Slate Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Slate

Admission platform for higher education institutions that manages online applications, student records, organize events, trips and more. Learn more about Slate

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 23 of 23 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jeremy A.
Project Coordinator
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018

“Great application management software, not the easiest to use.”

ProsSlate has a large set of features and makes collecting and reviewing applications rather easy. - Applicants are able to submit their applications entirely online. - We are able to review and send admissions decisions through Slate. - The Mail-Merge function (called "Deliver" in Slate) is quite robust for ongoing applicant contact. - The ability to Query tool in Slate is (mostly) intuitive and easy to use. Despite a somewhat steep learning curve (see the 'Cons' Section), I would recommend using Slate to streamline the application process.
ConsWhile Slate is a very powerful tool, it is not polished. Slate documentation is there, but not robust. The customer service feels similar. Slate has a steep learning curve. Once you get there, the software is very powerful, but it takes some time. Slate also has some database limitations. Slate stores Applicants (people who have submitted an application) and Prospects (people who are interested, but have not yet submitted an application) in two separate databases. This means that you cannot search both at once without some SQL work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018
Chris H.
Assistant Director - Marketing
Higher Education, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019

“You will never need another CRM”

OverallSlate InBox has been a game changer for our customer service efforts. We can quickly assign questions and get them answered, as well as document the interaction. Enrollment Management is a vert complex business and managing lists and customer data needs to be sophisticated and easy to use. Slate is both.
ProsWhile I love most of the features, what I like most is the support and constantly-improving culture of Slate. We get questions answered quickly and new products built sometimes within a few days of request. I am in the higher ed industry and the document reader makes managing high volume application loads and accessing/reading very easy. We have yet to be disappointed by the CRM.
ConsDeliver (building email campaigns) lacks in terms of design features. As our most impactful channel, we hoped the feature would get more of an upgrade.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Ryan H.
Systems Specialist for Enrollment Management
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019

“This is the BEST CRM for education that you will find”

OverallOur organization has been using Slate for 3 years and we are still in love with the product. It might sound strange, but I look forward to coming into work just to use the software. It makes our jobs so much easier that it's released a lot of tension that was in the office with our previous vendor.
ProsThe balance between features, flexibility, and setup is unmatched by any other product I've used. The thing I most like about Slate is that it is so easy to use. I haven't used any other product that gets usability this spot on.
ConsAt the yearly Slate Summit when new features are announced, it can take awhile for them to be added to the software. However, this is really more that they have setup such high expectations on response to issues, that delayed release of a feature seeks like a big issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019

“Industry leader and still going”

OverallUnified all of our disparate admission processes into one platform.
ProsThe product sells itself as evidenced by the lack of sales staff that Technolutions has. It is very intuitive, has great customer support, and a vibrant user community. Definitely goes past a CRM and into a total admissions office solution.
ConsDoesn't always have system integrations that platforms like Salesforce have as they try to build functionality into the product itself. Some of the features that are rolled out are very innovative but don't always catch on with the user community (happens a lot with every software provider though).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 13, 2019
Annalisa G.
Sr. Admin
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“Slate is One of the Best Admission Tools”

OverallOverall, Slate makes processing applications easy. Checklists, assigning materials directly from the inbox, and emailing students directly from the application are all features that I use heavily, and have had no trouble with. Highly recommend.
ProsI'll focus on the application processing side: -Easy to assign materials directly to application accounts from Slate inbox -Easy to set up connectivity between your application portal and various rounds during the cycle -Easy to sort data once the applicants submit -Easy to set up checklists of items and audit based on the checklist -Easy to email students if they are missing items -Easy to see when students are opening emails from you reminding them to submit materials
ConsFrom the Admissions processing side of things: -Sometimes items which should auto-check off do not, and you have to catch these manually -Sometimes items which you have set up to be part of a checklist don't show up at all in the checklist, and you have to add them manually -there's a lot of scrolling, and no way to jump down to the bottom of application item lists, which can actually take up a lot of time! It's clunky to have to click between tabs and manually scroll to a field.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
David C.
Admissions Counselor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2017

“Excellent, love it.”

ProsUser friendly, easy to do all the basics. In addition, it has a lot of depth. The more I explore Slate, the more helpful tools I find. Slate makes my job easier.
ConsOne (very minor) complaint is that if I'm midway through entering info and leave the screen for too long, sometimes it signs me out without telling me. I finish filling in the info, only to find out that I can't save it because I'm signed out. This has on rare occasion resulted in me losing work. But the net time Slate has saved me is so high that I consider this a very minor inconvenience.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 7, 2017
Cynthia B.
Director of Online Admissions
Higher Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Slate- The Only CRM for Higher Ed Admissions”

ProsMy favorite features of Slate are the user-friendly query-building functions, the ease of access through the web and app platform, and the communication abilities through Deliver and SMS Inbox.
ConsReporting between different databases can sometimes be an issue, but Technolutions is already releasing features to address that concerns for users!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Larry B.
Assistant Director of Institutional Research and Information Management
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018

“By far the customer relationships management tool for admissions”

ProsEasy to use, customizable, fully useable by any level user. This tool is by far the best for managing the admissions process include amazing communications abilities, including texting, custom post cards, and of course emails.
ConsThey do make lots of enhancements, if that can be a negative?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 27, 2018
Molly M.
Student Affairs Administrator
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“Slate Admissions Software”

ProsMy favorite part of slate is that you can "impersonate" an applicant to better understand their question about their application and troubleshoot for them. Slate is great at taking different types of required application materials (i.e. PDFs, videos, audio, etc.).
ConsSlate is a bit non-intuitive and takes some training to get the hang of it. It would be great to be able to compare applications side by side in the read view.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Melinda C.
Marketing Director, Continuing Studies
Higher Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Great application and CRM system”

ProsI work in two different instances of Slate. I love that you can have so many categorizations of roles, and make them as broad and customizable as you want. The learning resources are really good and help you step-by-step. The interactions at a glance is very helpful.
ConsThere are no email templates that are pre-installed. The company seems to be focused on advances in the application and reporting system and not so much as an event or email system. Also, there were many updates revealed as ready to use at last year's conference but now are still in development.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Sarah P.
Admissions
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“This software is an incredible way to track admissions-related processes”

ProsIt's extremely easy to use and customizable. You can run queries, schedule different types of events, organize telephone campaigns for students, review emails sent/received to better communicate, read applications, and more.
ConsI haven't encountered a con in this system yet. It's a fantastic way to get things done and get them done quickly!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Law Enforcement, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2017

“I used this when I worked for admissions in college and it was wonderful and easy.”

ProsI love how easy it was to enter and keep track of admissions documents. I loved the easiness of logging in and the file lookup feature is excellent.
ConsIt would get rather slow or bogged down, though maybe this was because almost everyone in our office was constantly on it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2017
Avatar Image
Paul H.
Associate Director of Admissions- Graduate Business Programs
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018

“The most powerful tool in our field. Simply put. ”

ProsThe creation on quick reports that help me manage applicants. The scheduling functionality is handy and the streamlining of shared reports between colleagues is a nice feature as well. Makes going through applicants more effective.
ConsThe only con is that it can be overwhelming to tackle everything Slate has to offer. The training videos on the site should be more prominent.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2018
Sasha H.
Business Administrator
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018

“Premier enrollment management tool”

ProsOne of the most helpful tools was the ability to create custom queries on any number of parameters. Also of importance is the ability to manage student information and communication plans (current and historical) in a single system.
ConsThe implementation period was lengthier than we had expected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2018
Sarah P.
Admissions Director
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“This is incredible software! Extremely easy to use and intuitive.”

OverallFantastically easy to use
ProsI can't tell you how easy it is to use Slate. Everything is organized, it has low or no down time, and has incredible features that are easy to customize. It's like an Andriod product with Apple's ease of use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Franny S.
Admissions Intern
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019

“Slate for Admissions Offices”

OverallOur office has been able to make the most of the time we have (and of our busy schedules) with Slate!
ProsI love that Slate is easy to use and that I can find all the admissions information I need for a single student in one place. Slate also makes tasks quick and easy when the work day gets busy, which can happen with little warning. I'm often finding even more features of Slate that I didn't know existed!
ConsBecause Slate has so many great features, it can often be difficult to know the quickest and best ways to navigate all this information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2019
Annalisa G.
Sr. Administrative Assistant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018

“I use CRM daily as part of an Admissions team for business graduates. I represent the MSM program.”

ProsEasy search feature, downloading from Slate inbox, and uploading new materials. It's also easy to track fair attendees.
ConsIt's hard to track emails once "resolved". Once you resolve emails, they only stay for a time. That's difficult when needing to look back.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2018
Roy C.
Senior Web Developer
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019

“Powerful CRM for Educational Institutions”

ProsIf you can dream it, then its possible. This is the CRM that can do it all from email communication, to form builds to lead followup. We've been impressed with what Slate has been able to do for us. It has automated a lot of our communication and even replaced our event management software too.
ConsIt's not necessarily user friendly, but it gets the work done once you know where to go.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2019
Julia D.
Admissions Program Assistant
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019

“Technolutions slate”

Pros- queries -calendar of events - lookup by name or email
Consinability to customize our own application more would like to be able to look up a profile by phone number way too many duplicate profiles that should be caught sooner by the system
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 12, 2019
Chemeli K.
Director of University Guidance
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019

“Could be useful on the HS Side”

OverallI wish Slate would develop more for high schools as much as they have invested in universities. It would be great having the same software to work with. Less complicated for all involved.
ProsAs a counselor, I can see if a student has applied to a university and this is useful especially if they have forgotten to inform us.
ConsUnlike Naviance or Maia, it does not hold records. It's merely a dispatch tool. I would love to search students by name. As it is, I can only search by university.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 10, 2019
Elaine S.
Web Developer and User Interface Specialist
Education Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017

“Industry standard”

ProsThey are always working to add new features and make things simpler. They listen to customer feedback and make changes based on it.
ConsAccess levels leave something to be desired - it's hard to grant viewing permissions to give a web developer analytics access without also handing them administrative privileges.
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2017
Marisa C.
Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“Great software for schools!”

ProsCan access all information for students and store it all in one place without having to worry about losing items or forgetting about them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017
Avatar Image
Donald G. P.
Director, School of Business' Weekend MBA Program
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2017

“I just started using Slate as our university's admissions/application review platform.”

OverallIt provides a good snapshot of an applicant's status as well as an email tracking mechanism.
ProsI'm only scratching the surface of the software since I haven't been using it for very long. However, from what I've been told, this has much more functionality than Nolij, our previous system. In addition to being able to review applications and render admissions decisions, it also provides a means to review all of the communication with an applicant and where he or she stands in the application process.
ConsSome of the information that I found valuable in the last software platform I used, such as social security number and date of application, are either unable to be found or are hard to find.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2017