Appcues Ratings

Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Appcues

Appcues makes it easy to deliver exceptional user experiences at scale, leading to happier customers and accelerated business growth. Using our Product-Led Growth Platform, anybody can publish beautiful and personalized in-product experiences in minutes, measure the impact on key business results, and know when and how to intervene with a human touchpoint. From IBM to OpenTable, thousands of businesses trust Appcues to deliver personalized experiences at scale throughout the user journey. Learn more about Appcues

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 72 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 72 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2018

“Great Onboarding Solution”

ProsWe discovered AppCues after making the decision to go with a third-party onboarding software instead of writing it ourselves. This gave us more flexibility in terms of who could control and publish the content (it did not have to be someone on the dev side). We did have some dev and UX involvement initially, but we are pretty much up and running independently now that we have some published flows under out belt. We've used this for onboarding trial users/new customers, feature releases, training notificaitons, and scheduled maintenance notifications so far, but the possibilities seem endless. We do plan to utilize the platform for NPS surveys in the future, but haven't tried it out yet. We have come across a bug or two along the way, but the support team has always been responsive. They have a great trial option as well when evaluating the service. For the price, it was a no brainer for us compared to their competitors and we've been very happy so far.
ConsWould be great if they offered an "opt-out" or unsubscribe option. I do worry about users getting annoyed of seeing certain message groups, like training notifications, etc. It would also be great to have a better format for exports, especially when survey results are involved. Right now they are dumped to an excel spreadsheet which we can further manipulate, but it would be great if it were quicker and easier to get to that data.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Jessica G.
Product Manager
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018

“LOVE Appcues!”

OverallWe have been using Appcues to deliver our new release announcements. Being a fast growing software company, we release features usually every week or every other week. It is extremely important we keep all our clients informed and up to speed on the platform's most recent capabilities. We need to be able to easily and quickly inform people of these releases in-app and with context. Appcues has allowed us to ensure people are in the know at all times.
ProsAppcues is a great tool. It is extremely user-friendly, allowing you to create impactful flows that help deliver messages, info and helpful tips directly to your customers. The people at Appcues have been amazing since day 1, always checking in to ensure we found success with their product. I have nothing but good thing to say about Appcues!
ConsThere are one or two UX improvements I would make but overall I can't say there is much I dislike!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2018
Amanda B.
Director of Customer Relations
E-Learning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019

“Appcues = Game Changer”

OverallWe initially used Appcues to support a freemium period we offered to all of our customers, as well as, a beta period that was targeted to a small subset of customers. From those two use cases, we saw immediate increase in engagement as well as a reduction in support tickets. We also include Appcues in our customer support process in which we analyze the common requests and design a self-service component to help deflect related tickets. We've seen between 20 - 40% reduction in support tickets in the related areas!
ProsAppcues' simple and intuitive design makes it easy to implement and use! We were able to get up and running quickly, with little support and immediate saw results. The Appcues team is super helpful, outgoing and committed to each customer's success.
ConsI don't dislike anything about Appcues. The product could use some enhancements to expand its functionality, such as: adding a scheduling tool, more criteria for establishing / tracking goals, and easier integration with APIs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 24, 2019
Ryan M.
Customer Support Manager
E-Learning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019

“Easy to use, fast results!”

OverallWe have used Appcues in a couple of different ways. We have used it to simply support the launch of a new solution or an enhancement, to provide targeted support during beta testing, and to provide reminders and updates to users. We have barely scratched the surface, and eve have plans to create a "choose your own adventure" set of flows, that allows users to select the amount of detail in a walk through based on their comfort level with our applications. We have seen amazing results in the impact on tickets coming into our Customer Support team.
ProsIn my time using Appcues, it has been incredibly intuitive to use. From creating my first "test" flow, to designing more complex groups of flows that adjust based on user selections, it has been a breeze to use. It is also incredibly versatile when it comes to personalizing and targeting flows to specific groups of use.
ConsOne pain point that I have experienced is in the way Appcues interacts with our site. On many pages, users open and close windows without actually navigating away from a specific URL. This can make it tricky to guide users through processes that require the opening or closing of windows and menus. There are workarounds, such as stringing different flows together, but it does make the build experience a little more time consuming and difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019
Avatar Image
Dan M.
Product Manager
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018

“Appcues is an easy and powerful tool for in system guidance”

OverallIt provides a great way of guiding users in the system, about almost anything. With the exception of sending new data through, actually setting up new flows and in system guidance can be done by product or customer success, with no further dev effort needed.
ProsAppcues is great, offering a simple, effective and easily set-up method to provide in-system guidance and advice. While some small developer effort is required to ensure that Appcues has the data on which you want to base showing cues, the flexibilty of the flows and the granularity with which you can control who seems them is fantastic.
ConsThat it requires any developer effort. But the amount is minimised. You're not going to get away with a highly configurable solution that doesn't require some data to be sent to customise it. And getting data out. It's limited to relatively basic exports. This is particularly annoying when it comes to surveys done through Appcues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 1, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2019

“Easy for customers and organizations!”

OverallVery pleasurable experience with learning to use the product and sharing it with our customers, to using the help desk, and getting help from support persons.
ProsAppcues has been a great resource to our organization in engaging and teaching our customers! It has helped to grow our product adoption metrics and the new improvements make it easy for us to create campaigns on the fly!
ConsIn the beginning, there were features that were missing such as highlighting options and segmentation, but they have continuously improved the product over time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 6, 2019
Tanya J.
Sr. Product Marketing Manager
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“Great Onboarding and Feature Adoption Tool”

OverallAppcues has come in hugely instrumental during our first and second quarter this year, both from a planning and execution standpoint. We became Appcues customers towards end of Feb, 2019 and by March we had launched our first big initiative with a team as lean as 2 and half people. Since then, we have been able to launch 2 additional initiatives. Both of which have created great awareness within our customer base. And we continue to monitor the impact and adoption. All this was also possible because of their great customer service that helped walk us through every step. Appcues has a simple intuitive builder interface that allows us to quickly create, launch and iterate on our initiatives. We can gather both high level and detailed insights that can help us interate and improvise. We are very happy with Appcues.
Pros1) The Ease of building and launching 2) Can execute with a lean team 3) Has a great customer success and support team that you can rely on
ConsI would like a more indepth analytical Insights displayed within the Appcues UI itself. Currently we get a high-level view within Appcues and for a more detailed view, we require to download a .csv or excel file which is a bit cumbersome. Additionally, Appcues isn't optimized for localization and that is something we would love to have as we are in the global market space.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Avatar Image
Alex M.
Church Engagement Lead
Philanthropy, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017

“Appcues has revolutionized the way that we do onboarding. We have seen a ton of success using it!”

OverallSupport tickets from first-time users have been almost eliminated as a result of using Appcues. This saves our company time and energy. We're able to educate users quickly and efficiently without annoying them with obnoxious additional registrations or blank fields to populate.
ProsAppcues is amazingly well designed for any user. It's intuitive and simple to set up. It's data and record keeping make it a breeze to maintain and manage. Their customer success team is very friendly and truly desires to see your business succeed. By using Appcues, we've almost completely eliminated new user support inquiries. It provides us a way to proactively communicate how to use our software and where to begin.
ConsSoftware updates are sometimes poorly communicated. But they're quick to educate and catch you up to speed when you're in need!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 24, 2017
Juan P.
Software Development Manager
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019

“User onboarding made easy with Appcues”

OverallAppcues has been nothing but a pleasure to work with. The continue to add features, analytics, and tools to help augment the process of onboarding new users into our web applications.
ProsAppcues lets you implement user onboarding features (i.e. help tooltips, feature tours, announcements, etc.) into your application, on-the-fly, without the need to implement those features directly into your code, thus no dev, QA, to prod traversal. Simply open the Appcues console, create a new appcue (e.g. modal, tooltip, etc.) or modify an existing one, choose where to deploy it to, and you're done.
ConsThere's very little NOT to like about Appcues, but the fact that you're relying on a 3rd party is about the only thing that I don't like, but that's a very VERY small price to pay in order to implement user onboarding features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2019
Rachel H.
Customer Success Advisor
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Build Beautiful In-app Tours, without Coding!”

OverallWe've enjoyed using Appcues and learning from their wealth of companion resources, especially the Onboarding Academy. We've become a better team and been forced to think more about our customers' viewpoints and experience. Appcues support and their Customer Success reps are also knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with. The company is not only helpful, but fun as well!
ProsAppcues is pretty easy to learn and use and very flexible and powerful. It's easy to customize for our tool and brand, and provides a way to onboard our users in a scalable way without taking up precious developer time.
ConsIt can be a little tricky to use, especially when we get into more complicated use cases. There are occasional bugs (although they are typically fixed quickly).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Jared D.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Quickly Point Users in the Right Direction”

OverallAppcues allows us to automate onboarding of our customers, cutting down on our success reps time per account.
ProsI've loved using AppCues to create tooltips and helpful flows to guide our new users through using our product. The fact that you only have to install AppCues embed code once and then can add as many flows using their interface without having to put in a request to our engineers has been huge for us.
ConsAppCues can be a bit buggy at times and sometimes would timeout, so I would have to refresh the app or my browser.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Esteban S.
Content Manager
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019

“Great help”

ProsGreat, great tool. Easy to use and very useful. Appcues makes our work much easier and helps us connect in a better way with our users. I highly recommend working with Appcues. Everything you need to do, will take just minutes.
ConsNo cons. It's great working with Appcues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 23, 2019
Kenan A.
Co-founder
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018

“True Builders!”

OverallLovely. I'm a fan!
ProsHow they reinvest into R & D. The product had blossomed over the last year and I'm really impressed how they build new features and improve the old ones. It's really easy to use and takes away the previous barriers between dev and our customer facing teams when it comes to announcing product changes.
ConsThey need some more work on integrations with Intercom. We had to figure out a hack to get proper NPS tags in Intercom.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 2, 2018
Isabel K.
Watson Product Manager
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019

“Very happy with Appcues”

OverallVery happy with my experience. The team we worked with was great and very informative/helpful.
ProsEasy to get started and easy to edit along the way. You're not stuck with anything you create and can continually inetrate based on user interactions with your product.
ConsDifficult to use the checklist due to changing URLs within an application.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2019
Christine W.
Head of Client Success
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2017

“10/10 for feature enhancements. These guys are always adding new stuff to make my messaging great.”

ProsFeature Updates - updates that add depth but keep ease of use are great. Everytime I log in I feel like I can do more, but the design/setup is very intuitive. Ease of Use (non-technical) - Super easy for my busy dev team to do the one time set up and I have been able to do the complete customization from there. Support is great - Help resources and the people that answer questions/reach out are really helpful I looked into a log of "app walk through" options at first, but this was definitely the best value and I am so pleasantly surprised how much the Appcues resources have helped me come up with new ideas to engage clients.
ConsCannot really think of any cons. Appcues lets you have custom events and fields, but its not the one click integration yet. The day I can just put in my Hubspot code and be able to automatically choose which fields/events I want to see will be amazing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2017
Avatar Image
Joseph P.
Product Analyst
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018

“Targeted User Messaging”

OverallOverall, our experience with Appcues has been highly positive. CSR, our account rep, has been magnificent in assisting us with our strategic use of Appcues to drive customer engagement and improve retention. (Both our engagement and retention rates have improved significantly as a result of our Appcues usage, and that trend looks to improve into the future.) Further, the Appcues team is continuously making improvements to the product. The functionality today is streets ahead of what it was even a year ago, and the product improvement shows no signs of stopping. Based on my experience, I highly recommend Appcues to any SaaS company looking to improve their customer engagement.
ProsThe granular targeting of users is fantastic. You can specify messaging to appear to customers according to a wide variety of parameters, allowing you to tailor a communication for almost any situation your user encounters while using your application.
ConsThe Reporting still leaves a bit to be desired, being, at time of writing, limited to a CSV of user interactions with a given message flow. The data is there, but it's up to you to ingest it into your BI software and slice and dice the data to get insights.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018
Aaron S.
Head of Product Marketing
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017

“My experience with Appcues has been extremely positive, both in regards to the product and support.”

ProsAppcues makes it extremely easy to engage with customers. The variety of message types they offer, along with capabilities like personalized content and message flows (where you string together multiple messages to create a guided tour of your product) make it the best way I've found to welcome new users, announce new products, and encourage adoption of existing features. Beyond the product itself, I've been very impressed with the customer experience. Support is quick to respond and the product folks I've spoken with are very receptive to feedback. They also are constantly releasing updates and new features.
ConsHonestly I have to get fairly nit picky here as the overall product is very strong. Reporting could be stronger, but I've seen improvements over the past few months and I would expect that to continue. I'd also like to see improvements to their integration with other vendors. Right now they have strong capabilities at exporting data from Appcues to other platforms, but like another reviewer mentioned, if I could configure an integration to upload event data that's been tagged using other platforms (so that I don't have to double-tag things), then it would take Appcues to the next level.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2017
Sam M.
Head of Customer Success
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019

“Appcues review”

OverallAbility to setup customised product walkthroughs and tooltips without having engineering resources involved is great
ProsEasy to setup and use, with a variety of options ie. modals, slideouts, NPS, tooltips, blinkers
ConsIt would be great if there was a way to preview how the flows appear in different browsers. I once went to visit a user and the flow looked stretched in
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Christine W.
Head of Client Success
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018

“Easy to use and awesome support. Critical for SaaS communication with clients. ”

OverallWe definitely need this for effective communication with our clients. When a new feature is released, this is the easiest way to show functionality and train our users on best practices. It definitely cuts out useless emails and gives people the information they need exactly where they need it. Overall a great UI and great support through Appcues.
ProsI love that things are always improving. The product updates and new features released are always relevant and well thought out. When we first starting using the system the functionality was good, but over the past year they have continued to make things easier.
ConsNot sure I have an answer for this. Maybe some more robust reporting could be developed, but what is there now is more than adequate.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Martin L.
Development Manager
Information Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018

“Really simple to use and a big help in onboarding new users”

OverallIt has greatly improved our user onboarding and has been of big help in reducing the workload of our support staff.
ProsI have enjoyed the experience with Appcues from the start. First, their Academy is very insightful and gave me many ideas to use in our own Onboarding flow. Second, I really liked that I was able to create our own flows into our system during the free trial which meant that I was able to see how it would work for our customers. Third, the ability to customise the tutorial to visually match our brand identity was very important to me. In general, the experience for me as has been basically frictionless.
ConsIt's missing a way to easily analyse your data and to see where your users drop off (only available through third-party integration). It can be done via a csv export but is not as user-friendly as the whole other experience with the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Erik M.
VP, Product Marketing (fmr. Senior Product Marketing Manager)
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2018

“Top-notch, low code, in-app notifications and training elements.”

OverallI mostly use AppCues for in-app user messaging about product releases, important announcements, and notification of planned software downtime.
ProsI'm especially fond of how easy the AppCues interface is to use. It makes executing upon in-app messaging programs (via slide-outs and modals) a breeze, and adding training elements (hover-overs and tool-tips) can be done in a snap.
ConsOccasionally the app will "stick" and metrics will be slow to populate - but that's probably due to user impatience more than anything else.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2018
Avatar Image
Neel D.
Product Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019

“Highly recommend to product teams that care about retention”

OverallWe were able to improve first month retention by 20% using appcues. It's ability to quickly iterate various flows to improve our on-boarding and activation are a game changer and don't require additional designers/engineers on staff. Furthermore, we also use it for in app announcements and NPS.
ProsEase of set up, analytics, educational content, ability to quickly iterate and experiment
ConsChrome extension is sometimes buggy but it's gotten much better as of late. Additionally, there are no integrations out for email providers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Pablo Z.
Head of Design & Experience
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Appcues is the best”

ProsThanks to appcues we were able to get a more direct and friendly communication with our online users.
ConsI can't think of anything. Maybe the user interface is too busy, even though they changed their design recently.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Brandon G.
Technical Support Specialist
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019

“AppCues is a leader and an Innovator”

OverallOverall I love Appcues and think they are in the right direction with continued innovation both on product development and thought leadership.
ProsGreat software to help users learn how to use your Software. Very easy to set up and use. Tons of innovations and changes since I started with the company in a short time.
ConsThe only cons came early on when setting it up but all have been resolved now as it is much easier to use and intuitive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Rubi S.
Product Manager
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019

“Gotta love AppCues!”

ProsAppCues is so easy to use! This tool has had a huge impact in our ability to improve and experiment with our app experience without waiting on dev teams.
ConsLoad time could be faster, but its qualities override this negative.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2019
Martin L.
Business Development Manager
Information Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019

“Easiest way to improve user onboarding”

OverallWe've greatly improved the effectiveness of onboarding new users. Also, the tools provided by Appcues have made it possible to offer in-system tutorial to our users which has reduced the load of our support team while keeping the quality of our service level high.
ProsAppcues is really easy to use and makes creating flows to onboard users very engaging and pleasurable. I also enjoy the fact that I can customize the experience to match our brand design.
ConsSteep price hike last year that made us evaluate whether to continue using the service. But the value we get from using the software outweighed the price hike.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 14, 2019
Dewi E.
Director of Ship agency solution
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“On boarding control taken back”

ProsIt's ease of use in getting customers on board, and data it provides back to us
ConsSometimes the plugin is clunky, would like to be able to generate more reports in app rather than exporting to csv
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Preston S.
Implementation Engineer
Consumer Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019

“Fantastic tool to educate and notify customers”

ProsAppcues is a fantastic tool to target users in your Webapp/mobile app and notify them and/or train them. I like that it takes less than 5 minutes to get the hang of using the chrome extension and you are building complex flows and targeting users. The reporting is great as well, and allows you to make easy business decisions.
ConsI wish there was a bit more customization options for look and feel of the modals. I'm not always content with the look without quite a bit of tweaking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019

“Would definitely recommend!”

ProsThe ease of publishing flows, hotspots, and tooltips is extremely valuable when implementing on a software that is constantly improving, changing and upgrading.
ConsThe hotspot functionality has potential; however, there are a number of improvements that need to be made there in order for it to really reach that potential.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019
Avatar Image
Wes B.
Vice President of Operations
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“Really good tool and CS team”

ProsIt's so easy to set up amazing tooltips in our app. It requires VERY little technical knowledge and gives you tons of power.
ConsIt's expensive!! All of the tools in this category are, and this is the best one, but a price break would be very helpful for smaller teams. Maybe a different price structure?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Nickalos R.
Customer Success and Operations
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Awesome experience using Appcues, user friendly and positive customer feedback.”

OverallIt has been great we have released walk through for customers to be guided through our site. We also launched a new feature and used a flow to provide information about the coming soon feature release.
ProsOur customers have provided a lot of positive feedback using our walk through flows. Easy to building using the Appcues builder along with great setting options to target and segment when/who the flows go to.
ConsNot many cons only a few small thing in the builder like no spell check, spaces in the text sometimes don't show on the published flow so we would have to edit the flow delete a space and add a space for it to show in the published flow. Not a big issue though.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Deanna G.
Product Marketing Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019

“Appcues, A Game Changer”

OverallAppcues has been a total game changer for our company. Since we've started really leaning into a proactive in-app messaging strategy leveraging Appcues, we've seen a significant uptick in user engagement, lead generation, and it's created a new channel for us to collect user feedback faster and more effectively. The platform is so easy to use, and we're loving the integration with Heap which has allowed us to deeply understand how our users engage with our flows. I would recommend Appcues to any organization looking to ramp up their user engagement.
ProsEase of use, design customization options, segments and checklist features
ConsSometimes impressions and completion rates are inconsistent with the data we see in Heap
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Matan B.
Growth Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2019

“Easy-to-implement solution for a difficult problem”

OverallThey obviously are masters in this domain of user onboarding. I read their content for 6 months before implementing.
ProsAppcues is very simple to use, and depending on your situation should be easy to implement in your website/product. Rather than your dev team building everything in-house, you can save a lot of developer time by having them just input the code and doing it yourself (non-technical guy here)
ConsNot much, so I'll have to nitpick here. Sometimes when you're building a flow the buttons can lock and you'll have to refresh your page. Not too big of a deal and doesn't happen too often. A bug I'm sure will be fixed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Dow Weston J.
Growth
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019

“Great product and team”

OverallGreat software that has helped us improve our onboarding experience and improve activation and retention.
ProsWe use Appcues for onboarding and additional/new feature education. Creating new flows is easy and the product provides excellent visibility into what users are seeing and how they are behaving. The integration with amplitude has also been valuable for our team.
ConsThe initial learning curve was somewhat steep, but the team was incredibly helpful with set up and support
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019
Muhammad S.
Customer Service Specialist
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019

“great solution to engage users throughout their lifecycle”

Overallit excellent. makes each step of the process so streamlines and as per exact needs. highly recommended
Prosits very ease to use. allows me to test different hypotheses so dynamically.
ConsNothing significance comes to mind but analytics could be better
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019
Kaushik T.
Product Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“The best onboarding and feature announcement tool i've ever used.”

Overall1. New user onboarding 2. NPS surveys 3. Feature announcement 4. Quick surveys
ProsFeatures we use at work most are - 1. Easy onboarding for our users. We use it's conditions from matching URLs to Segment events and properties. 2. NPS surveys. Integrated alongside Zapier for automation and you are set. 3. Feature announcements. Every release planning consists of us creating beautiful flows to onboard our users to newly released features.
ConsAlthough it's very subjective, i like the older UI better than the new one. Also, i would like the option to replicate a flow and change it's URL.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Robert C.
Cofounder
Education Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018

“Very Comprehensive Onboarding Software that Negates the Need for Development”

OverallIncredible customer service. Really go above and beyond to resolves any issues and provide comprehensive solutions to your problems.
Pros-Extremely easy to implement -Segmenting by any type of user -Looks beautiful -Easy analytics
ConsEverything is element driven (e.g. show a call-out next to this H1 heading when user is on this page). However, our site has many "hidden" elements on a page, which only display when the user interacts with the page in a certain way. It'd be nice if you could somehow detect these clicks/interactions, and then display tutorials based on that (e.g. on click of this button, show this alert)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018
Donna B.
Partner Coordinator
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019

“Appcues is awesome”

OverallAmazing, the support we get is great, The rep is always there to offer us help when we need it.
ProsSo simple to use but it looks amazing and the customer service is 5*
ConsNothing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019
Avatar Image
Neil T.
Product Manager
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Loveable product and awesome team”

OverallAppcues have a great team of people driving the business forward. They are always willing to listen to our ideas and feedback. It's a pleasure to see the product regularly moving forward every month.
ProsSoftware is changing and new capabilities arriving all the time. It's quick and easy to setup content and target audiences using the chrome plugin. The segmentation is slick and easy to use.
ConsThere is no API for downloading the flow data. I have to manually download CSV files. If I could have an simple API we can load the data into our BI tool for further analysis.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Avatar Image
Robin Y.
Customer Engagement Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018

“Great tool, awesome support”

OverallAppcues has given us the process and tools to really change the game of onboarding our users
ProsEasy and fun to use, great support available from appcues team
ConsThe learning curve is a bit steep at times
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Justin U.
Sr. Channel Marketing Manager
Hospitality, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Guide users thru your software”

OverallI like to use the product to educate users with workflows through the product. It uses clear hotspots to guide the user journey. It also allows users to pick up where they left off when it's more convenient for them.
ProsAppcues has a couple of cool options for user guidance within your software. You can run workflows like introduce new features, walking users through updates, or even popping up modals based on usage.
ConsThere are limits to what Appcues can do. As a marketer, I'm still waiting for it to integrate into HubSpot, so I can run campaigns based off of how users have engaged with the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Aaron S.
CEO
Hospitality, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“Great product to highlight new features”

OverallWe love the product and use it to highlight new features and appcues.
ProsWorks great to highlight new features and new app store apps.
ConsCost per user is prohibitive when implementing at large enterprises.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019
Zuhaib S.
Senior Loss Adjuster
Insurance, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019

“Appcues is awesome!!!”

ProsIt's very easy to use and helps us test different hypotheses in minimal time.
Cons I can't think of anything. Would love to see features like Localization and user permissions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2019
Arturo O.
CTO
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 27, 2019

“Works like magic”

OverallWe've had a great experience with Appcues. We managed to double our won deals with the product tours. Additionally to the product being awesome, the staff has been superb too.
ProsThe Chrome extensions makes it to easy to create new flows.
ConsWould love a deeper integration with Intercom.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 27, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“Best Product Tour Value for Money”

OverallOnboarding customers Showing them how to user our software with quick content
Pros1. Robust product tour designer has many customization options 2. Quickly create and manage user segments to ensure correct flow targeting 3. Organize flows and access data regarding how they are used by customers
Cons1. No integration with MadCap Flare 2. Occasional interface problems results in lost work
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Ezra S.
Customer success manager
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Great service for walkthroughs and integration with CRM”

OverallWe've had a great experience overall. Our sales rep was extraordinarily patient with us while we got things configured and the team has followed through with their promise to make an Intercom email campaign integration possible.
ProsWe recently got our Appcues onboarding survey to create tags on our intercom users, in order to use their feedback for email campaign customization. This is a really helpful feature that we needed and couldn't get from other solutions.
ConsWe wish that we could have more in-app dashboard visibility of the analytics. Right now it's mostly limited to CSV exports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Andrew H.
VP, Product & Platform
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019

“Game Changer for Onboarding and Feature Introduction”

ProsEase of use, distributed responsibility where literally anyone on our product or marketing team can launch a new flow.
ConsResponsive is not their strong suit (yet - we are told it's in process). We have to duplicate our flows on mobile and desktop and adjust accordingly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 12, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Appcues is a great product for reaching out and informing your users”

OverallWe've had easy setups and fast deployments to our production environments. Customer support has been helpful.
ProsBeing able to maintain our workflows using the Chrome Browser extension
ConsSetting it up in all of our environments. But we understand it is necessary for them to understand what app is being accessed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Kenan A.
Co-founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2017

“Easy to use, easy to implement, great UI and getting better”

ProsAppcues is cost effective, ease of use and they are continually making improvements to the platform.
ConsAppcues can be a tiny bit buggy at times but it's improving week by week. I find making changes to style templates to a group of flows can time consuming- it has to be done one flow at a time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2017
Katie K.
Product Manager
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“I really like using Appcues!”

ProsIt has been super helpful with our in-platform education for our users. I find the analytics very helpful.
ConsSometimes it takes some investigation to get flows working as they should or they work inconsistently when building but we've been able to push through.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019