PortalGuard Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About PortalGuard

PortalGuard is a seamless solution that provides businesses with the assurance of secure access to sensitive data, including SSO to critical web applicationsproviding users with confidence and secure, hassle-free navigation. Packaged within the PortalGuard product is the ability to seamlessly integrate key authentication options and password management capabilities into a new or existing login portal, without disturbing the theme or overall look and feel of the website. Learn more about PortalGuard

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 19 of 19 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Bert A.
CIO
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2017

“Software is customized to our environment with personalized support, at a reasonable cost.”

OverallWe benefit from single sign-on to a variety of systems as well as self-service password reset, a functional help desk tool and multi-factor authentication, all in a customizable package that can be hosted locally and in the cloud. It is ultra flexible in meeting our needs.
ProsThe support is absolutely outstanding. The software works as designed, and is rock solid. It has one job to do, and it does it very well. It does not break - but if it does happen to have an issue, I know I will have support for a very critical element of my infrastructure. The configuration of the product to link it with other systems was challenging and very technical. However, this was where PortalGuard excelled. It was a simple matter to configure PortalGuard in each case. The difficulty was with working through the configuration of the variety of applications we were connecting to it. In every case, the PistolStar / PortalGuard implementation team expertly guided us in the process through our wide variety of systems configurations. In every case, PortalGuard was able to link with our applications. It was obvious that they know how all of these puzzle pieces fit together. We also used the PistolStar professional services for a few customizations to the admin interface. The process was well managed and the results were exactly what we had hoped for, and were produced in a timely manner. The recent integration of extended portal features like announcements to PortalGuard is a welcome addition. I hope to see more of this kind of work in future versions. The icing on the cake... all of it was reasonably priced and didn't break my budget.
ConsThe ability to make PortalGuard do whatever you want is both a blessing and a curse. The user interface could use some work - but you can make those changes yourself - and many institutions have easily done so. In my opinion, I'd like to see this be easier to navigate and more "packaged". For example - the ability to apply simple skins / customizations to the layout via GUI would be a welcome addition. The PG sales team could do a bit better job of marketing the product and services that stand behind it. They've since improved their site, but you should know that you are not just buying a product (PortalGuard), you are partnering with a company that can deliver single sign-on authentication *expertise* for your organization.
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2017
Phillip S.
Infrastructure Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018

“PortalGuard is a very flexible authentication tool that we can use to fit almost any use case”

ProsVery flexible. We have had several use cases arise where we want to provide a better authentication method and we've been able to create a method of doing so using PortalGuard. It also has the numerous features besides SSO including password self service and 2 Factor Authentication.
ConsNot a huge concern, but still a smaller unknown company. When we work with other vendors to implement SAML most of them have never heard of PortalGuard and they don't have easy built in configurations to use with PortalGuard. As long as you understand the SAML methods you can usually work on a custom config to accomplish the goal
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2018
Bernie C.
Executive Director, IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“Ease to Manage”

ProsThe technical support team are fantastic. They help you step-by-step when setting it up and after implementation. The best features is that it gives end-users multiple ways to self-service. I would recommend this product.
ConsMost institutions likely prefer to embed the login page of Portal Guard within their website. There is a great need to copy code to easily embed to any web page. More flexibilty or options is vital.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Rik T.
Server Manager
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018

“Portalguard”

OverallWe use this product for self service password reset and local 2FA authentication for servers and static systems. We can't use it for laptops as some systems connect to the internet after login and those cannot authenticate without an active connection.
ProsThis was a good product for the money. It appeared at the right time for us to get a hold on some self service and 2fa issues
ConsThey are still missing the ability to do 2FA on a system that is not connected to the internet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018
Yared G.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018

“PortalGuard is a great identity management software.”

ProsIt was easy to setup, Upgrades add a lot more functionality and new features Integration was seamless
ConsI would not consider this a con, but it would have been great if PortalGuard could be setup in non-windows servers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2018
Clifford S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017

“Southwestern Community College PortalGuard implementation.”

OverallSouthwestern Community College District was looking for a self-service password reset program to integrate with Microsoft Active Directory. After doing some research, we chose PistolStar's PortalGuard product. The product is simple to configure and maintain. After the initial configuration was a success, we started looking for other applications that could use this technology. We had two immediate projects that came up. Our IDP connection to OpenCCCApply was difficult at best to support and maintain. The initial expenditure of time and effort to get IDP to OpenCCCApply operational before PortalGuard required 3 months of configuration and troubleshooting. Since IDP is the backend for PortalGuard, we opened discussions to see if it would be a good replacement. PortalGuard, with a couple of hours with tech support, had the IDP to OpenCCCApply connection configured and ready for production. It could not have been easier. The second project was the need to implement Single Sign-On throughout our campus community. This solution also went smoothly and with little effort. We have since integrated it with SharePoint, Blackboard, Canvas, OWA and WebAdvisor. We could not be more pleased with how this product and company have worked out for our needs.
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2017
Ed P.
IT Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2014

“Great product, great support”

OverallWe purchased PortalGuard as a solution for our ever-increasing password reset issues. As our company continued to grow and added more distributed employees, we were spending more and more time managing passwords, resetting them, and unlocking accounts. PortalGuard solved all of those problems for us in one easy to use platform. We were very pleased with the initial setup. Not only did the PG team help us plan out our use cases and installation, they helped us configure the server, test it, roll out the service, and they helped us with best practices for the future. The software itself has been great. Very easy to use, even for our least tech-savvy employees. When we set it up with our Windows Login screen, it created the familiar "Forgot your password?" link that is common to many websites, so it was very intuitive to use right out of the box. Integrating PG with OWA2010 was a little more challenging as it involved AD Federation Services, but once we got the federation server up and running, the rest was a piece of cake. I highly recommend this product for businesses and organizations that are looking to save time and increase productivity by allowing users to manage their own passwords and accounts.
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2014
Drew H.
Server Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2014

“Makes life easier!”

OverallPortalGuard has saved us both time and money. With several public facing web applications that are in use 24/7/365 forgotten passwords and password resets are a thing of the past for our service desk. PortalGuard's support is superior to most other organizations that I've had to deal with. I usually have an answer or someone able to remote into my system the same day to help with any problems. Users usually have no problems with the PortalGuard interface and are able to get registered in minutes.
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2014
Bradley O.
Director of Technology
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2014

“Great Customer Service”

OverallThe PortalGuard product was one of the only SSO solutions that we could find that we could install locally on campus and have complete control over. Additionally, the pricing model was much more palatable than some of the competing cloud-based products that charge per user. Getting the demo of PortalGuard set up took a bit of effort, as we have a rather complex network situation. The PistolStar customer support team was fantastic, however, and made themselves eminently available.
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2014
Jackie S.
Sr Systems Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2015

“Review of PortalGuard”

OverallProduct works well for unlocking passwords Easy to use Easy to implement overall Log files get really large, not sure how to deal with this for normal maintenance. Would like a better way to search logs if needed. When used with pistolstar and our LDAP plug in we are unable to reset passwords since it does not synch with our LDAP plug in. Gregg had some ideas on how to correct this. We are very satisfied with Portalguard.
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2015
Gordon A.
VP, IT
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2014

“PortalGuard - a best in class 2FA & self-service password system.”

OverallWe now have three installations of PortalGuard to provide critical 2FA (Two Factor Authentication) working with a variety of remote access systems. It has been extremely easy to install and integrate with these different implementations. Further, should we have any questions, customer support has been outstanding - fast, responsive and very helpful. I highly recommend PortalGuard and the price is very reasonable.
Source: Capterra
December 8, 2014
Becky E.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2014

“PortalGuard is our 2-Factor Authentication”

OverallWe use PistolStar's 2-FA solution for our population health software. PortalGuard offers flexibility to our end users by suppling multiple options for OTP retrieval. The best part is PistolStar's excellent customer service. The team is there whenever we need a quick response or out of the box ideas to fit new solutions we are developing. A BIG thanks to the PistolStar team!
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2014
Rik T.
Server Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2014

“PortalGuard at Belhaven”

OverallPortalGuard has been a great solution for us in managing password resets for students, faculty and staff. They can now maintain their own passwords, any hour of the day, without needing intervention from IT staff. This saves us many man hours each week and helps those students that forget their credentials in the middle of the night.
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2014
Robert K.
Information Security Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2014

“Complete Solution!”

OverallI have spent the past 8 months testing 2 Factor Authentication solutions. In some way they have all fallen short of my expectations. PortalGuard blew me away with it's ease of use for the end user and quick, easy setup for the administrator. Factor that in with their cost-effective licensing and you have an instant winner!

Vendor Response

By PistolStar on November 19, 2014
Thank you for your support!
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2014
akanni s.
IT Systems Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2015

“This Product is awesome”

OverallI found this product to very helpful in reducing users' anxiety by unlocking, recovering and changing their passwords. It also comes with ease of installation. I find the support team to be fantastic, ready to answer questions any time and working with me to customize the application.
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2015
William C.
IT Helpdesk Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2014

“PortalGuard works”

OverallUsing Portal Guard has eliminated about 75% of our submitted tickets, and helpdesk walk-ins concerning passwords resets. Some of the Prompted Instructions when changing or resetting your password could be clarified better. As step one you enter your old password first then entering your new password.
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2014
Andy S.
Technology Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2014

“Makes life easier”

OverallStudenta no longer have to juggle 3 different usernames and passwords. Now they use one password for everything. Thia makes life easier for everybody.
Source: Capterra
November 18, 2014
Ron P.
Owner
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2014

“Very Pleased with PortalGuard”

OverallPortalGuard is easy to install, configure, and brand. We are very pleased with PortalGuard and with their excellent customer support!

Vendor Response

By PistolStar on November 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your support!
Source: Capterra
November 5, 2014
Terry B.
Director, OCIS
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2014

“A Good Solution to a Big Problem”

OverallPortalGuard is easy to implement and cost effective. It provides an easy to use mechanism for self-service password resets.
Source: Capterra
December 3, 2014