Luminate Online Marketing Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Luminate Online Marketing

Marketing automation tool which enables online fundraising through dynamic email campaigns. Learn more about Luminate Online Marketing

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Emily S.
Online fundraising manager
Civic & Social Organization, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019

“Walled garden that failed to keep up with changing world”

OverallFor a small nonprofit trying to accomplish simple tasks, Luminate's all-in-one nature would be an advantage, but I can't imagine a small nonprofit having the budget for this tool. Any nonprofit who can afford this product is likely doing things far too sophisticated to accomplish without a lot of hacky workarounds. Blackbaud is a company that competes by acquiring their competitors and letting the product wither. LO's predecessor, Convio, was a pretty good early online nonprofit platform, but after the Blackbaud acquisition, they lost most of the original staff and fell permanently behind the curve on innovation.
ProsAs an all-in-one tool, there were some built-in easy personalizations and a universal login.
ConsVery difficult to flow information to and from other tools. Query tool has significant limitations in capability - no nested parentheticals, e.g. ((a AND b) OR (c AND d) OR e) AND (x or y) AND z - and takes forever to run. Reports similarly limited and run slowly, occasionally hanging up and never finishing. Spend a lot of time exporting reports, manually manipulating them in Excel, and reuploading them back into the system. Limited number of custom fields available. Clunky interface that's difficult to train new employees on. No significant automation capabilities. Always 1-2 years or more behind the curve as new features become industry standard. Eventually started building a next-gen product that operates in parallel to the legacy product and requires the user to toggle back and forth between products and push data from one to the other (with a wait, of course) instead of all the features being available in the same product. Nickel and dime you with additional costs for anything remotely advanced or new.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019
Jamie H.
Development Coordinator (DBA)
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3.5/5
Value for Money
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2016

“Luminate Online: Sophisticated, Imperfect”

ProsOverall, I really like Blackbaud. I'm an expert user/administrator of several of their products. And to be perfectly frank, Blackbaud is THE industry standard software. You can go with another vendor, but Blackbaud WILL end up buying that product out. Luminate in all of its iterations is a perfect example of this. It used to be Convio, its own, standalone non-profit software company. It is now a product in the Blackbaud family. I use Luminate in conjunction with Raiser's Edge via a Blackbaud-provided integration plugin. One thing I really like about this is that my two database software components communicate with one another. I also really like that you can use formulas--from simple to complex--to generate targeted ask strings for constituents in emails and donation forms. And that is the best thing about Luminate Online. It is powerful and customizable. It is capable of nuance and automation. It has API access for developers. These things are vital in the world of internet marketing, communications, and donation processing. I am also thrilled with its capability to automate recurring giving, providing recurring donors with logins to self-manage some of their giving information. Recurring giving in Raiser's Edge is a relatively manual process still. For orgs with large recurring donor groups, this product can help save a lot of time and energy by automating many of the aspects of managing these donors.
ConsMy biggest beef with Luminate Online is that it is ill-equipped to deal with non-individual, organizational records, such as businesses. There really is no functionality for org-type records, let alone the ability to manage and communicate with contacts. I would really like to see this part of the product fleshed out more in a similar way to the Raiser's Edge. I also really dislike the event management piece of Luminate Online. It lacks basic functionality, such as the ticket buyer being able to provide guest names (!). It's almost unbelievable that any 21st century software product that provides event management functions would be incapable of collecting the most rudimentary, necessary information for an event. Both of these issues are points in the software that make it clear this product was acquired by Blackbaud and not designed from the ground up by Blackbaud. Small snags in integration and imperfections in the product become sore points after a while, and the only way to overcome them is to have some serious web-developing firepower at your command. Many of Luminate Online's issues CAN be overcome by having a consultant or in-house web-developer customize the product for you. However, small non-profits rarely can afford this.
Recommendations to other buyersI recommend this product to larger non-profits with large budgets depending on the size of web, marketing, and communications staff and their capacity. It's a big product, and it is spendy. This product WILL require significant staff time to be used properly and effectively. I also recommend that orgs who purchase this include training in the purchase contract because it is not intuitive to learn. That said, after over a year of having and using this product, I do believe it is worth buying. I am constantly finding myself appreciating the automation (I use it for targeted email welcome series). I appreciate that it integrates with Raiser's Edge. I appreciate that it has a robust support team behind it, which can be accessed by phone or chat. And I certainly love the recurring gift management aspect.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019

“Not very user friendly ”

OverallI have used TeamRaiser in Luminate a few times to create fundraising pages for kids in need of care and shared giving links via our website, social media however we weren't very successful with campaign and the platform could be updated as far as design, templates offered.
ProsIt's a great tool for event, volunteer management and crowdfunding. The TeamRaiser portion of Luminate offers a crowdfunding feature where you are able to create different fundraisers and share links via your website to direct people to make a gift.
ConsNot very user-friendly and very tedious to me as far as the TeamRaiser software part of Luminate. It's very time consuming and tedious to create crowdfunding pages and requires you multiple steps to create a profile for another donor. I spent an hour trying to create one before giving up. If you want to create fundraising pages and share via your website it's easy however it gets complicated if you want to have your donors create their own pages and share with others as it requires just one person to manage all accounts so basically we need to create their profiles for them and all donations from their personal link go through my one email for all donors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 18, 2019
Keri E.
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 5, 2014

“We purchased the platform nine months ago”

ProsThis product integrates with Raiser's Edge, which streamlines data entry. They have a great program called Go!, which takes you through three different email campaigns and provides specific direction and feedback to grow your email lists. It is not difficult to set up new action forms. Emails are not difficult to send (especially if you are working off a template designed for you in the Go! Program). Blackbaud has been quick to respond to concerns and problems that arose from the integration with Raisers Edge.
ConsNavigating to some of the reports is less intuitive than I would like. But, like anything, once you understand the structure, it is okay.
Recommendations to other buyersFind out about the Go! Program. This really aids in the learning process and helps build templates and models for future campaigns. It is designed to grow your list with a result of the program paying for itself. It provides training sessions every two weeks for a year. If you do this program, look ahead at the year and the campaigns you will be building out and start planning early. Also, they will create a newsletter each month. We just had them make a different template each month and put the content in ourselves so we had more email templates to choose from.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 5, 2014
Sally R.
IT Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2.5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2016

“Bad Timing for us”

ProsIt is powerful in the use of the data and also in the production of web pages.
ConsIt seems like every time we pay for some customization, then not long after, it becomes a feature or fix in a future release. I just feel like we're not being advised very well. We aren't a cookie-cutter blackbaud client, so it doesn't always fit with what we are trying to do.
Recommendations to other buyersKnow ahead what your organization is trying to accomplish and make sure that the software has a way to get to those goals.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 22, 2016
Abraham S.
Chief Operating Officer
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 17, 2019

“Good for a very select group”

ProsAs an all in one solution, it works very well. If you can afford it and aren't looking at any of its more advanced competitors, this will get the job done in a basic, matter-of-fact sense. Sleek design with intuitive, though limited, interface.
ConsWe found the pricing to be more than we were willing to put up with for long. Very limited in the ability to customize your dashboard and tools. More affordable alternatives exist on the market with more powerful tools, resources, and support staff. I also did not appreciate being charged for any little feature I wanted to add to my account that really should have come standard.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 17, 2019
Shaun W.
Special Events Coordinator
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 23, 2015

“Great product with a lot of potential”

ProsThe flexibility and the integration are the best parts.
ConsBlackbaud has acquired a lot of products over the years and even though integration is happening, your needs may be slower at integration than others.
Recommendations to other buyersBe patient. Be willing to learn. Keep your mind open to what the software COULD do. I can do a lot but it's a lot to take in all at once.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 23, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Horrid, stay away!”

ProsNothing. Since this space has to be filled with 100 characters I will reiterate that there is nothing positive to say about this platform.
ConsBlackbaud is a hydra with a thousand heads and zero direction. It's products, including Luminate, are archaic and outdated, lacking in user experience, features and functionality. Platform support is laughable. Choose an alternative and stay far, far away!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Ali B.
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2015

“Easy to use, amazing results!”

ProsI like that it integrates almost seamlessly with Raisers Edge! I love how the Constituent 360 database tracks every interaction a user makes.
ConsI don't like that the C360 database doesn't allow for Organisational records. That's silly Blackbaud! And the preceding alpha and zeros on a receipt number don't transfer to RE.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you want a product that's incredibly easy to use, extremely useful and super intuitive, this is it. Creating donation forms is point and click, drag and drop easy, and it integrates with RE easily! You can easily create surveys and custom pages and the email capabilities are the best I've seen! Not only do the email campaigns allow you to track click through, forwards and unsubscribed, but you can track donations that were prompted from that campaign! My Communications Team thinks I'm a wizard! The really great thing? I'm still learning, so I know its going to get better!
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 13, 2015
Amanda P.
Director of Education
Maritime, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017

“Easy to use without a programmer, but much better with programming experience.”

OverallThe biggest thing I've been using this for lately is event registration and management. Without this product we wouldn't be able to pilot the programs we're piloting right now.
ProsVery robust software with a ton of features built in. It requires some initial training to get started but once you get the hang of it, figuring out all the menus and features gets easier.
ConsThe interface can be clunky at times. Some things require navigating multiple menus and clicking multiple times to complete a task. But overall the functionality is incredible.
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017
Keri E.
Database Administrator
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 28, 2015

“Luminate Go! ”

ProsI loved their Go! Program. It enabled us to get up and running with our eNewsletter, and various eCampaigns. Providing templates and guidance.
ConsNot as intuitive as I would like. Also you either have to use the WYSIWYG Editor (which can be buggy) or know HTML.
Recommendations to other buyersLook at what support and programs they offer to get you up and running (ie ask about the GO! program).
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 28, 2015
Jackie A.
Development Officer
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2015

“We use LO in conjunction with TR. We have several TR events each year.”

ProsIt is easy to use once you spend the time to learn the product and receive the appropriate training.
ConsThe learning curve is steep. There is a big up tick in learning the product and using it to meet best practice standards.
Recommendations to other buyersThis is only a product you should buy if you also have the staff time and capacity for training.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2015
Angie S.
Development Associate
Hospital & Health Care, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 12, 2015

“Luminate Online is a great email and fundraising tool”

ProsI like that it syncs with Raiser's Edge and is very easy to upload data into the system.
ConsI wish the donation pages were a bit easier to design.
Recommendations to other buyersLuminate Online has many functions. I think it would be good to make sure to have an experienced IT professional to help with the evaluation as some of the functionality is advanced for a basic user.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 12, 2015
Barb K.
Database Manager
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
2.5/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 28, 2015

“Luminate Online "Go to the community"!”

ProsIt's a wonderful way to engage with your constituents and look at online marketing as a tool for growth.
ConsI want a live person to ask questions to, without having to be told "post it to the community" every time an issue comes up. And then having to wait a day or two for a response or comment.
Recommendations to other buyersthe learning process and bi-weekly trainings have been great. I feel as though we have grown into the process with the other non-profits in my cohort.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 28, 2015
Molly P.
Director of Development
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2015

“Luminate provides an on-line branded look!”

ProsThe look of the finished product is incredibly professional. The software is also easy to use after you spend time learning it.
ConsIt has been difficult to get used to using the Community when issues arise however on the other hand the Community is an excellent resource.
Recommendations to other buyersMake sure you allocate the time to learn the software.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 8, 2015
Alicia S.
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 14, 2014

“Used service since 2006”

ProsI love that I can do everything in one tool. The initial training and ongoing resources are great. The support team is helpful, and if you ever use client services, they are even better.
ConsThe price is a little steep, and the reporting could be a little more in-depth.
Recommendations to other buyersDon't just take the surface demos; really ask some deep questions. Make sure all the departments affected have buy in. Discuss not only what you need now but also what you want to grow into. Find out what happens to your data if you ever move away from product.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 14, 2014
Anna P.
Civic & Social Organization, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 1, 2014

“Luminate Online Rocks!”

ProsLuminate Online is a cutting-edge and forward-thinking software that leverages the strength of the world's leading fundraising software developer with the input from actual end users of the product. Blackbaud listens to us!
ConsIt's slightly expensive, but you get what you pay for.
Recommendations to other buyersNo software is "one size fits all." Find the solution that works best for your organization.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 1, 2014
Jody J.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 14, 2014

“Luminate Review”

ProsIt allows us to create online fundraising sites when you have little knowledge of website design.
ConsTheir eCommerce module is out of date, and many times, we find that we are battling the system to do what we want and writing custom code to get what we want.
Recommendations to other buyersYou should have someone on staff that is very knowledgeable in web design and coding.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 14, 2014
Kelsie D.
Environmental Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
3.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2015

“Luminate Review”

ProsThis product is fairly easy to use, and if I have any questions the FAQ or Luminate employees are easy to get in touch with.
ConsIt's similar to other products but, it seems to lack some of the features of Salesforce.
Recommendations to other buyersI don't have any recommendations for others evaluating software like this.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 4, 2015
Felipe Z.
Programmer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 25, 2018

“is really necesary?”

OverallI really don't like at all, but i have to work with
ProsI love web pages that can help us with the task we need to do, and this tool do that I need to do, but personaly i do not really liked
ConsSometimes need a previous training before you start and its a little bit complicate, if you are not familiar with manage web pages
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 25, 2018
Shawna S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2016

“Workhorse, but clunky and challenging to use”

OverallLuminate's email marketing tools are clunky. The segmentation is challenging as is building split tests. The support materials are dense but the support team itself is knowledgeable, which is the only saving grace in this review.
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2016
Lance M.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2015

“Mysurvey22”

ProsThe speed. It is very reliable and dependable. Like the aspects.
ConsThere is really nothing at all except for maybe the costs.
Recommendations to other buyersGive it time to deploy and make sure you keep it free of viruses.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 27, 2015
stella h.
Environmental Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 25, 2015

“Accountant”

ProsVery professional and prompt on getting back to me
ConsIt's sometimes hard to reach people. Initial contact is hard.
Recommendations to other buyersThe service is superb. There is no room for improvement.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 25, 2015
Hannah B.
AST
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 29, 2019

“Great, intuitive system! ”

OverallOverall experience has been positive! Would defnintely recomend!
ProsI loved how easy it was to navigate and learn.
ConsThere are a few features I wish I could do more with.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Accounting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Expensive for some clients ”

ProsLots of features built in if you have the time to learn them
ConsA bit too complex for your everyday user and pretty pricey for smaller companies/nonprofits who may need to utilize something like this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019