TrueSight Capacity Optimization Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
3.5/5

About TrueSight Capacity Optimization

TrueSight Operations Management is an analytics-driven performance management solution that proactively identifies and resolves availability and performance problems across hybrid IT environments. Industry-leading event management technology prioritizes events allowing IT Operations to focus on what matters most to the business. Learn more about TrueSight Capacity Optimization

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Michael E.
Service Delivery Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2015

“TrueSight has amazing potential”

OverallThe TrueSight portfolio of products has been a success here at SEI. We're building a platform that provides us situational awareness in a Business Services orientated way that we couldn't have done just a couple of years ago. We've been able to get quick wins using APM and teams are getting used to the ProactiveNet console as a one stop shop for environmental awareness. We like the built in connectedness of the platform from Synthetics to EUEM to APM to BPPM and include BMTM in the mix as well. The extended KMs and third party add-ins add depth to our monitoring techniques and provide the flexibility to address our operational concerns. The ProactiveNet baselining and abnormality events are critical to our approach to monitoring what becomes actionable items in our systems and helps in our incident MTTR and RCA. Add in external SNMP and Agents for extended data gathering in our environment from SQL and Oracle diagnostics to VMWare to Network and we're looking at being able to build a single picture that represents the health of a business service. More than anything the administrative overhead for setting up a new services is enormous making the time-to-value an unhappy ratio. Doing simple tasks may take an administrator to three or four different consoles to accomplish a typical system onboarding. For the next year of implementation we have 3.5 FTEs managing an environment of only 2300 end-points (actual implementation will only be about 1400 in the coming year). The TrueSight system can be very kludgy: Navigation is not a strong point in BPPM, ADM or EUEM. The current user experience/visuals of the BPPM make for too many running jokes of software from the 1990s. The ProactiveNet console is also slow and lacks in a number of areas of user functions that should exist in a modern product. The graphs in ProactiveNet are very useful but because of the challenges (readability, detail lacking, missing data) people use the product fewer times than they should. Because BMC has not addressed these concerns directly I have a fear that the new TrueSight overlay product (TrueSight 10.0) will continue to grow while the underlying products (BPPM, APM, EUEM) languish and these products will not have the overhauls they need [given that APM, BPPM and EUEM will continue to exist as drill down their importance does not diminish any time soon]. For that reason I cannot give five stars.
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2015
Ben J.
Lead IT Event Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2015

“Truesight 9.5 ”

OverallMy journey began four or five years ago with Patrol and Portal when it was called EVM. Next a migration to BPPM 8.6 and finally the past 6 months with Truesight 9.5. The most difficult part of the journey has been keeping up with the names. Agentless or agent-based monitoring from the tried-and-true Patrol foundation is solid. The installation and performance of Patrol is simple, consistent and rarely if ever an issue. The new BPPM infrastructure and stability of the IS nodes in 9.5 is a welcome enhancement. We were able to reduce the number of IS nodes that are deployed, and thus reduce the complexity of our system. Now that the core of BPPM is stable and performance is no longer a question, we are able to focus on more advanced topics such as service models. The integration between Truesight 9.5 and Remedy 8.1 is fantastic. We are able to create/modify service models within Atrium... then re-use those service models within ITSM's incident and change modules, while using the same model to display alerts and outages. Atrium has become the single source of truth for service models, and Truesight (BPPM) displays those models as diagrams or as heat maps. The new heat map view is amazing. Perfect for our NOC and Tier 1 support teams. To summarize Truesight 9.5, it is the tried-and-true technology with yet another new name. The integrations are now solid. The performance is solid. It is definitely worth the effort to upgrade. You will thank yourself later.
Source: Capterra
January 27, 2015
Damir S.
ITSM Team Leader
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2015

“Mercator review of BPPM”

OverallPROS: - connects OOTB with Remedy, - uses Intelligent Ticketing to filter events, - has adaptive thresholds, - ability to connect with other monitoring tools and present all the events from those tools, - wide range of technologies supported. CONS: - lots if issues (product defects) with the tool, - presentation possibilities and views are not satisfactory for most of our users, - BMC support for the tool took 11 months to resolve our main issues - during that period we completely froze the usage of the tool, - lots of different administrator consoles, which makes administering of this suite a nightmare, - migration from PNET agents to BPPM agents is not 100% complete, therefore some functionalities are not present or there are many issues in the tool, - license management is not accurate nor complete, so there is no way to obtain the correct numbers (e.g. licenses purchased vs licenses used) OVERALL IMPRESSION: - generally too complex tool to handle, took too long to reach the point of "install successful", too expensive for what it offers, low acceptance from users, generally might be called "failed project" here
Source: Capterra
January 23, 2015
Rajendran M.
VP
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2015

“ Review for TrueSight BPPM”

OverallPros : BPPM and Truesight complements each other and it will be a great prdocut who is looking end to end monitoring. Dashboard : The Dasboard option seems to be awesome, specifically for seniormanagement to view the end to end status. Cons. I would like to see more reporting option... ex. List of parameters monitored, corresponding thresholds, number of times events occure for give server, rdbms, business etc. Apart from that it is a Great product.
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2015
James R.
IS Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2015

“Thoughts about ProactiveNet”

OverallPros & Cons Very Powerful & adaptive, the application does wonderful job with signature base-lining and predictive alerting. However the interface is lacking with the current version of 9.6, not a big fan of flash. Additionally, it dosnt seem to have a nice dashboard view for sign boards.
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2015
NARESH G.
Software Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2015

“BPPM Integration with Remedy Service Desk”

OverallWe had initial problems with this Integrating BPPM with Remedy Service desk. We lost a little bit of trust on the product initially and then after BMC help we were able to successfully implement this integration in our environment and completely happy with the product. (Special thanks to Darius Wallace)
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2015
Manish s.
Senior Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2015

“BPPM 9.6 ”

OverallGreat product.Fixed data collection issues . Cons : CMA has to be More mature (need to update O.S and Application Templates) Agent deplyoment should be made through Operation console just like we do it in BBCA.
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2015
Jarkko P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2015

“TrueSight”

OverallI have seen only Demo at TrueSight but this is convincing. Helps a lot to get all log files at same view.
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2015
Lavanya B.
Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2015

“Monitoring made easy”

OverallThis tools is designed to improve monitoring capabilities enterprise wide and has great features
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2015