Device42 Ratings

Overall
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Service
4.9/5

About Device42

Autodiscover, accurately track, and manage your IT infrastructure. Device42 provides powerful visualizations that give you a complete understanding of your infrastructure and its interdependencies, all from a single customizable dashboard. Device42 includes everything you need to accurately map your infrastructure: a CMDB with comprehensive auto discovery, DCIM, ITAM, IPAM, powerful reporting, a full audit trail, an extensive RESTful API, and more! Download a free 30-day trial today! Learn more about Device42

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 47 of 47 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 47 of 47 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Satesh P.
Systems Engineer
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Great tool to keep everything organized in one place. ”

OverallEach team would maintain multiple spreadsheets for physical inventory, passwords, rack diagrams for each datacenters, warranty information and software licenses. Having one tool to manage all this information simplifies everything and makes it easier to update everything . One pane of glass as they say.
ProsWhen I first started using Device42 I was impressed with how helpful the sales team was in the deployment process. Once deployed I noticed how many tools were included in the base software. In the first few weeks after deployment in our data centers we needed to quickly run an inventory of all of our SSL certificates. Using Device42 we were able to run in an automated scan that gave us a report that we used to update all of our SSL certificates. The more you use the software the more things that can be useful for you company. I can also say that their support is top notch and always willing to help and work with you until your problem is fixed.
ConsThere is not much to complain about when it comes to this software. If I have to nitpick I would say that it would be the update process. I would prefer for the updates could be directly installed. Other than that its a great product to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2018

“One of the best DCIM platforms out there with an API that allows great possibilities”

OverallThis has become a tool to nearly everyone in the organization. It has allowed us to keep track of a very dynamic environment and ultimately improved user workflows. These types of benefits improve our quality of work and allow us to save time in many ways for other aspects of our business.
ProsOne of the best things about Device42 is their amazing customer support; they are very quick to address issues and are always implementing feature improvements. Device42 also offers a one-stop-shop for all things DCIM, a robust IPAM, Password management, and additional add-ons such as power monitoring that has ultimately helped improve our workflow and organizational capabilities. Their auto-discovery tools are quite in-depth at pulling information from our devices.
ConsWith all software, there will be bugs and issues to workout, but Device42's willingness to tackle and improve upon their platform constantly is what keeps us coming back. Auto-discovery can be difficult to implement depending on the complexity of the environment but the addition of remote collectors has definitely helped.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Building Materials, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Device42 review”

OverallThe support is great and helps us when we have both large and small questions. The dependency chart is appreciated by our change manager.
ProsGreat tool with many features, you can start with one area and populate it and then move on to next area until all is linked together. We started with the IPAM area to get away from our Excel spreadsheets. I realy like the feature that lets me populate something and then export that data into Excel. In Excel I can quickly add more rows of same type of information and then import it back into Device42. We have also started to leverage the welldocumented and powerfull API. The ability to add custom fields helps you to make sure you can add business specific information.
ConsThe autodiscovery features are really powerfull and sometimes picks up unneaded information. An improvment here would be to bbe able to exclude som information and connections.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Christopher G.
Senior Systems Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Device42 provides an amazing single pane of glass look into your environment.”

OverallOverall, Device42 has been a fantastic addition to our IT software stack. With the feature set included with the product, we ended up with a very powerful tool that has fulfilled needs way above and beyond our initial project scope, and at a fraction of the price of other competing products. If you are looking for an ITAM system, and you don't at least do a Proof of Concept rollout of Device42, you're making a mistake.
ProsThe feature set for Device42 is fantastic, we were pricing out only ITAM systems when we came across the product line, and for less money than any of the other ITAM systems we looked at, Device42 came with an ITAM, IPAM, a software licensing tool, and a support team that actually answers questions and provides access to live agents rather than some anonymous support team. Their support people are great, even for casually emailed questions to their support address, I get actual responses (not just a canned "We got your email" response) in typically a couple hours. They have helped me a TON with setting up the software, which is amazingly helpful in tempering the only "con" we have found with Device42 so far (more on that below).
ConsWe have been using Device42 for a few months now, an the only "complaint" I would say that I have found is that the setup was very involved, and required substantial support from the Device42 support team. That said...they were available literally every step of the way, and helped me get through anything I got stuck on over remote session.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018

“Best value DCIM with open API. Solid customer support.”

ProsFor us, Device42 is really one of the best data center infrastructure management platform out there in terms of flexibility. It's extensive RESTful API offers wonderful possibilities and has allowed us to integrate into our internal systems as well as a number of other areas in our organization including VMware vRealize Automation It's a highly accessible inventory and asset management application that offers a lot of functionality with minimal hassle and a reasonable cost. And the best part is it just keeps getting better with every iteration.
ConsAt the moment, bringing up connections on a single device or rack can be done easily without a hitch, but we'd like to see more of it in a much larger scale. Their customer support has been really good though in addressing all other issues and they promised to get back to us if this gets included in development.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2017

“Easy to access, easy to use - means network documentation stays up to date. ”

OverallThe software helps us keep track of our off-site colocations. We can track rack information, including what devices are where, power loads, and physical connectivity to each device and through patch panels.
ProsHaving information about our remote rack space documented and easily accessible has been a boon, especially when we need to request 3rd party remote hand to make simple changes for us. I think last month we needed a small change, and I was able to pull out Device42 and follow a set of cables through 2 patch panels in order to provide precise instructions on cable changes I wanted completed by the technician providing the remote hands.
ConsWe are currently primarily using Device42 to track remote sites on how things are situated in racks and how everything is interconnected at the site. One thing I feel they could improve for the future is the extraction of physical connectivity information from their software. I would love to be able to see a full holistic view of the physical interconnections throughout one room, or a building. At the moment its easy to bring up interconnections on a single device, or a single rack, but nothing on a grander scale. I've spoken with support and they said they'll mention this to development to see if this is on the road map.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 22, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“A Very Good discovery tool with super quick support !”

OverallD42 has been helping us for the server migration planning, reports are helping in application assessment and move group finalization and decide right sizing for target server.
ProsD42 support is very quick and to the point. Anyone who doesn't have discovery experience, can work on this tool easily. This tool helps a lot if you are going through server migration planning phase. This tool helps a lot if you want to figure out the application or server dependencies. It gives a very good picture of server communication, capture all the inbound/outbound communications.
ConsFew reports can only be downloaded from DOQL script, there should be a direct download option for all the reports. No option available to test the targets server to ensure that scanning will be successful considering all the prerequisite. sub-appliance( WDS) dependency for windows server scanning. No CLI option
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
John B.
Systems Engineer/Architect
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018

“We been using D42 since 2015 and have found this to be one of the best DCIM systems for the money.”

OverallWe are able to maintain an extremely high accuracy for our environment which is extremely dynamic. Using the APIs we have integrated D42 into several of our production processes allowing us to automate processes that depend on accurate inventories.
ProsEase of set up; detail of information gathered through the base product; base features received for the price; agent-less discovery; new remote collector support; support for multiple scan methods - WinRM, SNMP, SSH; multiple hypervisor support - VMWare, KVM, Openstack, AWS, Azure; built-in rack elevations; level of customization available; Web interface; REST API
ConsDocumentation is a bit behind the versions and could use some updates; Depending on the environment auto-discovery can be a bit of a challenge;
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 3, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Very good software”

OverallWe are not utilizing the software to it's fullest, but primarily use it for asset management and data center views. It has been a tremendous tool for us as we have over 7,000 devices, more than 180 Comm rooms and 100 buildings. Hard to imagine tracking all those devices and rooms without this software.
ProsVery easy to use, great customer service and great support. Any issues I have had, Device42 has been more than willing to help resolve. In fact on more than one occasion we did a WebEx style meeting and they stayed on the WebEx much longer than I expected, all to make sure I was completely satisfied and the issue was fully resolved.
ConsThe auto discovery does not automatically discover every device we use, However, when we come across something that is not being autodiscovered, Device42 programmers are more than willing to take a look and make the software as fully functioning as possible
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2017

“Excellent support, solid platform with a real future in the DCIM World”

ProsI have used several of the DCIM offerings out there nowAn excellent tool for those users tired of being stuck within the confines of a closed off product. The flexibility Device42 offers their customers is hands down the best in the market. With the offering of an API, we have been able to integrate Device42 into numerous areas of our company, and internal systems. If your tired of closed systems that require tons of support, or those that can nickle and dime to with add-on features...then Device42 is for you. See something missing, simply present it to them, as their DEV team works directly with the customers to help them get what they need.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2017
Avatar Image
Earl G.
Data Center & Integration Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“Devie42...Making asset management a breeze for our organization!”

ProsProduct is easy to learn and put to use We work on a shoestring budget, so cost was a big factor in our decision to use this product Support has been excellent from day one. We have submitted recommendations for the product and actually seen them written into the code. New features being added all the time API's allow us to integrate with VMware vRealize Automation
ConsI can't really say that I have a Cons list. We have had some small issues here and there with scans and just things that we would like to see added. But support and development came through and helped us work out those issues! So, this is really a PRO
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“Discovery Plus”

OverallI had a requirement for a quick discovery exercise and Device42 was able to be deployed and start returning results with a minimal setup. More functionality is configurable and will be used in the future to enhance the reporting on the discovered data. This product is able to be deployed in a very secure environment and still be fully functional. I'd highly recommend this to anybody wanting to get a quick discovery and detailed reports.
ProsGreat support team for help with installation and issues with certain OS discoveries. A lot of information is available without the requirement to deploy agents first. Good on-line documentation that covers off the main uses of the software. Updates every fortnight containing product enhancements and bug fixes.
ConsReporting engine is a little slow when wanting to export the output in csv or excel formats, this is being improved with the recent enhancements for direct database access to enable the creation of bespoke dashboards.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Mark M.
Lead Systems Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Device42 Review”

OverallWe use Device42 for literally everything: servers, switches, PDUs, secrets, etc. I couldn't imagine not having it.
ProsDevice42 has a very comprehensive set of features. All aspects of your inventory can be tracked, most things are first-class citizens, and can be related to one another. I like the fact that it's an appliance. Their support is excellent - you can tell that they put customers first.
ConsI have a few feature requests that I'd like to see some movement on. One of the most important ones, for us, is API tokens (instead of username/password).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
John C.
Tools Engineer
10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018

“Great customer support”

OverallWe were able to get our CMDB up-to-date very quickly. The asset management team is very happy.
ProsExtremely quick responses and resolutions from support team. Auto-discovery features have proven to be very useful for us to quickly gather lots of information regarding our environment. Very granular reporting features keep our users happy.
ConsAlthough I understand why it's this way, it is annoying not having the ability to drop to a command prompt on the main system or the remote collectors. However, I believe they may attempt to engineer a solution for this soon.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 12, 2018
Ezra O.
Dir. of Infrastructure
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018

“D42 Review”

OverallWe have been using spreadsheets for asset management. We are also spread across multiple Data Centers so it suits us well as far as building organization.
ProsIt is extremely thorough. It addresses all and more of the needs that I have come up with. It is also very well connected. All devices can be connected from the device down to the switch and router etc.
ConsIt does not have the flashiest interface I've ever seen, but it makes up for that in content.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Publishing, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017

“Robust product and amazing supprt”

ProsThe flexibility of the product overall. It's ability to integrate with so many other products through it's open API was a key reason for purchase. I love the ability to make mass changes to devices by exporting the data out to a spreadsheet format and re-importing versus having to touch each device individually.
ConsThere are a few limitations to the current version of the product but support has been wonderful to deal with and they truly listen to their customers requests for future functionality. We are still learning the product so I can't speak on all functions as of yet. Building single scan jobs to encompass, SNMP v2/3 as well as SSH would be great versus having to build 3 different scans for the same subnet space. I'd like to see IPAM show all IP addresses for a particular subnet showing both used and unused IP's. Currently it will just show you used so you need to scan through and look for a break in the sequence versus looking for an IP with a green bubble showing it's available. These are small Cons and definitely not a show stopper for us. Just nice to haves.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 16, 2017
Andreas Z.
Network Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“Good IPAM Solution ”

OverallWe gained following efforts : - global IPAM solutions - active IP usability tracking (ping Sweep) - Service Now Integration (REST Integration) - Single Source of truth for network items
ProsWe use this tool as global IPAM solution also for automated processes and its working very good. API is clearly documented and support is always willing to help
ConsSome usability concepts are not so common as compared to other IPAM products (e.g. Bluecat), which needs more time to get familiar with the concept (e.g. subnet move, split, merge). But support is always open for guidance and feature requests
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Rob S.
Director of Engineering
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018

“Powerful and simple asset management for the data center”

OverallAutomated inventory and asset management
ProsThe customer service is really top-notch. The software itself is easy to install and use, and it's very powerful. Compared to other inventory and asset management applications I've used, Device42 offers a lot more functionality and a lot less hassle. The engineers release an update every week or two, and these updates often contain substantial improvements. The product just keeps getting better and better with every iteration!
ConsAs powerful as it is, Device42 is still missing a few features that would be nice to have. Not all hardware is supported for automated discoveries. However, I'm confident that the D42 engineers are working on it!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 22, 2018
Ernest W.
Sr Infrastructure engineer
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“Best Find in a while!”

OverallGreat experience and would recommend to anyone in need of asset tracking.
ProsEasy to use, if you need a feature just request it and they usually get right to it, and customer support very responsive!
ConsHad to build new VM for upgrade! This took some time, and a little help from CS, i had to go to a certain version, then upgrade to the new, a little confusing!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Alvin P.
System Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“A learning experience and rewarding once I was able to maneuver through the portal.”

OverallAsset management features.
ProsThe software allowed me to easily import our Excel data into the software. This saved me a lot of time and allowed me more time to focus on my other daily duties.
ConsWhat I dislike about the software is that there are so many steps to complete a task. For example, if we have a device to install, cable and place in production. There are different windows or separate Excel (if it's a bulk) spreadsheet to complete the task. Another dislike is when I used the SNMP auto-discovery. It discovered even all of the non-pertinent VLANs. It showed over 600 VLANs, we have less than 50 VLANs. It basically counted for every switch port that had a VLAN label.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018
Uri U.
Pricipal Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Device42 is THE CMDB!! look no further!”

OverallWe use Device42 as the source of truth for our automation deployments.
ProsSimple, clean and it has API functions that allow us to access the information on any platform.
ConsIt does not have mobile app access and the site is not optimized for any portable devices.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Kevin P.
Data Center Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019

“Device installation use and troubleshooting”

OverallOverall the product is value for money. If you invest the time needed you will be rewarded with a powerful and comprehensive computer resource audit database.
ProsSimple, easy to install and scan your network. Helpdesk is excellent when you have issues. Once mastered it is a very powerful auditing tool.
ConsFiddly to set up correctly, a little convoluted, the reports are complicated to set up correctly
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2019
Avatar Image
Jeff C.
Senior Information Systems Engineer
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2018

“Great ITIL Software”

OverallIt has improved our level of service and support to our end users because of the ease of finding information quickly.
ProsOne of the most comprehensive software packages I have used to track IP's, inventory, network and server information. Great search capabilities.
ConsIt took a little bit of a learning curve to figure out the best way to enter my data. Once I got that down it was OK.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 24, 2018
Verified Reviewer
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2017

“Great product and excellent support”

ProsWe use Device42 to implement our customer environments. It gives us a great overview of the customers IT estate and enables us to track inventory and server layout connections. Their Support is really responsive and helpful and when an issue or feature request is put in support works with development and the customer until the issue is fully resolved and tested
ConsThis product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2017
Dustin B.
IS Engineer
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018

“Great product and service.”

ProsThis product is awesome, and is available to be viewed from anywhere internal information/db can be updated. Absolutely love this product. And it's fast to access. Support team is top-notch!
ConsThere are no cons on this product other than going to version 15 requires another virtual machine. But that's minor.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 9, 2018
Paul P.
IT Help Desk
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018

“Great software, amazing support”

OverallIt's great for keeping track of all inventory. This is exceptionally helpful with the number of leased devices we have as we have custom reporting alerting us when they are about to expire.
ProsVery comprehensive software. Easy to run custom reporting that suits our environment. Able to attach documentation to assets. It does it's job exceptionally well. The support for any questions or issues we encounter is exceptionally good. I submitted a simple ticket via email and it was resolved within 10mins. Any ticket I've submitted for assistance was updated very quickly, and if the issue was more substantial, their techs would follow up consistently.
ConsBackup options are a bit limited to use what is pre-configured. Would be great to be able to use a backup system like Datto, but we were able to work with the pre-configured solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 1, 2018
Keith C.
System Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2017

“Device42 has given us a great feature set, fantastic support and was overall easy to implement.”

OverallEase of use, great support, full use of features, great site documentation.
ProsAfter trialing many different asset solutions, Device42 was by far superior. It came with a lot unique functionality we were looking for such as SAML, Jira Integration, workflows etc. What really made my life easier though was their thorough documentation on everything and their very timely and knowledgeable support. Their support was fantastic throughout the implementation process and always addressed issues expediently. I deal with many organizations support for various solutions we have and D42 definitely stands out for quality. I would definitely recommend their solution based on the above.
ConsThis isn't really a con but currently they only have an On-prem option. Overall though hosting it hasn't been much work involved.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 21, 2017
Dirk B.
Network Architect
Chemicals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018

“Great and versatile DCIM tool!”

OverallThis software helps us streamlining processes and getting our documentation up to date.
ProsLots of functionalities are well packed together in a single tool. Buildings, rooms, racks, devices are nicely linked together and can give a visualization of all the components (Room overview, rack layout, ...) We're using the datacenter inventory module and the centralized password database. It takes a while to get all information in the tool, but once it's in there, it can easily be retrieved or changed if ncessary.
ConsRBAC could be improved The update process could be simplified with automatic downloads and scheduled installations
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 14, 2018
Jeffrey A.
Lead Technical Architect
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“The CMDB we have been looking for.”

OverallAn independent hardware/software inventory system that can generate reports for renewals and keep track of hardware locations.
ProsVery responsive support. Collects a lot of information from the devices themselves. Easy to make bulk additions or changes with import/exports to Excel.
ConsThis product has some limitation in current version, what could give use some manual job. However support is working with us to solve all our issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Device42 review”

ProsPretty easy to use, rack layout is very pretty and useful
ConsMapping circuits could use some work, especially bulk add. Finding ports could be troublesome since it's use internal system ID instead of device port name.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Ian G.
Data Center Operations Manager
Government Administration, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“Finally a DCIM that covers all of our needs”

OverallComplete visibility of our data center from layer one to power monitoring.
ProsThis is a one stop shop for any data center facility. We initially were shopping for a connectivity management tool and stumbled on this gem. You couldn't ask for more with a price point far below competitors.
ConsIt is a heavy lift on the front end during the initial install, but the end result is well worth it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Retail, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“CMDB that works ”

OverallSuppot has been top noch
ProsIT was fast to deploy and run discoveries. Very Fast to be up and running
ConsScans can be an issue based on the size of the org. Might take some time to dial in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019

“Value for money”

OverallIt's a very good software for device discovery. Value for money.
ProsThe functionality of the software and the various options for discovery
ConsAssessment option is not available to migrate the workload on cloud
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 25, 2019
Yasin S.
Senior Systems Developer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2017

“Superb product, allowed us to view/manage our infrastructure from a desk properly!”

OverallComplete DCIM Management, the ability to easily capacity plan, manage assets, carry out impact assessments etc is invaluable, together with value for money.
ProsVery easy to setup, excellent discovery options, good integration with other products and good support. They will find the root cause to issues, even if it takes time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 20, 2017
Mark P.
Manager, IT Infrastructure
Banking, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2017

“Good Product, Excellent Support!”

OverallDevice42 is a solid contender in the DCIM market, and will gain more ground as their reputation spreads. Most DCIM's require extensive training, professional services, and lots of ongoing help. Not Device42 - it is intuitive and easy enough to use - if you take time to listen and learn. When we were stumped, a quick support request on their portal was answered quickly.
ProsIt is easy to use, and the support folks will work with you to find a root cause - and stick with it. Great Support!
ConsWe were told that most APC UPS's were supported, but we had problems with a few of their devices. In the end, Device42 did a program rewrite and corrected everything. Well Done!
Recommendations to other buyersDon't overspend on another DCIM product that provides less for more. Try Device42 and see for yourself.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Excellent Product and Support at a Very good Price”

OverallThe product is very flexible and easy to use. I have seen a lot of improvements since we have started using it and the Support staff is always quick to respond to questions or issues.
ProsEasy to install, Simple User interface, Ability to load devices though network scan or use of API scripting.
ConsWhere documentation is good, having some recommendation, white papers or best practices around loading data and setting up some of the more completed feature is needed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Al B.
Infrastructure Engineer
Consumer Electronics, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019

“A critical tool for us in our infrastructure.”

OverallOver has been very positive. Especially in dealing with customer support. They response time is very fast.
ProsThe ability to scan and discover new hosts and then be able to bind credential information to the hosts is very handy for us. I then am able to allow certain users to view credential information of specific hosts that I want them to see.
ConsIt can be overwhelming in the amount of configurable options but that is OK because you do not have to use all the features that are available to you
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 15, 2019
Yuriy U.
Senior Systems Engineer
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“Pretty much THE best datacenter inventory software”

ProsEasy to use. Easy to find information. Easy to capture information.
ConsAppliance can be moody sometimes, with disk space issues and database issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Kriss A.
Process developer
Computer Networking, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2019

“Useful, rough and improving”

OverallWe use it for DCIM and network discovery. Does a good job at both and the value for money is there. Support has been very helpful, development seems overworked - don't except a quick resolution to the issues that are present. Would definitely recommend the product. As a side note, they are offering cash payouts for five star reviews, so I'd encourage taking any reviews with a grain of salt.
ProsThe feature set is decently well thought out and it does what it says on the tin. We rolled it out to cover 1200 devices (60 or so models) inside if two months, which is a very good clip - most stuff worked out of the box and we managed to work around annoying (but minor) issues to get workflow integration going.
ConsThe UI is the weakest point, both in terms of usage and documentation - a good portion of it is undocumented or under documented. The password vault offering may be useful in some scenarios but is insecure by design, would not store anything actually sensitive in it. If you use bonding/port channels, expect that most of the network visualisation breaks down.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019

“Did a Proof of Concept; looks pretty good!”

ProsIt does a good job of what we want to use it for - discovery, inventory, and with a way to extend it with info from our other systems via REST. The support team is knowledgeable and thorough.
ConsDiscovery definitely needs better logging.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 8, 2019
Hindi - J.
It country head
Banking, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019

“Device 42”

ProsEasy to use and have multiple choices for scanning all platforms
ConsApplication mapping and impact it's a little complicated tree
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 22, 2019
Marton G.
PM
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018

“Excellent support and feature rich product set. ”

Overall.
ProsVisualisation of Data Centre assets and agentless discovery Highly responsive and technical support Receptive to feedback on product enhancements
ConsSome products not supported for discovery which can be accommodated in future releases. Some products not supported for discovery which can be accommodated in future releases.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 5, 2018
Rajesh S.
Network Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019

“Device42 Review”

Overallexcellent
ProsAutodiscovery of devices and simple and intutive user interface
ConsNo support to auto discover ucs servers
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 2, 2019
Andreas Z.
Network Engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018

“Very Good IPAM solution with lots of future potential”

Pros- Easy to use - Tool aligned to current customer and Business Needs - Open for new customer and Business Needs with quick release cycles (Feature request processing)
Cons- Licensing - Full and direct application HA failover missings
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 15, 2018
Avatar Image
Maurice K.
System Engineer
Internet, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“A one-stop-shop DCIM”

OverallIt made our datacenter preparations quite easy.
ProsThe ease of use of the tool. It has a great API where you can program against. We used rack view a lot during the migration of our datacenter.
ConsThe IPAM part could use some rework, make it more easy to look at. As far as I know this is already on the roadmap.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Zack G.
CTO
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2016

“Easiest Data Center Management Software I've Seen ”

OverallI've used BMC before and I've tested Nlyte, and they are great, but from start to finish this was the easiest one I've seen so far, and from the looks of it, the most comprehensive one. I've yet to discover all of the features, but it looks like it has more to offer than BMC for sure. Loving it so far...
ProsEase of installation and functionality
ConsPrice
Recommendations to other buyersno
Source: Capterra
September 15, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018

“Admittedly I have little experience with this software”

OverallWe never went past the review process. It just wasn't bringing what we needed to move forward. I
ProsThey had some interesting features, i like the rest API and the link to Jira. They did seem very strong in the integration department.
ConsThe overall interface was not what we hoped for. It was difficult for us to find something and all the relationships that were important to us in an efficient manner. Too many click through steps. We were looking for a more complete CI picture.

Vendor Response

By Device42 on May 30, 2018
Hello- Sorry for the late response and thank you for the feedback. We recently released a new version with a new UI and a new reporting engine that should help fix a lot of the cons you posted. Please see the blog post below and if you'd like to setup another free trial please let us know and we'll be glad to set that up and get you on the phone with an engineer. https://www.device42.com/blog/2018/04/device42-gets-a-new-look-in-milestone-release-v15/
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 10, 2018