TunnelBear Ratings

Overall
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.8/5
Customer Service
4.5/5

About TunnelBear

When TunnelBear is turned On, your internet connection gets secured with AES-256 bit encryption and your public IP address gets switched to the country of your choice. Businesses rely on TunnelBear for: Securing remote and traveling employees Global quality assurance testing Gathering competitive intelligence Stealthfully conducting market research Accessing geo-restricted business tools Businesses have access to priority support and a personal account manager. Learn more about TunnelBear

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 254 reviews

Showing Most Helpful

Showing 50 of 254 reviews

Sort by:

Filter By:

Rating
Company Size
Reviewer's Role
Length of Use
Frequency of Use
Avatar Image
Nadusha V.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
5/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 27, 2018

“Only for short term operations. Period.”

OverallOverall, I'm only using this for some simple operations only. Only reason I'm using this is because of the user friendliness of the app. And this is 100% working where some other tools don't work sometimes. But the bandwidth limit is too low. So I can only rate it 5 out of 10.
ProsWell, I like everything about the Tunnelbear vpn. It can hide your identity and can connect to any server in almost all of the countries out there. works pretty well. Thishas an Chrome extension so that you can use it with the chrome browser. First you have to create an account and then you have to login. this process is very easy and won't take too much time. And you can connect right away. There's an android app so that use vpn from your mobile device wiht those login credentials. Everything is pretty easy. user interface is very simple. and attractive as well. and connecting won't take too long or there's no queue like other tools.
Conslike I said previously, usage bandwidth is limited when you're using this. like very low. you only get 500MB per month. so it's not suitable for long term operations like browsing social media, downloading things etc. however they allow you 1 GB if you could tweet about their service. But even that doesn't sound enough for me. Plus there are some competitors who offer the same service for free! So this is a bit questionable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 27, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Defense & Space, Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
6/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017

“Great travel VPN for computer and mobile”

OverallAn easy to use VPN for both my computer and mobile device, I usually use it when I am travelling and on an unfamiliar network and am worried about my personal security.
ProsThis is very easy to use both on a computer and a mobile phone when you are on untrusted networks and want a secure connection. There are plenty of different options of locations to "tunnel" to, which is nice. Additionally, the price is not too bad for a VPN service, and it goes down if you buy larger packages. I have never really experienced that many connection issues when using TunnelBear, which is a big plus considering other VPNs drop me frequently.
ConsThere are other VPNs that provide just as much security, if not more due to legal requirements of collecting data on customers. TunnelBear does not collect logs, but still beware that Canada, where they are based, has very strict privacy laws and anti-P2P laws.

Vendor Response

By TunnelBear on December 6, 2017
Hey there! Thanks for your review! The Bears are thrilled that you're enjoying the service. You will be pleasantly surprised to find out that TunnelBear does NOT collect logs of the website you visit. Phew! :) TunnelBear explicitly does not collect, store or log the following data: - IP addresses visiting our website - IP addresses upon service connection - DNS Queries while connected - Any information about the applications, services or websites our users use while connected to our Service You can learn more at TunnelBear's human-readable, super transparent privacy policy: https://www.tunnelbear.com/privacy-policy. If you have any questions, we want to hear from you at privacy@tunnelbear.com. Rawr!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 5, 2017
Avatar Image
Marouane T.
Software Engineer
Online Media, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019

“VPN With Some Flare”

OverallTunnelBear offers an easy to use, secure and consistent VPN service with apps across all the platforms I use at a competitive price.
ProsTunnelBear is a consistent and powerful VPN solution. The service is inexpensive and with applications available across multiple platforms including browser extensions TunnelBear makes it easy to ensure you're protected and have VPN access wherever you are. The interface is intuitive and for those who don't know much about VPNs the settings have helpful descriptions for the more complex features. The animations and design of the interface is charming and a welcome change from the dull app interfaces out there. TunnelBear is fast and realiable, easily one of the best VPNs on the market.
ConsI have not experienced any real issues with the service or it's apps in all the time I've been using TunnelBear, and I've been using it for a long time.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 9, 2019
Caleb J.
Junior Web Developer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2019

“TunnelBear - Surf Fearlessly”

OverallI have loved the experience ever since I started using the service and don't think I will switch to anyother VPN service provider.
ProsTunnelBear is a VPN service which encrypts your internet connection in order to keep your daily online activities private and super secure while you browse the web doing what you do best, without the worries of hackers and the government spying on your data. TunnelBear is available across all Mac, Windows, IOS and Android devices so you feel secure no matter your location or your device. TunnelBear does not log any user activity as mentioned in the privacy policy so you can feel free to surf as intended without being spied on also by your VPN service provider. TunnelBear also offers a free service which is limited to 500MB/Month so you can take it for a test drive before upgrading to the premium service. Some of TunnelBear advance features are: Global content - which allows you to view contents that is not allowed in your region Online Privacy - TunnelBear blocks the government and your local ISP from viewing any of your internet traffic. IP tracking - this feature blocks ad services from tracking your behavior which is used to target you for web-based advertisement.
ConsTunnelBear uses 256-bit AES encryption which is strong enough but a bit weaker than other VPN services on the market.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 21, 2019
Jacqui L.
Operations Supervisor
Gambling & Casinos, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019

“VPN With Some Flare”

OverallTunnelBear affords me a reliable, simple and inexpensive VPN solution that is easy to use and implement.
ProsTunnelBear is a robust and comprehensive VPN service with a twist; the interface. TunnelBear's user interface, in addition to being intuitive and modern is fun, the application is a breath of fresh air in a world of applications that take themselves too seriously. TunnelBear has a rich feature set, everything you expect from a VPN is here including an option to hide the fact that you're using a VPN. TunnelBear has native applications across all the platforms you're familiar with including mobile and browser extensions. All of this while remaining rather inexpensive.
ConsThere's nothing not to like here, the service is reliable and consistent. The applications are stable and secure.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 30, 2019
Avatar Image
Shayna W.
Teacher
Writing and Editing, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Addressing the Needs of International Clients While Ensuring Security”

OverallOverall, I was very pleased with TunnelBear. It did exactly what I needed to affordably, allowing me to work with international clients on their content from a U.S. IP address. I appreciated TunnelBear's candid FAQs which helped me to better understand what VPN was and what the benefits and considerations were for using it. While those projects have ended, I will definitely consider using TunnelBear in the future specifically for privacy and security purposes as I often work remotely over highly vulnerable public WiFi.
ProsThe internet has changed the face of producing content by expanding clientele from a local pool to an international one. Many clients need writers to be able to view sites and broadcasts as if they were local, but sometimes your IP address is a barrier. With TunnelBear I was able to toggle between my US IP address and an address local to my clients so I could stay abreast of local broadcasts. It was actually only after discovering TunnelBear for this purpose that I discovered it's full use as a VPN to protect privacy.
ConsToggling between my home IP address and an international one takes a little more time than simply surfing directly, but it's isn't too long and is as close to seamless as possible.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Ernesto Enrique F.
Full-stack Developer
Human Resources, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018

“Easiest VPN service”

OverallIn general TunnelBear is an excellent opportunity for a fast, simple VPN service that has a very good free plan. Additionally, it improves the user experience with its extension for the browser.
ProsWhat I like most about this service is that it is very easy to use. One click and ready to navigate. The interface is another point that I would like to highlight because other services can be very easy too but they do not have an interface as polished as TunnelBear has it. It's gamified and I like the drawing of the bear very much. For the free version you have 500mb of navigation that you can increase by an additional 1GB if you make a tweet, very good.
ConsIf we talk about cons, TunnelBear is very well done, however I would like to expand the number of servers that can be connected.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 28, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019

“VPN is a must nowadays and for me the best is TunnelBear...”

OverallA fan of the service, and also it offers timely plans discounts for subscription renewal, really good experience at the best price.
ProsI have several devices (Mac, iPhones, iPad, Windows PC and Android) and just setting my TunnelBear account when downloading and installing their respective versions work just great in each device. I really feel protected, as they are constantly updating the app and it offers configuration options who protect you much more; like Browsers plug-ins, traffic emulation, and UDP/TCP forcing for reliable/not reliable internet connections.
ConsUnder really unreliable connections (bandwidth compromised) the experience is really bad, but I guess is unfair to blame the app :).
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Higher Education, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019

“Secure your internet activities”

OverallTunnelBear helps me in maintaining my privacy over my internet activities. It is easy to use and cheap, making it possible for me to subscribe to its plan.
ProsTunnelBear is very easy to use! You just need to click or tap on the server's location that you want to use and voila! You are connected to the server. It is also cheap compared to other similar services, yet offer good service to the users.
ConsIt offers a free version but with very limited data it offers, it's better to just subscribe to the basic plan. Another negative point is that sometimes, the connection becomes lagging. While it is understandable since I am using VPN service but I hope this can be addressed somewhat.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 31, 2019
Stephanie A.
Customer Engagement Representative
Real Estate, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019

“VPN Made FUN”

OverallTunnelBear has afforded me a comprehensive and inexpensive VPN solution that I can use across all my devices with no issue. The service is reliable and consistent.
Pros- - Consistent and reliable - - Intuitive and modern interface - - The bear animations add a welcome flare to the interface - - Feature rich and robust - - Fast (of course this depends on your connection but at least it won't bottle neck your connection) - - Native applications across many platforms, including mobile and broswer extentions
ConsTunnelBear has been a reliable and consistent VPN solution for my needs for a while now. I have had no issues with the service.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Polo G.
Product Designer
Design, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019

“The simplest VPN client out there”

OverallTunnelbear is without a doubt the simplest VPN if you're in need of one. Great software for a single person, not sure if it would work for a large company.
Pros- Very cheap for what it offers - Very easy to install, even without computer knowledge - The app is very well designed - The companion apps make a great investment, VPN all across devices - Has a free version that gives you 2gb for a tweet
ConsNot much, the only one is that the app sometimes gets slow and the connection to the VPN takes more than expected, sometimes more than 2 minutes
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 29, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 27, 2019

“Easy to Use VPN with Charming UI”

ProsTunnelBear does everything I need a VPN to do and its simple enough to use that I can safely recommend it to anyone. I'm half embarassed to say that the bear jokes make me kind of happy. That instead of something like "Your VPN is now on" it says "Rawr! Browsing from a secure tunnel in [country]"
ConsThis wasn't a problem for me, but I've seen other VPNs with more countries as options. Some even have specific cities. TunnelBear doesn't have this, but I've never needed it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 27, 2019
Karl D.
Financial Analyst
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019

“Protection of the privacy of information in a secure and stable manner.”

OverallIt is a tool that has guaranteed the privacy of the information of the members of the company where it has been implemented, its service is fast, easy to use and guarantees a good technical support and quality service.
ProsThis product offers a good stability in VPN connection, offers a connection in a stable and secure way allowing the user to enjoy a fast navigation offering the privacy of the information, especially when it comes to information of the financial type or themes of the company. Confidentiality, accessing the TunnelBear Services is simple and the forms of payment are varied, the installation of the software can be applied from the desktop or through the web browser.
ConsOnce I had to install the software in Windows 8.1 and it did not work, the software was installed, it also happened several times that it was frozen when making a connection and not connects which I had to restart and it works again.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 19, 2019
Avatar Image
Leon C.
IT Recruiter
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018

“This is probably the cutest and most effective VPN software in the market. ”

OverallGreat and functional VPN software.
ProsFirst of all, this software has one of the most beautiful and easy to use interfaces I have seen, also their website graphics revolved around cute vectorized bears. It works marvelous, it is simple to use, effective, connects quickly and in addition; it is inexpensive (You can use around 500 MB for free in a monthly basis, and if you tweet about TunnelBear you can get some extra MBs, also their monthly and yearly plans are very affordable). I wholeheartedly recommend TunnelBear!
ConsThis is one of those few cases were I don't really have anything negative to say about a software. I believe TunnelBear is great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 4, 2018
Malith V.
Assistant
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019

“TunnelBear review”

OverallI use tunnelbear for 6 or 8 months and I recommend it to my friend.
ProsTunnelbear is a famous VPN software it's fast and accurate. 500mb free for evey account for a month. It's a user friendly application.
ConsFree usage isn't enough. They should give at least 5gb when compare with others. Their customer support isn't that good.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 16, 2019
Enxhi H.
Visual Designer
Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019

“Really fun to switch browsing from a country to another country”

OverallWhenever I need to visit a website that is not available from the country I am surfing at that moment, I open TunnelBear, switch to another country and in a matter of seconds and graceful animations I am already seeing the website that didn't worked previously.
ProsThe product works really well, and works all time. I can switch browsing from one country to another within a few seconds and it always worked for me. I never had a downtime or anything like it. I really loved the animation of the bear going in the tunnel from one country to another and it really did that amazing job. I also liked they sometimes makes offer to get some free MBs to surf.
ConsMaybe the price for personal use is not affordable to everyone that I know, but overall sometimes there are offers to get some free MBs or GBs even!
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 3, 2019
Avatar Image
Héctor A.
CEO / Lead Architect
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019

“Easiest to use VPN Service with bear puns included”

OverallBest UI in a VPN Client, Easy to use and fast to connect, if you're an advance user some options will not be available and you cannot go wrong with this one.
ProsIt was really easy to use and setup, the UI was excellent, variety of countries to use, it connected really quick, and the price is right.
ConsLack of advance options in comparison to PIA and that McAfee acquired them about 2 years ago, for some people that might be bad but the product itself it's been amazing and you cannot torrent with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 31, 2019
Avatar Image
Josip L.
Sales Manager
Retail, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019

“VPN full of bears”

OverallSome websites are in my country geo-blocked like Hulu or CBS. I solved this problem by using TunnelBear. It works flawlessly every time. I don't even notice I am using a VPN because the speed of download and upload is almost the same as my carrier provide.
ProsTunnelBear is a fantastic VPN service with easy to use interface which has a lot of sweet little bears all around menus. When you press to turn on the button you are greeted with a nice animation of a bear digging a tunnel from your country to a selected country. Their dedication to those little details and overall quality of service is what makes TunnelBear the best VPN. If you bought their subscription because the free plan doesn't meet your requirements then you can enjoy their VPN service on all your devices. The mobile app has some features that other competitors still don't have. One example is VigilantBear - this stops all your internet connection if it becomes unstable and you are likely to be reconnected so there won't be any privacy leaks. Also, in their terms of service is written that they don't keep or sell your browsing history and other data as some other companies do. So, if you are very vigilant about your internet privacy TunnelBear is a must-go choice.
ConsThe only downside of TunnelBear is their pricing if you choose monthly plan but most of the users usually choose year plan so they don't have to bother with that and usually with a monthly plan there is a lot more saving. In TunnelBear is this enormous 50%.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 18, 2019
Gayland S.
Owner
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2019

“Best VPN available today”

OverallI started out using their free minutes and was hooked immediately. I had questions and contacted customer service which was a very pleasant experience. I have had zero problems and feel very confident that my online use is private and secure.
ProsFirst, the financial side. The prices on TunnelBear are some of the best available. In addition, they give you free time. Secondly, it is extremely secure and is very user friendly. Also, their customer service is excellent.
ConsI would like for the font to be a little larger.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2019
Randall H.
Software Engineer
Defense & Space, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019

“Simple, easy, functional, and fun!”

OverallI have such a great experience using TunnelBear, especially when I'm on travel to other countries. The free version is probably good enough for the average user, but I would definitely recommend getting the paid version for long term use!
ProsWhen on travel to other countries, we would often get blocked from accessing sites or videos that we would normally be able to watch. I tried using other VPN clients, but none of them worked even though I was able to select the country. TunnelBear came as a surprise to me, as it was easy to install, it comes with a fun and creative interface with literal tunnels appearing on the map, and when you click on them you see a bear go to that place and make a funny "rawr!" sound. But beside the cuteness, TunnelBear worked like a charm in hiding my IP address and effortlessly connected me to that country. I was able to use the internet as if I was in that country, and without any network slowdowns. I did not experience any connection drops even after being connected for a long time, as opposed to other VPNs. I've only used the free version, but I am heavily considering purchasing the paid version as it is very affordable, and honestly it is just that good!
ConsI don't really have anything negative to say. TunnelBear did not let me down when I needed a good VPN solution.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Banking, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019

“Instantly browse from different countries”

ProsIt was so fast and easy to browse from a different country, that I really enjoyed the software. My son installed it on my computer more than 2 years ago and taught me how to use it, and that was easy to remember. Everytime I would stumble on something that wasn't available from the country I was currently browsing, I just switched to a different country and access any material online.
ConsThe average free space is limited and you have to do some work like sharing their product on twitter to get some extra space.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 19, 2019
Jordan M.
Owner
Photography, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2019

“Security is important!”

OverallI run a Photography Studio and keeping photos of clients safe and secure is vital. Online delivery of images is 100% of the time how we do things and keeping that information secure for only the client is a must. TunnelBear helps keep it that way. I can actually keep true to the Privacy Policy I have with clients!
ProsTunnelBear is invisible! You might think that is a Con, but you would be wrong. Setup was quick and easy. I don't need to maintain it or anything, just let it do its work.
ConsPricey, I wish services like this would be cheaper. It's another monthly subscription alongside the other 10+ subscriptions you have.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 21, 2019
Avatar Image
Claire N.
Business Development Manager
Information Services, 5001-10,000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2018

“A secure and powerful VPN service”

OverallOverall I love its functionalities as it is running great and very helpful with my work. My experience tells Tunnel Bear is the best VPN service provider that is not even easy to use but also work faster than other VPNs available in the market.
ProsIf I talk about pros, i would say it is extremely easy to use both on computer as well as on mobile phones. Love everything about this software. The thing I like about Tunnel bear is the amount of servers it provides in several countries. I have been using this software for a long time. I use it when I have to research on projects and my server does not allow the website to be opened.
ConsSometimes hindrance occur in connection due to which system gets slow and also sites take too long time for loading but it happens sometimes otherwise it works fantastically and provides us secure connection.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 2, 2018
Juan Carlos J.
Profesor
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018

“I am in Venezuela and anywhere thanks to this application.”

ProsMany applications where you work on the Internet are full of Venezuelan participants due to the economic situation that crosses the country, so many times I wanted to enter these pages and to identify my IP reject me alleging that Venezuelan quotas are full, but They invite us to change the IP to be part of their team, that's why I started using TUNNEL BEAR, because it allows me to change my IP in an easy, fast and virtual way without having to download any application, just open an account in the page, it is programmed and instantly my IP changes, I think it's great.
ConsI have no disadvantages that adding the application works for the purpose I need it, I consider it very good and I recommend it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 17, 2018
Ross v.
Operations Manager
Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019

“Brilliant if only for the bear”

OverallBrilliant product that is easy to use and has great customer support. + the bear is awesome
ProsWith the implementation of GDPR we have found the need to test sites from locations around the world to see how they display and react to location specific requirements. Tunnel bear's ease of use and integration allows us to do this easily without slowing down the team.
ConsNot so much a con but I have had it twice that when connecting to a VPN to specific county the IP given was not actually of that country. I contacted support and it was resolved quickly.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 6, 2019
Avatar Image
Karen H.
WordPress Consultant & Developer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019

“One of my favorite VPN's”

OverallGreat service, great branding and trusted by pros definitely worth a try if you use public wifi. Oh! Plus they have an app for your phone for extra security. Try it!
ProsThe cute little bear grabbed my attention first, well it came recommended from a cybersecurity pro. Then the bear just sealed the deal. What can I say I am a sucker for good branding and theirs is pretty good. Anyway, the real reason why I needed to find a trusty VPN is because I like to work from coffee shops and I wanted additional protection of my info! The scammers are serious out here in these streets, I simply don't have time to deal with the hacks. So that is where TunnelBear steps in, it keeps me feeling a bit more secure for when I am out and about using public wifi.
ConsAbsolutely nothing really - sometimes it disconnects for a brief second but it's right back up. It will tell you by popping a notification across the screen. Other than that I think the price is great and the customer service is great as well. I definitely highly recommend them for VPN.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 1, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019

“Great VPN software!”

OverallOverall, very good experience, I just wish it was cheaper and that we could have access to Netflix!
ProsTunnelBear is a great VPN software. It is easy to use, easy to switch from one country to another, has great privacy settings, and their logo is super cute. Their website is very appealing too!
ConsI wish there were more countries to choose from. It is also pricey. Additionally, they offer 500MB each month for free which is extremely low. Lastly, it used to work on Netflix, but Netflix changed its privacy settings and unfortunately doesn't work anymore.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 1, 2019
Avatar Image
Sean L.
Social Media Manager/Marketing & End-User Support
Internet, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019

“Excellent option for easy access ”

OverallWhile it was in use it was a great option for us. It could be a great solution for many businesses. We grew and had to change what software/provider we went with. But it's very straight forward and not overly technical.
ProsIn the early days of the business, this was great because it's simple and easy to use. One price, easy to understand. The whole office could use it and didn't require too much technicality. As we grew it had to be replaced.
ConsI won't say it's slow, because it isn't slow by any means. It just became not enough for our needs. This is why I recommend it for smaller needs.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 9, 2019
Avatar Image
Will S.
Graphic Designer, Character/Concept Artist - Freelance
Design, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2018

“Best free option for short burst users”

OverallI loved its free version when I used it. It was perfect for downloading small files from strange servers... though I would recommend keeping your antivirus active if you plan to do the same!
ProsA free VPN with a lot more to offer in paid subscriptions. You get 500 mb free each month, which is great for short burst users -- I used TunnelBear when I downloaded music a few years ago. It is extremely easy to set up and turn on, and definitely all around the most user friendly VPN I have ever seen.
Cons500 mb is plenty for some people, but the more often you plan to use your VPN -- or the larger the files you plan to download -- the less enticing this is. You can opt to pay for TunnelBear, but in my opinion, the free version is where Tunnelbear outshines competitors. If you plan to pay for your VPN, I would hands down recommend NordVPN above any other -- but if you are comfortable with TunnelBear, it may still be the best option for you. Keep in mind, however, that some VPNs have restrictions on download types -- if you plan to torrent, be sure to check TunnelBear's policies on P2P downloading & uploading.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 23, 2018
Verified Reviewer
Unspecified
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018

“Great app which is easy to use”

OverallI am using it on my Ipad and it gives me great freedom to watch worldwide TV, movies and listen to radio shows.
ProsEasy to start up, easy to switch between different countries and the service has a great price compared with similar service.
ConsI would like more than the twenty-five available countries were included in the list of countries which you can establish VPN to.

Vendor Response

By TunnelBear on January 22, 2018
Thanks for your feedback! It's beary much appreciated.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 16, 2018
Avatar Image
Verified Reviewer
Assistant Engineer
Chemicals, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019

“Sweet bear makes your surfing better!”

OverallTo be honest, in a countries like I born, which has a lot of internet bannings it is very usefull app to have free surfings on the internet. It makes your internet life faster and secure.
ProsBefore we talk about the features of the app, I would like to say it has the best user interface compared to other VPN apps on the market. That digging bear makes feel user much better while connecting to the other worlds. Other than our sweet hero, I would very satisfied with the quickness of the app while connecting. It only takes few seconds to connect VPN's. It also provides free data for sharing a tweet for the app, which makes it very user friendly.
ConsThe app gives error and you need to restart the app if you try to change your VPN few times in a short time (like 4-5 times in a minute), altough I was a premium user. Other than this I can not really see a bad point of the app.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 16, 2019
Luke T.
Software Quality Assurance Tester
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019

“It offers security regarding the portability of the privacy of the navigation.”

OverallTunnelBear offers security in navigation, being an important point to consider when it is required to protect the privacy of the information managed in the organization, its support and quality in service makes this possible.
ProsMany need a VPN service if we want to carry out secure transactions, or simply access research information whose geographical limitations have restrictions, with TunnelBear it allows safe surfing and connect to different access points of many countries, it also offers free services provided 500 Mb but preferably it is the premium version that has better functions and warranty in service.
ConsSometimes certain failures occur when connecting or disconnecting taking a little more time than normal, sometimes happens.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 23, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Software, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019

“TunnelBear - Safe browsing, easy install, no hassle”

ProsJust as the title says, this product was easy to install and implement on my network. It provides exactly what it claims to and doesn't have much frill to set up. Additionally, there is a freeware client available for those that just want to give it a try and see what they're missing. The paid version is much better in my opinion as it offers unlimited data streams rather than the 500 mb in the free version.
ConsI do not like that this product doesnt offer wiregaurd and does not support Obfsproxy. Those are my only two qualms, but for what I'm paying, I can't really hate too much on this product. It's an incredible bargain.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 16, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Telecommunications, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018

“TunnelBear is a Great VPN”

OverallEasy to use VPN for personal or business use. The mascot is awesome
ProsIts simple easy to use and you can tunnel to a lots of different places in the world. Its great way to make sure what you are browsing on the internet isn't look into from the ISP. I've used this extensively for a year and I've enjoyed it.
ConsThe are a few things that are lacking. Some features are turned off and they won't allow you to use the VPN for other things that you can look into but other than that its great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
October 3, 2018
Avatar Image
Chris M.
Case Manager
Mental Health Care, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2019

“Great and easy to use VPN!”

OverallIf you're a novice and have no idea how VPN works, TunnelBear is definitely the software for you. Their design of the website and logo are also super cute!!
ProsI'm not a VPN expert and TunnelBear does a great job at making the experience as seamless as possible. I've tried several other software in the past and I was never able to figure it out. With TunnelBear, I am able to stream videos from anywhere in the world without the worry of having to figure it out. Their paid version is also pretty affordable.
ConsTheir free version is extremely limited! Other than that, there's nothing I dislike about TunnelBear. It is easy to use and I have never had any issues with it.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 29, 2019
Gabriela F.
Public Relations
Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019

“The best free VPN available”

ProsTunnelBear is excellent for hiding your IP address and shows the server of a country to which you want to connect. This way you can keep your IP address private and hide your real location. What I like the most is that it gives you access to pages not available from your location and you can see, for example, TV channels, videos or web pages that would otherwise be blocked in your country. The free version (which is what I use) offers me 500MB of data per month. They have VPN servers in countries such as Spain, the United States, Mexico, among others. I have this software on my computer and on my mobile and on both devices TunnelBear works perfectly and It's easy to use.
ConsThe only cons I have is that they could increase the MB of the free version a little more.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 17, 2019
Zuzana B.
Staff Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019

“VPN with high reliability and stability.”

ProsIt has a high 256-bit AES encryption, so in security it is a powerful VPN and a stable connection to different points of access, its plans are very good and it offers a good technical support and a very creative and eye-catching interface for the vast majority of users. Finally, its configuration is fast, Tunnel bear becomes a friendly, stable and high trust tool that has given me a pleasant experience as well as when navigating the desired protection of the privacy of the organization's information.
ConsSometimes an error occurs that tries to connect and stays frozen, taking a little time happens very rarely, the rest is very functional and safe in terms of use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
April 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Isha J.
Freelance Graphic Designer
Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018

“Good and reliable VPN”

OverallI looked for VPNs for my home computer for security and was recommended Tunnelbear by a friend. I liked it and used it for a while.
ProsIt's super easy to use. I care about security and go a little ham over it, and I find myself trusting Tunnelbear. There's no logging, which is always awesome and hard to find for the price. Its free plan also does the job.
ConsIt can get pretty slow at times, but for daily browsing it works. Streaming gets hard and I need to turn it off to use Netflix.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
December 4, 2018
Ben B.
Director
Non-Profit Organization Management, 1-10 employees
Used the software for: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019

“VPNs made easy”

OverallTunnelBear makes VPNs easy, fun to use, and is relatively affordable.
ProsTunnelBear is about the easiest VPN solution I've ever used. The user cartoon interface, makes connecting to secure locations and regions simple for any user. Tunnel Bear adds a necessary and reassuring level of security that you just can't get without a VPN, and it does this in a fun, slightly comical, and seamless way. This visual style can also encourage team members (or family members) more likely to use the VPN, which can increase org security. TunnelBear's mobile app also makes it super easy to get a VPN running on your mobile device, which is something that I struggled with in the past. Compared to custom VPN solutions (like setting up your own server), TunnelBear is a dream.
ConsIf you're on the free plan, the monthly data allowance is miniscule. That said, if you do any significant amount of traveling, it's well worth the cost.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 29, 2019
Avatar Image
Moaz T.
PHP Developer
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019

“One of the best VPNs”

ProsThe ease of use, variety of locations available and the efficiency of service made me use this service. When using this VPN it rarely feels like I'm using VPN at all in terms of internet speed drop and doesn't heat up my device unlike some other VPNs.
ConsWould like to see more countries added. Sometimes it takes too long to connect or doesn't connect at all but it displays connected so have to disconnect and connect again.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
February 6, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Computer Games, Self-employed
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019

“Easy to use VPN”

OverallBeen using various VPN services for over 10 years and still I find myself amazed at how well TunnelBear works. Without a doubt, this is the easiest VPN to set up and having tested many other VPNs - none can beat TunnelBear at how quick and easy it is to use. I find this very important, especially when I'm recommending family and friends to start using VPN for their own protection online. Even those who are not tech-savvy can get started with using VPN within minutes and that is a win in my books.
ProsI like how easy it is to just install and use TunnelBear. It takes only a few minutes to install, create an account and start browsing safe and anonymously.
ConsTunnelBear is actually a bit pricey for what they offer and this is especially true for more advanced users. However, I would still recommend it for less tech-savvy users as they really make it easy for anyone to use.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
January 12, 2019
Avatar Image
Rosmer B.
Computer Maintenance Technician at GTP Sistemas S.L
Unspecified
Used the software for: 6-12 months
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018

“ Excellent VPN with great popularity, security and confidence when surfing the network privately.”

OverallIt is very beneficial because it performs the functions for which it has been developed, a comfortable interface, simple, easy to use, also in case of not understanding how it works it has a support that adapts to solve any doubts that may arise, it does not present faults and is high quality, popular and warranty.
ProsWhat I like the most is its cost, it is very easy to use and the security it offers in its service, it guarantees all its functionalities, it is very fast at the time of using it, and it does not present disconnection faults, besides that it has a free package 500 mb which allows a future user to test the functionalities of the product before acquiring the complete package.
ConsFor being an extension this software in the case of google chrome if you have other types of software can affect in some cases the change of VPN, however they are in very specific cases the rest work properly according to the needs of user or organization, It is of quality and high guarantee.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
June 21, 2018
Avatar Image
Gabriel G.
Auxiliar Operativo
Unspecified
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018

“ Excellent application to change your ip address”

OverallWell, it worked for me very well in the time that I have been frequenting this app, since it allows me to change my ip address in a very fast and simple way.
ProsIt has a very simple interface when changing your IP address has a high range of countries to which You can access without any problem and navigate in a fast and safe way.
ConsSeveral times it is usually disconnected, to access all countries it is essential to have access to the internet.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
May 28, 2018
Maria G.
Illustrator
Graphic Design, Self-employed
Used the software for: 2+ years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018

“Great VPN, especially during travels”

OverallPerfect VPN tool
ProsExcellent VPN software, both for computers and mobile devices. Very useful during travels when you need to connect to untrusted wi-fi points.
ConsSometimes the connection works a bit slow and unstable, especially for free accounts. Other than that everything is great.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 19, 2018
Carlos S.
Sales Support Analyst
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: I used a free trial
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019

“The Most User-Friendly VPN”

OverallI am using the free version that just allows 500 MB of data, which in a computer is pretty much nothing, you can use that and more in less than 1 day, but it is really easy to use and that I like.
ProsI love the Windows Application, this is so easy to use that a 10 years old child could do it. Just pick up the desired location/country and the "Bear" tunnels you there in a matter of seconds. I've been using the free version though, but I am considering paying for a month. Using it to unlock Netflix and it does the job
ConsI'd like to see other options and not only the 1 year plan, nevertheless it's better than NordVPN that forces you to get 2 years at pretty much the same cost. I wonder how much would a 2 year plan cost in TunnelBear
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 20, 2019
Marcus H.
Customer & Communications Strategist
Education Management, 10,001+ employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
9/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019

“Avoid Ad Trackers and Price Adjusters ”

ProsTunnel Bear's VPN offers a unique and affordable way to dodge trackers that report your information to companies that trigger customized ads and changes on prices depending on where you live. This is highly useful for purchasing plane tickets, shopping online, and looking to browse the web anonymously in general. I have saved a ton of money on flights by utilizing the VPN and not being subject to algorithms that modify prices based on your searches.
ConsThe free version limits you to a certain amount of data usage per month. So, in order to maximize the free plan, you have to make sure to disable the VPN after the intended use. Other than that little extra step, it's pretty useful to stay an anonymous consumer.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
September 5, 2019
Verified Reviewer
Printing, 11-50 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Likelihood to Recommend
8/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019

“Simplified VPN”

ProsTunnelBear is very easy to set up. There is a free option that I started with and then moved up to the paid version. Setting TunnelBear up is very simple as it is a browser extension.
ConsTunnelBear is based in Canada but owned by McAfee. This is not a major turn off but with any VPN it makes you wonder how safe it is. The answer to that is based on how safe your search history is.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
March 7, 2019
Avatar Image
Md S.
Product Designer
Design, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2018

“Best VPN in the world”

OverallAmazing! Amazing!! Amazing!!! I couldn't find any better solution than this for secured browsing.
ProsFrom the login experience to connectivity I love everything of this app. Never felt a little inconvenience with this software. Whenever someone asks me for recommendation about VPN, Tunnelbear is the first option I suggest.
ConsTo be honest I couldn't find any issue that I could dislike about this software.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
November 17, 2018
Denis N.
Software Engineer
Information Technology and Services, 501-1000 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Features
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Likelihood to Recommend
7/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2019

“Great VPN for simple users”

OverallI've been using it because are app is limited for specific countries and for development i need it almost all day
ProsI like the most that it has simple UI, and a big variety of servers and locations to connect to, enough data to use even in the free trial plan.
ConsI dont like that the advanced options for connection to a specific server are kinda hidden and not easily reachable.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
August 4, 2019
Avatar Image
Josué L.
Consultant, NAFTA Region
Human Resources, 51-200 employees
Used the software for: 1-2 years
Overall Rating
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Features
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Likelihood to Recommend
10/10
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019

“A bear is watching my back”

OverallAmazing, it's fun and works beautifully on any device.
ProsIt's fun and easy to use, keeps my browsing private on any device. It helps me to be safe on unknown/unreliable/suspicious networks and it just works, even with a free plan!
ConsIt's a little pricy if you're not used to using a VPN service, however, it makes up for it with amazing customer service... and a lot of bear puns.
Reviewer Source 
Source: Capterra
July 24, 2019