Personality Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Personality

Manages all aspects of human resources, payroll and time & attendance tracking, in a comprehensive, intelligent manner. Key features: applicant tracking and recruitment, onboarding, compensation including pay-for-performance, talent management, benefits and open enrollment, discipline, 360-degree reviews, training, skills, payroll, self-service, reporting, payroll, and integration to any finance/accounting system. Cloud/SaaS or premise-based, with multi-country and multi-language ability. Learn more about Personality

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 30 of 30 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 30 of 30 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Marjorie L.
Supervisor of Programming
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2017

“Well designed with many features”

OverallThe High Line product is well designed and offers many features. It is highly customizable so I think ease of use and customer experience can vary widely depending on how you customize. Once the system is set up it is very easy for the employees to use. The product has many different modules that are used together to create a complete employee picture. These can be added over time. Most records are date effective so you are provided with a very good historical picture as well. High Line has many consultants that can be hired to help with ongoing customization. As a government agency that hosts onsite and does its best to maintain the system in-house, we found that the IT people maintaining the system needed a higher skill set than what we originally planned for. Payroll and HR need someone who is somewhat tech-savvy to understand how the pieces fit together and advise how to best move forward with changes and additions. Value for money depends on how you choose to customize. If a complicated and/or lengthy implementation, it can get pricey but for a more straightforward implementation, it is very cost effective.
ProsThe database design and how the screens/forms work together; how you can drill down in the screens to get to more info.
ConsIt is large and a bit of a beast at times. The admin app is Java based which often causes desktop issues. When something goes wrong it requires some skill to figure out what's going on. Often High Line help is needed. Because it is highly customizable, it is impossible for High Line to test their patches and upgrades for all possible ways the system is used so it is left on the using organization to fully test all updates.

Vendor Response

By High Line on March 17, 2017
Hi Marjorie - Thanks for the review! We are pleased Personality HCM is providing value to your county and would like to address some of your comments. As you are aware, the Personality HCM is now available as a SaaS/hosted solution, delivered entirely over the internet. The Java client is now typically only used by system administrators. This may help with some of the issues your encountering. Also, appreciate your comments about customization, however, note that we have not customized the solution for your county, rather standard configuration tools have been used to make Personality operate uniquely for you. Upgrades are designed to work with client configurations, however, as with any software, configured forms/fields/calculation still need to be tested to ensure they are functioning as expected. We are always available to help, so please do not hesitate to contact support with anything that comes up.
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2017
Colleen E.
Human Resources Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“We've been using Personality for 14 years and went from separate systems into one integrated system.”

OverallWe went from two different systems into one HR/Payroll system. We gained efficiencies by only have to enter data once into one shared system. We eliminated a lot of human error that occurs when entering the same data twice. We were able to enforce our labor contracts by having only those involved in negotiations implement the updates to the system. We are now able to get real time data out of our payroll system to evaluate expected turnover rates, contract costs and stay current on meeting compliance issues.
ProsPersonality is highly configurable which is important when you have 26 different units that have completely different personnel policies, benefits, salaries and leave schedules that have to be evaluated for each employee, every two weeks during payroll. This configuration can be done by your own employees who are subject matter experts, who understand the macro or micro of your companies business needs. The ease of configuration allows the business owner to make the changes to the software based on their needs and not when the other software company gets you into their queue.
ConsThe color scheme for the test instance and production instance are the same and can lead to issues if you are not careful when working in one and thinking you are in the other. However I understand in the latest version currently being tested this is has become an updateable feature as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Dean D.
System Analyst
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Wonderful product and support - Unfortunately we no longer use it. ”

OverallWe never missed a payroll. Unfortunately we moved to a new Payroll/HR system due to costs associated to the Oracle environment which did not align with our Corporate SQL Server standard.
ProsThe database was the most solid relational database I've ever used. It was developed with a very strong focus on standards and consistency across all products in High Lines suite. We never missed a payroll in the 17 years we used the product. The suite of products all integrated nicely. Being a smaller company with their own development staff, High Line could quickly modify the product to meet industries changing needs. Although the software frontend did change over time, the basic functionality never changed. It only got better with more functionality through each major revision. Oracle database was very solid with years of database knowledge behind the product and with nice system administration tools.
ConsLack of a SQL Server database version creates a heavy dependency on Oracle creates a high cost environment. New functionality was often added with very specific (or specific customer) focus specifications and requirements. This often resulted in a new functionality which was not very useful to the customer base as a whole. Often the functionality had to be reworked or "upgraded" to meet similar needs for the larger customer base. In some ways this could be considered a positive since they were constantly looking for ways to add functionality to the product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Frédéric-Martin C.
Crewing Analyst
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018

“Good supportive team backing a great product that fits one of our hardest payroll environment.”

ProsHighly customizable from the front to the back end of the software implies a high flexibility from both the company supporting it and the product. The interface can be modified by each user to fit their need and allows for a wide variety of permissions based profile. As we deal with a highly unionized environment the capacity of the software to adapt to the evolution of the Collective bargaining agreement was a must and so far never been a show stopper whether by adapting our methods or the tool. The BI Tool has also allowed a great visibility into one of our major cost center and has been instrumental in gain of efficiency over time. Any request for support is handled in the most courteous manner and in a timely fashion. Information is also readily available through their wiki website enabling power users and IT to get quick access to information regarding the database and core component of the software.
ConsThe higher flexibility and use of it comes with a price as we had to train some of our users more in-depth than with some of the more out of the box system. The need for power-users is also very local as you customize the system. No other company will have exactly the same system and so you can have a harder time hiring specialized employee that already know the system or finding resources outside the Highline user community.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018
Judy D.
Payroll Technician
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018

“Very flexible software. Can make it process almost any pay.”

OverallMade processing payroll much easier. My favorite process is trial calcs. We used to spend a lot of time figuring employees pay. Now it's a click of a finger
ProsOnce set up, processing payroll is quite easy to accomplish. User calcs run behind the scene to make even the most complicated payroll process quite nicely. Data entry is quick and easy. Pulling up information happens at the snap of a finger, so to speak.
ConsSetting up the program is difficult for the non techie. User calcs must be written to make the system do more complicated calculations that are required to ensure payroll is prepared properly. Definitely requires a computer tech to maintain this system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2018
Deana V.
Senior Management Assistant
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“The product has worked well for our needs, however, after 4+ yrs we still have modules to implement.”

OverallCustomizable, reports, enterprise system (we never had a formal HR system)
ProsThe product is customizable to our needs. We have a complex calculation for health benefit deductions and were able to build it into the system. Anything that is input, calculated in the system can be pulled out into a report.
ConsThe implementation took many more man hours than we expected and we were not advised on this subject until we actually started implementing. Also after the implementation is complete besides additional modules, a team still needs to remain on the project for issues, upgrades, patches etc. We also have several issues that have not been resolved for more than 1 year.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Michael D.
Project Leader II - Payroll
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“Still the only software package that allows us to customize the process to our needs”

ProsThe customization of the product to our organizational needs. Instead of adapting to the way a software package works, we were able to customize the package to our policies and needs. Customer support is outstanding in the fact that when we contact them with an urgent need, they will work with us until it is resolved. We have been with High Line since 1999 and have stayed with them after each system review for the functionality that is offered.
ConsThe only complaint we have had is with the Recruitment Module. Being a government organization, it is difficult to counter all of our recruitment needs to follow our ever changing policies.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Tammy D.
Manager, Payroll & Reporting
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“I am the payroll manager but had previously worked in the payroll office for 7 years. ”

ProsI like that we can customize the software to accommodate 5+ different employee groups which have different payroll rules/collective agreements. It allows the user to make their own changes and test to ensure results are what is expected. This software allows the user to make changes to remain compliant with legislation changes, collective agreement changes, etc.
ConsIt becomes very difficult for new users to learn the "layers" of the product and understand how integrated everything is. IMUCs, Leave Plans and "programming" type work is difficult for succession planning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Jacki S.
Sr. Payroll Technician
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018

“No turning back”

OverallVery easy to use.
ProsPersonality has a dynamic back bone that allows users the ability to design, shape and mold the software to meet your specific and ever changing business needs. Highline's exceptional support staff and willingness to work through issues is amazing.
ConsReporting can be difficult for those who don't understand table structure and sql script. Transfer of knowledge for system design is an extended process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018
Derek B.
Database Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“Dealing with customer support is always a good experience.”

ProsThe application is fairly stable, we don't have to restart it very often during business hours. Production issues are dealt with quickly by customer care and they are always friendly and helpful. Screens, functions, reports are customizable which is really nice.
ConsOur version still uses Java, which can be a pain to support sometimes due to the constant version upgrades etc. Oracle licensing costs are expensive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“Powerful tool with bad documentation”

OverallPaying people is "easy" in this system.
ProsHighline really allows you to do what you need. The setup is extensive and it is time consuming but it is also versatile.
ConsThe lack of training material or easily accessible documentation can be frustrating. The Wiki is okay but not always the ideal way to search for a question you might have. There are downsides to being too versatile of a system. Too many ways to do the same thing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“Looking forward to Self Service Module for Employees”

OverallWaiting to utilize the employee and manager self service features.
ProsOur upgrade to the NextGen of Personality will allow use to better utilize the numerous features the software offers and will improve our employees and managers experience with work flow and Employee and Manager self service.
ConsTook a while for our project to get on track and have our project planning and implementation training sessions scheduled.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Mickey C.
Director of IT
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018

“Our organization has been a user of Highline's HR & Payroll system for over 20 years.”

OverallVery economical enterprise HR/Payroll system.
ProsThe ePersonality/NextGen software product line is solid and a much better economic fit for us compared to the competitors in the enterprise HR/Payroll space . The reporting and analytical capabilities of the system are impressive.
ConsThe user interface, while adequate, is sometimes confusing unless you have a solid understanding of the system.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 4, 2018
Lisa B.
HR Generalist
Human Resources, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“Been using HL for the last 8 years. We use HL for all employee personnel actions and benefit entry.”

ProsThat is it customizable by Employer. I am excited about our upgrade in the next few months. All reports can be made into Excel which we are not able to do currently.
ConsThe program is cumbersome. Small edits can be a lot of work to correct. We have to be careful when entering because so many tables are multiplied in the background that correcting mistakes end up being a very manual process.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Junyi J.
Architect
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“a lot of functions but quality is not good”

Prosvery flexible to define payroll rules and benefit rules. The self service and professional UI are customizable too. windward reports use word and excel as template. this make change or create new report very easy.
Consa lot of overhead which impact the system performance. Windward report performance is not that good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Dan B.
Application Support Specialist
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Personality is highly customizable”

OverallEasier to administer than other systems on the market today.
ProsThe ease of customization and ability to add functions without breaking existing base functions. We are able to create usercalcs for our union deduction calculation easily
ConsWorking with Winward reports can be difficult. Sometimes reports do not format properly due to word or excel.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
John J H.
Assistant Payroll Administrator
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“Much better than Ceridian”

Prosthe whole product
ConsIPRLUS - Should have a feature so that when the IRS sends us a letter to reclassify the employees Federal Status and Exemptions, we could trigger a radio control box identifying there is a letter.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“As a customer for over 10 years - we are very satisfied with the value and support of this solution ”

OverallHR / Payroll reporting. Enabling users to create their own calculations via IMUC IDIF as interface option Upload options
ProsFlexibility of the solution - users can be very creative. Support provided by the Highline is first class
ConsBudget forecasting - we are not currently using the delivered solution and created an inhouse work around
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018

“The system is customized for our specific needs. This is a plus when the software was first chosen.”

ProsEase and functionality for me. I can move through the system to find the information necessary. Very easy to find information.
ConsDifficult to change some required programming when necessary. Not always to quickly change programming rules due to legislation. Sometimes slow in response to those changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2018
Susan H.
Deputy Finance Manager
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Happy with the flexibility in the product that is all setup and not customization.”

ProsHappy with the flexibility in the product that is all setup and not customization. Customer support is great, and we have the hosted option and love it.
ConsCould be considered difficult for some users. Mostly HR folks seem more interested in clicks and don't understand the functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018

“Meets our complex environment needs”

OverallPower and flexibility at a modest cost
ProsHighly customizable and flexible setups by power business users. Good knowledge base wiki. User calcs do not require programming knowledge.
ConsNot the easiest environment to work in, as the price for its flexibility. Steep learning curve for new users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2018
Lillian K.
HRIS Project Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018

“For the most part, the application is user-friendly. Customer support is helpful and courteous.”

ProsThe ability to customize the forms to make it more user-friendly for the end user. Most HRIS software does not allow for that.
ConsThe application can run slow at times, making it frustrating for administrators and end-users to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 21, 2018
Susan G.
Supervisor, HRMS
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“Friendly consultants who are willing to answer your questions.”

ProsParts of it are easy to use and is easily configurable. Moving around in the application is simple.
ConsThe user-friendliness of the online help. It is difficult to find what I am looking for so that I can try and troubleshoot or configure myself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Todd C.
Senior Systems Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Flexible HR/Payroll Solution”

ProsDepth of the offering. It can accommodate all of our various pay codes and reasonable customization options.
ConsThe reliance on Java. Not a big fan of maintaining multiple Java versions on desktops to support different applications in our environment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“I find e-personality to be an easier to use and informative product!”

ProsThe available features just makes sense and are intuitive to use. I love having the information I need at my finger tips!
ConsAlthough the application does work over the web on my Android tablet and phone, I still would like to see a full fledge Android app available.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Adam F.
Human Resources
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Incredibly functional and customizable HRIS tool”

ProsFlexibility to customize as you see fit, incredibly comprehensive, ability to export data in many usable formats.
ConsSome aspects can be difficult to set up. Not the most user friendly for those outside of the HR organization.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Sharon Z.
DBA
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“You must be very familiar with the functions in order to best practice with the software.”

ProsThe best part of the software is -- it supports Oracle standard version, which saves us must more supported expense.
ConsHopefully it will support Tomcat in the future. It's much easier for DBA to maintain Tomcat application servers.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Laurie P.
Payroll Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018

“Very frustrating”

ProsThis software has a lot of flexibility you can set up many things and implement a lot of rules if you need to
ConsVery hard software to manage especially for smaller organizations. Need a lot of IT support to maintain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 19, 2018
Jevisha J.
Sr Acct
Government Administration, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018

“Took me some time to learn how to use this software. Found it user friendly and efficient”

ProsThe reporting part is very neat and easy. They provided a test environment which helps us practice and learn more before making any payroll changes in the actual real environment.
ConsSome training is required. Sometimes, the timesheet is not able to pick up the vacation cash-outs that employees input.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 20, 2018
Nicole A.
HR Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2014

“Heritage Enterprises Reference”

OverallAfter a full year of researching options for an integrated payroll and human resource management information system, High Line came out on top. We selected High Line for its vanilla solution, which allowed us to build a system to meet our industry's many complexities. Their technical support staff and SaaS solution are top notch. We are already realizing some of the many benefits of the new system, not least of which is providing the necessary information at our managers' fingertips to assist them with the people management aspects of their job. - Nicole Albertson, HR Manager, Heritage Enterprises
Source: Capterra
March 31, 2014