Arena QMS Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Arena QMS

Arena's product-centric quality management system (QMS) streamlines new product introduction processes by managing product and quality records in a single system. Arena helps ensure regulatory compliance to quality standards and regulations including FDA 21 CFR Part 11, Part 820, and ISO13485. Arena's unified QMS solution enhances visibility and traceability by controlling quality processes in context with bills of materials (BOMs), SOPs, DMRs, DHFs, specifications, drawings, and training plans. Learn more about Arena QMS

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 26 of 26 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Michelle L.
PLM Manger
Computer Networking, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2016

“PLM Project Mgr”

OverallI have implemented Arena PLM over the years. The basic PLM information is easy to create and control. The new features and functionality always make for a centralized location for all information on Products in all lifecycle phases. Supplier access allows seamless communication for critical changes incorporation to product lines throughout various product lifecycles. Change Order/Deviation/ Corrective Action Request interface for contract manufacturer to collaborate actions to take on factory floor with critical actions for inventory dispositioning, for material planning and procurement. Centralized location for compliance documentation associated to items within a product. Workflow for Change Orders and Change Requests. Redlines for all Change Order controlled revisions on BOM's. The system is easily modified for unique requirements per company policies. Cloud application eliminates maintenance and hardware requirements which reduces IT cost. Incorporation of best business practices for the release and controlling all product data. New enhancements make this PLM a gem in a fast pace industry.
ProsEase of use and all the features to control changes of product lines. On cloud enhancements and maintenance done by software provider. Many ways to make this software
ConsSpellcheck. Minimal issues
Recommendations to other buyersGreat support fast response times.

Vendor Response

By Arena Solutions on September 25, 2016
Thank you for providing us with the review! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to continuing our relationship with you as well as Nimble Storage.
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2016
Jeff S.
Sr. Document Control Manager
Wireless, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Arena is a FANTASTIC solution for the small to midsize company”

OverallAbility to manage the product record and collaborate with supply chain partners
ProsIn the startup environment with fewer than fifty employee Arena is simple to deploy, maintain, and exceptional for collaborating with key supply chain partners. Arena's ability to scale with the growth of the company and our expanding supply chain is critical to our success. As the company evolves and grown to more that 200 employees, Arena can evolve and keep pace when your business model. The ability to add additional features such as Quality, speaks well for the capability of the Arena Solution to grow.
ConsAs an Arena system administrator and user I would like to see more flexibility to develop custom work flows. The stage one, stage two methodology is perfect for managing the review and release process gates. However, I need the ability to customize the workflow after the change orders has been released and locked. There is a need for review and approval after release with supply chain partners that can not be addressed and part of the Implementation process.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
Roget R.
Principal Engineer
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2016

“Proud customer for fifteen years”

OverallFor a decade and a half the various modules and services of Arena PLM have been at the hub of my engineering activities. At multiple companies and across several industries this software has been able to deliver powerful, enterprise level cloud-based lifecycle management solutions in a reliable and user friendly manner, and I am amazed by the quality of support. As far as I'm concerned, Arena is one of my core suites in ANY venture, the one quantity I can depend on because it just *works*.
ProsThe sheer flexibility and ease of use, combined with a low barrier to entry and learning curve. Combine that with both desktop and mobile accessibility and you have a best-in-class offering.
ConsThere are a couple of feature enhancements that I've been waiting for a while now, but I also recognize that 1) there are workarounds for those missing elements that are functional, just not pretty and 2) Arena support has shown a clear track record of listening and responding to customer feedback, so I'm fairly confident I'll see those new addons someday.
Recommendations to other buyersA bit of thought early on about workspace configuration and setup makes scalability downstream much, MUCH more efficient.
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2016
Brian F.
Senior Materials Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Arena for a Small Materials Start-Up”

ProsWe primarily utilize ARENA for part and document management. The main feature of ARENA that makes it an efficient tool is the ability to easily connect related parts. If a new part is generated, it is very easy to build out a BOM and attach all relevant documentation. And from the other side, it is easy to locate these items when searching for a particular part. Generating new items and documents is simple and straightforward, and the reviewing system is simple to use (and includes notifications for those who need to complete reviews).
ConsThe search function can be tricky to utilize, and is occasionally glitchy. Sometimes searches for known item numbers of document names will return no results, and wild-card searches seem finicky at best. On occasion, the behavior of the Changes functions can make Revisions somewhat difficult. Depending on whether a change has been rejected or withdrawn, it is sometimes impossible to make further edits to a revision until that change is "deleted", even though it had already been rejected. So there are a few minor issues that can impact the ease of use of the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Yuliya L.
BOM Administrator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“Easy to use, very user friendly software.”

ProsI use the software since 2014 and I love it. As I already mentioned, it's super user friendly and it takes no time to work comfortable with it. I contact support service few times and received the feedback in less then 24 hours. I like that developers listens users inquiries and improve Arena in new releases. Also it's very important that they provide webinars before software updates and send video that Administrators can share to all users.
ConsIt's hard to say because the product is great. However I wish it would be less limitation with number of items mass uploading. For example sometimes our ECOs have more then 100 items but we can not upload more then 50 in one shot
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Bradley C.
Professor
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 27, 2017

“Great for planning an expansion without risking huge CapEx.”

OverallOverall this is a really great product. The high level actions are easy to understand, and there are even graphics that can be used as specific inputs and outputs so that a presentation can have products rather than widgets. Also, the negatives of the strange statistical anomalies really are not a big deal. An experienced operations manager or engineer will know what to pay attention to and what is noise.
ProsThis program's biggest upside is its ability to provide a testing ground for potential upgrades, expansions, or new factories, facilities, etc. without needing to spend huge dollars on a physical pilot or building or the labor cost of a time study or statistical analysis from a Black Belt or other highly paid employee
ConsSome of the random variables do not take into account reality well enough. I understand that true AI is not possible right now, but the fact is that purely statistics based tools can produce results that would never occur in the real world (i.e. A factory only attempts to build 3 units in an entire day and 3,000 the next day because it is possible in a Poisson Process).
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 27, 2017
Ryan B.
Product Development Manager
Sporting Goods, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Arena has been a great tool for transitioning from no PLM to being able manage our products globally”

OverallOrganization. The software has helped me organize and manage all of our part numbers. It has also allowed me to share the most up to date, and controlled information with our suppliers.
ProsThe learning curve is not too steep and the Arena team is regularly improving the functionality. Additionally the customer support has been top notch
ConsManagement of suppliers and sharing information (especially files) with suppliers leaves some room for improvement. Another key improvement would be improving the already useful search function to be able to exclude items from a search.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
John E.
Senior Product Quality Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Arena provides a high degree of value; lots of functionality relative to the cost.”

OverallWe aren't using all the potential benefits at present, but are working to take advantage of them. It is a solid tool for Configuration Management; we are just starting to use some of the capabilities that go beyond classic CM.
ProsThis tool allows an organization with limited Configuration Management experience to do an effective job of CM.
ConsSome of the user interfaces could be improved to be more intuitive for those unfamiliar with CM or databases, but this is more a user training issue.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
kim k.
Director, Regulatory Affairs/Quality Assurance
Medical Devices, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2016

“Excellent PLM System!”

OverallGoing from an access database and manual ECO system to ARENA was a change that provided so many benefits. Our ECO turn around time decreased, we were able to make changes to parts and various BOMs quicker and easier. Changes made to parts/BOMs are fully traceable and the changes are available on ARENA via redlines. The various quality modules provided us with a more streamlined approach to CAPAs, NMRs and Device Returns. Our purchasing function has improved as access to necessary files is all provided via ARENA. Overall the ARENA PLM System is very user friendly and a very powerful tool.
ProsThe change module, items module, and quality module, ease of use, and customer service at ARENA
ConsNo cons at this time.
Recommendations to other buyersNA
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2016
Kay S.
Quality Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Intuitive, easy to use and flexible ”

Pros- The advanced search tool I like the most. It helps me to filter what I need for change orders or part numbers regarding to any given attributes. - I also like the that you can customize attributes for ECRs, ECOs and items
ConsProduct revision control is a bit too manual (no auto-rev-up for parent items). Some GUI at the request level is confusing.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018

“It needs some efforts to start with it, but it worth it. ”

OverallGood product organization, and control of the history of all revisions for all components, even their end of life. Suppliers use it as well.
ProsTHat after you add your products, then easily you can find each detail in it and the history review.
ConsThe time it needed to learn the process, and start to implement it. but it is like that when you start to learn a new process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018
Robert W.
Director Q and R
Medical Devices, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017

“Very good system once you learn it, routing a bit complex for change orders. ”

OverallEsig with all records and as EDMS both for Design and Production, Training records consolidated for those records, now ad hoc capability for external training records.
ProsTraining system now available, configurable for design and production environment. The company appears to listen and be responsive to problems when encountered in the released product.
ConsTraining system does not allow cloning for job specific tasks to be combined for higher level employees that perform multiple functions.
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017
Phil S.
Configuration Manager
Aviation & Aerospace, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Easy to use cloud-based PLM system provides a stable and reliable source for controlled data”

OverallReliable PLM controls
ProsMature software with many quick views and links to related information. Easy to train users, intuitive interface
ConsReport writer is old and awkward and needs overhaul. Inability to provide searches/filters/reports based on stage of route for change orders.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
Michel T.
Product development manager
Consumer Electronics, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Very easy to get started and arrange Arena standard systems to match our way of working”

OverallAll documentation in one place with all spec's and info attached to the BOM. Creates overview, peace of mind, reduces time to search for info, reduces confusion in the organization etc etc
ProsMinimal set up, only create settings to match our need, and all files, data and info is linked to items so all info is in one place
ConsSome User interface details, like the multifunction back key, top right corner is not so intuitive, i often need to explain the function. Moving from one item one level up in the BOM is not so easy, so moving between multileve partlists is not so intuitive. Editing BOM/spec can only be done when you in that level, so you have to first go into the subassy to be bale to add/remove items. There must be a way that this is not needed so you can do it anytime as long as you see the item you want to modify.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
Steve P.
Software
Medical Devices, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 1, 2018

“Feature rich Web 2.0 application for product lifecycle management”

OverallProduct is continuously improving
ProsGreate once you understand how to use it. Easy to use, reliable, cloud provisioned. Help and support are available online, training videos, too.
ConsHard to learn, difficult for users who are familiar with rich application interfaces. It's a hard sell for people used to modern applications.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 1, 2018
Caroline L.
Sr. Document control Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017

“Good”

ProsSimple and easy to use and access. Our users easily to find information and document they looking for.
Source: Capterra
July 11, 2017
Veena D.
Program Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Had a positive experience using the software, and keeps a great record of the history of changes.”

ProsTies items and assemblies together to find full history of the changes, ECO's, and Deviations. The new changes included a header change to show the progress of the ECO, which helps to view the status.
ConsSometimes hard to navigate and search for requested items. The "Changes" View doesn't show a list of items, so unless you know what you're searching for specifically, it is hard to see it on the changes tab.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
Avatar Image
Anthony P.
Quality Engineer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2018

“Recent Updates Have Improved it, but still missing bulk vendor permissions update”

ProsApproval signature flow works very well. Analytics is very powerful, but of course it comes at extra cost
ConsThe notification emails are too frequent and can be very cryptic as one learns the system. There is not bulk permissions update, so when vendor has a new person come on board, that person has to be manually added one-by-one to every Engineering Change Order they need to view.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 2, 2018
Sam A.
Test engineer
Industrial Automation, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2017

“Good to can organise the project and everything involved in it.”

ProsGood organised, and after a while can find everything I need, good with this notification list so I can follow all emails I received from ARENA and the action point I have there.
ConsNeeds continuously use to can remember all functions and features, sometimes it is too many steps to go through before adding any item.
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2017
Matt I.
Hardware Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017

“Great support thru the initial setup process, no issues at any time with the system after. ”

ProsEase of use for new users. Full customization of all fields to meet our specific needs without having to develop anything.
ConsThe inability to create new items in bulk. Ie. if you create this type of part you also need these 4 other parts no matter what. The ability to have a macro type option to do some of these multiple part creations would be great.
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2017
TAN E.
Director , Global Mechanical Commodities
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2017

“Ease to use the software”

ProsVisibility on key information that we need and ease in the set up of new account for access . Turn around time is short and approval process is easy to manage
ConsNo historical record on pricing and Arena pricing could only keep the price of one source , does not allow weighted cost for dual or multiple sources .
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2017
Sue V.
Director of Finance, HR and Corp. Compliance
Medical Devices, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2017

“Software has automated the training function well however still missing certain features.”

OverallAutomation of document control and training.
ProsTrackability. I can keep track of who has been trained, when and what is open. Can eliminate paper training records, especially since the system is managed on 2 coasts.
ConsDocument control, change control a bit complicated-too many steps. Not very intuitive. Have to go from one screen to another.
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2017
Leo L.
Chief Compliance Officer
Medical Devices, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 8, 2019

“Document Management”

Overallvery bad
ProsIt's bad that I didn't like it very well, It could be more intuitive. Pros are overshadowed by Cons
ConsNo technical supports Documentation Management and Quality Management not relevant to medical device applicatons/
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 8, 2019
Tara H.
Coordinator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 9, 2017

“Arena can be tricky to navigate”

ProsArena is available to store a lot of information and if used properly, should be able to house all of the documents and product data one might require.
ConsThe search function in Arena is difficult to use and is a little too particular, especially if the wording isn't exact.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 9, 2017
Jonathan G.
VPM
Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017

“Review Arena PLM”

OverallIt provided the client, Acclarent with a platform for management of documents within their product life cycle.
Pros(Relative) ease of use. I am stating this based on a requirement to say at least one positive thing about SAAS.
ConsProduct claims that are marginal at best. Ability of the organization to maintain a validated state.
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017
Brian W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2015

“Great PLM”

OverallI used Arena for 4 years at a medical device company. We used Arena for document control (PLM) and BOM management. We did not use Arena for ERP / supplier management. Compared to the other PLM I have used, Arena is the most intuitive and easiest to use. Only thing I would update is the ability to limit particular users from accessing older revisions of documents.

Vendor Response

By Arena Solutions on August 25, 2015
Thanks for the great review and helpful input Brian!
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2015