SmartGridCIS Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.6/5

About SmartGridCIS

SmartGridCIS is a leading provider of energy billing and CIS solutions for regulated utility companies and deregulated retail energy providers that want to fully leverage a smart metering infrastructure. Since making our prepaid energy platform commercial in 2010, SmartGridCIS has continued to build a steady and diverse customer base, and in the process, enhanced our product offerings. We now offer traditional (post-pay) billing and CIS, along with a consumer web portal and mobile application. Learn more about SmartGridCIS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 8 of 8 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Nicole P.
Utility Billing Speicalist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018

“User friendly, Efficient, Customer focused, Well designed”

ProsI like that its simple and straight forward. The software is very user friendly, and easy to use. I also like the quick response time from customer support when there is an issue, their response time is unbelievable. It is always the same day, and even if it has to be escalated which I like that they keep us as a customer informed of what is going on and what they are doing to find a solution. The software is well designed so that everything is transparent, when looking for something in particular you don't have to dig to find information that you are looking for.
ConsThe only con I would say is if there is an issue on the customer's account we have to contact customer support to fix, which customer support is always amazing when it comes to getting a problem solved but sometimes it would be nice if we were able to fix a billing issue or usage issue on the customer's account. Like I stated customer support always though helps us in a timely manor and is very efficient.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2018
Andrew B.
Customer Service
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018

“We've had challenges with SmartGrid, but the support has made it a wonderful relationship!”

OverallI do have a couple software feature suggestions. And the great thing is that the support portal allows you to talk about your problems or suggestions and you can see it through until it is solved.
ProsThe software is very customizable and user friendly. It also features bilingual communications for speaking with customers via email, text or automated message.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2018
Bruce G.
Chief Technology Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018

“Our experience with SmartGridCIS has been great. Easily the best business decision we made in 2017.”

ProsThe features, functionality, and customization available are the reasons we chose SmartGridCIS and we haven't been disappointed. Additionally, we now have insight into our data that wasn't possible with our previous solution. This insight is enabling us to make more informed decisions that better server the company and our customers.
ConsThe only "Con" we have experienced is training and documentation during implementation were somewhat lacking. I know the SmartGridCIS team has been working on both training and documentation, so I expect to see vast improvements soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018
Brett T.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2014

“Horizon Power - Smart Prepayment Project”

OverallThe SmartGridCIS solution that we deployed included a client application, plus a recharge operator portal. Our goal was to smoothly transition from a 'prepayment meter' solution to a smart-meter based prepayment solution. In addition to prepayment messaging, automated meter management and account management, this included the specific ability to display the customer's account balance, on the meter, to within $1 of actual balance. We also needed to allow our 'recharge operators' with a means to manage credit on behalf of their community members. Horizon Power chose SmartGridCIS because of their relevant functional capabilities, and their strong relationship with our AMI and smart meter partners. We went live with SmartGridCIS in May of 2014. The launch was a complete success! And the SmartGridCIS team has proven to be extremely easy to work with and quite responsive.
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2014
Maria G.
christie.garza@brookletenergy.com
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018

“its a great software but could use some enhancements”

Prosi like the way it displays important information for prepaid customers in one screen. this makes is easier for CS to efficiently give customers information
Consthat you are not able to edit notes if you forget to add something in the notes you have to create another one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 25, 2018
Andrew B.
Customer Service Supervisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2014

“Great Pre-Pay Option”

OverallWe have been using SmartGridCIS for our pre-pay option and it has been a wonderful option. Our customers that choose to use the program love it because it is so user friendly. Setup to go live was a smooth process and the SmartGridCIS team supports you all he way. The turn around time on support issues is my favorite this about SmartGridCIS. You generally have a response or resolution within an hour of submitting an email for help. One thing I would like to see in this product is a daily reading option on both the customer portal and on our side. Overall, We enjoy the product.
Source: Capterra
July 7, 2014
Jonathan W.
Director of Marketing & Member Services
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2014

“Peninsula Light Co Deploys SmartGrid CIS”

OverallPenLight went live with their SmartGrid CIS prepay system in January 2013. The staff at SmartGrid provided tremendous support during the development and implementation phases. Our co-op members that have signed up for prepay are pleased with the results. We are hopeful that a mobile app will be available in the future which would increase the value and usefulness of the prepay system. Our co-op has been able to reduce our bad debt and provide our members with a payment option that is more flexible to their income stream.
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2014
Rahim V.
Customer Care Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2014

“ZIP Energy”

OverallVery user friendly, customizable, support is quick and responsive, training was accurate, never goes down
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2014