MasterControl Clinical Excellence Ratings

Overall
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About MasterControl Clinical Excellence

MasterControl Inc. produces software solutions that enable regulated companies to get their products to market faster, while reducing overall costs and increasing internal efficiency. MasterControl securely manages a company's critical information throughout the entire product lifecycle. Learn why over 1000 companies have chosen MasterControl to automate their CAPA, document control, change control, training, audit management, and other quality management and regulatory processes. Learn more about MasterControl Clinical Excellence

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 33 of 33 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 33 of 33 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Brittany B.
Quality Systems Administrator
Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019

“Initial Site to Multiple Sites”

OverallI've been a MasterControl System Administrator for two different types of companies now. Both companies started using MasterControl at one site and have/are spreading the usage of this software to their international locations. The process to deploy to other locations is very controlled and Administration has plenty of options in regards to how much data can be made available between the two. Overall, great solution to the answer many of the needs of a company in today's regulated industries.
ProsMasterControl bridges many of the critical functions of a regulated industry. The ability to have documents/training/audit/event forms/projects and more interacting directly is a huge advantage. All of these processes are required anyway, why waste resources on individual manual systems or separated software systems? MasterControl brings all of the benefits of a non-manual process with additional bonuses due to the inter-connectivity.
ConsThe pricing is quite steep - especially in regards to licensing it's always a significant business decision to invest in more. The upgrade/enhancement process is actually designed well with the exception of retroactive updates. Many new/requested features are implemented in newer versions but upgrading is also a significant business decision.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2019
Avatar Image
Rachael B.
Quality Engineer
Pharmaceuticals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“Easy to use and MasterCOntrol have an excellent support service”

OverallOur overall experience with MasterControl has been excellent, from the start of the project through to now. When we looked for a new QMS, MasterControl stood out from the other vendors we contacted. We have now streamlined our Complaints and CAPA process and have one central database instead of the multiple systems/databases that we had. We are now looking to implement Documents and Training... so the MasterControl adventure continues!
ProsAs a System Administrator of MasterControl, I really like how easy the system is to use and how our quality documents can be maintained in one central system instead of the multiple systems we had previously been using. The service offered by MasterControl has been excellent and we have worked with some amazing people during the configuration of the system. We also rate the Customer Support team as they are quick to respond to your issue and offer solutions quickly.
ConsCurrently the J-Reporting as we aren't finding it as simple to use as we expected. It's a very powerful tool to use but we've need a lot of support from MasterControl to develop our company-specific reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Kristin J.
Document Control and Training Specialist
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“A great company with an even better product.”

ProsThere are so many different options you can choose to utilize to whatever best fits your company's needs. It's also great, because the different products can "communicate" with one another to pull information from one area to another. It saves our company so much time. Not to mention every time we have implemented a new product, it has been such a great experience. I know sometimes it can be stressful, but MC does such a great job at making the process as easy as possible. I truly can't say enough great things about the software of the company.
ConsThis isn't necessarily a software issue, we are hopefully upgrading to the cloud and we will have the new reporting system that we don't have now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Yasmine D.
Sr. Quality Systems Specialist
Biotechnology, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“Cusotmize Customize Customize!”

OverallMasterControl has enabled our business to automate processes and capture electronic training and document approvals saving time and money and empowering end users to take control over their documents and processes.
ProsI have been using MasterControl since 2004 and love the customization options available to me and my end users. You can customize just about anything in the system and make it your own. As a system administrator, its my job to deliver a product to my end users that is easy to use and that meets all of their needs and MasterControl gives me that ability.
ConsMasterControl works best in Internet Explorer and has hiccups in other browsers, which tends to cause some confusion with end users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Alecia O.
Business Systems Manager
Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“MasterControl Fan”

OverallOverall, implementing MasterControl has increased what we can do as a company. We've freed up time and resources to focus on business matters as opposed to the housekeeping tasks that take up so much of everyone's time. MasterControl is constantly working on improvements and that give our company great confidence that this will be a long lasting relationship.
ProsMasterControl has brought many improvements to our company including transparency and efficiency, two things that are near impossible with a paper system. We continuously find benefits and ways improve our use of the system and look forward to implementing more modules.
ConsAs a reporting nerd, I would like some more freedom / options with reports. I understand that large, involved reports can slow down processes for everyone on the cloud, but it would still be nice to have some more freedom or even a way to do reporting outside of the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Brenna G.
Quality Assurance Speclialist
Biotechnology, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“MasterControl puts YOU in control”

OverallHaving MasterControl has allowed us to ensure a centralized location for all quality information and data. When we used a paper based system previously, the information would be stored in various locations and was much more difficult to retrieve when necessary.
ProsThe document management system. Its very user friendly and configuration is a breeze!
ConsProcess module. Currently it's much more difficult to make changes to workflows for quality event management handled in that module, however if you can make your processes fit into the pre-configured workflows it works excellently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Cody K.
Quality Control Systems Coordinator
Biotechnology, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2019

“MasterControl Documents”

OverallI am responsible for all of the documentation for Quality Control for the company I work for. MasterControl works well for maintaining documentation, but the user interface could be greatly improved and simplified for new users.
ProsIt has a lot of functionality for creating, collaborating on, editing, and storing documents. The system works well for these purposes.
ConsThe user interface is often not intuitive. Button icons are sometimes used reused for very different purposes which causes confusion for new users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2019
Nicole J.
Training Specialist
Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Does exactly whats advertised”

ProsIt is a very useful tool in our day to day operations for creating, collaborating, routing, and storing documents as well conducting training.
ConsWhile it is aesthetically pleasing, there are parts of it that are not as user friendly as it seems. One of the biggest chanllenges that our company faces on daily basis is the inability to effiecntly pull information across modules such as in a training or document report.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Matthew M.
Document Control Administrator
Oil & Energy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019

“MasterControl: The best way to stay Audit compliante. ”

OverallMasterControl will go out of their way to assist when you have an issue, and be there for your company when ever you need.
ProsThe ability to track any change, routing, controlled copy of a document. The level of auditability of each and every controlled document makes the software indispensable.
ConsThere is times were the software is not the most user-friendly to navigate for the persons that are not used to what needs to be so robust.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 20, 2018

“View from System Administrator”

ProsThe Documents and Training Module alone, have had such an immense impact in the reduction of the amount of paperwork and time spent on updating the documents and getting the training out is so worth the purchase of the system.
ConsWith growth there is always things that can and are improved on, I just wish it was more intuitive or upgrade training came with the actual upgrades and enhancements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 20, 2018
Tamara S.
Senior QA Investigations and Complaints Assistant/MasterControl Admin
Biotechnology, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 20, 2018

“Diligent and Reliable system”

ProsI really like that it is so easy to use and that it is reliable. Getting audited a lot, it is important to have a system that is robust and takes care of all your documents. The support is a big component about why it is reliable. They are always available to troubleshoot in times of need
ConsA lot of patches, but like any software that is normal. They do a great job in getting bugs fixed quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 20, 2018
Donna J.
Manager, Document Systems
Pharmaceuticals, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018

“MasterControl: Brings Excellence to Quality Management”

OverallHands down the absolute best application support you will find!
ProsLove the one stop shopping for pharmaceutical compliance. Love the document control module, the process module. We have the majority of all QMS within MasterControl. Their support team is the best in the business!
Consthe new J-reports tools is not as intuitive as we would like, especially for the average user
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2018
Robin J.
Sysadmin / Training Coordinator
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018

“Always improving!”

OverallAs a beta partner for the new eBR module we will be going live 2019 Q1. Love the new builder and the support and collaborative feedback between customer/users and MasterControl!
ProsMasterControl stays on the cutting edge of compliance so you don't have to! From new features to new modules always looking forward to the next thing coming!
ConsJreports has been a struggle. Implemented new FBS forms with no out of the box reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 3, 2018

“MasterControl is a very flexible suite of applications that can be utilized in any industry. It can decrease the need for binders full of records.”

ProsFlexibility to be used in any industry. Great customer support. Client driven updates. Makes regulatory audits smoother. Great website to connect customers.
ConsThis is an expensive product to own. The flexibility of the suite of applications makes it worth the money.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 3, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Pharmaceuticals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 3, 2018

“Great App”

ProsMakes everything easier and streamlines the process. Very easy to use. Allowed for us to but new processes in place and remove the paper processes. Support.
ConsThe LDAP Import tool, Java, and the reporting tool. I do not really have any other cons. This is a good application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
December 3, 2018
Anil Kumar Reddy I.
CSV and QA Supervisor
Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2019

“Total Quality Management System”

ProsA total quality management system with all modules (Docs, Training, Change control, deviation, CAPA, Event, Market Complaint) integrated with each other. Best thing is E-forms-you can build any form that you use manually as electronic form with tracking. Best Validation support with TOQ and TPQ.
ConsBugs fix, Some times no workaround, just to toss around.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2019
Lee Ann B.
QA Document Control Manager
Pharmaceuticals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2018

“MasterControl Document Module Top Notch”

OverallCustomer Service is the best of any company I've worked with. The system is easy to use and can be tailored to fit the needs of your company.
ProsAbility to create to fit the needs of our organization and document types.
ConsJust a big learning curve when you are going from paper to electronic. Wish I could have been able to practice in the system before going to training. Lingo was an adjustment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 19, 2018
Darci P.
Quality Systems Manager
Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019

“One-Stop Shop”

Overall.
ProsDocuments, Training and QMS worflows all in one place.
ConsInterface issues, difficult audit trail, JReports issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2019
Meghan C.
Medical Technolgist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018

“Excellent document control”

ProsIt's very easy to track who has read document. Has a sign off function. Easy to upload documents into program.
ConsNot very user friendly at times. Search function can be off. Often users are unable to open the program if they're not in the correct internet version
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018
Ann Marie C.
Sr Document Management Specialist
Consumer Goods, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 24, 2017

“Over 20 years, I have implemented this software at 4 companies. It is good value for the value added.”

ProsGood security. Cloud based. Mobile access. Variety of modules within one software; Document Control, Audit, Supplier, Bill of Materials, Electronic Forms. Custom Forms, Reports, Training and more. Development listens to our ideas for improvement. Huge time saver.
ConsDepending on number of modules used, could be more user friendly. They are working on this. Validation is timely. New validation risk based process is due soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 24, 2017
Elizabeth D.
System
Biotechnology, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 11, 2018

“Great software, better company”

ProsVery user-friendly, awesome customer support, and genuine enthusiasm from the company
ConsSome of the features aren't as customizable as I'd want
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 11, 2018
Michael K.
Solutions Architect
Tobacco, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Amaizing stress relief from a software product!”

OverallThough there are some things we are still learning, implementing and changing we are already seeing huge benefits from the various modules we have finished bringing in. It has been a great product!
ProsOur company is facing a future of heavy government regulation and requirements all centered around explicit approvals, versioning and tacking. Though we have only had this product for a short while, it has proven to be exactly what we need. The various modules are perfect for the tasks of managing venders, requiring specific approval processes, document control, etc.
ConsThis product is the Swiss army knife of applications with the ability to customize in a wide range of ways. This means a sizable learning curve from an IT and implementation perspective. However, for our needs it has proven to be much easier than any in house solutions we could have come up with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Research, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018

“Great Document Control System for Developed Companies”

ProsI like that this software can be custom tailored to fit your organization. There are also options to add other modules that all link to each other so it is easy to add on features if needed. Keeps track of all users training records
ConsNot the most user friendly for people who lack computer skills and technical proficiency. Very expensive
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018
Angeline P.
Independent Consultant
Biotechnology, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“Master Control Doc Control ”

OverallOk.
ProsIt's one of countless document control management systems that I will see over the years. It's very well-liked. Change control (controlling document versions/revisions/changes/comments) is seamless. Sometimes it's the simplicity of a system that is most helpful. This one is a little complex but offers a lot (cross-functional to multiple programs/departments) and is great for streamlining documentation across multiple business sites.
ConsI think that most companies would really enjoy this cross-functional business solution. I think it's just a matter of money.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019
Sandy P.
Document Control
Medical Devices, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“MasterControl 11.7 great features”

OverallWe keep our quality system in MasterControl and it is easy to find things in the new organizer set up.
ProsI like the new look as it is easier on the eyes and can be followed more easily by using tiles instead of lines of text.
ConsI do not like the icons being one color, blue and I do not like that the letter "i" and the eyeball are used together or at all. More icons that are more meaningful and colorful are always easier for users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Jeff G.
Facilities and Technical Projects Manager
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Not a very easy to use product”

ProsDoes handle document control. Rarely shuts down.
ConsHard to use. Way too many steps to review a document.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Jonelene V.
Office admistrator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 30, 2018

“Document control never been as easy ”

ProsThis QMS help us obtain our ISO certificate 2 years ago. With this approval on documents is on track and tractability is perfect.
ConsWe have on-site set up and only on our office can be access. It is a security but will be more flexible if it is cloud base.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 30, 2018
Anne C.
Executive Assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2018

“MasterControl QMS review”

ProsI can automatically integrate all the information that I need on this software. I really like the web design also, it is very pleasing to look at.
ConsA pricey software for a beginner user like me. Maybe try to make it more affordable for users who just got started and want to try this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2018
Kevin N.
Process Development Engineer
Biotechnology, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2019

“MasterControl Is a great software pacakge”

ProsThe MasterControl document control and training module are very useful
ConsThe price is a little steep but the service is worth it... so I suppose the price isn't that bad after all!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2019
Melissa B.
Associate Director, QA
Biotechnology, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
October 30, 2018

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
October 30, 2018
Jason T.
Associate
Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018

“Great for Compliance”

ProsEasy to track compliance for FDA filings and saves cost and time
ConsMake it easier to input files and other information needed
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“Excellent control of documents ...”

ProsThe best thing about the program is the ability to track documents and identify whether the document was read or not.
ConsIt is not easy to use for the average user and its cost is very high considering that there are similar programs at a much lower cost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Kyriakos A.
UX Analyst
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
October 18, 2017

Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
October 18, 2017