ChangeGear Ratings

Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5

About ChangeGear

Take you Change Management process to the next level! Deliver enterprise grade change management engineered for business agility. ChangeGear by Sunview Software uses advanced automation and controls to streamline the entire change and release management process. Learn more about ChangeGear

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 48 of 48 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 48 of 48 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
David G.
Help Desk Supervisor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2017

“Excellent Customer Service Throughout The Entire Process Of Implementing ChangeGear! ”

OverallOur Change Management process was over-hauled and we now have the tools in place to track/manage our changes. End Users now have a knowledge base they can access to assist in resolving their own issues. The email notification and rules within the Email Connector allow tickets to be worked/processed/closed all through email responses. The use of the Service Catalog allows the End User to enter tickets and decide from a list of our services what they actually need to be able to efficiently do their jobs.
ProsEverything. ChangeGear has made an immediate impact in our facility by allowing us to create relationships between different ticket types, engage with the End User via Self Service/Surveys and has allowed us to enhance our Change Management process. We now have a Service Catalog that details our services and is published to our Customers. The ability to customize the ChangeGear application to meet our environment made the implementation process very smooth. The Sales team did a great job in meeting our financial needs as well as facilitating a smooth transition to the implementation team. The implementation team was quick to answer questions and ensure our initial setup/installment was flawless. The Professional Services Team has been informative and patient while configuring the application and teaching our technical lead. The Support Team has been courteous and diligent in making sure any issue is resolved quickly. Access to their Self Service Portal provides a multitude of knowledge base articles that allows me as a customer to resolve many of our issues by myself.
ConsThere are no error messages when two technicians are in the same ticket trying to update the ticket. Sometimes you cannot find exactly what you are looking for in their Knowledge Base but a submitting a ticket to their support team will get you the answers you need to any issue you might encounter. The user manual and administrator manual can lack information; however, what you don't find there you can find in MySunviewSoftware Support KB articles. The manuals need the screenshots updated as well.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 20, 2017
Charles R.
Server Administrator
Government Administration, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Daily User Review”

OverallOverall, we are extremely pleased with the software. The support staff and professional services are always on top of their game. When there is a problem, follow-up is quick and resolution comes shortly afterwards. Highly professional across the board. If you meet them at a conference, they are pleasant to work with on your issues and always open to suggestions. It's nice to know that there is a good team behind the product.
ProsThere is plenty out-of-the-box forms that follow ITIL standards which made it helpful for our organization to jump start into it. The simple end-user front-end, the Self Service Portal, makes users feel comfortable with entering requests without the need to look over complicated. We have had no complaints from our end users about the product. It is very "easy on the eyes" with a clear and precise web interface for our service desk technicians. The knowledge base along with the smart technology makes it easy for technicians to find resolutions much quicker than in the past.
ConsCustomization can be a challenge. Creating forms is rather clumsy and if you make a mistake, it takes some time to correct it. Updating from one version to another is also challenging since it is an update in place and not a migration. There is a roadmap where this will be updated in a future release of ChangeGear.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Ben W.
IT Infrastructure Manager
Business Supplies and Equipment, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2016

“ChangeGear - Great Product Delivered by a Great Company”

OverallMy company has been using ChangeGear for approximately two years. We love the product's ease of use, administration and feature sets. The initial price tag was VERY competitive. We found that the product can deliver Enterprise level capabilities at the price point of a typical SMB product. The support of the product has been great when we have to use it (which is almost never). They deliver the product in many forms including Public cloud, Hybrid or on-premise. SunView is highly committed to product development as evidenced by the latest features inherent to ChangeGear v7. Many would consider them a visionary or leading-edge company in the ITSM industry. SunView is also easy to do business with and you will be treated like a family member. Go just buy it. You won't look back.
ProsEase of use (for end-users and agents/admins alike) Ease of administration Feature sets Flexibilty of installation (Cloud, Hybrid, On-Premise) Pricing Ease of configuration
ConsRemote manageability of certain features on full Public Cloud instance (requiring SunView support to interact)
Recommendations to other buyersGo just get it!
Source: Capterra
October 10, 2016
Brandon W.
CIP Compliance Analyst
Utilities, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Easy to manage a manipulate”

OverallWe came from a paper change process before but change gear allowed us to move to digital approvals with an audit trail and a centralized place to store evidence for every change that takes place. Overall, from approval to completion the time it takes is nothing like it was before. We get results instantly.
ProsI can configure everything in the change management system from the GUI to the backend workflows. Change gear is by far one of the most stable out of the box experiences i have come across.
ConsThe reporting could be a little more detailed out of the box to make compliance easier to manage. although Sunview provided us with a SSRS plugin to give us the details we need to meet our compliance requirements.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Jonathan A.
Business Analyst
Utilities, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019

“ChangeGear Product Review”

OverallWe use ChangeGear for the primarily application within our Business Technology group (IR, RFC, CMDB). Since having a stable and very utilized product within BT, we have started to development the application for various other business units around the organization. Overall, ChangeGear has been a great tool for NWE and we plan on growing the use of the application in the future.
ProsGreat, easy to use tool that provides customization capabilities to fit almost any business need.
ConsTransport structure and method between environments (DEV, TST, PRD). OID's and other configuration seem to get misaligned which causes the testing team to always have to perform thorough testing, even with the most simple changes.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 26, 2019
Pam T.
IT Systems Support Professional
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018

“We would have insisted on initial vendor set-up, with one-on-one training for application management”

OverallCustomer email notification and trending to forecast needs and change business processes. It also tracks what customers need more help with which has resulted in projecting future expectations.
ProsWe enjoy the application flexibility to make changes that suit our business needs and processes and not being held to limitations due to functionality.
ConsWhat we like least about the software is the need for customization's that would require Professional Services. If resources are out there, they should probably be made available to the customers to follow and implement on their own. It would be nice to include better reporting capabilities and functionality.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 15, 2018
Terese K.
Service and Support Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2017

“ChangeGear is a very user friendly tool that makes ITSM simple!”

ProsIt has modules to accomplish just about everything you could ask for that are simple to use and understand! It fully integrates into your environment and provides tools for you to use to better manage everything from issues and service requests to knowledge and assets!
ConsI would like to be able to import MS Word documents or PDF's for the knowledge base. It would also be great if it could integrate with the phone system so that when a user calls, a new ticket auto-populates with their information.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 26, 2017
Avatar Image
Aaron D.
Application Administrator
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2017

“Flexible software that will meet your needs quickly”

OverallTracking of all Incidents, Requests, Problems, and Changes in our environments is easy to track and report upon. I'm able to take requests from our business and turn out solutions quickly and efficiently.
ProsThe software is very flexible in what it can do, allowing us to meet business demands quickly and efficiently in an ever changing environment.
ConsThe automation for forms could be streamlined some more, but this appears to be an issue that will disappear, as with each release they're improving the automation.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 22, 2017
Nicole S.
IT Governance and Service Analyst
Paper & Forest Products, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018

“Great Product and Great Customer Service”

OverallWe are better able to manage our incidents, service requests and changes.
ProsChangeGear is easy to use and customize for our needs and anytime I have had to contact Customer Support I have gotten quick knowledgeable responses and resolutions to my issues. SunView listens to their customers suggestions and is continually working to improve the product.
ConsThere is not really anything that we dislike about the ChangeGear product or services provided by Sunview.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 18, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Construction, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2017

“Our go to ITSM tool”

OverallWe have been using it as our main ticketing system for Incidents and Service Requests and also using it for our Change Management tool. This has helped us streamline our business processes around ticketing system
ProsEase of configuration and flexibility of the product. New features that are added recently such as Task Spawning, Multiple Workflows, Intelli Search etc.
ConsIIS needs resetting after changes made to forms and fields. May be they can do something that it would not require user to reset it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“ChangeGear for Change Management”

OverallMy experience with ChangeGear is probably considered as advanced. I have worked with the solution for years and have trained internal staff on how to properly use the solution for our change management needs. I would not consider myself as an expert with ChangeGear as I have been limited on the changes I would make to this solution. Such changes would require paid support for customizations and we were not in a position to travel down that path.
ProsThis software solution hits all of the marks in regard to product offering and meeting the needs of the business process. The solution has a wealth of functionality and can be easily tailored to fit any organizational business process as it relates to change management. It is very easy for the business to use while ensuring that it provided enough content to support an established change management process.
ConsThe least favorable aspect to this solution is its complexity. The complexity is enough to customize the solution to a wide range of needs for change management. However, the customization can be a tedious task that may desire for one to obtain more from the solution. And the solution can provide more is that is what you choose.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2018

“Change Gear - Please Don't Change”

OverallChange gear, although wasn't the prettiest, was essential to what our company required. Easy to use, appealing interface, fast. ChangeGear was loved by all because of it's functionality. I would say it was my favourite service management application.
ProsGreat functionality and ease of use. Simple to learn, simple to master Perfect for our environment Reminders for outstanding tickets
ConsCould be confusing for new users. Not the best support
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 13, 2018
Tim W.
Change Manager/ITSM Administrator
Telecommunications, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019

“Mitel Networks ChangeGear Deployment”

OverallOverall a very positive experience
ProsEase of use, both from an administrative and general usage perspective.
ConsDocumentation: Admin Guide and a few operational shortcomings
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 13, 2019
Jean C.
IT Manager, Service Desk
Utilities, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“ChangeGear”

OverallOur overall experience with the software is great. The vendor is a valued business partner and is always making improvements and asking how they can be better.
ProsThe self service portal for our customers is very well received.
ConsThe version that we are currently on makes it difficult for Service Desk staff to know what is in their workload, but the next version of the software is changing this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Robert C.
Vice President - Service Desk
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2019

“Full Featured Product”

OverallWe purchased this software to better understand customer demand and to better document our internal change process. The software meet this goal, easily. Now we're using it so that customers can perform self-help and agents can document and learn solutions to standard problems.
ProsThe ChangeGear software is feature-rich with all the modules necessary to create an ITIL based service management process. Easy to configure ticket workflow with notifications. Customizable data entry screens. Customizable (everything in this system can be customized from the interface to the database) reports and dashboards.
ConsThe software interface is somewhat dated and hierarchical.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 2, 2019
Avatar Image
Tylene C.
Supervisor of Technical Support
Education Management, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019

“ChangeGear in K12 Environment”

ProsIt is very versatile and IF you know what you are doing, could handle just about any scenario.
ConsUnless we have a lot of money for services, for a typical technology user, the software is very complex. K12 environments don't have the money or resources to get the most out of this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 28, 2019
Tammy B.
Application Analyst III
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Houston Methodist Product Review - ChangeGear”

ProsThere are many prebuilt workflows which follows ITIL standards which gives the customer a base to design according to their business needs.
ConsThe overall appearance of ChangeGear forms are dated. Would be nice if
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Brad B.
IT Manager
Telecommunications, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4.5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 28, 2015

“Very customizable and useful product.”

ProsI liked best that the vendor worked with us on suggestions on how to increase certain capabilities of the product. They also made migrating to this product very simple. I also liked how the vendor thought logically about the functionality of the product and how it would be used in real world scenarios.
ConsI have not ran into what I consider what I like least about the product or vendor.
Recommendations to other buyersIt seems every company has their own certain way of doing change control, but having a tool that is customizable to your needs makes that process a lot easier. With that said walk through a change scenario with this product first and be open minded and I think you will see how logical it already is.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 28, 2015
Paula C.
IT Help Desk Supervisor
Education Management, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“ChangeGear Review”

OverallCurrently we are strictly using this as our IT Help Desk Ticket Management System.
ProsThe end users love this software. If you have a good programmer on your team, this product will do just about whatever you want.
ConsNeed someone that understands the "back-end" to program all your customizations. There is a lot of lag time when trying to enter a ticket; sluggish.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Insurance, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“ChangeGear - it's good enough”

ProsEase of use. Creating incident tickets is quick and intuitive.
ConsCustomer support. the only time I hear from my support contact is at renewal time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Education Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Great Potential”

OverallOur experience has not been positive, so far, but that is largely due to the combination of challenges presented by our non-typical environment and a lack of time/effort to make ChangeGear work. We haven't completely given up yet, because we see the potential.
ProsChangeGear provides Flexibility and Configurability in a package with a clear ITIL orientation. It seems to be a good value, considering the balance of sophistication and cost.
ConsIt is very challenging to implement in a non-Active Directory environment; although it can, in theory, work in a non-AD infrastructure, it is far from easy to make it work. The agent-less computer scanning is a nice feature in theory, but it can also be hard to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Oil & Energy, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2019

“Good service but requires careful adjustment”

ProsThis software has a nice and clear interface. Quickly you can run into the product if there is time. Developers eliminate the problems that arise during implementation.
ConsThe program has no localization. Designed for English-speaking countries. Self-localization is complicated. Old version of the program is available for the user on the site. Updates are sent through support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Teresa B.
IT Business Analyst
Telecommunications, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2018

“Customizable, Competitive and Customer Friendly”

OverallIncreased customer communication.
ProsThe Customization and flexibility of options available at a competitive price point. Ability for users to submit their own tickets, monitor the progress and interact with technicians. Support teams that are engaging, quick to respond and knowledgeable enough to identify, solve, or guide you to a resolution.
ConsUser and Admin. manuals can lack information but since the system is so configurable I am not sure they would be able to account of every possibility. More than 1 technician can be in the same ticket at the same time. Modules do not always contain the same basic field options. Each module does have various module specific fields but it would be nice to have a standard set across all modules.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 8, 2018
Donnie C.
CIO
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2015

“Sunview Software is a great company to work with. ChangeGear is Great.”

ProsThe ChangeGear product has all the tools needed to run a successful incident, change and help desk system. I have been a user for many years and the team at Sunview has always been top notch. Any questions, concerns or issues the support folks were right on it.
ConsThere isn't anything that I have personally come across that couldn't be handled in a timely manner. Not one piece that I would do away with.
Recommendations to other buyersSunview Software ChangeGear is really a one stop application when looking for the total package.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 16, 2015
Verified Reviewer
Hospital & Health Care, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Easy To Use Ticketing System”

OverallOverall, I have had good experience with ChangeGear as a technical support specialist.
ProsChangeGear software is very robust and intuitive.
ConsSometimes the machine learning feature causes the software to be a little slow.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Jason W.
IT Business Analyst
Telecommunications, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018

“Solid software solution for ticketing and project management”

ProsEase of use by end users through an easy UI and email notification system.
ConsDifficulty in applying updates and upgrade to the system without running into issues that require Sunview support.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 14, 2018
Mike P.
IS Analyst
Research, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018

“Solid Product and Solid company. Great customer support sales and tech”

OverallAutomation of a lot of routine task right out off the box. a better data tracking and reporting.
ProsEverything: It's complete solution that can expand and grow with your organization. It starts with the basic solution and can evolve to enterprise level all in one system ( which way to much for our organization) We got the base held desk solution and I found the feature list is way beyond what we need.
ConsCertain customizations you need to know what you're doing or you can do some damage. To hide some of the default forms I wasn't able to do it myself and needed assistance. as well as few other little mods required direct manipulation in XML files so you need someone who know where it is.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2018
Safi R.
Information Security
Financial Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
3/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Change Gear”

OverallI think software can be used effectively if configured in its full capacity. The customization is nice but requires a dedicated person which e do not have the resources for. I like the features but did not have time to learn how to make the best use of it.
ProsITIL format... that has came handy for us. Service Request to problem Solving to RFC part is nice. Customization is nice as well.
ConsLearning curve.. It requires dedication and set up. Probably better to have the vendor set it up for you. Also software is latent so difficult to use in a high speed work environment.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Artim F.
Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“Very good”

ProsChange Management System works very well and complies with all our needs. Reporting and filtering design is unique and very customizable.
ConsCMDB functionality is lacking somewhat. You can manage who sees certain assets, but you cannot manage who sees specific fields in an asset.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Brion P.
IT Director
Computer Software, Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3.5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 11, 2015

“Mostly a positive experience ”

ProsThe product allows a lot of flexibility to be adapted to the needs of our company. Able to automate a lot of functions and services that were manual to us before.
ConsWith flexibility comes risk and some of my pain areas are the support services (pay for support) has degraded since I first signed on and are difficult to arrange. When I do get someone I don't feel I get the value as many times it has to have several follow up calls to get it right and I get charged for the extra hours. Also, my account support has degraded since signing on with my initial account rep taking a new role.
Recommendations to other buyersKnow your process and what you hope to achieve prior to shopping for a software to make sure what you pick will support your needs.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
May 11, 2015
Laetitia N.
Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Training Material and Cost”

OverallThe task functionality needs improvements. For example, notes in task tickets get overwritten as the information get updated. Why? Tickets should keep all historical information.
ProsCost is very reasonable. It's is the most important determining factor to why we recommend ChangeGrear to our organization.
ConsTraining material for ChangeGear is not available on the internet. Compared to ServiceNow for example, their "how to" step by step instruction to all their modules is easily accessible on line.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Chemicals, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Empty Promises”

OverallSoftware itself was ok, we need tweeks and the company promise to make and never delivered, but they kept taking our money and consume hours, but never delivered.
ProsIt was simple and basic, handle basic functions well
ConsReporting was horrible, any customization was impossible, the support from the company was horrific, slow to respond, promised everything, never delivered even when we offered to pay for things.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“Don't judge a book by its cover”

ProsVery impressive looking user interface. From the ITSM standpoint, all expected functionality is present.
ConsThe biggest struggle was the implementation and the post sales support. It seemed that the folks doing the implementation weren't as experienced as i would have expected. The technical support is sub-par. Software is buggy.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Mike Z.
Systems Administrator
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“The account mgr, tech lead, and general support have all been good to work with and very responive”

OverallStream lined access to various features. Good metrics that are easily obtained.
ProsThe flexibility of having the system do what we need while still adhering to ITIL. The Service Catalog, while some end users do not like it, the general opinion is positive and well received.
ConsWe have implemented some newer technology (specifically, VMWare SAML) and they have had some technical limitations in implementing. We are making progress and support/dev is working to solve the problem.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Jean C.
IT Manager, Service Desk
Utilities, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018

“We have just gone live with the product and things are going well. Report functionality is great.”

OverallAll of IT work is in the same area from Project Management to daily incidents and service requests.
ProsThe Self Service Portal for the customers is great. Our customers are enjoying the ease of use. The creation of a ticket by email helps our customers that are out in the field daily.
ConsSince we are still learning how to use the software in a production environment, we seem to be having issues with learning which screen is the best to use for seeing all work.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 10, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Good change management seoltuon”

ProsIt's easy to install and easy to upgrade. The software is also easy to maintain. It's pretty much set it and forget it other than licensing changes each year.
ConsSometimes, not often, tickets will disappear. This has only happened twice in two years.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Jeff S.
AVP; IT Infrastructure Services
Insurance, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
4/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019

“Decent ITSM offering - LOTS of hidden *bugs* and kinks that need worked through ”

OverallWe needed a new ITSM solution (Incident, change, release, etc).
ProsIt's very customizable which is nice. It's also easy to use once it's configured.
ConsThere are a lot of bugs and odd nuances with the product that is not mentioned up front. While we have had much of this acknowledged it still feels like a half baked product, or a software company that doesn't have enough people on staff to address things like they should be addressed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 2, 2019
Brian W.
Admin
Financial Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Features
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019

“Find a different product than ChangeGear”

OverallI would rather slam my hand in a door than use this software.
ProsNothing. It is the worst I've ever used in my 20+ years in IT. I'm also familiar w/ Remedy and ServiceNow.
ConsIt is overly confusing and a huge time waster. You can't look at it and figure out what you need to do like any other software platform. Every single time I try to do anything my tickets end up getting incorrectly assigned or routed. No one seems to understand the logic of their workflow. Everyone I've ever talked to at my company hates this product.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 11, 2019
Jim C.
Manager IT Support
Banking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Likelihood to Recommend
0/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019

“Not very happy”

ProsYour support staff is wonderful, always going the extra mile
ConsYour software needs help. The canned reports, SLA's, Dashboards - all have issues. I have had to open 25 support tickets since the first of the year just to get things working
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 29, 2019
Jerry P.
Senior Network Administrator
Insurance, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
2/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 27, 2018

“Network Administrator”

OverallWe ran into so many operational flaws and deficiencies that we finally had to drop ChangeGear after only one year of use.
ProsVery customizable user interface. Work flows are easy to setup. Reports are easily generated and can be output in multiple forms.
ConsThe email handling module is highly flawed. There are many operational bug in the coding. The system is not very adaptable to be used for non-ITSM rolls.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 27, 2018
Duane S.
Helpdesk
Real Estate, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Features
1/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 27, 2017

“Countless problems”

ProsIt has a comprehendible gui and its easy to navigate. The automatic ticket creator through email is great when it works.
ConsEmail connector service has broke at least 3 times and its currently been down for a week. Now we cannot close or edit tickets so its nearly impossible to track our work. I understand things go wrong but a down service should be resolved asap. It is frustrating and I do not recommend this software. The following error occurs when we open any ticket or click any ticket: ChangeGear has detected the following error. ChangeGear could not process your request. Please re-login and try again.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 27, 2017
Is S.
Project Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018

“does the job”

ProsI like the functionality. We used it for helpdesk and change management, worked great in both scenarios.
ConsNot so sure about the ability to customize, if you have a need for it should look into it, nothing else that was a con in my opinion.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 25, 2018
Ginetta H.
Systems Support Analyst
Public Policy, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 16, 2016

“ChangeGear is Customizable”

OverallSunView's Professional Services team helped us configure ChangeGear Service Desk to meet our needs. We have implemented several modules including Incident, Knowledge Base, Service Request, and Self-Service Portal. ChangeGear has been well received by our end users and IT Techs.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
October 16, 2016
Freddie C.
IT Manager
Primary/Secondary Education, Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 13, 2015

“Change Gear DCCCD”

ProsThe software offers a lot of features.The CMDB is a nice feature. Asset tracking is also great along with Problem and incident ticketing.
ConsTook a while to program. Some programming took longer than expected.
Recommendations to other buyersTake a look at all the features that your company may need. Change Gear offers a lot of features a half the cost of other products.
Source: SoftwareAdvice
July 13, 2015
Jerry P.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Features
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2017

“Poor communication and not very good for customer facing applications.”

OverallChange Gear is great if you are only using it internally. Despite what their sales team would tell you, it requires extensive modification to even handle anything more than a few email addresses. Attachment handling and things as simple as email CC'ing are not available available out of the gate. The included modules are not very adaptable, inevitably requiring the customer to bend to suit its forms instead of bending its forms to suit the customer. The technical/implementation team is very knowledgeable, when you can get in touch with them. Trying to get them on the phone is more like "leave a message and maybe we'll get back to you." Bottom line, users will be very pleased with this product as long as they a) don't need it for any other department than IT, and b) don't need it to be externally facing.
Source: Capterra
February 16, 2017
Dan D.
Senior Programmer Analyst
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2016

“Change Gear - SunView Review”

OverallWe are currently implementing this product. So far, as seen by various demonstrations and test drives of this product, it appears to be fully functional, scalable and user friendly. Changing workflows, form layout or what you are seeing on the screen is very easy. Customizing the workflows is not difficult, which, in conjunction with form modifications allows the users to make customizations specific to their needs.
Source: Capterra
January 14, 2016
Muhammad Q.
Unspecified
Used the software for: Unspecified
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“Our go to ITSM tool”

OverallWe have been using it as our main ticketing system for Incidents and Service Requests and also using it for our Change Management tool.
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Sunil K.
Deputy Manager
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018

“Good for using internally”

ProsWe can easily raise tickets and keep a track on the status
ConsFor beginners it will be difficult to understand
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2018