Braina Ratings

Overall
4.1/5
Ease of Use
3.9/5
Customer Service
4/5

About Braina

Multi-language speech recognition software with the ability to dictate in any third party software or to fill forms on websites. Apart from dictation, Braina also provides voice command features that allows you to search the web, open file, programs & websites, find information, set reminders, take notes and much more. You can use your voice to dictate text to your Windows computer, automate processes and improve your personal and business productivity. Learn more about Braina

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 18 of 18 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Srinivas P.
CEO
Retail, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2017

“Responsive and Cool”

OverallSaves time compared to typing.
ProsVery light software. Easy to install and use. I use it to dictate emails in gmail and word. Works decently even in noisy environment. I also like the artificial brain feature which remembers information.
ConsIt opens up a speech recognition window. What you speak appears in this window and also in the software in which you are dictating. I can minimize this window and continue to dictate but i can't understand the need of providing this extra speech recognition window .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2017
Amy L.
Doctor
Medical Practice, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2017

“Great Transcription Program”

OverallI am a doctor and I use Braina Pro to dictate notes and transcribe existing medical audio files to text. It works flawlessly with good accuracy. Better than Dragon software.
ProsIt has live speech to text feature but it can also transcribe pre-recorded audio files if you install a add-on plugin as they have suggested on their blog. It saves lot of time and increases productivity.
ConsNo cons found.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you don't want to use virtual assistant feature and only planning to use the software for transcription then you may enable dictation mode on program startup automatically by specifying startup command from Tools menu as "dictation mode on".
Source: Capterra
April 19, 2017
Jason K.
CEO
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2017

“Voice automation and dictation makes tasks easier”

OverallTime savings and productivity increased
ProsIt is not just a simple dictation tool or personal assistant. It is a complete speech recognition enabled automation package. It helps in doing most of the tasks I do on computer without using keyboard or mouse. I use it to write emails, dictate documents, set reminders, as a notes database, voice command applications, listen songs, transcribe recorded audio files to text and
ConsUI is simple to use which is a plus point but it can also be made attractive to look more appealing.
Source: Capterra
May 4, 2017
Ankit B.
Sr. Accounting Analyst
Accounting, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2017

“Excellent experience”

OverallDictation saves time. It also takes notes and has alarm function.
ProsIt is quick, easy to use and very accurate in speech recognition. Apart from the dictation, it is helpful in office assistant tasks such as setting reminders, notes and searching files.
ConsBraina is only available for Windows PC right now. I asked them about any possibilities for Mac support in near future. They replied it will take 6 more months! Moreover, they have an Android app for wireless mic support but they don't have an iOS app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 28, 2017
Jason T.
CEO
E-Learning, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017

“Very, very disappointed”

OverallNone - it does not work as it should
ProsIt takes fewer computer resources than Dragon. I can run it with other applications open - Dragon drags the computer performance down.
ConsIt doesn't work correctly... I have tried, but it wastes more time than it saves. I really don't like having to do this, but people need to be warned about products like this. I have used Dragon for a long time. It is disappointing for a lot of reasons, but at least it works. You can dictate long sentences to Braina and the text it copies to the application does not include everything you said. You may not be aware that Braina opens a window where it types what you say, it seems to think about it for a moment, and then it copies the text to the open application (e.g. Word). But often what you see in Word and what is in the Braina window are different! If you are quick enough you can manually copy the text, but it disappears after a moment. And it usually gets the punctuation wrong - there may be operator error, but if you dictate "the cat likes dogs, and fish like food" you will either get "...dogs, and ..." , or get "...dogs , and..." (i.e. with a space), or "... dogs comma and fish..." (i.e. with the word). I have an Australian accent, but I speak at many international conferences and people comment how clear my accent is. Not that it matters, but the user interface is ugly. But if it worked I would not care.

Vendor Response

By Brainasoft on August 11, 2017
The default language is English (United States). As you are from Australia, you will need to select English (Australia) as your speech recognition language for the software to work correctly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 8, 2017
Gopikrishnan I.
Legal Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
August 18, 2016

“Better Speech Recognition than Dragon”

OverallI am a lawyer and I have been using Braina Pro since a month and it is extremely useful software which has increased my productivity. It is also fun to use as it is not just a dictation software but also a voice control and personal assistant software.
ProsSpeech recognition is better than Dragon. Also useful as a Cortana alternative.
ConsCan't dictate when computer is offline but it's not a big problem for me as my PC is connected to the Internet 24 by 7.
Recommendations to other buyersIf you are going to buy for two computer systems then select "2 system license option" on order page. They give 50% discount on second license. I missed this option while making payment and had to pay full amount for second license.
Source: Capterra
August 18, 2016
John S.
Real Estate Manager
Real Estate, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2017

“Simple, easy, fast and accurate”

OverallThe interface is very simple to use and it works out of the box. No need to spend hours to train the software. Install it and start dictating. Works in most of the languages of the world, but I only use for English voice recognition. Voice recognition aliases feature can be used for word corrections. It is fast and saves time.
ProsSimple interface and the ability to recognise multiple users without creating voice profiles and training for each one.
ConsIt needs Internet connection.
Recommendations to other buyersThe personal assistant feature is icing to the cake. Useful for reminders, notes and searching PC for files, music and videos.
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2018

“Using this software was a wonderful experience. In addition to being very easy when installing it on”

OverallIt provides voice command functions allowing you to search the web, open files, programs and websites, find information, set reminders, take notes and much more. You can also use the voice to dictate text to a Windows computer, automate processes and improve personal and business productivity.
ProsWhat I liked the most was being able to interact with the computer only with my voice, it is not necessary to use the keyboard.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 11, 2018
Sagar D.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2017

“Great for automated tasks”

OverallI have used this software for more than a month now, and is very useful for automating tasks. Searching and doing things in my jumbled file storage is tedious, using this makes my life productive.
ProsThe AI system that is builtin is very impressive. Teaching is also easy.
ConsUser interface is so depressing a bit.
Recommendations to other buyersMore features can be added that I being a user would like to have, but adding features seems to be slow.
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2017
TM C.
writer
1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2016

“Good! (Wish there was a truly FREE Pro trial)”

OverallI am a fiction writer and find that it's easier for me to dictate first drafts instead of typing them. Braina is quick, responsive and fairly easy to get used to. This is better than Dragon.
ProsVery easy to use from first attempt. Understands my speech without being nit-picky. Is more affordable (and better) than some similar popular software.
ConsThe trial is not as functional as some users might like or testing before buying. The only way to try the Pro version is for requesting a refund before the end of the 7-day period , but that refund will be minus a $7 charge. That was kind of petty, IMO.
Recommendations to other buyersI think that this will be useful for other fiction writers. Once you're finished dictating, it's easy to go in and clean up your work for a final draft.
Source: Capterra
June 13, 2016
Dominique G.
Digital Marketing Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2017

“I consider this an easy to use product for enthusiast or for the disabled.”

ProsI have used many chatbots over the years. I think Braina is fairly straight-forward. It has a simple interface and is not difficult to navigate or understand the U.I.
ConsLike I had mentioned before, I have used a lot of chatbots over the years. What I did not like about Braina is that the interface looks really plain-Jane and boring. I feel a visual upgrade of sorts would be great. Another thing I did not care for was the robotic sounding voices. I acknowledge that this is not the fault of the Braina developers. However they could have chosen to use a little more realistic sounding voices.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2017
Mohamed S.
Business Owner
Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019

“Braina Pro - Speech recognition program”

OverallVery bad experience. Never buy any product from them. When I asked for a refund during the 7 days money back guarantee they ignored my request.
ProsThere is a lot of other Free programs that can do its functions so don't bother to buy it.
ConsBad customer service Software has bugs - while using the transcription feature, the popup starts over and let you lose all the transcribed text.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 23, 2019
Rajiv S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2015

“Dictates accurately to third party software like MS Word in English and many other languages.”

OverallPROS 1) Best speech recognition accuracy 1) Supports 40 languages of the world 2) Allows to create custom voice commands to open specific file, folder, website or program 3) Also an assistant software 4) Voice Recognition Aliases CONS 1) For non-English language you will have to setup the punctuation marks. Not a big con but they should have provided it by default. 2) Needs Internet connection

Vendor Response

By Brainasoft on October 19, 2015
Thank you for your review and suggestion.
Source: Capterra
October 17, 2015
Avatar Image
romay zuleima f.
Docente Agregado
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 10, 2018

“Tasks done only with the voice, amaizing”

Overalleasy way of writing a text
ProsOther activities can be done while it is possible to create a written text only with the use of the voice
ConsIt is necessary to review and edit the written texts because of some misinterpreted terms. The cost is a little bit expensive
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 10, 2018
Urjit S.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2017

“Works Perfectly”

OverallWorks well for dictation in any software or website. I use it especially for dictating emails and word documents. It is fast, easy to use and 99% accurate. It needs more features though and should work offline.
ProsAccuracy and Ease of use. It is lightweight and cheap too.
ConsIt needs the Internet to work.
Source: Capterra
January 29, 2017
Effie S.
Freelance translator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2016

“My arms and hands now rest!”

OverallI use the PRO version. I initially bought an annual subscription for just 29$ so as to try it and I can use Braina to write on any interface. It is perfect in all respects. Thank you so much! I will definitely buy the 3-year subscription soon.
Source: Capterra
March 20, 2016
Darshan T.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2016

“accurate and effective speech recognition software”

OverallThe software has a very Simple interface. No need of training yet best speech to text results.I am using the software since a year and it has definitely increased my productivity.
Source: Capterra
December 10, 2016
Dianne L.
DPT Program Assistant
Education Management, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2017

“Could not get it to work and there is no customer support other than virtual. ”

Overall I could not get it to work. It continuously tried to connect and then it would tell me to select the "Allow", but there was nowhere to select it. Even the IT people couldn't get it to work.
ConsCould not get it to work and no customer support. I emailed them because there wasn't a phone number, and still no response.

Vendor Response

By Brainasoft on July 3, 2017
Hello, You are facing this issue, not because of a problem with Braina but rather an issue with your Chrome browser. The permission to use microphone is blocked on your Chrome browser. Please give permission by following the steps mentioned in the email that we have already sent you. If you can't find the email in your inbox, please check your spam/other folder. Regards.
Source: Capterra
July 1, 2017