GanttProject Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About GanttProject

Free project scheduling and management app for Windows, OSX and Linux. Includes Gantt chart, resource load chart, PERT chart. Supports project baselines. Reads and writes MS Project files, exports to CSV,PDF, HTML, PNG. Can work with WebDAV servers Learn more about GanttProject

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 86 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 86 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Sofia C.
Data Center analist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018

“One of the best project managers in local applications”

OverallHave a tool that allows me to organize my projects in a visual way, easier to present to clients or users outside the area, with which they can better understand the times each task takes.
ProsGanttProject is one of the best local tools for project management, it allows you to visualize your projects in a graphic way, being more pleasant for introductions to your team or clients, opting for a simple image of a complex system, helping your presentation and understanding, showing in graphical ranges how much it takes to develop each task, group that participates and more, all this of its more known tool the gantt diagram, is a very unique way to organize the projects and facilitate their understanding and progression.
ConsOne of the most important disadvantages is that the bars do not indicate the amount of work but only the time invested, this does not allow to see how many resources will participate in the task, the case can be presented where a shorter bar actually takes much more work and personnel involved which brings confusion or detracts from the diagram.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2018

“GanttProject a basic alternative to manage a project”

OverallI have done five small projects with the tool, it has been useful and excellent at the level of expressing the goals of those involved, the participants, the time of development of each task, activity, types of associated deliverables and the participants of each of the activities , level of responsibility and hours of dedication, really that is very useful in terms of the general visualization of the goal. Unfortunately I can not automatically define in this software the levels of resource overload, the critical path of the processes and the possible bottlenecks of the process. In general, the software is good and practical at your level. I can define and design a project for free and manage the main structure of the project, share it with the people involved and they can deploy it by installing the tool in any existing operating system
ProsIf you want to create or manipulate a Gantt chart without having to pay for the license of a commercial program, this open source program is a good option because it is easily manipulated, the menu bars are very similar to other programs aimed at managing of projects and instinctively you get what you're looking to develop. It is universal since it allows you to import and export files made in MSProject and CSV, with the software you can perform the PERT without problems, although the graphic representation is very generic and unattractive, the performance of the program in projects of academic or small scale is outstanding. You can install in Windows, Mac and Linux, It has good compatibility. It is free download, although the developers appreciate some donation, very suitable for students, universities, companies that handle small projects and little staff. Does not consume many computer resources, the software weighs only 14MB.
ConsIt allows you to allocate the human resource and time, but does not perform complex analysis of those components, you can not easily identify who is overloading tasks, where is the critical path? What processes are the bottlenecks? The design is very primitive, lacks development, but it is like that small car that allows you to reach the goal at a moderate speed The printing of the diagrams is cumbersome, you must work with care in the design of the printing area, the software is associated more with the visualization than with the printing of reports. GanttChart is not compatible with the spring XER format, it must be passed through MSproject
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Agenor R.
Analista de negócios e Consultor de processos, Líder de testes
Information Technology and Services, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019

“Do well and free of charge, what you need more”

OverallCorporate users are always asking for a project management software license only to open a project plan, look for an appointment or a resource allocation, and print it. The Project Managers should change their mind and focus in collaboration and team performance rather than complex and high featured tools that most of the time are not fully used. GanttProject is what most of the project teams need to control their activities and goals.
ProsGanttProject is not a simplified project management tool. It is a powerful tool because it offers all you need to control activities, resources and deliverables. It has a simple interface, use a few computer resources and it's free of charge for any purpose. It offers good resources to work with external people, sharing the project plan in the network, and importing/exporting content (as possible) to traditional commercial products.
ConsCollaboration resources are still weak and are in need of improvement. It is not ready for new agile initiatives reducing the scope of its use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Francisco V.
Desarrollador de software
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018

“One of the best local apps for project management”

OverallOrganize and record the duration of a project, locally, quickly and with a familiar tool for all coworkers.
ProsThis very complete application for project management, has one of the most familiar diagrams in the computer world, focused on seeing the duration times of each task and which task precedes another, excellent for organizing projects and always having the application without depending on a connection, is open source and free.
ConsCurrently, there is a lack of improvements and the addition of tools and functionalities with which other applications for project management count, so to stay in the market fight they must improve.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Michael M.
Producer, 1st Assistant Director, Unit Prod Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018

“BEST GANTT SOFTWARE AVAILABLE!”

OverallI'm a longtime user and I'm so proud to see this freeware still available to people to use. 9/10!!
ProsHonestly, I've been using this freeware program for MANY years and has helped me prepare gantt charts for many things, including but not limited to, detailed production schedules for film projects. I've also used it to create a development schedule for a mobile app I'm involved with. It's pretty easy to use once you understand the basics of gantt charts and you'll never use another program again. The best part is I've been using this software for a long time and have never had to pay a cent to use it. Can you say that about other similar products out there that have the same features? SIMPLY AMAZING. I'm so happy to see this company still up and running and wish them nothing but the best as we move further into 2018. Give it a shot, you have nothing to loose, literally. 9/10!
ConsNothing. It's free. It's simple. It's awesome. OK... if I had to get "picky", I'd maybe say the one thing that could make this better would be if they had an online version where you can access your gantt charts anywhere on-the-go. Other than that though, nothing to complain about!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2018
Jeremy B.
Technical Support Agent
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018

“Must have project management tool”

OverallThis is a must have for project managers. It will make your life much easier, and your employees much more efficient.
Pros- Very easy to teach and use. Our newcomers pick this up quickly. - Its simple but packed with many options - Makes life much easier as a project manager
Cons- The text font gets a little weird when you re-size the screen you're working on - Nothing else really, it's a nice product
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Heyonil L.
Consultor I de la Calidad y Procesos
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“An easy way to make gantt charts”

OverallEase of visualization and simplicity.
ProsEasy to create tasks, you can create dependencies between them and you can include elements such as costs, differentiate tasks by colors, define their duration among others. You can easily see the progress of each task or the project in general.
ConsThis program is very easy to use, however it still has some defects when it is running, a disadvantage is that it does not allow the printing of the diagrams pert. It does not allow to see free days assigned to specific resources within the Gannt chart.

Vendor Response

By GanttProject on June 22, 2018
One can print PERT chart by exporting it to PNG image.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Andrew H.
Technical Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Basic Gantt Chart Program for Project Management”

OverallBeing a free, open source project management software, it's perfect for me and the size projects I manage with my team. I would say that it's perfect for small to medium sized projects but would be unsuitable for something much larger such as a management solution for large building construction, etc.
ProsI'm a relatively new user to Gantt Project. I began looking for a good Gantt Chart application several months ago to help organize AV technical installations in a detailed, organized fashion and found Gantt Project through my Avixa training course. I love that's it's freeware! It's a great, powerful tool for creating and organizing basic projects and tracking/planning your progress along the way. There are a few different way to view and edit your data but overall it was very intuitive to get up and running quickly. It also supports different operating systems.
ConsIt isn't cloud based for collaboration with a team in real time...so for my team we will keep the files on cloud based storage and can work on them one at a time. Using the software on a Mac I discovered a glitch...when scrolling the calendar from left to right or vice versa using two-finger scroll, it seems to malfunction and only want to move forward in time. You can get back to an earlier date by manually clicking and dragging.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Marko S.
Co-Founder, IT & Marketing Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“If only it is a cloud solution...”

ProsI love this tool! Easy to work in it, gantt is very usefull, it is free, it gives you no limits.
ConsThe only constraint here is the thing that this software is not online... If I would need to use some other computer than mine, I'd need to save a project and transfer... Not very useful and a step backwards in the time of cloud software.... Overall it is an amazing solution!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Management Consulting, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019

“A good alternative to manage projects”

OverallAlthough it is a bit complicated when using it for the first time, with a few days of practice you can use the tool very easily, allowing you to manage your projects without inconvenience.
ProsOne of the things I like most about ganttproject is that it is completely free! In addition to this, I can download it to my machine and work with it anywhere without the need to be connected to the internet; it is very easy for me to place activities, dependencies and see them automatically in a diagram.
ConsIts interface is a bit complicated, which does not make it very intuitive. For the inexperienced user it could be a headache to generate a gantt chart with this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Market Research, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“One of the great "unknown" pieces of software out there”

ProsVirtually everything. It can do most anything that the more well-known planning solutions out there can and even does some things (unlimited nesting, auto PERT chart, etc.) that others don't.
ConsVisually not quite as refined as some other software, but I don't personally take any issue with that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Medical Devices, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 2, 2019

“Easy to use, but needs some GUI and other updates/features to be really good”

OverallI do believe this is a useful tool for visualizing project timelines. It does everything I have needed it to do. When it comes to building timelines, like for R&D activities at work, this lets you easily determine critical aspects of a project (timeline feasibility, resource availability, etc.). I just wish it was more "presentation" capable.
ProsI like how easy it is to use. Adding, removing, or editing tasks is easily done. The amount of detail you can attach to tasks or groups of tasks is very useful. I like how you can visualize tasks in a timeline fashion (with dates easily visible), and keep tabs on what is happening with reference to other tasks in the project (ie, parallel paths data). Adding or removing time from tasks integrates nicely with tasks that reference them, making it easy to make adjustments.
ConsTwo things I dislike about this: 1. Zooming in and scrolling on the timeline is so hard to use. If your project does not fit nicely within the couple of zoom levels, it does make it hard to visualize everything. Then, scrolling is sometimes almost impossible. Sometimes the left-right scrolling does not work, and sometimes you can't scroll enough to see your entire project. That seems like a bug that could be fixed. 2. The export features are lacking. You can print or save as a .pdf but there are no formatting options. So, your large project timeline you email to your colleagues is a several page document that simply chops up the timeline into tiles. Basically, only those with GanttProject installed can view the timeline.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 2, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Entertainment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019

“Wonderful Tool to Have in Your Business Toolkit”

ProsI use GanttProject on my Macbook and it has been my go-to tool when I look to create a project timeline. The software is free so there is no excuse not to try it. I have used MS Project in the past and I would say that GanttProject is easier to use (especially for smaller projects) and definitely more economical than paying for Project.
ConsI have no cons. It does its intended job extremely well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Max P.
Manager, Professional Services & IT
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019

“Can't beat what you get for a free cross-platform Project Planning Software”

OverallI used to use Gantter, but then they started charging. I have tried ProjectLibre but it is a bit steep of a learning curve. This software hits what I need which is free and simple to use. This gets the job done everytime for my 3 month customer projects. I only use about two-three resources which makes my planning a bit simpler. The webpage export is great as is the png output. Makes it easy to share.
ProsI am mainly a Linux user and this software along with ProjectLibre are the only Gantt Software I can find that isn't web-based or charged for. This is very easy to get up and going and export a simple project roadmap for customer review.
ConsThe UI is still probably a work in progress. I don't really mind that much but it doesn't blow you away. There are not tons of features, but has everything I use. I am not a Project Manager though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019
Lazaros K.
Project Manager
Museums and Institutions, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018

“We regularly use GanttProject it as a straight-forward, functional, project management tool”

OverallEasy to use, efficient, easy to read
ProsEasy to use and learn, simple interface, does the job well. It is easy to keep abreast of where a project is at.
ConsDoesn't allow publishing to web. It would be good to share the Gant Chart with colleagues. Also it would be very useful for people to be able to update progress themselves.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018

“When your project needs a Gantt diagram.”

OverallWe are using it when we need complicated Gantt charts for the projects and it works.
ProsA free software only focused for the gantt diagramms. Works on differentn platforms.
ConsIts visual interface looks very old-fashioned. Arranging the dates and durations is becoming difficult sometimes. It would be better to be able to use it online.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 14, 2018
Jason R.
Project Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2018

“it is a very good gantt software”

Overalli can manage my project's scheduales. task, resources and work
ProsIt is easy for all kind of users, its interface is nice, have good performance, is ussable, very intuitive
Consmay be, set task in hours too, actually it just lend set task in days, another software lend user set duartion task in hours too
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2018
Avatar Image
H. Alexander C.
External Consultant
Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019

“Mac Project Manager”

OverallI'm a Mac user and test several apps, but I use Gantt Project from 2015 to all my projects, great software.
ProsIntuitive, easy to use, the perfect Mac Project Manager, compatible whit Ms Project.
ConsThe graphic environment is a little heavy and poor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2019
Peter G.
Photographer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2018

“has major problems”

Prossimular to MS project Easy to use if you know MS Project good ability to link tasks
ConsKeeps crashing with latest Mac OS Could not even enter the second task saved it when i created the chart, added the first task no problem Enter the second chart, when entering the second task the program crashes, did this 5 times in a row.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 4, 2018
Mike W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2016

“Resource Roles!”

Overall The tool has most of the features I would need but it would be nice if the resource manager could assign or create roles other than undefined or project manager. it does require users to explain to the money counters what departments the resources belong to for internal billing purposes. Because of this limitation, I can only give a rating of very good, not great. I have searched the forums for an answer to this but am unable to log in to post a query because I don't and won't use social media.
ProsWhile this is not a show stopper
Recommendations to other buyersThe tool has most of the features I would need but it would be nice if the resource manager could assign or create roles other than undefined or project manager.

Vendor Response

By GanttProject on December 13, 2016
Dear Mike, you can add your favorite resource roles in the project properties. Project->Properties->Resource roles. With respect to support, there is GitHub issue tracker (no social media involved, old good login/password auth): http://github.com/bardsoftware/ganttproject/issues
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2016
Xiulan H.
Data Analyst
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2017

“Great Sustitute to MS Project”

OverallI was looking for an app as robust as MS Project but for half the price and I came accross the suggestion for GanttProject. Although there is no customized reporting and I have not figured out how to track risks, this has the same feel as what I am used to and it is very effective in managing my department's many projects and providing the big picture to leadership. I HIGHLY recommend if you are already familiar with MS Project and you are looking for a low cost or free alternative.
ProsIt mimics MS Project in features and format customization
ConsNo ability to customize reports
Recommendations to other buyersDo not use if you do not already know your way around MS Project. Other than that, this is great!
Source: Capterra
March 10, 2017
Avatar Image
Frederik N.
Maintenance Manager
Plastics, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Free and Functional”

ProsGanttProject is very user friendly and much easier to get running than most other Gantt chart software.
ConsVery minimalistic, could use some more features in future upgrades
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Licex D.
Especialista en Recursos Humanos
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018

“A free tool for projects and schedules”

OverallA great free tool for projects.
ProsFirst all is a free tool besides other apps like this that are for pay, it brings the tools that you need for a project like create task, add milestones, work peer to peer, export your to many formats like PDF and JPEG, and so many other things.
ConsThe interphase is so basic, is not beautiful or friendly, is do it just for work, not for presentation or anything else, also the app does not bring the possibility to add values to the activities and that is a big lack.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Giuseppe B.
software developer analista programmatore
Executive Office, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019

“Just Gantt but Gantt”

ProsThe software is fully concentrated on the Gantt diagram and a task must have a start date and end date. Other kinds of tasks are not included.
ConsThere are other project softwarres more completed
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Sean T. D.
Director of Laboratory Operations
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“A step up in functionality from Excel.”

OverallOverall, I liked the software's features offered beyond spreadsheets. However, I found the ease of use lacking and have reverted back to Excel.
ProsThe specific function the software brings to creating and managing a Gantt chart adds value over using a spreadsheet. Dependent tasks and stacking timelines are much easier than in Excel.
ConsDragging sub-tasks to move their parent is clunky and bug ridden. This occasionally results in a task being duplicated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Jesús B.
Especialista TI
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“very well. I use this software to planificate my projects is very easy and simple to use.”

Overallsimplicity, speed, efficiency. Increase in work performance and improvement when preparing my gantt diagrams and projects
Prossimplicity, speed, efficiency. So I can summarize this software. Increase performance when planning your project and simplify the work of a project manager
ConsI think it can be improved a bit more at the interface level. Make it a bit more intuitive so that it is not complicated when working on the gantt diagrams or the planning of my projects
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Umesh S.
Head Technology
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2017

“Best free alternative to Microsoft Project. You almost feel like using MS Project !”

OverallFree alternative to MS Project
ProsBest free project management with almost same functionalities as MS Project. Very easy to use and simple. Converting project plan to PDF and printing is very simple and easy.
ConsSub tasks can be more visible and distinctive to main task. Report generation should have more customization options
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 4, 2017
Parham S.
Project Manager
Entertainment, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2017

“Not perfect, but really a good one!”

OverallManaging the project time schedule and resources without paying for a commercial software, So budget beneficial for small teams.
Pros- Reasonably controllable for project managers who has some experience in planning and schedules. - Can work OFFLINE on your desktop! Really great! - Can convert MSProject files, also a plus.
Cons- Almost no active development - Lack of some obviously needed features (Like you literally can't use Hours, Minutes, etc to give your task more detailed duration!)
Source: Capterra
May 8, 2017
Moises M.
Process Analyst
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2017

“Great Project Gantt Software”

OverallI use for all my projects and I abandoned the MS Project. I found all resourses I need using this software. I recommend them.
ProsAll resources I need
ConsI didn't find anything
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2017
Rob H.
Principal
Museums and Institutions, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“Lacks some essential features”

ProsIt's free and works in a way familiar to anyone who's used MS Project.
ConsIt doesn't allow repeating tasks (eg review meetings) to be entered on one line - this is a real limitation. It doesn't allow tasks on the GANTT chart to be dragged to new positions/dates to enable quick-and-dirty project mapping.

Vendor Response

By GanttProject on February 5, 2019
For the record, dragging tasks with a mouse does work with Ctrl key hold, provided that constraints permit that.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Maria S.
Osteópata
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018

“Very useful”

ProsIt is a simple program to use and useful for the elaboration of diagrams, of good interface and complete, with certain details, but it works well.
ConsThis program is very easy to use, however it still has some defects when it is running, a disadvantage is that it does not allow the printing of the diagrams pert, even there is no greater possibility of personalization of the presentation of the gantt chart.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018

“This free-to-use planner is as good as some paid-for apps & really quick to pick up.”

OverallI could plan a personal project without having to go buy a package I'm not likely to use frequently.
ProsIt does all the basic stuff you'd expect, is very intuitive and comes without the annoying "I know better than you" features you get with a certain popular paid-for planner. It's compatible with MS Project files & can import/export them as well as to CSVs. IT uses the common short cut keys too. It's reliable which is more than I can say for some other online apps. Updates get applied regularly and everything is still there. I got the basics of my first plan functional within a couple of hours of downloading it (100+ lines).
ConsIt's a bit clunky in places e.g. when entering a new task you have to overtype the default name, but that's just a minor point.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2018
Avatar Image
Samanta R.
Animador Motion Graphics
Animation, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018

“Great concept, old interface design”

OverallI used it with team school projects and GanttProject was a great way to understand how much time each part of the team will take. It actually help me relax when I could see that we had time for each part of the process, as long as everyone was aware of what was left to do.
ProsGanttProject is good option for project management since it helps you to visualice yours and all your team workflow. I like it how you can have subtasks ad how yo can project them on a timeline with exact dates. Understanding Gantt charts will help you have more control over your time, and it is specially usefull when dealing with tight deadlines. This app will help you to see the big picture and realize what you need to do faster but also, what kind of tasks can be done at the same time.
ConsWhat I don't like about this software it's the design. It looks old and it is not as intuitive as it could be. That's why it will work with you only if you have some previous information on how to manage and incorporate Gantt technique on your project managment. Otherwise, it will only appear as something complicated that wil take you more time of your workflow. If they could improve the visual design of the interface, i bet it could be more user friendly and actually make you believe it is helping you to make your workflow easier and faster.

Vendor Response

By GanttProject on November 22, 2018
For the record, there is no such thing as "free trial". GanttProject is free, without any trials, demos or whatever.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2018
Avatar Image
Luis Raul E.
Co-Founder
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018

“A good alternative to working with a Gantt”

OverallI planned in its moment a project, so of this way, we had more control over all task and its time.
ProsDespite the product is few know, it has a basic functionality as schedule tasks, link all task, create a critical path, export information. this product achieves its functionality as well.
ConsSincerely the first thing that I saw was the poor user interface, the product would be more attractive for the users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Joe P.
Construction Superintendent
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018

“Powerful organizational tool very simple to navigate”

OverallI can update my schedule in minutes, this is perfect for construction management as conditions are ever changing. I keep this up on my secondary screen 24/7!
Prosit is very easy to link tasks, add remove or edit. The overall appearance of the program is very simple but still accomplishes everything you need it to.
ConsIt was a little tricky to figure out how to un link tasks from one another that were accidentally linked
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2018
Craig E.
Senior Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017

“Great application but missing one key feature”

OverallResource utilization planning, project tracking
ProsA fully featured gantt chart creator equipped with resource allocation, progress, and dependent tasks. Tasks and milestone creation is very intuitive and the print features are great for sharing my timelines with customers.
ConsThe smallest task can only be minimum of 1 day in time. So planning tasks by half a day or by hours is not possible. This renders the software unusable for our company since we need to plan resources for meetings and software planning times during a project which are <1 day. Hopefully this will change in the future.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Perfect software to make your Gantt diagrams”

ProsIt allows you to perform your Gantt diagrams, ordering your tasks quickly and easily, allowing you to calculate the critical path
ConsIn my opinion this program has no problem
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Beau K.
Graduate Assistant to the Dean of the Woodbury School of Business
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019

“Useful For Project Management”

OverallUsing GanntChart was useful when trying to create tasks for my upcoming project. Although I was able to create a Gantt chart my first time using this software I was unable to add details and critical paths. However, training was easily accessible with a little research.
ProsI like how easy this software was able to figure. I am also impressed with how affordable this software is to use. I was able to create a Gantt chart the first day upon use of this software. This is the software of choice at my university, therefore, it must be legitimate.
ConsAdding little details to my GanttProject proved to be difficult to figure out without training. I was also unimpressed by how low quality the design is on the software itself. It is not very appealing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Glenn M.
Product Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2018

“GanttProject: Very User-Friendly PM Software!”

OverallA+ positive experience in generating and sharing project timelines.
ProsEasy to use and to modify task sequences.
ConsNothing - the program is very simple and generates great Gantt charts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 25, 2018
Avatar Image
Herman P.
Operations Associate
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2018

“Great product and easy to use.”

OverallThis product has made my life very easy. I had to plan a project and this software gave me clarity and focus to ensure success.
ProsAt a basic level it provides everything you need to get a project planned and to execute it well. It is very easy to open and use and easy to make adjustments on the fly. The interface is easy to read and understand and the GANTT chart is very clear and easy to follow.
ConsMore functionality would be nice, but the base product is great. It would be good to have some control over the look and feel of some features such as to lock the zoom level on the GANTT chart or to customise the task list view to display information you'd like to see.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018

“Easy to use”

ProsIt has the basic functionalities and most used in this type of programs. Good presence Possibility of export / import to more common formats.
ConsIt does not allow to see free days assigned to specific resources within the Gannt chart, if the general free days.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018
Avatar Image
ROSA YURAIMA R.
Pipeline Design and Analyst in Oil Industry, Venezuela
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2018

“An app for projects and other things for free”

ProsUse Gantt Project is very easy, because this app includes a basis menu to add the task, manage the calendars and set specific features to your projects, but the most important of all, is the Resource Chart option, where you can manage Human Resources, Assign Resources, and Monitor the task assignments, you can find all that things in this free app.
ConsIn some aspects the app is very basis, the interphase is a little ugly, and the way the app manage the data is a little gross, and only uses basis elements of a project leaving behind important aspects, like a milestones or red routes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2018
Avatar Image
Augusto P.
Librero
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018

“Free and very lighweight Gantt Chart Tool”

OverallBasic tool for projects.
ProsThis is a tool very specific in which one you can do and manage Gantt Charts for personal or job projects, it brings with a very simple interphase, very clear and easy to use, you can create task and milestones, organize task and see the structure of your projects, and create baselines, you can of course print your project for a better use.
ConsIt is very basics, you will not find complex tools or process, you only have the basics to do and schedule and put on the Gantt Chart Specific task, sometimes works but in other moments does not help so much.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2018
Luis T.
Director and Arquitect
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 13, 2017

“I use it a MSProject substitute on my Mac.”

ProsIt's free and has the basics to plan on Gantt charts. It has a clean interface and is pretty straightforward if you are familiar with gantts.
ConsNo support available. All you get is forums where you can discuss problems. Bugs here and there are common.

Vendor Response

By GanttProject on June 8, 2017
"All you get is forums" where nearly every question is answered within 24h by the software developer personally.
Source: Capterra
May 13, 2017
Rakesh D.
Lecturrer
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2016

“NICE PRODUCT”

OverallI have heard about this application from one of my best friend,He is using it for two years long.I am also using it for one year long.no bug found,i manage my project successfully using this app.
ProsThe only reasons is its so simple and easy to use
ConsI think the developer need to add some more feature on it.
Recommendations to other buyersno
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2016
Paolo I.
IT Manager
Utilities, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019

“Finally a GANTT chart software that is free and easy to use”

Pros- Free - User Friendly - PDF export of the the chart - Decent reporting function - PERT chart included as well as critical path
Cons- Not the newest design - Options for the output report are limited (at least in the free edtion)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 5, 2019
James K.
Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019

“A Solid Aternative to Microsoft”

OverallI've been really glad to have this software in my tool box when I needed it
ProsThis is a real usefull piece of software capable of producing profesional qaulity Gantt Charts that you can use to great effect in an industrial setting
ConsSometimes the data entry can be a bit cumberson especially when it comes to making changes to a duration which can mess things up if you havent got your tast constraints properly defined
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2019
Jamie H.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“A straightforward tool for Gantt charts”

ProsGreat for the specific task of creating Gantt charts. Easy to use. Trying it for free is a good way to learn about Gantt charts before investing.
ConsUI looks outdated. Might be easier to drive adoption with a web-based alternative.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Tom J.
Lead Controls Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Great MS Project Support”

ProsI can now import my coworkers MS project files int GanttProject
ConsSeems like if there was an easy way to make this a team-based software that can be shared across multiple computers would be great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Martin T.
Entrepreneur
Medical Devices, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2017

“Excellent software”

OverallGanttProject has helped me set up my projects and and project dependencies like a breeze. When going through my task lists I particularly appreciated being able to drag and drop my time constraints from one task to the other with sensible default values. I then printed good looking, and readable, reports that I could include as is in my project proposals. A huge time saver. Thanks GanttProject Team! PS: I rated customer support 3 stars only, but that is because I never had to use customer support
ProsDrag and drop task dependencies Quick hierarchical task lists Gantt reporting is configurable and the result is readable
ConsWorkflow to assign a resource to a task is a little long
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2017