Chamilo Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Chamilo

Open source learning management and collaboration system that supports simultaneous working and learning. Learn more about Chamilo

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jurgen G.
Mr
Education Management, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2016

“User friendly open source project”

OverallChamilo is really easy to use as a student. As a teacher it is intuitive but very broad. You can create simple basic courses (text courses with multiple choice quizzes) or really advanced courses (conditional questions, wiki, assignments, group collaboration, forums, ...) It offers a huge set of features to organize students in classes, work with sessions (date based set of courses) or single courses. It fully pulls the card of open source and is thus invested in reaching out to open source solutions like Big Blue Button or OpenMeetings for webinar features. Support could be better - while you have a very active (Spanish but also English) community, response from the developers is limited and happens if you're lucky. If you pay for support (which is cheaper than the paid providers), you get premium service though. I guess it's not really fair to expect premium service on a free product.
ProsIt's open source - you can tweak the code if you are inclined to Its very easy user interface Its very friendly community The social features in the LMS
ConsCluttered code - it's a fork of a fork. They are working on this though. Huge (both in number of files as in size of download) Lack of English certification/training
Recommendations to other buyersYou really need to try Chamilo to compare it with the other solutions Please try it extensively - get paid support if you need integration with other services.
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2016
Avatar Image
Daniel T.
Diseñador Instruccional ¿ Experto Elearning
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2018

“Powerful and customizable LMS”

OverallWe use it in the university to implement some distance study mats, it was installed and configured in a very simple way, besides it can be customized with the modules and extensions that are available in the repositories, excelenete manager of learning and virtual education.
ProsIt is one of the best platforms for the management of courses and online learning, has many functions for asynchronous communication with the student, in addition the interface is very attractive for teachers and students.
ConsAs it is a free software, in the face of any difficulty or error I have been able to recursis to the community that supports the project and I have found the solution, it is a great advantage to have that support, in addition they are constantly updating the version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 30, 2018
Avatar Image
Alexander H.
Debian Consultant
Human Resources, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2018

“Chamilo - the chameleon of possibilities...”

ProsStable, mature, solid software. You can use it as a fully working LMS or just as a framework to create your own solution. Also the possibility for gamification or selling courses/sessions makes it even more attractive for running your own online academy. And with the skill wheel, talent management got easier.
ConsNot really something at all. Free open sourcec software, and it is working :-)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Alain D.
Enseignant - Ingénieur en Technologie de la Mécanique du Bâtiment et formateur Revit MEP
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2017

“The most completed LMS softward”

Overall Very easy to use and complete with all you need to teach and manage courses including quiz online.
ProsIntuitive use and it's conception is for teacher and it is possible to use it for synchrone and asynchrone teaching !
ConsYou must do your installation by yourself and need knowledge of server configuration. But, you can use free campus at http://campus.chamilo.org
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 29, 2017
Avatar Image
Rudy W.
Sales manager BeezNest Group (Siège de Bruxelles, zones francophones) orienté e-learning avec Chamil
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2018

“Chamilo LMS, the best e-learning solution to develop training platform for our customers ! ”

ProsSimplicity and adaptability ! Easy to use for admins, students and teachers ! Powerful and intuitive e-learning solution !
ConsNot have more time to use it ! There are some details that could still be improved, technical information needs to be more clear.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 25, 2018
Akhilesh K.
Proprietor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“A true blue alternative for Moodle that is just so underrated ... Deserves better recognition ”

ProsWell , I liked almost everything about Chamilo . 1) Open source and so completely free 2) Has an in built authoring tool that is so comprehensive that you will need to seriously plan your content before you start using its authoring tool . 3) Supports SCORM content 4) The look is minimal and yet with enough customisations to give a very elegant polished finish . Chailo is very easy to use and you will almost require no customisations . It works beautifully out of the box.
ConsAlthough it supports SCORM content , some of the SCORM files I tried on Chamilo didn't work . That was the reason I had to move away . However , its internal authoring tool developed content functioned very smoothly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“A very clean and easy to use educative platform (compared to others...)”

OverallWe set up our own installation of Chamilo and set up a virtual classroom for thousands of users. The experience was successful. We also had to fix some bugs that came with the platform.
ProsHaving used different platforms in the past, I can say Chamilo is very simple to use and understand by the end user.
ConsAt the team, we are not 100% happy with the architecture behind Chamilo. It's not easy to make modifications since the html code is distributed in hard to follow chunks all over the place. The fact that it's using an unsafe language like PHP doesn't make it easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Sergey P.
Project Manager
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2018

“We made it work as a Learning Management System for our client. ”

OverallFree software, less features than Moodle, simple and easy.
ProsChamillo is a free learning management system that has can be used for medium sized businesses. Installation is easy as it comes in Softacoulous bundle available in any standard hosting.
ConsThis software has nice features, useful for businesses but still is geared towards academia. It has less features and is less customizable than Moodle- but our client wanted simple solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018

“We used Chamillo as a learning management system for our client ”

OverallVery short set up time for a quick e-learning project.
ProsPerhaps it is important to mention our case: we needed not the "best" but "good enough" system for host a post-face-to-face training e-learning module and Chamillo just hit the bill. It is free, works almost out of the box and has a nice interface.
ConsIt's considered to be used in educational environments, so out of the box set up is typical for a school or university.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Maria G.
College Teacher
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2018

“Best open source LMS”

OverallI have used it to complement face-to-face training and it is excellent, I recommend everyone to give it a try
ProsIt's open source so is free. It's easy to use and its interface is very intuitive. It supports SCORM. The support community is very big and helpful.
ConsIt is complicated to install and configure, and takes a lot of memory, but once you start using it it's worth the effort
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 24, 2018
Andy L.
Founder
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2016

“Great Improvement and Showing Better Quality Than Most Other Platforms”

OverallOverall, I found that Chamilo is not only simple to use but also has all the features that I need in order to create the courses and lessons for the students I am serving. The platform not only allows me to add the plugin within a few clicks but also upload files just like any other LMS (which is why I found that I don't always agree with everything that this website say about the LMS since I found that Chamilo has made a ton of changes for their new version).
Prosthe design, speed, effective and efficient, has all the features, and has all that I need
Consthe software cost about more than 480 MB of memory
Source: Capterra
July 14, 2016
Luis Fernando M.
Jr Project Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“Chamilo in UPA”

OverallA teacher used this software during my industrial engineering clases. most of the students liked the web and the functions.
Pros1.- The open forums empowers students to share there opinion about important topics.
Cons1.- Sometimes become slower when a lot of students are trying to upload their assignments.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Arturo M.
Associate Researcher Scientist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2014

“The best open source LMS on the market”

OverallI started using Chamilo LMS as an alternative to other similar platforms, initially as a way to reduce costs due to a reduction of my operational budget; however before starting using it, people at my organisation began to comment that they liked Chamilo LMS more than the old platform. This fact was a trigger for me to start deploying all my e-learning solution based on Chamilo LMS due to its usability, computational resources optimisation, and its committed community. Pros Easy to use Easy to deploy All plug-ings and modules are part of the core and free to use It is SCORM compatible Committed community Truly open source Cons Lack of native mobile applications (work in progress)
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2014
Andreu d.
e-Learning platform manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2014

“Easy to use”

OverallNowadays, for me, the key factor to choose a LMS is the simplicity, but without losing any functionality. In fact, Chamilo is very easy to use . When you access for first time in a Chamilo LMS, you have the impression to know a lot of things! All icons are well used. Today, we want to use a power web applications, with a lot of possibilities. But the most important thing for the user is to find what they search. And Chamilo is all this. If you've used another LMS, you know what I mean. In summary, with Chamilo you can do anything with the easy and the fast way.
Source: Capterra
July 13, 2014
Yannick W.
Founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2014

“Great for many use cases”

OverallWhether for corporate or academic users from 7 to 77, Chamilo is a great option, mostly thanks to its ease of use and great set of tools, allowing you to build, teach and give access to many kinds of courses. The community forum has answers to any kind of topic, and most people seem to just enjoy using the tool.

Vendor Response

By Chamilo Association on May 29, 2014
And it is 3 times faster that with any other LMS to traing your teachers to start using Chamilo.
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2014
Noa O.
Ceo
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2014

“Chamilo has it all in one”

OverallGreat open source platform that has all you need in one software. No need to work with a hundred add-ons that get out of date when upgrading to a new version. It´s so easy to train new users to use Chamilo.
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2014
Jose Angel R.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2014

“Intuitive virtual campus”

OverallChamilo is a software that is evolving every day and makes the work both teachers and students, as well as being easy to manage administrator
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2014
wuilmer s.
founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2015

“Ease of use”

OverallTotally intuitive LMS software, icon based configuration and fully customizable for anyone.
Source: Capterra
February 4, 2015
Laura G.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2014

“The better Open Source Platform for elearning”

OverallI like Chamilo because is very easy and powerful. It has a lot of different tools to support teaching.
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2014