Shortcuts Software

Shortcuts Software

4.5 / 5 32 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Multi-site businesses worldwide.


Average Ratings

32 Reviews
  • 4.5 / 5
    Overall
  • 4.5 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Free Demo
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Installed - Windows
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • Shortcuts Software
  • www.shortcuts.net
  • Founded 1993
  • Australia

About Shortcuts Software

Shortcuts is a centralized head office software system, designed to help you work smarter and run your multi-site business with maximum efficiency. Client management feedback, business intelligence, automated marketing, inventory control, employee management, and more.


Spotlight_media_placeholder

Shortcuts Software Features

  • Automatic Re-ordering
  • Commission Management
  • Construction Tracker
  • Franchise Intranet
  • Job Scheduling
  • Online Store
  • Website Manager

Shortcuts Software Reviews Recently Reviewed!

Highly recommend

Oct 18, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Easy to use, highly known so lots of new staff already know how to use. Online booking on Facebook and Instagram and marketing are great and I love the consultation forms on my tablet that my customers can sign. Report and manage staff from home and staff have access of their diaries on their phones.

Cons: I'd like more webinars weekly instead of monthly they are good but I would like more of them. It's good to go back over the things that I sometimes forget

simplicity at its best

Jul 19, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: has to be the text message service. very useful, i find that my clients never miss an appointment when the texts are sent out.

Cons: i cant really fault the system, if i had to i would say that its annoying when clients cant book an appointment via the app once the computer is turned off.

Overall: more clients.

Simple and easy to use great for everyday running of salon appointment bookings

Jul 18, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: once you have it set up you can almost forget about it, the program runs itself without having to work at it daily

Cons: I would like a little more business reports especially on staff performance and product usage. Some of the function for online do not work here in Canada

Seamless

Jul 11, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Anyone can learn it. From computer literate to computer illiterate everyone can get it sorted out. I find it bery easy to use

Overall: It does everything i want!

Detailed and easy to use!

Jul 11, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love how easy this program is to use, and I love all of the reports available to help me keep my salon running smoothly

Cons: The thing I like least about shortcuts, and it's not really a problem at all is that if my main computer goes down it renders all of my computers useless. I wish there was a way that it could be run remotely without having an on-site main terminal needed

Overall: Helps to organize my business

Great system!

Jul 11, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to maneuver and customize, the training sessions are great and super helpful, customer support is always quick to respond

Cons: Had issues with the second license that couldn't be worked out. Followed their instructions and spent money to have a direct line installed and it still didn't fix it.

Overall: Easy to customize appointments and services. Online booking is great and different log in securities are a plus.

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

Apr 27, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Great when it works, which is rarely

Cons: Hardly ever runs properly, takes weeks to fix issues, staff are rude.

Overall: Absolutely disgusting service. Have not been able to operate properly for over 2 and a half weeks, keep getting told that it's been escalated, but still nothing has happened!

Recommendations to other buyers: AVOID!!

Employee using shortcuts

Apr 16, 2017
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Comments: The remind texts the system will send out to your customers are nice. Most things are easy to navigate through but can get pretty confusing at times.

Absolutely love this software!

Dec 19, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: Easy to use, manages all aspects of my business and keeps up with industry changes with regular functionality updates!

Shortcuts isn't a good choice for my salon

Dec 10, 2016
3/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It looks nice

Cons: Its useless, not user friendly, over priced and very basic

Overall: I wouldn't recommend shortcuts to any salon and Ive made this clearly obvious to shortcuts. this software is not right for any non basic salon business. After spending numerous hours/days/years on extra extra extra training, encountering daily and constant system errors and issues. I managed to get help from someone who was efficient and she spent over and hour reprogramming our software after it had been set up incorrectly (by shortcuts). Then everything she spent her time doing was wasted because the system that is shortcuts managed to not save any of her updates. So suffice to say our next 3 training sessions revolved around reprogramming it again.
Please please please do your research before signing up to a shortcuts contract. Perhaps do a trial with them first. Because I am signed to a 3 year contract and would honestly have been better off using a paper and pen system.
Shortcuts is awkward, cluncky and constantly times out. When id had it over a year i was told extra training would require payment and i even paid for my receptionist to do a course which didnt even touch on the system and turned out to be nothing related to shortcuts at all. The help desk is impossible to get through to. Their systems constantly goes offline. Its very sticky and cluncky. Its not user friendly and it duplicates clients contacts and if you ask shortcuts to fix most issue they will charge you unless you nearly have a nervous breakdown.
The marketing tool requires a degree in software programming to be able to use as its completely random and not user friendly.
Before i bought S/C I couldn't have been clearer about my needs before I agreed to this system and ive lived to regret it. It was supposed to make booking easier for me and my clients but its been a complete nightmare. Other software companies were honest about what their systems couldn't do but shortcuts promised theirs could do everything on my list and more. And the truth is its not right for some. But it's not even capable of managing my stock which is extensions and Ive given up. I hate leaving reviews like this but after they fasley used a feedback they asked me to do after a training session I feel its my duty to be honest about this system and prevent others from being duped.

Recommendations to other buyers: Yes try it before you commit to 3 years and £7500 for something that's Google mail could do better for free

Great for large salons with multiple locations

Dec 08, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Reports, customer service, personalization

Overall: I had worked with Shortcuts for years when I was managing a chain salon. It was super user friendly. What I really loved were the training videos that were loaded on it, and available through a quick click for teaching new stylists and receptionists how to use every feature.
There were lots of reports to access that give data on every aspect of the business and for individual stylists. The stylists loved being able to easily ruin a report to make sure they were on top of their goals.

Recommendations to other buyers: If you ever have any problems, you just call and they take over through remote access and can solve anything

Excellent software with amazing support

Feb 05, 2016
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: We been using shortcuts going on to six years and it's been a blessing to have such a powerful operating system to support our business growth.

I have researched other point-of-sale systems including salon biz, salon Iris, mind body, millennium - hands down Shortcuts remains the best for the following reasons.

1) simple user interface
The touch option and visual layout is easy on the eyes. This works with our barbers as our staff are spatially and visually oriented. The icons are self explanatory and predictable.

2) shared credit among staff
As a team-based environment an important feature was for us to be able to give credit to multiple team members for one ticket.

3) benchmarking
A great feature is that shortcuts allows us to benchmark ourselves against other businesses operating within the same threshold. This helps us gauge the health of our business.

4) built-in marketing
Shortcuts also has a built in marketing tool in which we can compile customer information based on a variety of demographics and variables. This information can be exported into an email campaign and sent directly to the customer at no additional cost. Comparatively other softwares outsources this feature thus resulting in added cost/each campaign.

5) genuine and enthusiastic
The truth is, just with all other technology- bugs and hiccups do happen from time to time. What is important is that we are confident that someone at helpdesk is always there to resolve the problem.

We just ranked top 200 salons in North America by Salon Today under growth category. We couldn't have done it without a strong management system. Thanks Shortcuts! Keep up the great work. Lets continue to grow together!

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on February 08, 2016

Thank you so much for the kind words, and huge congrats on making it to the Salon Today Top 200 Salons. We love having Eikonic House of Barbers in the Shortcuts family.

The Worst Company to do business with

Jan 13, 2016
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I wish I didn't have to fill in any stars. In all my years of working with software companies Shortcuts is the worst in customer service. All they were interested in was to get my business at the risk of not being truthful about supporting my operations. It wasn't until I got my training did I learn that they could not configure the software to meet my needs, after the sales team and the scheduler promised they could take care of my request. The hours I wasted on the phone for problems running the software, adding information, ConnectMe (was the worst) failed online booking cost me considerable time and money. No matter how much I complained it was the same story, "I'm so sorry, we will do our best to help you resolve your problem" Updated to Windows 10, then it got worse. ConnectMe could not function without error messages popping up. Their tech group could not figure out how to fix it.

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on January 15, 2016

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your review, and the comments from all our customers, is incredibly important to us. We currently specialize in software for salons, spas, barbershops and cosmetology schools. Unfortunately, as a salt cave, we may not have been the best fit for your unique business model. We did raise this at the outset, however we apologize if you feel we could have communicated this more effectively. We want all our customers to be happy, and will be reviewing your case as we continue to improve our communication moving forward.

THE BEST SERVICE EVER!

Dec 10, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I cannot tell you how amazing SC is! From the ease of use by our staff to the support team at the head office. The wait times are minimal, the issue is always corrected and they have support 24/7! I did do some shopping around awhile back and had the worst experience with another software company that promised the world and delivered nothing. Needless to say I came crawling back to SC. We have them in all 5 locations and the team they have are long term employees (this says allot about a company) when we reach out for support its like talking to family. The company's vison and views are on point! There is no one better out there!

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on December 10, 2015

Thank you so much Luba. Your kind words mean a lot to our team. Thank you for your business and partnership over the years! Great to have you in the Shortcuts family.

Installed this system at 2 of my locations in September 2015.

Nov 17, 2015
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: This system is not user friendly, fails consistently, tech support is always overwhelmed with many issues with credit card processing. I would have not purchased this system but it was recommended by the franchise I belong with. Stay away until failure issues are addressed!

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on November 20, 2015

Hi Orlando. We are so sorry that you have experienced issues with your system and credit card processing. We believe that these should now be resolved, but will be keeping a close eye on your account to make sure everything continues to run smoothly. Thanks for your patience and for taking the time to provide us with this invaluable feedback. - The Shortcuts Team

Tries to be too smart

Nov 04, 2015
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Pros:
Sales staff and pre sales technical staff are amazing. They went above and beyond to get us up and running under very challenging timelines and circumstances. We have more than one location and the ability to share client information is great.

Cons:
Lack of flexibility in reporting, billing and data capture.
We lost all our client history during conversion.

Our Experience:
When we expanded from a small boutique Spa to a second bigger location at a resort it was obvious that we needed a better application for our Spa and Salon.
Shortcuts went above and beyond to work with our bank (not in US) to get CC billing working and get us up and running in a very short time.
Because of the time restraints we might have dropped the ball on our end in testing that Shortcuts could handle some of our special reporting and data capture request.
I wanted information like new client reports (three different categories of clients and consolidated) with our setup if a new client requested a special employee we have to choose if they are tagged as New or request..
Services in the resort have a Gratuity added but some guest also add an extra Tip.. This causes reporting challenges.
They offer some amazing reports that are built around their experience and what owners/managers need. But try to get something like..
All treatments done by an employee with a breakdown of treatment cost, was any discount applied, Gratuity, additional tips
All on one report.. Think Not..

Don't want to sound over critical, its a very good product but might not have been the best choice for us.

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on November 06, 2015

Hi Roderick! Thank you for taking the time to chat with your Shortcuts Account Manager Gabe this week. We look forward to the solutions we discussed being put into place to give you access to the reporting that you need. We really appreciate the feedback and thank you for being part of the Shortcuts family.

Best salon software after looking at top 20 or so

Jul 13, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: Shortcuts is the best people, dont waste any more of your time. It does everything and I mean everything better than all the others. It really comes down to price why i bothered to look at all the options. But when you think it might cost you a couple of dollars a day to probably make 100 times more per day, then its worth every cent,.

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on July 13, 2015

Hi Mark! Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate the kind words - The Shortcuts Team

Poor programme with poor customer support

Jul 13, 2015
2/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: There are lots of positives but overall the programme crashes frequently, there are always glitches particularly when accessing pricing or scanning a bar code. Support is minimal.

Vendor Response

by Shortcuts Software on August 04, 2015

Hi Amber! We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We take the satisfaction of our customers very seriously and would love to chat to you further about how we can resolve any issues you may be having. One of our customer service reps will be in touch with you shortly.

Shortcuts spa software feedback

Feb 14, 2011
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: I am constantly blown away by the support, features, ease, & quality of this spa software program. The support team is absolutely amazing, always there for me no matter what time of day or night.

Cons: There are none

Overall: From my own experience and the experience of other spa owners using the same product I would have to say it doesn't get any better than Shortcuts!!!

a cut above hair studio review

Jan 27, 2011
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: i was very reluctant to commit to a new software program for my salon...i did not want to give up our appointment book that we have used for so may years...i just didnt think it would be that much better for us to go thru the learning process...
i admit, we moved VERY slowly and implemented everything on jan 1. it has been so great..i am amazed at how much i like it.. so professional, so organized, and so much better than before (yes, even better than our old appointment book!) thank god everyone at shortcuts was so patient with me..

Cons: do not have any cons

Overall: the only thing i would like to see is an additional time schedule on the other side of the computer screen...for easier appointment scheduling for stylists whose column is on that side

Shortcuts review

Jan 19, 2011
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Simple to use. It does the marketing for you too now.
You can lock the staff out of doing dumb stuff and also see it from home when you want.
The computer layout is like the book, cards and cash register. No annoying buttons to bother you. Its a Touch screen - you hardly have to look at it to check someone out and book appointments you can just do it Easy while your chatting. I LOVE IT. It tells you everything in the reports that is going on

Cons: It cost a lot to get the software. We have had to buy it three times (for our three shops) - We wouldn't consider running without it though. That would be worse.

Overall: Can't work cheaper without it. I wish they would make the payroll commissions more flexible. It would save me time adjusting the staffs hours each pay day.

Great people great product

Jan 15, 2011
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Great experience from sales to customer service, Shortcuts as always delivered. The product its self in incredibly user friendly and easy to use. All my 26 employees in my 2 salons would agree that the training was easy and the adaptation from paper to computer went extremely well. Also, reporting capability as helped me save a lot of time.

Cons: I have nothing negative to say

Overall: I would recommend buying your salon software from Shortcuts. I personnaly give Shortcuts a A+ mark.

The program and their Staff are the Best !!!

Jan 14, 2011
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Always there and willing to help us solve our situation.
Couldn't ask for better and kinder Staff and just plain Great Customer Service !!!!!
We love the program and how it just does the work for us and always updating to stay with the times and trends!!!!
Thank you Shortcuts, and Eric your the Best !!!!

Cons: Sometimes we feel the computer is smarter than us, but that's human nature.....don't you think !!!

Overall: Highly Recommend to anyone !!!!

easy to incorporate

Oct 29, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: super easy to incorporate into the salon.
now that we have ben using it for a couple of months we are getting the benefits of the program.
i really like eric who has helped us a lot, without the special attention it would have taken us much longer to figure out.

Cons: the initial training was too fast.
even with myself my business partner and two managers none of us could really do anything but make a basic appointment.
so we tried to use the manual which was hard to decipher.
that part was a bit frustrating and i kept feeling like i was loosing my staff's interest in the change over.

Overall: the program itself is easy to use.

PROGRAM IS A PLUS BUT COULD HAVE SOME ADDED FEATURES

Oct 22, 2010
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: HAVE REALLY ENJOYED THE PROCCESS WITH THE COMPANY AND THE PROGRAM SEEMS TO BE A PLUS. WE KNOW IT SPEEDS UP OUR LIFE AND IT MAKES A STATEMENT. THE OVERALL CONVENIENCE IS WONDERFULL AND WE ARE LOOKING TO GROW WITH THE SYSTEM.

Cons: WE THINK IT NEEDS TO HAVE TWO ITEMS ADDED TO ITS DATA BASE.

1 THE ABILITY TO DELETE A RECURED TASK, LIKE A BREAK

2 THE ABILITY TO CONFIRM APPTS. BY TELEPHONE

Overall: WE WOULD HIHGLY RECCOMEND THE PROGRAM AND THE COMPANY ON ALL LEVELS

SHORTCUTS IS VERY USER FRIENDLY AND PRODUCES EXTRA INCOME

Oct 21, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: EASE OF USE, GREAT SUPPORT, 24/7 SUPPORT. THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND KNOWLEDABLE. ERIC, ANGEL AND ERICA ABSOLUTELY GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO MAKE THINGS HAPPEN. ALL BUSINESSES SHOULD HAVE EMPLOYEES LIKE THEM. THE ONLINE BOOK, SET AND FORGET, AND TEXTME ARE GREAT FEATURES THAT NOT ONLY TIME AND MONEY SAVERS, BUT ALSO REVENUE PRODUCERS. SET AND FORGET KEEPS US IN THE CLIENTS MIND ALL THE TIME WITHOUT WASTING 1 SECOND OF MY TIME. JUST SET THE PARAMETERS AND IT MAKES MONEY FOR YOU.

Cons: ALTHOUGH SET AND FORGET IS EXCELLENT, THE SETUP COULD BE MORE USER FRIENDLY..ALSO WOULD LIKE TO CUSTOMIZE SOME REPORTS

Overall: I WOULD AND DO RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANY SALON OWNER THAT I KNOW..ALSO, MAKE SURE ERIC, ANGEL AND ERICA STAY...FOREVER....GIVE THEM A BONUS AS A MATTER OF FACT, OR A RAISE, OR AT LEAST A BOX OF COOKIES.

Jacksonville Beach Hair Salon

Oct 21, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Tech & Customer Support! Everyone at Shortcuts is very helpful and willing to spend the extra time to make sure you fully understand and get the most of their product/software. Eric has been our account rep - and he has been awesome!

Cons: Set & Forget - tho its an awesome feature, it does need to get a few kinks worked out. I'd refer to it as 1.0 version (maybe 1.5) when we wish it was a 3.0 version =) The features are really cool, it really does let you "set & forget", but it is a pain in the a** to set up.

Overall: Yes, shortcuts is awesome! If I were to do it all over again, I would def make the same choice!

Shortcuts simplified

Oct 21, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Quick, efficient, easy, thorough, lots of reports and info available

Cons: Books on days marked holiday or day that employee is off with no warnings. Would be nice if there was a master schedule for each employee, to just go in and change instead of doing each day separately.

Overall: Very highly recommended! We had SAM, prior to this and never used it because the set up was so difficult.

Love it!!

Oct 21, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: Easy to use interface perfect for stylists and computer nivice but with the reporting capabilities that you need. Touch Screen .

Cons: When looking at a report it would be nice to change the dates/location/report requested info on the fly rather than having to start over. A summary page of data on all locations would be helpful as well. These are simply suggestions for improving the program.

Overall: I would recommend this software to a small or large salon or chain. We have 5 locations and it works great. We are able to log in ang get reports from anywhere in the world.

Great Software

Oct 20, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: When we first started looking for a software for our salon, we first looked for simplicity. We have a few computer-illiterate employees and we wanted to make sure it was easy to use. For me personally, I was looking for ways to be able to generate reports, statistics, etc., in order to improve the buisness. This software offered the best of both worlds. The Shortcuts helpdesk is also very helpful. They are always available, 24h/day. Shortcuts also offer excellent programs targeted towards marketing.

Cons: I can't really find any cons anymore. We had a few things we had asked the company to improve when we first got started with the program. Very simple things that we could live without, but could help us stay on top of things when the spa got busy. Since the upgrade, I can't pin point anything.

Overall: Very good software, great customer service. I recommend this software to everyone.

Excellent!

Oct 20, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: We are very pleased with the system! It is easy to operate and the touch screen we opted for has made it easy to use.Text Messaging to confirm our clients appointments has made it less time consuming for our receptionists, saved us money each month, and has opened up our phone lines. Not to mention the customers love it! The other bonus is all the access it gives to the owners. It i has been helpful with growing our salon as far as marketing is concerned.

Cons: The client card has some personal information on it that not all customers feel freely to answer.

Overall: I highly recommend this software for any upscale, high-end Salon & Spa businesses.

Cloud 9 Day Spas Camrose, Alberta, Canada

Oct 20, 2010
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Pros: There is always someone to talk to when you have a question.
The program is very user friendly!!

Cons: Haven't found any cons yet!!

Overall: I looked at a couple of different software programs before I chose Shortcuts and the software and the people did not compare to
Sherry's team and Shortcuts software.
Thank you,
Chris