Snapt Balancer Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Snapt Balancer

Snapt offers a modern, software-only ADC solution that was born in the cloud and is designed to be flexible, customizable, fast and easy to use. Snapt's ADC offering, with its load balancer, web accelerator, and application firewall is designed to improve and protect clients virtual infrastructure, while providing fast delivery. Snapt allows DevOps to focus on optimizing, enhancing and building on any network, on any device, platform or cloud-based infrastructure. Learn more about Snapt Balancer

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 13 of 13 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Andy H.
Group IT Manager
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018

“Couldn't justify price of big name competition”

OverallWe are using Snapt to provide HA based redundancy across two physical sites. We had attempted to do this previously with a standard Linux/HAProxy solution which gave some peculiar issues and was difficult to configure, maintain and monitor. Snapt takes away all the problems and provides a clean and simple GUI to control and view all aspects.
ProsTook less than 15 mins to install and setup (using VM Appliance installation) to provide add HA protection to our MS Exchange environment. After trialling for 7 days we then started trials on a similar products. Within 3 hours of trialling we were back on Snapt and putting it live in production. Documentation in not an polished as some competitive products but with support being helpful and very responsive (we are talking minutes not hours) then scratching heads and reading documents to work out what to do is really not needed.
ConsWe have been using Snapt for around four months now. The only issue we have found has been with GUI performance slowing down but this was fixes by having the Snapt support guys assist in automatically trimming logs to keep the database to a reasonable size.

Vendor Response

By Snapt on September 18, 2018
Thanks Andy, great to hear you are happy! If you do have slowness issues it is typically logs in the DB; we can definitely assist further!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2018
Tony L.
Systems Administrator
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019

“SnapT Management”

ProsUsing SnapT is easy and straightforward. The wizard for creating a load balancer was quick and simple. No need to know all the necessary ports and other settings. It is handled for you.
ConsWhen setting up our load balancer for Exchange, even though it was simple with the wizard, it still took a little tweaking to get functional. But from a systems administrator perspective, it is something we like to do anyways.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 20, 2019
Ahmed S.
Technical Manager
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“As easy as 1,2,3”

OverallSnapt Balancer allowed us to speed up deployment of a complete lead balancing solution in minutes instead of the hours and some times days it took us to configure all of this manually.
ProsIf you ever had to setup an Nginx load balancer by hand, you realize how complicated it can get, and with all the tuning parameters available for Nginx it becomes even more difficult to get a stable and day load balancer. Snapt Balancer had removed the complexity and made setting up a production grade load balancer as easy as 1,2,3.
ConsThe documentation are quite modest and could be enhanced.

Vendor Response

By Snapt on September 19, 2018
Thanks Ahmed, happy to hear you are loving the product! You are right about documentation, we are actually launching (this quarter) a new online documentation portal. We'll keep you posted!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018
Avatar Image
Josh M.
Network Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“Great Value Balancer”

ProsA lot cheaper than the big guys, but lots of features.
ConsThe Let's Encrypt functionality is still a work in progress, if they can perfect this feature it will be an awesome product.

Vendor Response

By Snapt on December 17, 2018
Thanks for the feedback Josh! We're releasing the Let's Encrypt update in December (2018) so really soon!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2018

“Very good load balancer coming from Netscaler”

OverallWe were changing our datacenters from and to a different geographical location. The deployment of the virtual appliance and configuration were so easy, it made us wonder why the heavy hitters like Netscaler or F5 are so expensive.
Pros- Simplicity of creating loadbalanced front- and backends, especially coming from Citrix Netscaler. - Powerful HAproxy options can be used with raw config editing. - NGINX can be used for UDP load balancing and website optimization through Snapt Accelerator. - Backend checks work very good, no customer downtime because server instances that are not available. - Slack integration for alerts works very good, we don't need SMS any more. - We can use iptables/ipset to block blacklisted IP's! This drop a LOT of traffic which are not from our clients. - Configuration backups are sent by mail automatically after installing the plugin.
Cons- SNMP checks are not supported and snmpd is not installable(but Slack alerts leverage that) - Server grouping into dynamic objects would be nice since we now have to disable the same servers in different backends.

Vendor Response

By Snapt on October 1, 2018
Thank you for the feedback! We're happy to hear it's working well for you!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Fast and feature-rich”

OverallOverall a great buy if you need a fast, feature-rich, supported balancer.
ProsSnapt Balancer is very fast and lightweight. The entire bundle has a ton of features for a lot less. Customer support was pretty responsive.
ConsI found the documentation a bit thin. If I was familiar with the products and their specific terminology/phrasology it would have made more sense. And several annoying bugs kept us from implementing as rapidly as we'd hoped (but they did resolve the bugs fairly quickly). Finer/smaller regions for GEO would be nice, as well.

Vendor Response

By Snapt on December 5, 2018
Thank you very much, we are so happy to hear you are enjoying it, and sorry to hear about the problems with documentation - we are currently working on it quite aggressively, and have launched a new documentation portal!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Simon R.
CTO
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2016

“Great features, easy to use”

OverallWas recommended this service by a friend and was pleasantly surprised that it suited our all of our immediate requirements. We decided to move off of our custom HAproxy instance. as it was taking too much "developer" time administering it and keeping it up-to-date.
Pros- Very quick and easy to setup. - Fully featured - Met all of our immediate needs, that AWS and GCS solutions could not. - Well Priced - Eased a lot of the load off of our internal dev team
Cons- Requires learning curve to use some of the features
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2016
Lauren C.
Systems Architect
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018

“Great for Management”

ProsMakes managing HAproxy and nginx simple.
ConsInterface alerts aren't always helpful (applying updates doesn't report on status/progress, just says that an update has been requested. Cost.

Vendor Response

By Snapt on September 18, 2018
Thanks Lauren! We've added a better notification of background patches applying - so it'll let you know while they are running etc. Make sure to update to the latest Framework version to get it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 17, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018

“Great cost-effective replacement for our hw-based load balancers”

OverallWe are in the process of migrating systems to our new Snapt instances and the customer support we have received has been fantastic.
ProsEasy to deploy, great reporting set, wizards to help setup common types of lb systems.
ConsRedundancy is a little confusing to understand.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2018
Jondré K.
Utilities, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2017

“Great software”

OverallInnovative and amazing software, backed by a stellar team. This is the way to go for any load balancing needs
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2017
Chad L.
Bid Response Team
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018

“Snapt Balancer from Reseller Perspective”

OverallMy customer seems to be happy with the seamless process so far.
ProsAll I can say is that, as a representative of an IT reseller, Snapt was extremely prompt in providing pricing. I believe that this is a fine example of their customer service and devotion to their products.
ConsI have not been able to determine any cons at this point. pricing and processing seem to be smooth.

Vendor Response

By Snapt on December 20, 2018
Thanks for the feedback Chad!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2018
Tim E.
Technical Manager
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2016

“Swift, robust and powerful at a great price point!”

OverallDownloaded the free trial and was soon after contacted by a Snapt representative offering their assistance and an option of a live demo. After the 30-60min tutorial I was ready to begin adding my servers to the Snapt platform. Certainly the best value for money load balancer/WAF/web accelerator I have come across.
ProsEase of use. Rich feature set. Competitive price tag.
Source: Capterra
August 22, 2016
Thomas M.
Founder
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019

“Snapt Balancer”

ProsCost effective solution that simplifies complicated network management
ConsNothing negative to add as the setup was smooth and learning curve was minimal

Vendor Response

By Snapt on September 13, 2019
Thanks Thomas, we're happy to hear you are happy!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2019