River Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About River

Ideal for companies and government agencies with 500+ employees, River is award-winning mentoring software for business. As a scalable SaaS solution, you can configure River to run multiple programs within one platform. Launch, manage, measure, and grow your program with River. From our proprietary matching algorithm and matching options to our monitoring check-ins and reports, you can configure River to suit your needs. Ask about our consulting services and training! Contact us to learn more. Learn more about River

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 12 of 12 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018

“Full featured mentoring platform with personalized support”

OverallThe benefits of having a dedicated mentoring platform are flexibility, a strong end user experience especially for mentor circles (though I think it leans heavily in that direction and not as much for 1:1) and world class customer service from the top down
ProsI love the support I get from the team at River. My company has a number of unique mentoring programs and I'm able to incorporate my account specialist into every aspect of the design and implementation process.
ConsWith more companies trying to quantify the value of mentoring, I think it's important that River work on both their reporting and survey tools to be more competitive with other companies that are in the same technology space. I've seen demos recently where their reporting capability makes it very easy to "tell the story" of mentoring, and that's not something I have at River right now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018
PETER S.
FINANCIAL PLANNER
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018

“We use it to develop mentoring relationships in a business environment to improve specific skills.”

OverallDeveloped mentoring relationships that are designed to improve specific skills such as becoming a team leader for example. I work for a company that employs over 35000 around the globe, and I have been able to create and maintain great relationships thanks directly to this software. This fact, in the end, improves productivity by maintaining a healthy work environment.
ProsIt is very user friendly, fun to browse around look at people's profiles and excellent customer service!
ConsIt is not cheap but the cost is absorbed by our company and it allows up to 1000 users. I can't think of anything negative to say and if your company decides to buy it, it is a great tool to connect workers in a big company and maintain a high level or morale.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2018
Phil A.
Dir. Business Strategy and Innovation
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016

“River Software - a great company to partner with”

OverallOur experience with River software was one of working with a trusted partner. They were great to work with and delivered on every promise that they made. They also went out of their way to help our program succeed by investing in software development that enabled us to track real-time user experience (xAPI). Their depth of knowledge in mentoring -- both formal and peer, is unmatched and this evident in the configuration of the River platform. Anyone interested in developing a social learning program could do no better than to engage River Software.
ProsSmart recommendations of content, people and groups based on competencies selected by the user.
ConsLike any fully featured software program it can be a bit of challenge for end users to master.
Recommendations to other buyersBe sure to check out the xAPI capability-- it offers a means to do robust analytics on social learning. I am not sure that its competitors have this feature.
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016
Janice L.
Sr. Instructional Designer
E-Learning, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2016

“Review by Janice”

OverallThe Community Manager Certification Program uses River for collaboration opportunities within our learning groups. They are able to share comments, references, polling, and other learning experiences with ease. The platform provides the social learning aspect of the program that we could not use on other platforms. Collaboration is the highest goal set for the program. Using River as our platform allowed us the opportunity to win Silver from the Brandon Hall Awards in "Best in Collaborative Learning" category.
ProsThe interface and all its features for collaboration.
ConsScrolling when we try to find someone's post.
Recommendations to other buyersRiver is a great tool to encourage social learning in a trusted space.
Source: Capterra
November 21, 2016
Barb S.
Project Manager, PMP
Automotive, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016

“River Mentoring Software is more than just a mentoring system! ”

OverallWe've been using River's various versions of mentoring software since 2008; their workflow has streamlined with simple but elegant features for our users; with state of the industry mentoring operational excellence processes and support.
ProsSimple to use, excellent product and process support from the River team
ConsAlthough it is excellent software; don't think it totally runs by itself; there still is a need to set strategy, and support the process internally.
Recommendations to other buyersRiver demonstrates they are committed to being an industry leader in the social learning/mentoring venue.
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2016
Chris W.
Sales Manager
201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 21, 2018

“Mentoring Made Easy”

ProsVery easy to use and I highly recommend. Great support, tools, and ideas towards strengthening our mentorship program.
ConsNothing bad to say. This is a good get. The only thing is there may be an initial learning curve before a user feels comfortable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 21, 2018
Jodi D.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016

“River - mentoring web platform”

OverallThe river has been an excellent partner for Sodexo since 2008. They make it possible to reach thousands of people who otherwise would not be able to connect in our large, decentralized organization in both 1:1 and virtual community relationships. They have consistently provided high levels of client satisfaction and their thought leadership has helped shape and evolve our mentoring strategy over the years. I recommend River if you are implementing, sustaining or evolving a mentoring program in your organization.
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2016
Laura A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2016

“Innovative Partners”

OverallAs our organization continues to use River in new ways, the River team works along side us to create the right experiences for our users. I value the partnership and innovative collaboration.
ProsMatching people into mentoring partnerships with ease in a large organization.
ConsUpdating system for active and inactive employees
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2016
Brandy A.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2016

“A great tool that continues to evolve”

OverallRiver has been amazing to work with as a partner. Every encounter has left me feeling like they are invested in helping us find the right solution for us and are not just interested in selling us any solution. Their team is collaborative, flexible and very responsive.
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2016
Kristen W.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2016

“Many Years of Positive Experiences with River Software”

OverallThe River software has made getting involved in mentoring, as a Learner and Advisor, very easy in my organization. River offers support and ideas that allows us to continually improve our social learning/mentoring process.
Source: Capterra
November 9, 2016
Ian K.
Director Corporate Responsibility and Diversity & Inclusion
Machinery, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2018

“Early on in the process but very impressed!!”

Overallsee above
ProsThe ease of utilizing the River software is great. The service is outstanding. While we are early on in the process we've been very pleased with all that River has provided us to date.
ConsNothing yet. We are launching soon which will be the real test.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 26, 2018
Denise C.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2017

“Very easy to navigate”

OverallThis is a wonderful program. The company is constantly updating and making improvements. It is very easy to navigate and easy to understand.
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2017