Ellucian Ratings

Overall
3.5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About Ellucian

Built for higher education. Ellucian works with more than 2,500 institutions in more than 50 countries enhancing operations and enriching the experience for over 20 million students. As the market leader in higher education technology, the Ellucian portfolio is comprehensive and built off of best practices from our community of schools as well as our 50 years of experience transforming the industry landscape. Learn more about Ellucian

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 87 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 87 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018

“Not a good integrated solution”

OverallNegative, frankly. While helpful and polite, the team seems too inexperienced to be of much help. In fact, Ellucian seems to cause most of the problems themselves through self-inflicted wounds. Each update or patch implements some new 'improvement' that breaks most workflows and processes built for the previous version. As such, the hope to get a slight improvement ends up costing weeks of manpower to fix everything else in the test environment over and over again.
ProsIdeally, when functional, the functionality between Ellucian products can be helpful. We use Banner and eRecruit CRM. We expected the CRM/ERP integration to be the best selling point when choosing the CRM application.
ConsDespite being the same company, the products are not as seemless as we felt it should be. It took well over a year of implementation of the eRecruit CRM to customize it to fit with the Banner ERP. Even then, we still find issues where things are not being converted from one to the other well. One example, on the CRM, GB is the country abrieviation for the UK (Great Britain), but in the ERP, this is shown as Gabon. I've wasted so much time programming and converting little things like this that I find it hard to believe they were released by the same company.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2018
Tara F.
Financial Aid Counselor
Financial Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019

“Financial Aid User”

ProsEllucian Banner is the platform that I have used at my previous and current university, while working in financial aid. I have only ever used Banner so I do not have another platform to compare it to. This system has been very beneficial in automating the processing for financial aid. I have used this program for over 7 years. All student, and employee, related information is stored in one location and necessary processing can be handled with Banner. Financially and academic based, this program has helped be the "one-stop-shop" for all information for our large student base. Banner 9 has made the screens easier to use for new users (due to acronyms) but Banner 8 was the most efficient program I have ran.
ConsBanner 9 seems to have a lag between screens that has not yet been improved. Being web-based, it has really slowed down or processing. There are glitches that are quickly fixed but there seems to be more issues with this new Banner program than what we ever dealt with while using Banner 8.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 19, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“University Accounting”

OverallOverall we are very satisfied with Ellucian. It provides our business and finance team books that are used for easy reporting and a clean UI interface.
ProsI have been a user of Ellucian banner for over six years and have been through countless updates. The product keeps improving where I think things are already good, and is quick to address current issues. Our organization loves the fact that we can use a web based version as well. Additionally, the UI is very clean and I can understand what is affecting our balance sheet, income statement, ect., all at a quick glance. Finally, the reports that are generated from Ellucian are very helpful and make it so I can create accurate reconciliations.
ConsThe one problem we run into with Ellucian is that training to use the product is difficult. Many screens have specific acronyms to access them, which is hard for people to remember. However, they have introduced a search function that allows you to use words and it acts more like a google search, which is helpful to find what you need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“Outdated, Bulky SIS ”

OverallEllucian is the big player in the higher ed SIS market. This directly leads to complacency and a lack on innovation in their products. When Ellucian SIS works, it is a mediocre software at best. Hopefully they recognize this and improve their product.
ProsBeing a relational database, reporting out if is pretty straightforward. Querying is SQL based. The end-user and admin support community is active and very willing to help with questions and problems.
ConsThe interface is simply clunky. Archaic layouts, limited customization without large developer resources, poor technical support from Ellucian, and patches that end up breaking more than they fix are some of the many issues with Ellucian SIS. I have worked in multiple modules and all seem to be equally as bad. Admin guide documentation is present but there is a huge lack of functional documentation regarding how changes in tables affect other tables.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Kala D.
Scholarship & Administrative Coordinator
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019

“Decent user experience”

ProsThe updates that came with Banner 9 have made it much more user-friendly, although there's still a long way to go in this department. It has become much easier to search for various Banner forms, a feature that was lacking in previous iterations of Banner. The overall look is sleeker than the previous version and navigation within the forms has been made somewhat simpler with the reorganization of the page and inclusion of tool dropdowns.
ConsOccasional glitches disrupt the daily workflow. Many processes are still not as intuitive as they could be, especially when it comes to entering multiple invoices with separate FOAPAL strings. There is some difficulty getting Banner to talk to other software programs. While exporting data is easier than in previous versions of Banner, some print screen attempts go better than others.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Mark D.
Director of Operations & Data Management
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2018

“Ellucian SIS does what it is designed to do, store data in a standardized manner.”

OverallStandardized data. Student lifecycle data storage. Central hub of data for all things related to the student, their experience, and relationships.
ProsEasy to use and navigate. Validation tables prevent data from being entered incorrectly. Standardized data means consistent reporting outputs and expected values. Covers the entire lifecycle of the student journey so the Ellucian SIS is set up to be the storage space of all student data.
ConsDifficult to customize and add fields to the SIS if business processes require it. Can feel overwhelming for new users to learn the system. Very limited ability for most functional users to create their own reports. Usually need to involve report writers with SQL report writing ability. Reporting on multiple areas of the student journey can be difficult when needing to see multiple screens and forms.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2018
Cyrus C.
Application Analyst/Developer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“Mixed Reviews”

OverallThey are an established Higher Education software that is on the cutting edge with a lot of what they offer. The partnerships they offer with vendors seems to fall short in some cases. The support they offer for the products is generally good. But depending on the application may depend on how quickly they respond to support questions/issues.
ProsOffers a variety of different software solutions that integrates with its ERP (Banner or Colleague). Along with a variety of ancillary applications that integrate with the ERP.
ConsCost would be by far the biggest issue. The second would be that as of late the company has a tendency to tout its upcoming or just released products will work but in reality it is being built and developed as the sales people speak. To be fair their established software generally works well and no complaints.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Ryan S.
Accountant - Internal Controls
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018

“I use this software every day for my accounting job at a major Midwest university.”

OverallThis software has allowed me to be very efficient with my work as I am able to identify any accounting issues that may arise. Additionally, the system makes it very easy to look at prior fiscal years, which is a very large benefit when our auditors are asking for that information.
ProsThis software, and the newest update, has made accounting a breeze. The financial system allows me to easily see where any reconciling item may be, and allows me reference codes so I may gather further detail. The new capability of using Chrome is a great feature as well because our entire organization is comfortable with the format.
ConsMy only con would be that on some screens I am not able to copy certain data, which requires me to manually input the data. This is a small complaint because it is minimal amounts of typing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018
Justin N.
Senior Financial Analsyt
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Banner Finance - A Highly Functional Financial Tool for Higher Education”

OverallOur overall experience with Banner Finance has been very positive. We are able to generate quarterly and annual financial reports that our auditors and finance staff can work with and drill down on to get detail behind the figures.
ProsBanner Finance offers a lot of great functionality but what I liked most about the finance platform was its ability to interface between six campuses with Banner Student to communicate tuition payments and student receivables with our system financial system and update all as though they were one.
ConsBecause this financial platform is so big, when we have experienced problems with Banner, it has caused debilitating shutdowns that grind our finance and accoutning system to a halt and users are on standby until we can get traffic started again.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Avatar Image
Neisha P.
Marketing Administrative Assistant
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018

“Ellucian for Community College ”

OverallIn the beginning I had to constantly keep my list of instructions handy if I wanted to enter a requisition for a purchase order, now its easy because I've done so many. Practice makes perfect!!!!
ProsI liked how you can add features, customize it for the needs of the institution. I work for a small college and we don't need all the extra features that the larger colleges might implement.
ConsIt can be a little difficult to navigate for the beginner. Unless the user knows what they want there is a chance of getting lost. Ive been using the software for about 4 years now and i sometimes get lost or have to search for specific information. There is no menu with a list of options. So I guess what I'm saying is that it would be nice if it was more user friendly, easier to navigate.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2018
Mike J.
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2016

“Colleague as an ERP”

OverallColleague is an overall great product. Ellucian has been working hard to improve Colleague's features and functionality, especially on the Self-Service platform. This work has kept them at the front edge of innovation with responsive design that allows your constituents serve themselves from any device. This takes pressure off of administrative staff so they can focus on quality support to your students. Ellucian does a good job at being connected to their customers and understanding the constantly changing needs in the academic world. They hold focus groups, beta testing groups to allow the engaged community of customers to provide input, and it shows in the quality of the newer products they have created.
ProsMobile friendly self service Integration through Ellucian XE Active user community on Ellucian's eCommunities social media platform
ConsReporting. Expect to spend money on a reporting tool.
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“Banner is a fantastic data management tool.”

ProsIt's a rock-solid application that you can count on. That in and of itself is a huge deal. It works, has minimal bugs, and is the backbone of how we manage our data. When other applications are having a problem or we have a data integrity question, we often say "What is it in Banner?" because we know it will be correct there.
ConsIt can be a little scary at first to new users, which I can speak to from experience. But the new interface is definitely helping with that. I would also love to see Ellucian develop a proper higher-education CRM tool. We had to go with another vendor because we needed something more comprehensive than what Banner could offer (Application Reviewing, Events Management, etc). I think Ellucian is missing out on a huge financial opportunity and could take a massive chunk out of the Higher Ed CRM market if they were to develop one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Timothy S.
IT Project Manager
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“Very stable software used by best higher ed. institutes”

OverallEllucian Banner has provided our students and staff with a single application that manages aspects of course registration, work, bills, payments, grades, academic status. Single sign on module was extremely helpful
ProsIt is a high-end software. Very stable. It integrates with the Microsoft LDAP. We have been using it for student and employee account management in term of course registration, tax forms, billing, salaries, student employment, grading, transcripts. It has very secure and solid database which is essential for the above mentioned matters.
ConsManaging it requires training. It is not easy to administer. The price is very high compared to competing software in the higher education sector.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Cassaundra L.
Assistant Registrar
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Literally the Worst”

OverallOn top of clunky, unreliable system is a virtually non-existent customer service/support team. You can post/reference questions to/by other users, but other than that you basically just get the 900 page technical manual and have to figure it out yourself. If you have a home-grown system and are considering making the switch to Ellucian--don't! Just wait a couple years for another company, like Workday, to develop a SIS that makes sense. Ellucian is a dinosaur.
ProsWhen Ellucian's products were first released--decades ago--they were cutting edge. Banner, their SIS (Student Information System) quickly became the industry standard for enterprise databases on college campuses which transformed the way higher education leaders use data to make informed decisions. Their products continue to be effective for large universities that have every module of Banner installed, i.e. have their entire campus from registrar to bursar to admissions running on an Ellucian solution. When used "out-of-the-box" it does its job, not easily or beautifully, but gets it done.
ConsIt's as if Ellucian (and their strongest competitor PeopleSoft) got comfortable once they dominated the market and just stopped trying to make the actual user experience better. They put on large, fancy conferences and have great branding, but using their systems is a NIGHTMARE. A different programmer designed every form/screen/section so they all function differently. Where two clicks should do, fourteen are required. The bugs far outweigh the features. Something breaks more often than it doesn't. It's awful, but they have us trapped because no one else can compete with them. Sometimes I think it would all be easier if we just used Excel to track student records! Since our school implemented Ellucian products 5 years ago, to the tune of millions of dollars, we've had to add 2 new positions in our office just to handle the tech components. And don't even get me started on what happens when you attempt to customize their products. Endless headaches.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Access your university from your pc”

OverallI have used this system when I was a professor assistant and student
ProsThis product provides a learning management system which makes the jobs easier for students and the professors. Students can easly check their duties and see their activities on this system and professors can easily manage their classes easily.
ConsIf there are a lot of students dont buy this software, during the peak times it makes lots of bottleneck and managing the problem is not that easy always some problem appears if some administrative user did something wrong. The money you pay and the service you have dont compensate each other
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Jacqui G.
Manager
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019

“As a user can be frustrating”

OverallOverall I can't picture doing my job without Banner Finance, however, it can be a source of frustration too. But in the end it really is a powerful tool if you know how to use it.
ProsAs a person who uses this for work, only as a user (not an administrator) it is nice to have everything in one place and all info is presented clearly and as is. Sometimes you do need to take a few minutes or a few steps to get what you need, but its all there.
ConsTransitioning from the last version to the latest has been cumbersome and challenging. Also, knowing the shortcuts for all forms can be like learning a new language.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019
Nadeem H.
Project Lead
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Banner Human Resources Module”

OverallThis product is for higher education institutions. Ellucian is behind many competitors in this space however, it has realized this and is making positive changes in the right places.
ProsCustomer service is very good. The vendor is always willing to listen and help where they can. In addition, there is a customer portal which allows the customer to communicate with one another on issues or ideas.
ConsMy dislike is the current roadmap is very slow to achieve goals. Often release dates will be pushed out and this causes much frustration within the business that has planned to upgrade certain services.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Kathy K.
FA Technology Specialist
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017

“I work with one module for the software and they have a great network for help.”

OverallThe Ellucian software is very helpful in keeping our school on track and making it easier for the student to navigate Admissions to registration to financial aid to graduation.
ProsVery functional and customizable to your school. We get the opportunity to let the company know what we want in the software and they usually update to meet the various schools needs. Very aware of all federal guidelines and requirements.
ConsTraining for use of the module or processes would be nice when something new is implemented. Several screens and options are usually available with short descriptions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2017
Rebecca B.
Admin
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“Great Software”

OverallOverall experience has been great, just a few things that can get confusing or hard to do, but other than that, it is very useful for what we use it for. We keep a lot of information and this software allows us to do that.
ProsThis software allows us a great way to keep track of giving history, event information, solicitations and personal information. Also allows us to pull simple and in depth reports.
ConsCan be a little cumbersome sometimes when you want to dive deeper. Pulling in depth reports can be confusing with continued training.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Ashley V.
Director of Admissions
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018

“Ellucian works well as a student information system. ”

ProsThe software houses all of our student information and IT finds securing the database reasonable for higher education. Though Ellucian, we are able to recruit, register, and maintain financial aid records for students. Our HR office also uses it to house employee and faculty information.
ConsMany of the screens take excessive commands to get through. There are three or four extra steps every time you want to pull a transcript, run an evaluation, or register a student for classes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2018
Justin G.
Accounts Payable Analyst
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2018

“Banner Finance - Higher Education Focus”

OverallBanner Finance allows our AP team to pull vendor data quickly and to export that information for closer review. Vendor management is a huge selling point for this software!
ProsBanner Finance forms allow users to export into excel, which makes research easy. The vast array of available forms provide almost any data across the organization. The form search features are excellent as well!
ConsThe Banner 9 integration seems to make transitioning between forms sluggish.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2018
Greg K.
Application Developer and System Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“Unified ERP designed specifically for higher-ed”

ProsFocused for higher education application. Provides fully integrated, unified database system built on Oracle platform with modules for accounting, Human Resources , financial aid, Advancement, and all aspects of student management from recruitment to admissions through to graduation and alumni relations.
ConsVery expensive, not particularly user-friendly or intuitive, high-cost maintenance agreements, not best-in-class in any area.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
Gil B.
Registrar
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Not a registrar's best friend”

OverallTen years ago I moved from a non-Banner school to a Banner school. The transition to Ellucian's Banner was a disappointment after using my previous institution's software.
ProsEllucian's Banner Student has the basic student records functions included. It will force higher ed administrators to change their business processes to fit the software.
ConsI did not like the tool set (queries, printing, data loads) that come with the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Connie T.
Prospect Research Coordinator
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Easy to use”

OverallWe use this as our database for all alumni and friends.
ProsIt's easy to use and my favorite thing about this software is that I can enter very little info to do a search to find who I'm looking for. The possibilities are endless!
ConsWhen it shows a listing of all the proposals a person has received, I have to pull each one up because there isn't anything about the listing that identifies specific ones. It's a minor irritation
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Avatar Image
Lisa R.
Student Services Technician
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019

“Ellucian User for 15+ years”

ProsSince our college gained access to the web-based version of Ellucian (we call it Colleague at our school, too), it has been a lot easier to use.
ConsI wish the help feature and other help documents were a little easier to follow. We used to have a gentleman who worked in Admissions & Records that would make PowerPoint presentations and quick guides to help out the Ellucian users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“Expensive and old-fashioned”

OverallIt is a complete solution for a university management system.
ProsOne thing you can say about Banner Finance is that it is complete. It can handle whatever a university throws at it.
ConsThe interface is still forms-based, just like in the 1970s. There is a newer web-based interface, but it is just a webified version of the old forms. It could have been much better, but they are married to 50-year-old paradigms.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Cyrus C.
Application Developer/Analyst
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017

“Higher Ed and Ellucian”

OverallAs for an ERP it works they continually develop products that do well but then should have been tested or better yet more thought should have been thought through before deploying to customers.
Prosoffers multiple products gives great support
ConsCost: is more costly than some of its competitors Deployment of newer products to end users could be smoother
Recommendations to other buyersCompany does have good products and has been around a while but it feels like there is constant change over within the company.
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Consolidates all of my educational needs in one place”

ProsEllucian has made it easy to consolidate all of our educational needs and resources, from billing to grades, in one easy to navigate space. Students are able to find what they need with ease.
ConsIt is beginning to look a little dated in comparison to other sites in general, but as a tool for higher ed it is still fully functional and acceptable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Kenneth B.
Database Administrator
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“The Colleague Self-Service offerings are causing excitement with our students.”

OverallIt is our school ERP.
ProsThe Colleague Self-Service Faculty view offers rosters, midterm and final grade entry. Our faculty are so impressed with this new functionality they would fight to keep from losing it.
ConsEllucian is difficult to get to respond to issues. I have been working with the Ellucian Cloud testing and it has taken months to accomplish what should have taken days.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Ellucians”

OverallThe ability to update our Customer Relationship Management system with exported data-sets.
ProsSince this uses Oracle and SQL, I like having the ability to write reports for assistance in extracting data from the data tables we use.
ConsThe software has many different modules and the last version of software released helped out with a more intuitive interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Rachel K.
Program Manager
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019

“Banner is outdated and not super efficient ”

ProsThe ease of navigating through multiple screens and whether or not vendors have been paid along with check dates/check numbers made it easy to relay information back to our vendors in terms on payment.
ConsMemorization of banner codes used for each banner screen can sometimes become overwhelming and inefficient.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Jennifer R.
Banner Business Systems Analyst
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“It's hard to be vanilla”

OverallWe were in desperate need of an SIS and for the most part, it does serve our needs.
ProsI like that we have a consortium we can share ideas and code with and have a single voice to Ellucian.
ConsBanner INB is very clunky to use - even if you are good at using software in general. It is not a very intuitive product; however, the company is moving in the right direction.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“University Integration”

OverallThe integration and partnership of Ellucian and Chrome River has been much needed.
ProsEllucian continues to find new ways to assist the universities with the many needs of the ever increasing technology needs.
ConsNot always do you get the best "training" support, but they will always find a solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Jenny K.
HR Assistant
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017

“Use HR module on daily basis”

Prosthe support for Ellucian is awesome. It took a while to learn how to use Colleague but once I learned my area, it was very useful.
Consit's not intuitive. I wish there was a training that new employees could go to in their area to learn about the Colleague product to help understand how the change I make affects others.
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017
Justin G.
Management Analyst
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019

“Strong ERP, weak UI”

ProsCustomization of user dashboard allows for quick access to each Banner form that you use on a regular basis. The hotkey shortcuts for this software are an absolute must
ConsBanner 9.0 helped alleviate some of this issue, but the UI is a bit clunky and feels dated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 30, 2019
Jeneshia H.
Service Desk Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2018

“Colleague by Ellucian (Student)”

ProsAs a Colleague Support and User, the number one thing I loke about this particular software was the ease of use. It flowed easy for both users and students.
ConsAs an Admin using this software, I found that the update process was very complex and time-consuming.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2018
Nela B.
Staff development specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018

“Worked in Ellucian at a community college ”

ProsVery user friendly. Screens are very self explanatory making it easier to understand what fields need to be filled out
ConsThere is a lot of functions that cannot be changed once saved. In leaves it would be beneficial if you could delete something if it was inputted incorrectly
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“It does what it's supposed to”

ProsEllucian allows us to build a functional interface for students and faculty alike.
ConsIt breaks. A lot. Can't tell you how many times I've been doing something fairly simple and suddenly Ellucian stops working or says a page can't be displayed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Caroline S.
Reigstration Specialist II
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019

“Ellucian review”

ProsIt's fairly easy to use but you do need some training on learning all the acronyms they use.
ConsEvery time they do an update to the product it seems to disrupt the flow of our production because every one is so thrown off the changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2019
Sarah T.
Accounts Payable Specialist
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019

“Ellucian”

ProsI like that you can see a lot of different types of information and don't necessarily need additional software to get the job done.
ConsIt can be difficult to navigate through the different windows until you are really well versed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019

“Banner Finance Review”

ProsAmazing application with many features and modules. Banner Finance in particular is the industry leading software. Great community with exceptional services.
ConsCan be a little cumbersome and very little to no customization.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018

“Not user friendly”

Overalln/a
ProsIt keeps all of our student databases, it integrates with our LMS so grades can be transferred without having to be manually typed.
ConsThe clunky look. It seriously needs to be updated to a modern, easier to use interface.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Isaac S.
Finance Systems & Projects Manager
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018

“Overall good customer service.”

ProsThe community that is always ready to help each other. You can reach out to hundreds of users and get answers.
ConsUpgrades can be very time consuming and complex, the reporting is not up to standard and some user functionality is not easy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2018

“Improves education experience”

ProsI like how it allows users to view academic information easily. For higher education this software is greatly beneficial.
ConsI do not like how there are times where the software is glitchy or will sign out if inactive for too long.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2018
Steven S.
SystemAdmin/Programmer/Analyst
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Difficult to use | Difficult to maintain | Expensive | Releases are poorly tested by Ellucian QA ”

Overall-Business users in all departments find Banner difficult to use -Database engineers find Banner difficult to maintain -IT staff finds Banner difficult to support Banner is obsolete in the technological age we live; there are cloud finance, HCM, CRM, and student information applications which integrate well with each-other and outperform banner in nearly every category.
ProsCustomer support Is friendly and responsive.
Cons-There is a Massive maintenance overhead -There is a need for business users to constantly watch the community for systemic issue and bug alerts -Documentation is intentionally over-complicated to encourage the purchase of Ellucian consulting -Implementation is more complicated than competitor applications due to the age of the product -Data is stored un-uniformly in 'shotgun' style in the database making migration away from banner very difficult. -There is no dashboard -- the entire user interface is a very weak showing -Self service is impossible to leverage for reliable company-wide / student-wide document delivery. -Almost no reporting capabilities are built-in; admins must instead write database queries for end users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Trisha M.
FA Advisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Great software!!! Easy to use and always updating? ”

ProsLots of stuff! Love the new self service!! The innovation of Ellucian is amazing!!! They are helpful !!
ConsSometimes the cost are high for new products and innovations, but I understand they allot of work is done on their behalf.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Avatar Image
Amanda W.
Controller
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019

“Robust ERP system”

ProsBanner Finance is a very robust ERP system that allows you to track your accounting entries.
ConsThere is a large learning curve with any software that is this robust.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2018

“Reliable and secure ”

ProsI like that it is reliable and secure yet it allows me to save my password to log on. Some sites are so secure they do not allow it and it makes it frustrating to sign in and out multiple times.
ConsThere are times when the system is down due to maintenance. That is only because my university will perform updates at times.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2018
Mayra R.
Corporate & Foundation Relations Coordinator
Education Management, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2017

“Great Program, has everything I need to get my job done. ”

OverallAbility to store a lot of information
ProsI like the search capability and ease to look up any entity. I also like the ability to have all the information on an entity in one place.
ConsSometimes there is a lot of duplicate information, I wish there was a way to minimize that or to catch it before some information gets entered twice.
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2017
Ross W.
User & Devices Team Lead
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Decent SIS, not the best, not the worst”

ProsFairly priced, easy to manage, deployment is simple.
ConsNot enough integrations, dated UX for both admin and user side.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019