Intercom Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Intercom

Intercom builds a suite of messaging-first products for businesses to accelerate growth across the customer lifecycle. We provide a complete growth platform for marketing, sales, and support. The world's most successful companies, like Atlassian, Shopify, and New Relic use Intercom to drive growth through chat, bots, and personalized customer communications. Learn more about Intercom

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 635 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 635 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Nathaniel P.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019

“The really bridge the gap between customers and our service”

OverallTheir customer success team is great, even on the days when I'm not the most gracious customer. I even try to emulate some of their practices because I feel heard as a customer when I suggest features or report what I think could be bugs in the system.
ProsThe ability to converse with our customers quickly and seamlessly between email and the messenger app is great. They've thought through this feature set very well and it brings us very close to our customers and we are able to convert leads very well through this service too. Other similar apps function the same, but their UI/UX is lacking compared to Intercom. The actual feel of the app is clean and friendly and dare I say...even fun to use. Customer success at Intercom is also excellent, they've got our backs and I appreciate it (although getting paired with someone in a vastly different time zone can hold up ticket times on our end).
ConsThere are some gaps in the help center and email features. It would be ideal to create/edit documents in a manner closer to Microsoft Word or Google doc, as those are the standard for editing documents these days. Little things like not being able to create a list inside of a document the way I would in other apps can be frustrating, but there is usually a workaround of some sort that will suffice (I'm just picky). It would also be nice to only be paired with their team members in our time zone. Working in the US and then being helped by a team member from Australia means our ticket times take much longer and conversation is hard to do in real time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Liam M.
People Operations Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019

“Not Much Competition”

OverallEverything has been fantastic from the Customer Success-led implementation process to it being deployed to our users. Multiple compliments on the feasibility of use since purchasing.
ProsFrom both the administrative and user perspective, the ease of use and just overall depth of what you can create with the product is very impressive. It allows a great amount of customer support to be automated and simplify it's delivery via articles and a knowledge base that'll continually grow. Although it's not the biggest feature, as a user, I love that it's focused on getting you an answer/resolution the quickest way possible given the same entry method. Type "adding users" in an application with Intercom support will quickly both deliver you articles that can potentially solve your problem or will also quickly deploy a CSM to you to answer it directly in case it was a bit more complex. Best part though is the feedback cycle, you're typing exactly what you want to know into the application and if no articles return: New Content Topic.
ConsTheres really not much. I've run into situations where it was wrongly applied within other organizations and not properly resourced, giving a less than average experience. But that's not as much specific to Intercom themselves. Given they are the industry leader, it can come at a premium for a larger organizations.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2019

“Lots of Features but Frustrating When Messages Get Lost”

OverallOur team used intercom to support a large team of contractors that would frequently visit our website and work with us on a regular basis. We frequently use the "segment" feature to learn more about our population and to send out messages to certain segments. We also used a variety of integrations. For example, we used upscope.io so that we could immediately screenshare with any user who was on our website if they sent us a message on intercom that they needed help. The user would get a popup asing if they want to let the administrator view their screen and they just need to click "ok." That's it. It's that easy. Upscope.io integrates directly with intercom. You can also add Google Calendar to intercom so that intercom users can schedule a call with a teammate directly.
ProsIntercom allows for various quasi-queries, integrations, and outound messasges to your users. This is very helpful and is not available in all of the other customer support platforms that I have used. You can find out information about your customer population. You can send messages to only CERTAIN "segments" of your customer population. You can also integrate with a WIDE variety of other softwares to really up your customer support game.
ConsIntercom does not show all of the user messages together unless you open their profile OR they send their message as a response. So, for example, if a customer sends you a message, then 10 minutes later they create a new chat and send a new message, those messages are not linked togather unless you open their profile. I have had the experience of different agents answering the two messages or of answering one message only to see that the same user had sent a correction to their message. This is very frustrating. It can also be difficult for users to locate the knowledge base which leads to more inbound messages. Intercom is trying to solve this by bot responses, but this is something you may have to pay for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Jennie Z.
Marketing Manager
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“A Great Lead Capture”

OverallMakes customer communication and customer acquisition easier. I wish the chat flows were more advanced and customizable. There was definitely a learning curve with the chat flows. Also, I don't believe I can export contact information with my leads.
Pros-Capturing emails and names -Integrating to Hubspot and other software for easy lead closure -Creating chat flows allows us to communicate to customers faster and saves us time
Cons-Would like to combine actions on Intercom -Hubspot Integration is not perfect; would like to have specific field matching -Chat flow capabilities are limited
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019
Kyle T.
Director
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Adds Much More Value Than You Realise”

OverallWhile the price tag for Intercom is not small, especially for startups launching their first mobile app versions, it has consistently proven to be one of the most valuable assets for teams in terms of user support, communication & out-of-the-box development readiness.
ProsThe in-app chat feature (with its cross-platform support for React Native and Ionic) is absolutely the biggest differentiator for Intercom. It is a critical part of our day-to-day operations & every client that has gone the route of implementing it with us has been hugely surprised by the large amount of value it adds to end users.
ConsWe are facing ongoing complications differentiating identified and unidentified users. The experimental API available for Android seemed to be heading in the right direction to solve this, but we haven't seen updates on the stub implementation for iOS in over a year (https://github.com/intercom/intercom-ios/blob/master/Intercom.framework/Headers/Intercom%2BExperimental.h).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Oliver A.
Founder & CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“All our support team is using it”

ProsEase of use is really great. We have hundrets of conversations with our clients every day using this tool.
ConsTheir pricing. Not only is it expensive, they have changed their pricing plan about 4x in 2 years. Furthermore it's very complex to understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018

“Small SAS Use”

OverallOur main use for intercom is tier 1 chat support. Our users know that this is the fastest way to get ahold of us. In lieu of using a chatbot we've gone in and created a bunch of quick responses that we can go in and edit. This has cut down on the amount of time we spend chatting with a customer and it allows us to control the message that we are sending out across the board. We've also used campaigns to let our users know of new product releases and have sent out Net Promoter Score Survey's out in a campaign. I'd like to note that we do not use Intercom as a CRM for leads on enterprise accounts.
ProsIntercom is really easy to set up and importing users into the software is really simple. It's nice to be able to create an online library of help articles and have it available for our users to find. The chat feature is what we use most and our users definitely enjoy how easy it is to reach out to us.
ConsOur customers have a difficult time closing out of conversations or seeing actions on our screen that need to be taken on the right hand of the screen. The chat box will often times cause them to become more frustrated as they need to open and close the chat as we give instructions. The close button is in a circle under the chat, which is a spot that most people don't usually look for. There are a few customizable things that we'd like to see. Like the ability to create custom out of office messages or include holiday messages to let our users know we're either out of office or responding slowly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Sylvina R.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“Fast and easy”

ProsWe used the chat system for our support team and Intercom made is super easy to get going. The chats were like personalized messages and we could set up introductory or absence messages for a duration set up. Automation is great.
ConsNo reporting at all. They have reports within the system which is not editable and if you want to download and run your own reports, it is not possible. Makes it difficult to audit.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Alexis D.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018

“Easy-to-use tool with great features to make supporting customers a breeze!”

OverallWe have been able to resolve customer questions in a much quicker time simply because we can access help articles quicker, get other team members in on the conversation more easily, and use integrations like co-browsing and attaching help articles to resolve a problem more quickly. Overall, Intercom has been a great experience compared to our past customer support apps and we are happy to be using this to improve our customer's experience in our app.
ProsIt is great to have the ability to do so many things within one app: chat with our customers, write help articles, link help articles to our customers, send out messages to groups of people, easily find previous conversations, and create reports to monitor our progress. Intercom has really made our support workflow simple and much less confusing than other software tools we have used. They also integrate with a number of different tools (GitHub, ZenDesk, Upscope co-browsing, etc.) so anything that Intercom can't directly do, we can find a way to do through an integration.
ConsThe Customer Support response times from Intercom are a bit long, but the team is always helpful and resolves any questions we have. I also wish the Articles were a little more built out - they just have some simple feature there, and it would be nice to have a more robust help center with the flexibility to format our articles the way we want and organize the collections differently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018
Scott B.
Customer Service Lead
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Intercom Is (mostly) Great!”

OverallWe use Intercom daily to help diagnose and solve a multitude of customer issues. As an admin, I have the ability to monitor chats, provide internal notes within the chat in real time for trainees, and make sure everyone is offline at the end of the day. There are a few flaws and Intercom WILL send you far too many emails, but overall this is a great chat tool for any customer service business.
ProsUsing Intercom as our ECOM site's chat service has been very helpful! On the customer service team, we are immediately given the contact information needed to properly help a customer. Using Intercom alongside Zendesk has also been a huge improvement over our old chat/ticketing software as they work very well together. Our team also utilizes custom and team macro responses to give fast, accurate answers and assistance. Also, giphy integration!
ConsThe default setting on Intercom has keyboard shortcuts turned on. It seems like most of them immediately close the chat. This can be easily solved by turning them off, but it is not made obvious on how to do so. Once they're off, it's smooth sailing! We have two customer service teams, and we often have agents going back and forth between the two. We use Intercom for both. The other downside is that it is impossible to be available on one and away/reassign on the other. You can keep it open in two tabs, but that's more of a workaround than a solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“A good, cost effective platform to interact with customers”

OverallWe use Intercom in conjunction with Crisp Chat, and while Intercom is an 8 out of 10 (vs. Crisp's 5 out of 10 score), there are still some aspects left to be desired. Their knowledge base functionality is great, and the look and feel of it can be customized to best help customers. Chats can be displayed on our website in three main forms, which is helpful to be able to market/inform customers in fun new ways to keep them interested. It's a good, and useful software, but it's not as robust as Drift. All in all, a good product that we are "happy" with, but not 100% satisfied with since some business functions are impacted by certain limitations.
ProsThe ability to send email campaigns, set up notification/chat campaigns and live chat with customers.
ConsThe one MAJOR negative aspect to this product is that once someone qualifies for a campaign, even if the campaign is deactivated, the person will continue to get the contents of the campaign until it is finished, or the campaign is deleted. *Note, if the campaign is deleted, all reporting and data tied to it will be deleted as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Thomas Y.
Lead Technical Support Engineer
Wireless, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“I'm so glad we switched to Intercom!”

OverallIt is a tool that was built by its users, meaning the people who build it also use it. I can begin to describe how important this is. They have not limited themselves to what others are doing and have rethought the entire process f customer support to build what everyone wanted. A useful, effective tool which makes customer support fun to do as a job as well as receive. We often get asked by our customers what support tool we use. We love intercom!!
ProsIt's a tool that gives you what you need and it does it well. They are ahead of the game in all ways. It makes customer success seamless and proactive. It's a multi-tool. It's changed the way people perceive customer support because it makes it fast, effective and fun. They write their own books (Awesome!) and they host seminars to help use the tools better.
ConsThey take a while to release new features, this is no surprise as companies will need different things. It does not have a merging tool to link conversations to the person already in the system. Sometimes you get duplicate leads/users. They can take a while to respond to support inquiries. They changed their pricing structure which, when it was priced per lead and not per agent, made intercom stand out
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Charlotte G.
Business Development Manager
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“Intercom is everything you need for customer support”

ProsI love intercom, I think its fab it works as a CRM, customer support centre, integrates with our payment gateways keeping refunds and payment queries in one place. I'm very impressed they've launched product tours think that its going to be a huge feature for them.
ConsI would like intercom to do more in terms of partnerships and working with companies to grow. I recommend intercom to all of our enterprise clients some with 10,000+ users but there is no referral incentive scheme. I have enquired about this a few times and applied for the partnership program but I haven't had a response
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Avatar Image
Carlos L.
Operations Lead
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018

“A very simplistic tool to connect with your users.”

OverallOverall, my experience with Intercom has been great. It's very easy to set up and get it running on your site and it's very user-friendly from your customers/leads side. There are a lot of improvements that can be made but their support team is very approachable and helpful.
Pros- The interface is very straightforward, You get messages from users and you reply. - It allows you to snooze messages so you can focus on messages that are your priority. -There are a lot of customizable options so you can make Intercom more like your company and less like Intercom.
Cons-While metrics are simple and easy to follow, there should be more in-depth information like real response time. They use a "median response time" metric which to be honest is very confusing. -There should be a limit on how many conversations a user can open. If a user wants, they can open unlimited conversations which can be a pain for your support team. -There should be an option to delete messages in bulk.

Vendor Response

By Intercom on August 31, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Carlos. It's much appreciated. Just wanted to double-check - it's the ability to close conversations in bulk that you would require. Or do you mean delete conversations to they don't show up in your metrics?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Johann K.
Customer Support Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019

“The review”

OverallYou might get lost when diving into these complex feature on your own, but the customer support is there to hold your hand, so don't worry you are supported all way along
ProsThe chatbot is a world class. Highly customizable to make sure that you can let the bot handle up to 50% of conversations. Product tours are also the best I have seen
ConsThe inbox is quite poor to use for email conversations only. The articles lack for customization options, too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2019
Susan P.
Strategic Support
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 13, 2019

“Intrm fr rlbl nntn btwn th sllr nd th ustmr”

ProsW must s tht Intrm n rll bst f thr mns fr mmuntng wth vstrs: th r vrd nd qull slzd nd s t th sm tm. In ddtn t ths mns, Intrm rvds us wth tls fr nlzng ustmr ntrtn wth wbst r srv. Fr xml, w n us ths dt t sgmnt th dtbs f -ml subsrbrs. Brdl skng, Intrm fuss n suh n st s rsnlzng th mmuntn btwn th sllr nd th ustmr. W lk tht ths srv svs th mssg hstr wth n ustmr, nd du t ths, t s s t ntnu th nvrstn frm th mmnt whr t std t th rvus mmuntn sssn.
ConsT b hnst, t s humn ntur t gt mr thn th hv. And w thnk Intrm s suh s. W mn tht vn thugh Intrm's funtnng s bnd th rss, thr s flng t gt mr nd mr dvnd funtnlt bus th urrnt n dsn't sm t b th nl lmt fr th vndr, nml thr sk f rtunts. Fr nstn, w wuld lk t hv bttr ntgrtn blts. Bsds, t wuld b bttr t hv mr surt nd mrvmnts bng md un th srv's mrktng funtns.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 13, 2019
Sean D.
Client Experience and Customer Success Specialist
Consumer Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Intercom Review”

OverallThis experience has been very positive. The value we gain by using intercom helps us as a team to stay organized and on top of everything as we are a highly collaborative office. Not sure what all is in the pipeline for development. I've made a few request and not sure where those stand or really even where to go review those. I understand with ongoing development it's hard to give dates but some type of "under review" or "denied" status would be helpful.
ProsThis software is easy to use and the customer support is very friendly and will help walk through how to solve for an issue end to end - even if there is no developed solution, which can be difficult. I really like the "note" functionality.
ConsImages in emails sometimes (and often) all turn into attachments. It becomes a pain to click through every image when a customer of ours sends in a screenshot when they have thumbnails in their email signature. It would be great if pictures came through a bit more naturally as it would via email. I've also sent in a bit of feedback here and there on how to improve reporting capabilities. It would be nice if adding people to conversations worked a bit better for our need being able to tie in our account team (they are not "agents") would be helpful rather than typing their whole email. Reporting on our reply time within our office hours would be huge as well (i.e. if we get a message at 5:01 and we leave on a Friday it won't knock us the entire weekend).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Andre L.
Customer Success Hero
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Great tool for conversations - not for tracking”

OverallOverall, this platform would be amazing if the stats were figured out. Right now, it's a solid 8 even without tracking features. It's a keeper, but not once the team reaches over 100 and you really need to track solid numbers.
ProsThis software is easy to use and navigate. The support has been quick to respond and very helpful. They utilize all the tools and resources available to you and really embrace their own technology. Intercom has helped to create more of a conversational-based outlook for our success team.
ConsThis software's statistic-tracking is severely lacking. I'd give this a 0 for any crucial numbers you are looking for, time to resolution (you can't track ongoing conversations), tags are conversation based and pull the entire thread, not the moment the tag happened, and countless others. You will spend more time compiling your stats if you use Intercom's system and need to track valid numbers.

Vendor Response

By Intercom on December 5, 2018
Andre, appreciate your review and feedback! We're continuing to invest in our reporting and have a dedicated eng team focused on improving this so will pass along your feedback and you should see improvements start to ship in the coming months!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Lucy B.
Front end web developer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017

“Just awesome”

OverallIntercom sets a new standard for software. Our team relies on it heavily for communication with our userbase and for note taking on issues. It's got really useful integrations to link to other efficiency tools for software teams as well. The team behind it is really helpful and answers support questions quickly and thoroughly. They also practice a lot of transparency so it is a company that feels good to work with and support. They're rolling out improvements constantly and keep their userbase informed about them. They also use the tool themselves and its nice to work with a company that "eats their own dog food", as the saying goes. The one thing that is confusing about their platform is the differentiation between their different product lines. We've been with them for years and maybe it is clearer for new accounts what they're using, but for us we often scratch our heads over whether or not we've got access to something. Other than that, amazing product for communicating with new and old users alike! Couldn't recommend more highly.
ProsGreat support team, constant improvements, easy communication with users and tracking over time, nice segmentation of customer base, great integrations for software teams
ConsHard to understand the differentiation between their product lines
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2017
Joshua G.
Support Manager
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“Great software!”

OverallAmazing. Felt like there were some scaling issues for a little bit, but overall our experience has been rock solid.
ProsIntercom is super fast to set up and integrate. We rolled it out on 2 custom platforms and a wordpress site without issue. Their support team is amazing and responsive to user feedback. (I use their conversations with me as an example to our support team sometimes) Love their introduction methods for new and beta features. The integration of each IC product with our custom software cut an incredible amount of time out of our workflow.
ConsThe reporting is probably the least prolific part of the software. When using messages to email customers or sales leads, as of 11/14/2018 there isn't an option to check for duplicate emails while sending messages out if your user/lead records have UUIDs imported from custom software. The only lack of feature that I felt was big enough to bring up in a review as the team is generally very receptive to our input.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Alexis M.
Co-Founder
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019

“Excellent platform - more than just customer support”

ProsWe switched to Intercom intending to use it for simple customer support messaging. We now use it for so much else. Intercom is constantly innovating and releasing new features, from sales tools to product tours to bots and AI - Intercom is a very powerful tool.
ConsEvery new feature is an add-on - wish there were a way to bundle everything and reduce the cost a bit more. It gets pretty expensive for a small, growing business.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2019
Farhan Q.
Product Operations Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019

“Intercom - Bringing all your communication on a single page”

OverallOverall experience has been great and we would love to recommend intercom to any person new to similar products. This is highly useful for small businesses and startups.
ProsWe have set up intercom to be active on more than 40 of our product websites. The best thing is that we do not have to be on separate places to respond to chats from customers/potential customers. Every chat/communication comes directly to the intercom main page from where we can see the link the customer is viewing right now, their location and country. The software also has options to automatically assign chats to different people. We can define rules such as rule according to geographical location of customer. That makes it easy for our globally located teams to address customer requests from customers in their areas only.
ConsThe pricing is a bit aggressive. It costs per seat. The pricing has been revised recently in 2019. Before that the pricing was slightly better.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2019
Anne V.
Head of Customer Care
Consumer Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017

“Makes Everything Easier”

OverallThis allows us to provide top notch customer service while maintaining an organized system on the back end that would only be a headache anywhere else. We are able to flow live chats and email tickets as well as any other inbound activity to one main hub.
ProsI love Intercom - nearly every function it has makes my job easier, and it makes sharing information between teams regarding a single customer really easy. Bonus functions like notes/mentions, giphys, and integrations with other software systems we use really make it the best thing since sliced bread.
ConsThe messenger app. We use our own live chat system and maintain use of Intercom for email communication only. Unfortunately the messenger app looks and feels exactly like live chat, which we do not want, because we use it for email communication. Users perceive it as chat, and when they do not get an immediate reply they get frustrated. I have been told that this cannot be turned off nor is there any solution for us regarding this problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017
Thomas B.
Founder & CPO
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“The best customer management platform on the market”

ProsThe usability is out of this world. All features are well thought out and works well. Complex features are being boiled down into easy understandable interfaces. Their support widget is awesome. Also, the support is great.
ConsThe pricing is very high for a startup, and the structure of the pricing models are not easily comprehensible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
E-Learning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018

“Good value for money for a medium-sized company”

OverallI used it in a early stage startup and it was a game changer. Now that I am in a bigger company, I feel that it has several limits and their support features aren't very advanced.
Pros- Plug & play : Intercom is really easy to set-up - User friendly : Intercom is has a nice UI and is very intuitive. There's no need to spend hours in training each time we have a new recruit in our team. - Always moving forward : I used to use Intercom in my last company in 2016 and I started using it again in 2018 and I was very glad to see they have added several new features (Operator and the newest Answer bot)
Cons- Reports : their reports are very poor and some of their statistics are not very reliable (for instance the conversations participated in in the "summary" section for a team and in the "performance" section is not the same! For a data-driven company like ours, this is very frustrating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Emilia E.
Technical Support Lead
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018

“Beyond a customer helpdesk solution.”

ProsMultipurpose use : Intercom goes beyond just being a tool for support agents , it is also used by our customer success team and my organizations sales team. In a sales capacity ,we use Intercom to prompt new web visitors to signup for our services ,and existing web visitors to make a purchase; thus becoming repeat customer. We achieve this by leveraging on trigger messages and lead routing functions to maximize our website visit to purchase ,conversion ratio. For helpdesk purpose , we use Intercom to communicate with ease with web visitors. We are able to effectively manage customer tickets and respond to customer queries in real time.
ConsThe user interface is un-intuitive and takes time for new helpdesk agents to get used to Intercoms dashboard navigation. Also the more our users and customers get larger , the higher the pricing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Caleb B.
Director of Marketing
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“Looks great on your website, but difficult to manage”

OverallIntercom has allowed us to strengthen communication with our prospects and clients in a user-friendly way for them. They can get quick answers to their questions and feel enabled with little effort.
ProsI really love how you can customize the chat widget as it appears on your website. I also love the ability to create "teams" to assign certain types of inquiries or conversations to. This helps manage who gets notified of a conversation, so that people only see the conversations they need to be a part of. If you need to bring in another team member, you can tag them using common symbols like "@JohnDoe." Plus, you can keep a cheerful, personable tone by using emoticons and gifs inside of chats. The best feature of all is the ability to have a public-facing chat widget (on our public site), and a client-facing chat widget (for our clients to use when logged in). This allows us to track prospects or clients and all of their activity so that we can quickly help them with the page they're on, see past conversation histories, or jump into our CRM profile for them immediately.
ConsIntercom has a very clunky internal site that makes it difficult to manage settings and respond to chats quickly. Even worse, there seems to be a 15-45 second delay from when a chat is submitted on your site to when it pops up in a browser notification or phone notification. That may seem a short amount of time, but feels like an eternity to someone looking for a quick answer to their question. It makes our response time appear delayed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Media Production, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“A Patchwork Of Valuable Tools”

OverallBuilt out automations for email & on site communications. Engaged with customers and leads real time online.
ProsIntercom's initial purpose was to support on-site chat. They do this exceptionally well. They've branched from there into other things in the customer engagement and marketing automation worlds, and do most of what they offer very well. All their tools are also well designed and mostly intuitive which is a big plus for me. They've also recently launched support articles paired with an on-site chatbot that I haven't used. But if it works as well as their marketing claims, could be really cool.
ConsBeing that most of their tools were things they initially added on to their core offering, sometimes feel like a patchwork. They would say that they're good at marketing email automation and blasts, but they're not REALLY built for that, at least compared to other tools they're competing against. They have a pretty standard set of list segmenting tools, which unfortunately always leave me wishing they could do more. It also falls short as a CRM, but they probably wouldn't claim to be that.

Vendor Response

By Intercom on October 5, 2018
Really thoughtful review - thanks for sharing. Appreciate the feedback on email automation, segmentation and CRM.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Basiirat A.
Customer Support Analyst
Entertainment, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018

“Intercom should aim for perfection.”

OverallIntercom makes it easier to develope a relationship with our users,while also able to get feedback from them in real time and address their complaints and queries as fast as possible.Thus we have been able to engage more with our customers thereby improving their loyalty and keeping them hooked to our products and services.
ProsI love that Intercom offers my organization more possibilities beyond acting as a medium to offer support to customers(helpdesk), it also serves as a marketing tool.It is accessible both as a web and mobile based app and offers a good experience to web visitors on every smart device. With Intercom, we have been able to segment our users ,which makes it easy to focus on users who are more likely to make a purchase from us. Also Intercom has a large integration capability with multiple softwares.
ConsIntercom just doesn't offer the full deal either as a livechat solution or a marketing tool.Therefore we still have a primary marketing tool despite the marketing features present on Intercom.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018
Jonathan C.
Account Manager
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“Terrific product and exemplary customer service”

OverallMy overall experience with Intercom has been outstanding. Intercom is embedded in our software so users can contact us anytime via chat. This has helped us reduce the number of incoming (and outgoing) phone calls and provide faster, more efficient service that is also personal. It is also a great way to communicate product updates and important notifications to all our customers. Intercom has made it so much easier for us to solve problems for our customers, and whenever we encounter any problems or questions - the Intercom staff is quick to reply, always kindly and professionally, and offer a solution.
ProsIntercom is intuitive and easy to use, it has a great-looking interface, it is constantly evolving and introducing new features to improve user experience, and the customer service is fantastic. I have been using it for almost two years now and it has been a great tool for communicating with our users and providing remarkable service.
ConsNo support for right-to-left writing directions, no support for replying to a specific message (like on WhatsApp).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Josh T.
Founder
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019

“Seamless Central Hub for Managing Existing Users”

OverallOverall our company is completely invested in Intercom and has no plans of switching. The breadth of the offering is huge and supports all of our users once they signup.
ProsI love how much functionality is packed into this customer nurturing suite. The ability to keep a seamless and smooth conversation with each user is amazing and helps us maintain a great net promoter score with our users. The integrations that are offered really enables an easy setup.
ConsThere are some manual tasks that can be automated in the future. Building email templates can be improved or offer more out of the box.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 21, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Best tool in the market for Online Chat support”

ProsWe have around 700 customers who use our product on regular basis ,earlier they use to send us email and then we would respond to them which was time consuming . Later on we moved to intercom and now as and when we receive any query from customer our customer success team response time has reduced to lest then 1 minute. We have also integrated intercom with zendesk so that if there is technical issue automatically ticket is created in zendesk for technical team . Last but not the least the automated email / message functionality and reports provided by intercom are just awesome , we can measure the performace of each chat support agents .
Consif chat has more then 300-400 lines then time taken to load on mobile app increases
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Arvid M.
Customer Success Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Awesome tool for customer success”

OverallI love the easy of use and the real impact Intercom has made for our service and our customers satisfaction.
ProsIntercom is essential for my work as a customer success manager. We integrate intercom in our app and on our web and it brings us so much closer to the end user and their needs. Intercom has helped us understand customer service quality and efficacy with metrics and connectivity.
ConsMy concern is that Intercom has shown to focus a lot more on leads and customer acquisition rather than customer service and success, I would like to see more features on customer retention since this is what we are using the service for to begin with.

Vendor Response

By Intercom on December 5, 2018
So happy to hear that Intercom is adding so much value to your team, Arvid! While customer acquisition will continue to be a focus for us, you will see a lot more being shipped around support and retention as well in the coming months! We've grown our engineering team a ton in the past year to ensure we can ship across all of our products and use cases we serve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Catrin W.
Marketing Executive
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“Great for keeping everything centralised”

OverallIt's been great, and the support team and quick to respond to any queries we have :-)
ProsWe love that all messages that come in from site visitors and users of our software come in to one central place with Intercom, ensuring we never miss a message. We can also report on our average response time per user, snooze tickets if it's something we need to come back to, but don't want in our queue, and assign messages to other people's queues if it relates to them.
ConsI find the search functionality is a bit limited, and can sometimes find it difficult to search for specific conversations with users within companies.

Vendor Response

By Intercom on December 5, 2018
So glad to hear Intercom has become your central place for all conversations with your website visitors and customers! Appreciate your feedback re: our search and will pass that along to our team.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Sundeep G.
WaveMaker Consultant
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 29, 2018

“Intercom will always in one of the choices if you are looking for a customer nurturing platform.”

ProsIntercom with its easy to use interface and powerful features is easily one the of the best tools for customer nurturing. It has set a new standard for all the software makers in terms of functionality and also marketing. Intercom offers great integrations but sometimes it gets a little overwhelming with a lot of features. They are always in touch with their customers updating them about the releases and new features which are being updated very frequently. Intercom is a great product and I believe that when choosing a customer nurturing platform, Intercom has to be a choice.
ConsIntercom is great if but it gets costly as you keep adding users. If there is no proper integration with the product, all the data will be garbage and it would not be very useful. Since there are a lot of features that get added very often, sometime it becomes a little confusing as to what the tool actually is capable of.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 29, 2018
Olivier B.
Customer support technician
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Great communication tool”

ProsThis is a great tool to automate messages to our users in times of downtime, problems or simply to inform them of a new feature. Customizable messages, conditions can make quick work of a message automation! User info can be tracked easily.
ConsAlthough it is improving its customer support ticketing system, there is a lot of ground to cover, still. No ticket number for easy reference, a bit of a black box when it comes to how the customer will see their "emails". Anything outside of the in-app messenger system is still to me improved. Their customer support is average and can take a bit of time to answer. Still some clarification/features to add to have the customer/user (our user) understand this may not be realtime, even though it looks like chat.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Max H.
CEO
Airlines/Aviation, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“Fantastic app but not so cost-effective for smaller businesses”

OverallSupport Staff are extremely helpful and the App is incredibly user-friendly and easy to use.
ProsMany complex and targeted features for auto-messaging. Being able to send articles within the Live Chat was hugely time-saving, especially using the app on mobile.
ConsThe cost was the one and only reason I have moved away from Intercom. It is a great platform for large companies but it isn't cost-effective for small businesses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Ben B.
Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019

“A powerful customer support tool that costs a large sum.”

OverallIntercom is our customer support platform, and it's fantastically powerful.
ProsIntercom's power comes from its ability to connect to email, social, mobile, on-site chat, and other communication channels. It's an incredible capability. We can field support requests from customers and prospects pretty much from anywhere, which is great because it increases the effectiveness of our social and email campagins. If someone is reading something we published, our support team is always a click away for them. And the ability to tie in automated email campaigns is awesome, even to just connect with our existing customers. We've had many beneficial conversations with our customers when they reply to our automated emails, which would be very difficult to manage without Intercom.
ConsIntercome is expensive. Yes, I understand it's value, but at times it seems like they're gouging us for certain features/scale. The one major flaw to Intercome is that it has no competition. That makes it feel too expensive, but of course we have no other choice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Max S.
Director, Customer Success
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“You may want to replace traditional ticketing system with Intercom if you're SaaS”

OverallDespite minor UX issues, overall Intercom is a great product with plethora of useful functions, that are also available starting from the beginning plan (Essentials) and improve as you upgrade your subscription. The new automation tools (Custom bots) are absolutely amazing for a heavily-loaded customer support teams.
Pros- Integration with website & SaaS product; - Great (simple & powerful) built-in knowledge base with automatic chat bot; - Insightful pre-built reports for Inbox and Articles product; - Synergy between chat, platform, inbox, articles and messages modules of the product - it allows enabling functions as you need those.
Cons- Unlike all other parts of the system, the UX of renewing the cancelled subscription is far from great: you'd need to purchase "new" subscription and go through the wizard once again instead of just hitting "Renew". - The Contact profile, especially section with Custom Fields, does not accommodate all the data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018

“Invaluable support and sales tool for growing companies”

OverallHandling inbound support requests, engaging with existing clients, upselling products to existing clients
Pros- Makes cross-team collaboration on issues very easy - Easily add and remove users; highly compatible with a fast growing company - Enough features for a startup or growing business to have a powerful support infrastructure without paying enterprise prices
Cons- Functionality starts to strain at a certain point; it is a chat tool that works really well and can send emails but if you have call center infrastructure then your systems won't integrate very seamlessly - Their bots aren't very smart, just launched so lots of room for improvement - Support is generally good but takes a little while to get answers depending on time of day etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019

“Great for any customer success/support team! Will get you everything you need. ”

ProsIt offers literally anything you and your CS team may need to run the department.
ConsTheir support team can take a bit too long to respond at times. Really holds up our team from developing new processes sometimes. They've got a lot of features so we've got a lot of questions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019
Chris S.
Co-Founder
Photography, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019

“A great, all-inclusive app for our SaaS app”

OverallThis is a you-get-what-you-pay-for industry (chat software), and you can get a lot with Intercom. But man, it's expensive especially for a smaller company. We've honestly tried a lot of customer support software and even after trying other software while paying for Intercom, we've stuck with Intercom because of all the features. Their customer support hasn't been extremely memorable, but I have not had any concerns or issues.
ProsWe primarily use Intercom for live chat, pop-up chats, and help documentation. We've also connected email and Facebook Messenger. I use this all day every day for customer support. Bonus, I can send a one-off reply on my Apple Watch to a live chat!
ConsOther than it being quite expensive, the only two gripes I have are not being able to send a one-off email to someone not already in our system, and not being able to see images in emails. And being in the photography industry it makes this quite inconvenient!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Atish B.
Software Developer
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018

“Great product to use!!”

OverallWe are using intercom for improving health care of our blue-collared service providers. We use it as a customer chat platform and regulating engagement over the customer app. And Intercom is one really great tool to be used!
ProsThe automation features reducing the effort of agents is definitely a +1 about this software. The use cases covered by this software when it comes to marketing campaigns and at the same time using it as a customer support chat are very broad and really fulfill the requirements and seems adequate with the amount being paid. This is definitely one of the great products I have come across. There are many other such software trying to replicate the same but Intercom is very far ahead in the race
ConsThe ability to customize the customer front (when used in the mobile sector) is very less which needs to be improved immediately since it affects the brand integrated with intercom. One such feature is when messages are automatically triggered based on certain rules and they all create different chat heads in the customer interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017

“It's a pretty nifty Email Software that links with our LiveChat system!”

ProsI like its functionality in terms of how you can assign tickets to each other and the NOTES part is a really useful function for communicating with your team about the email. Also, I love how our Livechat software is synced with Intercom so that the chats come in as tickets and are also saved so you can always look up correspondence for a difficult issue. And thanks for the new feature where you can now add additional emails to "cc." That one REALLY comes in handy for us!
ConsMore often than not I have to reload the page to see the most recent tickets in queue. Also, if I'm working on a laptop with a mouse track pad, there's a strange glitch where you swipe or tap wrong and your whole message is erased. Lame.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“One of the best tools for marketing and support ”

OverallMy overall experience with intercom has been really great so far, be it their integration methods or their User interface.
Pros- I like the APIs and the corresponding documentation intercom provides, which could be used to integrate it easily in your system. I could set up my system to push the real time details regarding my users to be seen immediately in intercom user interface. - Even the customer support using the simple user interface with intercom became so much easier. All the filters they provide are just amazing.
ConsNo cons which I can think of as of now. Just that it's bit expensive for a small firm. The tool costs per record we save in it, which seems pretty aggressive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Magali S.
Project Manager
Motion Pictures and Film, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 20, 2019

“T rfr Intrm mns t rfr rbust mmuntn nd grt rdutvt”

ProsWhn usr snds rqust t th mn thrugh Intrm, th ltfrm rsss th mssg nd snds t t th ml wh n rsnd t t. Th sstm s bsd n svrl ftrs: th sft f th rqust (thr s n rtunt t st kwrds fr h drtmnt r ml), th usr's tm n th st, nfrmtn but wh th lnt sk wth lst tm h vstd th st, nd thr dt. Ths shm sms t b rtt lgl, but nl fr Intrm. W mntn th qult, tht's wh w rfr Intrm.
ConsAll nln ht rms wth whh w hv vr wrkd lk rtt lk. But th r ndstngushbl frm h thr nd ntrhngbl. Th nl wrk hr nd nw, f u ls th tb - ll nfrmtn wll b lst. Mst ftn, rtrs rsnd wth dl bus th d nt hv th nssr nfrmtn r mmunt wth t mn ustmrs. And n ths rstv, Intrm dsn't suffr frm th lw fftvnss f mmuntn.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
February 20, 2019
Lillie M.
Community
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018

“Intercom helps organize user feedback like no other!”

OverallOver, Intercom has been great! We explored a lot of options, but Intercom has the capacity to grow with our team and accommodate our needs as we scale. It takes a bit to learn all of the features, but once you learn, you can really make it work for any use case.
ProsI like how I'm able to tag each incoming and outgoing message with feedback. We use this to track all user feedback and it's super easy to follow up with users by tracking their tags. It's really a game changer in a customer support tool!
ConsI wish there was more control over how to assign incoming tickets. The company I work for has increased our Community team and it's been a bit of a challenge to scale with Intercom and organize who is getting assigned what kinds of tickets. We've found a way that works for us, but I wish we could customize this (and things like round robbin) with a bit more granular control.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“The BEST Software for Communicating with Your Customers”

ProsI'm in Intercom every day, and it is my favorite tool that I use on a day to day basis. They make chatting and supporting customers simple. It integrates perfectly on the website. I also love that they are constantly coming up with new features to help our workflow. They've made some massive product updates since I started using the software a year and a half ago, and it keeps getting better and better.
ConsWe use Intercom for our email campaigns as well when new users signup. I do wish there were better metrics for the emails. You can't view email based on date ranges. So for on-going campaigns that we make tweaks too, we can't see if rates open rates improved month over month. It would also be great if they had a "flow chart" interface to make it easier to set the conditions and flow for messages customers receive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Grant S.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 17, 2018

“Essential if you are building a SaaS App”

ProsIntercom is specifically designed to support SaaS applications. If you sell software as a subscription, your users develop a relationship with your software. Intercom allows you to be apart of that relationship. I love being able to see when my users are logged in, statistics about how they are using the system, and chatting with them. I have found that very few users abuse the system. I thought that this would be a bigger issue, but it has not been.
ConsOccasionally Intercom has had issues with spam. It has taken a week or two to adjust the filters to catch the spam. However, they did a good job communicating progress and spam hasn't been an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Helen V.
Customer Support Manager
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Makes communication with customers super easy.”

ProsIt allows you to reach the customer anywhere. If they have left the chatbox, the reply will reach their inbox. You see a lot of information about your customer/lead already when talking to them. Where are they located at, what browser they are using, etc? I also like the operator function that asks leads for email addresses and/or feeds help articles to conversations that I haven't yet attended to. The help article section is also great because it's integrated with the messaging so I can send help articles straight from the app.
ConsThere's no integration with HubSpot CRM but it is what it is - they're competitors so that makes sense. It's also sometimes tricky to make sure that I am not 'seeing' messages after signing in as one of my clients. The chatbox is sometimes not quick enough to understand that a person has signed out and it still shows messages relevant to that person. That is how I accidentally read them and so they might not reach the recipient's inbox.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018