Innoslate Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Innoslate

Innoslate supports the entire system or product lifecycle. This cloud or on-premise application simplifies system or product development while reducing time-to-market, cost, and risk. Innoslate provides you with the ability to perform requirements management, modeling and simulation, verification and validation, all in one tool. You can use a modern web browser to create models, collaborate in real time, manage documents, and more. Sign up for free: https://www.innoslate.com/signup/ Learn more about Innoslate

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Easy to get started. Facilitates communication with simple, but powerful diagrams and simulation.”

OverallInnoslate provides an easy transition from a paper-based to a model-based approach to systems engineering.
ProsI have many years experience applying systems engineering to aerospace and industrial facilities. Innoslate was intuitive for making the change from a paper-based to a model-based approach. I did not have to re-learn how to do and EFFBD, N2, block diagram or other common SE Diagrams. Innoslate is a true data-centric tool and diagrams are smart in that they know and respond to changes happening anywhere in the database. It has a strong analytical tools and data approach based on the Life Cycle modeling Language (LML). I find that LML is a good starting point and that the schema is readily extensible to address my domain. Currently, people on my staff who were not trained in SE tools were able to pick up how to apply it to requirements management and systems engineering. Despite the ease of use, the tool is powerful and we are applying it to projects with more than one hundred thousand items and associated data. I expect it can handle much larger projects without too much trouble, which I plan to do in the not-to-distant future. The help desk is very responsive to issues, providing useful input to resolve issues. The technicians are experienced in the tool and understand at deeper than the surface level. The vendor has also made modifications to the tool, providing additional capabilities that I requested.
ConsAlthough the tool provides some standard reports and good export capability, the ability to develop custom reports could be easier. To be fair, I have not asked them yet how to generate custom reports since I can piece together what I need from the exports. Having a simple custom report editor would make it easier for document generation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Joseph P.
President/CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2017

“The best systems engineering tool, adaptable for all kinds of systems thinking, on the market.”

ProsThe intuitive interface, the easy to follow training videos and webinars, and adaptable diagrams and schema make it easy to use with the development team and to introduce project managers, business managers and analysts, and non-engineers as well. This level of collaboration between the technical team and the management stakeholders, provides much more clarity into the project status, and allows the management team to optimize the budget to be able to re-direct resources to the more critical parts of the project when needed. The real time collaboration keeps everyone "eye-to-eye throughout the project. The document import and export allows the tool to be adaptable to a variety of existing development and acquisition environments, giving all team members the information that they need in the format that is comfortable for them.
ConsWe have very few complaints about Innoslate, compared to our previous tool suite. While all changes are recorded as they are made, and identified by the person making the change, it would be nice to have a notification Manager, to have more consistency with alerting certain individuals when a change is made in an Innoslate project. There could be times when you want someone within the project to correct, highlight, update, or modify an entity.
Source: Capterra
July 3, 2017
Daniel A.
Systems Engineer and Analyst
Defense & Space, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Immensely capable and time-saving”

OverallQuite literally could not do my job without it, or at least would not be able to do my job anywhere near as well as with this.
ProsThe cloud accessibility and concurrent editing is alone worth looking into Innoslate for MBSE. The ability to implement OML, SysML, and other standard diagramming into a completely integrated schema does make it the premier MBSE tools available.
ConsWith the diversity of capability, and rate the capability is progressing, a lot of new features and graphical interfaces still lack refinement. Ease of customization and output is also difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Ferdl G.
Systems Engineer
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018

“Innoslate provides all the system engineering features required for our project.”

OverallThe ease of use has meant a very shallow learning curve for new employees or team members using the software.
ProsVery easy to use interface with no training required for new users. The schema can easily be customized to suit unique needs of a project. Free read-only access to a project is a very useful feature. Innoslate support respond very quickly and resolve most issues quickly too. New versions are regularly released. Data export capabilities and integration with other software is excellent.
ConsThere are a few minor user interface issues, but they are all fixed in the version 4 that will be released soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2018
Jerry S.
President
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2017

“Innoslate is by the easiest to use MBSE tool on the market. ”

ProsEase of use. Functionality to support lifecycle modeling to include: requirements, functional architectures (use cases, FFBDs, sequence diagrams, NxN, etc), costs (WBS), risk (5x5 stop light chart) and schedule simulation. The latest feature "Test Center" allows you to bring together all verification requirements to develop and export an integrated test plan.
ConsThere are some important missing features such as copy/paste. It would be nice to have a generic document capability to create your own reports.
Source: Capterra
June 16, 2017
Casey S.
Engineer and PhD student
Wireless, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“The software is very intuitive and easy to get started in modeling.”

OverallQuick and easy access to begin modeling projects immediately. Learning curve for a new software did not require a lot of effort and/or contact with software support. The model I was creating is for my dissertation to complete my PhD at Purdue University. I will use Innoslate to provide verification and validation as a comparison to a fully integrated modeling software to demonstrate my model can be created with the same model functionality as the other software.
ProsThe ease of use to get started and begin modeling without a steep learning curve. Updating additional modeling diagrams is simple and does not require significant effort.
ConsTh software lacks some of the complexity of updating various diagrams when working in one type of model. However, the ease of use and easy learning curve is probably the result of a fully integrated diagram software. Not really a big deal.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
JOSEPH M.
President
Defense & Space, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019

“Small Business MBSE Transformation”

OverallVery good. On-boarding simple. Help responsive and available. Web version of tool has had no problems.
ProsInnoslate web version has been instrumental in our MBSE transformation at our small business. It is easy to use, low administration and provides immediate tangible products We have used it to provide illustrations in proposals and customer presentations.
ConsDocumentation si good. It would be better if there was more tutorial information about the MBSE process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 30, 2019
Sindhu S.
Systems Engineer
Defense & Space, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“we are using this tool for MBSE and we have over 25 users for the project”

Pros1. Creating spider diagrams from action diagrams is very easy. 2. Version management is very good in Innoslate 3. Web based and hence can access anywhere. 4. User level management is good.
Cons1. No simultaneous multiuser support like google docs or diagram i.o , which is hard while collaborative work. 2. When a simulation is ran for an action diagram , the microsoft project files generated out of the simulations, doesn't include the actual dates that has been associated with an action of that particular diagram. This is not really helpful, as we are adding dates in the action diagrams for each action and its not reflected in any of the gantt chart generated. Hence makes innoslate not an ideal tool for schedule monitoring. 3. Copying just a diagram to another project is not possible, and the database doesnot have a handle to do a search on the diagram names to separate out the particular diagram.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
John G.
Systems Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Easy to use, mostly intuitive”

ProsInnoslate covers 80% of what I need to do as an SE but even with all that, the learning curve is short. Also, the ability to easily create a test project make sit easy to try out ideas without fear of breaking the project's database.
ConsThe dashboard provides metrics that are of little value. The permissions are too wide open. I.e., it is too easy for anyone to make any change.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Ryan H.
Business Systems Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Great tool to produce rewarded results, in software and systems development ”

ProsThe organization and ease of use of Innoslate are what I like the most. Our team is able to enter requirements in real-time and can be viewed by the team instantly
ConsCan't say...Innoslate fits right in with our methodology, allowing us to produce for clients- saving money and time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018

“Really good management tool”

OverallIt is a great project management I use it all the time for that.
ProsI like the diagramming visuals and abilities. The categorization of the projects if very convenient. The requirements handling is intuitive.
ConsThe simulation tool can be pretty confusing. It's got so much going on that I have trouble finding what I want.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“Solid and reliable product functionality, with good tailorability and extensive interfaces”

ProsReliable operation and high availability, with low latency in committing records to database. Wide variety of options for characterization of requirements sets across a range of disciplines.
ConsNothing to report. Struggling to characterize any shortcomings encountered in operations so far. I guess if I reach, I would report that some of the ways in which reqts are tied to diagrams isn't intuitively obvious (although the documentation spells it out quite clearly)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Defense & Space, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018

“Simple and useful MBSE tool, short learning curve before being able to start.”

OverallWas able to quick develop a preliminary design of some updates to the system I am developing.
ProsSimple and useful MBSE tool, short learning curve before being able to start. Can import your requirements to start your work. The LML language and the concept of the actions is easy to understand. There are good features to export functional descriptions and assets requirements in DOC and XLS. It takes no time to install and collaborate with colleagues thanks to its web server based architecture! Should be the tool for everyone who wants to start with MBSE.
ConsWould appreciate some tutorial for the design of a system with LML. Also, while documents can be exported out of the models, there is no automatic update of documents following the updates of the model.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2018
Tim O.
Systems Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018

“I feel the software could be really useful with some more preliminary training.”

ProsQuickly importing spec updates and tracking changes was the most attractive feature. Prioritization of requirement verification would also have been helpful.
ConsThe verification matrix output into Excel was not easily formatted before the export. This may have changed in the last couple of months. Customer service worked with me to try and get the export looking more like what I needed but at the end of the day the additional edits would have taken away from some of the time savings of the import/export feature.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018
Keith T.
Chief Technology Officer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2015

“Learning to use Innoslate”

OverallI found the documentation easy to follow. I found the chat feature very helpful with reasonable response. I found things made much more sense once I had read the LML specification, which is very intutitive. Once I understood this I had no more difficulties using the tool. I found the PDF LML spec very usefull since I could read it off-line. I suggest doing the same thing with the Innoslate manual.
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2015
Dan P.
Senior Engineer
Aviation & Aerospace, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“I'm always leery of software that charges by the month. Otherwise, it seems useful.”

OverallI didn't get any benefits. I simply wanted to see what it did. I can see more value from open source software such as ProjectLibre and Aras Innovator.
ProsI only looked at it briefly. I would have looked harder, except that the pricing model is not ideal.
ConsCost of non-cloud based software. And when you look at long term cost, it really adds up. There really should just be a one-time purchase price. That way you are not stuck with always paying rent to somebody.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Vee Kuan C.
systems engineer
Defense & Space, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Easy to use but visual interface to be improved”

Overallmaking diagrams for presentation.
ProsEasy to make action diagram and then simulate the time needed.
Conslarge asset diagram / block diagram is hard to visualize.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Tony C.
Concepteur/Développeur Logiciels
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“System and Software Engineer in automotive business (display devices and touchscreens)”

ProsTool is friendly... Focus on system functions with LML... Possibility to deploy DoDAF Profil... Possibilty to draw SysML models...
ConsImprove transition betwwen different architecture models: Operational Analysis, System Analysis, Logical architecture, Physical Architecture, EPBS (like Capella MBSE tool with Arcadia methodology, see http://www.polarsys.org/capella/).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018