PlanGrid Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About PlanGrid

PlanGrid is construction software made for the field. PlanGrids platform allows plans and markups to be instantly shared with everyone on a construction project, no matter where they are. It lets contractors and architects collaborate from their desktop or mobile devices across all their project plans, specs, photos, RFIs, and punch lists. Learn more about PlanGrid

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 559 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 559 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Robert M.
Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016

“Plan Grid Review”

OverallPlan grid has been useful for our team to be one step ahead of the game in document control. I am currently working on a larger project with multiple files, especially ASIs. As a result, the overlay capabilities makes it easier to keep up with drawings that have been superseded and have the most current jobs in the field. I like the ability to tag drawings by discipline and in my case phases. The ability to hyperlink drawings to compile an as-built set or update current drawings with referenced RFIs, ASIs or SK drawings is extremely useful. I wish that plan grid would allow users that admins share files (i.e. subcontractors) have the ability not to pay. I think the GC should be responsible for payment , management, and distribution of files. Plan grid should sell perhaps licenses to the GC company and not charge individual subs a monthly fee just to review drawings. As a result, after the trial period ended none of the subs for my job signed up to use Plan Grid. Consequently, I've been using Bluebeam Revu Studio which has similar capabilities and users download a free software through Bluebeam that allows access to all the project folder and files. What Plan Grid has over Bluebeam currently is the OCR to recognize sheet names through the plan index and this is a standard feature; however, in order for Bluebeam to mimic Plan Grids basic principle, it seems like an added cost. Overall I like the software for in-house management but as far as the sharing it with the subs and getting them to use it for a project entirety it has been a struggle. Therefore I think they should either consider lowering the rates for additional users.
ProsIntuitive and ergonomic functionality. It keeps files up to date and automatically supersedes old files.
ConsThe cost to share with other team members. If I have a project that has multiple subs that have a Project Manager, Asst Project Manager, Field Superintendent and Foreman who need to have the most updated drawings and each has to pay the fee then it gets pricey on their end. So I think Plan Grid should sell package/licenses s to subcontractor teams so they can distribute to their team in-house which you screen through their email address.
Recommendations to other buyersFor viewing on PC , if there is an older version have a big red stamp that says SUPERSEDED or OLD VERSION flash across the screen so the user knows he is in the older version. I think there is a caution like a symbol on the tablet version, but it is not as obvious on the PC platform.
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2016
Randy G.
Real Estate, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: GetApp
January 8, 2016

“PlanGrid Review”

OverallMy company has been using PlanGrid for 3+ years. Our senior managers and field supervisors all use the program on company provided iPads. Since incorporating the use of PlanGrid into our daily operations, we no longer use paper hard copies of plans (we only provide those now for plan check, etc.) so blueprinting costs have reduced to near $0- and more than covers the cost of the PlanGrid subscription. As the tech application guru for our company, I'm constantly looking at and am reviewing new or improving programs that are coming to or are already in the market. There are other companies now with similar applications, but I don't find any of them to be near as good as PlanGrid. The scaled dimension and quantities takeoff features that PlanGrid has especially cannot be beat by any of their competitors; these are features that most others don't have, but has proven to be very valuable in our daily use. The great thing about PlanGrid that I learned as a fairly early user is that the founders weren't simply really good software programmers/engineers, but that they also had a really in depth knowledge of the construction industry. In my estimation PlanGrid really nailed it as to what the construction industry needs for portable electronic plans, and has demonstrated its commitment to continuously improve the product.
ProsRendering of plans is fast Ability to zoom in on plans and details (easier to see than on paper copy) Scaled dimension and take off feature Attach job photos to pinpoint locations on plans Punch list Ability to attach job documents (doesn't count towards plan sheets limit...nice!) Very rarely have there been problems with the account or website functions; we've only needed instruction support Customer support is very quick and effective!
ConsLabeling plan sheets at initial load is a bit cumbersome as you have to fully open the sheet to see the designers description (a magnifier bubble on the thumbnail view would be really helpful) Hard to keep up with the new features being added (just kidding...it's a nice problem to have!) No customer support after hours (that's the time of day senior managers need help) Hard to get subcontractors to use it; maybe a slimmed down version with less features and less cost that can work on the cheaper Android tablets would be a solution, or a discount if hooking up with developer's or GC's job only
Source: GetApp
January 8, 2016
Avatar Image
Theron A.
Mechanical Superintendent
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019

“Plan Grid for the Field”

OverallBeen using it for a while and really like it. We use HCSS Heavy Job, and also HCSS Safety, and the showed us their HCSS Plans, and we told them from the start that we use Plan Grid, and to try and sell us on their Plans APP. They could not sell us on the APP. They at the time only had one thing they can do better and that was area volume measurements, on radius. It gave you more links you can click on to accurately move the radius around. That was about it, other than that it did all the basics of Plan Grid, but i think Plan grid still has other option for Managers like creating RFI's and stuff, but we don't really use those functions.
ProsI like the fact that you can scale the drawings in the field after the job is downloaded, even if you are off line. you can then use it to do your own on the fly take offs, to see if there is a bust anywhere in the estimate. I also like the collaboration that you can do. If you find an issue on the job, you can take a picture of the issue and attach it to the related plan sheet, and describe what is wrong and send, then others can see the issue, and work on getting it corrected. Also i like that you can create links on plan sheets, going from one to the other. You can see on one sheet it calls for a certain detail and you can tie that sheet to a different sheet with the detail. I also make a link on the detail sheet that will take you back to the original sheet for easy access back. Just the way i do it on my own sheets.
ConsI think the ruler should be a little more detailed, basically so you can zoom in a little more and have finer adjustments. Also need to be able to scale down the ruler size as when you are measuring small measurements like under 1' you cant really see the measurement after you make it, and it is hard to get it lined up with what you are trying to measure. Also if you create link from one sheet to another, it would be nice to have the option to automatically have the sheet link you back to the original, so you can go back and forth between the plan set and detail section. Just my thoughts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Time Saving & Easy to Use”

OverallOverall, our experience with PlanGrid has been positive and we have more users on the tool than we originally anticipated because of the value it brings. The support and partnership both from our account reps and customer service is great - getting answers to our questions quickly. We also appreciate that they are open to product recommendations and ask us to participate in testing of the new functionality.
ProsPlanGrid is simple and easy to use. Even our non-tech savvy people have easily transitioned to using the tool. The ability to pull up drawings and mark them up in the field saves our team time, and being able to submit field reports has increased report submission and speed (everything from dailies, safety reports, to cut sheets and more). The field report functionality was a game changer for us and adoption of the tool. Our field team likes that they can do all of these things in one place without the hassle of using multiple platforms or tools. On average, our team is saving two hours a week in time, some as many as 10-15 hours per week.
ConsAs a subcontractor, there is some functionality that we'd like to see changed or added to make the tool even more helpful that doesn't quite work for us right now. The RFI functionality doesn't let us use our own templates, but is in the process of being overhauled, which may help. Our field team would love to be able to make edits to documents and re-save them as documents rather than downloading, saving, and re-uploading them. Some of our team would also like better markup tools that match Bluebeam's functionality. PlanGrid isn't necessarily a project management tool, and they've shared it won't be. At some point we may look into a PM software integration to make managing projects more streamlined. For now, we're not able to complete all activities in the tool and have work arounds from the PM side.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Morgan F.
Operations Coordinator
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 21, 2015

“PlanGrid is helping us change the way we do business - every day!”

ProsThe application is easy to use so our people want to use it! It helps us be faster and more efficient. We constantly have the information we need at our fingertips. We enjoy being able to quickly and easily scroll through our project information and be able to link information together so you don't miss important information. We enjoy working with the people over at PlanGrid because they make it feel like they are in whatever situation you are having, whether it is good or bad. They want you to succeed, they want to help you fix any issues that arise - they're part of our team and we appreciate their excellent customer and technical support.
ConsPlanGrid works really hard to develop new features and push them out to their users. We know that they make a dedicated effort and are constantly exploring new options and ideas. With that being said, we'd like to see them come out even faster and more frequently.
Recommendations to other buyersDetermine where your risk is at, and what your return on investment could be and make sure that this application mitigates your risk and the return is high. If it does those things, PlanGrid is for you. I work for a mechanical contractor. Our risk is in installing the wrong system and/or installing the right system incorrectly. All of our risk is in the actual workers on site. We have to make the commitment to train our people and make them as knowledgeable about the systems they are installing and installation practices as we can and then we have to equip them with all of the information that we can, to make sure they are installing the right systems and materials. The most important thing that we can do to make sure that happens, is to make sure our field workers have the most accurate and up to date drawings and information. That is where PlanGrid comes in! The "not current" feature is fantastic and the ability to have all of their specifications, drawings and RFIs in one handy, easy to carry place is priceless. PlanGrid is the best investment we've made for our field workers and field leadership.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 21, 2015
Charlie T.
Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018

“PlanGrid Review- ”

OverallOverall the software is an amazing tool for Construction projects. The ability to manage one project in one space is unmatched.
ProsThe best things about the software are: 1) The ability to have unlimited sheets 2) The easy upload of new sheets and the accessibility of Revs 1/ 2/ 3, etc. with a simple swipe 3) Support team always fast and helpful 4) The ability to create issues and tag multiple linked accounts to the same issue 5) The ability to create reports from RFIs, Issues, logo upload etc. to PDF, Excel documents and how immersive the reports are, from the organization of the issues and photos (very professional) 6) The ability to upload documents and attach them where needed for example RFI's 7) All the editing tools for Mark-ups within sheets. 8) How easy to publish and unpublish content as Admin
ConsThe least favorite things about the software are: 1) All though the cross platform from Web/Mac/ Windows/ Mobile options are great, the experience of cross platforms are not consistent throughout. Some features are available on some platforms and not in others 2) Constant out of sync updating on Mobile/ Desktop versions 3) Different software bugs across platforms (but its understandable)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 13, 2018
Regie B.
Project Director
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“A Great Tool that saves me tremendous time......”

OverallWhen we start a construction project now we invite the entire team. Designers, Owners, subcontractors, and vendors to our project folder. Now we can rest easy knowing that everyone is using the most current documents as the project is constructed. Our superintendents keep their daily reports on PlanGrid. Our safety inspections and meetings are kept on PlanGrid. Submittals, RFIs, project photos, drawings, and finally our Punchlist. It save a ton of time and money having this as a single source to keep all this project information in one place.
ProsPlanGrid allows me to keep all my construction contract documents all in one place. In the past various versions of drawings, specs, submittals, RFI's, etc would be stored in various places and you could never be sure if you were in fact looking at the latest versions. PlanGrid takes that problem away and when collaborating with your team you can be sure that everyone is operating from the same sheet of music.
ConsThere are a few minor quirks that I have asked PlanGrid's support folks to look into correcting. Over the past few years I have shared many items with them that I would like to see changed or updated. They have most definitely listened and the product continuously gets better. Thanks PlanGrid!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Avatar Image
Christopher R.
Project Engineer
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2018

“PlanGrid 2018”

OverallOverall it is a great software. The sales team and training team are great and professional. The software engineers (Coders) don't follow up and it takes them forever to correct any issues with the software. It almost seems like my voice is not being heard as many of my suggestions are to fix glitches in their software.
ProsPlanGrid is a great software to keep your Plans and Documents organized. Since implementing PlanGrid, we have had more clarity as to which set of plans are current, where we are with Submittals and RFI's, as well as many other items. It is an amazing tool for field use and our superintendents have been able to learn quickly.
ConsMany of the features are new, like RFI's, Daily Reports, Photos, and Submittals. Because they are so new, there are a number of glitches. When adding Pictures through the Photos tab or even in Daily Reports, they automatically re-orient themselves to end up sideways or upside down. Unfortunately once they are in, you cannot re-orient them properly. Submittals could use a little work on organization. We have had some complications on syncing when using tablets in the field, causing a loss of Daily Reports. There seems to be a lack of consistency between the iOS, Android App, Windows App, and Web Based Version that should be addressed. Workspaces has a lot of glitches, like you cannot delete or edit a file in documents, unless you are in the Windows App, then you can delete but not edit.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 8, 2018
Gary T.
Project Manager
Civil Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019

“Best site software I've used in 30 years”

OverallGreat product which just keeps getting better I would recommend the product and support to anyone. It will improve workflow and efficiency on any multi-disciplinary project. As a freelance consultant the first thing I recommend on any new project is PlanGrid.
ProsIt covers pretty much all aspects of what you want to use reports, data and drawings on site. It's also been extremely useful in the design process as well as helping close out on snagging issues.
ConsIt's not a document management system in it's trueset form though the document handling is very useful especially through the RFI process. I think the access approval system could still do with a tweak but we have found a workaround for AFC production drawings. Also if you are looking for mass rollout then the price can be on the high side. I honestly think a reduction in price would see a massive uptake in licences. I'd love every supervisor on my site to have a licence but the cost is just too much. We've purchased ten licences where I'd really would have purchased 40-50.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 8, 2019
Justin S.
Senior Superitendent
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019

“Plangrid is an exceptional field management asset”

OverallThe fact that I do not have to carry around physical plans is fantastic. The ease of project task documentation is fast and simple. Customer service is the best that I have received, from any company in any industry.
ProsThe interface of the software is exceptional. Viewing everything from plans to specifications is simple and fast. The ability to integrate the plans with the submittals is very useful as flipping through multiple documents, files or folders is removed. Plan markups are simple, photo documentation of everything from deficiencies to just having documentation that things were performed correctly is incredibly useful and beneficial. Being able to see where and when a photo was taken is fantastic.
ConsThere really aren't any items that I can think of that I dislike. Perhaps the fact that administrators cannot modify reports. It would be nice to be able to continue reports that another team member has started, for instance during overnight concrete pours would be useful. It would also be beneficial as sometimes one team member may have forgotten something and editing prior to saving would be nice.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019
Praveen R.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 19, 2018

“It is an effective utility that helps in keeping and managing the backups and blueprints of construction data.”

ProsIt provides real time file updates and reduces the paperwork required. It also is a collaborative platform on which multiple companies can work on and share data and information regarding construction works. This also lets to access the information such as drawing and photos from any mobile device, anywhere. The features can be used offline as well. This tool can be depended on regardless of the size of the project, which makes it highly versatile. The application also makes sure that no data is lost during a turnover, we have all revised drawings made on a project. The application maintains security measures and procedures at every level, as the work progresses. It has helped us to compare various versions of the same project.
ConsThis software has no integration with any database software, so there is not option to control who can view what, which is a data security risk issue. The windows version of the application does not have as many features as compared to the version available on iPads. Cost to share data with team members is high.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
August 19, 2018
Simon G.
Technical coordinator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“Plangrid IS THE TOOL to coordinate jobsite and office”

OverallI don't even have paper copies of my project now ! All digital and functionnal for all parties within the company, from the jobsite to the office. All working with the same documents sharing information and feedback from both end. Jobsite to the office AND office to the jobsite. Way much easier to works now than it was 10 years ago ! ... at least for the drawings and communication aspect !
ProsThe unbelivable support provided by Plangrid. Easy to access and convenient and knowledgeable. The possibility of keeping the whole copy of project at one specific place allowing to review difference between multiple version easy and quick.
ConsWe would like to use more Plangrid regarding the custom made graph and template. We find it hard sometime to customized it. We normally end doing our own on the side. We would like to be able to use Plangrid at it fullpotential by having custom template (document to fill) easier to complete
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Brian N.
Project Engineer
Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2016

“My most used construction app.”

OverallFor those familiar with standard user interfaces PlanGrid is very easy to pick up. It was recommended to me by the lead architect on our project and I'm very happy she did so. It was made immediately useful by allowing me to quickly upload my drawing set and begin making punch lists for the construction project I was overseeing.
ProsOne of my biggest time sinks is formatting reports so once I found out that this app formats them for you I was immediately hooked. The default format is very logical and simple to read and for that I am eternally grateful. No more messing with strange Word formatting procedure for this guy. The collection of photos and being able to mark them up instantly is wonderful. It is great for punch lists as well as cataloging existing conditions. Simply being able to note where the photo is taken is excellent. The myriad of additional mark up tools is fairly standard but very necessary and also well done. Without them this tool would not feel complete or flexible.
ConsInitially it was difficult for me to find out how to download the remainder of my photos. They are kept in a folder on your device that I haven't found a quick way to get out without another app like Astro File Manager (another great app for those of you looking for better folder access). If there was an option to include a list of photos and there locations on the reports that would be very helpful for existing conditions. It's just slightly quicker that making punch list items for each photo taken. I haven't used the app for a few months since I've been on other projects so I apologize if this has been added.
Recommendations to other buyersDo a quick "example" project for yourself before trying this with anything associated with your work. The company preloads a few example plans to work with so you can try out all of the features before using. Every program has a certain flow to it so make sure you take the time to give yourself some free play with PlanGrid before venturing out on your own with your projects.
Source: Capterra
July 10, 2016
Tim B.
Project Engineer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“Must have tool for Construction”

ProsI have used PlanGrid for the last five years. I started out as just a collaborator in the field, and now I am setting up and assisting with managing the projects that our company has on PlanGrid. PlanGrid continues to flow and keep up to date with the latest trends in the construction industry. Being able to house all construction documents needed to build a building is key and makes for much a much smoother run project. Overall, PlanGrid is a must for construction projects.
ConsI have noticed that the older workers take longer to get used to the software and some will not use it because they really like being able to fold open the prints and look at them that way. I have been privileged to assist some of them with understanding how PlanGrid works and after some time they catch on.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Nate H.
Sr. Project Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“PlanGrid a True Companion of the Modern Builder”

OverallPlanGrid has transformed the organization of construction documents into an overall enjoyable experience. I cannot express how much I appreciate the ease of use and the ability to ensure that current documents are being utilized in the field to build from. In addition to the many available feature, the capacity to store multiple projects on my account is priceless. I cannot count how many times I have been able to respond to the requests of past clients in minutes no matter where I am. Finally the overlay feature, which I refer to as the "Equalizer" takes away the guessing game when it comes to seeing what really changed as drawing revisions are issued.
ProsFunctionality and ease of use. Having drawings at our fingertips and being able to quickly navigate a plan set via hyperlinks. Ability to annotate, post RFI's and submittal information.
ConsHonestly, there is nothing that I don't like about this sofware.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Michael K.
Assistant Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“Plangrid product review”

OverallI love the product overall. I recommend it to everyone who is in construction management. They are continually updating the product to give it more abilities to address different things. It really saves a bunch of time for the teams using it.
ProsPlangrid is great for keeping track of changes & RFIs on a project, and making sure the field gets them in real time. I can upload new/revised drawings and information and the field can review and adjust work immediately, saving rework, making them more efficient, and ultimately saving time and money. It also makes quickly searching through the drawings extremely quick and simple.
ConsOn the desktop app, you cannot copy and past markups to a drawing. Additionally, we tried using the RFIs feature for my current project, but I could not send an RFI directly to a client that is not already in plangrid. It takes several extra steps to get the RFIs to the client. I went back to the old way, using excel and our RFI template.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019
Tony O.
Sr. Project Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019

“Terrific platform for access to my construction drawings”

OverallThis is an incredibly useful app. The portability of every issue of drawings for the projects that I am working on makes this app so handy for use on my tablet. I have used the overlay feature to figure out a change order many times while commuting on the train. The mark up features and ability to add photos as part of my field notes on a project are invaluable. The same notes and photos added by others make punch lists much easier to complete. I can't say enough about the ability to save specs and approvals and other documents into Plangrid and that makes them just as portable as the drawings.
ProsLoads fast. Easy to share comments and collaborate. Many helpful commenting tools. Loading drawings is usually quick and easy.
ConsAndroid updates come out later than Apple updates. I am an android user and every now and then I cannot access a new feature that Apple users can.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019
Julianne B.
Building Programs Project Manager
Architecture & Planning, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“Amazingly User Friendly”

OverallMy current project was the first where the Contractor and Architect on board and the punchlist has never been more efficient. The contractor did his thorough punch and then the architect did his and it saved me so much time having their items there on the plan easily visible. I also think it will save my contractor time not having to discern repeated items.
ProsI love how user friendly PlanGrid is, from downloading sheets and having the software read the page names and numbers and then linking all call outs to their reference to the ability to document information in the field. PlanGrid is always improving and developing. There are so many functions that I haven't even discovered them all yet.
ConsI wish you could order the sheets in a way that was other than alphabetical, that the user could choose the order. Being able to compare two sheets is so useful but it would be even better if you could compare more. I also wish there was a better way to issue the punchlist to subcontractors who do not use Plangrid. The excel sheet is missing the specific location of the issue and the full print out has ended up being hundred of pages.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
David L.
Technical and Commissioning Project Director
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“We have incorporated PlanGrid as a rescource”

OverallBusiness problems - common location of documents for everyone and most of the time you can be assured that you are looking at the most current version. Very good experience, almost everyone can use PlanGrid on their iPAD and computer and get the information needed in a quick manner without having to type in a security number for every drawing that you need to review.
ProsReliable - quick - user friendly. My group at Clayco is involved in construction work and commissioning. PlanGrid was touted by one of our staff who worked for another firm before coming to us. He even had his own account when he first joined us because he like PlanGrid that much. I like PlanGrid for how I started this paragraph. It is easy to navigate whether sitting in the office or out in a building under construction. Also like it because many of our subcontractors also have PlanGrid.
ConsThat we did not have it earlier. Sometimes when we receive a notice that new drawings have been posted in PlanGrid, they are not always clear as to what drawings were updated - that may be our own problem and not PlanGrid.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“Feedback”

ProsWhat I like most about this software is that once you have it all set up, and you download their program, it is very easy to use on their desktop application. It makes shifting through sheets very easy, and you are allowed to make markups as necessary, with the option to delete them (if you were just using them to clarify something in meetings). I also love that you are allowed to import personnel from previous projects which is convenient when many of the same people will be added.
ConsTheir web version could use a bit of work as I dreaded using plangrid on the web. Whenever you selected the wrong page you would have to go back through all the sheets to find the correct one. Yes, you can search them up as well, but when flipping through pages it was hard if you needed to look for a specific page and had to scroll through the sheets (instead of when hitting the back button it takes you to the area you were before, similar to what happens on the application program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Alex S.
CEO
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 2, 2019

“Don't waste your time”

Proscheap to get into need to fill the space for minimum number of characters
Conslack of functionality OCR is not upto par can't search text within reports
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 2, 2019
Morgan F.
Process Improvement Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019

“PlanGrid is the obvious choice!”

OverallLike most construction firms, TD was struggling with getting current information and documents out to our field. Once we started using PlanGrid, that's not something we even think a lot about anymore because we know it's happening and our field leaders do too. We have changed the way we use PlanGrid as it has grown and we've seen process improvement internally and our efficiency with key documentation tasks has increased significantly.
ProsThe ease of use. Deployment in the field is much easier because PlanGrid is just so easy to use.
ConsThere's not any thing I like least about PlanGrid, it really is fantastic. The folks at PlanGrid work hard to constantly improve their product and stay on top of the needs of their customer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019
Avatar Image
Anthony M.
Marketing Development
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“Pricey but the best user experience for field”

OverallWe use PlanGrid exclusively for our major projects and it integrates with our project management software (eSub) to be able to pull in and sync RFI's and other information across the project lifecycle.
ProsThe ease in which to keep documents up to date in the field. Progress photos documented throughout the course of construction has saved us money. Also posting sketches/linking drawings to quickly thumb through the plans is super helpful.
ConsThe price is prohibitive to have many users on a small project. They got rid of their "free" plan for accounts with less than 50 sheets. Their cost structure is more expensive than other similar solutions on the market like Bluebeam.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Kristen S.
Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2018

“Amazing Software - Great for In the Field Use!”

OverallIt is rather expensive if you have a lot of users... still worth it but could be a little more budget friendly. But overall this is an easy way to manage plans and distribute plans and changes!
ProsThis software is great for being able to take drawings into the field and add markups as I walk the site! This makes for great notes and helps communication between the field and office or between GC and client / AE. It makes it easy to track and control revision changes throughout bid process and actual construction.
ConsSome of the set up is rather difficult and time consuming... but worth it in the long run. There is also no way to control permissions of users, which would be a great feature!
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 18, 2018
Avatar Image
Neal A.
Vice President
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Great service that allows us to accurately and quickly review and manage plans and documents.”

OverallEasy plan management and distribution.
ProsPlangrid allows us to manage and distribute plans and documents to the project management team and to the field quickly and accurately. Changes can be distributed immediately once received and processed. Questions and issues found in the field can quickly be shared and documented to the project management team with pictures and notes on the plans. Plangrid continues to update and release features on a consistent basis.
ConsThis is geared toward the general contractor but has been of great use to us as a subcontractor. Field reports could be easier to use and easier to import a new form into.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Allison M.
Project Manager
Design, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 14, 2016

“Good, Though Limited Product”

ProsPlanGrid is simple to use, and makes drawing management a breeze. Subcontractors can no longer complain they don't have the most up to date drawings - they're in their pocket at all times.
ConsPlanGrid's simplicity is both its greatest strength, and its greatest weakness. The ubiquity of "There's an app for that" has turned into many tight and incredibly useful apps that (only) do one thing or another really well. PlanGrid is one of these - the drawing management capabilities are fantastic, but the RFIs tool is not. It is also somewhat a barrier to entry that there is an ever-growing cost associated with PlanGrid. Many subcontractors struggle to justify the cost month to month, especially if they have a small scope on a large project with many sheets. It would make more sense for the cost of PlanGrid on each project to be borne by the GC, and Subs to gain access via invitation, without incurring exponential costs in the process.
Recommendations to other buyersAs a drawings management tool, PlanGrid is wonderful. It is, however, being copied by other companies who provide products with much more utility by having a wider range of nimble tools for a complete Project Management system. Make certain that a solid drawings management tool is all you require when looking into PlanGrid. If you need something more varied, with wider capabilities, look further.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 14, 2016
Ronald P.
Superintendent
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 25, 2015

“One of the best on site tools you'll ever have!”

ProsI really appreciate being able to carry ALL of my drawings, ASIs, submittals and RFIs on an IPad! This saves a lot of legwork when getting stopped by multiple subs on a jobsite because I have all of the information with me. I'm not a real tech person so when the office told me I was getting an iPad with Plan Grid, I was not interested. After a couple of days in the field, it is one of the most valuable tools I've ever had. To be able to mark up drawings, add site photos and transmit them in a PDF to the Engineers and Architects as an RFI is amazingly fast and easy and cuts down their response time! I highly recommend Plan Grid to every Superintendent out there who wants to increase their productivity and save a lot of time. Plan Grid is always available to assist with questions to help you get the most out of this software.
ConsWhen I use the search icon to go directly to a specific page, I cannot scroll to the previous or next page from that point. It would be helpful to be able to scroll if you are off by a page or the details are on the next page.
Recommendations to other buyersSpend time exploring and "playing" with it and practicing all the capabilities. It sure beats trying to carry around a couple hundred pounds of documents or being tied to your site office.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 25, 2015
Troy V.
HVAC Detailer | BIM Lead
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 20, 2015

“Very well thought out. Lightweight, agile and efficient!”

ProsPlanGrid is great for users of all expertise levels. The application is simple and lightweight enough that we can teach any user to use it quickly and get them up and running. At the same time, there is enough versatility in features built into the service that we can efficiently control our documents with little effort. It has proven to be extremely useful in maintaining our contract and shop documents on large projects for the field to stay on top of the game. Also, the PlanGrid team is a cut above the rest. Support is superb. I enjoy speaking with them to the point that I plug up their support chat from time to time just saying Hello. :)
ConsOne of the main hurdles in getting PlanGrid set up properly was figuring out how to organize our PDF's so that the field can get to the sheets they want without scrolling for days. However, with a little guidance from the PlanGrid support team, this is easily achievable.
Recommendations to other buyersKeep the end user in the field in mind when evaluating features for these applications. What is their expertise level with electronics and file management?
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 20, 2015
al P.
Superintendent
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2015

“The best construction tool since inventing the Level”

ProsThe software is very intuitive and if you can drag and click your halfway there. I love the ability to take a photo and have it on the detail when you are creating an RFI. I've been a PlanGrid since 2013. At first I was the only one with my company that was using plangrid. After showing PlanGrid to upper management they implemented plangrid company wide. Then I changed employers. My new employer was not using PlanGrid so I did a presentation for our entire staff. Now, the new company uses PlanGrid. If I should change employers again, I will take plangrid and encourage the new company to adapt PlanGrid into their projects.
ConsThe only bad thing about plangrid is that it doesn't do the work for me. The biggest failure is that people do not use Plangrid to it's full potential. On projects where we are all dialed in with plangrid, it's great!
Recommendations to other buyers"Try it you'll like it" Just do one project on it and you will never stop using it. Since it's cloud based I can use it on my lap top, tablet and smart phone. It's so easy to use. I grew up in the trades as a sheetrock, if I can do it anyone can do it
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2015
Genieve P.
Sr. Project Coordinator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“PlanGrid Yay or Nay ”

OverallPlanGrid made it really easy to pull up any drawing details anywhere I was as long as I had my Ipad, laptop and or phone. The field guys mentioned that this software helps them as well as they are always receiving the latest and greatest drawings.
ProsPlanGrid is an excellent software for those who work both in the field and in the office. I like the fact that when you pull up your drawings in PlanGrid and go to a specific detail you can click on that detail number and it takes you exactly to that drawing. It will also show you all markups and you can do markups yourself and save them so whom ever is looking at them will see all the changes made and when they were made. This ensures that everyone is looking at the most recent drawings. You can also add pictures to a certain detail and include any notes affiliated with it.
ConsI do not have any cons to this software only because when our drawings our downloaded to it everything I need to know is already there. I am sure those who implement these in the software may have cons.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Edgar G.
Project Manager
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019

“Plan Grid "Must Get"”

OverallCA purposes, plan grid is a must have.
ProsHow it keeps track of your sheets from the most current to the latest. Mark-up capability. Punch List capability.
ConsI would like to have a file structure in lieu of multiple projects structure. Example, you can provide a folder for your 2018 projects under one folder and from there you can branch off to those projects. It would be great to maneuver from the main screen through files or folders in lieu of having your entire projects all on the main screen. Another example is where you can create a folder or file for each client and maximize and or minimize the projects structures that way.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 27, 2019
Avatar Image
Rick W.
Field Superintendent
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“Plangrid for the foreman”

OverallPlanGrid is now used at all our projects; it does make sure all information is to our foreman in a timely fashion not 2-3 day later or stuck in their inbox.
ProsIt is very user friendly; the ease of using the pages are just like reading the prints only faster. You can navigate to get to a certain detail in half the time if you were thumbing through the drawings. It also great for documentation of issues that are affecting your production. We can set up the task list and quality control the floor and have it to the GC by the end of the day.
ConsIt would be great if you could send more than one field report at a time from the App.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Jordan G.
Field Engineer
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“Easy to use, highly effective product”

OverallPlanGrid allows us to keep all parties involved in a project on the same page and working off of a current set of documents. The construction industry is traditionally slow to adapt technology, but PlanGrid's simplicity has made it easy to implement on our projects and get buy-in from all users.
ProsEase of use. Non-technical users are able to pick up on the basics of this software in a matter of minutes.
ConsPlanGrid is still working on adding some additional functionality to this product. Submittal tracking was recently added, and new functions are being added all the time. Competitors' softwares are more all-encompassing, but PlanGrid is catching up quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Lystra P.
VP
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“PlanGrid Makes it easy”

OverallOur business loves plangrid, we've been using it for just over a year and we've had great success with it. It makes keeping everyone up to date simple.
ProsPlanGrid is a super simple online plan organizer. We use it to share our plans and documents with our field crews. The upload system is fast, highly automated and easy to use. Our field guys love it, even the ones who don't like computers and technology. It keeps everyone up to date and on the most current set of drawings.
ConsIt is a little pricey, especially if you have a lot of users. They charge by the plan page which makes it tricky with big jobs with lots of sheets and revisions. Some of my larger projects grew too big for my foreman's account to handle so I had to go back and delete pages, which isn't very desirable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Bryan L.
Director of Scheduling & Quality Control
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Director of Scheduling & Quality Control”

OverallOverall, we will continue to use PlanGrid and look forward to future improvements.
ProsI like the expanding features. It is easy to use and the modules available make sense. It is easy to adapt to our construction needs.
ConsWe were recently looking for a software that could better handle the punch. The tasks section can handle it but it is a little clunky compared to some other platforms available. I would also like to see the ability to adjust view settings because everything is a white background. To me this makes it harder to view items quickly because text tends to get white washed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Derik L.
Superintendent
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019

“Plangrid-the most efficient way to track several projects at once”

OverallPlangrid makes communicating with several subcontractors and remote partners very fluid. Everyone can input and make adjustments in real time. Inputting drawings and making changes can be done very easily.
ProsI can hold several jobs in the palm of my hand. Traveling from site to site has been much easier. All drawings are stored in my IPAD PRO so I can review and take/send notes easily. All documents, including submittals, shop drawings and RFI's are easily accessible. Plangrid has definitely made my job 100% better. Thanks PG
ConsIt is a bit costly. I don't think that out weighs the advantages of having PG.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2019
Felix G.
Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“A "must have" for your construction project.”

OverallOur experience has been very pleasant. The technical support team is very committed to get your organization going with Plan Grid and they will even come to your workplace and give your employees training. The feedback given to the Plan Grid team has been accepted and actually some features implemented.
ProsThe connectivity between the field and office is a must nowadays. You can stay connected with your crew real time. The organization tools and field reports helps a lot. Going paperless have helped reduce costs in office supplies. Your RFI's and Job Reports will look so much more professional and very detailed.
ConsThere are issues between platforms that are slowly being resolved. Updates come out on Apple devices first which makes it kind of difficult to use if you have multiple platforms in the field like Surface Pros or Windows PC's. We found that our field works best with Apple and Estimators and Managers use laptops or Surface tablets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Michael B.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2016

“Most everyone I show are more then impressed”

OverallLeading up to the start of my projects I have been able to review and mark up plans much faster and easier than in the past. By pushing my notes to the master I am able to ensure all the members of my team are catching critical details. I have close interaction with many GCs, Engineers and Architects and several have seen the ease of which I am able to move from sheet to sheet and between disciplines. BEI Structural Engineers are the EOR for my Gaithersburg, MD project and were very interested in the way I documented their inspections, easily attaching pictures of the issues and instantly passing them on to my field staff. Last I heard they were looking into Plan Grid. I am now on a project in Reston, VA 350,000 sqft of wood framing. the GC is currently using Procore which is much slower to navigate and pass information. There is not much chance of the GC to change from Procore, there are using on all projects more to pass documents to subs than for the plans but those who have seen us use Plan Grid know it is better for access of plans. At the end of 2015 we had a meeting in preparation of our company summit after showing the benefits of Plan Grid to the upper management of Colt they have purchased IPads and added many members of our field staff to Plan Grid. You want to get better?? I need info on adding hyper links to rfis, ssks and asks. I need to save on the number of sheets I push to my field personel, is there a way to add multiple 8x11 pages to one sheet, ie all related 8x11s for one rfi. some of our floor truss layouts will have 100 to 150 related 8x11truss profiles but it is not cost effective to push these to my men with the current setup. My company is talking about going to procore for things like QC, safety issues, floor/roof truss layouts and profiles, RFIs, ASKs and SSKs. are you making any changes in this direction?
Source: Capterra
March 14, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“Better than lugging around Plans!”

OverallHave found the PlanGrid folks to be responsive to our needs.
ProsVery simple interface on iOS devices. Great to have all your plans with you when you travel. New features being added all the time. Even our old school superintendents are able to use it. I love the compare version sheets option.
ConsThe punch list feature has been changed and more difficult for me to navigate around. I really don't like the output of the punch/task list as it forces one item per page. Making improvements in the daily log feature and almost as good as Raken at this point.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Konstantin K.
Director, Digital Assets Services
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2015

“Hands down the best field mobility tool for the construction industry.”

ProsThey are focused on providing a simple and intuitive experience while incorporating the necessary features to make your job easier. In an industry that is so behind on technology, adoption by project team members and subcontractors can be quite difficult, ultimately rendering tools nearly useless from lack of adoption. Plangrid's approach makes it very easy for everyone on the project to adopt the tool and utilize it effectively, making the entire project run smoother.
ConsIt is difficult to say what I like the least, because they have been excellent at making improvements in their product and service model. Every time i like something the least, it goes away pretty quickly.
Recommendations to other buyersI have used Plangrid since they pioneered field mobility with a team of half dozen in a back-alley office. I have tried a dozen other tools intended for the same purpose and Plangrid has always been the best, by a wide margin. So the only thing I can really recommend is that you don't waste your time evaluating other software intended to do the same thing.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 22, 2015
JOSHUA T.
Sr. Project Manager
Construction, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019

“An Inexpensive Plan Tool”

OverallThe plans seem to be changing a lot during the construction process. I need to get the current set of drawings to my guys as soon as the changes hit my computer in the office. I can upload them to the field in minutes. I am no longer spending thousands of dollars in reprinting plan sheets and my guys have them right in front of their eyes as they are building the project right away.
ProsI like this program because it is easy to use and it works to get the plans to my guys in the field in real time.
ConsThere are some repetitious steps that I wish I did not have to do each time I set up a project.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2019
Daniel B.
Estimator/Project Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“If you are considering trying PlanGrid, do it!”

OverallI am SO happy with the overall experience. I am impressed with how PlanGrid continues to improve features and functionality. It just seems to keep getting better and better. The Customer Support is awesome, I love being able to chat with support at almost any given time, and how you can give feedback and request feature changes/improvements and get a response back. Keep up the good work!
ProsEase of use is #1. Many in the construction industry are apprehensive about delving into new technologies, but PlanGrid has made it so easy to use, that literally anyone can use it.
ConsDragging the screen around in the Windows app can be a little jerky, but it's only slightly annoying. The measuring feature could use some improvements to make it easier to use and more accurate.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Avatar Image
Joseph H.
Plans and Permit Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019

“Bring all your plans with you”

OverallThe biggest overall wow-ness factor is the reduction of printing costs associated with projects that are always being updated.
ProsThis software allows all my superintendents to have the same plans with them in the field on their iPad as I see on AUTOCAD in the office. It allows them to markup plans where needed for review, or to ask specific questions. You can overlay a prior version of the plan with a newer version to see the changes easily. The plan sets are compact in size and the update process very easy. The reduction in paper work and printing of plans has been a huge savings.
ConsI wish there was an update "all" button to ease the going thru all the projects and requesting individual updates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 15, 2019
Adam E.
Project Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“Drawings Good, PM Software needs some work”

OverallKeeping accurate drawing logs is vital on any project, and this makes that task very easy. Overall satisfied with the experience thus far with PlanGrid.
ProsThe drawings are very easy to maintain updated document logs, and keep a history of a project as it goes from the design phase through various multiple revisions during construction. The photos functions is also very easy to use, and great for documentation of the progression of the project.
ConsThe project management software can use some work. The submittals and RFI logs can use some updating and added features. I also don't like that the architects and engineers need to pay for plangrid accounts to access the documents and RFIs. Is there a way to change that?
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Leaf B.
AS Engineering Operations Manager
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“PlanGrid Review”

OverallEasy to track punch list items to resolution.
ProsGreat place to keep, access, and update drawings.
ConsWhen completing field reports, you can't go directly to a drawing while inside the report. To access a drawing, you have to completely back out of the field report. It takes 4 steps to get to a specific drawing, and then 5 steps to back to the field report. Should be able to switch directly from open field report to sheets and then back to field report. This is an issue that I've brought up about a year ago, and it still hasn't changed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Lexi B.
Project Engineer
Construction, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018

“PlanGrid is perfect for document control!”

OverallOnce one of my projects was not downloading and I reached out to PlanGrid customer service and they were able to reconcile the issue within a few hours.
ProsThis software is extremely user friendly and easy to understand and learn. I love the search feature and being able to sort issues into lists. It's very convenient to use the app on my phone while I am out in the field. It's great that the sheets auto populate shortcuts and sort into sheets of the same type when updates are uploaded.
ConsIt is difficult to print a pdf from PlanGrid. I wish I could print the sheets or a portion of the sheet with my markups to pdf to be able to give to people in the field. It is also inconvenient that the free trial 50 sheet account option is gone. It can get very expensive to pay for multiple accounts when they will not be used for a long time or for many sheets.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 7, 2018
Krystofer G.
Systems Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 15, 2018

“Extremely simple UI plan viewer”

ProsThe benefit of this product really comes from the simplicity of it's user interface. It makes implementing a digital plan management solution extremely easy for those more tenured field users. Additionally the mobile first solution makes viewing optimized in the field on any device. Simple markups, reviewing callouts, communicating changes, and reviewing updates are made super easy.
ConsThe pricing can be steep for what is offered. This is especially true when trying to bring trades on who need viewer access only to the plans. These users must purchase a full license. Additionally they may not always need access to all the sheets, but because the licensure is setup for licenses to be based on number of sheets assigned, trades end up paying extra for things they do not need. This may make it difficult at times to get buy in from the trades on using the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 15, 2018
Matt H.
Field Manager/ Superintendent
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Reviewing PlanGrid ”

OverallMy overall experience with PlanGrid is very positive. I use it everyday on all my projects. Very, very useful and helpful to my company for documentation purposes. Thanks PlanGrid!!!
ProsWhat I like most about this software is that when I load my projects plans I can identify issues room for room, at the exact wall elevation, and take photos to identify and document every issue.
ConsWhat I like least about this software is that not all General Contractors use PlanGrid. But that's not A PlanGrid issue. There's really nothing I don't like about it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Hosea B.
Chief Engineer
Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Plangrid Review”

OverallPlanGrid is an necessity for our Operations department. It is the first tool used for almost everything in our department. The time it would take to go and get the prints and lay them out is used for more problem solving or repair work. I can also mark up the prints how I wish and add details to the prints on the fly. Plangrid is the number one software in hierarchy then comes the Building Automated Software.
ProsThe ease of use when searching for drawings.
ConsI had an issue with not being allowed to overlay the drawings and then they fixed it so I can do it from my Samsung galaxy note 8.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019

“Plan Grid”

OverallIt is interactive and multiple people can view drawings at the same time. I like the ability to log in from any platform and review whether I am on my iPad or computer.
ProsI like the ability to see drawings previous to updates. The ability to jump to details from the main drawing is a time saver. If set up properly, the submittal data is a great archive for future use.
ConsAt times, navigating through drawings, the system stops loading and I see a white screen. It takes some work to get back to a screen to relaunch the request for the drawing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 5, 2019