Countfire Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
5/5

About Countfire

Start your FREE TRIAL today. The leading automated take-off software that's been purpose built for electrical estimators. Save time and money with true automatic counting across entire projects. Automatic Excel spreadsheet creation. Linear & area measurements. Automatically breakdown quantities into areas. Record drawings and accuracy report. Automatic quantity splitting. Auto count revised drawings. Use Countfire to increase accuracy, save time and pitch for more work. Learn more about Countfire

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 95 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 95 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Eric B.
Sr. Lighting Engineer
Construction, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019

“CountFire Automated Take-Off Software”

OverallI could not be more pleased with CounFire. It is fast, accurate, easy to use, and has cut my time to perform a take-off by a factor of 10. Some may question a factor of 10, but try it and see that drawing symbols when counted on one drawing are also counted on all other drawings within the project drawing package automatically. Orientation is not an issue, and items not picked up are easily identified and added to the correct symbol list. Check drawings are also supplied as part of the final report to assure all errors have been resolved.
ProsCountFire being a cloud based service gets you up and running quickly. CountFire Sales is there to get you started and introduce you to Technical Assistance and Training. The On-Line Help function is integral to the CountFire Platform allowing you to be able to function seamlessly as you work on projects. I can count drawing elements or make extremely accurate measurements in one tenth of the time I did manually without the cost of drawing reproduction. The Final Reports are perfectly formatted in MSExcel and ready for Bill of Material development.
ConsI am still looking for a Con. I thought that since CountFire is in Great Britain that communications might be hampered by five, (5) time zones, but this was not the case. CountFire was there 24X7 to solve my self-inflicted start-up issues.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2019
Chris S.
Business Development Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2017

“Countfire is a lifesaver!”

OverallFrom a user perspective, Countfire is a lifesaver. You upload your drawings simply and easily and within minutes you can have a scaled, marked up set of drawings with all measurements documented in an excel spreadsheet. I take this output and use it to accurately build quotes and check quantities on all projects from single residential to large scale hotels and commercial. For us it means that we can have accurate information to supply alongside our quotes to give us peace of mind that our measurements are completely transparent to clients without sending physical copies of marked up drawings. The guys at Countfire are beyond helpful and have put a huge amount of work into making the software work for us, they are always easily contactable and jump right in to help whenever there may be a problem. It's dramatically reduced the time we spend on quoting, and in turn improved our workflow and relationship with clients. I couldn't recommend it more.
ProsEasy and simple to use for a process that is inherently complex and difficult.
ConsCountfire used to be heavily geared towards counting references and not linear measurements. There have been HUGE steps by the guys at Countfire to improve the linear side of things with many new additions to the software for this purpose. Some drawings on a large scale (1:200+) are hard to measure small lengths under 300mm, but this is a very minor issue that the support staff will help with on a project by project basis.
Recommendations to other buyersThe support staff who started Countfire are really helpful and accomodating. Their customer service is amazing having added certain fucntions to the software as we said they were extremely important to us and our sector of the industry. You can't get better than that!
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2017
Avatar Image
Mike T.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018

“Countfire - Pros and cond”

OverallExcellent, the online support is fantastic, as is the software. There have been some containment drawings that I simply could not have lifted off with Pen and paper, but Countfire has made it possible and easy to review. If in doubt do the trial on a big job and see how you get on!
ProsWhats not to like? Not much. Its a fantastic tool for estimators, the more you use it the faster you get and the more confidence you gain. Automatic counts - Brilliant Manual Counts - When you cant use automatic counts this is still super fast compared to pen and paper Measurements - Brilliant Splits and multiples - essential and very helpfull I have been using it for a year now and would recommend it to anyone involved in estimating or any other form of take offs.
ConsEvery now and again you get a bad drawing where all the symbols are slightly different and its a pain. Just use manual count and safe yourself a lot of frustration! The cost is pretty high (but worth it in time saved) If I was self employed it could be out of price range.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018
Terry J.
General Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2017

“Makes life very easy.”

ProsCountfire makes doing takeoffs extremely easy and the amount of time it saves leaves more time to do other things that need doing.
Consnot enough colours in the palette, When you measure & ask for itemised it measures every click not just start to finish giving far to many reults

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on June 23, 2017
Thanks Terry! I wanted to let you know we released an update recently to include more colours. With measurements and how they're saved into the Excel spreadsheet, you have a choice between not itemised (just the overall total) and itemised (each individual measurement). Itemising does definitely result in a larger spreadsheet because there's just a lot more information to represent within Excel, however, I also wanted to point you towards a workaround we have which allows you to round & summarise those measurements towards specific lengths (EG: set busbar lengths etc. There's more here: http://help.countfire.com/workarounds/summarising-measurement-items
Source: Capterra
May 30, 2017
Malcolm B.
Lighting Engineer
Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018

“Countfire Review”

OverallWell worth the effort to try out. I would really allocate this to only one or two persons in an office and let them develop the skills necessary to be productive and create accurate take offs. I enjoy using it and continue to be surprised how well the end result evolves. Practice makes perfect, it can only get better.
ProsAs a Lighting Engineer with some knowledge of construction software and the difficulties one can experience in quickly getting up to speed with new programs, I was pleasantly surprised to find that even without reading any tutorials, I was able to navigate and complete a number of projects on my desk over a 24hr period. The guys at Countfire patiently watched me and offered advice how to improve my takeoff but I just kept going and only when I got into some bother did I read their suggestions. What this means is that a novice with some practical experience of popular programs such as Microsoft Paint etc. will quickly get a handle on the basics of this take off program. As with most things today..easy to learn..to master, takes time.
ConsNothing to do with the software but it does pick up some inconsistencies amongst Architects and Drafts-persons, some who clearly do not anticipate a computer checking their work. Some very sloppy drawings out there. I check the drawings now prior to uploading so that I have an idea of where I need to look closely. Again, it's not an issue with Countfire.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 19, 2018
Aleshia M.
Fire Alarm System Estimator
Facilities Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019

“Amazing & Friendly Staff”

OverallCountfire has saved me tons of time performing takeoffs. It is also very helpful in accomplishing a set of takeoffs for a project with a quick turn around time.
ProsI absolutely love the quick response from the members of the Countfire Staff. They are quick to respond and help resolve any issues you may have.
ConsI love everything about the Countfire Program.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 22, 2019
Michael D.
Electrical Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019

“Personal view of Countfire after 3 weeks”

OverallIts quick and easy to use. There are a few things which can be done to make it even better but overall its far more efficient than using paper and coloured pens.
ProsIt is pretty easy to use once you are using it on a daily basis. It makes the take-off process a lot quicker and doesn't require the need for printing off a Forrest worth of trees for drawings, plus you don't need to keep a whole range of coloured pens handy.
ConsI have found that I have gone back to drawings that I have taken off first time around and noticed symbols which I did take off were not highlighted. That could be simply down to me not saving each time. However, I have had to go back through each drawing to make sure I haven't missed anything. There should be something in place to highlight anything that has been missed. It would also be helpful to have an option to pick regularly used symbols and containment so that you can save time not having to manually type them in.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 1, 2019
Greg P.
M&E Manager
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019

“Countfire Review”

OverallI have worked in the industry for many many years in directorship and management and used many costing / take off software. I can honestly say this is the best I have worked with. the level of detail you are with once you process a project is fantastic and it is very user friendly. And last but no means least the team are constantly on hand to help whenever needed and go above and beyond to ensure your experience with the software is positive. Thats not just an initial help that always.
ProsI like near all features of the software but really like how user friendly it is and the level of customer care you get.
ConsNot really come across anything that I dislike yet
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 28, 2019
Ciaran C.
Snr Engineer
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“Quick, easy,fast and great support”

ProsThe ability to drag, drop and created elements save days of manual counting on paper. the software can be used anywhere you have internet connection
Consan internet connection is required and a large amount of storage for dropbox also

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on June 23, 2017
Thanks Ciaran! Countfire now automatically frees up space within Dropbox meaning you no longer need to purchase a paid Dropbox account. With regard to needing an internet connection, there are a number of positives to consider too. We're able to provide near instant in-app support right when you need it (our current response time is less than 1 minute). Countfire is definitely not the kind of software you buy and then never hear from us again, and having an internet connection is an important part of us being able to provide that level of support to our customers. Additionally, new updates and features get rolled out immediately and we don't hold these back for a new version of the software, as can happen with traditional / older methods of software distribution. You always have the latest and best version.
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
Chris C.
Electrical Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016

“Brilliant estimating tool and great customer Service to back it up!”

OverallVery helpful in times of need when a project needs a quick turnaround! The customer service team are also very responsive and there when you need them! Would highly recommend for estimating larger projects if you want to cut down on estimating time.
ProsSpeed, adaptability to pricing schedules/demarcations and the fact Countfire themselves are open to taking on ideas for user interface improvements to make take off easier
ConsWhen drawings take ages to load up
Recommendations to other buyersIf there can be some sort of check process prior to processing projects (i.e. a tick box for checking all drawings have been assigned a scale, drawing size, bulk selection for itemising on linear lengths etc)
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2016
John G.
Director
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019

“YPHS Electrical ”

Overallfantastic
ProsEasy to use fantastic tool , great support service when you need help
ConsIt would be an advantage if you could free hand and write comments on your dwgs . Maybe this can be an update
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 22, 2019
Avatar Image
Zachary B.
Senior Estimation Specialist
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018

“Revolutionary takeoff experience. ”

OverallReduction in time in the estimation process (magnitudes).
Pros- clear cut user interface with everything hotkeyed, and the hotkeys labeled in plain sight - PHENOMENAL customer service and support (I requested and had a feature built and deployed overnight, etc., etc., etc.) - Documentation from another planet (over 25,000 words of concise walk through material - Redundancy (the way projects are delivered after being processed eliminates worry and most potential for error) - Data manipulation (the data spit-out from a project comes post-pivot table, saving us a step in formatting to get our numbers straight) the list goes on and on - simply amazing!! Will and the boys are a phenomenal team, awake at preposterous hours of the morning solving issues that could wait, etc. just amazing!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 8, 2018
Jeanne S.
Senior Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019

“Highly Recommend”

OverallCountfire enables the entire office to be involved which means an administrative assistant can do counts for the estimator freeing up the estimators time to handle the more complex details.
ProsEasy to use, easy to master. Reports can be simply or page/area specific which makes it great when you need to do breakouts. Hot keys make the program flow, you can either use the mouse or use the keyboard - whichever you prefer. Best part is that once you select a symbol it searches all pages for that symbol making it very fast and freeing up a lot of time for other tasks. I have used on-screen take off, bluebeam and live count and found Countfire to be the quickest with the most detailed reports.
ConsNot a lot of colors to choose from, would like to see more colors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 15, 2019
Diane M.
Electrical Take Off clerk
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018

“Great so far”

OverallSo far, it is early days, I have found everything very straightforward. I spent time working through a lot of the help screens before I attempted my first take off, but still encountered a problem selecting some symbols. I couldn't find the answer myself so used the chat option. Within minutes I was chatting to someone who could help straight away with advice and even videos to show me how to deal with my problem. Looking forward to learning more as I progress.
ProsLove the common sense feel to this software. Very quick to do a take off. Every problem I have encountered so far has had a solution. Support and help screens are excellent.
ConsI actually haven't found anything I don't like so far, but I have only been using it for a short time. I think it is just a case of getting your head around what the software needs from you to do its thing.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 11, 2018
Shane D.
Estimator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2017

“Easy and interesting way to count drawings much more efficiently and quickly ”

ProsIt takes a bit of playing around with to get used to but any question I had was answered within minutes through the CountFire team chat, I find the automatic link with DropBox and CountFire very useful with all the counts done automatically through an excel quantities spreadsheet.
ConsIt doesn't pick up symbols that are the same but at a different angle, so a few extra counts must be done to count all the symbols

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on October 31, 2017
Thanks Shane! I wanted to let you know we've just released a feature which allows you to automatically count symbols that are the same, but rotated through different angles :)
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 14, 2017
Adnan D.
Technician
Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2017

“Good, versatile, fast, ongoing development, active support”

ProsThe software is a good alternative to the usual means of working with large plans, as it saves a lot of time and space/printing materials
ConsOne of the cons is the requirement of the chrome browser, since the additional software isn't supported by the IT Department.
Source: Capterra
May 29, 2017
Aleshia M.
Estimator
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2017

“The product is easy to use and the support staff is amazing. ”

OverallI have saved a lot of time on performing take offs.
ProsI like its chat option and the great support staffs fast response time. I also like how when I have a problem that I may run into one of the members of the support team will help me immediately. They can actually open and view the actual project I am working on and will send me a clip of how to get past what problems I may be having.
ConsNothing. Everything about this software is amazing. The support staff has a quick response. They normally respond is less than 5 minutes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 23, 2017
Kevin T.
Senior Estimator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2017

“Fantasitic Easy to use software”

OverallFast tracking estimates
ProsThe level of accuracy and ability to populate all take offs into a spreadsheet format. the software is very easy to use even if you don't have great Computer skills
Consoccasionally things can be a little slow if drawings files are large. if you don't have a great internet connection access can be difficult at times if working remotely from Home / Office PC
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2017
jack d.
junior estimator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2015

“my review, would happily recommend!”

Overallthe software is relatively easy to use. the downside is that there is alot to learn compared to doing it manually. it is getting better now i have used it for a few weeks, but as a new starter i struggled to begin with. maybe an online tutorial would work well, i am not sure if you have this or not. the customer service is excellent, another problem is countfire doesn't always pick up all of the symbols, i often have to double check. Nevertheless, it is great in the sense that it is much quicker than doing it manually, i would happily recommend it to other users.

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on September 17, 2015
Thanks very much for your review Jack. In terms of training, we have training courses available and also have an online knowledge base. We're also always happy to jump on a screen sharing session to help learn the software on a one to one basis. With making sure you pick up all the symbols, this is even a problem when doing take-offs manually. To help with this, Countfire allows you to hide all the symbols you've already counted so you can easily see what's left to count, and it also produces a set of drawings with all your counted symbols removed, which can be used as a quality control / checking process to make sure you've counted everything.
Source: Capterra
September 9, 2015
John W.
Security Director
11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2018

“I've never experienced technical support that countfire. Simply the best”

OverallSaves me tons of time and for someone that works 80+ hours a week, my time is very valuable.
ProsThe ease of use. It is very easy to use once I learned the shortcuts and best practices from Countfire. Was up and running withing a few days 100% and it is saving me so much time. I did the a job the other day that was normally a 4 hour job and it took me 30 minutes by using Countfire and that 3.5 hours is very valuable to me.
ConsThe only thing I'd like and it is really only for hotels, but to be able to find a certain room and count them and multiply out already in the excel sheet, but I use the counts for the rooms and easily adjust the excel spreadsheet in less than a minute, so it really isn't an issue.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 23, 2018
Ben B.
Estimating Team Leader
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“A brilliant and innovative piece of software that's helped the estimating team. ”

ProsThe speed to be able to create a take-off which would've potentially taken many hours by hand. This software is saving the company so many man hours already.
ConsDue to the way we use countfire we don't just use it for symbol counts. We use this for the measurement of luminaire leads. Sometimes the drawings can become a little busy and tricky to follow. So maybe the option to turn certain layers drawn in countfire off would help.

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on June 23, 2017
Thanks Ben! Assuming I've understood things correctly here, it's already possible to turn off both automatically counted symbols, and any linear / area measurements or manual points. It should just be a case of using the check boxes to the left of each symbol or measurement to hide it. There's more here: http://help.countfire.com/countfire-basics/hiding-matched-symbols
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
Davide F.
Quotation & Technical Support Co-ordinator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“Good experience, hope it will continue to improve”

Overallquicker quotation and counting
Pros1) in general it is simple to use and give a quick access to count and item selection. 2) Very good the split selection
Cons1)I would add description/comment in the drawings. 2)I would have more "Color selection" if it possible, as sometimes we've got a large number of selection to do (like Grey, Brown, etc...). 3)When we need to count "a point" there is a "circular selection" , could be nice have also a different other selection like a "triangle" or "rectangle". This could be very helpful.

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on June 23, 2017
Thanks Davide! Wanted to let you know that we've just released an update to include more colours. Also, adding notes / comments to drawings, and additional symbol types for manual points are both already on product roadmap. Watch this space!
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
shaun m.
junior estimator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017

“fast and easy to use”

Overallsaves time
Prosit saves a lot of time rather than manually counting the items. it tally's up all the drawing at the one time and its very easy to use.
Consthat when you select an item it pick up others as well. and sometimes you may have to go over some drawing to see if it missed out any of the symbols

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on June 23, 2017
Thanks for your review Shaun! With regard to checking for symbols that haven't yet been counted, I wanted to reply with a help centre article outlining the 4 opportunities available to verify accuracy on your projects: http://help.countfire.com/best-practice-workflows/the-4-stages-of-checking
Source: Capterra
May 12, 2017
Stuart T.
MD
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018

“Countfire Review”

OverallWe have been using the system now for around 6 weeks, during this time the Countfire people were very helpful in getting us set up correctly, as we are now more used to the software were seeing benefits of time saving and having easy access to neat and tidy take offs as apposed to trawling through the estimators files looking at unclear scribbles, also we no longer have to print off large amounts of A0 / A1 paper at tender stage saving cost and the environment.
ProsSpeed, Accuracy, environmental benefits, and easy to follow hints and tips.
ConsSometimes the information we are provided with by our customers is not in the correct format for Countfire to work at its full potential, this is not a fault of Countfire but a problem with the information we are working with
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2018
Gary M.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2016

“Easy & Fast”

OverallI've recently started using this software and already it has saved me time on measuring. I've used Countfire for 3 projects so far and it really is quick and simple to use. Once I've measured each individual drawing it then pulls everything across to my dropbox making it easy for me to check certain symbols. I can then print off my totals for each take off sheet. A great piece of software for estimating.
ProsI like the way when you measure one drawing that it automatically counts the selected symbols throughout other drawings saving you loads of time during the tender.
ConsIt can be a little too sensitive when selecting certain symbols but that's down to the quality of the drawings provided. It can be easy corrected when checking each symbol in the editing section.
Recommendations to other buyersNot really.
Source: Capterra
July 20, 2016
Peter S.
Estimator
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017

“The software has increased our output but most importantly accuracy ”

OverallIncreased speed and accuracy
ProsWe have found the software very easy to use, the support and backup is fantastic and the checking and reporting functions are great.
ConsThe main frustrating this is the time it takes to load drawings. Also as a large business we would like the option to purchase the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017
Miles Q.
Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“Very very quick and easy”

OverallA lot of time saved, also able to seperate out certain parts of drawings like landlords and tenants
ProsSo quick and simple to use and great spreadsheet produced to view quantities. Saves a lots of time over manual take offs.
ConsNot down to the software, but due to some consultants poor drawings some drawings take a lot longer to take off.
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
Paul C.
Business Development
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016

“Countfire - Genius Program!”

OverallWhat can I say, Will and the guys over at Countfire a developed something truly amazing. Ease of use is spot on and does exactly what its meant to do! The support is second to none, I generally get an answer within a minute. This has made life so much easier than manual counting! Thanks guys!
ProsEase of use and support
ConsNothing
Recommendations to other buyersits a must get!
Source: Capterra
November 11, 2016
Stephen A.
Estimator
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017

“This is the product you wished someone would make but never knew existed. ”

OverallThis program cuts our paper cost and review time while increasing efficiency and accuracy.
ProsEvery feature incorporated into this product is top notch. It's speedy, efficient, and accurate. Multiple avenues to check your work and be assured in your counts. Work multiple disciplines within one job....there's just so much this program can do!
ConsThere's really not much to dislike with this program, but if I had to voice a small nit pick it would be that I would like to see more color options for device designation. Often we deal with large quantities of different devices. Like a said, I'm just nitpicking.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2017
Adam B.
Estimating Manager
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019

“Countfire Review”

OverallBrilliant bit of kit
ProsEase of functions and effortless takeoff of multiple items
ConsThere is no automatic scale set or you cant measure say a doorway and tell countfire it should be 0.8m and it calculates the scale
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 17, 2019
Joseph B.
Junior Estimator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017

“Quick and easy!”

ProsIts very simple to understand with lots of pointers and tips to get you doing. It is also very easy to use and packed with keyboard short cuts to help you find you way around.
ConsIt requires the use of a dropbox which might not always be practical in companies which have limited internet browsing.

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on October 31, 2017
Thanks Joseph! In addition to Dropbox, Countfire actually supports OneDrive now too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 5, 2017
Atanas T.
Lighting Designer
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“Great Software!”

Pros- easy to use - when counting all references on one drawing it will automatically pick them out in the other drawings you have under the same project
Cons- although I don't mind you having access to my screen and its great that if I ask you for help you are able to show me a video tutorial using my projects. However we as a company like to ensure our projects are safe and that project information isn't being shared with other companies.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Chris T.
Trainee Estimator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“Quick, Accurate & Easy ”

ProsI was very pleased with how quick the customer support team are to deal with and help with any issues.
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
Rachel M.
Applications Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018

“Extremely Happy with this software”

OverallWe are extremely happy with our overall experience using Countfire. The customer service has been amazing and we receive lots of support when needed. The time saved using this software has made a great impact on our company.
ProsThis software is very user friendly and time saving! With efficient ways of checking the marked up drawing, we have been able to reduce the amount of mistakes, and therefore costs to the company. If any issues occur when using the software, you can use the help section on the software and request help from a member of the Countfire Team, who reply back extremely quickly!
ConsAlmost all of my experiences with this software is positive. However, after the initial training, it does take a couple of times to fully familiarize yourself with all parts of the software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2018
Craig R.
Contracts Director
Renewables & Environment, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Quick Takeoff Solution”

OverallWe are now able to significantly process a lot more drawings than when we were manually counting drawings. This has increased productivity significantly
ProsIts a lot faster than manually counting drawings, the ability to be able to check the outputs to ensure everything is correct, gives you the confidence that it is 100%
ConsThe cost of the solution is quite high considering its simplicity
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018
steven h.
Pre-Construction Manager
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018

“Countfire has changed he way I work”

OverallThe time that I save now completing take off's using Countfire has freed me up to spend more time on other duties that are incorporated in my role. I'm also having more time to generate costs within the deadlines and increasing the amount of tenders completed.
ProsDramatic reduction in completing take off's Add and omit exercise are painless and easy. Time and saving on drawing production.
ConsNone...........................................
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 17, 2018
Steven W.
Director
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 24, 2018

“Very good had excellent support from start to finish”

OverallOverall very good system. If on the manual measure/count you could have preset symbols for bends, tees etc for containment and if there was a data base for different containment types and sizes so that you could select rather than manually create. Maybe kits of some sort.
ProsEase of use, Being able to measure linear lengths, Counting symbols on mass, the spreadsheets that are processed are easy to read and adjust to suit.
ConsHaving to manually count when symbols are of a poor quality. If the wrong symbols were hi-lighted on the check sheets for the symbols would make the evaluation easier
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
January 24, 2018
Ryan M.
Sales Engineer
Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“The people behind Countfire make the product Great”

OverallGreat communication.
ProsThe customer support is really excellent and cuts time spent learning to use of the software dramatically. The guys behind Countfire respond to even the simplest query immediately and take the initiative to get in touch and show how to do things in better or faster ways.
ConsLike any software Countfire takes some getting used to.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Matthew C.
Estimator
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017

“Neutral”

OverallWhen everything is peachy it works great and is fast.
ProsWhen a pdf is is drawn properly it works great. Automatic counting etc. No I'm just trying to reach 100 characters
ConsWhen a pdf is not drawn properly, i may as well count manually. Which is mostly the case. Simple things could be added to improve experience, such as a plan multiplier for drawings that cover multiple levels.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 31, 2017
Mark T.
Estimator
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2016

“Thinking of buying Countfire?”

OverallThe demonstrations and continuing support were excellent. I was impressed with the way it counts multiple drawings.
ProsReally easy to use. Fast & efficient take offs. Check sheet/drawings at end.
ConsIt takes a little bit of practice at the start but don't be put off! Play with the software and ask for help when you get stuck/don't understand what you are trying to do.
Recommendations to other buyersTake the free trial & road test it for yourself!
Source: Capterra
June 22, 2016
Eugene M.
Electrician
Construction, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“Countfire is Brill”

ProsVery easy to use,and highlights and easy to pick all take offs up.Support frm Countfire Team is second to none,always at hand to help
ConsCant think of any drawback to the software Really is a game changer
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Dave E.
Snr Elec Estimator
Construction, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017

“Easy to use programme reducing the time taken taking off quantities.”

OverallTime Saving
ProsEase of use being able to breakdown the drawings into areas to suit the Tender Analysis Breakdown detailing disciplines & areas
Cons
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2017
Toby B.
Estimating
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2017

“Excellent Package. ”

OverallIt saves an amazing amount of time from manually completing Take offs from drawings mainly due to the fact that as your working on 1 drawing the package is actually completing the take offs of all other drawings you have submitted in the background.
ProsFor someone with what I describe as a limited Computer knowledge it was very easy to use and when i did have any problems the Customer Support Team were Fantastic.
ConsI think it probably depends upon the standard of drawing you are Tendering from but we found you had to copy alot of the same symbol to pick them all up.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 3, 2017
Craig S.
Estimating Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017

“Easy to use, Great customer service.”

ProsI like the fact we can increase our productivity with both speed and accuracy without the expense of employing an additional estimator.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 7, 2017
Declan G.
electrical Estimating Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2016

“Kirby Countfire review”

OverallVery good, , speed, excellent support , features user friendly with keyboard shortcuts helpful.. Control mechanisms very good and you can see that it is designed to meet the requirements of Building Services estimating.
ProsSpeed
ConsSometimes software picks up similar symbols, with check mechanisms this is eliminated
Recommendations to other buyersNext step to develop 2nd fix circuitry into the software, and make system 100% takeoff user firendly
Source: Capterra
September 22, 2016
Sam G.
Sales
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017

“Very helpful staff. good pre sales period. great software”

ProsAccurate pin point reviews of drawings and measuring along with demaracations covers all bases. Very detailed and produces great information to give to the customer
ConsTakes a bit to get your head around at first but not an issue and is expected. Eased through initial process by good staff team
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 15, 2017
Brendan G.
Estimator
Construction, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2017

“Countfire has made counting more streamline and efficient.”

Overallmakes counting 500% faster
ProsSymbol recognition is powerful and easy to use. Collating is made easier to extract when using Excel for other job aspects.
ConsNot entirely compatible with drawings created from certain CAD or drawing software. The ability to manually count rectifies this but not entirely.
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2017
Brian N.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2017

“Countfire Takeoff Software”

OverallTwo weeks into our trial period and I cant believe we did not buy this years ago. This software takes all the labour out of manual counting and presents the result in Excel format ready to integrate into any pricing document. You always get the feeling the lads are there in the background watching you because if any issues arrive they are on the messenger straight away to talk you through it.
ProsNo more printing plans, automated counting and the manual measuring. Easy to use.
Recommendations to other buyersA handy program to convert pdf pricing documents to excel would leave Countfire as a one stop shop for all takeoff needs.
Source: Capterra
April 11, 2017
Jose G.
Estimator
Construction, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2017

“Excellent App”

OverallI tested it in a very complex proyect that probably in the normal way (printing the drawings and counting manually) it could take more than a week, but using countfire it took only 1 hour and a half. Save time, save money and most important give accurate information.
ProsThe time you spend in a hole proyect is a Time saver
Consat this point everything is fine
Recommendations to other buyersnot at this moment
Source: Capterra
April 5, 2017
Ben P.
Electrical Estimator
Construction, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2016

“Great Software, Great People.”

OverallCountfire is a useful software for take-offs, saving time and money from printing and manually counting, you select a symbol and it automatically counts it across all of the drawings! An improvement would be an auto-orientation correction. As currently if a symbol is rotated at all or displayed slightly differently it won't register it and you have to select that individual symbol for it to recognize it. Although the development of the software has been fantastic and the customer support is second to none! never experienced such great customer support! Well done
ProsThe Customer Support and Ease of use
ConsSlow Loading times when selecting drawings

Vendor Response

By Rapid Tender on October 31, 2017
Thanks Ben! I wanted to let you know we've just released a feature which allows you to automatically count symbols that are the same, but rotated through different angles :)
Source: Capterra
December 15, 2016