ScholarChip Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About ScholarChip

Our Visitor Management is a unified component of our School Safety and Accountability System, it integrates with Student Information Systems to manage student pick-up and custodial issues. Our expertise in providing smart ID card automation to schools allows our Visitor Management service to read school credentials and issue smart tokens to frequent visitors. We know that no two schools operate a like, for flexibility our visitor service is available is several software and hardware formats. Learn more about ScholarChip

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 25 of 25 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Karen F.
Information Technology Manager
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Great Product for Student Checkin and Visitor Management”

OverallThere costumer service is amazing. They are always there when you need them. I have called one of the reps on a few occasions by mistake, not knowing I needed to call the helpdesk and he has always been super helpful. The helpdesk is great too. They will troubleshoot with you and get your issue resolved fast. They are also super fast in sending your supplies off when running low and in need of a quick shipment. Overall, I really like this company and hope they continue to grow!
ProsWe have 2 student check in kiosks on wheels in our main office used for tardy students. We are a K-12 school and do not use buses and kids come from all over, so we have mornings where the tardy check-ins were really tough to get through before the kiosks. Now with the kiosks, the students line up, tap their id or key fob, grab their tardy slip and go to class. A traditional check in system would not have worked for us, but this works perfectly! The kids like they get to check in with a robot! We also use the visitor management system and it is really easy for the visitors to check in.
ConsAt times, the kiosks fail and we have to reboot. The online tool to check the status of students and see visitors or clear them from matched offenders is a little confusing. There are too many menus and the overall back end system needs a face-lift. Most of the help links don't work either. For the most part, once you learn it, you don't really need the help documents.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Stewart H.
Campus Safety Supervisor
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“Visitor Management”

OverallOverall we are extremely pleased with the system. We have had limited negative feedback from new visitors. Some individuals are hesitant to provide their ID; however, once explained it's for the safety of our students they often seem understanding to the visitor management policy.
ProsWe like the ease of use. We went from hand written visitor badges, which would could not track who and when people were on campus, to ScholarChip. It's nice to be able to remotely look to see who is on campus and the purpose for being on campus.
ConsWe initially had difficulty with the drop down menus. They were changed to suite our needs and mysteriously they were changed back to the initial settings with the addition of other options. I think it's straightened out now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Sarah O.
Administrative Assistant
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“Good Program”

OverallIt is great to have the check in so we know what parents show up for which meetings. We keep track of Ancillary services and hours provided to our students.
ProsI like that it immediately lets us know who is a possible offender. It is good to know who is in my school to protect our students.
ConsIt is slower this year than last to print the Stickers for the visitors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Agnes G.
Account Clerk Typist - civil service employee
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“My useage”

OverallMy experience it was much better than obtaining all my information on individual cash register tapes
ProsOnce you decide which report you want to access all the information is right there at your fingertip.
ConsToo many times I go on and it is shut down for some reason or another.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Scholarchip at Center Moriches”

OverallAwesome and look forward to further advances
ProsIt is a great tool to examine all Vistors that get checked in within our school. It keeps our security and technology staff engaged in the safety of our school.
ConsShould add criminal history outside of sexual offenses
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Carina J.
Food Service Director
Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019

“ScholarChip Review”

OverallI enjoy the program and it is easy to use.
ProsThe software is easy to use on the POS. My students do not have a problem scanning in or using the keypad. It is very easy to pull reports from the website.
ConsIt can be slow at times. The POS has frozen during service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“ScholarChip at the High School”

OverallIt has simplified things and made what used to be a hard copy is now digital.
ProsThe program has so many options, it can be adapted to almost any school, business, etc.
ConsThere are so many options, it can get confusing if you are not fluent in the program functions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Amy O.
Student Services
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Scholarchip experience”

OverallScholarchip has made attendance and meal service easier to process. However, when things don't work correctly it can be difficult to solve problems and the customer support is often not helpful.
ProsI like that the interface isn't constantly changing. Things are where they have always been and I don't have to deal with relearning different ways to do things. I also like the student screens and how they show everything about a student in one glance. The attendance reports are easy to use and quick to create.
ConsSome of the reports are difficult to use. For example, when running a student account report, you can put a maximum amount but not a minimum. The biggest problem with Scholarchip is the help desk. It takes days, sometimes weeks for issues to be fixed or to get answers. There is also no way to customize screens or reports, so if there is a need that Scholarchip does not offer then there is no other option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Tianna K.
Assistant Principal of School Culture
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019

“Great product”

OverallGreat!
ProsThe software was very easy to use. We were also able to sync it with another program that we use.
ConsNothing negative to say. This is a really solid software
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019
Kathy L.
Supervisor of Special Education
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Scholar Chip Review”

OverallThe experience has been positive.
ProsIt is beneficial that all the schools are available in one site. The material is up to the minute.
ConsSome data that isn't necessary is included, I find it difficult to isolate information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Rita G.
Elementary School Secretary
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019

“New Happinings”

OverallOverall I love the software/ScholarChip
ProsI really love the quickness of checking students and parents in. I really like that the parents have to bring their drivers license in as well.
ConsThe only thing I don't like is that when I enroll a new student in it takes a while for them to show up where I can check them out if they need to leave the school.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Looking for a new POS”

OverallI am currently vetting other companies to replace ScholarChip at our 22 schools. I have worked with them for the past 3 years and it has always been an issue. I have never had a good experience with ScholarChip.
ProsThe best thing I can say about the software is that it is somewhat easy to use. It is supposed to be wireless so that if that worked, it would be great.
ConsConnectivity is always an issue. Customer support never comes when asked. There have been times reports printed today differ from reports printed a week from now. ScholarChip always has excuses for why the software doesn't work. It is hard to get anyone on the phone.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“ScholarChip is worth the money.”

OverallIt's a good product.
ProsI like that it scans ID's. It will also print an ID tag for the visitor.
ConsOur attendance model is not compatible with this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Aeriell C.
TA
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019

“easy to use”

Prosvery user friendly. easy to maneuver around
Consthe importing of pictures from another software, very tedious and long
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019

“Valuable Tool for School Security”

OverallKeeping track of those that are in the building at any given time is helpful and necessary! Schoarchip is providing us with this and it is an 'all in one' device with the camera and badge printer. (Love the fact that the badges are not printed with ink). This provides our school with the ability to track and monitor our visitors. Thank you!
ProsThe system is user friendly and not difficult to use. Our security personnel were trained and they were able to adjust to the system quickly.
ConsCan not opt to NOT print a badge. There are times when we would like to register a visitor and not print the badge (to save the supply); however, this is not an option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2019
Charissa R.
Administrative Professional
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019

“A bumpy road”

ProsI like the offerings of the ScholarChip program. There have been a few bumps in the road to begin with, but that is to be expected with any new system. I like the potential of the attendance integration once all of the kinks are worked out. I like that it can be updated and assessed remotely.
ConsThe battery life. Our machines have to be plugged in daily, and we just simply do not have the infrastructure to support that. Therefore, we end up having to shut down the machines once they are charged, something that we know we're not supposed to do.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019
Robert W.
District Tech
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Scholarchip”

OverallUsed for student attendance and lunch payment.
ProsVery easy to use. Support is excellent. Allows for easy integration across multiple platforms.
ConsWebsite idserv.scholarchip.com is very messy and hard to navigate
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Shirley W.
Principals Secretary
Government Administration, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“ScholarChip Visitor Management review”

Pros The program is easy to use and I really like the touch screen.
ConsMore steps to register and check in a guest
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Garrett C.
Assistant Principal
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“PMHS”

OverallWe are able to account for the presence of every student in our building and determine if they are permitted to be at certain events or in certain locations.
ProsThe speed at which the ID cards are processed through the kiosk
ConsThe website is painfully slow, I cringe when I have to use it
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Paul C.
School Nutrition Director
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“School Lunch”

OverallResponse Time on items needed for the State CEP is slow
ProsReports are concise and easy to read. POS is Web based.
ConsForms needed for NYS State not always available. Need better system for Matching Students to Direct Cert. Local Tech Support On Site Service is slow to respond.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Jessica V.
Kitchen Manager
Food & Beverages, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019

“Scholar Chip In the Cafe'”

OverallOver all Scholar Chip is a easy to use program for the Breakfast and Lunch program.
ProsYou can see children per class room or look them up by last name. It makes it easier to find the children for Breakfast and Lunch.
ConsThere are three different steps just to put a child in for their breakfast or lunch.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 11, 2019
Bill G.
Supervisor of Buildings & Grounds
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019

“Access & Time Management”

OverallNeed to stop switching screens and let changes and other edits occur on the same screen using a pop up
ProsI can't think of anything. It is frustrating to navigate
ConsThe software is too cumbersome to navigate
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019

“New ScholarChip Installation”

ProsGood integration with our existing SIS (PowerSchool) Self-contained kiosks allow for both wired and wireless access, as well as UPS backup and all necessary peripherals Sex offender list matching is a good feature to have in schools
ConsThe setup to link ScholarChip to our SIS was quite difficult and required repeated communications with support to obtain the exact instructions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 4, 2019
Jeanne L.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2017

“This system is really catching on”

OverallFairfax PS have it in all their schools. From what I heard, it's very intuitive and only minimal training is needed. ScholarChip knows schools, been doing it for a long time.
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2017
bob A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2015

“great school visitor management system”

Overallhas a managed mode and also a self serve mode (un-manned). has sex offender search. Also with multi languages. part of a larger school management system so add on services are easy.
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2015