InvoiceNinja

Invoice Ninja

5 / 5 29 reviews

Who Uses This Software?

Freelancers, Solopreneurs, Small Businesses, Small Teams, Startups, Digital Nomads


Average Ratings

29 Reviews
  • 5 / 5
    Overall
  • 5 / 5
    Ease of Use
  • 5 / 5
    Customer Service

Product Details

  • Starting Price
    $8.00/month
  • Pricing Details
    Forever Free; Pro plan: $8/mo; Enterprise (1-2): $12/mo - $36/mo
  • Free Version
    Yes
  • Free Trial
    Yes
  • Deployment
    Cloud, SaaS, Web
  • Training
    Documentation
  • Support
    Online

Vendor Details

  • InvoiceNinja
  • www.invoiceninja.com/
  • Founded 2014
  • Israel

About Invoice Ninja

Free, open-source solution for invoicing your clients online. Track time, create tasks, and automate the invoicing process.


Invoice Ninja Features

  • Contingency Billing
  • Customer Portal
  • Customizable Invoices
  • Hourly Billing
  • Invoice History
  • Mobile Payments
  • Multi-Currency
  • Online Invoicing
  • Online Payments
  • Project Billing
  • Recurring/Subscription Billing
  • Service Ticket Billing

Invoice Ninja Reviews Recently Reviewed!

D4cd978d6b571243a6fdb9bb25fab9ec

Fantastic, what a great product!

Nov 01, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: ease of use, based in the cloud, free starter product to get you going, there is nothing not to like about Invoice Ninja.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on November 03, 2017

Thank you for your great review!

The overal experience its been very successful over the last 2 years I been using the product.

Oct 31, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Excellent product, the support its awesome.
My experience in general its very grateful, tried several invoices system but this has just what I need.

Thanks Invoice Ninja for this excellent product.
A Happy client!... Happy Days!

Overall: A central database with clients and providers, invoices, estimates, payments .
they have a mobile app and also a time tracking software.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on November 07, 2017

Thank you for your generous review!

D6be8ebe3ebbe2705e9eb8bff9754355

Has vastly improved my invoicing process and made easy what was once an arduous task.

Oct 31, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: This software is so easy to use, but is packed with features! Everything gets calculated automatically, and all of my clients' information is stored in one place. Probably the most valuable feature for me is the automatic email reminders, since some clients forget to pay me on time. I never have to go back and figure out who's paid me and who hasn't, since Invoice Ninja tracks this for me. I can even see who has Viewed my invoices, which is very helpful.

Cons: 1. I think recurring invoices can be improved. Ideally, payments would automatically be drafted at each interval, rather than emailing an invoice for client to pay. Also, I'd like a better way to automatically display the correct service date range for quarterly invoices when the recurring invoices are generated. For annual invoices, I can use the year variable which would change each year, but for custom date ranges every quarter I haven't figured out an automatic method. I just change the date range manually before the next invoice is sent.

2. Although data can be exported, tax information is not. It would be VERY helpful to have sales tax info exported as well, instead of total invoice amounts. Currently, I have to look at each invoice individually each quarter when filing state sales tax returns. That is the only way I can determine pre-tax revenue amounts.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on November 03, 2017

Thank you for your very kind review! Please email us and we'll help you setup auto-billing so your invoices are automatically paid. When editing a recurring invoice if you click the question mark next to the frequency select you'll see some more help. Invoice item taxes have been added to the export in our latest release.

751aad4953e394e1c515da0b4a27b15f

good and ease of use.

Oct 26, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: very user friendly what most of the feature. if future can add in the delivery order function will be perfect.

Cons: it was simple to be use for small customer office, how about for the customer with more than 2 delivery address which have a lot of branch or customer site. hope can add in more feature in coming version.

Overall: google

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on November 03, 2017

Thanks for your review and feedback! We're planning on adding a delivery order feature in an upcoming release.

810e4559681126c6d9fe677aa6fbae62

Awesome software for a great price (free self host or 20usd/year Whitelabel)

Oct 19, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The free self host version is complete but the per year Whitelabel fee is totally worth it! The best about this software is the active development that really listens to suggestions from it's users. This makes it the most powerful invoice package available. If it isn't the best yet, it will be!!

Cons: The mobile accessibility could be improved. Also the Android app could be improved and maybe more focused on the tasks.

Overall: Easier invoicing, getting paid faster through iDeal (online payment) and easier management of expenses and administration tasks.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 24, 2017

Thank you very much for your excellent review! Agreed, we're currently working to improve the tasks functionality in the mobile and web versions of the app. Let us know if there are other features you'd like to see added.

Invoice and the team running it are amazing!

Oct 19, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Nice UI/UX, really impressive on how easy it is to manage your business with that.
I also love the buy buttons, that allow to turn any web page in a professional shop.

Cons: I'm also using the open source version of it, and the optimization is still a bit misterious, I have a bit of troubles to make it as fast as the online version.
But I'll figure it out :)

Overall: Fast and intuitive, allow me to manage my invoices, quote, recurring from one interface.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 24, 2017

Thank you for your very kind review! Feel free to email us and we'll help you optimize your install. We'll also try to add clearer instructions in the docs.

I don't use all features InvoiceNinja has but I can only recommend it to any freelancer like me!

Oct 19, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It's fast, intuitive, full of features, highly customizable, and free! I tried several other free invoicing tools but InvoiceNinja beats all.

Cons: I use it in self hosted mode, adding a custom currency was not that easy in this version like in the previous.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 25, 2017

Thank you for your review! If you email us the currency you're using we'd be happy to add it to the app.

0022544d64ab4d43b5d8b606fa604241

Fulfills every invoicing need a business owner could possibly have

Oct 12, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Invoice Ninja provides every tool a business owner could possibly want when it comes to secure, accurate, and easy-to-use invoicing software. I've been using their invoice system for six months and everything is straightforward, clear, and very user-friendly. There are many great options in regards to payment gateways, invoicing customization, and the automation requirements I need as a busy small business owner. I can't imagine using anyone else now for my invoicing.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 14, 2017

Thank you for your extraordinary review!

Extremely easy to use, very clear and intuitive

Oct 10, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I operate a small freelance business, and Invoice Ninja is perfect for my needs. I have no accounting/bookkeeping experience or knowledge, and I find that with Invoice Ninja, I can do everything I need to invoice my clients and get paid online very easily and quickly.
Customer support is beyond anything I've seen before. When I've had questions or issues in the past, I've sent an email and received a response almost instantly.
The free version is very suitable for my needs, and they don't hassle me to upgrade. It really is free.
My clients are very happy with the system. It makes receiving/paying invoices and receiving receipts very easy for them too.
I also really like the fact that the invoices look good, without me having to do anything really. I'm a writer - not a bookkeeper, not a software programmer, and not a graphic designer. Invoice Ninja is a good solution that doesn't demand any special knowledge or effort from me. From my poitn of view, that's probably its strongest point.

Overall: I think the toggle menu on the right (displaying the latest invoices) is not necessary, so I just keep it closed.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review, we really appreciate it!

F293893763c4fdda37651fc997d0d819

Sending invoices to customers is now so easy.

Oct 09, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It is a program designed to make invoicing customers easy. It saves customer information, fast and efficient, customers can pay with a variety of credit cards and checking what invoices have been paid is a breeze. Customer service is a pleasure.

Overall: I have an easy and efficient way to bill customers and track it. I highly recommend Invoice Ninja.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 14, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

B1c0542f9134720106b3eee82589911b

Super easy to setup and use. Makes it really easy to invoice customers.

Oct 09, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I love the live .PDF invoice creation. Overall it's just easy to use, and has all the tools that I need to invoice my clients.

Cons: Not sure on this. The only nit-picky thing I can think of, being a graphic designer, I would change a couple of the icons.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 14, 2017

Thank you for your excellent review! We hear ya... choosing icons is hard.

D05556c9f94bc4d76dda20182a839303

mind blowing experience

Oct 09, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: I was cutting and pasting info in and out of word docs whenever i needed to create an invoice. Invoice Ninja is now just a simple part of our workflow, I don't even think about creating invoices anymore. They just happen

Overall: Simple and easy to use invoice generation

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 14, 2017

Thank you for your great review!

Excellent product, we have been using it for several years for various projects

Oct 04, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: ease of integration with stripe.
Ability to add additional documents to payment page.
Multi User Ability
Multi Currency
Mutli Project within 1 acccount

Overall: receive $

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 09, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's very much appreciated! Please be in touch if there are specific features you'd like to see added.

Unbelievable time saver!

Oct 03, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Integrates with basically every payment processor
Ease of use is through the roof
Plenty of documentation and forum support

Cons: I really REALLY wish I could manage project expenditures without charging them to the client. It would be amazing if I could allocate money to my freelancers within this dashboard

Overall: Easy to send invoices and manage incoming money

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your review! Feel free to email us at contact@invoiceninja.com for help working out a solution to track expenditures, maybe you could use vendors/expenses?

I have been an avid user for last ~6 months; excellent in all ways.

Sep 19, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The product strikes me as having been built exactly to my needs. The functionality is complete, logically designed, and in keeping with the theme entrepreneurs crave "I want to get things done quickly and looking professional...". Customer service is incredible. Even after reviewing their well supplied help pages, sometimes I want to talk to a person. I have received responses in 5 minutes to 2 hours which is among the best of the best of any service I have ever used over 2 decades. And they keep adding features, some of which I didn't even think about but have come to incorporate into my operations. I am envious of how high quality a product and service they deliver as i strive for similar in my business. Lastly, IN holds great value/cost relationship for small & young startups like me. I can not say enough good things.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Probably the nicest review we've ever received, thank you for your kind words!!

Get it. Pay the $80/yr or whatever it is for the fancy version. Be thrilled with the value.

Sep 06, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It accomplishes a task (automatic, variable-sum, bank drafts) that few services can do (and those that can do it for materially more cost).

It works quite well on all my devices, you can integrate it with nearly anything at this point...

Cons: The UX is a little wonky sometimes. More clicks/loading than should be needed to do some tasks (related to manual record entry is where I've seen it the most).

Overall: It does automated billing tasks that are beyond the ability of many other (much higher cost) software we've looked at.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your review! We're constantly working to refine the UX to optimize as many use cases as possible. If you could email us with specific workflows which take more clicks than needed it would be very helpful to us. We'll review and attempt to fix where possible.

A simple solution to creating professional looking invoices that saves your time.

Sep 05, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Very quick to load and double check what is going on with respect to invoices so you don't need to have the software open all the time.

Cons: If you come from an accounting background some of the reports are unconventional. For instance the Statement only shows outstanding items and not a full audit trail.

Overall: Time saving and a more professional look.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thanks for your excellent review! We appreciate the feedback, in a recent release we've added additional settings to the client statement. We plan to continue to improve the reports in general.

I use the free version in a very simple way for a one-woman tour operator business. It's perfect!

Sep 05, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: It just works. No problems. It was easy to set up. I had one question and support replied immediately. It's so easy to use at the level I need now that I'm tempted to see what it can do at the paid level.

Overall: It links to Stripe to take payments from clients online.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your review! If you have any questions about the pro plan let us know. We try to make the free plan extremely usable and will keep adding features to both plans.

Simple, feature complete and a pleasure to use

Sep 05, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The super easy to use User Interface, the fact that is open source and the payment gateway integration.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your stellar review!

Brings the invoicing experience to another level :)

Sep 04, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Cuts down a number of tedious steps in invoice creation and following up with contacts. Makes invoice creation finally a painless experience.

Cons: More integration needed with other apps (say Pipedrive), now apparently fixed :) Like, contact import from other sources.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your review! If you haven't seen it you may want to try using Zapier to integrate with Pipedrive https://zapier.com/zapbook/invoice-ninja/pipedrive/

Invoice Ninja review

Sep 04, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Firstly the great support, secondly the user experience that it's so intuitive.
Overall feeling its a robust system.
Congratulations to them team, them awesome on what they do.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review!

Huge value for the price

Sep 04, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Love that Invoice Ninja is super easy to use and has a variety of valuable features. Additionally, the price is right!

Cons: Wish it would integrate with Quickbooks, but even though it doesn't, it's value outweighs the costs of having to manually enter client payments.

Overall: On-time and easy payments from clients

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank your for your review! If you use Quickbooks online you can integrate the apps using Zapier: https://zapier.com/zapbook/invoice-ninja/quickbooks/ Otherwise, maybe you can import/export the data. Feel free to email us for help.

Great App for Freelancers and Small Business

Sep 04, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Free tier is great for creating invoices. Even the top tier is cost effective for Freelancers or Small Businesses who need the extra features.

Always being updated, it is open source so if you want to assist or add your own features you can do what you want.

Cons: Could use a time-tracking feature, especially if it is aimed towards freelancers who are wanting to bill their time.

Overall: Easy to create invoices for my clients, automatic follow up emails.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your extremely kind review! We agree entirely, we're working to improve our time tracking in an upcoming release: https://trello.com/c/9t8vEOWp/33-added-time-tracker

Best invoice system for small online entrepreneurs

Sep 04, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: The tool is simple and easy to learn, very versatile and their customer service is helpful, fast and friendly.

Cons: Can't think of any to be honest.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the app, it's really appreciated! Hope the app is still working well for you!

Standout feature was the service. About 2 dozen emails answered with solutions in minutes

Aug 22, 2017
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: The basic package was fairly easy to set up. Everything configured and linked first time. All notifications worked. It has the capacity to handle complexity and simplicity equally making it very versatile for a range of user demands. The designs are clean and sharp

Cons: The only drawback concerns the more complex nature of incorporating custom imagery which is unwieldy, and for people with limited expertise (me) could be quite a challenge. Luckily Invoice Ninja do provide first class support and I found they took me through the process (even completing some of it for me in places). My emails were answered all round the clock, and within minutes of being sent, so no seriously drawn out delays caused by 24 hr response lags etc

Overall: To early to say

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your very kind review! We hope to make it easier to embed images in a future release, thanks for taking the time to work through it with us.

Invoices with my branding and ability to accept payment with Stripe

Jul 18, 2017
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality

Pros: I went with the hosted paid version, which allows me to include my logo and custom number my invoices. I can keep a simple product list for filling in my invoices, and accept payments with Stripe. Clients have had no problem paying their invoices since I started in January 2017.

Cons: I wish it accepted both Stripe and PayPal, but I haven't figured that out. Occasionally it hangs for a bit after creating a new client but doesnt freeze anywhere else. The reports are useful, but the Tax Rate one doesn't include the client's name, only invoice numbers and from what I can tell it is in first name order when I look the numbers up.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thanks for your review! Feel free to email us if you'd like help setting up PayPal along with Stripe or if you experience any software issues. We'll make sure to add the client name to the tax report in our next release.

We used to use Clearbooks... InvoiceNinja assassinated that.

Jun 05, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 9.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: We are a small digital company based in Scotland and were using clear books... then out of the blue Invoice Ninja got recommended by a client. Its transformed our company finances. Clearbooks had too much, other softwares had very little. Invoice Ninja is right bang in the middle, giving you the necessary tools to go ahead, which is excellent.

They keep updating it so its better every month aswell.

-Its extremely fluid and easy to use
-updating it on the road with the app is excellent
-its very clear cut, no clutter

Overall: Just better finance management. Its very clear in its operation. You can see at a glance whats happening within the company, how much money is owed and how much is earned every quarter etc. Brilliant.
haven't found anything as of yet (using it for 6 months paid) and the monthly updates keep improving it. will edit this to reflect if any problems arise

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your excellent review! Please feel free to email us at contact@invoiceninja.com to let us know what features you'd like to see added next. In case you haven't seen it you can follow our roadmap here: https://trello.com/b/63BbiVVe/invoice-ninja

Nothing but good words, if i encounter an issue i get allmost immediat response!

Jun 01, 2017
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: -Easy to use
- All the features and then some
- GREAT support
- Continuous updates
- Fast
- Mobile App
- Cheap to run

Cons: - Updating can be a hassle sometimes but support makes it up big time
- I can't really thing if something more... ( 10char min :P )

Overall: Hassle free invoice creation

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thanks for the amazing review! If you haven't already you may want to try using this shell script to auto-update the self-host version of the app: https://pastebin.com/j657uv9A

This is a great invoicing software

May 18, 2017
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend: 10.0/10 Not
Likely
Extremely
Likely

Pros: Easy to use and very effective software. I use it for invoicing all my customers and it works great. It get updated very often and the support community is great.

Cons: The fact that you have to pay to have white label license in self hosted environment.
Some minor problems in invoice design.

Overall: I stopped using paper invoices and i have a clean view of my income.

Vendor Response

by InvoiceNinja on October 06, 2017

Thank you for your very kind review! Feel free to email us if you'd like help perfecting your invoice design.