import.io Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About import.io

Import.io is a platform which facilitates the conversion of semi-structured information in web pages into structured data, which can be used for anything from driving business decisions to integration with apps and other platforms. We offer real-time data retrieval through our JSON REST-based and streaming APIs, and integration with many common programming languages and data analysis tools. Learn more about import.io

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 14 of 14 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 14 of 14 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Zakir M.
Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2016

“Great app By Import.io ”

OverallImport.io is great app for data extracting, you can turn web page into data within minute and very simple to learn no need to go anywhere when using import.io
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2016
James B.
Director
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019

“The opportunities that Import.io opens up is immense”

OverallI first discovered and used Import.io back when they had a free desktop browser - this led me to working with Import.io across a number of projects, something that I wouldn't have been able to do without the free browser. It's a shame that this has gone, but I still can't fault the value behind the product these days.
Pros- Powerful - there's more to just extraction these days, with manipulation and reporting - SO easy to get started with, with smart data extraction, there's a lot that can be done without REGEX or XPath - Scalable - Great support
Cons- It's not affordable for the single user anymore
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2019
Verified Reviewer
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018

“Avoid Import.io”

ProsIt's a good tool and has successfully built a product that can easily collect data with just a few clicks.
ConsThey have changed their terms and are now claiming overuse - despite the fact there used to be an account query limit that prevented you exceeding your plan. They have removed this limit, not updated any terms and conditions and have not notified their customer base in order to try and catch out users and hit them with a large 'overage fee' despite there being no mention of this anywhere on their website.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 26, 2018
Nelson G.
Mentor
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017

“Extracting data from website couldn't be easier”

OverallThis saved me at minimum days of manual entry from websites. And that was for a small project. With a large extraction job this would be a life saver.
ProsI set up a extractor to use for data analysis of URLs of many different groups and it was pretty easy to do. I had many contacts from the import.io team and good help. I also worked some on a web crawler. Eventually, I switched off to a different project where I didn't need this functionality, but it worked really well.
ConsI wish products from other for collecting/using data were as good, and that I still had projects that used this excellence product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017
Melissa P.
Director of Marketing
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2018

“It's an 'okay' tool, with the worst customer service ”

ProsThe user-interface was easy to navigate. A certain website, such as a Forum with multiple pages don't work with the tool, but some websites do.
ConsI would advise anyone with looking at this tool to think twice about purchasing and to read their Terms & Conditions very carefully. We tried to close our account ahead of the scheduled relapse date, and Import ignored our calls & messages until the relapse date had passed. When we finally got a hold of Import, their customer service person was not at all compassionate about the situation and refused to refund us.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2018
Myra B.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“The WORST customer experience of my life! ”

ProsYou know, I really did like using the software in the beginning - it helped reduce a ton of time-consuming data collecting. But I now have serious regrets...
ConsAs soon as I had issues, there was ZERO help. They just defer your requests and hope that you'll give up. I did NOT want to renew, so I went to cancel my annual subscription a few weeks before it was supposed to renew. It turns out they require a minimum of 4 weeks notice to cancel! They refused to cancel my subscription and charged my credit card. I spoke to a salesperson and he was the rudest person I've ever spoken to - making false promises and never following up. So now we're stuck with this EXPENSIVE software for another year. If you're thinking about subscribing to their software, my advice is to stay far away!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018
Erin W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2016

“Great tool for what it does!”

OverallWe found this to be a great tool for data mining and parsing specific information from websites. There's definitely a bit of a learning curve, but it got us exactly the info we needed in the format we wanted. We primarily used import.io in conjunction with a Twitter search engine app to compile structured data for searches based on specific hashtags, keywords, and usernames. It did a fine job. We did not have to contact customer support, but I did find online discussions to be useful enough to get what we needed.
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2016
Logan D.
Analyst
Human Resources, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2017

“Intuitive but Overpriced”

ProsNice clean interface, simple dashboard that is user friendly. Easy to sign up and use immediately
ConsExtremely overpriced for what you get. Import.io is designed to make them money, not be a useful service. And the terms and conditions are filled with hidden tricks- if you don't cancel 7 days earlier, they charge you again with not possibility to request a cancellation. No other data service is this starchy. You pay for your queries regardless of whether you use them or not. Most other services you "pay as you go". The pricing structure is designed to force you into paying for more, and keep paying. If you do not need your data for a specific month, you cannot put your account on pause. Meaning, as soon as you stop paying, all of your structured queries permanently disappear. I've started with ScrapeHero and I love it- 1/10th the price of import.io, clean, simple and if you aren't satisfied they refund you, not argue with you. In such a saturated field like data services, I'm surprised they are so structured and hostile. As we are expanding into running hundreds of thousands of queries monthly, I'm glad we did not get locked in with import.io.
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2017
Vincent F.
CMO
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Good Scrapping Tool”

OverallA very easy scrapping tool for those who have no basic knowledge of code and programming. And it's free !
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Nima M.
VP
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2014

“Great data extraction tool”

Overallimport.io is a good, relatively simple API creation tool. Their UI may not be the prettiest, but once you actually drill down into using the tool it can do some pretty powerful stuff. It's made my getting data to integrate so much quicker. The best thing about them though, is their amazing support team. They are always on hand to answer questions and point you in the right direction.
Source: Capterra
July 28, 2014
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018

“Lots of power for non-programmers and friendly pricing”

ProsImport.io gives you the ability to generate custom data through web scraping. Trying to do this with open source tools is possible, but not easy. Import.io makes it much easier if you're not a programmer or sysadmin, and the pricing is reasonable.
ConsSome workflows could have better UI: sometimes there can be a lot of clicking for repetitive and simple tasks, especially on websites with many pages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018
Robin R.
COO
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017

“Great product. Easy to use and FAST!!”

OverallSpeed
ProsHow quickly this product can scrape a page or multiple pages. competitors take hours, this takes minutes.
ConsThe fact that each sub-page costs a credit. It can quickly get expensive if you are extracting data from a number of sub-pages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017
Pascal K.
Co-Founder & Software Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2015

“Easy to use, but no support and many features missing”

OverallThis software is very easy to use. But as soon as questions arise, you are totally on your own. The import.io team directly navigates you to and support forum without helping you. Sadly also a lot of features were missing, like scraping more than 15 items or parsing dates.
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2015
Rick P.
Director
Publishing, Self-employed
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Useful Keyword Tool”

ProsAs someone who runs ppc ads, this tool is useful for extracting data from websites that can then be deployed as keywords
ConsI personally think this software is quite expensive - and recently became more so
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019