NGINX Plus Ratings

Overall
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Service
4.2/5

About NGINX Plus

Powering half of the worlds busiest sites, NGINX is the heart of the modern web. We help you deploy and deliver your sites and apps with performance, reliability, security, and scale. We do this by providing a complete application delivery platform, NGINX Plus: combining load balancing, content caching, web serving, security controls, and monitoring in one easy to use software package. NGINX ensures top performance and flawless delivery for any application across all types of infrastructure. Learn more about NGINX Plus

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 10 of 10 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Paul d.
Developer / system admin
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017

“I dunno, it just has that 'something'.”

OverallSomething about Nginx feels qualitatively 'better' than Apache. I know that's subjective, but that sort of thing matters when you have to manage a flotilla of Nginx instances in your daily work. The configuration files just make sense to me in a way that Apache config files never did. The config language is very expressive and lean. It's a versatile server; you can use it as an application proxy, a reverse caching proxy, a forward proxy, and of course a plain ol' web server. (Disclaimer: I've only ever used the open source Nginx, but the commercial version has some very compelling features that I know I've wished I could use.)
ProsSimple configuration, lots of features, speed, and reverse proxying. Most important, it just 'feels better' than alternatives.
ConsSupport for meta-config could be better: when sharing templates among vhosts, the limitations of how you can use variables are a surprise.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 18, 2017
Kyle J.
Web Developer
Education Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2017

“NGiNX”

OverallWe benefit by using NGinX as our primary development web server that points traffic to the correct corresponding service base on hostname. This allows development to easily work on multiple projects with multiple languages and/or versions simultaneously.
ProsMy team uses NGinX for configuring our development servers and locations, using variables, rewriting URIs to redirect to the appropriate service based on hostname. NGinX makes this process light and easy. We develop multiple different sites and services. NGinX is lightweight and you can be up and running quickly. It does everything I need as a web server and I really have no complaints so far.
ConsNGinX is really for high level server admins. I can be complex because all the configurations are text based files and if you do not understand what you are doing it will cause issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 14, 2017
Jeffrey M.
Software security analyst
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018

“mobile API gateways done right”

Prosease of use of Api implemented in Restful service. From c# code to exposed services i can use android studio (java) and make use of the endpoints. Load balancing is also sorted via nginx. Nginx is an already with security as well as api cannot be sniffed over the network. Theyre excrypted. deploying an app to our UAT/Beta environment replicates a real world scenario.
ConsThere is a huge learning curve when you have to intregrate into another layer but once set up it is easy to re-use. Every new person that has come onto the team has struggled to set up but internal documentation has been created to set up internally for Android SDK.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Gregory M.
Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2018

“The best for web servers”

ProsExcellent tool, to combine it with virtualized servers with virtual box. My team and I specialized in ubuntu server and nginx virtualized servers to create our development and testing environments. It is comfortable and easy to work with, its handling of clean URLs is very easy.
ConsIt is a very complete and robust tool that from time to time is difficult to learn for those who have little experience in configuring web servers, but once learned a developer will not want to change it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2018
Andrew D.
Programmer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“Better than Nginx”

OverallNGINX Plus has been an overall pleasant experience. The feature I use most is the healthchecks for services.
ProsI really enjoy that NGINX Plus improves upon already existing open-source solution NGINX. It's all the features of the open-source version, plus more. It acts as a very good load balancer, caching solution, and as a monitor.
ConsUnfortunately, the NGINX Plus can be extremely expensive, ranging in the thousands of dollars. If this sounds too expensive for you, using simply NGINX is probably a better plan.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019
Avatar Image
Henry D.
IT Manager
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“great web engine for multiples purposes.”

OverallGreat stability and security.
ProsThe easy install and the flexibility of the configuration styles, is one of the most secure engine at the marked.
Consit would be nice to have a more optional modules already integrate at the default installer,for example like another flavor of installer, at least with the most used modules.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Avatar Image
Gianni G.
CEO and Principal IT Security Consultant
Computer & Network Security, Self-employed
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018

“A great option to create scalable applications”

ProsThe fact that it is build on top of Nginx is already a big plus, however even better is the fact that Nginx Plus supports session persistent and can help you to improve the user experience.
ConsAt first, it may be quite challenging to understand how all the pieces fit together.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 20, 2018
RJ N.
Co-Founder
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018

“Reliable and secure web server”

OverallGreat performance, reliability, and security at a great price.
Prosnginx has been rock solid and a stellar performer. I moved to nginx from apache (which worked fine) and prefer the configuration syntax as well.
ConsIt can have a learning curve and there's less support available as compared to other industry leaders likes Apache and IIS.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Research, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Great LB/WAF stack for Nginx”

ProsIt has a lot of great features built in, and made to work with existing Nginx installations
ConsWhile Nginx is free, Nginx plus is not. There are other FOSS alternatives available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2018

“Nginx (free) > Nginx PLUS”

ProsThe only pro I can pull out of PLUS is their stats dashboard and the fact you pay and get support.
ConsI find the free version of Nginx is much better and has all the same modules available, minus the support (which you can find most issues for free on the internet, probably)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 30, 2018