Common Benefits Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Common Benefits

CommonBenefits helps employers, unions, and affinity groups manage open enrollments, add new hires, and administer benefits. Using any payroll, handle groups of any complexity and size from 10+ to 500,000+ people. Insurance agencies manage multiple accounts using our Benefits Operating System. Enroll medical benefits, numerous voluntary products such as life, disability, accident, retirement plans and coordinate with administrative services including FSA, HSA, payroll, COBRA and ACA reporting. Learn more about Common Benefits

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 16 of 16 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Michael R.
Partner
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018

“This gives our enrollment firm a cost effective way to be very responsive and flexible for clients.”

ProsCommon Benefits allows us to build our own cases, on our own schedule, at a very reasonable price. Because of their relationships with nearly all major voluntary benefit carriers, we're able pull a wide variety of core and VB products onto one platform, which is a real pain point with other products that are often unable to handle one or the other. The system is very flexible and allows for a variety of solutions to typical enrollment and reporting challenges. This flexibility also means that the learning curve can be steep, but we have felt very well supported by the company's staff. They are quick to respond and are very solution oriented. With Common Benefits we can usually set up a new case for enrollment in less than two weeks, at minimal cost (sometimes free). Outsourcing the same case to another vendor would typically take at least six weeks and cost us thousands of dollars or, depending on the carriers, be free but take more like 8-12 weeks.
ConsSome of the features that seem like they could be 'built in' require custom scripting, specifically some of the rating and enrollment rules for certain benefits. A couple very common reporting challenges are not handled well, specifically reporting on changes to data within the system. With that said, the staff is more than helpful with providing ready-to-use solutions to these and other issues. None of this requires us to have programming knowledge or to hire someone specifically to do it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018
John B.
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2016

“Great company, great platform”

OverallMy company has been using and providing our clients with the Common Census enrollment/ben admin platform for over a decade. During that time we have consistently been impressed with the team from Westbrook, Maine, as well as their flexible system. Common Census allows producers and employers the ability to manage annual and ongoing enrollment, life event processing, and EDI file feeds via a flexible suite of tools that can accommodate nearly any benefit configuration.
ProsAttractive pricing (sometimes free!), intuitive navigation, simple build process, responsive home office team, willingness to evaluate "out-of-the-box" solutions, integrated with numerous insurance carriers, multi-language support... There is a lot to like.
ConsPerhaps not as "flashy" as other platforms. This is not a true negative, in my opinion, as many other platforms offer lots of bells and whistles that are seldom utilized by HR or employees, and can detract from the true objective, which is selecting benefits. Some may lament the lack of flashier decision support tools, but I don't.
Recommendations to other buyersCommon Census offers a great training class for organizations that want to learn how to build on their platform. It is well-run, easy to understand, and will empower you to create or update benefits and reports on your own. Highly recommended, especially for those that want to market the platform to their own clients.

Vendor Response

By Common Census on August 30, 2016
John, We greatly appreciate the feedback on our platform and your loyalty as a customer over the years. We strive to improve our features based on all the feedback we receive. We are also please to announce that in this upcoming Q4 of 2016, we will be releasing a updated version of our employee self-service site which will be mobile responsive.
Source: Capterra
August 29, 2016
Amanda W.
System Data Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018

“Excellent customer service on a user friendly platform!”

OverallI have worked with Common Census for 10+ years, and have found that while there are some areas that other software systems may be more advanced or flashier, that Common Census makes up for in quality, and support. I would much rather use a software that allows for ease of use on all parties involved thus allowing the most effective enrollment, than a platform that offers every tip, trick, and option making setups more complicated, confusing, and at times taking away from the true value of an enrollment. I believe Quality over quantity goes a long way, and Common Census offers the quality!
ProsThe software is incredibly user-friendly on both the system setup and end-user side. The attentive customer support provided is above all others in the industry that I've experienced!
ConsIn some areas, customization of certain tools, features, and displays are not available to meet specific needs. However, I find that actually makes the overall setup, deployment, and wrap up of an enrollment more efficient and effective. There is something to be said about "Less is More".
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 19, 2018
Jennifer H.
Account Executive
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019

“Common Benefits Review”

OverallVery satisfied with the team that handled the install. Our rep was responsive and knowledgeable. He took care of items that came in right away.
ProsThe system is very functional and easy to set up. It's user friendly and has good capabilities. It's ideal for brokers that have an enrollment team that will interview employees on the phone and enroll them remotely.
ConsI think it could have been a bit more robust. EDI connectivity took a long time to set up.

Vendor Response

By Common Census on August 27, 2019
We have an excellent set of tools for managing EDI by brokers or we can handle it for them. In any event, EDI is a collaborative process the necessarily depends on the cooperation of the insurance company or TPA with whom the EDI is being arranged.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019
Avatar Image
Mark F.
VP
Insurance, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Easy to use and affordable”

OverallWe did a demo with Common Census and were very impressed. There are only a handful of companies that can compete with their capabilities. The are a first rate pick for enrollment ease, data management, setup and customer support. Our company was looking for a self-enrollment solution for groups where census data was not available. We also needed to reverse eligability through a PDA and instant registration process. These were not fully available. Thus, this system wasn't for us. However, this system would be great for 99% of traditional employee benefits management firms. We are just a little out side the box.
ProsI love the enrollment setup. It makes it very easy to bring in a new group/enrollment.
ConsDidn't offer a reverse registration process when no census data was available.

Vendor Response

By Common Census on September 10, 2019
CommonBenefits has the capability of managing cases with where no census is provided. We call these "open access" cases and we use our Winsure platform to accomplish this. Most often this occurs with associations and other non-employer groups. Most recently, this technique was used with our new DPC (direct primary care) product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Archie K.
C.O.O.
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2016

“Great Enrollment Software”

OverallCommon Census is a great technology partner who's product fills our needs and who's customer service is ready when needed. The features of their platform lead us to use them on many of our cases!
ProsFlexibility, options and customer service.
ConsTime needed to produce EDI files.
Recommendations to other buyersThese are good people and they care about their customers!
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2016
Cass G.
President
Insurance, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“Easy to use - understands our business”

OverallMultiple voluntary / core benefits enrollment
ProsThe full range of benefits that can be enrolled.
ConsCan be expensive for slight tweaks or modifications
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
Sal C.
VP, Worksite & Group Sales
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019

“I love CB”

ProsBiggest reason we chose Common Benefits is because it just works. Reliability matters most to us and CB fits that bill. The team knows their system and are always ready and willing to help when we need it.
ConsSome features and enhancements can use some added testing before they get rolled out.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 26, 2019
Paul T.
Pres.
Insurance, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“It works for me”

Overallvery pleased, so far the responce has been a positive suprise
Proseasy to use, like how it imports my data, like the templates...really like the initial support in getting started
Conscant think of anything it was all pretty easy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Sean C.
Senior Director of Strategic Accounts
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Referral Partnership”

OverallGreat Staff !!
ProsThe engagement of the team and the Zero PEPM offering when purchasing certain products.
ConsEverything works as expected. We are excited about this offering.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Alan F.
Sales Manager
Insurance, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
1/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019

“Out dated”

Prostabs for benefits, personal information, employment information, etc.
Consnot easy to use. cannot complete EOIs during enrollment. the EDI feed was not correct to the carrier. customer support was not user friendly. when you complain the company gets their feelings hurt and shuts down on you.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019
CARLA S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2017

“Great company, Great product, Great people”

OverallLove working with the system and our support and all the other staff members. My only complaint is the reporting system. It needs more pre-built global reports and a better structure for building your own in the system. Not enough explanation of which report works best for what outcome.
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2017
John F.
Owner
Insurance, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019

“Great product for small groups”

ProsEliminates redundancy and opportunity for errors. It's reduced our admin time and improved our efficiency.
ConsIt doesn't integrate with some of the other carrier-sponsored technology.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 10, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019

“Best Product Ever”

ProsIf you're not using this product, reconsider.
ConsThe only thing I didn't like about this product was that I had to go without it for so long. I recommend it to anyone!

Vendor Response

By Common Census on September 4, 2019
Thanks to our secret admirer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018

“Common Census has been a great enrollment partner with our mutual clients.”

OverallSuccessful participation results with this Common Census enrollment technology support.
ProsThe Guardian benefit coach is a valuable tool with both one on one enrollment and self serve clients.
ConsOne drawback was the need to customize our permanent life offering which created a system incompatibility on one of the many cases written over the last six months.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2018
Shawn N.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2017

“Simple to use and easy to deploy”

OverallI have had a 15 year relationship with Common Census and have always found the system simple to use and extremely easy to deploy.
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2017