PrestaShop Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About PrestaShop

Prestashop is the best way to sell online. 100% free of cost, it takes just minutes to have your beautiful store online and selling in no time! Learn more about PrestaShop

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 142 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 142 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Navid A.
founder
Retail, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019

“Free e-commerce to start with most features”

OverallPrestaShop is the right tool if you have a plan to expand into e-commerce. The platform is widely use in some countries like France (started here) and Italy, many agencies offer on-line shops based on PrestaShop. It fits all basic needs and if you have some IT experience, than you can build your own shop totally free. If you are serious about e-commerce then sooner or later you will buy modules (plugins for PrestaShop) and later you need to find a php developer to adapt the site to your needs. Most shops find solutions with existing plugins that are sold on PrestaShop's site or many other portals.
ProsYou can install a shop with one click on Softaculous, now very common on shared hosting. The requirements for the hosting are basic, any hosting suitable for WordPress will work fine with PrestaShop, so 5 $/ a month is more than enough. There is an active community in many languages, normally you get free help here for basic issues and bug reports. A template for the graphic is recommended, the site will look much better with a little investment. Make sure you get support from the developper. There are free modules/plugins for most payment systems and often you can get a free module from your courier. Connecting payments and couriers is quite simple because they are well documented and supported. Buy modules from the official site because you are confident about the quality of the software and support, normally I pay extra to extend support from the developer for the first year. module all needs
ConsIf you can't config your e-mail and are not interested in software, avoid trying your free e-commerce. There is little support from the headquarter, so you spend nights to understand what to do. Any site/developer can sell modules for PrestaShop, so there is no quality control.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2019
Avatar Image
ishara m.
Graphic Designer
Printing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019

“the most mainstream CMS all through the world”

OverallPrestashop is one of the main stages for a web-based business, we use it broadly on structure handcrafted shops, yet you can actually simply introduce it and transfer two or three items and you are done, have a fresh out of the box new online shop. It's very simple to use for apprentices and propelled clients alike.
ProsPrestashop is by right thought to be a standout amongst the most mainstream CMS all through the world. A large number of website specialists and entrepreneurs pick this substance the board framework among the others and it is anything but an astonishment by any means. On account of its framework adaptability, simple dispatch and establishment you can construct your online store with no unique programming abilities in two or three ticks. It's likely the most effortless approach to make the online retail location. So you've officially chosen to pick a Prestashop as your eCommerce framework for your future online shop, yet you need to test it out first? You positively realize that site creation can be a costly and long haul venture thinking about fashioners and designers compensation. Be that as it may, no stresses! We have a lot for you! With our free Prestashop layouts, you'll get the chance to make your very own site without spending a penny! Features Cloud or Self-facilitating: You can join in minutes for a free store in the PrestaShop cloud or you can download the open source PHP code and host it yourself. Layouts: Similar to Envato's ThemeForest, PrestaShop sells an assortment of excellent topics to expertly tweak your store. Store Builder With a WordPress like a dashboard PrestaShop offers a component rich store development interface, including nitty-gritty item postings, route and pursuit. Shopping basket: PrestaShop coordinates with an assortment of installm
ConsBreaking points with enormous endeavor, huge expense on framework yet you won't pay for programming. It very well may be hard to redesign real forms, as you need to custom modify all your code and modules. It's moderate, you need to spare your advancement a few times in light of the fact that not generally spares what you do, not excessively prewar web formats.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018

“Great Functionality, Large Community, Rather Simple To Use, Very Extendable , Open Source”

ProsAfter trying Magento and Woocommerce I ended up with Prestashop because the other solutions I tried were either too complicated or too simple. Prestashop seems to lie somewhere in the middle. Before I decided on Prestashop, I did some extensive research to inspect other solutions such as Shopify, Shopware and Oxid. However, the large user and developer base as well as the massive amount of addons available for Prestashop made me switch to Prestashop. Here is what I especially like about Prestashop: - The backend is simple enough to get used to quite quickly - There are a lot of amazing templates you can choose from - it's rather easy to find Prestashop developers near you, so you're not stuck with an exotic shop system nobody understands - Multi store/multi language functionality is integrated into Prestashop out of the box
ConsThere is a big transition from 1.6 to 1.7 which is really massive and makes it hard for new store owners. Should I use the old, but stable 1.6 or use the new and potentially incomplete 1.7? There is a huge debate about 1.7 and it seems to split the community in half. The reason is that the new 1.7 is based on Symfony, a PHP framework that is supposed to make Prestashop development in future simpler. The problem is that switching to the newest version is like switching to a complete new shop software. Apart from that there are some quirks that are hard to understand. E.g. why the company is based in France, yet it's not fully compliant to EU law out of the box without addons and modifications.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018
Omar M.
Managing Director
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“Great open-source Software”

OverallWe are building PrestaShops since 2012 and are very satisfied with the solution. We can build nearly every special feature a user would like to have.
ProsPrestaShop is a great open source software, which allows its users to set up and build a rich online-shop to earn money on the internet. It is easy to use in the backend, it is capable of building multi-shops for more than one country and more than one language very easily and it is easy to build your own sub sites in your online-shop with the help of certain page builder modules. It is highly customizable and there are thousands of modules to choose from to make it even better and cover issues like search engine optimization, integration with email marketing tools or payment solutions to name just a few.
ConsOne thing that should be improved is the speed of the shop.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Emanuele B.
Mr
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Best solution to create an ecommerce if you want to build it yourself”

ProsThis software is awesome for creating ecommerce. You can install the basic version and start selling in a very short time. Every operation is optimized at its best and you will spare a lot of time if you sell products with variations.
ConsYou shall pay for every little modification. There are a lot of plugins but they are not free. You cannot change the design as you may desire.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Oscar R.
Head of Digital Analytics
Publishing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2018

“Complete solution for e-commerce development”

OverallThis has been a great solution for medium brands that process more than 100 orders per month and have some particular functionalitys of management stock with third party shared integrations
ProsThis free software is a complete CMS scalable and cusomizable solution for developing an e-commerce for a brand / client. It counts with a great historical versions and a big community that develops extra functionality like themes and modules so you can search for any solution you need. I see its data base very well structurated and normalized to have a good experience at Query's on them, Very intuitive on that aspect.
ConsSince the basic process of e-commerce is well developed, the extra functionalitys that particular customer needs can transform into a big cost installing purchasing modules for it. You need a good capacitation for successful auto - management, and a team of developmentes to customize it and have maintancement.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2018
Fabian P.
Sales Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018

“The best online shop platform I ever used”

ProsIf you want a professional store setup you need to take a look at prestashop. Don't be scared by the rugged design, you can change it by buying a premium template builder, and build your store without the need for any code. The simpleness of the platform and easy updating, one click upgrade make it the best free software for most businesses. If you plan on having thousand and thousand of products you are in need of some key modules,but they are easily available and not that expensive. Is it a no brainer for any business man that in order to get the same quality from some other platform you should invest thousands of dollars in it.
ConsYou have to understand what you are doing, maybe whach a few tutorials, and setup your security properly, also keep in mind that are some tweaks for fast caching and the importance of using a CDN.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Mariusz S.
SEO Director
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“Best ecommerce for small company”

OverallMore stable.
Pros- advanced ecommerce software - good SEO template - best UX on backend - API - low cost of development
Cons- module in PrestaShop addons is very low quality - no integration with professional solutions (eg. PimCore) - no great SEO addons
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Koen d.
CEO
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2019

“Working with PrestaShop as a developer and as an e-tailor”

OverallWe like working with PrestaShop, from both ways we are working with the software. So as well from a developer's vision as from an e-tailor point of view.
ProsAs an e-tailor we like the flexibility of PrestaShop as an CMS, the large community who work with the software and the way you can make use of the software. As a developer and PrestaShop Partner we like the diversity of the product and the way we can build converting web shops for our customers.
ConsThe one thing we like the least is the assistance we get from PrestaShop themselves. Luckily the community is very active, and this solves most of our problems, but PrestaShop should have a more hands-on mentality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2019
Scott F.
Director of IT
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Decent Online Store Option, But Has Drawbacks”

OverallI've got a ton of experience with running and configuring Magento, but I wanted to try PrestaShop simply to use something different on my own business storefront to expand my own knowledge, not to mention that Magento needs more power than PrestaShop. Although PS is easy enough to setup and get running, it lacks a few features which I would consider "standard" by today's terms, not to mention that there is also a serious lack of free/opens source plug-ins available for it like Magento has, which includes things like themes. Overall, the store does its job and works well once all the modules are in place, but In the grand scheme, I would consider PrestaShop as a stepping stone to something bigger and better like Magento or more.
ProsPrestashop is for the large part, free to use, and pretty easy to setup and maintain. Most website hosting companies have a single-click installer for it, making getting started easy. Creating categories, products and advanced products is all very easy with very nice menus and layouts, and the default theme is surprisingly useful. Prestashop also comes with many of today's standard features built-in.
ConsThe cost of the add-on modules for PrestaShop is ridiculous, and so is the platform's reliance on those modules. There is no way to do anything except free or basic flat-rate shipping unless you spend considerable monies on buying realtime rates modules for EACH shipper, or subscribing to a third-party app that combines and does the checking in a single package, which is costly. Accessing anything except the software's basic features can be incredibly clumsy as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Lars F.
Web and Graphic Designer
Internet, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“In my opinion the best open source platform for online stores”

ProsEasy to configure, easy to update ( one click update ), easy to install new modules and themes and builders. One of the most versatile platforms for physical and virtual goods. I have custom made for customers shops with upwards of 1 million products, imported from dropshipping suppliers. It is very easy to manage, tons of free and premium modules and upgrades. A solid infrastructure to rely on and different profiles with permission for employs. Very Reliable for large amounts of traffic.
ConsNot that great for backups. Modules and themes don't work from 1.5 to 1.6 to 1.7, have to reorder or to download new version ( incompatible by design of the code ). Big community but not that active. Translations needs an upgrade, being made by contributions from authors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
Avatar Image
Alicia A.
Solution Alchemist and Dream Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Solid e-commerce solution ”

OverallIt's a great product, however you do need a developer team to have it fully set up. If you have a dev team, this is the best option since you can have pretty much unlimited customization options.
ProsPrestashop is a wonderful solution for creating a fully personalized e-commerce website. I also has a wide range of add-ons to complement what you're looking for. This add ons include solutions for gateways for payments, marketing, and design/display.
ConsAdd-ons can be a bit expensive. Also the learning curve for the admin users can be pretty steep.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Easy to setup your own online store”

Pros-Very user friendly -Easy to install locally for testing purpose -already creates a backend tool for management the store and creates its own mail server to aller any purchase or error that client may have -User control that allows you to set the type of permission the user will have when login on backend -the online plugins store is very complete with fair prices -easy to install and remove module
Cons-when showing a error is required to be tech savvy to resolve it other wise the page will be down -you need to know a little of php in order to fix some error
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Marcela P.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2018

“Never fails but could be easier to use”

OverallWe had great results after changing to PrestaShop, overall it is a great platform and it continues to improve options every year.
ProsFrom client side it is actually great. You can see everything you need about your order and can be modified really easy from backend side. It has a million extensions to add, and you always find new options to improve customer´s experience.
ConsIt has been really hard to find some options to change. Several times we needed a developer to assist. It would be great if even specific options/tools were designed to be modify without the need of hiring someone else to do it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel S.
Web Designer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018

“One of the best CMS for shopping”

ProsPrestashop is one of the leading platforms for ecommerce, we use it extensively on building custom made shops, but you can really just install it and upload a couple of products and you are done, have a brand new online shop. It's very ease to use for beginners and advanced users alike. It has top knotch addons and modules to be install, free and paid. The dashboard is amazingly simple and you can find all the tools you just by browsing over the top categories.
ConsIt can be difficult to upgrade major versions, as you have to custom rebuild all your code and modules.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2018
Sergio R.
Administrator
Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2017

“Best E-commerce Solution”

OverallI have been using it for about 5 years. So far, I cannot imagine my business without it. It has most of the functionalities you may need and there are a lot of third-party modules providers that will help you with special and specific features you may need.
ProsYou will find most of the features you may need. Multiple languages. Multiple currencies.
ConsNot able to modify some things, however you will be able to find third-party modules. I did not have the best experience with customer support so maybe you will have to know about it, use the community support or have someone specialized in it.
Recommendations to other buyersNot for a while, as the update it, it will work better and better.
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2017
Aleksandr L.
Head of tech support
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“A good option to create an online store”

ProsI have been using PrestaShop for many years now and I don't think to switch to another service. I like the fact that in this CMS it is convenient to work with clients. Using email, I quickly notify clients of new promotions, and the ability to synchronize with popular social networks helps to work with clients outside the site.
ConsThe engine consumes a lot of resources, which is why the server is slow. Since I used other CMS, I can say that the problem is not in the server. PrestaShop is most likely poorly optimized.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Gabriel G.
Web Developer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018

“Great software to use for your online store”

ProsIt is one of the most undervalued softwares in the online space. You can really build your store in just a couple of minutes, with tons of modules and themes also from third parties you can have any type of store, either physical or virtual goods. With over 1 million websites constructed with this platform is a great asset to build with.
ConsThe difference from major versions is amazing, you have to carefully upgrade on a test website, to not ruin your website. It is best done by a professional
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2018
Florin P.
Webmaster
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017

“The easiest way to having a professional ecommerce business”

OverallThe best looking online store for our business, with tons of complete house building materials and info.
ProsThe ease of use in everyday situations, the stability through upgrades and the easy of customizations for the front end are top notch. Also the ease to integrate a tone of great themes and modules. The large following it has on forums and discussion boards.
ConsThe seo factor of the website is not that great. I do think that it can be upgraded, in fact I frequently use one or two after market modules to make it seo friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2017
Natalia C.
Human Resources Consultant
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2018

“Good functionality, but low stability”

ProsWe used this CMS for exactly 3 years. On the advice of our programmers, the team switched to it from Magenta. Of the advantages, I can point out a cheap tariff, a broader functionality than our previous CMS and the absence of transaction fees.
ConsCMS is unstable, a lot of mistakes. Plugins that we acquire for an extra charge conflict with each other. For example, if you install a plug-in for currency conversion along with synchronization via e-mail, none of them will work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“Great Open-Source Product”

ProsWe are using Prestashop for creating the most of our E-commerce products. Open-Source Platform and existing market with plugins - are the main advantages to use Prestashop for small-middle sized projects.
ConsAfter updating the version of Prestashop, some of the plugins have to be recorded because the system is alerting us that there are some errors in platform update. In case you have a lot of project on Prestashop at the same time, it consumes quite a lot of time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Andreina C.
Project Manager
Program Development, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 5, 2018

“Prestashop is not as simple as they show, but is an option to start your online business”

ProsPrestashop is one of the "cheapest" options in the market to create an online shop in a short time. It has the advantage that you can choose among many predesigned templates, which are certainly very nice and allow you to show the public your products in an attractive way. You can also set up the products in an administrative panel to keep track of the number of products available, prices, you can create discount coupons and much more. It is a complete software in the sense that you can manage the business from one place.
ConsHowever, the installation, uses and features of this program are not as simple as they show in advertising. If you do not have knowledge in programming or computer science, you will necessarily need the help of a professional because there are certain functions that you will not be able to carry out by yourself. For me was a headache to load the products in the store because the program it is not so intuitive or so practical. If you bought a basic template, little by little you will realize that you will need to buy new modules to perform some important business tasks. These modules have a separate cost, therefore the final investment is much higher than you had originally thought. To solve a technical problem, you will also need to document a lot and have the time to do it. I think it is a software that you can buy and use as long as you have a professional that can guide you even before you start, because otherwise you will end up losing time and money.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 5, 2018
Mehrshad Z.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019

“PrestaShop, a solution for everyone”

OverallMore than 5000 merchants are using PrestaShop in Iran. It is helping them to grow their business and earn money in current econimic situation. I suggest it to everyone.
ProsGreat features, great team, great support. If you need an online store, in any field, any language, and any country, PrestaShop is absolutely the best choice!
ConsWith great development team, you won't find any cons :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Alfredo R.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“it a great program to star an e-commerce business”

Overallprofessional tools because it's a very common tool that every e-commerce business use.
ProsIt's an easy to use program, friendly UX, responsive, it covers all the basic needs for a basic e-commerce business, great library of admins to upgrade your business
ConsIt's slow, you have to save your progress several times because not always saves what you do, not that prewar web templates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
December 10, 2015

“Great no-fees E-Commerce website”

OverallI have been using PrestaShop over the past year as my back-end e-commerce storefront, with a WIX front-end to bring people in, for my partner's online greeting card and wall decor business (http://www.obunny.ca). Have tried to implement the newly-introduced "grid" SKU setting to replace the standard "list" SKU setting, but the software doesn't seem to allow for it. With my PayPal transaction gateway, only about half the transactions seem to show up in PrestaShop's "Orders" stack (thankfully PayPal notifies me that a payment has come in), so I have to manually convert the shopping-cart list into an order. PrestaShop offers many free modules which can be added on to your site, including social media links, LiveChat, etc.
ProsNo monthly fees, easy integration with PayPal payment gateway.
ConsLimited technical support, which relies mainly on user groups who might or might not respond to your question. Shipping costs do not always calculate accurately, and multiple shipping cost options (eg. regular parcel mail, Next-day Air, 2-day Air) for customers to choose from could be a nice improvement to add in. When modules are updated, it is all too easy to re-install the "default" content which the module provide, rather than continuing on with your custom content.
Source: GetApp
December 10, 2015
Dasha S.
QA Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“Convenient to work and collect statistics”

ProsI have been working with CMS PrestaShop for over a year. I like the platform because it easily integrates with social networks and data collection tools. Our company has easily worked with Facebook, Twitter and Google Analytics.
ConsWe have a fairly large online store, which is visited by about 500 people per day. This leads to a heavy load on the server. I'm afraid that with the development of the site will only get worse.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 4, 2019

“I was able to set it up myself - with no IT knowledge”

ProsGreat functionality and simple to use design. It is possible to set it up with no special IT skills, just some general experience with tools like Wordpress etc. There is a variety of add-ons and widgets which make it highly flexible. You can find anything you need either for free or for cheap money. No need for expensive developers for tailored solutions.
ConsThe templates are pricey when comparing to other tools. There is a lot of work when adding new products - some of the fields are required while they should not be. For example for online products it is quite complex to set it up as my needs were much simpler than what was required. And I could not change the settings easily to require less information from customer etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 4, 2019
Jamie H.
Director
Sporting Goods, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018

“Great open source software although very buggy”

ProsIt's free and relatively easy to use. I like the fact that there are lots of modules you can add on to create better functionality
ConsThere are lots of bugs in the software which never seem to get sorted and a lot of the add on modules cause conflicts with other modules.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 4, 2018
Giorgi G.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016

“One of the best user-friendly free shopping cart software”

OverallI've started using the PrestaShop around 2 years ago and I'm still into this system. The experience with the system I got during all this time and throughout my several projects is enough to write ah honest review about the system. Starting with the advantages, the biggest advantage of the PrestaShop is its huge support community which is the best ever help a developer can dream of. Discussion boards with active users make a big difference. Furthermore, one of the biggest advantages is also the administration panel of the PrestaShop which is way easy to use than say other competitor platforms. What's more important for me is the extended functionality and efficiency. The function ility is far more than any user would ever think to want to have on their websites and as for efficiency, PrestaShop is lightweight and well optimised, thus not loading the servers. As for the disadvantages, there are of course some. The biggest disadvantage is that most of the most useful functionalities require the additional investments to have installed in my PrestaShop. What I also noticed, in a case of big products quantity, Prestashop does not function as well as it initially did. To conclude, PrestaShop is good for starting the e-commerce. The system works well with medium or a small number of products, but PrestaShop's efficiency, when there are 100 products isn't any better than when there are 1000. Overall, I would suggest this to the beginner in e-commerce users.
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016
Ralph N.
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Source: GetApp
January 20, 2016

“Prestashop - Don't use for lots of products”

OverallI have three stores now with Prestashop, which I have been using for over six years. I would say that the older versions worked perfectly well and I had no problems. I would have given 5 stars in all areas. (I am talking version 1.6.0.9 or thereabouts) Unwittingly "upgrading" to the latest versions, I'm now on 1.6.0.14, has rendered Prestashop almost unworkable. It only works now for me thanks to the brilliant paid add-on Store Manager. My two sites with fewer products - 20 and 1200 respectively, work fine still. My main site, which is my main source of income has 4,500 products. I cannot edit or save products (which is where Store Manager comes in). The search indexing does not work. CSV product import will not work. Database backups always time out. There are frequent errors with Payment gateways. Every recommended update usually causes new problems. All this despite the fact that I am using the default template and have made no code changes. Support is absolutely zero. My problems have been well discussed on the forums for over two years and are common. The programmers do nothing. I am not a programmer. I have spent over $2000 on programming help over the last two years just to keep my site running - and Prestashop is supposed to be "Open Source" and free. I would highly recommend Prestashop if you have few products, but I would say that if you start to go over 2000 then in my experience it simply does not work. The programmers are too busy making add ons which they make money on, than getting the basic shell to work. Transferring to another cart now would be a nightmare, largely because of the huge number of product photos, I think about 30,000 now.
ProsBrilliant for a small number of products, say up to 2000 - 2,500. Runs like clockwork
ConsIf you have a large number of products, don't waste your time or money, Prestashop does not work, unless you can install the old version 1.6.0.9 (download links are still available)
Source: GetApp
January 20, 2016
Marvin L.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2019

“Amazing open source e-commerce software that outshines the competition”

Pros- a ton of features - marketplace with many templates and integrations (payment providers, logistics, analytics, etc.) - everything is open source available on GitHub - extremely easy installation (even my granny could do it) - you can use a hosting company that you like - can be used internationally - very fair pricing
Cons- disabling third-party trackers completely is a bit too complex
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 27, 2019
Alex J.
Trainer
Sports, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018

“Multifunctional service for creating an online store”

ProsWe use CMS PrestaShop for a small online store of our sports club. The tool allows you to add an unlimited number of products and categories. There is a built-in analytics that works in real time.
ConsFirstly, the CMS PrestaShop platform lacks a useful function for organizing SMS mailings to regular customers of the store. Secondly, there is no built-in product image editor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2018
Ionut S.
Sales Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018

“Great Platfrom for building store”

ProsThe best platfrom from I have searched, insanely simple and advanced. I was able to do pretty much everything Iwanted in this platform, selling virtual goods as well as physical. Integrated withmost ofmy suppliers and shipping companies.
ConsI had one concern about bulk editing products, but fixed that with import/export function. It is a workaround not a fix, but still works
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019

“Medium level open source Ecommerce platform”

ProsAdmin area is clean and easy to use, making it simple to start.
ConsLack of many important built-in functionalities requiring to buy several additional modules, like for SEO and bulk product management.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2019
Carlos L.
Systems engineer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2016

“Excellent and very useful”

OverallIm using this for almost three years and I have received the best user experience and administrative.
ProsVersatile, easy to learn, easy to manage, design
ConsLimits with big enterprise, big cost on infrastructure but you won't pay for software.
Recommendations to other buyersJust read a lot in the forums.
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2016
Panagiotis D.
Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“Nice but could be better”

ProsThe back-end administration that is very well designed. The simplicity of extending the modules and making a custom one.
ConsIn version 1.7, the back-end has become really slow. In the front-end, changing an attribute takes too long to update the product (compared to 1.6). The mixed technologies used as half the back-end is in symphony and the other half traditional. There is also a decision to leave out the override function but they have not yet implemented another one so it is still applicable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Alex K.
SMM-manager
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“The easiest way to open your own store”

ProsI had to master this system from scratch. Nothing, figured out, spending only a few days and using the search. This indicates that everyone will be able to master the system, regardless of the level of preparation. It is enough to know what is Google. Today, being already an expert, I can say that the system provides a good functionality, which can compete with not all competitors.
ConsCMS is not optimized for search engines, little worthy of templates. It is especially surprising how rarely they develop plug-ins for this system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Sam N.
Team Lead
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Can be used, but only very carefully”

ProsThe loyalty of search engines to shops on PrestaShop is ensured by the use of semantic markup of each product page, corresponding to schema.org. For each product, meta tags are described: a description, a title, and friendly references are generated. This is very important and useful when it is necessary that the site is indexed not in one search engine, but in several at once.
ConsIn the process of creating sites for clients, I noticed that if the category of goods has a paging, then automatically duplicate texts are created.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Jon C.
Owner
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Didnt like it at first but after learning it, its a great cart solution!”

OverallIve been managing the webstore for a customer of mine for 2 years now, even through the learning phase was tedious i am very comfortable with it and even handled the upgrade from v1.5 to v1.6. Pleased with everything!
Proslots of details available and simple to use once you learn where everything is located.
Conssupport is non existant, good thing there are forums and other users that help when trouble arrises.
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Avatar Image
Balwinder P.
Student
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018

“Ideal for your start-up”

OverallI have created a Demo store with the help of PrestaShop to show it up to my clients and almost everyone have liked it till now.
ProsSetting up an online store feels like a child's play on this tool. Before setting up a new e-commerce website, just go through their demonstrated sites and you will feel quite confident at the time of setting up your own customised web store.
ConsThe text in the templates they provide is written in a regional language, which do not put a good impact.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 22, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Great platform to get your eCommerce site going ”

ProsGreat platform with a user friendly interface and many features come builtin. easy to update your inventory and items on sale.
Consplug-ins costs can be a killjoy at times and excessive updates make it scary too. Good for a start but will realize you need to purchase some plugins somehow down the line for better management.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Amerigo T.
Junior programmer
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“The engine has both pluses and minuses”

ProsIn the process of working with PrestaShop CMS, I noticed both the advantages of the system and its shortcomings. First about the advantages. So, categories and subcategories of goods are easily formed, just customized attributes for each product, you can create additional fields.
ConsI noticed such a negative feature: the text placed on the first page is automatically duplicated on all pages of the pagination. This is very bad for SEO. Unfortunately, we did not manage to fix this defect, because we can not interfere with the CMS code, in official PrestaShop sources there is no information about it, and our question was not answered at the official PrestaShop forum.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Thomas S.
Owner
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017

“Shopping cart software with the shortest learning curve, clear templates and design, very convincing”

OverallI use it for more than 20 web projects - not only shops - and it is creating very strong revenues for my company.
ProsClear and clean code, template based on smarty and bootstrap (hence lots of possibilities), all important features included, easy to extend. Best experience for a developer. Backend easy to use, includes statistics and guides for successful selling. Great export/import tools. Great and polite(!) community.
ConsCMS capabilities are quite reduced, upgrades not always easy, most plugins and templates are commercial.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2017
Vasil L.
Investment fund manager
Investment Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018

“Simple, affordable, functional”

ProsI can say that the application can even master a beginner in the creation of sites. A very affordable and colorful interface, a large number of filters, built-in tools to hold the attention of customers, there is a block for SEO website promotion.
ConsFor all its merits, the application is too narrowly specialized, it is sharpened exclusively for online commerce. The program is somewhat heavy for the server, there is not enough training materials.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018
Rafael L.
Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016

“Ecoomerce for Free”

OverallIs easest way to start a ecommerce projetct, you have allways that you need. Secure, fast and very easy to use.
ProsEasy and Free to start ecommerce experience
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019

“Setup you shop with Prestashop”

Pros1. I have setup my own PrestaShop eCommerce platform , it is one of the great eCommerce platform. 2. It provides you almost all kind of eCommerce features and functionality for you eCommerce shop. 3. PrestaShop extensions are available in market and these are amazing. 4. Create your own extension if you need something special feature as per your need. 5. Add product , Add captions , Product listing , setup payment access is easy with PrestaShop. 6. Edit PrestaShop theme as per your design requirement.
ConsYou must have eCommerce understanding before using PrestaShop.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019
Anton D.
Head of Mobile
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2019

“ Stable working platform”

ProsInstalling and launching the platform almost never causes us difficulties. There are many options for the backend. Platforms are notable for stability of work, intuitive interface and good level of security.
ConsAppearance customization requires too many actions. It took a lot of time to fully explore the platform. There are no functions for creating polls, so you have to additionally involve programmers in solving this moment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018

“We use Prestashop for developing of e-commerce projects”

ProsPrestashop allows you to create your e-commerce and manage your catalogue Products. The process of payment and shipping are deeply developed and permit many customization. You can create many rules that allow you to distinguish your customer basis on some attributes that you can need.
ConsThe Documentation is available but it is not deep. There are many plugins that allow you to customize your e-commerce but several are not free.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018
Teodor S.
Financial consultant
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2018

“A good budget option”

ProsDespite its simplicity, CMS PrestaShop in many respects bypasses most of the competitors. The trial version allows you to familiarize yourself with the engine in detail, and the license is available at a price even for small companies.
ConsFunctionality is an order of magnitude less than analogues. The system looks a little out of date and needs some improvements. Has a small number of templates and plugins.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 11, 2018
Gregory D.
SEO Specialist
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019

“#1 free eCommerce CMS”

ProsPrestashop is one of the most famous eCommerce CMS. It's free, intuitive, beginner friendly. You can customize your store with many addons and themes available on Marketplace. It offers lots of functionalities useful with marketing operations (SEO Friendly, Build-in Newsletter and Analytics).
ConsMost of really useful addons on Marketplace are paid. Also I was having problems with spam.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2019