Who Uses This Software?

Kindful serves nonprofits with a variety of missions, who are seeking simpler workflows and reduced redundancy. These organizations believe in the power of online connections and fundraising.


Average Ratings

38 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 4 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4.5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $100.00/month
  • Free Demo
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
    Mobile - iOS Native
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours

Vendor Details

  • Kindful
  • www.kindful.com/
  • Founded 2011
  • United States

About Kindful

Kindful is a cloud-based nonprofit software platform optimizing fundraising & donor relationships. Kindful does all of this without the gimmick of limitations. Kindful helps your organization increase fundraising effectiveness through all channels while providing tools that assist you in building stronger relationships with your support base. As a hosted solution Kindful provides a secure software platform accessible anytime & anywhere you have an internet connection.


Kindful Features

  • Campaign Management
  • Donation Tracking
  • Donor Database
  • Event Management
  • Gift Management
  • Grant Management
  • In-Kind Donations
  • Matching Donations
  • Mobile Donations
  • Online Donations
  • Pledge Management
  • Receipts / Statements
  • Recurring Donations
  • Volunteer Management

Kindful Reviews Recently Reviewed!

40077839365729e618d76b922c305055

I use Kindful for our non-profit accounting and donor management (CRM)

Oct 13, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Kindful is designed to be part of - not the whole of - a CRM/fund accounting strategy. The upside of this is that you are not pigeonholed into one system forever - it is designed to play nicely with other programs/systems.

Once you go through the learning curve, the program is straightforward and easy to use. Customer support is fantastic for questions. I have to manually enter quite a few transactions, and it is much easier to do with Kindful than with Quickbooks. Automatic reports to my board of directors are fantastic. Also, for fund based accounting, this is much simpler to use than quickbooks - I do the math through kindful and my accountant does it through quickbooks - the information is automatically shared through the quickbooks integration. Zapier integration means you can get information in and out of kindful easily. Different price points for different organization sizes is key - a low cost entry point was a big deal for me.

Cons: Not the most intuitive layout, so takes some time getting used to, but once you do it is a very powerful tool. Looks good on a desktop, but not on iphone display.

Integration with quickbooks is my main goal and is not perfect - numbers sync fine but sometimes followup is necessary to make sure the accounts/funds are credited properly.

Would love to see an integration with campaign monitor for emails and a better to-do/task sharing interface (like basecamp).

Very positive and make the tedium more pleasant

Sep 05, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like being able to filter searches, add notes, upload documents. I think it has a friendly and colorful interface which is nice when you're staring at it all day.

Cons: I wish there was a section on a profile to allow for more points of contact with individual besides just note section. Like volunteer, visited, phone call, email, and space for notes in each point of contact.

Kindful's easy to navigate platform has been fantastic for our organization to maintain clean data.

Aug 30, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The Kindful software is the most user friendly donor database I have encountered. Anyone can use this software and set it for their needs.

Cons: Kindful is excellent for less computer savvy users but can be frustrating for more computer literate users. There have been times when setting up campaign landing pages or forms that I would like to be able to edit the HTML but this is not an option. I would also like to be able tp have more if/and statements when running reports.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 31, 2017

Hi, Tiffany! Thanks for giving Kindful a review! It sounds like we share a love for clean data and user-friendliness, and it brings us joy to hear you've been able to navigate the software easily and efficiently. We appreciate your feedback about the depth of options. It's a fine line to make software easy to use while also giving flexibility to advanced users. In our quest to make Kindful a great solution for all types of users. this feedback is super appreciated! I'll pass it along to our product designers and try to promote the flexibility you seek. Thanks again for a stellar review! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

Kindful is very user-friendly for a small, non-profit, non-technical staff.

Aug 29, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The software is designed to serve the needs of non-profits. It has been developed to balance the needs of the daily user and the required reporting for a growing organization. The support team is extremely helpful and responsive. For the most part the functionality is very user-friendly and user training can be done in a short time.

Cons: There is a gap in the donor management process. There is no automated process to move a contact through the Donor cycle which means manual updating through custom fields. The video instructions are good for explaining the benefits of specific features but they don't explain how to perform the tasks/process to get to the results promises.

Overall: Donor management and integration with other online tools is key for non-profit success. The support team is excellent in not only telling you what to do but explaining how it works within the system.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi, Karen! Thanks for writing a positive review! It thrills us that you've been able to take advantage of user-friendliness, and, in cases where you've needed help, have found it in our support team. We know not everything is perfectly intuitive, so it makes us happy to hear that when you've needed help, you've gotten it. Your feedback about the donor cycle management is great. We preach the donor cycle to our customers all the time, as we firmly believe in using this method to fundraise. Making that process easier in our software is always coveted feedback. We also appreciate your critique on our videos. We're trying to ramp those up more in the future, and this feedback about what they're actually accomplishing will set us up really well in our future video efforts. Thanks again for submitting this review and for being such a great person. Keep rockin' it! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

Kindful has radically improved KBFPC's donor management

Aug 29, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Customer service is outstanding - I can often find my answers in the help menu, but when I don't the email response is almost immediate and very thoughtful & thorough.
There is little that I dislike about Kindful.
Support during start up was personalized and authentically interested in what my needs and questions were, I didn't ever feel that I was being pitched to.
It is quick and easy to set up and link with Stripe etc. Importing donor information from our previous system was very simple, but I felt that Kindful staff were ready to assist at every step if I needed.
Day-to-day I get just the right amount of updates in my email inbox. Payments and new donors are quick and easy to add. The dashboard is attractive and has very relevant information. Reports are easy to generate.
I have recommended Kindful to several other local agencies - and I found it myself from another local agency.
Price is right for a small non-profit, too.

Cons: Pros FAR outweigh the cons!
Some of the features are not completely intuitive, especially the naming and categorization of them. Sometimes I have to click on several tabs to find the feature I was looking for.
Some of the "field" names do not function as I expect them to - but customer support assisted me in writing a query to fix them all at once. (it was not too problematic)
I don't love the formatting for snailmailers and acknowledgements - but I haven't spent a whole lot of time trying to tweak them. I print envelopes from Kindful, and export the list of acknowledgements and mail-merge that data into a document I prepared in Microsoft Office; again, not a big deal, but I had to figure out this work-around.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi, Catriona! Thanks for writing such a glimmering review. It really brings us joy to see how much you've been able to benefit from Kindful's features. It sounds like your setup was really straightforward, you've had good experience with processing payments, adding contacts, and reporting, you feel good about the price, and all your needs have been answered by our support team. We are incredibly excited to hear that has been your experience. Hi-fives all around! User-friendliness is always top-of-mind around here, as we strive to make Kindful as approachable as possible. Your comments about navigating, tabs, and fields have been passed on to our product designers, as well as the comments about letter and acknowledgement templates. I'm glad you discovered a bit of a workaround in the meantime, but we'll pass all those details along to improve some functionality there. Thanks again for the feedback. We are always looking to improve! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

We use it daily and it is very user friendly. Even those of us who aren't tech-savvy can 'get it'.

Aug 29, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like the way everything is organized, Dashboard/Activities/Contacts... I like how reports can be automatic from the system straight to my email, daily. I like that once the credit card/ACH info is entered, we don't actually have access to those numbers, and helps with PCI compliance. When there is an issue, we email support and they respond promptly, within 24 hours, and are very friendly and very helpful. I love the size of Kindful, because I feel like they still take input from clients to improve their systems.

Cons: When a donor makes a donation and pays for the transaction fee, you have to go in manually and split the transaction fee from the donation. On days that we have recurring transactions come out, it takes us an incredible amount of time for us to find and go through all the transactions to manually split the transaction fees from the donation itself. That is very time consuming. I personally call donors often, and there is a way to make a 'note' on the donor's profile, however, to access the last time I called, I would need to scroll through transactions to find the last note or go out and create a report. There should be a 'note book' that I can open and see all our correspondence, no matter if the call was in 2012 or today. (Both of which I have brought up with Kindful Support, and they know it's an issue we have with the software).

Overall: More streamlined than our previous interface, more user friendly.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi, Brittany! Thanks for such a great review. It sounds like you're getting a ton out of the software, and that really excites and energizes us. We love seeing our customers succeed! I really appreciate what you had to say about the size of Kindful. We really want to be personable with our customers (which includes receiving and responding to feedback!), and it sounds like you've had that experience. I also wanted you to know we've also started rolling out phone support for all customers, so you can reach our nice folks during normal business hours at (888) 854-3230. As for the transaction fee splitting and notes view, those are both great ideas that I'll pass along to our product designers. I'm hopeful we can work on those as future updates! Thanks again for writing in. Talk to you soon, - Jared

I have worked for several non profits and used several databases, Kindful is by far the best!

Aug 29, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: They really thought of everything. Recurring gifts, ability to sync to Quickbooks, automatic reporting, soft gifts, tax receipts. Great layout and easy to navigate! The price is affordable and the customer service is amazing!

Cons: The search filter is super robust but sometimes it's too many choices to find what you need. I'd love to see their saved reports be modifiable.

Overall: This software is a game changer for Non Profits!

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi, McKensey! Thanks a million for the positive review. We've worked hard on making our interface easy to navigate and use, so I'm glad to hear that's been your experience! Kindful's filtering capabilities are super robust (like you said), and I totally understand how that makes it hard to determine what filter to use. I can tell you with confidence that we're working on a comprehensive list of all the filters, providing explanations and use-cases for each one. I think that's going to be a huge asset for our users that dive deep into reporting. I'll pass along the request to modify saved reports. I think that's a great idea! Thanks again for sharing your thoughts about Kindful. Sending a digital hi-five your way! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

This CRM is easy to use, saves us time and money as well as provides a good platform for donations.

Aug 29, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The software is very easy to use, which means more of my staff will use it on a daily basis. The integrations with 3rd party vendors is fantastic. I can now capture all my PayPal donors data and it ties in with MailChimp nicely. The donation pages are very nice and allow me to segregate donations and allocate them to different campaigns and funds. The ability to allow the donor to cover the credit card fees has saved us per year as over 50% of people cover the fees. The email support is good and usually able to resolve an issue in less than 24 hours. I am very happy with Kindful.

Cons: Kindful's mobile responsiveness could be better. I wish they had a dedicated app or at least a better experience on small screens. Their email support is good, but I wish they had phone support for quicker resolution of issues. I feel the monthly fees are on the more expensive side of donor CRM tools. I would like better documentation and community involvement from customers. There is so much that could be done with it, but I don't know how to to implement some of it. Overall, I am happy with Kindful. They are a great company.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 30, 2017

Hi Clay, We're so glad you're happy with Kindful. It sounds like our PayPal and MailChimp integrations are working out great for you ¿ which makes us super happy! We totally hear ya on the mobile responsiveness ¿ we're constantly working hard to make Kindful better on mobiles, since we know that's becoming more and more prevalent. We're also constantly working on new support articles, and ¿ just like you ¿ long for the day our customers become more communal participants on our support forums. On the phone support side, we have good news for you! Our support line, (888) 854-3230 is now live! You'll get connected during normal business hours to a friendly Tennessean. Thanks for writing a thorough and thoughtful review! Talk to you soon, ¿ Jared

Overpriced for what you get.

Aug 17, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 4.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's probably one of the most attractive user interface I've seen with nonprofit CRMs. Has most of the features a nonprofit needs.

Cons: Price is pretty high for the limited customization it provides. It's hard to integrate with your sites look and feel if you want a seamless experience.

A good value for the money with room to improve

Feb 23, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The user interface is excellent and it does the job well. Great filters for ease of use and for finding what you need.

Cons: No auction feature to have guest pre-register their cards at a link rather than having to set up an account--it would be nice.

Awesome product

Nov 02, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: The product is very simple to use, nice and smooth!

Pros: Can be slow some days

Cons: Straight forward to use, overall good product!

Vendor Response

by Kindful on November 04, 2016

Alisha, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Kindful! We value your feedback and appreciate your comments on the ease of use on the product. We've let our engineers know about the occasional difficulties with speed, and they are working towards addressing this bug. We look forward to working alongside your organization to continue to provide a top-notch fundraising CRM. Kindly, Kaylee

Good for a Small Non-Profit

Oct 26, 2016
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: I think Kindful is a great product for a growing non-profit. The UX design is beautiful and makes being in the database a pleasant experience. The staff has been helpful.

Pros: -Looks nice -Very affordable -Cool features such as automatic reports and Mailchimp integration -Staff is responsive to technical issues

Cons: -Seem to be quite a few bugs -The setup is not as intuitive as I would have liked

Recommendations to other buyers: If you're a small non-profit looking for a database that is affordable but will help you to segment your donors and help you grow, I would recommend Kindful.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on October 31, 2016

Anna, We are so glad to hear that you see Kindful as a great product for a growing non-profit. We¿ve kept that in mind while designing our CRM to ensure we have a product that will work for your organization now, and in the future as you continue to grow. We¿re sorry your onboarding experience hasn¿t been what you expected! I checked with our Success team, and it looks like you have been in regular communication with a representative since signing up. In addition to communicating with our Success team, we think your organization might benefit from our free LIVE webinars that occur every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. These webinars cover topics from Getting Started to Advanced Filtering. You can even chime in with specific questions! We also have a robust knowledge base with articles covering tons of common questions that arise during the on boarding process; and also have video training at Kindful University. We¿d love the chance to make sure you are setup in the right way. Thank you for for your advice to others in recommending Kindful. We look forward to continuing to help your organization with the setup process, and with ongoing support. Kindly, Kaylee

Good in concept but lacks execution

Oct 06, 2016
2/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 1.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: We originally switched over to Kindful because we were told that it was a partner with Network for Good and were told that the two would work seamlessly together. We found out very quickly this was not the case (this was not Kindful's fault, but what we were told by Network for Good). We were also told that we could do the import of data ourselves, and import all the data that we needed to (this was also on the end of the sales person at NFG not Kindful). This information was also incorrect and we found out after we signed the contract that we could only import contact information and basic donations (not soft-credits, or notes, or relationships or groups). I have spent months trying to update the database with all that information. I could have handled this, if it weren't for the lack of robustness in reporting. The report function is very limited and you can't get out everything in the database (like relationships or soft-credits). Also, the queries, although they look very slick, are not robust at all. I ended up exporting a lot of my data and manipulating it in excel because I couldn't get the Kindful queries to do what I want. Also, even with the data I could get out, I couldn't rely on it being accurate. Many times there was data I had deleted and it did not show up on the front end of the database when I searched, but when I did an export the information was there. So I couldn't even trust the data that I got out. After 6 month of frustration we decided to switch databases again. I will say that the costumer service is very quick to respond, although half the time the answer was "sorry the database won't do that." And in the now ten months we have used Kindful they have added on some features that were lacking. I feel like eventually they will be a good database, but the execution just isn't there yet and I don't have time to wait for them to get the database where it needs to be so it saves me time instead of makes more work for me. I hate to give a negative review because they are very friendly and helpful, but unfortunately the experience with the database has been far from ideal.

Pros: Nice interface easy to enter basic data easy to learn the basics Nice step up from excel if you want basic data storage and basic searches and reports Good customer service

Cons: Queries not very robust Reporting options not very robust Data glitches acknowledgement features for letters are limited

Recommendations to other buyers: See if they will let you do a trial run with the database (they did not have this option available for us). Unless you are a very small organization with fairly basic reporting needs, I would not recommend Kindful in its present state. Hopefully they can fix the issues they are having and then maybe it will be a good database.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on October 17, 2016

Alyssa, We hate to hear that you¿ve not had the experience with Kindful that was promised by Network for Good when they sold our product to you. Looking back through our records, it seems that you didn¿t have any calls with our Sales team, or with our Customer Success team to help streamline the onboarding process as you transitioned into our database. We regret this as we have these processes in place, and even since then we have created a more specific and streamlined success process that focuses on this so the transition is as seamless as possible. We pride ourselves on making sure we find organizations that are the right fit for Kindful. We really have enjoyed working with you all for the past year, and I think it could have been possible for this to work had the expectations been correct on the front end. We are making a ton of improvements and new functionalities are being added daily, and while we regret that you¿ve not had your ideal experience, we welcome your organization to return to Kindful in the future if you feel our database matches your needs. Kindly, Kaylee

Kindful Review

Sep 29, 2016
3/5
Overall
2.5 / 5
Ease of Use
2.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
2.5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Relatively easy to use. I like the ease of adding new contacts.

Cons: Difficulty in getting additional training or tutorials

Recommendations to other buyers: Be persistent in trying to get additional training

Their help center is almost instant and that is very good!!

Sep 26, 2016
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: We had used our old software for about 7 years and we felt it was so behind times in their offering, so Kindful was good at helping us take our data and convert it to their system. We get so much more information about our donors. We are able to use credit cards,email and a lot of other methods of communication that we did not have access to before.

Cons: I cannot think of anything that I really dislike about this product and the vendor is really great.

Recommendations to other buyers: We went on line and got the names of about 5 companies and talked to and/ or saw demonstrations from these companies. We also chose Kindful for their location.

Getting better all the time.

Aug 31, 2016
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: User friendly, cost effective, great customer service. Chris Lovett (Kindful) has been responsive and very quick to help. Couldn't be more pleased.

Cons: Still in the development stages with a few kinks to iron out.

Overall: I think that Kindful is an excellent product for the money. They still have some things to work out. It's a new product. I have worked with the Cadillac of databases. (No names) BUT, even though it had a lot more ability to pull out specifically what you wanted....unless you were an expert user it was so complex that most people got invalid data. What I like about Kindful is, it's very cost effective and user friendly. There customer service is super quick to respond and help. For smaller non-profits I don't think you can beat it. I look forward to watching it grow and develop.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on September 01, 2016

Thanks so much, Terri. We are so glad you appreciate Kindful's strengths and appreciate even more your willingness to help us improve. Expect to hear from our Customer Success team to gather more specific feedback on the features that would make your reporting experience the "Tesla of databases." ;-) Thank you for letting us serve you. Kindly, Annie

Learning as I go

Aug 25, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The people and the software capabilities. The amount of support you receive is great and needed for all newcomers.

Cons: I currently have no dislikes for this product or vendor at this time.

Recommendations to other buyers: Pay close attention to you wants and needs. Especially future operations of your organization.

With Kindful, I finally love my CRM

Jan 28, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We used to use Salesforce for our CRM. However, it's built for enterprise and is bulky, hard to setup, and confusing to use. Moving to Kindful was a welcome difference, and well worth the added cost.

Kindful tracks all our donors and contacts. It syncs swimmingly with MailChimp (our email marketing tool); directly from within Kindful we can see all our donors, what emails they've opened, when they've given or reached out to us, and so much more.
Even better than their great approach to donor management, they have a wealth of additional features for online fundraising. We had previously been using Classy for peer to peer fundraising (like when you do a 5k run and people can set up their own pages to fundraise on), and Kindful does all that easily, at no extra charge. They process cards through PayPal or Stripe (we use Stripe), and you only pay Stripe's normal fee (2.9% + $0.30 per transaction). Kindful also manages event registration and ticketing. They also have donation widgets you can embed on your website, for both one time and recurring donations.

Snailers! This feature alone is half the reason we switched. You can easily set up mail merge templates and print snail mail for sending. We like to do an end of year letter every year thanking our supporters for their help, and summarizing what they gave. This has never been easy to do, but now is a simple couple clicks in Kindful. Create a template, then choose which donors you want to use, and hit Print. They all come out correctly formatted per donor.

Kindful has eliminated so much manual labor and annoying work we used to have to do. Having all event date, online fundraising, and peer to peer fundraising in a single place, and seeing it seamlessly sync to Quickbooks Online for accounting- it's beautiful.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on January 28, 2016

Thanks Kyle! We're so excited to have Because of Ezra on our team! Keep up the good work and let us know how we can help you grow! - The Kindful Team

Kindful is the winner

Dec 08, 2015
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4.5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: - Great user experience. Clean. Simple. - Customer service

Cons: Import process because we had a more sophisticated setup.

Recommendations to other buyers: Kindful is a great team. I have confidence in buying this product.

unhappy with this database, big mistake for our non-profit

Dec 03, 2015
1/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Marty in technical support was very nice. The system just cannot meet our needs. It is integrated with Network for Good but most of our donors are snail mail and not online. The import function to add new donors never worked for us. It has been over two months and my direct mail donors still are not in the system. The automated search for donors to thank never worked, had to be tricked into searching every day. Too expensive of a database for what it delivers. Asked for my account to be canceled and refunded a month ago and still waiting... buyer beware

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 11, 2015

We're very sorry you had negative experience with Kindful. Unfortunately, the self import too is not for every organization, which is why we recommended the custom import for your data during our initial conversations. We also want to note that we made every effort to remedy your situation by offering this custom import free of charge, providing complimentary one-on-one support through Marty, and offering you a refund. We have many clients who use Kindful to meet all their donor management needs, but deeply regret that Kindful was not the right solution for you. We wish you best of luck in finding a system that fits your needs.

Great host for ALL of our donor data, and the best support I can find

Nov 24, 2015
5/5
Overall
3.5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: This product is so much more sophisticated than the multiple Excel sheets we were using previously. It's taken us some time to learn the program, but Kindful offers very comprehensive customer support. They are quick to reply, and will work with you until the problem is resolved which is excellent! I love that our MailChimp account, Quickbooks, and PayPal and Stripe all integrate directly with Kindful. This saves us hours of work shuffling data around, and makes creating reports a breeze.

Cons: The learning curve for Kindful has been steep. Making the jump from Excel to Kindful has proven challenging, but has ultimately been worth it. We had trouble with our data getting pulled in twice, and had to spend a fair amount of time merging records and making corrections. There are also many features of the product that we were unfamiliar with. As we continue to use it, and learn just how to run reports and how to add data to client records things are improving.

Recommendations to other buyers: Think about what your organization needs in a donor management software, and then make sure that you can get the most systems to integrate. This should make your life easier, not more complex. Price was also very important for us- theoretically being more organized with a software like this will allow us to bring in more donations, but finding the right price point was critical to our keeping a balanced budget.

Kindful Great for Nonprofits but Still Working Out Kinks

Nov 24, 2015
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's hard to beat Kindful's attractive interface and friendly support.

Cons: Kindful is still in transition it seems. Everything doesn't run perfectly smoothly, and updates happen frequently.

Recommendations to other buyers: I would think about what exactly you want to be able to do, and specifically ask how it work be accomplished in the software.

It has been very problematic. Glitchy, inaccurate.

Nov 04, 2015
1/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 2.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It would be great-- if it didn't have so many issues on the back end. I like the look and feel of the software platform.

Cons: Seems like the software has so many issues, bugs, and inaccuracies.

Recommendations to other buyers: Don't buy it. Go with another software of comparable price.

Outstanding Product

Oct 20, 2015
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: As a small non-profit we were looking to manage all of our contacts in one place to be more effective and efficient. Kindful has definitely met this need with the integration that is offers with third party vendors. It has definitely accomplished what we needed. The on line support has been great through the entire set up process and with every integration. The support staff is very prompt in answering our questions. We absolutely love Kindful!

Cons: I have not experienced one thing that I dislike about the product or the vendor.

Recommendations to other buyers: Know specifically what you are wanting to do with the product.

Amazing company with amazing customer service

Aug 25, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: While the data conversion and switching from my old CRM to Kindful has not been without it's bumps in the road, I can honestly say it was TOTALLY WORTH IT!!! Everything thing I have needed that wasn't already in the software, they have provided! And, best of all, with no additional fees!!! I can not imagine a more positive experience than I have had with Kindful!

Cons: Can't say that I have anything that I like "least" because all of the things that were a problem, they have fixed!

Recommendations to other buyers: Make an informed decision. Research the choices, and make the best choice for YOU and your company. For us, the best choice was and still is Kindful.

Great product with great potential

Aug 25, 2015
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I love the ease, feel and capabilities of Kindful that I have used so far. There are some minor improvements that need to made with the software in general but I am sure over time and as they continue to develop and improve they will do that. Most of it have to do with the aesthetics of the program. But as for what it allow you to do with donor management and tracking, online giving and social media campaigns, it is wonderful. And the customer service is great They are always so helpful and quick to respond and that is always appreciated when you are trying to figure something out or get a specific type of information. Great job Kindful. We look forward to staying with you for years to come and seeing how you continue to grow and expand for your users.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 03, 2015

Thanks Jenna! We love being part of your team and are always looking for ways to improve Kindful for all our customers - your feedback is valuable! Please continue to keep us updated on your experience. - The Kindful Team

Give Kindful a try!

Aug 20, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I had a dream and didn't know where to start. Kindful helped point me in the right direction to get Colors Say up and running. The personal attention I received was informative, positive, and encouraging. They will help you grow your dream and tailor it to your needs.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 21, 2015

Thanks for your review, Kaci! We're honored to play a small role in making your dreams a reality! Continue to keep us updated on your experience and let us know if there's anything else we can do to help you grow! - The Kindful Team

After 7 Months with Kindful, we pulled the plug. Be cautious!

Aug 11, 2015
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: The customer support team was fairly prompt in replying, but often they weren't on the same page. Not only that but we were being strung along for much of the time we were working with them. We were often promised that if they received a file, that it would be up in no time. After 7 months we were done with the broken promises.

We were originally attracted to Kindful because of the ease of use and because it appeared to take something complicated (which some donor management systems can be) and make it simple enough for anyone in the organization to use. They offered support, and unlimited users which were a plus. Not only that but we were promised from the time of uploading our previous database and quickbook files, that it would be a month max before we were online and running.

Unfortunately, we did not received what was promised. We were asked multiple times for different files and tweaks to the files and it was clear that we were not a priority for the staff. After back and forth of needing different files for 6 MONTHS, we gave an ultimatum that we would need to have the system up and running by the end of the 7 month or else we would need to find another provider. By the 7th month, we were still promised it was almost ready (something they had been promising since the 3rd month that we had been paying for the service). In the end, the system was never finished and we were never fully functional. We filed a complaint with the better business bureau. Kindful responded with a timeline that made it look like they were diligent. We responded with scores of emails that left no doubt they had dropped the ball and there has been no reply since then. We are a small non profit with basic and general methods of receipting. We use Quickbooks but Kindful required multiple practices which forced us to create work arounds simply to use some of the methods we have used before. We are all about change, but when the new methods require more work, we tend to want to keep it simple and efficient. Kindful made some things easier while making other things harder.

Vendor Response

by Kindful on August 17, 2015

Kindful is not looking to throw stones here. While we certainly would have preferred a different outcome in this situation, and believe we had finally arrived at one before World Link decided to cancel, we can provide a timeline to show all the interruptions faced. There was a longer than anticipated timeline we experienced during this process, and we spent many times waiting on necessary information from the organization at multiple times throughout the process; this review fails to mention the countless calls we took and after-hours support we provided. While this process has taken longer than expected on both sides, we worked diligently during business hours and even overtime for World Link. Some of these discussions happened prior to weekends and resumed the following week, as well as after organization representative's weeks away for missionary work. World Link successfully used Kindful's software to receive donations and automatically thank those donors repeatedly.

Loving Kindful So Far!

Jul 23, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's simple and easy to use but has a seemingly infinite number of features you can take advantage of if you're savvy! The customer service is phenomenal and the interface in modern and up to date. The crowd-funding pages are great for our student mission trips and the donation pages are more attractive than most.

Cons: You can tell they're a little new to the game, but once Kindful 2.0 is up and running at full-speed they'll be unstoppable.

Recommendations to other buyers: If you're looking for an up-to-date look and an intuitive interface, Kindful is for you! The software is beautiful, simple, and intelligent with the same amount of depth as many other software I demoed - plus the price is right!

Great User Interface and Great Customer Service

Jan 20, 2015
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4.5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: We have had a wonderful experience working with their technicians. All technical support is free with Kindful and has been a lifesaver as we transitioned out of an ancient custom database into Kindful. They are always willing to customize software to meet our organization's needs.

Cons: This is a new software company and doesn't have yet all the features that other CRMs and databases boast. Running credit cards through registration forms, integration with multiple email services, and easy-to-use social fundraising pages are not available now. However, they are adding new features all the time, so we will see if they catch up. I'll be curious to see how their new app works.

Recommendations to other buyers: Kindful operates on a base fee and then a percent of your online credit card transactions. Depending on how your organization receives its funds and the size of your mailing list, you may be better off using a different product. For our organization, with a large mailing list, we were unable to afford many programs that base their pricing on the number of contacts, and we didn't qualify for their lower priced or free levels. Kindful's pricing structure works well for us as we grow our online transactions as a new source of income.

Kindle hits the target

Dec 30, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Kindle meets the needs of our small nonprofit perfectly. Its integration with other services we use are great, and the customer service is excellent.

Cons: Multiple groups imported from our mail client sometimes makes duplicate records that I have to manually merge.

Recommendations to other buyers: Given our size and requirements, Kindful is head and shoulders above the competition I checked out. It is reasonably priced and the features offered come standard, whereas with other vendors you have to pay extra. I have integrated our CRM, Mail Marketing, and fundraising all together. Kindful has become the center stage workhorse of our operation. Transition to this platform was pretty simple as well.

Easy for patrons to use

Dec 26, 2014
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It has a straightforward interface for patrons. I also like the feature to add the credit card fee into the donation.

Cons: I cannot click easily through the menu buttons. I have to refresh to get to certain menus. The browser that I generally use is Firefox.

Recommendations to other buyers: It's cost effective for small non-profits, and the features are clear and helpful.

Awesome Donor Management from a Fantastic Staff

Dec 18, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: These guys know how to get done what you need. They are helpful and willing to go out of the way to make their product fit your organization. Support responds instantly!

Vendor Response

by Kindful on December 03, 2015

Thanks for your review, Scott! We love working with you and certainly value your feedback. Please keep us updated on your progress and let us know if there's anything we can do to help you grow even more! - The Kindful Team

Kindfully awesome

Dec 11, 2014
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like its simplicity and customer support. Whenever I have a question, it is always answered within the hour!

Cons: The fees are a bit hard to understand and calculate at first.

Recommendations to other buyers: Kindful is an easy transition to make. It is simple and has great customer support.

We love Kindful!

Nov 25, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like the customer service best. The reps at Kindful are very prompt in their assistance and have answers for every question we've had for them.

Cons: While Kindful is very user-friendly, it is not a complex database. There are not ways to store more complex data, or at least, none that I've found yet.

Recommendations to other buyers: Make sure to ask a ton of questions in the beginning. The reps at Kindful are very honest and open, so any questions you have will be accurately answered!

Review of Kindful

Sep 18, 2014
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4.5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I like the people the best. They are a newer company and the staff (including the CEO) are very approachable and responsive. They appreciate our feedback and are able to adapt to our needs. It's really unheard of for a major database company to provide this level of customer service. The interface of the database is also great - clean, simple and easy. We are glad we made the switch from Blackbaud.

Cons: There are a few features (ex. template reports) we would like to see added in time. We love the input we can have as they add new features, but others may not prefer that option.

Recommendations to other buyers: Get on the phone and take a tour. Think about what key features you need to operate effectively and efficiently. Do you like the interface? How intuitive does it feel? What level of customer service do you require?

Great for Small Non-Profits

May 30, 2014
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love the responsive customer service, simple design, and portable APIs.

Cons: I wish the integration with our website was tighter.

Recommendations to other buyers: Find out who owns your data. Keep in mind that your old records will count towards your record limit. See how the software fits your company's practices.

Great customer care!

Mar 06, 2014
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is easy to put in info and easy to pull the info I need.

Cons: I have not had problems. The areas I did not understand or were lacking were taken care of immediately.

Recommendations to other buyers: You have to get on the system and play with it at first to get used to everything.