Sparkrock Ratings

Overall
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Sparkrock

It started with a simple idea. We wanted to help social benefit organizations leverage technology in order to more effectively deliver on their mission to improve the quality of life for people, families, and communities. Now, over a decade later, we still deliver on that idea every day. We provide industry leading Finance, Workforce Management, Payroll and Employee Scheduling software for Nonprofits, Human Services Agencies and K12 School Boards. Learn more about Sparkrock

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 9 of 9 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Jennifer H.
Director of Financial and Operational Support
Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018

“Long term NAV user”

OverallMy overall experience with Sparkrock has been positive. There have been challenges, and usually because I didn't listen to their advice. I have learned over the years to trust their judgement, while I know my organization best, they know the product and have been through many more implementations and upgrades than I have.
ProsThe flexibility of the product. The ability to use as much or as little as you want. The opportunity to expand as funds become available. The use of dimensions enables specific reporting requirements. The software is a Microsoft product so information is easily transferred to other Microsoft products. The introduction of a "search" function in recent upgrades is a simple function that I use almost everyday.
ConsThe accounts payable g/l batch report and sales invoice when originally printed cut off fields and customization's where necessary before they could be used.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 16, 2018
Natashia M.
Finance Clerk
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2017

“Surprised at how easy the solution was to learn.”

OverallGreat product. Great company. Would highly recommend.
ProsThis product is extremely user friendly and easy to navigate. The option of going paperless is fantastic (all AP invoices can be attached electronically). When you encounter an issue, the response from customer service is quick. The entire Sparkrock staff is extremely friendly and they are passionate about their product. They work with you to ensure an easy transition/upgrade.
ConsThey offer training videos in the customer support center but some are not thorough enough. I hope they release a tips and tricks for AP
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
August 21, 2017
Margaret K.
Accounting & Payroll Administrator
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 28, 2019

“Review of Sparkrock”

OverallI am currently working on creating reports for each of our programs/funders as required both in Sparkrock and in Jet Reports. I have asked about this previously, but have not been given an answer. It would useful for the program to have saved report settings so the date/dimensions/filters do not have to be applied every single time.
ProsI generally just work with A/P, but I do like how the support documentation is easily available. I no longer have to go through paper files to find things.
ConsI notice that new users struggle to use the program when they first start. It's not as intuitive as I would like it to be.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
June 28, 2019
Mary Ellen D.
Manager of Finance
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2017

“Pleased with the product. Would recommend.”

ProsGeneral ledger entries can be set up to include Ministry of Education expense categories and objects. This allows for quick confirmation of where expenses will be reported when viewing these entries. Very happy with their customer service.
ConsThe WebApps has some functionality that isn't a perfect fit for us, and we've had to make some changes to adjust to what functionality exists.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 29, 2017
Christine M.
Business Analyst
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 30, 2017

“Great Support Team”

OverallLogging a support ticket is very easy and the response time is very quick.
ProsThe import feature verifying dim coms for our payroll journal entries is a great tool. This prevents invalid dimension combinations from being posted, thus eliminating the need for reallocating journal entries. This ensures that we have accurate reporting for the Ministry.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 30, 2017
Lisa R.
Accounts Payable
Primary/Secondary Education, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 20, 2017

“Great product. Good company to work with.”

OverallOverall very happy with it.
ProsThe product is very user friendly and has a lot to offer. There are many options to find various lists or reports you need.
ConsSome functions are for a larger company than what we are. It would be nice if the product could offer options for both larger and small companies.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
November 20, 2017
Malcolm M.
Director, Service Delivery
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2016

“Pleased to date, excited for the future of this product”

OverallWe've been using Donor Engage for a little under a year. The system is integrating into our existing Dynamics CRM platform (using for an entirely different department in our organization since 2010) and the ease of that transition has been smooth and straight forward. Donor Engage is replacing a large number of individual systems for offices across Canada so the learning curve can be steep. With adequate support to end-user training users appear to adjust to the new system quickly. Feedback from a number of the offices now up and running remains positive with users noting that once they have adjusted to the 'sequence of events' for various procedures in the system it's smooth sailing moving forward. Users are also thrilled with the reporting capability and opportunity to review data that (in most cases) they've not had the ability to do before. The fact that Donor Engage is developed within Dynamics CRM opens up a great deal of reporting flexibility (though some challenges too, but all systems have those!). Dynamics CRM also brings a great deal of functionality to an organization in general which is helpful for those users who really want to push the system to it's full potential. We are excited by the roadmap for the product and Altus' clear commitment to the product moving forward, and we look forward to enhancements over time.
Source: Capterra
March 23, 2016
Peter B.
Registered Nurse
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019

“ Nice to be paperless, but not as straight forward”

Overalloverall once adequate training has been provided it is a highly effective system. Just make sure you plan an effective support system for users during the roll out.
ProsFrom an environmental standpoint I am glad that my workplace is going paperless, and Sparkrock is part of that process! The platform is able to scale to meet the various bookkeeping functions and tracking needs of the workplace through time. Allowing a phased approach to transitioning away from the existing system has allowed staff time to adjust to new procedures.
Consthere is a definite learning curve compared to the 'old way of paper.' this has required detailed staff training and support to use Sparkrock properly. I feel that the user interface leaves a lot to be desired. Every Sparkrock user that I know clicks on options that should be clickable, but aren't and are left searching the screen. "Where is that button again?" is a common theme. Disjointed processes with few or no prompts have lead to some errors, where people thought for example that expense claims had been submitted, when in reality they had merely been created and not actually submitted. While this is not solely the fault of the software, it is far from intuitive.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 13, 2019
Ramesh D.
Software Developer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016

“great product for small/medium industries.”

OverallVery easy to use and user friendly!! Easy to learn and compare to other ERP systems like oracle, sap !! cost effective.
Source: Capterra
October 6, 2016