Who Uses This Software?

Health Clubs Fitness Centers PT Studios Wellness Centers


Average Ratings

29 Reviews
  • 4 / 5
    Overall
  • 3.5 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 4 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Free Trial
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
    Webinars
    Live Online
    In Person
  • Support
    Online
    Business Hours
    24/7 (Live Rep)

Vendor Details

  • ShapeNet
  • www.shapenetsoftware.com
  • Founded 2002
  • United States

About ShapeNet

Since 2002, ShapeNet has been providing enterprise SaaS solutions to small to medium sized service facilities, multi-site locations and chains to complex wellness centers. Our complete solution caters to the business needs of your club and the service side of your members. From billing your members, selling products and services, member self-service solutions, scheduling a class/training session on-line or through a club branded app, maintaining up to date member health profiles, and much more.


ShapeNet Features

  • Appointment Scheduling
  • Assessments
  • Attendance Tracking
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Certification Tracking
  • Client Management
  • Commission Management
  • Exercise Library
  • Fitness Plan
  • Nutrition Program
  • Online Store
  • Wellness Plans

ShapeNet Reviews Recently Reviewed!

Great support and help with learning how to implement the software.

Nov 02, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The training and constant customer support is amazing. It helped when I went live. I knew if I had questions, I would get help and answers quickly.

Cons: How to help clients use the portal and phone app. Have the ability to use the phone app to pay for services.

Overall: Tracking, billing, scheduling and customer support.

The conversion team was EXCELLENT! The training was very helpful and they were very thorough!

Oct 04, 2017
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I like the reporting and ability to work with a web based system. I also like the ability to set membership parameters and have our semesters pro-rate which is something they set up just for us!

Cons: The software does a lot more than what we need it to do. There tends to be some unnecessary clicking and searching for information. I also do not like that you have to use the receipt printer and cash drawer in IE but can only take photos through Google Chrome. It takes some of the features away be having to choose which browser to use.

Best customer support I could ask for

Oct 02, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Once you get the hang of it, the software is very simple to use. I know there are features I haven't even touched and can't wait to continue to explore.

Cons: I've had a difficult time figuring out how to reverse charges in a simpler step. I try to troubleshoot on my own vs. calling/messaging for every little hiccup. Customer service is excellent, but I like to learn things on my own too.

Excellent product and a very personable staff.

Jun 19, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Shapenet is always improving the software to needs of user. Customer service is very prompt and thorough on request.

Cons: That Shapenet was not yet in existence when I opened my first gym. If it had been open I would undoubtebly had my 2nd gym open much sooner.

Superior product and service

May 22, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Best customer service that I have ever rxperienced. I like the constant improvements to the system.

Cons: That I didn't use this software many years earlier.

Overall: Better member retention

We enjoy the team - they have always been very helpful. The software has a lot of functionality.

May 19, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It has a lot of features that I haven't even begun to explore. I also like that Shape is open to suggestions and very helpful with issues.

Cons: It is not very intuitive and we find it difficult to train new employees. It has a very large learning curve. Some processes are a little cumbersome and could use some quicker shortcuts etc.

Overall: Great value - great functionality - open to feedback and lots of help.

Love the software. Customer support needs help.

May 19, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Features and the new app. I also like the reports that are available including all the financial reports, democratic reports and the marketing reports.

Cons: I can't call and get a person on the phone. I need to leave a message or put in a ticket. Takes too long.

Overall: Customer tracking.

System does an average job in meeting our needs

May 17, 2017
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Was an affordable option to a new start up business.

Cons: It often takes multiple steps to accomplish a goal. Need to look multiple places for information. Client financial information seems to look different depending on what screen you're looking at. Not intuitive. Response time to questions can be long and often Shapenet is unable to answer our questions without first researching the answer.

I love shape net fornits functions once you have experience with it.

May 17, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 8.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The checkin is easy and the display is clear for each individual once they are put in the system. The input is fairly easy and there are a lot of functions to use. Each individual to be implemented takes about 3 minutes which is nice.

Cons: The functions are relatively scattered and difficult. Especially the class calendar and scheduling and ease of use for packages purchased and user scheduling. Also, it's difficult to find the website for individuals since there is another ShapeNet company in the search.
It would also be nice if when purchased someone would come on site to show how to use many of the functions, once someone ourchaees the software.

Overall: Allowing our staff to easily read the details and status of each member.

Slow, Rocky Start with increasing potential

May 16, 2017
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
2 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The user-friendly layout. It is easy to understand with little training and features customization for quick functions.

Cons: The server errors/glitching that we've been experiencing. Some functions do not work as they seem they would through the demos. Mainly with layout and scrolling functionality

Overall: Lower initial cost and user-friendliness, however lots of time and cost has gone in to simply making the product functional for us. Due to server issues and technical difficulties, we haven't even had the time to set up the member portal or the app, yet we are paying for it. We are excited to move forward with these features, hopefully the process will go a little more smoothly than the past few.

Highly capable from the studio-management side. Our clients and trainers would still prefer MindBody

May 15, 2017
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: All-in-one platform and great reporting ability. I can look at any aspect of my business and I can fix most any mistake my staff makes.

Cons: Clients would like to schedule online and its not a friendly platform for that. I was told by a sales staff member that the product has evolved and we can enjoy more functions but I have not heard more in months.

I wouldn't be able to run my business without Shape

May 15, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The customer support team is amazing. I like that you can do so much with the billing and alal of the different functions that you can do within the software.

Cons: How many steps required to put members into system. Can be complex to train employees as some of the functions are just too complicated to train.

Overall: It makes my day to day so much easier.

works well for our business

May 12, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: it has several features that are useful, and the customer service is great. Great response time on issues.

Cons: can be too many steps to get to a simple task, the knowledge base is out of date and not helpful for several issues- causing you to need to submit another support ticket.

Very good company that is constantly expanding and improving the product.

May 11, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The product is easy to use and a great value. They are constantly working to expand and improve the system.

Cons: Occasional down time can be frustrating with less than satisfactory communication regarding the problem.

Overall: Ease of use and easy to generate reports.

Overall pretty good

May 10, 2017
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 6.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Web-based and the functions that are there are for the most part fairly easy to use.
The more you use it, the more valuable it is.

Cons: Doesn't really give me a true picture of my overall profit now or compared to previous years.
HTML emails are difficult
We would like to be able to schedule Tanning minutes

Overall: The biggest benefit is that it Web-Base and our old system was not, but for the most part I think they all are now.

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on May 11, 2017

We appreciate the feedback Scott. we're glad you're benefiting from a cloud/web system. regarding not being able to see financial info compared to different time periods, please look at the Financial Summary Comparison report. you should be able to get the info you need. We are working on an easier solution with the HTML rich emails. we will be pre-loading some ready to use emails. reach out to our support regarding the tanning minutes. our system should be able to manage that for you. Larry King Founder and CEO

It's ok, just not super excited about the over all experience. We've been using it for a long time

May 10, 2017
2/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
2 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 3.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy eft and availablity to enter a member into the software. It's also easy to find a membership/ client for pos.

Cons: Lots of glitches. It feels like we see something weekly that is being fixed.(which is good that it's being fixed, but why so often)

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on May 11, 2017

Hi Scott, We appreciate your feedback and thanks for taking my call today. you have been using our system for over 9 years and, as I mentioned to you on the call, there are many new benefits and services we have that can help you. such as the ability for members and non-members to purchase services right from your website. digital agreements and a mobile app. We can discuss all of these ways where we can help your business next week. we value your longtime business with us over the years and are excited about some ways we can immediately help your business !!! Larry King Founder and CEO

Great customer service. Pro active with there clients.

May 10, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use. Easy to figure out. I learned most of what i know from, playing around with soft ware.

Cons: There are a lot of functions that I haven't had time to learn. So I could be getting more for my business if I spent some time doing webinars,

Overall: security,

ShapeNet software has saved me time while giving me the comfort of knowing memberships and services

May 09, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The functionality of syncing services with trainer sessions and payroll all together. Saves time by not using all the excel spreadsheets I use to have in place...

Cons: Corporate account membership billing procedures need attention. When printing invoice for a company with services and monthly dues there is no way to post a partial payment or even print one page bill. The monthly invoice is 20 pages long...

New to using the software. Been using it since the new year when I took over a business.

May 09, 2017
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It is pretty easy to use, I like that I can use it from anywhere which is nice with a 24 hour gym because I dont need to be there all the time and can use it from home.

Cons: My small gym may not need all of the features available, so it might be more, and cost more, than what I need.

ShapeNet is the best software for anyone running a personal training business.

May 09, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The customization is awesome. I have been able to tailor the system to fit my business. It is also very easy to learn and use.

Cons: The customer service could be a lot better. The system is down or slow a lot more than it should be.

Overall: It's how I run my business.

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on May 11, 2017

Hi Bo, We appreciate your kind words about our software system. we have learned alot from your feedback over the years and have applied some of your suggestions and needs to the system. looks like you are benefiting from them since you have opened up new locations successfully. we are upgrading our support and training methods, especially with new clients. we have also taken steps to resolve system performance issues and are confident the system should be running much better now. thank you for your business over the years. Larry King Founder and CEO

Great experience using the system and customer support. Some issues with reports and functions.

May 09, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: System features, data capture and reporting functions are excellent. System downtime is minimal. The financial data and downloads are a great feature excellent.

Cons: Needs better integration of features to allow easier and quicker data input during busy hours.
Too many features require replicating data entry such as; adding subsequent members of the same family requires , setting up rentals and closing multiple stations,closing adding members and closing out classes and members in them requires screen refresh on every attendee,payroll download is confusing. Field names and services do not match between system and system fields, Would like to set our own thank you letter.
Frequently new updates cause problems with current functions. Needs better Beta testing.
Downloading data supposed to go to Excel but instead always defaults to Unicode drives me nuts because I download a lot of reports and have to convert everyone.
Payroll summary picks up field that I don't want and have to reconfigure for every employee. Example the date field is always off by one cell. There is another field that has no purpose at all plus the classes pick up the class itself as if it were a person in attendance.
In the financial data the income categories should show number counts when applied to multiple categories. You can only get number # count data by looking at one category at a time.
When closing stations we should be able to close multiple stations on the matrix versus having to close each one then wait for the screen to update close the next one etc etc ad nausea.
The process of submitting a support ticket could be streamed lined.

Overall: Financial data capture, integration of schedule and facility use,trainer and customer data detail for measuring efficiency and productivity.

Many times we deal with server issues and a slow system.

May 09, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 7.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: We like the customizable program. It works well for our business purposes. Has many great features, some we use, some we don't

Cons: so many options, can be overwhelming for a new user. Proper training from the begnning of the use of this product would be beneficial.

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on May 12, 2017

We appreciate the feedback Jason. we're very pleased that your are benefiting from our customizable software system. it looks like it is working well for your business. we agree with you when you mentioned that a new user can be overwhelmed because of all the great benefits that are available. we have re-structured our training for new and existing clients, which we feel is more effective. we are getting good feedback from our clients with our new approach. we have resolved the core system performance issues and your system should be running much better now. Larry King Founder and CEO

Over promised sales team - Very poor Custom support team

May 09, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 1.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: the sales guy did a great job selling us on it. However many of those things he said they could make work, are not working.

Cons: The Custom Support and set-up team - never seemed prepared for our meetings, unfriendly, has been very hard to make work for us.

Overall: have not found any yet

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on May 12, 2017

Our Director of Client Support met with you during the week. We identified 5 core and unique system needs. We were able to immediately provide 3 of them for your team. another one should be available in about 30 days and we are reviewing the 5th request. as you mentioned, you now have a very useful cloud system that is available for your staff and members. we are here to work with you and your team to provide what you need to manage your business more effectively. We are pleased that together we are making progress. Larry King Founder and CEO

ShapeNet transformed the way we do business- it has made us more productive and efficient.

May 09, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: ShapeNet automated and simplified processes for us ranging from billing to sending out customer satisfaction surveys. The client services representatives at ShapeNet work hard to address concerns and handle any issues that arise. With quarterly releases, there are constant improvements to an already great interface, functionality, and reporting.

Cons: The only downside to ShapeNet is that the only way for payment integration is to go through their third-party merchant. Though it provides integration with the system, the customer service for the third-party merchant is no comparison to ShapeNet's stellar team who all express genuine interest in providing business solutions in a professional and efficient manner.

Overall: Efficiency, streamlining of tasks, simplified process, automation of what was once long, drawn out processes

Good customer service but would like to see increase in the ease of use and more features added

May 09, 2017
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 5.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Shapenet customer service is great. Response is within a few hours most of the time when there is an issue.

Cons: Loading the system. Sometimes the data entry is not saved. The reports donot pull up right sometimes.

An improvement from our old system, but still lacking in some areas.

May 09, 2017
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: It's internet based and accessible from anywhere. This has been a game changer for our department! I can work off-site, which has been wonderful! Customer support is light years better than our old system!

Cons: Appearance needs an update and ease of use is still lacking in some areas. While customer support does get back to us quickly, sometimes the answer is "sorry, there is nothing we can do about that problem." I wish the team would take more initiative on improving their product and listening to the customer's needs.

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on May 11, 2017

We appreciate your feedback !!! It's great that you are taking advantage of our cloud system, which lets you access the system anywhere. We are taking steps to upgrade the system appearance. We have a NEW MEMBER PORTAL UPGRADE that will be available on 5/17/2017. we are also upgrading some reports and introducing more graphs. our support team does provide feedback to us based on your comments and we are taking the steps to continually improve the system.

Horrible Experience and BIG mistake (Owner, couldn't care less)

Mar 03, 2017
1/5
Overall
1 / 5
Ease of Use
1 / 5
Features & Functionality
1 / 5
Customer Support
1 / 5
Value for Money

Cons: Promises of features that were never installed.

Overall: Horrible Experience with this company. I'm shocked that they have any clients with an experience like this. I had elected to use this company for all of our . After not meeting the conversion deadlines, as promised ,we decided to not use their services and gave notice. It should be noted that they promised many features on the software that we required but found at the time of conversion that they were available but in the future. To make a long story short, they continued to bill our companies credit card even after notice was given not to. When we emailed the company's Owner regarding our dissatisfaction regarding the service from Shapenet and the unauthorized payments, he basically replied too bad but we never promised. So we were basically was charged for software which was never converted or even used. I would definitely do my research with software companies before you buy because this was a big mistake. The last software we had was great (Aphellion) and used for almost 20 years. Very disappointed.

Recommendations to other buyers: Do your research. There are many other software companies that are better.

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on March 23, 2017

As the owner of ShapeNet, let me take the time to respond and clarify some points. I'm disappointed you had a bad experience with us, but you did demo the product several times and liked it. for the conversion, we clearly stated that we needed info from your team AND your team needed to verify data before you went live. your team refused to do that. after spending over 2 months on the conversion with minimal help from your team, you wanted your money back. I explained what we all agreed to. We all tried to work with you to provide what you needed. I even suggested a compromise where we would split the money you owed us. Based on your specific needs, we had good solutions for you. we wish you the best moving forward. as a reminder, I kept myself available to work thru any issues you wanted to discuss with me. Larry King - CEO

Quality Company, Quality Software Package

Oct 21, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: I selected this software after researching other software packages because of the flexibility and customization offered to me. Set up was very easy and the support team at ShapeNet walked me through the entire process. I also appreciate the post support I received from my coaching team at ShapeNet. They are very easy to contact and any issues or questions I had/have are responded to very quickly and at times followed up by an email and or a phone call. To date I have no negative experiences with the software or the support services. In summary, I really enjoy the flexibility in the functionality of the package as I am beginning to roll out new programs at my facility and thy ShapeNet package allows me to easily integrate all aspects of my business! I must add a "Shout Out" to the 2 people at ShapeNet who exceeded my expectations and are always available to me if I need them. Teri Portello & Lisa Falkenstein, Thank you for making my business transistion to Shapenet a success and a great experience!

User friendly!

Apr 23, 2015
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Customer Support

Comments: This program is so user friendly and amazing on how you can use the software to meet your needs, even if you are small facility. What I love the most about this software is the customer service and prompt attention to all, and any of my issues I may have. No matter how small or how big my problem may be I get a resolution right away.

Because of the amazing softeware and awesome customer service, the investment is well worth every penny.

So awesome, thank you ShapeNet.