eXo Platform Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About eXo Platform

eXo Plaform is a project management software that can manage estimation and planning, scheduling, cost control and budget management, resource allocation, collaboration software, communication, decision-making, quality management and documentation or administration systems. eXo is an Open source project management and collaboration tool, helps you to manage projects, team, tasks at one place including time tracking and more.. Learn more about eXo Platform

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 108 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 108 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Paolo D.
developer
Information Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“My pros and cons for e”

OverallI've been working with eXo platform for over a year and a half. I've been discovering its features, its qualities and the points to be improved in order to create a custom portal with customizations. Mostly, I consider it as a very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. I enjoyed eXo very much, as I enjoyed its special and very kind team, with whom I still talk on Skype or other instant messages services. Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!
ProsA lot of features, easy to customize and improve. very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. very kind team Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!
Consmaybe all the deploying part could be improved, looking for example to other new tools that spend only few seconds in order to deploy or redeploy (modules) the whole app. multitenanting, at least for my experience
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Tal N.
Software Engineer
Business Supplies and Equipment, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 12, 2019

“Fantastic product and innovative collaborative tool”

OveralleXo Platform is a relatively new app, that can be helpful for corporation and communication on all different levels. I think, it is best suited for medium to large sized companies, as it has so many functions, most of which is not beneficial for small teams.
ProsWithout a doubt, eXo Platform provides everything you may need to put into action your innovative digital work base or customer experience solution. This app design in a way that it helps you to get real work done, without the platform being the part of the work. Because it is cloud-based, you can easily share any kind of data with your co-workers, which makes collaboration so much easier. If you are looking for a multifunctional social collaboration platform for the enterprise, I suggest you try eXo Platform, as it has an entirely new and sophisticated approach towards collaboration and communication between coworkers.
ConsThis platform is constantly developing, so every week you are faced with different types of updates, which can be annoying. Plus, the app is packed with different functions, some of with you may never use. As a result the interface looks cluttered and not particularly user-friendly. Also, the integration with other applications can be complicated and requires a lot of user experience as well, as blunt luck.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 12, 2019
Òscar F.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2014

“Your open source enterprise social network”

OverallThis great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons: We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

Vendor Response

By eXo on December 17, 2014
Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2014
Òscar F.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2014

“Your open source enterprise social network”

OverallThis great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons: We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

Vendor Response

By eXo on December 17, 2014
Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2014
Òscar F.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
December 18, 2014

“Your open source enterprise social network”

OverallThis great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons:
ProseXo is an Enterprise Social Network that will improve productivity across the board in all members of the company. It's very feature rich so if you want your organization's knowledge, private, secure and organized then you have to try it!
ConsWe not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification).
Source: GetApp
December 18, 2014
hani v.
project management
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“social enterprise system”

OverallI've been working with eXo platform for 6 months. we use this platform as a social collaboration place for an Industrial Association. we use community edition for free with a lot of ready-to-use  features (like profile, forum,work spaces, wiki, document mng.)   documentation is useful feature for us. its a Knowledge Management system (KMS) that provide content mng., advance search, tagging and full-txt search. it enables content sharing through our community. spaces provide a virtual place for team work. this application allows you Collaborate on a topic or project with other users. you could have private Document Management , wiki or forum in each space. eXo has a great administration pane that let you manage users and define group and permission. creating customized pages and site is easy for admin.  as an JAVA opensource platform you could customize every thing. we did a lot of changes in profile and run some of our services on it. translating eXo was a great and new experience for me. Crowdin Platform is used for managing eXo translations, so you could submit and develop new translation by help of others. Finally the support team is great!  
Prosit's a java based opensource with great ready to use feature that could be use as a social enterprise system
Consit takes a lot of time for our developers to customize some of it features. but finally we did it...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Junior S.
Senior System Analyst
1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
December 16, 2014

“Everything you need for building a social network niche in on place”

OverallI have been worked on a personal project where I intend to create a niche of social network. I looked for frameworks available on the market that could provide a complete infrastructure to run out my business and I found it at eXo. EXO plataform provides all basic features for developing a niche of social network, such as authentication, active streams and others features you can imagine for a social network. Particulary, one of the reasons I have decided by using of eXo is because it is written in Java, basically ( JSP - you can extend to JSF, Juzu ...) and works over portlets, i.e., you can built modules and apply them over your portal. If you are looking for a framework for build a social network I strongly recomends you at least do a trial with eXo before going deep into your project.
Pros- Documentation; - Active community, I've got answers for all questions I've done at eXo forum; - Customizable portal; - You don't need touch any line of code to launch a social network;
Cons- Server is too slow during start up, I believe that is due to the amount the packages that it have to load; - No so flexible for extracting data from database. EXO uses JCR (Java Common Repository), i.e., you will need to use an API to extract data

Vendor Response

By eXo on December 17, 2014
Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Let us know on eXo Community when you project is live and make sure to connect with us if you have further questions but it looks like you are already an active forum user :)
Source: GetApp
December 16, 2014
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018

“A digital collaboration software that builds a social niche”

ProsThis platform's got everything our team needs to build a collaboration and social network niche which can be implemented throughout the enterprise including active streams, authentication, and other features. And this is done without doing a single line of code. The interface portal is very convenient for promoting these functions to all teams and employees an is highly customizable.
ConsIt would great if they started rolling out more tutorials and training programs that could have helped us to understand how easy it was to perform certain functions. The program is easy to use, but customers do appreciate a little hand-holding especially at the start.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018
Avatar Image
Ashleigh C.
IT Specialist
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018

“Marvelous software for all sorts of Collaboration.”

ProsExo Platform is an outstanding software that provides an excellent platform for collaborating for our projects. It consists of powerful and effective tool that helps a lot in our business. It comprises of perfect features and functionality is fantastic. This software gives best solutions for communication problems and provides good opportunity for easier and effective cooperation among the co-workers.
ConsIn the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible. In order to start video conference, it takes long time to understand the issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 2, 2018
Oscar F.
CEO
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 22, 2016

“Your open source enterprise social network”

ProsOpen Source software and a good knowledge management system are mandatory nowadays. eXo is a social collaboration platform packed with a lot of features for organizations wanting to add a social dimension to their existing information system or build a social intranet.
ConseXo Platform creates real business value as it enables faster communication and better decision making across our whole organisation but it's difficult to engage employees without help.
Recommendations to other buyersMy recommendation to others is to read all documentation and don't be intimidated by the strength of this program.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 22, 2016
Heitor B.
Cabo BM
Government Administration, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2017

“Very intuitive social collaboration platform, our team familiarized with the different tools really ”

ProsGood tool to focus everything in one place. It has a good interface making it easy for users to use.
ConsThe open tool is limited. There is enough commercial exploitation. For easy implementation only by acquiring a plan.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 26, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2017

“eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect.”

ProseXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect with your colleagues, you can organize and customize your own dashboard, choose existing gadget and add external one: essential when you need an overwall view of your work and colleagues activity!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 17, 2017
Divyang P.
Java Developer
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
January 21, 2015

“eXo Platform - Suites for Social Collaboration,Crowd and intranet based application”

OveralleXo platform provides features that match requirement of social collaboration,intranet and cloud base application.I am working on eXo platform (1+ year) it is easy for portal customization functionality. It is easy for admin to define users with roles,permission and group management.
ProseXo platform provides features like calender for defining tasks,events and meetings with reminder functionality, chat application with video confrencing, Blog engine for writing blogs and sharing information, WebDAV support for sharing of documents.
ConsIn Older version of eXo platform some time it distorts UI and UX but after releasing new eXo platform 4.1 version they are fixed and lots of new functionality added.

Vendor Response

By eXo on January 28, 2015
Glad we could fix your issues with the new version. Thanks!
Source: GetApp
January 21, 2015
Jean F.
Director of Operations
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 25, 2016

“Replacing many with a single solution”

ProsThe software allows me to replace many solutions with a single integrated nice platform. I like the openness of the vendor is one of the biggest positive point for the choice I've made.
ConsSo far the product has been perfect for my needs, and we're able to replace not only the social network platform, but file archival and search mechanisms.
Recommendations to other buyersPlan big, as the software is not only a social network platform, you'll be able to replace document managers software with it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 25, 2016
Bhoomin P.
Self-Employed
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2014

“eXo Platform”

OverallI have been exploring features of eXo Platform while trying to develop an Agriculture Based Business Portal. eXo is a great Open Source Collaborative-Social-Enterprise-Content & Knowledge-Management-Platform that offers complete Portal Life-Cycle Management facilities like: 1. Intranet & Extranet 2. BPM & Workflow Management 3. Folksonomy/Taxonomy Support 4. Cloud Ready 5. Mobile 6. IDE, Template Editing & Output 7. Easy Content Migration 8. REST services 9. Multi-Language Support In my experience, eXo does simplify the development, customization and maintenance of Business Portals. Bhoomin Pandya

Vendor Response

By eXo on December 17, 2014
Hi Bhoomin, Thank you for your review and good luck with your agriculture portal project. Let us know when it's live and we will happily get the word out ;) Cheers, The eXo Team
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2014
Habib K.
Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018

“Good experience”

ProsFairly quick roll out, takes only a few days to work out the interface and be able to do what one would want to do. Reliable and fairly quick support on tribe.
Consit is just a tool, you make of it what you want. could backfire if the team using it is not serious. I've seen similar software turn into memes-gifs platform at work for employees.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 26, 2018
Lan N.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2015

“An interesting and useful platform”

OverallIn my point of view, eXo is a great solution for both social and portal service demand based on its various features. I must say that it just likes a combination of everything from intranet, social network to blog, wiki,... everything in one. Therefore, with eXo, maybe I dont have to think of any other website since it has covered all what I want and all what I need. However, yes, everything has two sides, perhaps due to such a rich diversity, its processing speed gets troubles and makes people feel uncomfortable when using. I thought that, eXo now should focus more on refactoring its platform so that it can serve customers better. Having many functions is not yet good, but a quick response at least never causes people get mad.
Source: Capterra
February 7, 2015
Ravi G.
Project Manager
Biotechnology, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 5, 2018

“A great application to build a social network in your workplace.”

ProsUsing this software, the user could easily track all the motion in the company. The Android and iPhone versions are very reliable. There are many features in this application including microblogging. There is also a provision to invite others into this space by providing only limited access. Even the support team is very interactive. They try to answer all the queries of the users.
ConsThe server takes too long to respond. Since there are a lot of features included in this application, it may be difficult for the beginners to deal. There is no tutorial to guide the users through the application. Due to this, many features remain undiscovered by the users.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 5, 2018
Thomas C.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017

“Very intuitive Platform”

ProseXo Platform solve the information silly issue and make information easily accessible so an organisation can better control communications and information deliveries.
Cons- open source is not very pushed forward and - more flexible pricing options through editions - Project management features are not very advanced
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017
Loreto M.
Inventory Analyst
Retail, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 13, 2018

“Nice software!”

ProsExo Platform helps us to properly collaborate project or task.With this, the team can have different views to contribute in making project successful.
ConsNone at this time, Exo Platform has many functionalities to use.. its really helpful to us!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 13, 2018
Avatar Image
Alex R.
IT
Military, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018

“Great way to interconnect. Very well put together.”

OverallI am able to save time at work
ProsLove the UI. Big number of add-ons and features. Very reliable. It was very easy to use once I got the hang of it. A little intimidating at first but doesn't take long to get used to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2018
Hideki I.
Senior Specialist, Business Development
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 23, 2016

“Comprehensive tool!”

ProsComprehensive functionality for the enterprise social tool.
ConseXo is a company with creativity and very friendly.
Recommendations to other buyersIt is very important to build an evaluation team with active members.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 23, 2016
Somya J.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
November 30, 2015

“very good product !”

OveralleXo allows you to create your own social intranet with the essential collaboration features: chat, forum, activity stream, share documents, wiki, calendar...the perfect software if you're looking for a user-friendly all-in-1 solution for your company.
ProseXo allows you to create your own social intranet with the essential collaboration features: chat, forum, activity stream, share documents, wiki, calendar...the perfect software if you're looking for a user-friendly all-in-1 solution for your company.
Consi don't see anything to dislike about it.
Source: GetApp
November 30, 2015
Hasan T.
Program Development, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
June 25, 2015

“Great Social Network Platform”

OverallIt's a great platform for collaboration and overall well developed application. It's very friendly to use and also easy to develop your own portlets into it. It surely helped our organization to be more productive and effective
Source: GetApp
June 25, 2015
Khalil A.
DB Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Great product”

ProsTons of features and solid software, web based and very convenient. The product is not hard to setup and to use.
ConsNot open source for some reason even though it appears to be, but it's not free so it's not open source...
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Co Founder
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
January 29, 2015

“Great Software but hard to start”

OverallI tried eXo and it amazed me for all the features and things you can do to better organize you company. In spite of that, I found it very hard to start using it. The amount of things on the page that demand the attention made me open a few tabs just to catch up with everything. Also, I found it hard to understand and how to actually get started.
ProsIncredible number of add-ons and features. Very good reliability.
ConsNot fully translated, making some pages bilingual. Hard to get started as it delivers a great deal of its features right away.
Source: GetApp
January 29, 2015
Jean F.
CTO
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
January 2, 2015

“Much more than a social platform”

OverallWe started using eXo as a substitute for facebook's and Google's Social media platforms. What we ended up with is a much more feature rich way of doing business, interact and get things done. eXo proved to be the way of making people using social media tools to work better. Now we have the best of both worlds!
ProsEasy to use interface with natural learning. All in one platform, including file sharing.
ConsNo cons, the installation requires a bit of understanding of linux (our preferred system), but otherwise just plain easy.

Vendor Response

By eXo on January 28, 2015
No cons, yay! Thank you for the great review
Source: GetApp
January 2, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
November 17, 2015

“Great platform”

OverallWe are setting up exo as an intranet for one company, so far it is really great. Is is user friendly but has a lot of features and it is quite easy to do some modifications. to fit your needs. We were looking at some other products such, but in the end, exo platform already comes out of the box with most of the features our client demands. Great work on Documents and Calendar!
ProsVery poweful, fast, extensible platform.
ConsCan be quite tricky to do modifications if you never messed around with Java servers.
Source: GetApp
November 17, 2015
André L.
Founder
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2015

“Great Software but hard to start”

OverallI tried eXo and it amazed me for all the features and things you can do to better organize you company. In spite of that, I found it very hard to start using it. The amount of things on the page that demand the attention made me open a few tabs just to catch up with everything. Also, I found it hard to understand and how to actually get started. Pros: Incredible number of add-ons and features. Very good reliability. Cons: Not fully translated, making some pages bilingual. Hard to get started as it delivers a great deal of its features right away.
Source: Capterra
February 2, 2015
Yogesh P.
Software Developer
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
June 25, 2015

“eXo is a private social intranet that makes it easy to connect”

OveralleXo is a private social intranet that makes it easy to connect and collaborate with your coworkers. Going beyond simple status updates, eXo provides tools that let you capture, organize and act on your team's internal knowledge.
ProsMakes it easy to connect and collaborate with your coworkers. Going beyond simple status updates. Provides tools that let you capture, organize and act on your team's internal knowledge.
ConsCould not found any yet.
Source: GetApp
June 25, 2015
Cihan B.
Utilities, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
June 24, 2015

“Good platform”

OverallVery easy to get started with. The cloud version is cheap and enables all the collaboration and social features.
Source: GetApp
June 24, 2015
Russ B.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
January 30, 2015

“Awesome!”

OverallI am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.
ProsEasy to use, easy to install
ConsPlugins/add-ons are limited and can be confusing.
Source: GetApp
January 30, 2015
Stévan L.
Product Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2015

“The Platform for Enterprise Social Collaboration!”

OverallSocial collaboration tools for Enterprise! This is a big deal and eXo Platform is nicely succeeding on the tools they are providing. It has a wiki, a calendar, an instant messages with video conference tool and document management system - all (and a lot more) integrated in one extensible platform. I particularly like the overall experience, with the UI, the UX and the integration between all the tools provided. It is really easy to get started with. The icing on the cake: it's open-source cooked ;)
Source: Capterra
January 28, 2015
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Source: GetApp
January 28, 2015

“Broad features”

OveralleXo offers a great number of features out of the box. The user interface is well designed. It's easy to know what tasks are available under each section. Learning the system and interface is simple process. The "Tribe Pulse" section does an excellent job displaying popular content and other analytic data. This is perfect for checking up on the adoption rate of your intranet.

Vendor Response

By eXo on January 28, 2015
Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Source: GetApp
January 28, 2015
abhishek v.
SME
Computer Software, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
June 24, 2015

Source: GetApp
June 24, 2015
Toni Q.
IT Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2014

“The only one Enterprise Social Network open source!”

OverallWe are looking for an enterprise-ready social network for a long time and finally found eXo :) The Pros: It's open sourced so we extend it to our needs. Customer service is the best. The Cons: You will need J2EE experienced developers to customize the software if default features aren't sufficient.

Vendor Response

By eXo on December 17, 2014
Hi Toni, We're glad you found what you needed with eXo! Thank you for your review. Cheers, The eXo Team
Source: Capterra
November 15, 2014
Avatar Image
Zeus P Y L.
Knowledge Managament Manager
Events Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Super Quick Intranet Deployment”

ProsIt is so intuitive to enable social intranet in an organization. The layout is easy to understand even without proper training which can roll out right away. Also, the administration of user is easy which administrator can be dedicated to users to self-manage the groups.
ConsI like the least is there is lack of eye candies, but it could be easily customization with custom coding and CSS style.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Marco Marcello M.
Director de Innovación
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
September 3, 2015

“Evaluating alternatives”

OveralleXo Platform is really a userfriendly software, you only need a few hours to be familiarized with the different tools. I warmly recommend it for your organization!
ProsVery Intuitive Good Look and feel Very complete integrated communications platform
ConsI´d want to see more interactions, integrations, with things like CRM, HRMS, ...
Source: GetApp
September 3, 2015
Russ B.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2015

“Amazing”

OverallI am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.
Source: Capterra
January 30, 2015
Abderrahmane M.
IT Manager
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 29, 2016

“eXo Platform is a very professional Social Collaboration Software.”

ProseXo Platform has a very good UI design and also a thoughtful user experience UX. I had a lot of fun to use, it greatly facilitates the management and communication within a team, I strongly recommends. Very good reliability.
ConsNothing, eXo has a very good qualities to be your favorite SCS (Social Collaboration Software).
Recommendations to other buyersI recommend eXo for you as a good SCS (Social Collaboration Software), It's a great platform with a lot of features, I recommend it.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
March 29, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Biotechnology, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: GetApp
October 26, 2015

“Easy Layout”

OverallMany social add-on and features, you'll probably find the ones that fit your company needs. It was very easy to use and can be accessed anywhere in the world. Its price point is very competitive and customer service (at least for the free trial) was good.
ProsInexpensive and web based
ConsDoesnt seem to be 21 CFR Part 11 compliant.
Source: GetApp
October 26, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
October 13, 2015

“been using this platform for a month”

OveralleXo Platform creates real business value as it enables faster communication and better decision making across our whole organisation.
Prosgreat integration, loving the open source and overall integration
Consa bit sluggish at times, but expecting a smoother feel when moving away from the free trial
Source: GetApp
October 13, 2015
Ananda S.
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
June 30, 2015

“Exo is an amazing platform”

OverallFeatures wise, eXo Platform is a very complete (and well integrated!) platform, from social collaboration to extensive document management capabilitie
Pros It's very friendly to use and also easy to develop your own portlets into it.
ConsIt would be great if it has some good documentation.
Source: GetApp
June 30, 2015
Divyang P.
Software Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2015

“eXo Platform - Perfect suite for social collaboration and intranet types projects ”

OveralleXo platform provides the features that satisfy requirement of social collaboration and intranet projects. eXo chat application is very good with providing video conferencing. eXo Calender features is also vast for defining events,tasks,meetings with reminder.eXo blog enging is very helpful to share ideas and thoughts to social networking.
Source: Capterra
January 21, 2015
Avatar Image
Fernando M.
Analista de Datacenter
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2017

“great”

OverallCollaboration Exchange of information between teams Information for new collaborators Decentralisation of vital data
ProsGreat solution to collaborate, network, and share documents & knowledge with your team thanks to powerful tools such as wikis, dms, forum,
ConsA little difficult to understand the link between some elements of the pages and some features are not fully functioning.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2017
Fabio P.
Analista de Sistemas/Desenvolvedor Java Jr
51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Source: GetApp
December 15, 2014

“Amazing Social Platform”

OverallVery well integrated social collaboration software. Easy to connect with people and contribute information. Platform is feature rich with wikis, social networking, content management and much more.

Vendor Response

By eXo on December 15, 2014
Thank you for your posting of this review and for trying out eXo. looking forward to connect with you on our community site!
Source: GetApp
December 15, 2014
Aron Berman B.
EBS Associate Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2015

“Exo Platform is very Great and Usefull”

OverallExo platform is a great appliacation. With all of the collaboration features and easy to install and configure. This application is very helpful for collaboration jobs in small until big company. This application is also very helpful for educational institution.
Source: Capterra
January 31, 2015
Devang P.
Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018

“Nice Tool”

ProsA good open source alternative for collaboration, members can use it network and do project management
Consit's costly and heavy to load, I tried the open source version on my local server and due to the tools used in development it loaded slowly. Also doing any customization is a pain
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Gambling & Casinos, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Simple approach for internal social media”

ProsUsers will log on and just immediately know what to do - the look and feel is very similar to other social networks so it's very intuitive
ConsThere's a docker image which is easy to deploy, but if you do decide to go for a standard install, it can be a little tricky for beginners - experience in installing Linux based apps is recommended.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
chandan p.
Information Technology and Services, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
December 13, 2015

Source: GetApp
December 13, 2015