Network Performance Monitor Ratings

Overall
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About Network Performance Monitor

SolarWinds® Network Performance Monitor (NPM) is a powerful and affordably designed software that can help you quickly detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance problems and outages. Network Performance Monitor can provide advanced network troubleshooting for on-premise, hybrid, and cloud services with critical path hop-by-hop analysis. Learn more about Network Performance Monitor

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 55 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 55 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017

“Pricey but worth its weight in (insert item here)... Must have tool.”

ProsComplete network monitoring tool. Allows you a near single pane of glass approach to you network. You have details and i mean details about every server, switch, I even have my consumable good inventory vending machines monitored with NPM. Detailed level for switch ports and routers, Cisco UCS, HP, DELL, and the list goes on and on. When there is no identified MIB, you can create your own. You can label your undefined items so they mean something to you. The Agent for servers installs on Windows and Linux and is SO EASY. It offers WMI, SNMP and ICMP monitoring as well as the agent which gives you several flavors to monitor equipment. Ease of use is good, interface is above average, and saving my score is 1000 out of 10
ConsFor me there is only one real things that gets me with NPM. Licensing. SolarWinds has a great set of products, but the licensing costs are really high. Even a small company needs this software but its hard to justify. The way they count nodes against your license total is in my opinion unfair. I think of a server as a node, and everything on that server should be covered as 1 node, but they see everything down to seems like the vlans on a switch port, but to be clear it is not counting vlans. However if you have 2 48 port switches, that is 96 nodes, you want to monitor, guess how fast your 100 node license gets used up. But the price to jump up is super crazy expensive. They need to rework that.
Source: Capterra
June 7, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Networking, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018

“Solarwinds NPM Review”

OverallThis product is great when tuned and customized properly. We use it for alerting via email and for NOC (Network Operation Center) setups. For those not familiar - this is when you set up a large monitor in a "monitoring " room to view network conditions in real time. Custom NOC views allow you to present pretty much any monitored information on a screen. It also allows you to configure a single display monitor (perhaps a 70 inch TV/Display) that scrolls through multiple screens of valuable information.
ProsAllows for customized views and alerts to really lock down your essential requirements. (The problem is most users do not customize)
ConsI do not like that they promote how easily you can roll out this software to start monitoring your network. What they do not tell you that by doing a non customized quick roll out you will receive unlimited number of alerts to the point they will be ignored. By default the system shows you too much irrelevant information and it alerts on way too many general conditions. BE Warned - without tuning the alerts you will get many false positive alerts.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 12, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Consumer Goods, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Great network monitoring tool”

OverallI use NPM to monitor the health of the network routers and switches and the bandwidth used in the WAN links and switch uplinks. I also use it to monitor several Windows servers, including free disk space, memory and CPU occupation, the load of Hyper-V and VMWare hosts and the load, battery status and runtime of UPS devices.
ProsIt's very easy to setup and use and everything is configurable. It's really easy to configure dashboards and visualize every piece of information the way we want to. It can be used to monitor network equipment from a lot of vendors, as well as Windows systems and virtualization hosts and guests. Basically, anything it can connect to using SNMP or WMI.
ConsIt's not good at all to get information about endpoints. The information is unreliable: it doesn't find a lot of endpoints in the network, reports them with old IP addresses and in places where they are not connected anymore, etc.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Larry S.
Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 26, 2018

“network management in minutes”

ProsSolarWinds NPM (Network Performance Manager) is one of the most gratifying products to use. After installing on a server, you can literally in minutes begin collecting actionable network performance if you have previously configured SNMP on your network equipment. Most of the products integrate, building on each other and adding more value. I have always been impressed with how their new versions add significant features and value for just paying maintenance on the product. Their online training is also very valuable.
ConsMore advance features will take more effort to configure and generate actionable results. You can easily be overwhelmed by alerts and syslog if you do not make an effort to manage what you really need to see.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
September 26, 2018
Jose V.
Director of IT
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Good, Solid Network Monitor”

OverallTimely alerts and warnings that keep our network and server infrastructure running smoothly.
ProsOnce it's set up, NPM is pretty easy to configure and monitor just about anything with a network adapter/connection. We purchased the SLX version which means we can monitor as many nodes/elements as we want. Email alerts are timely and help us stay on top of outages and server capacities. Been using this for 5 years now and it just doesn't the job. Can't forget about the customer SQL alerts either. Great job here!
ConsYou need SQL server for this. If not using an Express version, that's more costs. The SLX version is expensive compared to other solutions.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018

“NPM is a very reliable and powerful network monitoring tool”

OverallIt can use some improvements, but still, in 8 years we've been using NPM on a service provider scenario, it has solved about 80% of our customers requirements for network monitoring. When complemented with other products from the same vendor, it provides maybe 95%, since there's always something than need a specialized tool.
ProsIn the world of enterprise network monitoring, NPM has one of the shortest learning curves, its web GUI is very inutitive and you can start monitoring your assets almost immediately. It's support for different monitoring mechanisms (snmp, wmi and agent) provides adaptability to mostly any network. It possesses a very robust engine to configure thresholds, events and actions, so you can get the proper reaction to different events. SolarWinds provides a very complete ecosystem of network monitoring and management tools with seamless integration.
ConsThe licensing model is not the best for a service provider scenario and it seems like the vendor doesn't even consider this option. Reporting capabilities are sort of buggy , specially when exporting complex and large reports. This tasks will also consume a lot of resources. There's an opportunity for the vendor to maybe decouple reporting capabilities to a BI module which can be deployed on an independent server, and maybe use for it a read only replica of the production DB.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 18, 2018
John S.
I.T. Network Admin
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“Great asset to keep an eye on your network”

OverallWe use it every day to keep track of our network device performance and VPN tunnels throughout our organization. I keep NPM up on a 28" monitor at all times. It looks great on a vertical monitor setup! We have been using this product for a very long time and it really works well!
ProsI love the interface and the way you can setup and customize the dashboard. I love that at a moments glance you can see what's going on, on your network. Mostly I love the email feature for alarms and alerts when something goes down.
ConsSetup is always complicated but doable even for a novice admin if you look through the manuals.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
michael t.
Network Administrator II
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018

“Excellent Network Monitor, Very Intuitive”

OverallYou can trust this software to watch over the network while you perform other tasks. If there is an issue, you will be alerted immediately
ProsSolarwinds Network Performance Monitor gives you in-depth details about every server and switch. Once it is installed and configured, you just sit back, relax and engage in worry free monitoring of your network (unless of course it gives you an alert)
ConsIt is very expensive. The company that I worked for that used SolarWinds had no issue spending the money though, so after I left it was like leaving a family member behind.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 18, 2018
Kevin S.
MIS Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017

“Great product for Network Performance- but Software Experience a must”

ProsMonitoring for all endpoints available Uses SNMP V1-V3 Alert notifications available for email distribution dashboard for NOC or super user
ConsHave to figure everything out yourself. Solarwinds does not provide much training on the configuration of the system to fully maximize it. The refer you to a outside consultant to setup the system. Support is pretty limited because many of the issues revolve around how it is setup. Which they would provide more training with the purchase of the product on how to fine tune the software for your needs
Source: Capterra
May 26, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019

“The Best of the Best”

OverallThe ability to monitor, report. and alert on our Network Infrastructure.
ProsSolarwinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) is by far the industry leader. The system is robust and offers real-time and indepth analysis of network interfaces, nodes, devices, etc.
ConsThe platform did some take some time to setup. Unfortunately, some of the alerting can be very vague. There are templated alerts, however, they do not fit the needs of our business. We spent countless man-hours in developing new alerting templates.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 12, 2019
Ron P.
Manager of Network Infrastructure and Security
Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2017

“NPM is one of the better products”

OverallI am utilizing NPM, SAM and DPA to monitor our environment. NPM is used to monitor a mix of Cisco and Palo Alto equipment. We are monitoring nodes in about 12 sites (2 hubs and 10 spokes). Overall, the product is stable and features get added on a timely basis. If I had one gripe, I would wish that Solarwinds could move the product towards the cloud (ala Kaseya, LogicMonitor, etc). This would remove my need to run an application server and database.
ProsEasy to use. Lots of features.
ConsI wish the management and database were in the cloud and they used the "collector" model at the location to get the data.
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2017
Mike J.
IT Support Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017

“Great tool to keep track of servers and when they are performing poorly, or not at all. ”

ProsRight out of the box, admins can begin using this software. Alerts are already configured for common needs such as when a server goes down, or when it reboots. Disk space, CPU and RAM usage, etc.
ConsCan be a bit difficult to discern which variables do what when formatting alerts and email notifications. First initial load of the portal takes a few minutes. After the initial load, portal loads fast each time, until the next day.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2017
Michael G.
Network Engineer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2017

“NPM - A Power Horse”

OverallThe ability to constantly monitor the health of my network.
ProsWhat's not to love? Deep, Reliable, and an absolute monitoring beast. I use this daily - DAILY - to monitor my company's environment. The awareness that it gives you is bar none the best around.
ConsCost can get hefty depending on how many modules you use. If your company is in a lucky enough position to accept the price, then you are in for a treat.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 8, 2017
Charles S.
Systems Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016

“SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor Review”

OverallThis tool helps prevent major Server downtimes with a great alert system. Every System Administrator should have this. I can't count the number of times it has saved me.
ProsThe features I like the most about this tool are the fast and easy deployment and the high-quality monitoring and alerting. Very nice UI, also very scalable.
ConsThe element base pricing is very expensive, can quickly escalate.
Recommendations to other buyersOverall this software is a must-have for any systems administrator.
Source: Capterra
December 6, 2016
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“Network Monitoring Tool”

ProsA)It is user friendly, Can monitor all kind of network device B) We can extract the daily, monthly reports as per our need. C) Generate alerts which can help us to trace the issue.
ConsA) It is highly expensive compare to it's compititior. B) The customer service response time was highly lathergic. C) it's graphics were not as satisfactory
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Financial Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019

“Solarwinds NPM Review”

OverallI am a network engineer for 6 years. I have been working a financial company which include hundreds of branches. We use NPM and we monitor all interfaces and nodes in our company.
Pros smart dashboard, east to implement all node or interface, good alarm and report mechanism, sql base database
Conssupport fees, weak local developers and not exact negative command because it is really good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018

“Solarwinds NPM easy to manage and setup. Easily integrate other Solarwinds Products”

ProsEasily monitor network devices and their performance .Track for network issues and have to ability to narrow down issues to specific ports. Easily customize view to show only what I need to see.
ConsNot able to limit events across solarwinds platform to only devices I need to monitor. Have to manually Setup maps. (option to purchase mapping software separate) .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2018
Neil L.
Network Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017

“Provides all the information that helps you with keep on top of your network before problems arise.”

ProsBeing able to monitor and receive real time information about known devices on your network as well as having the forecasting ability so that you can plan for future growth easily.
ConsSome of the alerts may require you to do some customization in order for them to work. Licensing for some of the modules may get some what pricey if you go into a higher level tier.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 13, 2017
Avatar Image
Andre F.
Director of IT
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2018

“Excellent system for monitoring ”

ProsThis has to be by far the best networking and services monitoring tool I have ever used. It is rich in features and it just works.
ConsIt is an amazing system and I would recommend to anyone. It is however a little time consuming to set it up, for some people even a little challenging.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 5, 2018
Avatar Image
Chris L.
Sr. UNIX Systems Admin
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“We use NPM to monitor our network stack. ”

ProsFast, clear status of performance and possible outages. Easy integration with other tools and custom alert mechanisms. A focused company who is very involved in making great tutorials.
ConsThe GUI is starting to look dated, it could use a complete overhaul. License needs can be tricky to determine.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Nathan G.
Network engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018

“Feature rich”

OverallWe use this to monitor client network. Mostly on the infrastructure side but can also be used to monitor services.
ProsExcellent software for network visibility. Lots of feature for managing and monitoring your network.
ConsOlder versions we're lacking support for many devices. Fixed with recent updates
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 6, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2017

“You get what you pay for, mostly”

ProsThis is a full featured product with many optional add on modules to keep a "single pane of glass" for IT departments.
ConsFinding personnel with fine tuning experience, education and knowledge is somewhat difficult at times, making many implementations half completed.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 18, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Computer Networking, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019

“Solarwinds NPM”

ProsSolarwinds NPM is extensive. There are several features enabling you to have visibility on the network and its status.
ConsIts not realtime. There is like a 5minute lag in alerts/polls on the same. This should be lessened to a an average of a minute
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018

“Network performance Monitor is a must have tool for any IT professional to succeed in their job.”

ProsYou can not fix something you do not know is broken. NPM allow you to be notified as soon a any component you are monitoring goes off line. Its a game changer for IT pro's trying to get a handle on their network and hardware.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2018
Anthony S.
Network engineer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017

“I use the product every day and still feels hard to navigate .”

OverallSeemed easy to use.
Pros The software can do just about anything you need. Very in depth and helpful product.
ConsAs I said above. The software is very hard to navigate and use. I access it everyday and it is still doesn't feel smooth.
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017
Igor J.
Cloud Lab Administrator
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 9, 2018

“Monitoring network devices. ”

ProsWe use Network Performance Monitor because we need deep information about the operation of our network devices. The system works very well in our organization and I can recommend it to others.
ConsThe system is very good and complete, but also very difficult to use, the implementation of the system is also very difficult, it requires an experienced partner.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
September 9, 2018
Jason Z.
Applications Admimnistrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018

“Great to have a view of everything”

ProsThe dashboards are incredible I am able to troubleshoot the network quickly and efficiently right down to the node.
ConsI wish there was a way to see what an IP belongs to on the exterior of our environment like a whois this Ip
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2018
Derrick B.
Network Admin
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017

“Great Network Monitoring tool for organizations of all sizes. ”

ProsNetwork Performance Monitor (NPM) is an excellent tool to get a overview of the how you network is performing. The setup is easy and if there is something that is confusing or causing trouble it can be solved using google search or heading to the Thwack community provided by Solar Winds.
ConsI don't hate the product but some of the UI features are quirky, and haven't gotten used to yet. There does seem to be a lot of customizability but figuring out how to get the setup how you want it seems to take too long to do.
Source: Capterra
May 17, 2017
Brian W.
Manager
Utilities, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2017

“Works great!”

ProsVery intuitive interface. Easy to use. Real time alerting is awesome. Reporting functionality is always on par
ConsThe software tends to use too many server resources causing the application to fail and disrupt ease
Source: Capterra
May 16, 2017
Josh K.
Network Administrator
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 25, 2019

“SolarWinds is a game changer”

OverallOverall experience has been great!
ProsSolarWinds gives you the ability to automate certain processes and set alerts for other processes that allow you to focus on other projects and not be tied to your computer.
ConsI don't really have anything bad to say about the product, but I would like to see the simplicity of using the product increase some.
Reviewer Source 
Source: GetApp
March 25, 2019
Avatar Image
Jorge M.
Telecommunications Engineer
Telecommunications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019

“Networking monitoring made easy”

OverallSolarwinds NPM is an amazing network monitoring solution with a high level of automation. It comes with reasonale standard options and it's very easy to setup and get running.
ProsClean and intuitive user interface Flexible and adaptable visualizations and dashbords Automated discovery for network devices and topology Large collection of monitoring options Wireless heat maps Great reporting
ConsPricing can become an issue for large networks Some modules (like NetFlow) are optional and come at an extra cost
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 24, 2019
Randi F.
Teacher
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2018

“Looks and works great”

OverallGot us through a transitional period where we were short on IT staff.
ProsIt is a really clean solution that was easy to install and use. It is aesthetically appealing and I can better visualize my own network.
ConsIt does not really do anything that I could not do on my own, so it is really 100% bells and whistles. I would not recommend this software unless you are new to networking and you do not have the knowledge or manpower to manage/monitor an existing enterprise network. That being said, it is incredibly expensive for what you really get, but can be helpful if your use-case is a good fit.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2018
Avatar Image
Dennis S.
Quality Management Representative
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019

“An affordable yet powerful monitoring tool ”

OverallCentralized network monitoring and troubleshooting portal that meets expectation
ProsThe in-depth analysis to a detected fault helps remedial ease resolution timelines. I like its 30 day full functional trial period, that helps one fully understand what he / she is buying.
ConsThe cost of the product can get hefty if not careful with the choice of modules you require. so to get the best deal, one need to have exact use case
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 27, 2019
Mike P.
IT Specialist
51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 22, 2018

“Cloud based software for busy IT admins”

ProsThe layout that shows the main issues on the dashboard is a great feature. This allows you to take the most serious tasks and rectify them first. The layout of the software is very user friendly and can be used by both beginning and advanced administrators alike
ConsNot to much not to like about the software. One thing that would be nice is a way to add custom field for reports.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
February 22, 2018
Sachin P.
Dev Ops Engineer
10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 14, 2018

“Many things are interesting but comes at a huge cost.”

ProsThe details that it provides are huge and so many little intricate details to monitor and take care about. Gives peace of mind once installed properly for sure.
ConsFor a network monitoring tool, a little too expensive. Huge customization are needed at some step but not necessary that you might need to too.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 14, 2018
Jerry B.
IT Analyst II
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018

“I'm an IT Analyst who uses this software to troubleshoot our enterprise network infrastructure.”

ProsThe level of detail included about network assets. It provides a wealth of information that makes troubleshooting a breeze.
ConsSometimes the user interface seems less than intuitive and can be a little confusing. There is a lot of information presented and often times I find myself forgetting how I navigated to a particular display.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 26, 2018
Avatar Image
Devon F.
IT Technician
Construction, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018

“IT of NPM”

Overallperfect for solving your network issues and live monitoring is awesome
Prosperfect for monitoring an large scale environment. awesome yearly events to attend. easy to drill down in devices that have been configured
ConsDifficult to setup initially, UI is abit intimidating at first .
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 12, 2018
Jamie B.
Principle
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018

“Pretty good software, can be a bit laggy at times”

ProsEasy to setup and get going. Will scan your network and add devices automatically if you want. Interface is easy to read and navigate.
ConsCan be inconsistent with reporting. Seems to lag up my system a bit and sometimes reports devices offline when they are not.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2018
Sachin C.
Engineer
1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 5, 2018

“The best one in business”

Pros1) Real time health report and a microseconds difference is the competence i was looking for in the monitoring tools out there.
Cons1) Prices could be cheaper but whatever keeps my servers afloat i can go for it, without much ado.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 5, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Building Materials, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019

“For Monitoring, Look No Further Than SolarWinds”

ProsGreat user community/support community in THWACK - get anything answered, any time of day. Reliable alerts and metrics.
ConsCan be a be difficult to set up. Look into consultants that do this for a living.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Gerson M.
IT Consultant
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018

“Easy management for 'hard to manage' devices and appliances inside your network”

OverallManagement of firewalls, routers and printers.
ProsReal time follow up of changes. Every time I change something, like an IP address or moving to a new Site, this software allows me to maintain and updated map. Something hard to achieve with other vendors.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 14, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Restaurants, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“Works well overall but can get slow over time”

OverallWe use this software to monitor our network equipment and servers and for the price it works well for doing that.
ProsWas easy to setup and maintain and their support seems to be great to work with.
ConsOver time it gets really slow and the server needs rebooted. Nothing I've tried including putting it on a new server seems to rectify this.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Internet, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018

“NMS Solarwind”

ProsAccurate Performance to every network devices.
ConsIt takes 3 min of time to trigger the device down mail alert.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 25, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Legal Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019

“An effective tool to monitor almost everything on your network”

OverallThis has been a great NPM tool and it our primary source to seek any network specific metrics.
ProsEfficient dashboards and alerting system. Best network tracing capabilities.
ConsPrice. This price should be more reasonable, especially for smaller businesses to come on board.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 5, 2019
Hughes W.
Group It Manager
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017

“Excellent product that provides greater value for the money”

ProsEase of installation. Product Support in clubs I've of upgrades. Great online training and folllowup
Source: Capterra
May 18, 2017
Ashton B.
Network Administrator
Unspecified
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2017

“Love the product!”

OverallBeing able to forget about the network 24/7 and rely on it to notify us when something is wrong.
ProsEase of install, ease of customization, and easy to learn based on the interface. Without training, I was able to pick it up and run with it.
ConsThe cost is the only concern I have. You buy modules based on what you need, and I think one package with all would make life easier.
Source: Capterra
June 8, 2017
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“Great Network Monitoring tool which is always coming out with new features”

ProsThis is just one of the many suite of applications that SolarWinds offers to help manage the Network. Ease to use and helps diagnose / troubleshoot issues. Easy to automate alerts to notify you of problems afterhours. Great graphical interface as well.
ConsIs more costly than other tools but worth the cost as SolarWinds will take less time to manage over time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018

“Simple and to the point, very concise when you need a minimal amount of information.”

ProsI can pull up any piece of networking information in a matter of seconds. There is not a big learning curve.
ConsSometimes it seems to be too minimal, some features that are present in other network performance monitors are lacking in SolarWinds' version.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 13, 2018
Deep S.
Network Engineer
501-1000 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2018

“Great software for network monitor”

ProsEasy interface for beginner as well as expert level. I like how it displays the characteristics of a network.
ConsSometimes it gives lags but still update comes late so it create an issue for a user who requires real time network monitoring.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 19, 2018
rohit n.
Junior Network Administrator
201-500 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 16, 2018

“tool for Networking professional”

ProsGreat tool who are interested in Computer Networking and want to explore the background of any network as well as will be aware of it.
ConsNot for a beginner that is for sure since it requires you to have certain level of knowledge of a network.
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
April 16, 2018