DocSend Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About DocSend

Store and organize your business critical documents in DocSend for quick and easy sharing. Share documents directly from your email client with our Gmail & Outlook extensions and control access to your shared files so that you stay in control. Need to fix a typo or share a new version of a document? Easily update your documents once, and all your shared links of that file will be automatically updated as well. Learn more about DocSend

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 32 of 32 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 32 of 32 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Dave W.
Co-Founder
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“DocSend: Don't raise funds without it!”

OverallHaving received numerous business plans in the past via DocSend, I was incredibly impressed and quickly decided that we had to use it to communicate with our prospective investors and partners. Getting set up with DocSend was fast and easy, and managing documents and communications has been a breeze. What really keeps me coming back is the fast pace of innovation with new features and ideas. Raising money is a top priority for many companies. DocSend is an essential tool to make fundraising a success.
ProsProfessional, flexible, scalable technology that makes every start-up look good and gives every investor a sense of confidence
ConsSometimes confusing to differentiate between content, spaces, etc. Sometimes confusing to figure out how to create custom links.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“Best way to track docs that are being sent”

ProsLove the ease of use and how in depth info they give you. I am able to track everything from who is opening my document, when they are opening it, what kind of device and where they are. I have been using docsend since it beginning stages and it has came such a far way and is huge now.. We use it to do e-signatures on waivers we send out as well and the open and click rate is through the roof wether you use it or not it is super simple for someone to sign a doc.
ConsThey have had a few bugs here and there which is lost me some time in work but as they grew and got stronger the service downtime has been minimal
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Maxime H.
Account Manager
Design, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2018

“Docsend is a good analytics tool for your presentation”

Pros- Very user-friendly - Easy to understand analytics for our documents - Support for many document types - The tool also gives the facility of giving a live walkthrough of the documents via phone or in person.
Cons- NO Support for pitch videos - It's little expensive - Sometime the website is very slow.

Vendor Response

By DocSend on June 25, 2018
Maxime, thanks so much for the review! We'd love to help you out with any questions around pitch videos / site performance. We'll follow up with you in just a moment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 7, 2018
GRANT C.
CEO
Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2019

“Keep your decks confidential-and get feedback”

OverallExpiring links on decks hosted in the cloud is super helpful to control where decks go and to whom they're shared with. Its not a silver bullet, but it makes it just a little harder to hit forward and share with someone that may not have as high integrity as you'd hope.
ProsI love the feedback on the decks I send out to potential investors. Who has reviewed them, how long they spend on them. Its also VERY mobile friendly so that's amazing. I've heard from 1st hand sources of companies where well meaning investors offered to share a competitor's deck (they declined). This is less likely to happen with DocSend and a link that expires on a date you set. Especially impressed with the new features that the DocSend has rolled out in the last month.
ConsI want the same features and support for video!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Sanjit S.
Co-Founder and COO
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2018

“This is an essential product that works well and provides excellent tech support. ”

OverallIt helps me track prospect content engagement.
ProsI really like the analytics it offers that shows engagement of the user. I also like that users can download content if they want. And finally, I love the way content looks on mobile.
ConsI wish they had a feature like Pocket so people could save content for later. Also, I would love users to be able to listen to content rather than just read it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2018
Adrian G.
Director of Marketing
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018

“Docsend makes my life much easier in being able to track marketing & sales leads and their interest”

OverallMy marketing team is VERY small and budget constrained, and DocSend really helps me make the most of all my efforts .
ProsThe customer service and attention to detail with clients is incredible. They respond very quickly to all types of questions and follow up to make sure that everything is going smoothly or has been resolved. The software is great as a marketer to know what types of content and pages are resonating or not. I'm not flying blind in what is REALLY working or not.
ConsThere are a few features that can be iterated on for heavier users of the platform to help make mass lists or document creation faster and more streamlined.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018

“Makes sending documents so easy! ”

OverallEase of sending documents.
ProsI love that you can upload a document, send it to any recipient, and still update that doc without having to blast everyone that has access.
ConsI wish you could send electronic agreements via DocSend. Like what DocuSign does - it would be amazing to have that feature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel J.
GM UK & Ireland
Real Estate, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“Great tool, great UX”

Overallgreat, use it all the time, I promote it actively
Proscontrol confidential information, get insights, simple and good UX
ConsI think you guys could upgrade the logo and look of the interface, but thats not really too relevant as it is about function and function is great
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“Secure file sharing”

OverallI like that you can personalise each folder and make it public or private
ProsYou can save and share your documents safely. You can even set an expiration date and the document cannot be viewed anymore
ConsLink creation can get tedious and has a lot of steps

Vendor Response

By DocSend on August 10, 2018
Thanks for the review! Out of curiosity: have you tried our Gmail or Outlook integrations? They'll save you a ton of time by integrating directly into your inbox so that you can quickly create links on-the-fly without even having to go to docsend.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Jim E.
Sales
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“Pretty software, but quite limited”

OverallTrying to get prospects to review quotes. They seem more willing to do so in DS than in emails. Plus, we know it when it happens.
ProsIt looks very nice. Overall design is easy to work with. Receiving reports, when people review, is very helpful.
ConsVery difficult to accomplish certain tasks. Can't verify info stored on a space (without re-downloading) since the preview given is nearly unreadable. No sortability in the headers. Moving sections is tedious. Not having the most basic functions (like: Back) is a bit annoying.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019
Christopher M.
R&D Engineer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Great Tool for Sending Proprietary Documents”

ProsDocSend makes it easy to send proprietary documents to investors, customers, and potential partners. It accepts a variety of formats, but we especially use it to share PDFs that others can view for a limited time without saving to their own computers. It gives us more control over changing versions of documents, and removing allowed viewers after a certain amount of time.
ConsDocSend's pricing is a bit steep, and doesn't yet support non-document formats like spreadsheets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018

“A very good analytics tool for presentation documents”

OverallSecurely send files that can only be accessed with an approved email for privacy
ProsDocSend is very easy to use; the analytics are easily understood and it supports a lot of document types.
ConsDocSend can't get through some corporate firewalls that make clients unable to access the document/s.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018
Ovidiu P.
Administrative Assistant
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“DocSend has an easy interface, and is a very user friendly tool. However, it lacks functionality.”

OverallI cannot say we had any unfortunately. This is due to limitations of the product.
ProsUser friendliness and absolutely great customer service. Overall a transparent and simple tool with a lot of helpful options.
ConsThe value of the service is far low from the exorbitant amount of money required for the subscription. In addition, the limitations seriously impede any serious transfers to be done. For instance, word files must not contain more than 100 pages. This is a big limitation for an organisation such as ours where we specifically work with large files and we want to send them encrypted. Also there is no voice or video conferencing options with the secure presentation. In a period when dozens of free encrypted file transfer services offer similar options sometimes for free, DocSend needs to really up their game and look at the market they compete with, work on the limitations of the tool, and think about the prices especially for users that end up paying 30 dollars a month for one file transfer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2018

“Document Tracking”

OverallWe are sending our documents externally, and sometimes they share it with others. We would like to prevent the spread of these files to different people. We can track who opened it and they should ask permission if they are not allowed.
ProsIt's free and easy to use. Our firm uses this platform in tracking the documents we send out externally, so we can prevent unauthorized access. We can also set an expiration date so it can only be available during the time being.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2018
Ilya S.
CEO
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019

“Great but too complicated”

OverallWith DocSend we can quickly and safely distribute the content, and then manage it afterwards.
ProsFor me the best thing is Gmail (Chrome) extension and possibility to safely share content with possibility to manage it afterwards.
ConsSometimes UX/UI looks too complicated, eg. too many unless tabs and buttons in the web version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 25, 2019
Jose P.
CEO
Photography, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019

“Best way to learn about your customers!”

ProsHow easy it's to configure it. the power of information that it offers you.
ConsBeing a freelancer, I cannot afford a plan greater than the basic payment, since the next level exceeds the price for an organization as small as mine, it would be great to have a plan designed for single freelancer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Noushad H.
Business Director (ME)
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018

“These guys are unique! DocSend clearly stands out from the crowd! ”

ProsWith an absolutely neat and uncluttered interface and a few set of simple steps, I will have full complete control of my sales docs.. all with the best customer viewing experience and user analytics!
ConsLiterarily nothing! Newly introduced 'Spaces' should require a bit mobile optimization that I am sure the guys will take care of.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018
Euan B.
Founder & CEO
Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Docsend is an incredibly useful tool for tracking who is viewing the work we produce”

ProsThe ability to see how long people spend viewing our work and which of our presentations grab them - this is an incredibly useful tool.
ConsSome (a small number) of organisations are unable to access the links due to corporate firewalls and the format isn't effective for viewing some presentations e.g. those in Excel
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Gayatri K.
Project Manager
Automotive, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Simple yet powerful tool for marketing content management and monitoring”

ProsI like that it integrates very well into MS Outlook via an Add-in, making it very easy to incorporate your trackable content into your email. There is no need to send a heavy attachment and weigh your email down. Very quick and easy boarding, and the learning curve is short. Customer support is responsive and really interested in helping you.
ConsThe Add-in is not updated often enough, and MS's frequent updates sometimes disable the add-in, making it tedious to frequently have to manage it and add it back on
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Sarah F.
Director of Customer Service
Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“Good Product”

OverallIt's quite useful, and I like having the usage statistics at hand.
ProsIt's convenient. I like the notifications when someone views something and having all the documents I use frequently in one portal.
ConsNothing comes to mind; it's helpful, and I haven't heard any complaints from clients or fellow users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Chris R.
CEO
Environmental Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019

“A must for fund raising ”

ProsYou reach out to countless investors. Some say they reviewed your deck but did they really look it over? Now you know for sure
ConsNo app for my phone, I would Like to send content on the go and not have to toggle back and forth between sites
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2019
Nadia B.
Office Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018

“excellent project management tool ”

ProsEast way to organize presentations and share with a team! Best software for small edits and file files.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018
Adam R.
Director
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“I have used DocSend for numerous different fundraising campaigns. Love it!”

Overalleasy of use and a lot of information
ProsIt is very easy to use, easy to create unique links for each new contact / viewer, and track how viewer is interactive with each document.
ConsIt is a bit more difficult to to splice and parse each viewers information than I think it should be, but overall I love the platform.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“A great tool to easily send what would be attachments as presenations”

ProsI like how you can take a multitude of documents, links, and graphics and put it into one cohesive space to email and easily present. I also like that the dev team is always implementing new features from customer feedback.
ConsI don't like how people on our team can see across the whole team at other users' accounts. This makes it sort of clunky.

Vendor Response

By DocSend on April 26, 2018
Thanks for the feedback! If ever you want to separate out content by team to better control who can see what, our sub teams feature is a great option. Happy to fill you in more if you'd like - just ping us at support@docsend.com.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Todd W.
CEO
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“NXT water docsend”

ProsEase of use and functionality ability to send / share docs
ConsLack of ability to integrate power point features. I have to convert Docs to pdf and lose tremendous presentation assets
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019
Dan M.
Sales Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2019

“Perfect tool for large files”

ProsClearly it's great to see when your recipient actually looks at something you send them. The bonus is see what they looked at, for how long, when, and who else the forwarded to (assuming they open it as well). We have a lot of graphics in our presentations which makes them too large for firewalls so we have to use a site like this anyway - having the visibility to interest is a huge help to the sales effort.
ConsNon at this time....but I don't pay the bill either:)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 4, 2019
Bend G.
MD
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2017

“Love Docsend for sending confidential pitches”

ProsDocsend answers a problem that most startups have who are out there raising money and trying to sign up strategic partners.. Who has actually seen my pitch deck and how long have they spent on it. Docsend delivers strategic insights on reader engagement with your presenation , which is critical in followup meetings.
ConsIts a great product.. however the price of the product could be a bit lower. and the trials could really be unlimited visits and unlimited features..
Source: Capterra
June 9, 2017
Avatar Image
Gregory S.
Director of Operations
Broadcast Media, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019

“A Good Alternative to Box, But Could Use Some Added Features”

OverallIn the end, we choose to go back to another service because of the link issues (mentioned above). Outside of this, we would have but up with the link limits to use the added features and benefits of the service.
ProsThe ability to track who opened your document, the ability to create "Spaces" which creates a one-page website type of area where multiple documents can be uploaded. The pricing is on point for Box and DropBox business accounts.
ConsI wish you could rename the URLS or create some type of URL tag to know what the file name is. The URL uses a random string of numbers. When sharing links, you could easily share the wrong URL. Was also not a fan of the limit of link visits.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2019
Avatar Image
Jorge R.
Founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018

“DocSend is the type of product I didn't know I needed until I used it. Now I can't work without it.”

OverallGreat insights into creating decks that people went through to completion.
ProsIt is extremely easy to use, and the insights I gain from the stats on visitor completion have made me a much better visual communicator. I no longer think of my pitches as "complete," but rather an ever-evolving process. The way it is truly cross-platform (mobile, tablets, desktop) is impressive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“We use docsend to send out proposals and agreements. No problems!”

ProsAllows us to see when people are reading sent documents. We can tell who and when each document has been accessed. The ability to password lock our documents is also very helpful.
ConsDocs must be sent via docsend and not through our own e-mail client. Also the way docs are organized in the platform can be a bit confusing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Docsend is great”

ProsEasy to upload docs. Easy to send docs and track who has opened them. Easy to create unique links per deck for each client.
ConsInterface is a little old school and hard to navigate. Hard to organize all the decks and make sure the right link goes to the right person.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
somsubhra g.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019

“Good product ”

Pros- Good way to secure your doc - Very good analytics - Ease of use
Cons- the folders/ structure can be complicated - UI can be improved
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 24, 2019