Microsoft PPM Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Microsoft PPM

Desktop application available as a simple Office 365 subscription that allows you to work from anywhere. Plan resources, manage team schedules, calculate what-ifs scenarios, and easily collaborate with all the project stakeholders. Learn more about Microsoft PPM

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 1062 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 1062 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Joshua M.
Process Optimization Analyst
Printing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019

“The Project Management Tool for the Microsoft Power User”

OverallOverall, Microsoft Project does a really good job of allowing experienced project managers to create complex project plans for both large and small teams. The platform offers extensive schedule and resource management - enabling teams to accurately allocate their resources in order to achieve maximum efficiencies. My experience with Project has been positive. I work in a small to mid-sized team that creates implementation plans for customer recommendations. I have enjoyed the synergies that working with other Microsoft tools provides. Furthermore, Project has enabled me to be effective in those pursuits. It definitely takes some time to learn more complicated aspects of the program - but that time and training and can really benefit a team.
ProsThe greatest strength of Microsoft Project comes in the name. Microsoft develops some of the most popular and effective tools for modern businesses. Project integrates extremely seamlessly into the overall Microsoft ecosystem of work. This enables the platform to truly maximize on all the efficiencies created by keeping your work within one platform. Project also does a fantastic job of allocating and scheduling resources. Furthermore, identifying critical paths for a project is relatively straight forward. Project managers can do specific call outs for key steps along the way as well. There are also a lot of additional benefits for project that help the quality of life for anyone in control of a project.
ConsProject is a complicated piece of technology. While creating initial project plans seem easy, there are so many features of project that not only go unnoticed - but also can be incredibly cumbersome to learn and master. An additional pain point that I have experienced has related to working on multiple project resources while also viewing the Gantt chart. Finally, sharing a project also holds its own difficulties as well - as users must have Project installed on their own device.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Cesar C.
Docente asociado
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2018

“Manager for the control and development of projects of great impact in the company”

OverallBased on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and effective in each task, as well as the security and the status of the results offered by each member of the project. Another element to highlight is communications and how this allows improving the flow of information, thus improving the willingness of managers to take corrective action at the best times.
ProsOf the positive things that Microsoft Project & Portfolio Management has, is that you can use a driver prioritization module to develop workshops in which executives openly discuss the issue importance of each business controller and thus be able to prioritize the strategies according to the established objectives. that's why it's an advantage to be able to prioritize commercial drivers at any level within the organizational hierarchy Another element to highlight is the tool's management capabilities, which helps to capture the resource requirements at the beginning of the project's life cycle and all the programmed activities, providing visibility, certainty and assertive predictions about the demand future and the best thing is that it can be accessed from any device available to the members of the company.
ConsOne of the difficulties is the development of the chronogram of the different projects and the information that is offered to the teams involved in the different projects, as well as the possibility of associating one or more plans for the execution of the project and a baseline for the project. supervision, development and management and thus be able to generate changes in the various levels in a corrective manner. In addition, the implementation of the schedule change and operational capacity is difficult and prevents providing the project teams with an updated map for the execution of their tasks and therefore the delivery of a new baseline to verify progress and manage the change programmed by the bosses.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Stever Jose G.
PMO
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018

“Be able to have a clear vision, vision and control to make decision”

OverallHave the possibility to manage the resources, projects carptera from the initiative or idea cycle to the process and project closure. and the collaboration in external offices with the executors or other leaders is very useful to measure impacts and make decisions.
ProsSince we implemented it, which is quite easy, it is enough to have a 2010 project server and a professional project for the stations all in collaboration with a sharepoint farm. The implementation process took a couple of months to adjust the configurations and to be able to obtain the greatest possible potential of the solution. in general we could use the graphs and diagrams in order to measure and make correct decisions to be applied in each case the collaborative work increased to have a better follow-up of the tasks and be able to finalize or inform some deviation in time of each project The support of the provider was very specialized for when we had to resort in some cases to the implementation and uses of the platform. a great functionality was to be able to create project templates without having to go through the process of creating formulas within each file, something that is optional for each use but in ours we had formulas applied to be able to measure specific calculations that we needed. Roi's early measurements were accurate in a high percentage which helped to clarify the landscape of the project area.
ConsIt is a very expensive solution, for which not all companies are willing to invest, not only in the platform but in the hours of R & D that the team must use to manage it, maintain it and work on the solution. Another point is that it is not multiplatform and this in the cases that are needed is important to evaluate it or keep it in mind. It has many features and it is a bit difficult to be an expert because of the number of functionalities that you have and you end up resorting to conventional methods because it is cumbersome to know where to find them.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Jose de Jesus R.
Gerencia de Área Plataforma Tecnológica
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018

“My experience in Microsoft PPM, a tool for the control of Projects in an efficient way”

OverallI would recommend it extensively because it is useful to the final user, to be able to know the tool before it can be acquired and to know the opinion of a true user who takes advantage of each component every day, I am very pleased to participate in this program and thus contribute my experience.
ProsGenerally within the environment where I perform this tool is very useful, because your way of organizing work is excellent, to me as a professional in the area of technology adds incredible benefits, allows me to see tasks in a single presentation, resources, project execution times, remaining time, as well as progress, at the management level it has the advantage of making the most accurate decisions regarding reallocation of resources, time and other elements that intervene in the projects that I control from my area. It is great as all the work team that is under my charge is integrated to the use of this tool and we can be synchronized under the same objectives of the institution.
ConsDespite being a great tool for project control, there is no way to measure the productivity of the work team or individually, this would help a lot or a lot to give the incentives to achieve jointly, departmentally or individually, even more when you want to highlight the merits of the team. Likewise, the cost of this tool for a medium or small company would be difficult to acquire or would be underused since in small environments the management of the projects would not have as many elements. However, I am very pleased with the kindnesses I have found in it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2018
Avatar Image
Israel Jose A.
Hydraulic Engineer, MSc Geological Engineering (Oil and Gas prospecting)
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2018

“Is a valuable project management resource suitable for projects of any size”

OverallSince I have been using Microsoft Project, allows me to quickly adapt proposals and ideas into organized projects. This very helpful when I need to present proposals because I can give a solid overview of the project's idea, estimate, in the early stage, and to control during the execution, all the resources and manage and predict risks. The linkages, not only are easy to use but also help me when dealing with complex tasks. During presentations, the Gannt window allows me to show timelines versus the lines of tasks and clarify any doubt and even make corrections. I am a fan of the shortcuts, and filters, they help me to zoom over critical points. I really appreciate the fact that I can import and Export tasks in excel formats, it makes my daily work and reporting very easy.
ProsFor any user used to Microsoft's Software Family, the interface and tabs of the software will be very easy to understand and to use. The drag and drop function for schedule makes it easy to modify any resource. It has the most important features that any project management software can have and It is very useful that you can track all the necessary changes, manpower loading, deviations on time, and costs to complete the daily project managing tasks, provide baselines, and formulate all the necessary estimations. The Gantt Chart provides a graphical overview of the whole project and combined with the reports and striking graphics make it easier to understand and present the planning and evaluation strategy. If not the time to start a project from the scratch MPP comes with a very powerful set of templates. Indisputably MPP becomes an ideal first choice for any project manager.
ConsThe first I must say is that you need a strong background in project management theory (critical path method, evaluation techniques and so on) in order to master Microsoft Project and smoothly use all the features and capabilities of the software without having a complex learning curve. Besides, it's not an intuitive program so it is adviced taking a training course, but yes, you can learn to use it by yourself by dedicating hours and discipline. In the other hand, you need to consider the size of your project and company, and considering that it is a monthly subscription (including access to the cloud) that you should pay for every user, it can end up being relatively expensive at the end of the month. The integration with externals apps is null so you need to do it manually. And well, there are some formatting issues, is really complicated sometimes and printed results are not always what is expected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2018
Hessel F.
PMO
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2018

“Essential for all users of MS Project who have multiple project files that share common resources”

OverallThe benefits to the organization have been phenomenal! Prior to the implementation of PPM it was impossible to see what individual team members were doing. The team leaders were 'king' and could do what they liked and when they liked. Our aim in implementing the product was to preserve existing process but to take the planning and execution of tasks to a new level. We found it easy to use although there was a bit of a learning curve. We had a challenge on implementing as, for some reason, there was a bug in MS Project. It took about six months to stabilize the site but once it was stable, the problem didn't return. For those who are interested, in our case it was due to not having service pack 2 installed. The challenge once we started using it, was to get management to appreciate the fact that accurate, real time reports could be generated and that they would be of immense benefit to them. It took a while until they realized it but once they did, the idea took off and requests flowed in for more views (reports) showing different aspects of the data. We use the product to track tasks of resources located outside the IT division which was also an innovation that needed time to be absorbed. The philosophy had always been that the team leader was assigned the task and that he/she would delegate it to the team members. With the browser version, resources could see their tasks, update % complete and the project manager could instantly see what was happening. This turned team meetings into shorter, more focused events as there was no need to review tasks.
ProsI like the way you can use it for managing resources. It is very easy to assign resources to multiple projects and to see resource assignments and resource capacity. I use resource assignments in PPM to report project progress and I find the reports easier to understand and more meaningful that the reports that generated in standalone MS Project. I also use this resource assignment ability to slice and dice data so that I can see slipped tasks, tasks that have not started, tasks with no deadlines, grouped tasks per release etc. The sky is the limit! The web-based facility means that resources can see their tasks without needing to have MS project installed on their computers and they also don't need to have any knowledge of MS Project. This makes it easy to deploy in a big organization where there may be budget constraints.
ConsIt hasn't kept the pace with competitor projects and the various new releases don't differ substantially with previous ones. Here are a few things I don't like. I know it asks for only one, but I'd like to share some of the challenges. * You can't send messages to resources from within tasks * There is no place for discussion in a task apart from Notes, which are cumbersome and you can't then search for text in the note. * You can't sort the list of files backed up. That makes restoring files a bit of a challenge as you need to be really careful before you restore a file. * After all this time, the product is still not stable and there are still intermittent bugs to which there don't seem to be any solutions. * the filter capability of the views is limited and you can't use brackets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 25, 2018
Hans L.
Account Supervisor/Project Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2016

“The best project management tool in the industry!”

OverallMicrosoft Project is undoubtedly one of the best project management tool in the industry, whether you are working on projects in different fields such as IT, Marketing, Finance, Construction, etc. As long as I can remember, MS Project has been helping me deliver projects successfully. It's a software that is ideal for collaborating with my team and it aids in effective planning as well as allocation of resources. Probably the best feature of this program is the resource management aspect of it notably the workload tracking with everyone involved (team members, client, and vendors). I normally use the Gantt Chart view since this is the easiest to work with and most common as well. I don't think I've ever worked with an easier software that can do simple changes such as linking multiple dependencies. In addition, this is more visually intuitive and you can easily manipulate the shape and colors of the bars (this is very helpful when dealing with multiple tasks). Overall, this software is definitely one of the top ones out there. It takes a lot of practice to get used to it but having templates (especially the ones specific to your company/industry or whenever you are working on similar projects with identical deliverables [ease of use = tasks are populated]). One good advice for people who are interested in project management: learn this software early one if possible. I know many universities teach the MS Project basics.
ProsEase of use, visually presentable (especially when dealing with many tasks), most common software in the industry
ConsIt takes some time to learn the software so it can be intimidated to new users
Recommendations to other buyersLearn this program early on in your career. If you have the software, try to play around with it and create "mock" projects with various deliverables, schedule, etc.
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2016
hani v.
project management
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019

“enterprise project management (EPM) system”

OverallMicrosoft project is a famous and old tool for planning and controlling projects. I've used MSP in different IT and construction projects. It has almost all the necessary features for a project team. Project scheduling, cost management, resource management, risk management and portfolio management are some of its features. Also Earned value management (EVM) provide different Indicators for project evaluation. You could add custom field and formula to project based on your requirements. For a year we implement this Microsoft solution on SharePoint site and we use it as an enterprise project management (EPM) software. It use SQL Server as database. Network project management was a great new experiment. In project web app (WPA) you could define different access level for project team and assign task to them. We also use Microsoft power BI and power view for designing charts and diagram to control the project status. It is also possible to use Microsoft Nintex as a workflow engine to implement simple processes on your team.
ProsAs a Microsoft tools it has a great integration with other MS solution as name above, but it's hard to integrate with externals apps.
ConsMSP is a classic project management tools that support different standard for project management, like PMBoK. But it's not a tool for agile project management such as Scrum and Kanban.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospitality, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“MS Project Review ”

OverallWith Microsoft project Manager my company can complete weekly and monthly milestones; we are changing our web-based applications for Hospitality Business Intelligence tool and using Microsoft project Manager we can accomplish deadlines and make our product better and clients happy. More and more issues are getting resolved faster with using Microsoft project Manager because we can tackle those daily tasks at hand. Microsoft project Manager is easy to share the project within our organization and anyone can edit it.
ProsMicrosoft project Manager is one of the best suitable software for getting customizable reports for any project. I am able to create milestones, goals, and set timelines within my department at work to complete daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly tasks. If in an event I have to move a task over Microsoft project Manager can determine automatically how long the milestone will be completed based on the due dates and timelines. Microsoft project Manager comes with the Microsoft Office Subscription, but that is only if you purchase the full or pro version. Moreover, Microsoft project Manager makes projects organization very easy and quickly make positive impact is business problems and management.
ConsMicrosoft project Manager can take time to learn and get adapted to different features of the product; Secondly, the product is pricy Microsoft project Manager does come standalone, but included in the pro version of Office is actually cheaper, the standalone can cost a lot.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Avatar Image
Lilians C.
Especialista en proyectos de inversión
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018

“I think it is a very efficient software, it has been an indispensable tool to plan my projects.”

OverallIt has brought me many benefits, among them it has allowed me to plan my projects in a faster way, since with this tool I can take control of the execution time and the budget with a clearer and more global vision, it has been a tool for me great utility and has more functions than those used daily.
ProsThe software has several advantages, mainly it organizes my projects in a more complete way, because before using it to my Excel plans, with the difference that Project has daily the progress of the project with graphs and diagrams for a faster analysis, Without exceeding the available budget, also plan from small to large projects with the great advantage that I can link them or work them separately. I find it interesting that the project control allows to save the line of the original project to compare it with the modifications that are made in time. On the other hand you can save the file in other formats to facilitate printing.
ConsIn my personal opinion Project is not easy to use for beginners, initially I found it a bit complicated for the basics of the program, even for other more advanced functions it should be easier, for example at first I did not understand because Project sometimes my activities with a duration in decimals even when I assigned him the full day. I think it could be used by students as a tool to plan their activities so that later in the professional field they are more familiar with the software, but for that it must be more user friendly. On the other hand, I think that its biggest disadvantage is that the activation of the license is a bit expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Susan A.
Sr. Manager-Business Operations
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“It ensures the full management and productivity of the projects. ”

OverallFor me , it has already saved me tons of time and allows me to be more productive and able to manage the projects in a quicker way. We can easily mold a rough draft of our work into something much more valuable and viable with the help of this tool. It has allowed me to perform various operations of managing my tasks in a much better way.
ProsMicrosoft Project Management offers the most easy and viable solutions to sort out our daily routines tasks and implements a total calculated solutions for our projects. We can input the required info and get the detailed and visually aid solutions for our projects. We can easily view progress better, collaborate in an efficient way. We can easily set out tasks and keeps a thorough surveillance of our work. It allows us to make decisions independently.
ConsIn order to gain full advantage of this tool, one should have a fine knowledge of using this tool. So it requires a training and sound knowledge of operating the management tool. Just because of its complex operations, one can have difficulty in operating it. The overall license purchasing expense is a bit higher and it gets bit difficult for us to measure the overall productivity of the projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Government Relations, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2018

“PPM is a powerful tool for program management”

ProsAs a Program Manager I used MS Project and Portfolio Management full suite of product quite extensively. I managed multiple projects ranging from small to large projects. Our network spanned across multiple groups domestic and global. Our initial project only used MS Project in the early stages until the full suite of PPM was available. Projects were easier manage and it helped us stayed within budget. The tools were not as easy as I anticipated to integrate, however with the right planning I'm sure it can be integrated fine. It's important that the program team is knowledgeable about all the capabilities so it can be used in their projects. We used the entire portfolio in all our programs.
ConsSetting up the entire system is not as easy as I had hoped. It took several iterations in order to get the right process in place and to make sure the program team are properly trained to utilize all the features that are available with all the tools. All tools must be integrated correctly. It's best to plan and take your time setting it up right.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2018
Amy F.
Project Manager- Global IT Operations
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 8, 2017

“Microsoft Project, Good tool for an average budget”

OverallFor the cost per licence and the ease of use, Microsoft Project is my go to tool for Project Management Software.
ProsMost business have some form of Microsoft Suite, Project doesn't come in the standard suite but so adding additional licenses for Project is more cost effective than most Project Management Software. Because it is a Microsoft product, the user interface is like most Microsoft products, so learning how to navigate around Project doesn't take a lot of time. There is so much to this tool. You can do small and/or large project on it. The capabilities that it has are endless, you really can do a lot with this tool.
ConsIt can be a complex tool, when I first began using Project I had a manager working with me on the Project and helped me get used to Microsoft Project. She had been using it for years, so she had a wealth of knowledge that she shared with me. Without her help, I do think it would have taken me a lot longer to get used to it and be able to use it to its full ability. That being said, the tool can do so much more than I ever thought it could.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 8, 2017
Majid s.
Freelancer
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“General porous Project Management tool”

OverallGeneral porous Project Management tool and not applicable in the complicated projects
ProsWindows application is really user-friendly. I love the recurring task facility for creating repetitive tasks without the need of creating each task separately. Supporting the different relationship between tasks including FS. SS, SF, and FF
ConsI wished it supports backward resource-leveling. It doesn't support the whole areas of the project management body of knowledge including Quality management and risk management in the best way.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
Quratulain H.
Project Head
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“Organise projects, manage portfolios and projects”

OverallIf you need Planning Software that gives you visibility into real world timelines, then you cannot go wrong with MS Project. It plans for you as you add in resources, deadlines, holidays, etc. The more information you provide, the better it will be.
ProsThis is my go to tool for project management. I love how easy it is to plan projects within it. I can interconnect other projects so they will update accordingly and do combined reporting. Project scheduling is the best in the industry. The reports are still a little clunky however, they give the information you need for senior management and/or decision making. I can add some of my own programming to it to get desired visuals etc.
ConsIts not easy to integrate this into sharepoint or to make the software email other team members on tasks due on them. I know its there but i havent done this as yet. The KB and/or training is not easily available. I also wish there was an easy way to do cost management within the project(s)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Frimny A.
Personal docente
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018

“It is simple and easy to use help for portfolio management of projects and everyday tasks.”

ProsThe most I like about the software is that it is a programming tool that offers a flexible local or online solution for the management of project portfolios and day-to-day tasks, it is easy and simple to use and facilitates the management of the projects. You can work with columns and rows, graphics and other integrated tools, necessary and useful to give you better view, organization and presentation to our project portfolio. You can work together or as a team with another server. It also allows us to capture and evaluate project ideas, make decisions and easily model different scenarios inside or outside of an organization. In general, it is designed for any user either with little experience in programming or with great knowledge, since it costs a good technical support and easy to understand aids. It can be used from any mobile device.
ConsSomewhat difficult to handle for non-expert or non-trained users in the area, previous knowledge is needed to be used as other software. No productivity can be measured and the cost of the license is expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 23, 2018
Avatar Image
Craig P.
Director Of Information Technology
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Track your progress with MS Project”

ProsWe use MS Project for progress tracking and scheduling. MS Project allows you to set timelines, track schedules and view/add items that need to be completed before you can move on to the next phase of your project. As things slip, you can adjust your project schedule to accommodate for those changes. Without MS Project, our company wouldn't be able to function without knowing where each project is at and we wouldn't be able to make the informed adjustment decisions as a project schedule slips or speeds up. Also, the ability for us to create project templates helps us get a project off the ground and we can adjust as needed. There is also functionality of a MS Project server and if you are doing multiple projects/schedules and concurrent accessibility and change management is needed, that might be your way to go with this application.
ConsThere are an abundance of features and options that are not at first intuitive, so having some dedicated MS Project Training is a must. There are some things that MS Project is lacking and from what I have seen the only other option out there to complete some of these lacking tasks is Primavera. When evaluating software, best to compare them both before making your decision.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Richard C.
Maintenance Mechanic
Automotive, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018

“Another useful tool from Microsoft with the ability to create tasks and add resources to it.”

OverallOverall I would recommend that app, I have been able to put together a rough draft of a project quicker, saving time stress and can edit it to the likeness of my team quicker. Also, while using the software I have been able to view the project and show the process when asked. This tool helps us to administrate, develop and design projects of our company. Good analytical tool
ProsThis is another useful tool from Microsoft with the ability to create tasks and add resources to it. I love the filtering abilities, I am constantly using them for zooming in on what is critical whether in a meeting or working individually to update the schedule. This app provides you with templates and shortens the time you spend on putting things in place. What is also good is that you can focus on the depth of the information you are sending out rather than throwing something together and it does not appear professional and the information is missed. You can also invite your team into the project as well.
ConsWhat I would like is an easier way to set up reports. I like that there are a lot of great features, but they are not as user friendly as some of the other Microsoft Project features. You will need to invest more time in getting trained, because they do look very helpful once you know how to set them up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018

“Solid solution for project management software”

OverallOne can easily learn how to use Microsoft Project in a long weekend, but utilizing the software in conjunction with proven project management methodology is key.
ProsMicrosoft Project brings a lot of the same design mentality present in its other applications such as templates that provide ease of use for new users. A project can be extremely granular and contain a total breakdown of tasks and resources or merely a high level breakdown of major milestones. Once compiled, the data can be broken out into various views for the pertinent project tasks such as timelines and Gantt charts.
ConsMicrosoft Project does have a steeper learning curve than some applications because of the inherent need to understand project management philosophy. You also need to have at least a partially formalized approach to project management otherwise you may find yourself fighting with the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2018
Francis P.
Sr. Network Systems Admin.
Public Policy, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 25, 2018

“Microsoft Project Review”

OverallMicrosoft Project provides interactive dashboards and reporting functionalities. The project managers can also prepare insightful reports and make decisions about project execution and staffing levels. Scheduling features like Gantt charts and prepopulated pulldown menus help reduce training time and simplify the project planning process.
ProsEasy to use with visibility to chart views makes it easy to plan project deadlines. Like Excel, the columns and rows are simple to add. With this product, the project can be easily manage. The chart views are useful for presentation and report. Another good feature is timeline feature. With that, one can project the duration and tasks.
ConsMS Project is not compatible with Mac OS. It is only compatible with Windows OS. It is expensive. It should be part of MS Office suite. It can be difficult to use if you are not familiar with the product. Training is a must.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Endless Features, overall great tool”

OverallIncreases productivity for multiple complicated projects. I use this for the Board, committees I work with to manage timelines, scheduled. The features could be overwhelming and take time to understand however it's worth it. Take advantage of online free tutorials and Microsoft online videos.
ProsOnline support is 24/7, always available. Features include tools like charts, templates, budget management, expenses tracking, idea management, resource management, collaboration, task management just among the multiple features available. Easily manage resources, schedules, collaborate on projects. One of the most effective tools for project management. Convenient tool to allow all your work to live on one platform. Create complex schedules, plans. Easily view projects, resources, and other items on management level to make accurate decisions. Create detailed, customizable reports and goals, timelines to increase productivity. This tool makes organization very efficient for even complicated projects.
ConsThere is a learning curve for most of the features although it becomes productive, easier to use in time. It does take time to learn every aspect of each tool as it's a bit complicated. I wish there was a way to measure team productivity.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Stephen W.
Enterpise Project Managment Specialist
Primary/Secondary Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 7, 2017

“Great experiance”

OverallMore and more of us are less hardcore waterfall and are moving more towards a Waterfall/Agile hybrid solution. Would love to see the concept of "cards" or "Stories" be part of the project with stages or lists rather than trying to force Agile into a Waterfall tool.
ProsFor me MS/Project sets the standard for all other waterfall project management software tools. Have been using it for many years.
Cons1. The con is also a plus, but setting resource time estimates is tricky and requires a better understanding of work versus resource units versus and % complete. Added to that is the Task type and whether or not it is effort driven, confuses even senior PM's. 2. Not having an easy interface to update tasks from a Kanban (or Agile) world adds complexities to those us using hybrid solutions. Maybe this one is just that I am not aware of the Microsoft Kanban options however.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 7, 2017
Cesar A S.
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 9, 2018

“The right tool to begin your own project”

ProsThis is the best tool for people who are starting to make or evaluate their own project. MS Project with a very simple interphase can adjust virtually to anyone who wants to have a better organization of their activities to begin a project or to make a better decision of the future of their activities. With very simple data like the name of activities, the time for development and the people who will get involved, you can easily start a project and have an idea of how much time would happen to get it and where they would start the limitations or obstacles to develop your project.
ConsThe main limitation of MS Project it is that you have to have a middle of high level of administration processes, because a big range of the information that you introduce on the software has a direct relation with a administration and accounting, while this is information be better, your project increase the possibilty to develop. If you do not have a basic administration knowledge you can have some trouble putting the data on the software and maybe the result will not be very effectly or will not fulfill your purposes
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
January 9, 2018
Priyanka N.
Team Lead
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2017

“Project Plan & Tracking with MS Project”

OverallExcellent Resource Management. Project plan creation. Ability to derive cost and effort of a project.
ProsHierarchical view of tasks, sub-tasks with efforts & resource allocation. A detailed tabular view via the Gantt chart view . A task distribution on a calendar view with pictorial representation of tasks via the team planner view. Ability to assign same task to multiple people and define resource allocation towards each task Via the network diagram the overall dependencies, flow of tasks can be well understood. Option to baseline a project to a specific date helps to showcase progress accordingly.
ConsI recommend that the transition between automatically scheduled and manual schedule can be made more pleasant, sometime this results in a lot of conflicts to be resolved.
Source: Capterra
June 15, 2017
Avatar Image
Robert S.
Senior Corporate Account Manager
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019

“Microsoft PPM offers efficient and timely managed project coordinations. ”

ProsMicrosoft PPM is equipped with several tools and efficiently designed user-interface with the help of which we can easily track the progress of the projects. Several project aspects can be tracked easily and their progress is followed by all team members. Each member is assigned its own part of work and their progress can also be measured. Daily reports, start/end dates and important alerts makes this software well reliable for project management.
ConsThis tool is very efficient in performance. So as we go for negative points there are not much to highlight except for the fact that sharing files to person which are not using PPM could be a real headache. For that we have to export the reports or material in pdf or other formats for sharing. Other than this , PPM could also use more additive tools for finance and business operations of which only basics are offered now.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019
Darrus L.
Program Manager eLearning and Modern Workplace
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2018

“Managing multiple projects”

OverallMS has not been terribly clear about their current direction forward as it relates to PM software specifically. There seem to be multiple products being pursued with no indication as to where long term commitment from MS will be dedicated.
ProsAn extensive feature set and interoperability with other Microsoft productivity programs gives Project the edge. The myriad of ways you can visualize projects/tasks is extremely helpful and facilitates more clear and concise communication about project timelines both up and down the chain of command.
ConsProject's large feature set also comes with a sizable learning curve for the uninitiated. Training is available but there is little outside of personal support from more experienced colleagues to really convey some of the nuance of using the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 11, 2018
Avatar Image
Francis Carolina L.
Co Editor Chief
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018

“It is the most conservative, complete and useful tool for project management.”

OverallIt is a complete and robust software that allows you to control the different phases of a project in progress. This translates into efficient data that allows you to make timely decisions in your company or organization.
ProsI think that this tool is the most complete and complex of the market. It is the software that best fits the PMP methodologies. It is constantly updated. What I like is the possibility of managing different phases of the project in the same viewing window. You can manage costs, risks, critical routes, human resources and others.
ConsIt is a restrictive tool, it can only be used in Windows environments, not compatible with Linux or MAC OS. It can be expensive, but if it is acquired by a large technology company, the cost-benefit ratio is an advantage. The interface is not very friendly when you are using it for the first time. So taking a tutorial, even a basic one, could be considered before you start working with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 29, 2018
Avatar Image
Alejandro H.
Networking Manager
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018

“There is no better project software than MS Project. maybe intimidating but the best never the less.”

OverallDon't look elsewhere, take a curse and learn how to use MS project and be the best project manager you can be.
ProsWant o manage a project like a BOSS This is the best, all program, project, task, risk analysis, costs, deviations on time, costs or resources. all you can control all, baseline, GANTT and Kanban displays, reports as you like it. you better take a course or two but once you do it you will manage this powerful tool very well. and if you connect to a Sharepoint/teams platform is another level of organization, not only you are the boss, but also your organization will run the projects so swift you will be amazed.
ConsComplicated, intimidating, and a little pricey but is all worthy. once you tame this beast you are the master of the projects.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018

“Powerful tool, but can get overwhelming quickly”

OverallAll in all, it is a very powerful tool. When used correctly, it really helps to keep all of the information you are trying to track together in one space. It has a pretty steep learning curve and can be overwhelming for many.
ProsThis program has a lot of power. There is a bevy of features available to users that can help track changes, scheduling, project progression and costs. The layout is familiar to users of other Microsoft products, and just about everything can be accessed fairly quickly and easily.
ConsIt can be very overwhelming. If you have one person steering the ship with this and everyone else using it to see the results it is very effective. Multiple users on a single project or process can quickly muddle things and there is a need for good management and computer skills to be able to use this software effectively. Nearly always our new users are overwhelmed by the size and power of this program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“I consider that it is the most used tool worldwide to manage projects because it allows an efficient”

ProsI consider that it is the most used tool worldwide to manage projects because it allows an efficient administration of resources, quickly converts proposals and ideas into operational projects, plans and manages small and large projects, standardizes more and more processes to improve the functioning and facilitate project management, visualize the performance of our projects and resources, detect trends, manage risks more easily, identify problems or areas for improvement. I'm sure there are more advantages to this product
ConsFor many years I use and prefer this tool because I have never presented any type of inconvenience with it. Recommended to manage projects 100%
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Martin M.
Production Scheduler
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2018

“Worth it”

ProsAllows for easy manipulation of tasks to prioritize for others When I use this software I am primarily tracking an entire job from beginning to end. I use it more as a scheduler than anything to determine how other factors will be affected if something else is late. It is a very easy way to project status and visually show to others where we stand.
ConsMy only con is learning curve. A lot of the time I have not seen this used by companies. People are either set in their ways or don't know how to use it so instead of learning how to, they turn away. I think once you get into it, you will find it is very useful and easy but the learning curve is large.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Atahualpa R.
Development Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018

“Is the universal software to control projects is easy to use and with a lot of documentation.”

Overall The main benefits of Microsoft project has given me is, control my professional projects, saving time, resources to the company without sacrificing the quality of the final product. The benefit of project is that it becomes a predictive software and with the results of deviation of the project, we will be able to correct in time and finish the project happy
Prosproject allows to plan, control, track, determine critical path, to alert where we must focus so that the project does not stop. The advantages of project are multiple among which we can handle the following: Multiple views, tasks, times, project uses PERT CPM as a base, also allows us to perform curve "S", and something important of Microsoft Project is that it determines the deviation of the project, reviewing and improving the costs of the same, if we use project correctly, save costs, optimize resources and minimize execution times.
Cons I think that project should be included in the Microsoft Office package, because we can do any task in a project, from remodeling the house or assembling a complex system platform,
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineering, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019

“Schedule the task by using MS Project”

OverallThose who are already using Microsoft Products, you can add MS Project to your Microsoft family to do Project Mangement. My overall experience is good at all.
ProsEase of understanding due to simple and attractive GUI is the thing I preferred MS project rather than Primavera and who are already familiar with other MS office can easily understand their functions. Easily can create tasks and organize resources. Each project can easily manage it with the help of the Gantt chart with different colours and can input and output as an excel format.
ConsPricing is one of cons which is common for all Microsoft products. When it goes fora high-level administrative works, it has some limitations with itself and when we compared to the Primavera, it was less advanced and limited for some options.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 16, 2018

“Top 5 project management tools for corporate use that helps in project planning and strategy”

Pros1. Easy to use and simple interface 2. Creation of Gantt charts and WBS structure by simply entering data in excel format 3. Linking of items across rows to maintain the timeline and dashboards to plot charts accordingly 4. It makes use of data and represents the tabular format in a graphical form, which is really very useful for project planning and strategizing. 5. It makes a note of resources utilization and creates and updates the plan accordingly. 6. We can set milestones, goals, define objectives and much more with this simple and reliable tool.
ConsThis is a great tool, however tools like JIRA and Microsoft Azure DevOps are boosting speeds in the market because of their advanced and significant use, that match the current corporate needs. Microsoft Project again being an expensive software gets looked over and others take the lead. There must be additional features to improve graphical representation of data or to export them in other forms.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018

“Microsoft builds solutions for”

OverallManaging projects provided a lot of benefits for us. although it was too big for us as an SME and we left Microsoft Project
Proseasy to learn there is a bunch of documents for learning adequate for medium size projects supports project management CPM, Pert,...
Consfilling timesheet is a real disaster and the user faces with so many difficulties Timesheet reporting doesn't work properly An admin does not have all the features in the web platform It's too big for SME's doesn't support PMBOK especially in procurement management and risk management areas It's not a specific purpose solution for any industry like oil and gas or automotive
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 20, 2018
Germán Andrés C.
Business Developer & Content Marketing
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: GetApp
June 20, 2017

“An essential tool for the project manager”

ProsMicrosoft Project is one of those tools that every project manager must learn to use. It has a lot of great features for the beginner to the expert in project management. You can easily plan and forecast activities, assign resources and even get a full project cash flow. I use it to plan project activities, assign resources and detect when they are overcharged and if you use a baseline you can get control of project deviations. You can find a lot of functionalities that can grow as your needs of project management and knowledge of the tool evolve. There are a lot of good content about how to use it properly.
Source: GetApp
June 20, 2017
Maxxine R.
Principal Consultant
Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 13, 2017

“Microsoft Project for the Consultant”

OverallMicrosoft Project has a lot of really great features provided you purchase the correct version for your needs otherwise, just like any other software, it will not perform to your expected satisfaction.
ProsLots of different views for the same data input. Allows for individuals to have different time schedules built in and different cost centers and rates to pull from across multiple assets. Most of our clients use this software and allows for easy transfer of schedules.
ConsBecause there are so many features the learn, it can be daunting to learn how everything fits together. Although this is an early Con, in the long term, the functionality is worth the perseverance.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 13, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019

“Microsoft Project Review”

ProsWhat I liked most was how user-friendly the interface is and how easy it was to create Gantt charts for my project. I use Microsoft Project extensively and it is a very useful software for any kind of project management use. The help feature is great and this is the only software application I use for my projects.
ConsWith Agile being used now, Microsoft Project is considered outdated software. It is a bit clunky although robust. Online project management software has become more popular. People are finding cheaper and more effective alternatives to Microsoft Project.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2019
Rohan h.
Improvements Engineer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 14, 2019

“Great for business projects management”

OverallHappy with the software and glad my company is using it. Will be using it for all our projects. The latest versions also have a nice GUI. Defiantly recommended!
ProsVery well put together to manage company projects for CEO's and all management levels. Great for planning and action flow control. Quite easy to get to know and figure out with little knowledge of the program. Most company members tend to stick to using Excel but this is definitely better choice for project management.
ConsCan be a bit cluttered when all the projects are entered but depends on how it is setup. Cannot see anything else being a problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 14, 2019
Gio J.
Technical Trainer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2017

“Easy to access project tool.”

OverallI use Microsoft's Project to track the individual items that I need to manage for a major project. The best parts of MS Project are that it evolved into the easiest to use Gant chart generator out there. My personal business calls for me to track several programs at one time and as an Instructional Designer/Architect, I tend to "chunk" projects into smaller, easier to accomplish bites. The Project lets me do that and helps me track my progress in completing the chunks of the larger project that I have to complete. I like that the interface allows me to enter the data about the project into what looks like a spreadsheet. The software then generates a Gant chart and helps me track where I might have finished ahead of schedule or where I might slip if I don't pay attention. My main gripes about MS Project involve a lack of flexibility. I can't easily rename column headings because they're locked into Microsoft's view of what a project should look like. This is only a minor annoyance. That said, at times I often expect MS Project to behave more like MS Excel where I can manipulate and edit cells with ease, which you can't because the columns are locked to function only one way. Finally, I would like to have row separators that let me know where one project ends and another begins. I do this because I'd like to have a tool that lets me view all my projects in one place. Changing dates is also an annoyance because the date fields always default to the point in time in which you started the project and so if you expect the date fields to default to "today's date", you might have to make adjustments. It would be nice if the date defaulted as expected (today's date). Tips: 1. You can roughly rename the titles of cells, but the contents will always function according to the locked nature of the cells. 2. If like me, you want to track multiple projects in one MS Project file, simply color code the different projects with the cell highlight function.
Pros1. Ease of use 2. Fast data entry 3. Visible Gant chart
Cons1. Columns are locked to function only one way 2. Date fields don't default to today's date 3. No means to separate one project from another
Recommendations to other buyersThere may be better software packages out there for Project Management and MS Project attempts to do it all by bringing a lot of traditional Project Management functions into one place. That said, you have to learn to tweak MS Project a bit to get it to do what you want.
Source: Capterra
January 7, 2017
Vanessa C.
Proposal Manager
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2016

“The Standard for PM software”

OverallI have been using MS Project for several years now. I have also used other project management softwares, but until now I haven't found any other option better than MS Project. The ease of use, track and control make it the standar for project management software. It would be nice to have some cutting edge updates like introducing features for the new PM methodologies such as agile and design thinking. Also, some visual refurbishment would be refreshing. Mac users are still begging and waiting for a OSX version, and this should be sort out soon by microsoft developers.
ProsEase of use, it is the industry standard for project management software.
ConsThere is no a Mac version of it. It needs to include features for new PM methodologies such as agile.
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2016
Genieve P.
Sr. Project Coordinator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019

“Yay or Nay Microsoft PPM”

OverallEntire project in the field is what we use this software for . This is a great tool for PM's to keep dates on track and to make sure they are not supposed to be installing in 2 different areas at the same time.
ProsThis software is by far hands down for scheduling your projects. I only use this software to set up the basics of a new project and the PM's will go in and fill out the dates. This software is great because you can see a visual of how long your duration is for each section of your project. Example would be if you are installing glass on 1 section of the building and how long it would take field guys need to be done, then you would plug in your dates and it tells you if you are overlapping on installation. Which is good to know so if that happens you can adjust accordingly.
ConsI am still learning and I actually have 2 classes coming up that I will attending for training. Hopefully I can become fluent in this software and use it to it's full potential.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 28, 2019
Joel M.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 17, 2018

“Streamline project management app”

OverallIt's an app that managers and even team leaders needs to have control on the project and staffing levels.
ProsThis software is useful for creating project reports. I can create reports on different devices like laptop and smartphones. My team is using this app and it helps us to stay organized on our projects and tasks. I am so thankful for Microsoft Project!
ConsVery complex software that some functions may not be needed at all, but the program itself have great features.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 17, 2018
Raquel S.
Project manager
Retail, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018

“Intuitive tool to track your project”

OverallComplete view of project portfolio and status
ProsThe native integration with office 365 and powerbi because once you have created your project you can register the progress of your tasks and keep track of the most important kpis for your project and portfolio. You can have a complete view of the status of your project, add risks, milestones, issues, deliverables and customizing to add more information to your project.
ConsSometimes the dependence between tasks doesn't work properly when you have already listed the tasks and need to change the dependence
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 27, 2018
Avatar Image
Heyonil L.
Consultor I de la Calidad y Procesos
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“It is excellent for consultancy purposes. We create our portfolio and work in harmony.”

OverallSaving time and practicality.
ProsThe management of the projects through this software is extremely easy and practical. You can visualize the progress of your projects immediately and visualize the percentage of compliance with it, in addition to relating the necessary resources for those projects. Of the best.
ConsInitially it can be a little complex to relate to software resources but once you identify them, there is nothing stopping you. Sometimes the programming of automatic tasks can become cumbersome but these details are already at the user's expense.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“MS Project Review”

ProsI've used MS Project on several projects throughout my career. Project scheduling has never been easier as the auto-schedule configuration allows you to factor in dependencies, start/end dates, number of days to complete task and much more. You can also sync this software with O365 which is very convenient when working with cross-functional teams. Projects can be complex, however, scheduling doesn't have to be.
ConsMy only negative regarding this software is that it's costly. But, you get what you pay for!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Mavares P.
Docente Universitario
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2018

“Microsoft, a family of solutions ”

OverallAnalyze and effectively control all projects
ProsThe big ideas solve big problems, that is why it is necessary to be very clear in what we plan to do and how we will manage to do it, in this way, a project is the most complete way to solve a series of problems. When ideas group many people, it is essential to manage an immense amount of tasks, following up on their development, preparing schedules and execution schedules, as well as administering many resources. For all this, who more than Microsoft products to support us with their extensive experience? This platform is simple and very familiar to everyone. Thanks to it, we can rigorously monitor resources, personnel, time, costs, planning and evaluation.
ConsTalking about Microsoft, is talking about a solid staff of professionals at the service of our interests, for which, it is essential to carry out the corresponding training, so that in this way we can get the best out of the tools, so it is important to keep this in mind. in our cost structure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 8, 2018
Marsha J.
Engineer
Government Relations, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“It has help me in project management and developing a plan, and assigning resources to tasks etc.”

OverallEase of use and management of my budget, cost comparison, has help in preparing reports and helping my organization to remain within budget. Able to manage people equipment and resources.
ProsIts ease of use and the ability to update my budget, and analyzing workloads of my team . really like the cost of calculating a project and communicating this to my team.
ConsThe fact that its not included in the MS Office suite and must be acquire separately is not good and this has cost my organization more and as a result must be careful installing the products because of the cost associated.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Anthony B.
Project Managment
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 12, 2019

“Great way to manage a project!”

OverallI would say it has been a very positive experience and would recommend it to anyone in project management. A great tool that helps me keep track of what tasks need to be accomplished and when everything needs to get done.
ProsWith Microsoft Project, you are able to keep track of all your tasks. You are also able to see how they relate to each other and where they fit in chronologically. I really like how the software will automatically calculate the start to finish dates based on the amount of time it takes to complete and its predecessor tasks.
ConsThis software has all that an application of this type must have, so it is difficult to find something bad about the product, but I think that Microsoft could add some features like management modules for quality, acquisitions and other important knowledge areas of project management methodology.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Sherry B.
Business Process Improvement Analyst
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2019

“Complex but offers major benefits!”

OverallI love this software! I wish there was a cheap student version available... that was NOT subscription based as I would love to be able to use it at home!
Pros The software has great templates to allow for easy starting of a new project, and maintaining of consistency across multiple projects. There are timelines that allow you to see that status easily. The reports are great! I am an analyst, so the reporting on the project status is very important to me. These are dashboard reports with great visuals.
ConsFor those that understand how to use Microsoft Project, the learning curve is easy on this. Without any Project background, it will take a while, but it is worth it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2019