Resource Guru Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Resource Guru

The fast, simple way to schedule people & other resources online! Trusted by teams at Apple, Ogilvy, & NASA. Get team visibility on one clever calendar. Drag & drop bookings in seconds. Manage vacation & other types of time off. . Clash management helps you stay in control. Dashboards, email notifications & calendar sync mean everyone's up to speed. Powerful reports let you monitor utilization rates. No software to install. From only $2.50 per person/month. Sign up for a 30-day free trial. Learn more about Resource Guru

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 132 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 132 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jane D.
Project Coordinator
Professional Training & Coaching, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Saves us so much time and energy”

OverallFriendly staff, and very quick response time.
ProsThe ease of use and availability of the schedule to all of our users - even when they are on the road has made everyone's job easier. It was quickly adopted - even by the technophobes in our company - as it was so intuitive. Gives a great 'at-a-glance' view of everything we have coming up an the reporting options are great too.
ConsIt would be nice to be able to have a 'confirmed/unconfirmed' option (or something similar but, in the meantime, we have workarounds.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Leticia M.
Queen Pixie
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Resource Guru has been a game-changer for us”

OverallI love Resource Guru. It's the only thing that's shifted our capacity management into a new gear. By which I mean: No more trying to manage everything from a single calendar, complete visibility over workflow and appointments, and the ability to see at a glance how much time is available on any given day.
Pros1. It doesn't try to do anything other than what it's best for 2. Calendar sync 3. Cost-effectiveness 4. Responsiveness of the support team (including on UX suggestions! Amazing.) 5. The little guru on the dashboard. Yeah it's cosmetic but it makes me feel good every time I log in. 6. Easy to set up and use.
ConsThe only things I really dislike a cosmetic and non-fatal. They are: 1. The inability to hit a "today" button to go back to today's date, and the thin scrollbars right and left 2. The fact that I have to literally click and drag events to create instances on non-consecutive days, rather than selecting dates.

Vendor Response

By Resource Guru on September 26, 2019
Hi Leticia Thanks for the great feedback :) I hope you'll be pleased to learn that we definitely do have a "Today" button which takes you straight back to today's date. It's in the top left of the schedule, next to where you navigate between different months and years. I hope this helps! If there's anything else we can do for you please just let us know. Happy scheduling! Kat
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Nancy E.
Location Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“Resource Guru Review”

OverallEveryone has access to the schedule so each developer or designer not only knows what they're supposed to be working on, but what others are working on. We can schedule months into the future which helps us as we have projects that last months, not weeks.
ProsIt's easy to use. Everyone can see what's on the schedule or what they are supposed to be working on. I can see how long a project is in our production queue to ascertain when we'll be finished. I can schedule vacations so others know which resources are available on which date.
ConsThe times are sometimes not correct. It seems to think a work day is twelve hours long, instead of eight. It's hard to schedule several projects in the same day. It's easiest to assign a project for the whole day.

Vendor Response

By Resource Guru on July 25, 2019
Hi Nancy - thanks for your review. I just wanted to question a couple of things you wrote in the Cons section. You said the times are sometimes not correct - I'd love it if you can send us an example so we can troubleshoot it for you - we are not aware of this happening to any of our customers. You also said, "It seems to think a work day is twelve hours long". I'm not sure where you see this info - it would be good to assist you further with this. By default a day is 8h long, but Normal Availability is totally customisable at a resource level - this is actually a feature we have that other products we've reviewed don't. Finally you said, "It's hard to schedule several projects in the same day". Again, this is a limitation we found in other products which is why we made it easy to create as many bookings as you liked in a day - to a very granular level eg for as little as 1 minute. Would love to hear from you .. Best, Percy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Sonia P.
Production Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Easy to use high level planning tool”

OverallResource Guru allows our company to do long-term high level planning of resource utilisation and provide a guide lead time for sales teams.
ProsI've been using Resource Guru since 2013 and it's constantly improving which is good to see. It's easy to use and provides decent reporting.
ConsI'd like to see public holidays auto populated according to a country of choice and ability to limit daily bookable hours just by a number (e.g. 7.5h) without setting a rigid start / end / lunch break.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Simon M.
Consultancy Manager
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Couldn't run the team without it”

OverallExcellent. All our interactions with the team have been fast and successful. They clearly love the product and the work they do.
ProsIt's fast and intuitive and I am able to see at a glance and report on all of my team's assignments and accurately schedule all their time.
ConsReporting aspect. Stock reports are good, but would like to be able to drag them into a platform like PowerBI. Potentially via scheduled export to CSV or similar. Would also like some more customisation such as more leave types and an option to backup and restore information. Finally, audit tracking - who made what change.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Paula C.
Executive Administrator
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Provides Great Resource Management!”

OverallWith many staff members doing field work, Resource Guru helps greatly with schedule planning and tracking where staff are at any given time.
ProsThis software is easy to learn and use. We can see the availability of resources at a glance, and it's simple to make any edits to current entries as needed. The option to add personal photos for resources is fun to use and adds a bit of personalization to each resource.
ConsWhen choosing a date to enter information, we need to scroll over the calendar instead of clicking, because clicking on dates will automatically trigger a window for entering new information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Reshma H.
Studio Manager
Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“SM user”

OverallAs mentioned I have implement RG to both my previous and current working places. Its easy and simple, no complications, not clumpy. I use RG on a daily basis to book my whole team's daily tasks.
ProsEasy to use, simple for all team members. Looks visibly pleasing. I have implemented Resource Guru to my previous and current working places. Very good value for money.
ConsNeeds to have an action for users to click once they have completed the task. I have been waiting for this for a few years now. Still not very mobile friendly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Dale M.
President and Creative Director
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Fantastic tool ”

OverallExcellent. It has been a fantastic tool for our lean, high-performance business.
ProsIntuitive, easy to use, efficient. Simplified our weekly and monthly production planning radically, allowing us to focus more effort on forecasting production load, maintaining workload balance and ensuring good capacity to execute our projects.
ConsDoesn't yet have the ability to set recurring events. Drag and drop functions are sometimes unstable, particularly with cloud syncing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Pedro d.
Operations Director - Digital
Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Resource Management Made Easy”

OverallOverall the solution is very robust and solid at what it does. It has been used for over 5+ years and does it job well. I would like to see a bit more is product feature evolution in terms of workflow management/triggers as mentioned.
ProsThe filtering capabilities allows different user roles to manage their teams easily and also find relevant skills in the agency. Many people have hidden skills and talents and having them searchable allows us to tap into these.
ConsI would like to see more API integration efforts made into other applications. I would like to see workflow triggers to handle people picking up work (validation) or not picking up work because they haven't been briefed in (trigger notification to manager) to help actually manage the validation of the acceptable of work by the individuals instead of having to follow up. This would remove a lot of chasing and admin.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Brent J.
Division Manager
E-Learning, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Maintaining High Resource Utilization through Coordination and Resource Guru”

OverallOverall Resource Guru has significantly contributed to our ability to schedule, review and plan our resources. We have increased our overall utilization of resources by using this product.
ProsWe like the ability to visualize our employee utilization on a company-wide basis while being able to generate other utilization views by department and resource type. This helps us determine any utilization gaps and plan for cross utilization to ensure overall high utilization of our resources.
ConsI would like to see a few more customization features for how the system currently treats over-bookings. We would like to be able to over-book resources and it show their utilization at 100%+ rather than it showing the conflict and a lower utilization until the over-allocation is corrected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Brittany L.
Operations Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Resource Guru is amazing!”

ProsThis program has been a vital part of out organization. I use this every day to schedule all of our resources for all of our projects and even PTO. We then download this information and use it to help forecast our revenue. It is incredibly easy to use and manipulate. The Beta is amazing!
ConsI would like it if you could add a rate to each booking. That would make it easier to forecast revenue. Other than that, the product is great!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Melissa P.
Creative Resource Supervisor
Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019

“Easy to onboard and easier to use!”

OverallResource Guru helps our agency see availability of resources to ensure we are allocating projects efficiently. Without it, we were running blindly and were hoping that team members would speak up when they were too busy or too idle. Now, we can see this ourselves (days in advance) and prevent talented employees from going unused.
Pros- Color coding clients - Being able to manually adjust hours/availability per resource - Limiting permissions per user - Adding in when employees are OOO - Search feature to check skill sets and who has worked on which client before - Saving searches so we can quickly view groupings of employees
Cons- I wish there was a way to search bookings for key words - It's unfortunate that this tool doesn't link up with our PM tool, Asana - There's no 'undo' button if you accidentally click and drag a booking unknowingly
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2019
Nikki K.
Graphic Designer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018

“A great way of organising your day”

ProsThat you can easily move jobs around if they need to change and can book off holiday time and meeting time so that you don't overbook yourself.
ConsThe waiting time bit could be better if time is overbooked - doesn't allow for different lengths of working days.

Vendor Response

By Resource Guru on January 17, 2018
Hi Nikki, Thanks for sharing your review of Resource Guru! I wanted to let you know that you can most definitely customise the availability of each of your resources on a daily basis - not every day has to have the same availability. You can set resources normal availability (which is the availability which repeats on a weekly basis) and you can also create availability exceptions if you need to make a temporary change to someone's normal availability. You might find this article on resource availability useful https://help.resourceguruapp.com/customer/portal/articles/2162590 I hope this helps, but please get in touch if you have any questions. We're always happy to help! Thanks, Kat
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018
David S.
Consulting Manager (VIC)
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Resourcing consultants”

OverallWe have a number of delivery teams spread throughout Australia, and these act in remote locations, and in overlapping areas of interest. Resource Guru gave us quick and easy ways to see who is available, who is not, and to see teams (location or project based) and be able to plan our people.
ProsReady accessibility in both the field and the office without needing setup on the device. Clear interface. Simple filtering of team records to be able to determine resourcing constraints, etc.
ConsOn occasion, it becomes difficult to determine where work is on site or off, or whether a planned consulting visit is a firm date, or a flexible date. This could be down to how we are using it, though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Jessica A.
IT PMO Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Resource Guru - helps tackle lack of resource visibility”

OverallWe are now able to track all of the resources within our department and run metrics on what is being worked on and what our utilisation is across IT. We also use this as a recharging model to our businesses so this is a vital piece of software.
ProsThe software is an easy to use format with searchable features and the ability to track personal from their actual hours work to the forecast showing future demand. The ability to allow resources to book against multiple codes and be organised in multiple teams means that reporting from the tool provides vital details for our KPI's and metrics, helping drive improvements and efficiencies within our organisation
ConsThere is a limited pipeline of change and growth of the software, which does not allow development in areas that would be useful to our company.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Steve C.
Director
Management Consulting, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017

“The entire team are there to make sure your experience with the product is easy and beneficial. ”

OverallProvided visibility and allowed tracking of the team members, contract end dates and the ability to generate accurate invoices for the customer
ProsThe product is easy to use and allows the administrator to manage teams, plan and review previous activities. It can be used for recording or planning and gives a level of visibility that is lacking in a number of products. Although the team are constantly looking at ways to improve the product, it never strays away from its core and prime functionality. Many products try to grow into a bigger, wider space and lose the key elements that attracted customers to the product in the first place. A customer of ours was so impressed with the product that they too purchased it after seeing the value it afforded us.
ConsIt would be great if there was an App which could be opened rather than a web browser, although this is only a minor consideration with the number of browsers out there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017
Luke M.
SEO Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017

“Time management made easy!”

ProsThe tool really makes time management easy and extremely visual. It does away with ugly excel spreadsheets and with a neat UX, it allows for easy time forecasting whilst also enabling you to easily keep on top of your time expenditure! I genuinely love this tool. Along with the tool, where there are areas for improvement, the development team are happy to listen and actually make changes based on feedback! I've provided feedback with a couple of times and both have been integrated into future updates - this is a company that listens and constantly develops for the users' needs.
ConsVery difficult to outline any main cons, as like I said above, any issues I've had with the tool historically, they've been resolved! If I HAD to provide one, it'll be how the tool works across different devices. It's not especially mobile friendly...but that's me scraping the barrel for a con.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017
Paul C.
Production Director
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019

“Visual planning delivered”

ProsVisual planning helps me tremendously. Resource Guru has everything I need.
ConsLack of integration with Teamwork, I'd love be to see a two way integration that passes jobs/tasks/dates between the two tools.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2019
Dennis v.
Director creative operations
Marketing and Advertising, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Guru will get your team into gear”

OverallAt any time the producers and project managers have a full overview of what the creative team is up to, if they have time to work on other projects and their availability. it is easy to work with for top line planning and for in-detail remarks or instructions. As you can limit the workdays to 8 hours it becomes quicky apparent if additional resources are needed as you create "on hold" projects.
Prosit is easy to plan projects and see what every team member is working on, when holidays are happening and their general availability. No more questioning what they should be working on when their project manager is not around.
Consit suits the purpose I have for it, but it would be great if you would be able to archive non-active projects easier than handling them one by one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Ben F.
Senior Associate
Environmental Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Great resource scheduling tool”

ProsI love the ease of use and functionality to add and change bookings.
ConsI'd like that their is an app version to make navigation on a mobile a bit easier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Christopher H.
Consultant
Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Review”

OverallPlease see why did you make the switch
Pros-East to use -Visually pleasant -Free -Versatile (eg. can add time off and shows in different colour)
ConsI did not really find any cons with Resource Guru. However, perhaps it would be nice to have an option of integrating with Microsoft Outlook?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Bettina C.
Operations Director
Marketing and Advertising, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Creative department”

OverallLove the product but would like to see some more detail in the functionality
Proshow it looks in calendar view, the simple drag and drop of booking.
Conswould like the option to customise the order of appearance (ie drag and drop). it also desperately needs an App! Could also do with the ability to customise the height of the rows so you can fit more in one view (I have 48 people I need a birds eye view of and the row height is a bit of a waste of space). Also the dashboard doesn't have wait list on it which is a pain for users. The reports are a it archaic as well so would like some more options there.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Rachel G.
Environmental Scientist
Environmental Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Generally an excellent tool”

ProsI like how easy it is to track my schedule, my colleagues schedules, and our communal equipment.
ConsI dislike getting the email with my daily schedule at midnight. I'm not sure if this is a company setting, or if the email could be moved to a more useful time or cancelled completely. It would be helpful to get an email if your schedule has been changed for the next 48 hours or similar.

Vendor Response

By Resource Guru on September 24, 2019
Hi Rachel Thanks for your feedback! We do have plans to let you change the time of the daily schedule email in future, but in the meantime if you'd prefer to turn it off you can do this in your Settings by following the walkthrough here https://help.resourceguruapp.com/en/articles/2942114-switching-off-daily-schedule-email-notifications I hope this helps, but please let me know if there's anything else I can do for you. I'm always happy to help! Thanks, Kat
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
James R.
project manager
Media Production, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Part-Time Power-house planning”

OverallResource Guru has allowed us to keep track of many, many freelancers and zero hours staffs availability over a number of projects across different business divisions. This allows us to share staff easier and takes work out of scheduling and at times saves us hiring and instead lets us give others new opportunities
ProsRecently my favourite feature has been the ability to organise groups of people into teams. It really helps with quickly identifying shifts and availability in mine and others teams.
ConsOur issue is the time availability settings. Our work is set across multiple projects that have ever changing start times outside of the'9-5'. Since we mainly use it for operational shifting rather than day to day planning, we have to set everybody as available 12 am to 12pm everyday.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Amy B.
Manager, PMO
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Guru Review”

OverallVery good and wasy
ProsThe scheduling look with the bar graphs.
ConsCapacity is tough to really gage what is happening from a project level.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Nil P.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018

“Just works”

ProsIt's online, live, easy to use and easy to update, GUI is nice, all information is easy in a GANTT style.
ConsNot available on a phone!!! Needs an app, some copy paste/duplicate features could be added. Should sync better to iCal and be updatable from iCal to RG.

Vendor Response

By Resource Guru on January 19, 2018
Hi Nil Thanks for sharing your review of Resource Guru! I wanted to let you know that you can most definitely copy and paste in Resource Guru - just use SHIFT+drag. You'll find a demonstration of this and other handy tips in our Help Center here: https://help.resourceguruapp.com/customer/en/portal/topics/839971-little-tips/articles I also wanted to let you know that dedicated mobile apps and two way calendar sync are firmly on our roadmap :) Thanks again, and please don't be a stranger if there's anything we can do to help! Kat
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018
Kenny A.
CEO
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Simple and basic but effective and problem solver”

OverallIt provides a birds eye view of our capabilities, quickly proving our team with the information required to manage the bookings for everyone of our 60 Devs.
ProsThat it does exactly what it should. No complex features such as budgets or projects.
ConsWe were hesitant at first because of the pricing but after using it for a few months we realized that it became a most for our Staff Augmentation business model. Our Capabilities team couldn't survive a day without it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“The Resource Guru Support is Top Notch!”

ProsOur use of Resource Guru is sort of out of the box. We use it for scheduling barn space in the Agriculture Industry. The support team has always stepped up to find ways to enable Resource Guru to fit with our unique needs. If it works this well for our out of the box use, imagine how well it works for it's intended purpose. For us, the reasonable price has been worth the gamble of using a software not meant for our intended use.
ConsIn our out of the box use, the biggest con - is the speed at which the software moves from page to page. However, this might not be Resource Guru's fault. It could be our internet capabilities, or the amount of data we plug in for our purpose. For our use, I'm looking a 15-17 week time frame, like most people look at a 8-10 hour work day. If you use the software as it's intended, this probably wouldn't be a problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Deep C.
Digital Project Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“We love working with this tool and being able to see the company bookings at a glance.”

OverallInsight on how long projects are booked for, how many hours are booked against a project and if this makes sense for our sales and we're quoting projects correctly. An easy to use tool that allows us to be able to update and manage resources quickly and ever so easily.
ProsEasy to add projects, easy to add customers, easy to add team members. The email summary sent out to everyone is great and easy for users to gain access to be able to see their work for the day/week/months coming. The reporting functionality allows us to export the information cleanly and easily for internal reporting needs
ConsUnable to track timesheets and then be able to compare how accurate bookings vs actuals will be. Would love to be able to have Project Manager's be able to book their times through the site and then have it approved by Resource Manager.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Régis C.
Head of Operations
Graphic Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Really good software”

ProsEasy of use Clear and simple interface Reports
ConsExtensions to third party software Only classic planning view, it could be useful to have a capacity view

Vendor Response

By Resource Guru on September 26, 2019
Hi Regis! I wanted to follow up on your review to mention we do have an availability bar that you can toggle on or off, which shows capacity. You can find some more information about that here: https://help.resourceguruapp.com/en/articles/2942098-using-the-availability-bar This is hidden by default to de-clutter the schedule, but might be useful to you! Cheers, Kayla
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Animation, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018

“Great app - looking forward to increased functionality”

ProsIt allows my team to update resource use on their own schedule, and eliminates hours of my time in schedule and team management. I also love that I can archive resources when they are temporarily inactive, therefore saving money.
ConsWhat I would like to see in the future: 1. Ability to get daily "Meeting Room" email or report of usage. (Ability to set the time that this occurs would also be helpful) 2. For events that an administrator assigns to a booker, it would be great if the booker could also edit the event. 3. Allow for same-day event schedule changes to notify the resource.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018
Mark J.
Student Media Coordinator
Primary/Secondary Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 21, 2015

“Great tracking, greater accountability”

ProsResource Guru has been fantastic to work with. They have always had excellent customer service, their product is easy to use, and the bills are on-time and consistent. At this point, Resource Guru is a staple program for our college TV station.
ConsThe only thing that I would change would be allowing for custom fields on resource checkouts as a standard. There is currently a large text box for any comments, but it would be great to have the ability to name and create one line text options if you use them for every checkout.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you need solid tracking of resource materials, this is the best. The ability to upload photos, archive resources (i.e. take them out of rotation) and easily bring them back saves hundreds of hours a year in human capital tracking down "misplaced" equipment. As long as you are consistent with tracking all of your resources whenever they are used, expect a dramatic reduction in the amount of time spent locating resources.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 21, 2015
Stuart T.
Production and Events Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Easy to use GURU”

Overallhave used it for a few years - we find it as our main scheduling tool throughout the agency.
ProsResource Guru is easy to use, control and make amendments. We find it very easy to reach jobs through the agency and reallocate where needed.
ConsIt would be amazing if you could complete a boob when done - a tick box for similar for others uses to see if a job has been completed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Nicole K.
Logistics and DOT Compliance Manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Chaos Coordinator for Sure!”

Overallwhen I first started using it- I immediately navigated through it and was able to use it first day. Very easy! Would Recommend!
ProsResource Guru is like my own little personal assistant where I can pretty much organize my entire day from scheduling my warehouse inbound/outbounds to scheduling drivers for events as not to overlap them.
ConsThe new beta version looks awesome- wish we could edit it now. Old format kind of hard to read at times for scheduling.

Vendor Response

By Resource Guru on May 1, 2019
Hi Nicole - thanks for the great review! The beta schedule has the same functionality as the existing one except availability exceptions (coming very soon), so you should be able to create and edit bookings in there without any problem. It works well on mobile too :) Thanks, Percy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Fred J.
IT and Business Admin
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019

“A breath of fresh air.....”

ProsIts flexibility, take a quick peek at all your resources weeks ahead . The filters, the reports.
ConsSo far, I would like to have assignment notifications, not automatically, but it will be nice if I could choose to send or not an official assignment notification.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 27, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 8, 2019

“Glorified spreadsheet”

OverallCauses more problems than it solves. We used to use a spreadsheet, it was much better than this.
ProsNothing at all. It has no redeeming qualities.
ConsAllows you to book time without tasks. When asked to change this was told couldn't because some companies want that function, ie it isn't an option as it should be. The drop downs are fiddle and make it easy to select a blank, but doesn't warn you. Can't toggle between scrolling list and typing to search without cl king out of area. You have a set number of hours per day you need to book but it doesn't highlight those that are short- you have to hover to see remaining time but that function doesn't work properly, resulting in multiple clicks to get it to trigger. Colour by project doesn't actually do it, I'm on 6 projects yet only see 2 colours. Can push to calendar but not pull- useless function as meetings are booked in calendar to allow invites, you want guru to pull that data in to autofill. Though it is web based it is impossible to use on a mobile. The popups are always off screen, making it impossible to use - mobile friendly websites have been around for a very long time, lazy to not have it here, particularly as would allow people who are on the road to log their time on he go. Not worth the hassle even if free.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
July 8, 2019
Richard L.
Service Specialist III
Facilities Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“Makes it super easy to stay on the same page as my coworkers!!”

OverallWe do not have the scheduling conflicts that we used to have in the past.
ProsEasy to use from anywhere and you can filter out the schedules you don't want to see. We no longer have issues figuring out vacation coverage for our people.
ConsWould like to see an iPhone app and an Android app in the future instead of suing the web browser all the time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Nev K.
Senior Client Lead - IT Security Consulting. Central & Atlantic Canada
Telecommunications, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018

“We have had this tool for about 4 years now and we have come to rely on it heavily. ”

Overallorganization and accessibility to a schedule managed by many
Pros- online so you can view it remotely - clients can be color coded - you can set various permission levels - reporting is accurate - customer service is fast
Cons- searching for a specific project can be a challenge with no search feature - nothing else, it works well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 3, 2018
Tom M.
Presedent
Maritime, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Resource Guru for scheduling technicians”

OverallWe used Resource Guru to replace our whiteboard scheduling system and it works amazingly well. The simplicity of use is what made it stand out from other products and is what has allowed it to work so well for our application.
ProsThe simplicity of adding and editing projects is the biggest strength of Resource Guru
ConsThe lack of a smartphone or tablet app Search functionality is weak
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Andee M.
Product Admin Assist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018

“Resource Guru is an amazing tool for us! Special thanks for helping us restore our account. ”

ProsI love that Resource Guru allows anyone with an ID to create a booking. this helps our Production team keep tabs on equipment / what is being used and what is not being used in an efficient manner. Customer Service has been outstanding & prompt. Even around the holiday season. Thanks again Guru and crew, you have an outstanding product and a fabulous support team. Special shout out to Kat who helped us out in a tight spot recently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2018
Lidija B.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017

“Excellent. Love it.”

ProsThis software is very easy to use. I like the new option with assigning a Project IDs. The email notifications are great as well. I also like that we can schedule sick days and vacations days.
ConsI really wish this software would have a UNDO option. Sometimes instead of a copy I would drag and move the item from one person to another. Also, I like the notifications, but I wish we could schedule them to arrive at different time, not at midnight.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017
Adam W.
Senior Copywriter
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Taking care of business”

OverallSmooth.
ProsIt's clear what I'm doing, and it can change at any time. Maybe a notification of this would be nice? But the data sections explain to me what I need to do, who I'm working for, and what the timeline is. It's a clear, one-stop app for managing my time effectively.
ConsNotification - I'd like those to come to me when something changes - jobs cancelled, change of timings, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Mike B.
Executive Director - Consulting
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“Simplified resource management”

OverallResource Guru has taken us from an old Excel spreadsheet that was highly inaccurate, and moved us onto a web based platform that is very intuitive and graphically depicts who is working on what.
ProsResource Guru provides a simple, intuitive UI to help me manage a global team's assignments.
ConsI can't assign multiple resources to the project. I have to set up the project, then go 1 by 1 through each resource and assign them individually.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Source: GetApp
November 29, 2015

“Great product but no development”

OverallWhilst it Guru is a promising, flexible and easy to use product it really is just bare bones at the moment and they have failed to deliver any additional functionality since launch despite increasing pricing. The forums are filled with requests and suggestions for highly useful add-ons and improvements that always receive the same answer "It's on the road map but we are working on other aspects of development". However, there have been no new releases and even the highly anticipated Vacation and Leave function slated for October 2015 has not actually been delivered. In fact the only thing that has changed is a change in pricing model that has upped the cost of the product. So, to conclude, even though Resource Guru has great potential the increased cost combined with a complete lack of development and capacity for integration make it a waste of time and money. Sad really because conceptually it is a fantastic product.

Vendor Response

By Resource Guru on November 30, 2015
Thanks for the review Ossian! While I understand your frustration at the low frequency of new feature releases recently I'd like to correct you on a few things. It's not true that we have failed to deliver anything since launch¿for more information on our product updates you can go to the "Product Updates" section of our blog http://blog.resourceguruapp.com/category/product-updates/. We are sorry that our leave management feature is not yet live but it is a large and complex upgrade to Resource Guru and we want to ensure it is all perfect before we release it. We hate the idea of our users doing our testing for us. Although we haven't directly integrated with any apps yet, we have developed webhooks (found in your account settings) which deliver realtime updates enabling you to create many DIY integrations using services like Zapier. We also have an advanced API (more details can be found at https://developers.resourceguruapp.com/). We want to wait until the product is slightly more evolved before we start working on integrations and the work we've done to date will put us in a very good position to do so when the time comes. Lastly, I noticed that you only gave our customer support 2 stars. We pride ourselves on giving excellent customer support to all our customers and the team will be very disappointed to hear this. Apart from reading comments about features being on the roadmap (while you may find this frustrating, we are only trying to be honest and not make promises we can't keep), was there anything else about our customer service that you found inadequate? Once again, thanks for the review and I hope we can bring a smile to your face in the future as we release more features.
Source: GetApp
November 29, 2015
Jane K.
Software Test Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Resource Guru”

Overallok - centralised web based reporting tool
ProsWeb based - ease of access - means i can access from home
ConsI don't find it easy to get the info i want. I find it annoying that i have to pick filter for person every time, as i am non managerial i wish there was a feature to default it to filter only on my name for every screen. I would like in the longer term for met o be able to add a favourites group which is retained after login so i can see the whereabouts and time recording for my team mates and manager. I wish chat support was available every day instantly for Monday to Friday
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Richard H.
Delivery Coordinator
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Powerful”

OverallWith a pool of 20+ talented developers and testers, without something like Resource Guru it's difficult to allocate resources to projects unless you're a whizz at Project, which I'm not.
ProsI really like the speed with which I can add resources, projects, bookings to the schedule including leave bookings. The reports are terrific, the Excel export has everything you could ever need!
ConsThe Split tool sometimes doesn't find the breaks on the Beta schedule. I'd like to be able to create public filters, rather than just private. I know I can share the URL but it's a bit cumbersome.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018

“Excellent simply way to plan resources”

OverallEasy resource planning and everyone can access.
ProsCan set up clients and projects in multiple ways which support your business. Colour coding allowing provisional bookings to be easily identified. Reporting with output to xls format.
ConsWould be useful to be able to add charge out rates to projects - at the moment export to xls and then combine with other data rather than being able to report in one go.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2018
Andrew H.
CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Great for visually tracking where our staff are”

OverallVery positive, we use it daily across the whole organisation
ProsEasy to add, administer and record time. We can also integrate to the API to easily see who has free time and surface this through other channels. It also allows the whole company to get a view on who is free and when
ConsIt's quite expensive for what we use it for, so this makes it a decision point as the company grows.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Emelda M.
Sage Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019

“The best thing that happened to me today!”

OverallJob scheduling, job scheduling, job scheduling......5 star!
ProsThe integration to my calendar is so seamless! My supervisor doesn't need to call me and scream, poof i just check my calendar and instantly i know what i am doing for the day or week.
ConsWell....Whats there not to like :) I wish i could be able to edit my calendar from my synched calendar...hope it makes sense.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019
Rashmi S.
Principle Architect
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019

“Amazing tool”

OverallResource guru has made my work life easier in terms of resource allocation. The tool is very handy.
ProsThe project allocation section (Schedule) is very user friendy, the tool doesn't require any training or tool walkthrough, it is very intuitive.
ConsThe saved filters doesn't have the edit option, this is required is a new team member is expected to be included in the filter group
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019