DEAR just to locate products, vs those who actually need to access all of the parts of DEAR that can change products, sales, locations... We've had a number of mix-ups where inexperienced people made changes that couldn't be undone due to the nature of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2018
Bob W.
Owner & Co-Founder
Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 16, 2017

“DEAR Inventory Helping us Grow”

ProsWe've been using the DEAR system for quite a while now and I must say I couldn't be any happier. It was a seamless transition from our old system, and I especially appreciate how well DEAR integrates with our accounting software. This makes everyone's work a whole lot easier. I have contacted support on several occasions with questions that I had, and I always received a quick, thorough, and very helpful response. We manufacture our products as well wholesale and retail them with an online store, and everything works so well together with DEAR that it really helps us focus on building our business rather than focusing our attention on trying to keep up with inventory and ordering. I would highly recommend DEAR systems to anyone looking for a new inventory management system. -Bob Weiss
ConsOne thing that would be useful would be to be able to call for customer service. We have used customer service email on several occasions, and have always had a pretty quick response, however, if we have a pressing issue, it would be nice to have a number to call and someone to talk with.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 21, 2017
Dear Bob, Thank you for your review. Happy to hear everything is going well. Regarding the calls we have a booking service on our website where you can schedule in a time convenient for you to speak to a representative. They are free and are accessible to all our customers. Follow this link to book a call https://dearsystems.youcanbook.me/index.jsp Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 16, 2017
ivan H.
Operations Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019

“Great cloud-based ERP software”

OverallIt is my first exposure to cloud-based ERP software, DEAR. I am pretty pleased with its performance. Pretty simply to use and easily to understand each module. The tutorial video presentation is really useful which u can easily accessing it by clicking from the main menu. No hassle to go around to find it. Overall, my management and myself are pleased to spend almost 6 months to switch over from our existing ERP system
ProsUser friendly Good video demonstration on tutorial, easy to understand and follow excellent aftersales support - swift in response
ConsNo direct module to handle goods replacement and warranty process /RMA portions Not too user friendly or suitable to be used on project based jobs/ activities
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Zeb E.
Company Director
Maritime, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Third year anniversary using dear Inventory”

OverallWe run all our stock inventory through Dear, send all our quotes, sales orders, invoices etc through Dear. It is a very good program for this and if we do hit a problem the tech support is excellent.
ProsIts synchronization with Xero is excellent. In three years we have never had a sync issue. Also within Dear the inventory, sales and purchasing all work very well and the ability to drill through different layers to search products or orders is very good. We use the Product Availability function all the time to confirm status of sales orders v purchase orders and stock availability. We have also recently started to use the Attributes more for both sales orders and products and this has been a further tool within Dear to help us manage our day to day sales process.
ConsWhat still infuriates me is the way that sales quotes show the sales margin against Average cost. This is hopeless folr any new product as there is no history and it is also hopeless if you receive a part into stock before you post the purchase invoice. Why we can't have the option in the step up to show the margin against either the supplier fixed cost or last purchase cost is beyond me!!!!!! Argh!!!! We currently have to run all our project quotes through an Excel spreadsheet to make sure the margins are correct. This is really infuriating and as a result we are looking for alternative options for our stock management.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 22, 2017

“Lots of features for the price - great support”

ProsEarlier this year we implemented DEAR inventory in our manufacturing company in Indonesia. The key reason we chose DEAR was the functionality. We have been searching for an inventory management system with manufacturing functionality for a very long time and couldn't understand why it was so difficult to find a system that dealt with what we felt were really core/ basic requirements without looking at customisation. DEAR seems to cover almost everything we need and is working on developing the programme for what it doesn't currently. The other key reason was the responsiveness of DEAR to queries. I am still waiting for replies from a competitor to my requests to ask a few questions when we were looking at different systems. We had good help getting it set up. I would definitely recommend.
ConsThere are some limitations with templates - invoices, packing slips etc. - when dealing with a currency that uses a decimal place as a thousand separator instead of a comma. It also doesnt have the ability to track batches through multiple assemblies which limits the value of the production reports we can get.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 23, 2017
Dear Graeme, Thank you for the review we are happy to hear that everything is going well. Just addressing some of the cons, we use microsoft mailmerge so templates are very customisable. We have a complimentary service for paying customers where we can assist with template customisation at no additional cost so feel free to send us your templates to support@dearsystems.com. Regarding the tracking of batches through sub-assemblies please check the 'Lot Recall' report which will show you every single finished good that contained a particular batched or serialised product that you searched for all the way through to who you sold it to and which supplier you brought it from. Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 22, 2017
Derek M.
Quality & Business Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018

“It does not exactly suit our business model,compared to other software in the market it was the best”

ProsThe fact that it can be accessed from anywhere and that the information available is reasonably accurate
ConsWe transfer stock between locations on a daily basis eg. receipts, transfer to work in progress, then assembly and then to finished goods in more than one location and then it gets sold. when looking at a stock movement report of Raw Material, all that I want to know is receipts + stock on hand-assembly = Stock on Hand. The inventory totals in inventory do not balance with the Trial balance figures as the trial balance picks up transfers as many as three times. So the Raw Material and Finished Goods are never correct in Dear and because of Synchronisation in Xero. second point is the introduction of the Advanced Purchase Module and discontinuation of cloning without any prior warning and with no video training module available. I have so far been unable to use that module and am working with the simple purchases module, keeping it in draft, and manually adjusting stock levels when receiving stock. I then use a new Simple Purchase to deal with the supplier invoice. Ideally, the system should be able to tell me what stock is required, but the is no correlation between Assembly and Inventory. We use about 8 to 9 different Raw Materials in different quantities to produce our finished goods, so you can understand how frustrating this all is.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 16, 2017

“I Am Extremely Satisfied & Highly Recommend Dear Inventory!”

ProsAfter almost two years with DEAR, we couldn't be more pleased! We needed a centralised inventory system with CRM capabilities that could seamlessly integrate and sync to SHOPIFY, XERO, as well as our offline sales channels. Being in the food industry, we also needed a system that could track the shelf-life of our products, and make sure first expired items were sold first. This is an important feature for us that we did not find in TradeGecko, which we tested out as well before we made our decision in early 2016. DEAR also helps us keep track of our items on consignment (location / expiry date / batch number) as well as create hampers and other gift bundles with ease, thanks to their Bill of Materials function. I particularly enjoy the level of detail available to us, to store relevant information such as supplier SKUs and multiple price lists. The system is sturdy and the UX is straightforward and intuitive, which has made the transition easy for the whole team! Tamara Agusta General Manager Profood Ltd
ConsOccasionally DEAR can be a little slow to load, and customer service is not always as quick as one would like it to be.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 21, 2017
Hi Tamara, Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that mostly everything is going well for you. If you ever do experience slow performance again please be sure to notify support immediately so our tech team can look into it. Our systems is not known for slow performance as we use top range data centers provide by Microsoft Azure. Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 16, 2017
David R.
NZ Distributor
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 13, 2017

“Plays nicely with Xero, handles our 5 international shopify websites and direct provisioning, Good dispatch workflow”

ProsWe are loving this software, been using 8 months now and it is powerful. We run 5 e-commerce sites, 4 warehouses and sell in 3 currencies and it's handling all well. Support, as mentioned, isn't quite as easy as getting a call but we use their tutorials, common sense, their live chat. We also paid for assistance with setup as we didn't want to make any mistakes and desired a bit of support from Work Smart NZ, these guys are great too and worth the extra investment if you value your time" We are currently trying to get the good word out on various sites and we are hoping that you would to take the time out of their day to share it on Getapp:
ConsThe .docx invoice templates are hard work to manipulate, some more standardized system (like unleashed offers) would make life much easier. No great integration with a CRM currently. Also they need a Zapier integration so it can connect to other web apps. We are using email parser functionality to achieve most of this but it's complicated.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 15, 2017
Hi David, Thanks so much for your review! If you require assistance with your template customization feel free to take up our complimentary template customization service. Simply email support with all required changes and we will get it done. In regards to CRM we currently have an integration with SALPO & Capsule CRM. If you would like mroe info about it please book in a call here https://classic.youcanbook.me/v2/jsps/cal.jsp?cal=ZgsGQaWduL34BrkiNkBY Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 13, 2017
Carlos P.
founder - president
Wholesale, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018

“experience as a implementer and user of DEAR”

Overalla little frustrating for the limitations fo the system and interfae with XERO. Limitations: need to UNDO a compleate sale to be able to make any change Sync with Xero: constant errors Very slowwww we have a 100/40mgb connection and good computers (local app or better use of cache)
Pros- What we would expect from a Inventory Managment system - Chinese interface - advance sale function (multiple dispatches, multiple invoices for one sale order) - integration with Shopify -
ConsDEAR - faster JSON access (no limitation of 60 calls per second) - no need to UNDO sales for non essential information fields change - ability to edit allocation of products - ability to edit batch/serial information - Reports 1) shows clear information of Sale Order that have not been 1) shiped, 2) invoiced. 2) be able to extract information related to earning power of a product (% margin x rotation of a product) - Ability to limit sales bellow certain margin or price - Dashboard with historical inventory and accounts receivables graphs (currently not available) - Rename product fields (example: type, category, brand, stock locator, barcode) - Additional fields available on more reports - reports are missing a lot of related information that could / should be available
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018
Owen B.
Director
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“Simple but very, very effective Inventory management and general business operations software”

OverallThe business administration is now a multiple of it's previous efficiency. We can track sales, purchases and performance far, far more efficiently than before. The proof is in the pudding - walk around our sales office and at least one screen on every desk will have DEAR open.
ProsThe software is made up of simple to understand modules that have a clear purpose and have extremely good help videos and articles available. There is a "simple" and "advanced" version of most functions which makes carrying out most tasks extremely efficient while still having the power of the full functionality available in the background if needed. Any simple document can be changed to an advanced document with the click of a button.
ConsThe "Jobs" or project module is somewhat more difficult to use than other parts of the suite. Projects are a common part of many businesses and a simpler, more intuitive, module that allowed easy quotes and easy conversion to a Job would be a great enhancement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Ashton S.
Operations
Wholesale, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2018

“Really great software with small areas to grow”

OverallEase of use across all of our employees. Decreased costs and improved inventory accuracy.
ProsWell thought out sales workflow. Really flexible and powerful in ways others weren't to enter sales orders. Takes a little getting used to, but there is a lot in there. Love the ability to price tier for B2B sales. Integrates really well with Shopify and eBay. Need to check out the B2B portal that is available, but haven't gotten to that part yet. Even though the support is all email based, we have been delighted with the speed of response and solutions to any issues we've had. I'd say on average the response time to new tickets has been in the 5-15 minute range with maybe one that reached 45 minutes. Often I'd wait longer on hold with a tech line with other companies than it takes to get a response from DEAR support email. Great integration with our accounting. Easy to implement API for extending the functionality of DEAR.
ConsThere are a few things that still need improvement we've run into. Credit Notes/Memos are terribly hard to figure out and make work correctly if you wish to give the customer a credit to use at a future date not tied to a transaction in DEAR. DEAR does tiered pricing for sales, but there is no way to have volume purchasing discount tiers beyond manually changing every time a PO is created. If a small change has to take place during fulfillment DEAR requires you to revert the order back to the very beginning of the workflow process and complete every stage again. Rather than just let you go back one step. The fulfillment QC process could be strengthened a lot. It's basically based on trust with no verification. Right now it assumes all counts/data entry keyed in are 100% accurate. I'd like to see some kind of barcode based QC verification.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2018
Corey M.
Senior Solutions Architect
Retail, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 27, 2017

“Perfect fit for our assembly business”

ProsThe main reason we picked this application is for the "Production" part of it. It allows us to setup BOMs as a template, but then adjust them on the fly during the production. The second reason to love this application is for the APIs. It allowed us to add our "unique" processes (the way we handle commissions) and create non-standard reports. Xero is one half of our corporate brain (the money side), while DEAR is other half (the counts side). Additionally, we just integrated our Shopify website with DEAR and we are planning to use their B2B functionality in 2018. Finally, they react to their clients. I have made requests for features that were handled.
ConsThey could add "Current available" as a pop up when in the Purchases section. This would allow better decision making rather than having a second window open. Very very minor. Other than that, having an API really helps.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on January 5, 2018
Hi Corey, Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you will be utilizing our B2B platform ! We made massive enhancements to it in 2017 and will continue this in 2018. Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 27, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 26, 2017

“Comprehensive and Flexible with Excellent Customer Service”

ProsCloud based and the integrations with Xero and Woo Commerce are really great and the main reasons we changed from using Lightspeed. Does almost everything we liked in Lightspeed and more. The ability to pick, pack and ship gives us great visibility on the progress of orders. Easy to use once you get the hang of it. The support is excellent - very quick and always helpful.
ConsI would like to see price tiers on the product overview page. We can only see it on the individual product page or once it has been added to an invoice. Customer Backorders don't automatically link to Purchase orders so there is no prompt to notify customers as soon as their order comes in. We use Dear in the front end of our retail store so a built in end of day report and reconciliation would be very useful.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on December 11, 2017
Hi Amy, Thank you for the review. Just to address some of the cons: 1) A link is established for customer backorders you can use the "Find Sale Backordered By Purchase Order" report to locate the status of backordered items. There are also a number of other Backorder reports which you can utilise if the the mentioned above is not suitable. 2) We would recommend to use DEAR POS in the fron end of your business if you are not doing so currently. DEAR POS has register closure report which can give you an end of day summary upon closure of register. A number of sale order reports are also available in DEAR Inventory if you do not prefer using our POS solution. Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 26, 2017
Thomas T.
Co-Founder
Furniture, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 16, 2017

“Intuitive and close to everything we need.”

Pros"DEAR are going to really shake up the whole software development industry. Ive never experienced such great service and the product itself is brilliant. Its intuitive and very user friendly. My staff have picked it up very quickly and its improved our whole business process. Standard response times after submitting a ticket are usually in a couple of hours- (It takes me 3 days to hear from my website developers). Best of all, we needed a feature customised for us, and after contacting DEAR, they had the feature available on the platform within a number of days. 10/10."
ConsThe only con is that currently, there is no connection to Zapier. Once this happens, then I cant pick any faults with DEAR at all!

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 21, 2017
Hi Thomas, Thank you for the superb review. We are currently working on API version 2 among other things until end of the year. We still have not ruled out an integration with Zapier or OneSaas and are hoping to work with one of these platforms (or both) sometime next year. Will definitely keep you updated once we decide which one we are going to go with. Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 16, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Food Production, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2018

“Incredibly functional inventory system for small manufacturers”

OverallAs a small manufacturer, Dear Inventory has become a vital part of my operation. Robust integration offerings allow me to sync e-commerce websites, accounting software, shipping programs, etc. Dear Inventory allows me to consolidate my business and ensure that every aspect of my organization ... from receiving, to manufacturing, to selling, to shipping, to reporting ... is working in harmony. I love the fact that I have access to quick and reliable support for my system, and the development team is great about taking my comments and suggestions and working to incorporate them into the ongoing development of the program. I could not be happier with the Dear Inventory solution.
ProsExtremely functional inventory allocation system throughout the manufacturing process; Robust offering of integrations to support every aspect of my business; Reliable support through the Dear Inventory support team; Ongoing development that takes into account the feedback of users.
ConsThe reporting tool, while functional, is sometimes a bit sluggish. It takes a little bit of trial-and-error to figure out which reports have which information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2018
Mohd Suffian Z.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 13, 2017

“The best product of its kind in the market.”

ProsVery intuitive to use. Many detailed features. Excellent customer support. Responsive to suggestions.
ConsThe way they handle the serial number of unique items of an SKU can be improved. As of right now, the auto-select serial number during 'pick' is prioritized alphabetically instead of numerically (i.e. serial number 11 is higher in auto-select priority as opposed to serial number 2), which is annoying.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 21, 2017
Hi Mohd, Thank you for your review we are glad to hear that things are going well with DEAR. Just addressing your cons regarding serial number selection. It is not sorted based on alpha numerical, the auto pick is based on the costing method selected for the serialised product. If your costing method you used is the generic FIFO the system will sort it based on the First in First Out basis. If you need to be able to select which serial number you want to sell please use the Special Costing method. This will allow you to select which serialised product you want to sell during pick stage. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us in support@dearsystems.com or book in a call here https://dearsystems.youcanbook.me/index.jsp Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 13, 2017
Charlie J.
Adminstrative Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018

“All round, Dear Systems is fantastic way of centralizing all your business essentials.”

ProsThe ability to custom make invoices is a massive pro. Using Dear has meant that automating emails, bulk downloading invoices and keeping track of what's been fulfilled and what hasn't is so much simpler than it was in our previous system. It has also made things much easier in liasing between our warehouse and sales departments. The customer service has been excellent - everything, from integration information/guidelines to quick fixes on invoice issues that we couldn't iron out, was dealt with promptly and efficiently. All round it's been a fantastic experience and would be my go to system to manage inventory, fulfillments and keeping track of the accounts.
ConsI think the biggest issue was finding that the integrations with third party shipping providers was severely limited, although it has been assured that this currently under review and likely to improve. A small con in a plethora of pros!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018
Rick F.
Director
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017

“Does everything we need to run our soft drinks company”

OverallBusiness totally depends on it!
ProsIs really great for traceabilty of our products from ingredient to end customer. Has lots of great functionality Excellent value for money Good support - they always get straight back to us
ConsThere is just a couple of basic features missing that we have brought up before.. You can attach files to lots of areas such as Sales etc but you can't attach a file to an assembly - which in a food product is where you would want to attach a file - eg the batch record, pasteuriser log etc. This would make quite a difference When you print a label for a product there is no option for creating ITF14 barcodes for outer packaging (standard) Be good if there was a way of manually setting the cost price and margins for an assembled product

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on December 14, 2017
Hi Rick, Thank you for the review. Just addressing some of the cons, its a good suggestion regarding ability to attach notes to assemblies. Next year we are planning on adding extra enchancements to core app DEAR Inventory as this year was mostly concentrated on external integrations & also the development of our own POS and B2B eCommerce portal. Strongly suggest to leave a feature request for 2018 development considerations. Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017
Paul H.
CEO At Sole Juice. Sublimation Printing & Supplies
Printing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 14, 2017

“Excellent software, easy to set up and use”

ProsI have to say that not only is this software so easy to set up and amazing to use but the support is genuinely the best I have received from any company in the last 20 years. Schedule a call, they skype in and share your screen, go through whatever you need nothing too much trouble, the help videos are brilliant but the email support I can't get my head around. Its been 9 & 10 pm at night UK time and I am emailing questions in and they are FULLY answered in literally 4 or 5 mins Not some half baked canned response but proper answers based on your question Easy to use Easy to set up Works on multiple channels such as Shopify Ebay etc Syncs with Xero accounting software
ConsSometimes the syncing once you use multiple sales channels is a little confusing (well for me anyhows) but thats just a slight issue

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 21, 2017
Hi Paul, Thank you for the superb review ! Just addressing your small concern, if you ever need a walk through on how DEAR syncs information with our add on partner apps feel free to book in a call with one of our representatives following the below link: https://dearsystems.youcanbook.me/index.jsp Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 14, 2017
Avatar Image
Perry M.
Electrical Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018

“Excellent product backed by excellent support and free training. DEAR is the heart of my business!”

Overalltime
ProsThis system works as advertised. There is a great balance of functionality to nudge you towards running a better business and enough flexibility to tailor the operation to your business needs. The free training is excellent, far better than paid training that I have endured with other systems. They are super responsive with any questions that I do have, always resolving my questions with 1-2 emails. Being able to connect to my customers shopping carts on my website while providing professional looking forms and documents for shipping the product out the door is fantastic. Accurately providing accounting information to Xero in moments is another great feature.
ConsCreating the purchase orders is less intuitive when I purchase items that will not be used in products ( e.g. services, support items like bags and boxes). This may very likely be a training problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018
lawrence s.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 16, 2017

“DEAR is extremely well designed”

ProsDEAR has great depth, anticipates many issues and has great capabilities. Its focus is on the steak, not the sizzle. I'm confident that it will handle any need I'll discover I need in future. Other apps I use are great at marketing but their capabilities fall far short of what's advertised. With DEAR it's the reverse.
ConsCustomer support used to be off-putting and frustrating -- condescending and cryptic, unhelpful responses that required multiple questions, and defensive, too. Plus, very slow to respond. But it has improved a lot. The staff is knowledgeable and has become friendly -- some bad apples probably left. The answers to queries are now generally excellent. The service is still only by email and still often slow to respond. I'm on my own if I need an immediate response to a problem.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 21, 2017
Hi Lawrence, Thank you for your review. Just to address some of your concerns regarding support turnaround. Our targets for support staff is to respond to new tickets within the first hour. This is usually achieved on over 95% of cases unless it is related to a technical issue. You can also always book in a call at a time convenient for you using the booking service on our website. Below is the link to our booking service. https://dearsystems.youcanbook.me/index.jsp Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
November 16, 2017
Michael T.
Technical Director
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“The only stock management service that does taxes correctly”

OverallIf you want to automate your bookkeeping and accounting as much as possible, this is the way to go. Currently have 6 marketplaces hooked up and they all push to Xero automatically. Of course DEAR manages stock numbers across markets as well.
ProsWe've tried many stock management apps before DEAR and none of them pushed correct data to Xero for bookkeeping. DEAR dies a stellar job on the books while doing everything else very competently. Saves us tons of time and money.
ConsSometimes it's a bit slow on certain actions. And the tech support used to be somewhat lacking but they stepped up their game recently. Quick and responsive now. The learning curve is a bit steel at first. But we quickly realised that was because DEAR doesn't cut corners in organising your stock and books. So you have to learn to do things the proper way. A pain at first but saves you from horrible issues with the taxman later.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Furniture, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 7, 2017

“Flexible and functional inventory software”

ProsHaving used DEAR for over a year now, we were looking for an all in one inventory system that could integrate with our Ecommerce and accounting packages. A friend recommended DEAR and since then, we never looked back! Some of the benefits we found: - Flexible setup and customisable features - Useful Batch and expiry date tracking (saved us on a couple of occasions, having to do recalls on certain products) - Support was detailed and helpful - Integration with xero works very well
ConsNot a lot of negatives, as a lot of the feedback has been converted into fixes and updates over the past 12 months. Its great to see DEAR systems listening to their customers and implementing changes: - Look and feel was a little basic, but new facelift and appearance customisations should fix this - Initial setup was difficult on my own, but once i connected with support, all integration and setup issues were dealt with. - Does not connect with Bigcommerce Ecommerce solution any longer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 7, 2017
Liz W.
Founder & Co-CEO
Food Production, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 17, 2018

“Still needs work but better than any alternatives”

ProsDear Inventory is a cost-effective 70% solution to manage food production including BOM's, suppliers, customers, etc... The company is almost continually updating & improving the software. I remain hopeful that at some point the frustrating aspects of the program will be resolved. The implementation is straightforward and does not require a 3rd party to execute. We have trialed and used a number of entry-level MRP systems and believe this to be the best offering at this time.
ConsThe integration with QB is messy and riddled with errors. It seems like the integration with Xero is better but we use QBO for many other integrations so have not made the switch to Xero. Timely customer service for North American customers is lacking since Dear is based in Australia.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 17, 2018
Steve S.
Managing Director
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019

“Superb system, excellent support”

OverallDEAR is probably the most important system in our business. It has revolutionised our company and allowed us to grow quickly, expanding the product range and marketplaces. It ties everything in beautifully so that, in conjunction with Xero, we have complete management control of the business. It's truly brilliant and I would recommend it without hesitation.
ProsIt's stable, reliable, never goes wrong and the support staff are excellent. When problems do occur, they are sorted out very quickly. Synchronisation with Xero, Amazon and eBay is near-flawless.
ConsSome aspects are a little unintuitive, and it does entail the user understanding quite a lot about how stock control works. The B2B trade portal isn't great and needs a rethink. These are very small issues though compared with what the system does well - which is nearly everything.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2019
nigel b.
CEO
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2017

“Difficult to fault - Dear is Dear to our business!”

OverallThe Dear option was considered amongst others of the same ilk, but was ahead in some key areas. This and the fact that I was able to find a consultant to help us implement Dear was key. In fact Run Your Business Online (RYBO) are now experts in Dear capability and implementation. There has been a great deal of development in Dear's capability and customer service is really good. Hard to fault and I would not change. Integration with Xero is brilliant.
Proseasy to use, feature rich and continuously improved
Consadvance knowledge of changes and updates planned and some feedback on suggestion placed on the forum would be welcome. A dialogue with dear on the forum would be a massive incentive to add more requests
Recommendations to other buyersGreat system with good customer service and integrations mean it is as close to a bespoke system as you could wish. Worth spending some time and money on setting it up and can highly recomend RYBO in the UK to do just that.
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2017
Ryan C.
CEO
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2019

“Dear Systems - For your Inventory Requirements ”

OverallAccess to sales and purchases data in sufficient detail to make accurate business decisions on stock lines
ProsFlexible with a great level of detail and functionality
ConsCan be complex to setup if the business design is not properly documented and understood.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2019
Casey H.
Operations Manager
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018

“Dear offers an array of features, most of which are simple to use”

OverallVersatile reporting, integrated emailing, serial number tracking, easy to update products (with or without importing)
ProsDear provides many features, most of which are straightforward and simple to use. One of the big pros for us was the ability to use and track serial numbers. I have only had to reach out to customer service once, but after doing so I was provided the help I needed within minutes. The program is updated frequently and there are updates released about every month. I also love the ability to set up custom templates, and email customers documents while inside the software.
ConsI did the implementation and training for the software, and one area I found a bit lacking is documentation of how the program works. There are youtube videos on many features of the program, but things that are not covered in videos you have to figure out by trial and error.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Liam E.
Director
Retail, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2018

“Scalable. Great for small retail business. ”

OverallA Single inventory management platform for all our sales outlets. Having a simple integrated epos is a great as we don't need anything complex. Integration into all the platforms we use means we didn't need to hire any expensive programmers to help use api's. Setup was easy and fairly straightforward. The learning curve wasn't too complex.
ProsSoftware has a good range of features that I find very useful. We use it In-store, On our e-commerce website and on Amazon. Have a single platform for a simple ePOS and all our other sales makes things super simple. Support normally quick to respond and mostly get the right solution on the first reply, if not the second. Video instruction content on youtube is great and helps demystify some of the more complex things. More of this please.
ConsWould have liked a lower cost model for low & small volume as I find the cost high for a new and smaller business like ours. However, I know we will grow into it. There are a few quirks here and there. However, Support are good at explaining a way around it or an alternative solution. I struggle to remember which symbol is what part of the software so sometimes I click the wrong one or have to wait for the name to come up. Would be good for some more hints and tips to prompt you to discover and try features we don't currently use or know off.

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on January 5, 2018
Hi Liam, Thank you for the review. We are glad everything is going well for you so far. Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2018
Matthew N.
MD
Wholesale, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2017

“DEAR Systems is brilliant, relatively low cost software, perfect for small-medium business. ”

ProsDEAR Systems is straight forward as it should be. But also handles the complexities required from our business such as multi currency purchase and sales, kit building and assembly of products with cost and labour breakdowns. Key features other software does not offer.
ConsNot sure if it possible but landscape forms would suit us better, need to check with our rep. Mail Merge takes some getting used to if not familiar. Customisable Dashboard like Netsuite would be great!

Vendor Response

By DEAR Systems on November 14, 2017
Hi Matthew, Thanks so much for your review! If you require assistance with your template customization feel free to take up our complimentary template customization service. Simply email support with all required changes and we will get it done. In regards to dashboard customization please book in a call here https://classic.youcanbook.me/v2/jsps/cal.jsp?cal=ZgsGQaWduL34BrkiNkBY for a sales rep to share screen and show you the customization capabilities of our dashboard. Best Regards DEAR Team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2017
Yulia M.
Business owner
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“I love to use DEAR system”

OverallStock control, purchase and suppliers management, easy order fulfilment, easy-to-build reports
ProsI am an eBay seller. I've been searching for warehouse management system about a year. DEAR is my choice for now, I like it and have no plans to change it for another system. It is easy to use, the main pros for me besides stock, purchase and sales management (other systems do not always include them): - integrations with certain marketplaces (eBay, Etsy, Shopify) and services; - multicurrency support; - auto-assembly products support.
ConsMain cons, they are minor: - auto-disassembly does not work, have to disassemble products manually; - does not have integrations with some marketplaces (WISH for example); - can not update tracking information at marketplaces after an order was shipped; - templates and merge fields are not easy to understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Julio C.
Project Manager
Logistics and Supply Chain, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 14, 2017

“Best inventory software with so many synergistic benefits with other software to become total solution ”

Overallin general this is the best software i have used and it is value for money (last year they allow single user so the plan is even more attactive). If you have 3 people already in the company this will be the best software
Prosit handle my stock and invoices very well, since i am doing food business, FIFO and expiry date is very important, so when you enter the data correctly the system will help you to do rest of it, great software
Consthey sometimes have some major breakdown failure and everyone in the world (probably) can't use the service (can't login, data can't load). they said that it is due to instability of their cloud service provider, anyway, this didn't really happen all time, seems that i only experience this once for this year? i forget
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 14, 2017
Kelly W.
Company Secretary
Paper & Forest Products, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“DEAR systems ”

OverallStock reports and ease and speed of quoting/invoicing/picking stock to allocate, are priceless for us as a small business, where time is of the essence.
ProsEase of use and functionality. Customer service has been faultless.
ConsDelay on implementation of new features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Bryce Y.
VP of Operations
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 20, 2019

“Do not use if you need to keep track of serial numbers or if you have more than 50 total SKUs”

OverallDear has created more problems than it has solved for our business. At a minimum Dear needs to fix the duplicate serial number issue and provide a way to do inventory level snapshots.
ProsThe software is made for small businesses interested in keeping track of basic inventory, basic purchasing, and basic invoicing. - Perfect for 1-5 employees, this is the base number of users and gives the most bang for your buck. - Perfect for no more than 50 SKUs
Cons- Serial Numbers are NOT UNIQUE, duplicates can be entered easily with no warning - Navigating a Bill of Materials for more than 1 level is impossibly complicated and needs a separate spreadsheet or software to track - Transactions randomly duplicate without warning. Several times we have had stock transfers or purchases receive twice, creating inventory discrepancies and overall chaos in the warehouse. - This random duplication allows inventory to be a negative number. Example: A serial numbered part was pulled twice by the system instead of removing it from inventory, it created a negative line item and showed the serial numbered part as -1 instead of 0. This in turn affected the overall inventory for that SKU. - It is impossible to find a specific inventory level on a given day, this feature simply does not exist. - Stocktakes cannot be backdated so if a count is taken on day 1 and entered in day 2 if any assemblies took place they will screw up counts. - Sync between Xero accounting is a multi-step process. Invoices and payments do not sync back and forth on a consistent basis. Sometimes a voided invoice in Dear or in Xero will not transfer over and the entire Sale or Purchase needs to be voided and redone for the voided payment to sync OR alternatively you can enter the information manually which defeats the point of the sync. - Customer service is atrocious except for the basic help which is already covered in depth by videos or other consultants.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 20, 2019
Dallas L.
Administrative Assistant
Wholesale, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018

“It's growing on me”

OverallOverall, I am warming up to Dear. I guess it took me a while because of the rocky onboarding process. But now that all the data seems to be imported and working well, I am seeing how Dear will really help me become more efficient and allows me to work better with my team.
ProsThere are many features that are very helpful and make my daily operations more efficient. We switched over from Quickbooks online looking for a more robust system to keep track of our inventory, and it is indeed more robust. I like how all of the steps for one order are on one screen (quote, sales order, pick, pack ship and invoice). You know exactly what step of the process each sale is at. The split orders and back orders will be helpful for us when we have to do partial shipment. I like the different customization you can use to create templates and can make them customer specific. One small thing that saves me a ton of time is Dear will calculate the weight of the order on my packing list (I used to have to calculate that manually). The cloud based system that allows for 5 users is a big plus too, pretty good value for the money too, most other systems we looked at that allowed that many users were more expensive. Receiving of goods is easy and we feel like we will be more accurate now in our COGS with the ability to allocate freight charges, and other charges, to items received.
ConsThere was a pretty big learning curve from Quickbooks. I think I am still learning how to use it most efficiently. I think my biggest complaint was the onboarding process. The guy that was supposed to help us with the onboarding process had little to no time to help us so we had lots of trial and error - which was frustrating! And it took a lot longer than what we were told. Mainly because of importing historical data. We were told this was possible, then when it came to actually doing it, it was like we were left alone to figure it out. And the person working with us knew nothing about Quickbooks or how to export the data from QB. Which is guess isn't his job, but still you'd think we could have received a little more help on that. Besides that, there are some little things I don't really like. I don't really like that you can't make changes to sales orders or invoices once they're "authorized" - you have to undo it and make the change and sometimes that takes you back steps in the process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2018
Kara B.
Creative Director
Farming, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“It was DEAR to me until it wasn't”

OverallWe discovered a technical glitch that caused severe bloat to our database that was seemingly stemming from DEAR. We approached the DEAR team leader with the matter. Rather than accepting responsibility and assuring us that he would provide the customer service that was necessary, he did not. He instead brought attention to other aspects of the integration. After three months of pain, and moving to a new web hosting environment, and being down for 24 hours and up and down for a total of 3 months, a technical team was able to isolate the issue as being related to DEAR, and for the last 48 hours I have still not heard back from the DEAR tech LEAD on a fix, or with any offer of any kind to help us get back up and running the way that we are supposed to be. We are trying to trouble-shoot without any answers coming from the DEAR development team. I have never seen anything this lacking in terms of customer service in my 30 years of business. I am disappointed and expected more from the tech LEAD and DEAR customer service.
ProsI created a requirements document of what we needed in an Inventory Management System and DEAR met all of them. I was so excited to find such a robust and affordable software solution in the cloud that hit all of my notes in my small indie maker business.
ConsIt was very very difficult for us to try and implement this product on our own. We hired an outside DEAR consultant. We spent $10K in consulting fees to get up and running. It took just about 8-9 months with a FTE almost completely focused 3/4 time and problems with the integration started just about the same time that we were up and running. Though we did not realize our problems with our web site were related to DEAR. We experienced outages and slowness on our site and were directed to take matters up with our hosting company. They reset and tuned our database-- and still we experienced slow performance. Because there are many moving parts-- and several outside vendors-- each pointing to each other--- it was this long, painful, expensive journey before we arrived right back to DEAR with the performance issues stemming from their API.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Arnon L.
Apparel & Fashion, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
June 2, 2014

“Xero Integrated, Well Priced, Cloud Based Inventory System”

OverallOur company are wholesale distributors of apparel, footwear and accessories. We moved to Dear Inventory as it was a well priced, cloud based, pay monthly (SAAS) system that integrated with Xero. Other systems we compared over the years that integrated with Xero were either too expensive, had huge setup fees, were limited to 50,000 sku's or didn't meet our other main requirement... Aside from Xero integration, our other requirement was the ability to create multiple variations within one SKU, what Dear call Product Families. For example we have a style or sku, but need to be able to break this up into sizes and colours to be tracked individually. Without a system like their product families which automatically creates these variations, we would need to create on average 24 different sku's per style. Additional to this, they have recently adjusted their import system to include product families meaning that we are now importing 5000 sku's within hours; something that use to take us days. We use this system daily for sales orders, purchase orders (generated automatically from back ordered sales orders which is brilliant!), picking, packing, despatching and invoicing. These processes are all well thought out and simple to use in my opinion. The system also has good multi level user access meaning we can setup our agents in the system to enter the sales orders themselves, yet limiting their access to other areas of the system that we do not want them to see. I believe Dears greatest attribute is their customer service. They have an excellent response time (usually within 2 hours) and questions, requests or issues are resolved quickly. I thought perhaps I was just lucky with the service I had received but after reading other reviews on Xero's website, I realised I wasn't special :) Hats off to the support team. This system is consistently evolving and I would recommend it to any company with similar requirements to our own. I also think it is extremely well priced and a g
Source: GetApp
June 2, 2014
Avatar Image
Mitch C.
Operations and Logistics Manager
Events Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“An all round solution”

ProsWe're in a very new, niche industry and weren't sure what we would require that could handle all the possibilities of what our business, to have such a flexible and versatile inventory system has allowed us to change it to suit our needs. As we evolve into more and more products that need to be managed differently we find another way that Dear can handle this. Our business requires tracking product movements across multiple processing facilities, with some products being disassembled from their raw ingredient through multiple processes, then reassembled into finished goods, then assembled into boxes. Operationally this wasn't possible with our previous inventory system, but is now working smoothly with Dear.
ConsSetting up products can take some time, as with any inventory system, however this was expedited by their support and the ease of their import and export functionality
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Cosmetics, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“This is our main platform to run a start up!”

ProsThis is the BEST inventory (almost ERP) system out there. Dear strikes the precarious balance between features and complexity very well. The only inventory solution with multiple tiered BOM's for a fraction of the price of fully blown ERP systems. This just is a diamond and we are so happy to have found it. Multiple tier BOM,s, multiplied warehouse and production facilities, wonderful integration with most of the important distribution channels. I could go on.
ConsSomewhat rigid and limited in reports. The reports I want to run never seem to be possible without downloading 2 reports and analyzing them with excel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Nachshon P.
Owner
Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Best service for integrating inventory across multiple platforms.”

OverallThe service gives us control that we would otherwise wouldn't be able to achieve.
ProsDEAR is the 3rd service we've tried (after Stitchlabs and TradeGecko) and we've been using it for over two years. We tried it last because the name sounded unprofessional. We use it to integrate our retail channels with our online stores as well as our trade shows and wholesale business. It's powerful , flexible and the developers are open to suggestions and input.
ConsIntegration with Amazon FBA is done better in Stitchlabs. They understand and implement FBA as a master warehouse where the user has no control over the FBA inventory (which the user doesn't).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Amanda B.
Director
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“Enabling an integrated platform”

OverallWe implemented the DEAR recently, and so far, great! We chose to implement DEAR after careful consideration of a number of solutions on the market. We were looking to create an integrated platform to support our end-to-end inventory and sales order management. As a small business we needed a solution that was straight forward to use; integrated with key software solutions that catered for the varying needs of our B2B and B2C channels, shipping, CRM and F&A; and offered us flexible path at a reasonable cost that would allow our integrated platform to grow with us. Of the solutions we reviewed, DEAR best met all of these requirements, and we have been pleased with its performance. We have been able to automate a number of key processes, reducing manual error and time taken on admin; visibility of writebacks from our F&A and shipping solutions in particular has meant that our team now has all the information at their fingertips to better service our customers and to make more informed business decisions. We have not yet rolled out the purchasing function, but that is part of our roadmap :-)
Pros-easy to use -customer and product pricing and terms flexibility -integrations with other applications -time provided in the trial period to allow us to set up everything properly before we went live
Cons- nothing of note - getting your head around the nuances so that you set things up in the right way to make the most of the system...this would be the same with any new software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Rebecca B.
Finance Manager
Food Production, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019

“Great Support!”

OverallVery simple system to use, great support team with excellent knowledge of the system. Throughout trial support where is constant contact to check how it was going.
ProsThe software is very easy to use and although are production is not simple, support were always able to offer a solution to any problem.
ConsNothing really, we just needed to get our head around the fact that is wasn't bespoke to our business, therefor has to make small sacrifices to make it work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019
Ruth P.
NSC
Business Supplies and Equipment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Best Practice for the Best Business”

OverallIt took me 3 years to choose the perfect system, hours of research from the multitude of products out there - I kept coming back to Dear. It is a secure program, no bugs, excellent logic & layout, amazing customer service. They are also open to suggestions and also improve the user experience and add new features constantly.
ProsThe best part of this software is that it is very intuitive and requires minimal training. Anything that you are unsure of, there is an encyclopedia of "How To" and video tutorials. Also, our account manager went above & beyond in assisting us to have a seamless transition for all our business systems and processes.
ConsI have to struggle to find a fault, really. I am sure there could be something, but I have yet to find it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Philip R.
CDO
Food Production, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 16, 2019

“Best tool for the price!”

OverallGreat - our team understands the tool and this greatly improves our order process! Wish I found a 10% off discount when I signed up! If you are new, use this for a discount: E83FAB41-9FA7-4D40-A78E-E5B68E59855B (Enjoy!)
ProsThis is a great tool for us. We needed something that integrated with QBO that also handled BOMs, Lot Tracking, and multiple warehouses. For the price, this is really the best tool I have found. There are some changes I want to make, so I am active on their support desk. (Their email support is good too)
ConsSyncing to QBO has problems when old invoices or orders need to be changed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 16, 2019