OpenCart Ratings

Overall
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Service
4.1/5

About OpenCart

Opencart is an easy to-use, powerful, Open Source online store management program that can manage multiple online stores from a single back-end. Administrative area simply by filling in forms and clicking Save. There are many professionally-written extensions available to customize the store to your needs. Learn more about OpenCart

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 113 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 113 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Bryan B.
Owner/Manager
Arts and Crafts, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019

“Awesome for Startups, Small Businesses and Medium Size Businesses”

OverallOverall, my experience with OpenCart has been very good throughout the years as it is one of the e-commerce software solutions that I can install and maintain without having to worry about it unexpectedly breaking in between periods of maintenance.
ProsOne of the things that I like the most about OpenCart is the multitude of options available for tailoring it towards my business needs. I have found that many of the modules and extensions that other e-commerce software solutions charge for are included out of the box with OpenCart and for free. For the extensions that are not included out of the box, they can usually be found in the OpenCart marketplace either for free or for a nominal price that allows even startups to realize a profit on their business even faster.
ConsOne of the things that I like the least about this software is the filter function for products in the admin area. Rather than allowing for products to be filtered by a single identifying keyword within a title, you have to remember the beginning word of the title and continue to add keywords in order to help filter down to a manageable number of products fitting the criteria you are looking for.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Petrus V.
Director of Strategic and New Development
Computer Software, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“OpenCart the way to go”

OverallI have had a tremendous experience... I can build my website the way I want, and once I pay for a OpenCart plugin, or theme, I add it to my box of tools that I can permanently use on any of my other sites. The initial setup can be a little daunting, but once you've built your first site, it's fantastic. The plugins and themes are very well priced, and the support is great. OpenCart have addressed previous security flaws in their software, and https://www.tinfoilsecurity.com/ scanned my site and gave it a clean bill of health. I recommend the 'Pavilion - Responsive OpenCart Theme by ThemeBurn | ThemeForest' as you do not need to know how to write a single line of code. It's responsive (re scales automatically) , so you do not have to worry about how it will look on a pc or mobile phone, and you can do almost anything you can think off. Granted that there is a HUGE learning curve, but it gets better as you learn how to work with the theme.
ProsYou control everything, and you can find plugins to add functionality you do not have... It is great if you want full control, and I have never found there is something I want that I cannot do without a plugin or a tweak here and there. Support is great and often the developers who create the plugins will help you install the plugin for free after you buy it. They normally even do small tweaks for free, and add extra functionality at a minimal cost. Yes, there are many ready built eCommerce platforms like shopify and squarspace, but you will have to pay a monthly hosting fee, including monthly plugin rental. If I could buy a plugin once off on shopify, I would perhaps reconsider, but most plugins are rental only. Shopify has a lot of features, but it does not have everything most people need. So you going to end up renting a lot of extra plugins. Take 10 different plugins on shopify, at a monthly cost of approx $20 each, and you 're going to pay $200 on top of your shopify costs. It all adds up. Bottom line, if you do not mind a learning curve, and you want to keep costs down in the long run, along with full control, OpenCart is the way to go!
ConsLike most software, there is a learning curve. It can be painful all at once, but the more you use OpenCart, the better it gets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Eivind B.
Manager
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“For the amateur and the professional”

OverallOpenCart is regarded as quite the savior for newcomers to the e-commerce industry - this was (is) at least the case for me. The system gives you a solution that is ready-to-use straight out of the box. Through the admin panel, you can change numerous settings including advanced banner setup, pages setup, payments, categories and the lot. If you are curious on how to change the code and customize it exactly to fit your needs, the files are neatly organized in your FTP program so that a newcomer will intuitively know which files changes what. This also leads me to the real beauty of OpenCart - the community and the extension store. The community is superb. If you have any issues or obstacles on your way learning programming and OpenCart, the forum will answer all your questions and lead you on your way. If you do not want to program or design yourself, you can utilize the extension store which is filled with high-quality solutions that you can easily install through your admin panel. I have used OpenCart for years, and I can't see anything equally easy-to-use-yet-highly-advanced that is going to replace it anytime soon. Amateur or pro - just try it, you'll like it. Did I also mention that it is free(!)?
ProsThe flexibility and the customization while still being easy to use and understand. It is also mobile friendly.
ConsThe extension market - while still providing a whole lot of quality solutions - is still suffering from some low-quality publishers as well as duplicators who are stealing from others. More policing is needed.
Recommendations to other buyersSeek advice! The forum has lots of guides and helpful people.
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Verified Reviewer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017

“OpenCart is an amazing software. ”

OverallI have been using this software for over 6 years to build ecommerce websites for my clients, offering customized solutions, template design, extensions, modules, consulting, maintenance.
ProsSeo friendly. Easy to install and setup. Continued upgrades. Easy for develop custom solutions. Great community. Great marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. Infinite Payment gateways. Infinite Shipping Gateways. Email Marketing Tools. Insightfully Reports. Users and Role Administrations. Discounts, Sales, Coupons, Rewards Points. Products Reviews. Multi Language. Multi Currency. Mobile Ready. Marketing Tracking Tools. Affiliate Program Tool. And more...
ConsOpenCart's core upgrade processes are often laborious, but the OpenCart team seems to be working on this, and often offering solutions that allow you to take these weak points to disappear in a short time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Tobacco, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“Good open-source cart platform if you have a developer”

ProsIt's free, what's not to like about an open-source shopping cart platform. It's extendable with modules, and can be made to be pretty powerful.
ConsThe modules, more particularly, that there are no coding standards or screening processes in which developers must go through before a paid module is put up for sale on the marketplace.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“Easy to use and versatile open source platform for small business website”

OverallA great choice for small ecommerce businesses.
ProsAdmin page is easy to use and navigate. Clean and attractive design layout even on default theme. The system is extremely responsive and seems to be great ecommerce solution for small businesses. Although the stock system already comes with the basic needs of an ecommerce site, the marketplace for extensions has a good selection of mods to further expand functionality and design. Easy setup makes opencart a good choice to quickly have a functional, modern, and professional website setup with little effort.
ConsThe simplicity of the platform and 'somewhat' limited third party extensions (compared to top competitors), may not be an ideal choice for mid to large size businesses. Backend search functionalities and filters are also limited.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Avatar Image
Jelena U.
Owner, CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018

“Simple and cheap e-shop system for small e-shops without marketing support.”

OverallThis product works well for my low and middle class e-shops which offer limited number of products, mostly in the same category, with a smaller budget for running and promotion. For the more advanced needs, this system cannot offer enough functions and there is not enough resources for customers. Free version is too simple. For some results, paid themes and plugins are needed. Then e-shop may generate some income.
ProsOpenCart is not as demanding as other e-shops in terms of resources. It doesn't use server sources as high as other apps. You can run it on standard on a shared hosting. There is fairly simple interface so it is easy to setup a shop, very simplified. It can be used by beginners. Simple UI on the back-end and fairly descent front-end makes it easy to use. Easy backup.
ConsVery hard to update or modify. It can just break down and not work even if you roll out backup of the previously working site. SEO is terrible even with paid plugins. To make addresses and descriptions work is so hard. Never made it to work completely as it would on standard shops Magento, or Wordpress. One-page shopping is not working well even with paid plugins. Marketing options are very limited and hard to find, such as follow up emails, up-sell, cross-sell, promo codes, tracking. E-shop are used for selling primarily so one would need to offer as much as possible to clients, similar products, suggested products, to give reward points and to send customized offers. Discounting options are not working well in case client changes anything or finish shopping in a few steps. (75% of shopping carts with free shipping lose their function and have to be edited manually) There are no easy integrations, such as Zappier, MailChimp, login via social network accounts etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 9, 2018
Stavros D.
Software developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2017

“The best e-commerce platform”

OverallI gained many things but most important I improved my programming skills
ProsIt's easy to use and really fast. You can easily build a shop with thousands of product without paying a flrtune on hosting. It is SEO promising with built in SEO customization. Its also an independent framework by itself which I found pretty interesting as I am developer as well. Last but not least there is a big community supporting it.
ConsSometimes in a hurry on publish new releases which leads to bugs. And forum members (some of them) can be really aggressive .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2017
Avatar Image
Maryann A.
Freelancer/online retailer
Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019

“Thumbs up to OpenCart”

OverallOpenCart is suppose to be a tryout but I ended up sticking to the platform. I am happy and would strongly recommend to you.
ProsI heard about OpenCart from a friend and I decided to try it out but I didn't expect it to blow my mind. An open source online store platform that's free and all its functions and features works great. I love the fact that I could control and operate it. Highly customizable has so many add ons. I ended up sticking to OpenCart
ConsThe platforms fine. I am impressed and i do not have any dislike.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 30, 2019
Tajammal H.
Admin
Computer Software, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018

“Setup your own online store to sell your products.”

OverallI used the Open Cart for a long time to run my store online. Saved my time and money to develop self store using coding.
ProsOpen Cart is software to use create store online for sell products. It have approximately all required features which are necessary for a store owner. Open Cart is available in different languages and have a large amount of extensions to customize the store. Themes are also available or you can customize current theme. It gives you all controls over your store.
ConsSome features hard to understand and handle. like mega menu is not easy to understand and without mega menu store looks not good in my thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Joanne M.
Sales Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018

“One of the best ecommerce carts”

ProsEasy to setup, easy to rank, easy to customize. Great feedback from the community, being and active and responsive community. We were able to develop one online shop with easy and great performance
ConsNot being the most developed online cart system it has his drawbacks, many upgrades and modules are not developed for opencart. Depending on your needs and expectation you should consider more options, depending on what you need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 2, 2018
Shikhil S.
CEO
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017

“Feature rich CMS with alot to do! Security could be better”

Overall- Easy to manage products - Setting up a store in no time - Selling products online - Accepting payments online
Pros- Made for small and medium e-commerce shops - Alot of features - A number plugins available to do almost any tasks - The latest version enables customizations without much loss during updating
Cons- Security can be proved. OC is often a subject to malware attacks and credit card scammers - Community can be stronger like other CMSs like Magento/WordPress
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 12, 2017
Simon P.
MD
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016

“Great, full featured opensource cart with thousands of addons”

OverallI have been developing with OpenCart for 5+ years now and a lot of my e-commerce clients are using it and getting great sales because of it. It is easy to use for the non-techie once everything is set-up. It has a large set of features in the default set-up and there are thousands of extensions/add-ons available and thousands of themes, what's not to like.
ProsEasy to install and set-up Ease of Use Good support community Thousands of add-ons Thousands of themes
ConsRelease cycle is random and not thought out Difficult to upgrade unless you
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019

“Decent self-hosted e-commerce solution for small shops”

OverallFor a basic e-commerce website for a small shop, OpenCart can be a decent solution for self-hosted. Clients are always happy with the easy to use administration and find intuitive. As a developer, its been fairly easy to modify code. I typically recommend other software over OpenCart, but overall it's a decent platform to start out with.
ProsWebsite administration is easy-to-use and non-technical clients can easily find what they need. Great basic set of features making setup of website fairly easy to get going. And of course the best part of OpenCart, it's free to use as open-source software.
ConsExtensive customization can get costly with extensions. Some security issues with some of the extensions, so choose wisely. Outdated templates/themes. Not a good choice for larger shops as it will slow down considerably.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2019
Oren M.
CEO
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019

“Easy to organize small amounts of products ”

ProsVery easy to use. You update all page information in the backend. Truly excellent
ConsIt is perfect for what I need. I am aware that OC has it's limitations when dealing with big stocks
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 14, 2019
Rahul J.
Web Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017

“Awesome Experience. I am working with you since 2014”

OverallFirst of all, This is OpenSource Free software and Its helps to set up store within few hours
ProsI liked all the things everything was made brilliant and now in 3x marketplace installation easier now to explain to our clients
ConsControl over the Read Write Permission to admin and catalog folders and Restric to the Third-party software control over the certain files to be changed by OCMOD
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 1, 2017
Rambanani B.
Accounts Assistant
Mining & Metals, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“Excellent Interface”

ProsOpenCart is very easy to set up and it is user friendly. It has quite a straightforward interface and you can literally do everything without much challenges from creating pages up to adding products. It is easy to integrate with other payment systems and different shipping options. It also has a good catalog functionality and good features features for order processing
ConsIt is very difficult to customize some features on OpenCart and you are forced to use the theme.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Desmond C.
Systems Administrator
Packaging and Containers, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“Open Source all the way!”

OverallWe were not able to sell our products online, but thanks to OpenCart we are now online.
ProsWhat I like most about OpenCart is that it is open source, thereby it has a huge community. I like that OpenCart is easy to use and setup.
ConsIf you are setting up on your own you need some knowledge of web hosting in order to have it up and running.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Michael A.
IT Technician
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018

“OpenCart is an eCommerce from the Future”

OverallThis software is our go-to recommendation for companies that want the most customization without recurring fees impacting their monthly profit margins. Keep in mind it may be a little more pricey to start out with your necessary extensions, but you won't regret your choice (as long as you install extensions as instructed). Maintain your site and your site will maintain your income.
ProsWe absolutely love that it is initially a free platform. Competitors charge for the platform and then charge for features, but OpenCart has a wide range of extensions that perform what you want, the way you want. High-quality platform-wide access to have a large amount of customization and control over your store.
ConsWe do not favor how limited the base platform is on shipping integration, fraudulent order monitoring, or promotional sale control. These are all available as add-ons but are necessary for the majority of businesses, even when they are starting out as a new company.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 9, 2018
Avatar Image
Daniel E.
Designer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019

“Ease of Use”

OverallOpenCart works well for small businesses whose product availability are limited. It can't offer enough resources for customers in large businesses as it should. It has a free version that is too easy to operate, paid plugins are needed to generate some incomes. OpenCart has so many features that are included in it's default set-up, themes and lots of add-ons. I recommend OpenCart for small businesses if they're looking to boost sales.
ProsIt's very flexible and easy to customize' It's easy to understand and operate. Good marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. OpenCart is very affordable for all business sizes. Easy installation and setup. It has a continues upgrade in system features.
ConsIt has a laborious upgrade process. It has limited functionality back-end search and filters. It has limited and hard to find marketing functionalities.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Dominic D.
Software Developer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018

“In opencart this wonderful application that can be use for inventory that can access any one online”

OverallInventory online
Prosi like this because this is a mysql back end data then with a front end php that easy to understand can be also having a features updates automaticallt
ConsI think we need more graphical report that can be delivered to each client so they can understand easy
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 11, 2018
Kashif P.
CEO
Graphic Design, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017

“Easy to use and understand.”

OverallMy online store growing day by day. Thanks to Opencart. Custom development is not very expensive. And Support is very friendly and when ever I ask question they answer promptly.
ProsFree, open source and it is very easy to find its developers. Support is very friendly and when ever I ask question they answer promptly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017
Florin A.
Web dev
Internet, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017

“A very good ecommerce web app with a great comunity.”

OverallI get a secure and reliable ecommerce store base for my customers.
ProsThe easy to understand code; The extensibility of the app; It is relatively lighweight; The forum comunity;
ConsThe integrated marketplace in opencart 3.x; The integration of the twig templating system into opecart 3.x;
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2017
Avatar Image
Vikas G.
Business Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019

“Few things to know about OpenCart”

OverallIf you are a beginner then you must try OpenCart to bring your business online and generate revenue.
Pros1. It is an open source ecommerce development platform which allows bringing small scale as well as medium scale businesses online within just few clicks. 2. It provides all the basic features to run and organize an effective online store which can be used easily and doesn't require much of technical expertise.
Cons1. Being an open source platform it is more likely to be vulnerable from external threats such as code injection and similar. 2. Although it provides all the basic features but sometimes I feel like it lacks a bit of features such as event management application as well as it doesn't provide access to its code files in order to build one.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 13, 2019
Anand R.
Coordinator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Simple eCommerce Script”

ProsI am running a successful store using opencart from past 5 years, extra modules can be easily installed using vqmod.
ConsI am on 1.5 and struggling to get my data on 3.0. I wish there could have been a easy way of upgrade from 1.5 to 3.0
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Hesham M.
Software Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“OpenCart is a great eCommerce platform”

ProsMVC structured and multiple plugins available to download and use.. and it's all FREE!
ConsUpgrading is not an option at the moment, to upgrade to new versions you have to kind of start from scratch
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Matheus A.
Programador web
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“Virtual store system full of new functions”

ProsA virtual store with lots of integration options, safe and very fast is what we always need. Do not think that all are like this, but many customers who make use of it always look for this. This can handle in a professional manner and with highly accepted language in the PHP market.
ConsSome payment types have not yet been programmed for the platform, we still depend on programmers to program Brazilian payment solutions, but there are already several that can already be used. I believe time may come more.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Avatar Image
Faizan M.
Web Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2017

“Working with OpenCart from last 3+ years. Developed many extensions for extend functionality. ”

ProsReady to use e-commerce software. Just install and upload your product information and publish your store to world wide.
ConsThe support from the vendor should be improved. Improve documentation for better way to how to do it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 20, 2017
Vesna U.
Tester
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019

“Versatile and easy to learn platform”

ProsThe platform has a huge number of useful features that we managed to use quite easily after a short study time. The Internet has a huge amount of educational materials.
ConsAfter being removed from the site, the pages are still being indexed by search engines for a sufficiently long period of time. A bit complicated folder structure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2019
Vinh V.
Administrator
International Trade and Development, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019

“OpenCart review”

ProsIt packs with a lot of important features and installation is quite straightforward
ConsUpgrading from version to version might be a pain sometimes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 24, 2019
Avatar Image
Danny D.
Freelance Paralegal
Computer Games, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019

“Want to open basic ecommerce platform qucikly? ”

ProsIf you have even a modicum of coding knowledge and want to launch an ecommerce platform in a short amount of time, Open Cart is a great base for beginners. As a coder I prefer writing custom ecommerce platforms. But, some clients don't want to spend the time or money waiting for a custom platform. Thise customers get Open Cart. Plain and simple, this software is my go to base to help clients launch their store in the most time and cost effective manner.
ConsInstalling updates is a bit of a challenge. I recommend waiting a few months after each software update so their coders can work out any bugs and connectivity issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2019
Igor V.
Android Developer
Computer Software, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018

“Convenient creation of an online store”

ProsManage an online store in this system - a pleasure, because it is just for this case. It is possible to create reports, analyze customer behavior and much more. A strong Russian-speaking community, that is, you can quickly get an answer to any question. Let's just say, although I'm an IT specialist, but I've never dealt with CMS and site configuration before. And then I tried OpenCart and was able to appreciate it.
ConsThe downside of CMS is the impossibility of creating any other sites, except for online stores. And also there are many technical problems: remote pages are poorly indexed, sometimes duplicate files are created, and so on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 23, 2018
Aura N.
SMM-manager
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018

“The first online store on the free engine”

ProsThis platform simply saved me at a time when I was still a student, I was studying Web technologies and I did not have the money for a paid engine. Having considered the options, I decided to stop at creating an online store. Maximally saving at the start, I soon learned to bring projects to the international level.
ConsFree version is a good solution at the initial stage, when you just go through training. But, starting a serious project, it is not even worth considering as an option.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 27, 2018
Alex K.
SMM-manager
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“A good CMS for an online store”

ProsOn this platform, I was making my first online store. Having learned the order of prices, I refused the services of specialists and decided to do everything myself. The project is still working and OpenCart has become my reliable assistant. The main thing that I want to note, the system is easy to learn and free (there is a paid version, but this one will be enough for your eyes to start).
ConsOver time, the functionality of the free version begins to be missed. As they say, hunger comes with eating.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Jim S.
Photorapher
Photography, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2017

“Great way to have your own store”

OverallI used Open Cart for 3 years and have found it great for creating my online store, many of the features are free but there are some small upgrades that have small costs.
Proscost
Conshuge learning curve
Recommendations to other buyersnone
Source: Capterra
February 22, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019

“Manage OpenCart as per your requirements.”

Pros1. OpenCart provide you complete environment to manage your products. 2. You can customize OpenCart as per your requirement. 3. You can edit OpenCart functionality if you have good web development skills . 4. Product listing , creation of product details , adding captions is easy. 5. Disable product , enable product is great features. 6. It has complete shopping cart features.
ConsCustomization of OpenCart is required web development skills .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 11, 2019
Ayub A.
Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Opencart for your online business”

ProsOpencart is one the best free CMS in today's era. If someone who wants to make online presence of his/her business one can choose opencart with ease & undoubtedly. It has a huge list of pros but i'll mention few of them which i like the most Its development cost is far less than its competitors Its light weight & super fast. It has user friendly & easy to manage. It has many built in shipping & payment methods. It has live 24/7 support & huge community of developers. It has large list of free modules & themes.
ConsEven though its very valuable product at 0 cost but it has few of the cons. Its security is quite vulnerable because of free modules over the internet. Not suitable for large scale business Cache management is quite difficult.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Kyle B.
Designer Web
Internet, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018

“A very good option for a free online store”

ProsOpencart is a very powerfull software that has a lot of users who use it for online shops. You can relly on Opencart for a lot of traffic, being very reliable and with a good design for the administrator. The templates are widely available and not only on the main website, they are developed from third parties.
ConsOpencart does not have all the option out of the box, as the big ecommerce software have, but they are really good for niche and hip stores
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 19, 2018
Artem B.
Digital Channel Enablement Manager
Pharmaceuticals, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019

“Powerful platform with bad templates”

ProsThe developers paid a lot of attention to tools for organizing sales and order management. The platform works with almost all popular payment systems, so customers always have a large selection of payment options.
ConsI do not like the design of this CMS, most of the templates do not represent anything worthwhile, so I have to manually develop the design and adapt it to computers, smartphones and tablets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019

“Free Comprehensive E-commerce Softwarre”

OverallI lie it very much and used it for my websites temporarily
ProsIt is an optimized for only e-commerce so It is so fast in terms of loading time of a website especially when it is compared to wordpress. So it does not need so much ram to upload your website .
ConsIts moduls or attachments are so restricted. If you wouldlike to make special project, sometimes you cannot find out right attachment or modul.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Outsourcing/Offshoring, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2019

“Excellent for a start up e-commerce store”

ProsOpen cart is a great cms /e-commerce application for a quick online store set up. The back end is easy to learn and has all the functionality one requires to operate a profitable online store.
ConsCustomisation is not straight forward as far as creating your own themes and store designs. The application comes fit with great templates that can be used in the interim.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 5, 2019
Djohn T.
SEO-analyst
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“A solid engine for creating online stores”

ProsThis is a great free engine, which you can understand without knowing the programming languages. Convenient, and most importantly clear interface, easy installation, a lot of training materials. Great program for creating an online store.
ConsMany of my colleagues complain that it is impossible to work with OpenCart without having a programmer on the team. But I do not agree with this!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Peter M.
Publishing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 14, 2017

“Rapid implementation and a lot of optional modules”

ProsOpenCart is very easy to deploy and includes a lot of great features out of the box. There is a great number of additional plugins available via the marketplace to extend this functionality.
ConsVery few cons in regard to the purpose we have selected OpenCart for. Email handling could be improved to avoid potential spam ratings, etc for the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 14, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019

“Open New business with Open Cart”

OverallVery good
ProsOpen cart is a great store management system. It's a open source software and lots of websites are using this software. I am as a software developer got a chance to give support to my client who are using open cart tool for their e-commerce websites. It's a good software essy to implement new themes and customisation according to client need.
ConsAs this is a open source software so some time you may be in a queue to get the customer support , because this is a very popular software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2019
Shirley B.
Web-analyst
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018

“OpenCart - simple and convenient CMS”

ProsIf you are creating your online store, then, in my opinion, OpenCart is a convenient and simple platform for these needs. A simple store can be created in just 10 minutes, you will only have to add the goods and all. What you like, is the speed of the sites on this engine. Pages open instantly, the goods are loaded very quickly and conveniently.
ConsI had problems only with the addition of pictures of goods. Rather, it was not a problem, but just an inconvenience, since the images had to be added to the server first.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018
Davids D.
CEO, founder
Consumer Electronics, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Popular, open source and not too complicated - worth a try”

OverallShifted to OpenCart from an aging Prestashop. Gave a try to other software along the way. OpenCart, which is just about right in everything. OpenCart is easy to set up, it is lightning fast (you will see how important this is sooner or later), it has a million extensions which are not too expensive. From my experience, OpenCart is also quite easy to learn and manage on my own. It is definitely not perfect, but better than the immediate competition if looking for cost effective though feature-rich eCommerce solution. Bottom line: Recommended. At least give it a try and place on your shortlist.
Pros- very fast; - a LOT of extensions, most inexpensive; - easy to learn the basics, not impossible to learn even more.
Cons- lacks the fancy plugin management of Prestashop; - bulky updates; - some say bad customer support, but no personal experience in this regard.
Recommendations to other buyersThis is my choice of platform for several eCommmerce websites. What else could say more?
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Melissa F.
Group CFO
Hospitality, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2018

“Works fast and stable”

ProsWe have created several client online stores that run CMS OpenCart. The main advantage of OpenCart is that it consumes much less server resources than other CMS. This ensured stable work, despite the fact that more than 1000 products are sold on each of the sites.
ConsDeleted pages continue to be indexed by search engines for a long time. Once the deleted page continued to be indexed for another 8 days, and we received daily calls from users who could not access the page.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2018
Sam N.
Team Lead
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“Convenient and simple engine”

ProsThe engine for those who like and I want to save money on the launch of an online store. It's better to invest in promotion, especially for newcomers. This engine will ensure your business a quick start and this is what you need at the start. I recommend to try.
ConsIt is necessary to spend a lot of time to understand from scratch, but will save money. The basic version has a number of limitations, but this is not critical at the initial stage. Then you can change the tariff.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Milana R.
Team lead
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018

“A great solution for online stores”

ProsI've been using this CMS for a number of years already and I've been able to appreciate its strengths and weaknesses: it's free, easy to learn and has excellent support on the forum. It has open source code and a comfortable control panel, through which it is easy to perform all actions on the site.
ConsOpencart has a truncated functionality in the base version. For minimal needs, this is quite enough, but gaining experience and comparing these analogues, this will seem very little.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 17, 2018
Timofey L.
Web developer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Good constructor, but not without flaws”

ProsThis designer did an online store - it turned out pretty good, I think. With the help of the service easily connected Russian payment systems. The administrative panel is beyond praise: comfortable and efficient.
ConsWe had to install additional modules - for carrying out the same SEO-optimization, for example. Unfortunately, the engine does not like to add modifications from third-party developers to it - all this is fraught with bugs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019